أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

تنبيه سياسي

الرسائل التي يبعثها استعراض صواريخ المملكة العربية السعودية

سايمون هندرسون

متاح أيضاً في English

29 نيسان/أبريل 2014


في يوم الثلاثاء التاسع والعشرين من نيسان/أبريل، أقامت القوات المسلحة للمملكة العربية السعودية عرضاً عسكرياً ضخماً في قاعدة "حفر الباطن" شمال شرق المملكة بمناسبة اختتام مناورات كبيرة أُطلق عليها اسم "سيف عبد الله". والسمة المفاجئة للاستعراض هو إشراك عربة تحمل صاروخين صينيين من طراز DF-3؛ ويُعرف هذا النوع من الصواريخ باسم CSS-2 وفقاً لمصطلحات "الناتو". وقد تم تزويدها إلى السعودية في عام 1987، وتقع مراكزها منذ فترة طويلة في الصحراء الجبلية جنوب الرياض، المنطقة التي يمكن منها استهداف إيران. وقد تم عرض مثل هذه الصواريخ على الملأ للمرة الأولى هذا الأسبوع.

وكان وزير الدفاع السعودي ولي العهد الأمير سلمان الضيف الرئيسي في هذا الاستعراض؛ كما شملت قائمة الضيوف اثنين من كبار المسؤولين في المنطقة هما عاهل البحرين الملك حمد بن عيسى آل خليفة، وولي عهد أبو ظبي - الإمارة الرائدة في الإمارات العربية المتحدة - الشيخ محمد بن زايد. كما حضر العرض العسكري قائد الجيش الباكستاني الجنرال رحيل شريف، الذي جلس إلى جانب وزير الحرس الوطني السعودي والإبن الأقدم للملك الأمير متعب.

وفي خضم المناخ الدبلوماسي السائد في الخليج العربي - الذي يهيمن عليه القلق من أن تؤدي المفاوضات الدولية [الجارية مع إيران حول برنامجها النووي] إلى تركها دولة على عتبة امتلاك سلاح نووي - فإن عرض الصاروخين يشير إلى تصميم المملكة العربية السعودية على مواجهة قوة طهران المتنامية، فضلاً عن استعدادها لاتخاذ خطوات بشكل مستقل عن الولايات المتحدة. وعلى وجه الخصوص، إن حضور قائد الجيش الباكستاني سيؤدي إلى إثارة تكهنات جديدة بأن الرياض قد تسعى إلى الحصول على رؤوس نووية من إسلام آباد لمضاهاة قدرات إيران وإمكانياتها.

وبصرف النظر عما يعكسه العرض العسكري من شكوك السعودية تجاه إيران، فإن واقع القيام بمثل هذا الاستعراض ومشاركة قائمة من الضيوف يوفران المزيد من الأدلة على عدم ثقة الرياض في السياسة الخارجية للولايات المتحدة. وتشير التقارير التي وردت عن اجتماع القمة الذي انعقد الشهر الماضي بين الرئيس الأمريكي أوباما والعاهل السعودي الملك عبد الله بأنه كان اجتماعاً صعباً. وفي وقت لاحق أخبر نائب ولي العهد المعين حديثاً، الأمير مقرن، زائراً أمريكياً بأن زيارة أوباما قد وفرت "فرصة لتوضيح عدد من القضايا الهامة"، وهي صيغة تشير إلى أنه كان هناك القليل من الاتفاق.

وعندما تم تسليم صواريخ DF-3s التي تعمل بالوقود السائل عام 1987، كانت الرياض قد أكدت لواشنطن أن الصواريخ غير الدقيقة نسبياً لم تكن مجهزة برؤوس نووية. وفي العام الماضي، ظهرت تقارير مفادها أن المملكة قد عززت قواتها الصاروخية الاستراتيجية بصواريخ صينية أكثر حداثة من طراز DF-21s التي تعمل بالوقود الصلب؛ وقد وافقت واشنطن على السماح [بالتوصل] إلى تلك الصفقة طالما تتم إزالة مختلف المكونات التي تمكّن الصواريخ من حمل رؤوس نووية. ولم يشمل العرض العسكري الذي جرى يوم الثلاثاء إشراك صواريخ DF-21s، على الرغم من أن بعض مركبات الدعم التي تجر صواريخ DF-3s قد تكون أكثر ملاءمة للصواريخ الأحدث طرازاً. وربما يمكن لكِلا نظامي الصواريخ السعودية التكيف بسهولة نسبياً مع إمكانية حمل رؤوس نووية باكستانية.

إن استخدام العرض العسكري لبعث رسائل دبلوماسية يمكن أن يحفز قيام ردود مماثلة من قبل دول أخرى. ولكن بالنسبة لإيران، إن أي عرض عسكري مقابل تقوم به الجمهورية الإسلامية قد يستثير المزيد من الضغوط لإدراج القوة الصاروخية الأكبر بكثير التي يملكها النظام، في المفاوضات النووية. وبالنسبة لواشنطن، يشكل العرض العسكري السعودي تذكيراً هاماً بأن الرياض ما زالت قلقة بشكل عميق من مسار الأحداث في المنطقة. وكما أشارت هيمنة المعدات الأمريكية في الاستعراض المشار إليه، لا تزال واشنطن الشريك الأمني المفضل للمملكة، ولكن العلاقة بين البلدين لا تزال تُظهر وجود علامات من التوتر.

 

سايمون هندرسون هو زميل بيكر ومدير برنامج الخليج وسياسة الطاقة في معهد واشنطن.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

Policy Alert

Saudi Arabia's Missile Messaging

Simon Henderson

Also available in العربية

April 29, 2014


The inclusion of long-range Chinese-made missiles in a Saudi military parade is likely a diplomatic signal to Iran and the United States.

Earlier today, at Saudi Arabia's northeastern military base of Hafr al-Batin, the kingdom's armed forces held a massive military parade to mark the conclusion of a major exercise codenamed "Abdullah's Sword." A surprise feature of the parade was the inclusion of two Chinese DF-3 missiles, known as the CSS-2 in NATO nomenclature. These missiles were supplied to Saudi Arabia in 1987 and have long been based in the mountainous desert well south of Riyadh, from where they can target Iran. Today is the first time they have been seen in public.

The main guest at the parade was Crown Prince Salman, the Saudi defense minister; other top guests included King Hamad of Bahrain and Sheikh Muhammad bin Zayed, the crown prince of Abu Dhabi, the lead emirate of the UAE. Also present was Pakistani army chief Gen. Raheel Sharif, who sat next to Prince Mitab, the minister of the Saudi National Guard and senior son of the king.

Amid the Persian Gulf's prevailing diplomatic atmosphere -- dominated by concern that ongoing international negotiations will leave Iran as a threshold nuclear weapon state -- the missile display signals Saudi Arabia's determination to counter Tehran's growing strength, as well as its readiness to act independently of the United States. In particular, the presence of Pakistan's top military commander will reawaken speculation that Riyadh may seek to acquire nuclear warheads from Islamabad to match Iran's potential.

Apart from reflecting Saudi suspicions of Iran, the parade and guest list offer still more evidence of Riyadh's lack of confidence in U.S. foreign policy. Reports from last month's summit between President Obama and King Abdullah indicate it was a difficult meeting. Prince Muqrin, the newly appointed deputy crown prince, later told an American visitor that Obama's trip provided "the opportunity to clarify a number of important issues," a formulation that suggests there was little agreement.

When the liquid-fueled DF-3s were delivered in 1987, Riyadh assured Washington that the relatively inaccurate missiles were not equipped with nuclear warheads. Last year, reports emerged that the kingdom had bolstered its strategic missile force with more modern Chinese solid-fueled DF-21s; Washington agreed to allow the deal so long as various components enabling the missiles to carry nuclear warheads were removed. Today's parade did not include DF-21s, though some of the support vehicles trailing the DF-3s may have been more suited to the newer missiles. Both Saudi missile systems could probably be adapted relatively easily to carry Pakistani nuclear warheads.

Using military displays to send diplomatic messages can spur responses in kind from other states. But for Iran, any counter-display could prompt more pressure to include the regime's much larger missile force in the nuclear negotiations. For Washington, the Saudi display is a reminder that Riyadh remains profoundly concerned about the course of events in the region. As the dominance of U.S.-supplied equipment in the parade indicated, Washington is still the kingdom's preferred security partner, but the relationship continues to show signs of being frayed.

Simon Henderson is the Baker Fellow and director of the Gulf and Energy Policy Program at The Washington Institute.