أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 2375

السلفية في لبنان

روبرت رابيل

متاح أيضاً في English

20 شباط/فبراير 2015


"في 13 شباط/فبراير، خاطب روبرت رابيل منتدى سياسي في معهد واشنطن. والدكتور رابيل هو أستاذ دراسات الشرق الأوسط في قسم العلوم السياسية في جامعة "فلوريدا أتلانتيك" وأستاذ متميز للأحداث الجارية في "جمعية التعلم مدى الحياة" (LLS). كما هو مؤلف "السلفية في لبنان" ("جورج تاون يونيفرسيتي برس"، تشرين الأول/أكتوبر 2014). وفيما يلي ملخص المقررة لملاحظاته."

 

يمكن إرجاع تاريخ السلفية إلى العالِم المسلم إبن تيمية في القرن الثالث عشر والرابع عشر. وتعني كلمة السلف اصطلاحياً - الأجداد. إلا أن إبن تيمية استخدم المصطلح للإشارة إلى صحابة النبي محمد في القرن السابع، معتبراً أنه يتوجب على المسلمين السعي إلى العودة إلى الطريق الذي انتهجه السلف. وإلى جانب هذا المفهوم، يُنسب إلى إبن تيمية إنشاء ممارسة التكفير، أي الإعلان أن المسلمين الذين لا يعتبرون إسلاميين بصورة كافية هم كفار.

وقد برزت الوهابية السلفية في عام 1932 بعد أن أصبحت الدين الرسمي للمملكة العربية السعودية التي أقيمت آنذاك. وبعد ذلك، حدث تلاقح في الأفكار والأيديولوجية بين الوهابية و «الإخوان المسلمين» في الجامعات السعودية. وقد كان «الإخوان المسلمون» يستخدمون الدين كأيديولوجية سياسية لتعبئة المجتمع، ولكن بعد أن واجهت العائلة المالكة في السعودية تحدياً في عام 1979، كمن في الاستيلاء على المسجد الحرام في مكة، تحولت المملكة نحو دعم أحد أشكال السلفية الأكثر هدوءاً.

أما في الوقت الحالي، فيمكن تمييز السلفية وفق ثلاث فئات رئيسية هي: الأكثر استكانة والناشطين والجهاديين السلفيين. ويركز السلفيون الأكثر استكانة على التربية الإسلامية والدعوة، في حين يريد الناشطون ممارسة السلطة والنفوذ على حكوماتهم بسبب عدم رضاهم عن الحكام العرب. أما بالنسبة إلى الجهاديين السلفيين، الذين جسدهم زعيم تنظيم «القاعدة» السابق أسامة بن لادن، فهم يعتقدون أن الطريق للعودة إلى العصر الذهبي للإسلام وللمجتمع الإسلامي يكمن في الحرب المقدسة أو الجهاد.

السلفية تنبثق في لبنان

دخلت السلفية إلى لبنان في أربعينيات القرن الماضي على يد شيخ يُدعى سالم الشهال الذي اعتنق المذهب الوهابي وتنقل في جميع أنحاء عكار في شمال لبنان، ليزور أكثر من ثلاثمائة قرية من القرى الفقيرة لتعزيز هذه الأيديولوجية. وقد شكلت السلفية موضع جذب بسبب عوامل مختلفة، من بينها الهزائم المذلة التي ألحقتها إسرائيل بالعالم العربي في عامي 1948 و1967 وما تلى ذلك من تشويه سمعة القومية العربية. 

وقد انتشرت المنظمات السلفية خلال الحرب الأهلية وذروة الاحتلال السوري للبنان بين عامي 1990 و 2005. وكان السلفيون في لبنان - من المنظور السوري على الأقل - من النوع  الأكثر استكانة، وبالتالي غير سياسيين ولا يشكلون تهديداً. كما أن تعزيز هذه المجموعات أدى أيضاً إلى الاستفادة من التخفيف من وحدة المجتمع المسلم السني اللبناني وإضعافه. وقبل فترة طويلة من ظهور تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية في العراق والشام» («داعش»)/«الدولة الإسلامية»، أنشأ الإسلاميون في لبنان إمارة سلفية إسلامية بين عامي 1982 و1985.

وفي الواقع، يمكن أن تُعزى أولى مفاهيم الجهادية السلفية إلى ظهور "الحركة الإسلامية المجاهدة" في مخيم اللاجئين الفلسطينيين في عين الحلوة. وقد تم شحذ هذه الإيديولوجية أثناء الغزو الإسرائيلي للبنان عام 1982، وبعد ذلك من خلال اتصال شبكات السلفية عبر الوطنية بتنظيم «القاعدة». وبعد الإطاحة بالرئيس العراقي صدام حسين في عام 2003، سافر مسلحون من مخيمات اللاجئين الفلسطينيين في لبنان، ولا سيما من عين الحلوة، إلى العراق للجهاد ضد الأمريكيين. وقد استغل النظام السوري الفكر السلفي لتقويض جهود الولايات المتحدة في العراق، من خلال غض النظر عن المقاتلين الذين يعبرون حدود سوريا وكانوا يقاتلون في صفوف «القاعدة».

بيادق سياسية

في 14 شباط/ فبراير صادفت الذكرى العاشرة لاغتيال رئيس الوزراء اللبناني السابق وزعيم المجتمع المسلم السني في لبنان رفيق الحريري. وشكّل مقتله ضربة لأهل السنة، بما في ذلك السلفيين. فقد كان الاحتلال السوري قد أضعف المجتمع السني في لبنان، وقام الحريري بإحيائه سياسياً واقتصادياً. ومباشرة بعد وفاته - إثر اغتيال يُعتقد على نطاق واسع أن مرتكبيه هم نظام الأسد العلوي وميليشيا «حزب الله» الشيعية - تم عقد اجتماعات بين قطر والكويت والمملكة العربية السعودية لدعم السلفيين في لبنان. وتدفقت كميات كبيرة من الأموال إلى لبنان خلال انتخابات عام 2005 من خلال المنظمات السلفية مثل "مؤسسة الشيخ عيد الخيرية" القطرية و"جمعية إحياء التراث الإسلامي" الكويتية.

ويحافظ سعد الحريري - نجل رفيق الحريري - الذي تولى زمام القيادة السنية في لبنان، على علاقة متباينة مع السلفيين. فمن جهة، يحتاج إلى أصواتهم في الانتخابات البرلمانية، إذ أن السلفيين يحافظون على موطئ قدم قوي في شمال لبنان منذ الأربعينيات. ومن جهة أخرى، هو معتدل يسعى إلى إبقاء الجهاديين السلفيين بعيدين عنه. وخلال المقابلات، شكى أحد القياديين السلفيين من أن سعد الحريري استخدم السلفيين فقط عندما احتاج إليهم، ولم يمنحهم أي غطاء في المقابل. وقد أعرب سلفيون آخرون عن آراء سلبية مماثلة تجاه الحريري. ومع نمو الحركة السلفية في لبنان، فإنها قد أدّت إلى زيادة الانقسام في المجتمع المسلم السني وتخفيف قوته الجماعية.

وقد شكّل السلفيون أيضاً عاملاً هاماً في سوريا، حيث كانوا من أوائل الداعمين للثورة ضد نظام الرئيس السوري بشار الأسد عام 2011. وقد ساعد الجهاديون السلفيون من عين الحلوة على تدريب المقاتلين من «جبهة النصرة» التابعة لـ تنظيم «القاعدة». ويستمر غيرهم من المقاتلين في سوريا بتلقي الدعم اللوجستي من طرابلس، لبنان. وفي الوقت نفسه، أصبح «حزب الله» - الذي يقاتل إلى جانب نظام الأسد في سوريا - يعتبر "حزب الشيطان" بالنسبة إلى السلفيين، الذين يشكون من أن الزعماء السنة مثل الحريري لم يتخذوا أي إجراء فعّال للحد من أنشطة «حزب الله» التي تستهدف السنة في سوريا.

لذا من الصعب على نحو متزايد التمييز بين الناشطين السلفيين والجهاديين السلفيين في لبنان. فخلال معركة القصير التي دارت في سوريا عام 2012 على سبيل المثال، أصدر العديد من العلماء السلفيين الناشطين فتاوى تشير إلى أن الجهاد في سوريا هو واجب إسلامي. أما اليوم، فيبرز مستوى جديد من المرونة بين الناشطين السلفيين والجهاديين السلفيين. إن هذا التحول في لبنان شائع ومقلق على حد سواء.

السنة في أزمة

تعكس مشاكل أهل السنة في لبنان الأزمة السنية في المنطقة ألا وهي: أزمة الهوية. ففي السابق، كان السنة اللبنانيون أبطال القومية العربية. أما الآن فهم مصطفون إلى جانب المملكة العربية السعودية، أو تابعون لها. كما ولا يتمتع السنة اللبنانيون بمبدأ للتعبئة العامة أو التنظيم، بينما يبرز عنصر واحد فقط يوحد مجتمعهم نسبياً وهو كونهم معارضين جداً لـ «حزب الله» وأفعاله في سوريا. وحتى إن السنة في لبنان منقسمين فيما بينهم حول كيفية معالجة هذه المشكلة.

إلى جانب ذلك، يعاني السنة في لبنان أيضاً من أزمة في القيادة. فسعد الحريري يعيش حالياً في المنفى في باريس، حيث من الصعب للغاية بالنسبة له خلق التضامن الطائفي وروح الوحدة الجماعية والحفاظ عليهما. وفي الوقت نفسه، ومن أجل الحفاظ على قبضته الهشة على القيادة، يحتاج الحريري لأصوات، مما يدفعه، كما ألمح من قبل، إلى الاعتماد أكثر من أي وقت مضى على مجموعة متزايدة من السلفيين اللبنانيين.

وبالمثل، يجد السنة أنفسهم في خضم أزمة دينية. فـ "دار الإفتاء"، أو المكتب الشرعي، يمثل تقليدياً المرجعية الدينية السنية في لبنان. لكن السلفيين هم خارج نطاق المنظمة، وبدلاً من ذلك يفضلون المؤسسات والمساجد الخاصة بهم التي لا توجد لها علاقة على الإطلاق مع "دار الإفتاء". ومثل هذا الولاء المنفصل لا يشكل مشكلة للبنان فحسب بل لبقية العالم السني أيضاً.

وممما يزيد الأمور تعقيداً، أن لبنان يشكل حالياً هدفاً للجهادية السلفية، وهو التهديد الذي أدى - للمفارقة - إلى قيام درجة معينة من الوحدة في بلد منقسم. فقد [نجح] كل من «جبهة النصرة» و تنظيم «داعش» بأسر جنود لبنانيين وقتلهم، مما خلق تأييداً شعبياً متزايداً للجيش. وعلى الرغم من أن بعض السلفيين يبدون الآراء المناهضة للجيش - لأنه يُنظر إليه على أنه يتعاون مع «حزب الله» ضد المقاتلين السنة - إلا أن معظمهم يعتبر أن الجيش خط أحمر. وعلى أي حال، يبرز تصور مشترك بأن لبنان في خطر، وهناك القليل الذين يريدون تصعيد التوترات الطائفية. فتجربة الحرب الأهلية اللبنانية لا تزال محفورة في الوعي الجماعي.

لم يعد من الممكن فصل لبنان عن سوريا، إذ إن الصراع انتشر نحو المدن الحدودية عرسال وبريتال ورأس بعلبك بالقرب من منطقة القلمون. وفي ظل هذا التهديد، وعلى الرغم من الاحتكاك، يعمل الجيش اللبناني والاستخبارات اللبنانية بطريقة أو بأخرى سوية ضد السلفية الجهادية. وفي هذا الإطار، لا بد للولايات المتحدة من مواصلة تقديم المساعدات العسكرية لدعم لبنان في مواجهة الجهاديين السلفيين وتنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» السلفي المتطرف. فإذا انهار لبنان أو جيشه، سيصبح السلفيون تلقائياً جنود المشاة للطائفة السنية.

 

أعدت هذا الملخص كيلسي سيغاوا.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 2375

Salafism in Lebanon

Robert Rabil

Also available in العربية

February 20, 2015

Facing a leadership crisis, Lebanon's Sunnis must contend with a vigorous Salafi movement in which the activist and jihadist elements are increasingly hard to distinguish from each other.

On February 13, Robert Rabil addressed a Policy Forum at The Washington Institute. Dr. Rabil is a professor of Middle East studies in Florida Atlantic University's Department of Political Science and the Lifelong Learning Society (LLS) Distinguished Professor of Current Events. He is the author of Salafism in Lebanon (Georgetown University Press, October 2014). The following is a rapporteur's summary of his remarks.

Salafism can be traced back to the thirteenth- and fourteenth-century Muslim scholar Ibn Taymiyyah. In Arabic, the word salaf technically means forefathers. But Ibn Taymiyyah employed the term to refer to the seventh-century companions of the Prophet Muhammad, and believed that Muslims should strive to return to the way of the salaf. Along with this concept, Ibn Taymiyyah is credited with establishing the practice of takfir -- the declaring of Muslims deemed insufficiently Islamic as kuffar, or infidels.

Wahhabi Salafism rose in prominence in 1932 after becoming the official religion of the new kingdom of Saudi Arabia. Thereafter, a cross-fertilization of ideas and ideology occurred between Wahhabism and the Muslim Brotherhood (MB) in Saudi universities. The MB used religion as a political ideology to mobilize society, but after the Saudi royal family was challenged in 1979 with the seizure of Mecca's Grand Mosque, the kingdom shifted toward support of a more quietist form of Salafism.

Salafism today can be separated into three main categories: quietists, activists, and Salafi jihadists. The quietists focus on Islamic education and dawa, or propagation, while the activists, unsatisfied with Arab rulers, want to exert power and influence on their governments. As for Salafi jihadists -- epitomized by Usama bin Laden -- they believe the way to return to the golden age of Islam and Islamic society is through holy war, or jihad.


Salafism was introduced to Lebanon in the 1940s by a cleric named Salem al-Shahal, who embraced the Wahhabi strain and traveled throughout Akkar in northern Lebanon, visiting more than three hundred impoverished villages to promote the ideology. Salafism found traction thanks to various factors, including the Arab world's humiliating defeats by Israel in 1948 and 1967 and the subsequent discrediting of Arab nationalism. 

During the civil war and heyday of the Syrian occupation of Lebanon, from 1990 to 2005, Salafi organizations proliferated. From the Syrian perspective at least, Lebanon's Salafists were of the quietist ilk, and hence apolitical and nonthreatening. Promotion of these groups also held the benefit of diluting the unity of -- and weakening -- Lebanon's Sunni Muslim community. Long before the emergence of the Islamic State of Iraq and al-Sham (ISIS), also known as the Islamic State, Islamists in Lebanon established an Islamic Salafi emirate between the years 1982 and 1985.

In fact, the first notions of Salafi jihadism can be traced to the emergence of al-Haraka al-Islamiyah al-Mujahida (the Islamic Jihad Movement) in the Palestinian refugee camp of Ain al-Hilweh. The ideology was honed during the Israeli invasion of Lebanon in 1982, and thereafter through transnational Salafi networks' contact with al-Qaeda. After the 2003 toppling of Iraqi president Saddam Hussein, militants from the Palestinian refugee camps in Lebanon -- most prominently Ain al-Hilweh -- traveled to Iraq to wage jihad against the Americans. The Syrian regime exploited the Salafi ideology to undermine U.S. efforts in Iraq, turning a blind eye to the fighters transiting its borders who were fighting alongside al-Qaeda.


February 14 marks the tenth anniversary of the assassination of former Lebanese prime minister Rafiq Hariri, the leader of Lebanon's Sunni Muslim community. His killing was a blow to the Sunnis, including Salafists. The Syrian occupation had weakened Lebanon's Sunni community, and Hariri revived it, both politically and economically. Immediately following his death -- a killing widely believed to have been perpetrated by the Alawite Assad regime and the Shiite militia Hezbollah -- meetings were held between Qatar, Kuwait, and Saudi Arabia to support the Salafists in Lebanon. Large amounts of money flowed into Lebanon during the 2005 elections, through Salafi organizations such as Qatar's Sheikh Eid Charity Organization and Kuwait's Society for the Revival of Islamic Heritage.

Hariri's son Saad, who assumed the mantle of Sunni leadership in Lebanon, maintains an ambivalent relationship with the Salafists. On the one hand, he needs their parliamentary electoral votes, with Salafists maintaining a strong foothold in northern Lebanon since the 1940s. On the other, he is a moderate who seeks to keep Salafi jihadists at arm's length. During interviews, one leading Salafist figure complained that Saad Hariri only used Salafists when he needed them, giving them no cover in return. Other Salafists have expressed similarly negative sentiments toward Hariri. As Salafism grows in Lebanon, it is increasingly dividing the Sunni Muslim community and diluting its communal power.

Salafists have also been an important factor in Syria, where they were among the first to support the 2011 rebellion against the regime of Bashar al-Assad. Salafi jihadists from Ain al-Hilweh helped train fighters from the al-Qaeda affiliate Jabhat al-Nusra. Other fighters in Syria continue to receive logistical support from Tripoli, Lebanon. Meanwhile, Hezbollah -- which is fighting alongside the Assad regime in Syria -- has become the "Party of Satan" to Salafists, who complain that Sunni leaders like Hariri have taken no effective action to limit Hezbollah activities targeting Sunnis in Syria.

It is increasingly difficult to distinguish between Lebanon's activist and jihadist Salafists. During Syria's 2012 battle of al-Qusayr, for example, several activist Salafi scholars issued fatwas stating that jihad in Syria is an Islamic obligation. Today, a new level of fluidity exists between Salafi activists and jihadists. Making this transition in Lebanon is both common and troubling.


The Sunnis' problems in Lebanon reflect the Sunni crisis in the region: a crisis of identity. At one time, Lebanese Sunnis were the champions of Arab nationalism. Now they are aligned with -- or an appendage of -- Saudi Arabia. Nor do Lebanese Sunnis have an overall mobilizing or organizing principle, with the only relatively unifying element for the community being widespread opposition to Hezbollah and its actions in Syria. Lebanon's Sunnis are even divided on how to address this problem.

The Sunnis in Lebanon also have a crisis of leadership. Saad al-Hariri is currently living in exile in Paris, where it is exceedingly difficult for him to create and maintain communal solidarity and esprit de corps. At the same time, to maintain his tenuous hold on leadership, Hariri needs votes -- leading him, as intimated before, to rely ever more on the growing cadre of Lebanese Salafists.

Sunnis likewise find themselves amidst a religious crisis. Dar al-Ifta, or the Juridical Office, traditionally has represented the Sunni religious establishment in Lebanon. But the Salafists are outside the organization's purview, preferring instead their own institutions and mosques with no relationship whatsoever with Dar al-Ifta. Such a separate allegiance is not just a problem for Lebanon but also for the rest of the Sunni world.

Complicating matters, Lebanon is now a target of Salafi jihad, a threat that has paradoxically brought a certain degree of unity to the divided country. Lebanese soldiers have been captured and killed by Jabhat al-Nusra and ISIS, creating heightened popular support for the army. Although some Salafists do speak out against the army -- because it is seen as collaborating with Hezbollah against Sunni militants -- most consider the army a redline. In any event, a common perception exists that Lebanon is in danger, and few want sectarian tensions to escalate. The experience of the Lebanese civil war remains etched in the collective consciousness.

Lebanon can no longer be separated from Syria; the conflict has spread to the border towns of Arsal, Brital, and Ras Baalbek, next to the Qalamoun region. In the face of this threat, somehow, despite friction, the Lebanese army and intelligence are working together against Salafi jihadism. The United States must continue providing its military aid to support Lebanon's fight against Salafi jihadists and the extreme Salafi organization ISIS. If Lebanon or its army collapses, by default, the Salafists will become the foot soldiers of the Sunni community.

This summary was prepared by Kelsey Segawa.