أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

تنبيه سياسي

الاستقالة السعودية تستحث نقاش حول الخلافة الجديدة

سايمون هندرسون

متاح أيضاً في English

5 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر 2012


الافتراضات حول من سيكون الحاكم المستقبلي للمملكة العربية السعودية - أكبر دولة مصدرة للنفط في العالم التي أعلنت عن نفسها زعيمة العالم الإسلامي - تحتاج إلى المراجعة بعد الاستقالة المفاجئة لأحد أقدم كبار أعضاء العائلة المالكة. فالإعلان المفاجئ الذي جاء في الخامس من تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر بإعفاء وزير الداخلية الأمير أحمد بن عبد العزيز من مناصبه وتولّي ابن أخيه الأمير محمد بن نايف منصب وزير الداخلية يُدخل عناصر جديدة إلى المنافسة على الكيان الحاكم في المملكة.

فالأمير أحمد البالغ من العمر 72 عاماً هو أصغر أبناء ما يسمى بـ "السديريين السبعة" التي هي أكبر مجموعة من الأخوة الأشقاء بين العديد من أبناء مؤسس المملكة الحديثة ابن سعود. وفي الأشهر الأخيرة بدا وكأنه يظهر كملك محتمل في المستقبل. فالعاهل السعودي الحالي الملك عبد الله، الذي سيبلغ من العمر 90 عاماً في السنة المقبلة هو في صحة متدهورة، في حين تردد على نطاق واسع بأن ولي العهد الأمير سلمان (76) هو في حالة ذهنية سيئة. وعندما توفي ولي العهد السابق الأمير نايف بن عبد العزيز في حزيران/يونيو حل محله أحمد في وزارة الداخلية ونظم رحلات الحج في الشهر الماضي - الحدث الذي مر دون تعثر.

وقبل الإعلان عن الخبر الأخير كان الأمير محمد بن نايف قد خدم فترة طويلة كمساعد لوزير الداخلية المكلف بالإشراف على جهود مكافحة الإرهاب في المملكة - وهو الدور الذي كان يقوم به بكفاءة عالية وفقاً للكثير من المسؤولين الأجانب. ولكن لم يتم ترقيته إلى المنصب الشاغر ليصبح نائب وزير الداخلية خلال فصل الصيف، مما أدى إلى قيام تصوّر بأنه قد تم تهميشه. والآن، على العكس من ذلك، فقد أصبح فجأة الأول من بين أبناء جيله الذي حصل على منصب وزاري رفيع.

وفي سياق الخلافة، يتم الآن فتح الموضوع حول من هو المرجح لأن يكون "رقم ثلاثة" - أي ولي العهد الجديد في الانتظار. فمن بين الأبناء الثلاثة عشر الآخرين لإبن سعود الذي ما زالوا على قيد الحياة من الصعب تحديد أياً منهم يتمتع بمزيج من الخبرة المطلوبة والاحترام، وبصورة أساسية له  نسب الأمهات (أي أن والدته لم تكن جارية). وأعاد هذا الغموض مسألة الخلافة ومتى ستكون مفتوحة للجيل القادم.

إن تعيين الأمير محمد (53) سيثير الغيرة على الأرجح في صفوف بعض من أبناء عمومته الأكبر سناً والذين هم (حتى اليوم) الأقدم من بين أبناء العمومة - وعلى وجه التحديد نائب وزير الدفاع الأمير خالد بن سلطان (63) ووزير الدولة وقائد "الحرس الوطني" الأمير متعب بن عبد الله (60)، وحاكم المنطقة الشرقية الأمير محمد بن فهد (62). وحتى شقيقه الأكبر سعود (56) الذي يشغل منصب رئيس ديوان سمو ولي العهد، يمكن أن يُدرج في هذه القائمة.

من المبكر جداً الإشارة إلى أن وزير الداخلية الجديد هو مرشح فوري ليكون ملكاً، ولكن إلى جانب الخبرة - والأقدمية حالياً - كان محظوظاً أيضاً. ففي عام 2009، نجا سالماً تقريباً عندما هاجمه مفجر انتحاري نجح في التهرب من عملية الفحص [الأكلترونية] بإخفائه عبوة ناسفة في فتحة الجسم.

وبالنسبة للولايات المتحدة وغيرها، فإن هذا التعيين سوف يجبر المراقبين على إعادة تقويم فهمهم لكيان السلطة في المملكة العربية السعودية. وإلى الحد الذي لم يتم فيه توقع التعديل فإنه يثير وعياً جديداً للغموض في اتخاذ القرارات في المملكة.

 

سايمون هندرسون هو زميل بيكر ومدير برنامج الخليج وسياسة الطاقة في معهد واشنطن ومؤلف البحث باللغة الانكليزية "بعد الملك عبد الله: الخلافة في المملكة العربية السعودية".

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

Policy Alert

Saudi Resignation Prompts Fresh Succession Debate

Simon Henderson

Also available in العربية

November 5, 2012


Assumptions about who will be the future ruler of Saudi Arabia -- the world's largest oil exporter and self-declared leader of the Islamic world -- need to be revised after the sudden resignation of one of the royal family's senior-most members. Today's surprise announcement that Interior Minister Prince Ahmed bin Abdulaziz has been relieved of his duties and replaced by his nephew, Prince Muhammad bin Nayef, introduces fresh elements of competition into the kingdom's ruling structure.

At 72 years old, Prince Ahmed is the youngest of the so-called "Sudairi Seven," the largest group of full brothers among the many sons of Ibn Saud, the modern kingdom's founder. In recent months, he had seemed to be emerging as a possible future king. The current monarch, King Abdullah, will turn 90 next year and is in failing health, while Crown Prince Salman (76) is widely reported to be in a poor mental state. When former crown prince Nayef bin Abdulaziz died in June, Ahmed replaced him at the Interior Ministry and organized last month's Hajj pilgrimage, an event that went off without mishap.

Prior to the latest news, Prince Muhammad bin Nayef had long served as assistant interior minister, charged with supervising the kingdom's counterterrorism efforts -- a role that he performed, according to many foreign officials, very competently. But he was not promoted to the vacant position of deputy interior minister during the summer, leading to speculation that he had been sidelined. Now, to the contrary, he has suddenly become the first of his generation to be awarded a senior ministerial post.

In succession terms, the question is now reopened regarding who is the likely "number three," that is, the new crown prince in waiting. Of the thirteen other surviving sons of Ibn Saud, it is difficult to identify any with the requisite combination of experience, respect, and, crucially, maternal pedigree (i.e., a mother who was not a concubine). This uncertainty has rekindled the issue of when succession will open up to the next generation.

The appointment of Prince Muhammad (53) will likely prompt jealously from some of his older and (until today) more senior cousins, namely Deputy Defense Minister Prince Khaled bin Sultan (63), Minister of State and National Guard commander Prince Mitab bin Abdullah (60), and Governor of the Eastern Province Prince Muhammad bin Fahd (62). Even his elder brother Saud (56), the head of the crown prince's court, could be included in this list.

It is too early to suggest that the new interior minister is an immediate candidate to be king, but besides experience and now seniority, he also has luck. In 2009, he survived almost unscathed when attacked by a suicide bomber who had evaded screening by hiding an explosive charge in a body orifice.

For the United States and others, the appointment will force observers to recalibrate their understanding of Saudi Arabia's power structure. And to the extent that the reshuffle was not predicted, it will spark new awareness of the opacity of the kingdom's decisionmaking.

Simon Henderson, the Baker fellow and director of the Gulf and Energy Policy Program at The Washington Institute, is author of After King Abdullah: Succession in Saudi Arabia.