أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

تنبيه سياسي

التغيرات العسكرية السعودية تشير إلى تحولات في السياسة تجاه اليمن

سايمون هندرسون

متاح أيضاً في English

27 شباط/فبراير 2018


في وقت متأخر من ليل 26 شباط/ فبراير، أصدر العاهل السعودي الملك سلمان حزمة شملت حوالي أربعين أمراً ملكياً تضمنت إحداث تغييرات جذرية في الحكومة المركزية وفي الهيئات العليا لتطوير بعض المدن والمناطق في السعودية. وكان أبرزها متعلق بجيش المملكة.

ووفقاً لوكالة الأنباء السعودية "أعفى الأمر الملكي لواءين بارزين، وقام بترقية ستة وتعيينهم في مناصب عليا". ووصف أحد المسؤولين السعوديين التغييرات بأنها جزءاً من عملية التناوب العادي، ولكن هناك تفسير معقول آخر يشير إلى أنّ الرياض ربما تُغيّر تكتيكاتها في اليمن تحت ستار تطوير وزارة الدفاع (فقد وافق الملك سلمان على خطة لإعادة تشكيل الوزارة من جملة إعلانات أخرى صدرت في السادس والعشرين من شباط/فبراير). وقد يحمل هذا التحوّل التكتيكي معنىً خاصاً نظراً لأن ولي العهد الأمير محمد بن سلمان، الذي هو أيضاً وزير الدفاع، سيزور واشنطن في الشهر المقبل لإجراء محادثات حول الصراع المتفاقم [في اليمن] والقضايا الأخرى في المنطقة.

منذ تدخُّلها في اليمن في عام 2015 لإعادة تنصيب الرئيس عبد ربه منصور هادي، لم تكن القوات السعودية ناجحة بشكل استثنائي في معركتها ضد المتمردين الحوثيين. ففي حين استولت الوحدات العسكرية المتحالفة من الإمارات العربية المتحدة على مدينة عدن الساحلية ومعظم الجنوب، تمكّن الحوثيون من الاحتفاظ بشمال غرب اليمن الذي يضم حوالي ثلاثة أرباع السكان. والأسوأ من ذلك من وجهة نظر الرياض هو أن المملكة خسرت جزءاً من أراضيها للقوات الحوثية. فوفقاً للدبلوماسيين، يسيطر الحوثيون أساساً على حوالي مائة ميل مربع (حوالي 259 كيلومتر مربع) من الأراضي السعودية على طول الحدود، إن لم يحتلوها فعلاً. ومما يفاقم من حدّة الوضع المحرج الذي تواجهه المملكة هو حقيقة أن إيران، وهي الخصم الأقدم للسعودية في المنطقة، قدمت مساعدةً سرية وافرة إلى الحوثيين، شملت صواريخ بعيدة المدى أُطلقت لمسافات بعيدة وصلت إلى حد ضرب الرياض فضلاً عن قارب سريع من دون سائق كان قد ألحق ضرراً بالغاً ببارجة سعودية.

وتريد واشنطن من السعوديين أن يسعوا إلى إيجاد حل دبلوماسي للحرب، من خلال إعادة فتحهم قناة اتصال خلفية عُمانية مع الحوثيين، ومن ثم تفريقهم عن رعاتهم الإيرانيين (الذين يبدون ممتنين من مدى تأثيرهم على الصراع بالحد الأدنى من المشاركة من جانبهم). ومن السابق لأوانه القول ما إذا كانت التغييرات الجديدة في صفوف المسؤولين السعوديين ستعكس تحولاً في هذا الاتجاه أو عزماً على إحراز انتصار عسكري. والجدير بالذكر أنّه تم "إنهاء" خدمة رئيس هيئة الأركان العامة إلى جانب قائد قوات الدفاع الجوي، اللذين شملت مسؤولياتهما حماية الرياض من الهجمات الصاروخية. وهو الأمر بالنسبة إلى قائد القوات البرية الذي "أعفي" من منصبه، وتم تعيين قائد جديد لـ "قوة الصواريخ الاستراتيجية" السعودية التي توجّه حالياً صواريخها بعيدة المدى التي زودتها بها الصين نحو إيران.

ومن حيث التقاليد السعودية، لا ينتمي هؤلاء الضباط الكبار إلى العائلة الملكية، ويتم اختيارهم لأنه من غير المرجح أن يخططوا للقيام بانقلابات عسكرية. أمّا الاستثناء الملكي الوحيد فهو قائد القوات الجوية الجديد اللواء طيار ركن الأمير تركي بن بندر بن عبد العزيز آل سعود، الذي هو أيضاً أحد أقرباء ولي العهد. وقد تعرّضت القوات الجوية لانتقادات واسعة لأنها ضربت أهدافاً مدنية في اليمن سواء عمداً او بسبب إخفاقها في استخدام الذخائر الموجهة بدقة التي زودتها بها الولايات المتحدة وبريطانيا.

وترى الولايات المتحدة أنّ هذه الحرب لا يمكن الانتصار فيها، وأنّ تفشي المجاعة ووباء الكوليرا في اليمن ينعكسان سلباً على واشنطن والرياض على السواء. وعلى الرغم من أنّه من المتوقع أن يشدد ولي العهد على التغييرات الاجتماعية والاقتصادية التي سيجلبها إلى المملكة خلال زيارته إلى واشنطن، إلّا أن الضغط عليه لإنهاء الحرب سيكون من أولويات جدول الأعمال الأمريكي.

 

سايمون هندرسون هو زميل "بيكر" ومدير برنامج الخليج وسياسة الطاقة في معهد واشنطن.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

Policy Alert

Saudi Military Changes Suggest Shift in Yemen Policy

Simon Henderson

Also available in العربية

February 27, 2018


U.S. pressure to end the war may have spurred Riyadh to reorganize its Defense Ministry and shake up its military leadership.

On February 26, King Salman issued a series of nearly forty late-night orders that made sweeping changes to Saudi Arabia's central and provincial governments. Yet the most significant announcements concerned the kingdom's military.

As the state news agency's headline described it, "Royal Order ends services of two senior generals, promotes six, and appoints them in senior posts." One Saudi official characterized the changes as part of a normal rotation, but an equally plausible explanation is that Riyadh may be switching tactics in Yemen under the guise of transforming the Defense Ministry (a plan for reshaping the ministry was approved by King Salman amid yesterday's other announcements). A tactical shift would make particular sense given that Crown Prince Muhammad bin Salman, who is also defense minister, will be visiting Washington for talks on the festering conflict and other regional issues next month.

Since intervening in Yemen in 2015 to reinstate President Abdu Rabu Mansour Hadi, Saudi forces have been singularly unsuccessful in their fight against Houthi rebels. While allied military units from the United Arab Emirates seized the port city of Aden and much of the south, the Houthis have been able to hold onto northwest Yemen, which contains around three-quarters of the population. Worse still from Riyadh's point of view is that the kingdom has lost some of its own territory to Houthi forces—according to diplomats, around a hundred square miles of Saudi land along the border is essentially under rebel control, if not actual occupation. Further exacerbating the embarrassment is the fact that Iran, the kingdom's regional archrival, has provided ample clandestine assistance to the Houthis, including long-range missiles that have struck as far as Riyadh and a drone speedboat that badly damaged a Saudi frigate.

Washington wants the Saudis to seek a diplomatic solution to the war, reopening an Omani backchannel with the Houthis and thereby splitting them from their Iranian patrons (who appear delighted at how much impact they are having on the conflict with minimal involvement). It is too early to say whether the new personnel changes reflect a shift in that direction or a determination to push even harder for military victory. The chief of general staff had his service "terminated," as did the commander of the air defense forces, whose responsibilities included protecting Riyadh from missile attack. The head of the land forces was "relieved" of his position, and a new commander was appointed for the Saudi Strategic Missile Force, whose Chinese-supplied long-range missiles are currently trained on Iran.

In the Saudi tradition, these senior officers are non-royals, chosen because they are unlikely to plot any military coups. The sole royal exception is new air force commander Prince Turki bin Bandar bin Abdulaziz al-Saud, a pilot by training and a cousin of the crown prince. The air force has been widely criticized for hitting civilian targets in Yemen, either deliberately or because of a failure to properly use the precision-guided munitions supplied by the United States and Britain.

The U.S. view is that the war is unwinnable, and that Yemen's worsening famine and cholera epidemic reflect badly on Washington and Riyadh alike. Although the crown prince is expected to emphasize the social and economic changes he is bringing to the kingdom during his Washington visit, pressuring him to end the war will be near the top of the American agenda.

Simon Henderson is the Baker Fellow and director of the Gulf and Energy Policy Program at The Washington Institute.