أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

صفحات رأي ومقالات

دعاية روسيا بشأن سوريا

آنا بورشفسكايا

متاح أيضاً في English

"فوربس"

11 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر 2015


"هذه أرضنا...أرضنا المقدسة!" هكذا وصف النائب في البرلمان الروسي سيمون باغداساروف سوريا في معرض البرنامج الحواري التلفزيوني الرائد "ليلة مع فلاديمير سولوفييف" على قناة روسيا 1 الحكومية في بداية تشرين الأول/أكتوبر. وتابع باغداساروف: "أتتنا الحضارة من هناك بالذات... فلولا سوريا، لما كانت روسيا اليوم"، موضحاً أن تاريخ روسيا يعود إلى زمن وصول الكهنة السوريين "وليس اليونانيين أو الله يعلم مَن" إليها من أنطاكية. 

وفي الخطوات التصعيدية التي سبقت تدخل روسيا في سوريا في 30 أيلول/سبتمبر، أشارت استطلاعات الرأي العام إلى أن معظم الروس يعارضون هذا التدخل العسكري. فآلة الدعاية التابعة للكرملين واجهت صعوبات نوعاً ما في إيجاد الرسالة المناسبة حول سوريا. وقد استغرق الأمر عدة أيام لكي تجيب وزارة الدفاع الروسية على أسئلة الصحفيين، وعندما قامت بذلك، ارتأت أحياناً بكل بساطة عدم التعليق. وبدا أن المسؤولين الروس رفيعي المستوى كانوا يفتقرون إلى فهم واضح لنوايا الحكومة.

فالمتحدث الرسمي باسم الكرملين ديمتري بيسكوف أفاد بأن معظم عناصر «الجيش السوري الحر» المدعوم من الغرب قد انضموا إلى تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية في العراق والشام» («داعش»)/«الدولة الإسلامية»، في حين قال وزير الخارجية الروسي سيرغي لافروف إن «الجيش السوري الحر» ليس تنظيماً إرهابياً ويجب أن يشكل جزءاً من أي حل سياسي. 

ولكن الرسالة سرعان ما ظهرت: فقد كانت سوريا، البلد الجميل والمسالم والمتسامح، تنعم بالازدهار إلى أن وصل إليها "الإرهابيون"، مع أفكارهم "الغربية" عن "الحرية"، ومزقوها إرباً إرباً في غضون بضعة أشهر. واتضح أن سوريا مرتبطة بشكل جوهري بنشأة روسيا بحد ذاتها، كما ذكر باغداساروف. وفي غضون ذلك، يُعتبر الغرب مسؤولاً عن بروز الإرهاب في سوريا وهو يواصل دعم الجماعات الإرهابية في صراع جيوسياسي يهدف إلى تقويض روسيا. وانطلاقاً من هنا، يتصدر الرئيس الروسي فلاديمير بوتين الجهود الفعلية الرامية إلى استئصال الإرهاب، بالرغم من عدم تقديم تعريف واضح عن الإرهاب. وسارعت الكنيسة الأرثوذكسية الروسية، التي يستخدمها الكرملين كأداة للقوة الناعمة، إلى دعم الكرملين. هذا وأعلن رئيس دائرة الشؤون العامة في الكنيسة الأرثوذكسية الروسية الأب فسيفولود تشابلن ما يلي: "إن المعركة ضد الإرهاب هي حرب معنوية إذا ما صح القول، وهي حرب مقدسة، وتُعتبر بلادنا اليوم الدولة الأنشط في العالم على الأرجح في مقاومتها للإرهاب".   

وقد حلت أخبار سوريا بسرعة محل أخبار أوكرانيا. فقد أصبحت بمثابة مخدِّر جديد، أو كما ورد على لسان المحلل السياسي أندري بيونتكوفسكي، "مخدّر إمبراطوري" يسمح للشعب الروسي بـ "نسيان الإحراج [الذي انتابه بفِعْل] التجربة الأوكرانية الفاشلة، وإعادة بث روح النصر المسكّرة التي طبعت الربيع الروسي عام 2014، والقضاء في الوقت نفسه على شعور الغرابة والانزعاج الذي بقي يراود الروس عندما قتلوا الأوكرانيين الشبيهين بهم".                                                 

بيد، تختلف الرسالة المتعلقة بسوريا. فحول أوكرانيا، كانت الصور التي طغت على وسائل الإعلام مصممة لملامسة دافع إنساني لدى الروس بإنقاذ زملائهم من الاضطهاد الذي يمارسه "الفاشيون" برعاية الغرب. وبالتالي، كانت الأخبار تسلط الضوء على العنف وعلى الأشخاص المذعورين الذين يصرخون وهم يلوذون بالفرار.

وحول سوريا، فإن الصور عقيمة. فهي تذكّر المرء في بعض الأحيان بأفلام المغامرة أو ألعاب الفيديو المشوقة: فهناك طائرات تقلع وقنابل تسقط على المباني في الوقت الذي يناقش فيه المعلقون، على سبيل المثال، ما إذا كان الطقس في سوريا مؤاتياً للضربات الجوية. وتقدم وزارة الدفاع تقارير إخبارية منتظمة مع خرائط ملونة وتقارير عن مهام ناجحة. كما تُعرض مقابلات مع قوات الأسد التي تبدي امتنانها لروسيا على خلفية المساعدات التي تقدمها لها. والأهم من ذلك، تشير التقارير إلى أن الطيارين الروس في محافظة اللاذقية يحصلون على قسط كبير من الراحة ويطالعون الكتب ويتناولون وجبات دسمة في منشآت نظيفة في أوقات فراغهم.

إلا أن المناقشات حول سوريا لا تخلو من المشاعر. على سبيل المثال، تصف القصيدة الغنائية "سوريا، أختي، أخوك الروسي سينقذك" مقابلات مع سوريين تتطرق إلى وحشية "المتطرفين" المدعومين من الغرب. وهي تروج لفكرة أن كل من يحارب الأسد في سوريا هو وحش يمارس التعذيب والقتل بأفظع الطرق. كما أن صور الأشخاص الأبرياء، خصوصاً الأطفال وهم يتعرضون للتفجير، تُظهر العنف وإراقة الدماء، وتعزز الفكرة بأنه لا توجد بدائل أخرى للأسد وأنه هو المصدر الوحيد لفرض النظام وإحلال السلام.

ولكن فيما يتعلق بأعمال روسيا الفعلية في سوريا، يريد الكرملين أن يفهم الشعب الروسي بأن هذه الحملة غير مؤلمة وبعيدة. فسوريا ليست أوكرانيا، ومن الصعب تبرير التدخل في أرض بعيدة في الوقت الذي لم تتعرض فيه روسيا لأي اعتداءات مباشرة على أراضيها من قبل هذه الدولة. وبالتالي، يساهم الترويج لفكرة عدم تكبد روسيا تكاليف ملحوظة [في إقناع عامة الشعب بوجوب هذا التدخل].       

ويقيناً، يبرز عامل مساعد آخر وهو أن العديد من الأفكار التي يروج لها الكرملين بشأن سوريا ليست جديدة تماماً. فالادعاءات بأن الغرب قد أنشأ تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» ونظم تظاهرات في ساحة "ميدان" في أوكرانيا واستخدمها كأدوات جيوسياسية، وبأن الولايات المتحدة تدعم المتطرفين المسلمين في سوريا، الذين يقتلون المسيحيين من أجل مساعدة الولايات المتحدة على بسط سيطرتها على الشرق الأوسط وتغيير شكل المنطقة كما يروق لها، تعود جميعها لعدة سنوات على الأقل. وينطبق الأمر نفسه على الإدعاء بأن مصلحة الغرب الوحيدة في سوريا تكمن في الإطاحة بحكومة الأسد الشرعية. إن وسائل الإعلام قد سلطت الضوء أيضاً منذ سنوات على الروابط الوثيقة بين سوريا، لا سيما عائلة الأسد، وروسيا. فعلى سبيل المثال، ركز أحد البرامج الحوارية على ابن عم بشار الأسد، سوار الأسد، وزوجاته الروسيات في باريس، من خلال عرض صور لـ سوار تظهره كأب حنون يحضن أولاده، وعائلته التي تنسب لنفسها على سبيل المزاح كنية "أسدوف" للتشديد على قربها من روسيا، وصور لنساء روسيات دخلن عالماً شبيهاً بقصص الخيال بعد أن خطفهن أمير عربي [على حصانه الأبيض].

وسرعان ما أحدثت الدعاية فرقاً على الأرض. ففي آواخر تشرين الأول/أكتوبر، أظهرت الاستفتاءات معدل نمو قياسي في الأصوات المؤيدة لبوتين نسبته 89.9 في المائة، وقد عزت الإجراءات التي اتخذها بوتين في سوريا كأحد أسباب هذه الزيادة، في حين لا تزال أقلية فقط تعارض التدخل الروسي في سوريا. ولكن السؤال الذي يطرح نفسه هنا، إلى أي مدى يمكن الوثوق بنتائج هذه الاستفتاءات وإلى متى سيستمر هذا التأييد؟

أولاً، من الضروري عدم المبالغة في تزايد نسبة التأييد الإجمالية لبوتين، فهي زيادة بعدة نقاط مئوية فقط سُجلت قبل التدخل في سوريا. وعلى المدى القصير، كانت الدعاية فعالة. ولكن ليليا شيفتسوفا، وهي زميلة أقدم في مؤسسة بروكينغز، تحذر من أن نسبة التأييد للحزب الشيوعي كانت 99.9 في المائة قبل شهر من سقوط الاتحاد السوفييتي. فقد كتبت لي في رسالة إلكترونية: "هذه النسبة يجب أن تدفع السلطات إلى القلق عوضاً عن التهليل، إذ تدل على أن المجتمع قد توقف عن قول الحقيقة". وقد يبدو بوتين واثقاً بنفسه، أو بالأحرى يشعر بثقة مفرطة، إلا أن هذه الثقة لا تزال هشة.

ومن غير المرجح أن تدوم نسبة التأييد المرتفعة. فكما كتبت شيفتسوفا: "لن يستمر أثر المخدرات سوى لوقت قصير جداً لأن الروس لا يفهمون كيفية ارتباط مصالحهم بهذه المنطقة البعيدة. فهذه النسبة والدعم الشعبي لن يدوما في المستقبل، وإلا، فلماذا تكبد الكرملين عناء نقل مغامرته العسكرية من أوكرانيا إلى سوريا؟ ولماذا يبحث حالياً بكل طاقاته عن مخدِّرات جديدة؟ هناك أحد الاستفتاءات الذي يُظهر لنا إلى أي مدى يُعتبر دعم الروس للحرب ضد أوكرانيا هشاً ومشروطاً - ونتائجه هي أن 16 في المائة من الروس فقط مستعدين للتضحية من أجل دولتهم".

وهناك مثال آخر يوفر فكرة عن التأييد الذي يحظى به بوتين. فعندما زار الرئيس الروسي مدينة سيفاستوبول في شبه جزيرة القرم في 9 أيار/مايو من العام الماضي (عيد النصر لروسيا) للمشاركة في المسيرة السنوية للاحتفال بذكرى الانتصار على النازيين، استقبله عشرات آلاف الأشخاص بهتافات الشكر على "إعادة" شبه جزيرة القرم إلى روسيا. ولكن في مقابلات وجهاً لوجه مع صحافي روسي واحد على الأقل، أشار سكان سيفاستوبول إلى المشاكل الاقتصادية وغيرها التي نتجت عن إلحاق شبه جزيرة القرم بروسيا. وسأل الصحافي: "ولكن إذا كان سكان سيفاستوبول يعانون من مشاكل جمة، فلماذا رحبوا ببوتين بهذه الحفاوة اليوم؟" فأجابه أحد السكان: "لأنهم لم يتعرضوا لأي خيبة أمل لغاية اليوم. نحن نتطلع إلى الأفضل، ولا يسعنا اليوم سوى الانتظار".

وغالباً ما يختلط التأييد لبوتين بعدم وجود بدائل له. ففي محادثات خاصة أجريتها مع روس خلال الرحلات التي قمت بها إلى روسيا في السنوات الأخيرة، ترددت على مسامعي أقوال مماثلة. كما شعرت بعدم ثقة الشعب بالحكومة. فهذه المشاعر غير ملحوظة ويصعب تحسسها عن طريق إجراء استفتاء، إلا أنها قائمة. فالكثير من الروس يشعرون في قرارة أنفسهم بأن الحكومة تكذب عليهم، حتى عندما تحاول هذه الأخيرة تضليلهم من خلال الدعاية المستمرة.

وبمناسبة "المؤتمر العالمي للمواطنين الروس" الذين يعيشون خارج البلاد، والذي عُقد في 5 و 6 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر في موسكو، قال ممثل دولة قيرغيزستان، ستانيسلاف إبيفانتسيف إنه حتى "السعوديين المتغطرسين" شعروا بقوة روسيا بعد شن الهجمات الصاروخية من السفن التابعة لأسطول بحر قزوين على مواقع "إرهابية" في سوريا. وأضاف، أما قبل هذه الأحداث، "فقد كان  الكسالى هم الوحيدون الذين لم يظهروا ازدراءً بروسيا الضعيفة". وفي غضون ذلك، لم تكن الوعود التي قطعها بوتين في المؤتمر ذات أهمية، في الوقت الذي أعلن فيه رئيس المجلس التنسيقي الجديد للمنظمة ميخائيل دروزدوف بأن "أقرانه شعروا بغبطة فائقة" بعد تجربَتَيْ شبه جزيرة القرم وسوريا. فحتى لو اكتشف بوتين مخدِّراً جديداً بعد سوريا، لن تدوم هذه النشوة بل ستنهار على حين غفلة.

 

 آنا بورشفسكايا هي زميلة "آيرا وينر" في معهد واشنطن.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

Articles & Op-Eds

Russia's Syria Propaganda

Anna Borshchevskaya

Also available in العربية


November 11, 2015

News about Syria has quickly replaced news about Ukraine in the Russian media, thanks to the Kremlin's propaganda.

"This is our land...our sacred land!" proclaimed Russian parliamentarian Semyon Bagdasarov about Syria on the state-run Rossiya-1's leading TV talk show Evening with Vladimir Solovyev in early October. "Civilization came to us precisely from there...If there was no Syria, there would be no Russia," continued Bagdasarov, tracing Russia's history to the time when Syrian priests, "not Greeks or God knows who," came to Russia from Antioch.

In the build-up prior to Russia's Syria intervention on September 30, opinion polls indicated that the majority of Russians opposed military involvement there. The Kremlin's propaganda machine struggled briefly to find the right message about Syria. The Russian Defense Ministry took several days to respond to journalists' questions and, when it did, sometimes it simply chose to not comment. It seemed top Russian officials lacked a clear understanding of the government's intentions: Kremlin press secretary Dmitry Peskov suggested that the majority of the Western-backed Free Syrian Army (FSA) had joined ISIS, while Russian foreign minister Sergei Lavrov said the FSA is not a terrorist organization and should be part of a political solution.

But a message quickly emerged. Syria, a beautiful, peaceful and tolerant country was thriving until "terrorists" came, with their "Western" ideas of "freedom," and tore the country apart in a matter of months. Syria, it also turned out, is intrinsically connected to the very creation of Russia, as Bagdasarov suggested. Meanwhile, the West is responsible for the rise of terrorism in Syria and continues to support terrorist groups in a geopolitical struggle to undermine Russia. Putin, in this view, is leading the true effort on eradicating terror -- although no clear definition of terrorism is provided. The Russian Orthodox Church, which the Kremlin uses as its soft power tool, quickly supported the Kremlin. Head of the Church's public affairs department Vsevolod Chaplin said, "the fight against terrorism -- is a moral struggle, if you like -- a holy struggle, and our country today is probably the most active in the world that resists terror."

News about Syria quickly replaced news about Ukraine. It became a new drug, or as political analyst Andrei Piontkovsky said, an "imperial narcotic" that allows the public to "forget about the failed Ukrainian embarrassment, return the intoxicating air of triumph of Russian Spring 2014, and at the same time remove the awkwardness and discomfort that Russians still experienced when killing the so-similar-to-them Ukrainians."

Yet the message on Syria is different. On Ukraine, images that dominated the media were designed to appeal to a humanitarian impulse to save fellow brethren from persecution by Western-sponsored "fascists." Thus, the news showed violence, terrified people running and screaming.

On Syria, the images are sterile. Sometimes they remind one of action movies or video games: planes take off, bombs fall onto buildings, while commentators discuss, for example, whether the weather in Syria is favorable to air strikes. The Defense Ministry provides regular news briefings with colorful maps and reports about successful missions. There are interviews with Assad's forces who are grateful for Russia's help. Critically, reports indicate that Russian pilots in Latakia get plenty of rest, read books, and eat hearty meals in clean facilities in their free time.

Emotion is not absent from discussion on Syria. For example, the lyrical song "Syria, My Sister, Your Russian Brother Will Save You" details interviews with Syrians about the brutality of the Western-backed "extremists." It promotes the message that everyone in Syria fighting Assad is a monster who tortures and kills in most horrific ways. Images of innocent people, especially children, being blown up show blood and gore, and reinforce the message that there are no other alternatives to Assad -- who himself is the only source of order and peace.

But in terms of what Russia is actually doing in Syria, the Kremlin wants the Russian public to see a painless, distant campaign. Syria is not Ukraine, and it is hard to justify an intervention in a faraway land when Russia had experienced no direct attacks on the Russian soil from this country. It helps to convince the public if the message is that the country is not incurring serious costs.

To be sure, it also helps that many of the Kremlin's messages on Syria are not entirely new. The claim that the West both created ISIS and organized protests on Maidan in Ukraine and used them as instruments of geopolitics, and that the U.S. supports Muslim extremists in Syria who kill Christians in order help the U.S. assert hegemony in the Middle East and carve out the region to its liking, is at least several years old. Same goes for the claim that the West's sole interest in Syria is to remove Assad's legitimate government. The media also had emphasized years before the close connection between Syria, especially the Assad family, to Russia. One talk show, for example, focused on Bashar al-Assad's cousin, Siwar Assad, and his Russian wives in Paris: Images of Siwar as a caring father holding his children, a family that jokingly calls itself "Assadov" to emphasize closeness with Russia, and Russian women who entered fairy tale lives with an Arabian prince who swept them off their feet.

It did not take long for the propaganda to take effect. In late October, polls showed record growth in Putin's approval ratings of 89.9%. They attributed Putin's actions in Syria as one reason for this increase, while only a minority was still against Russia's involvement there. But how much can we believe the polls, and how long will this approval last?

First, the rise in Putin's overall approval should not be overstated: It is only an increase of several percentage points prior to the Syria intervention. In the short term, the propaganda has been effective. But Lilia Shevtsova, a senior fellow at the Brookings Institution, cautions that the Communist party had 99.9% approval ratings a month before the Soviet Union collapsed. "Such ratings are the reason for the authorities to worry, not to rejoice: they say that society has stopped telling truth," she wrote me in an email. Putin may sound confident -- or to be more accurate, overconfident -- but this confidence is fragile.

The high approval ratings are unlikely to last. "[T]he drug effect would be very short because Russians do not understand how their interests could be connected to this faraway region," wrote Shevtsova. "These ratings and the popular support are not sustainable. Otherwise, why should the Kremlin have switched from the Ukrainian military adventure to Syrian? Why is it desperately looking for new drugs? One poll should tell us how fragile and conditional is the Russians' support of the War with Ukraine -- only 16 percent of Russians are ready to sacrifice for the state."

Here is another insight into Putin's approval. When Putin came to Sevastopol in Crimea on May 9 last year (Russia's Victory Day) to observe the parade held annually to commemorate victory over the Nazis, he was greeted with tens of thousands of people chanting thanks for "returning" Crimea to Russia. But in face-to-face conversations with at least one Russian journalist, Sevastopol residents pointed to economic and other problems that Russia's annexation created. "But if the people have major problems, why did they welcome Putin so much today?" asked the journalist. "Because so far there has been no disillusionment," responded one resident. "We are hoping for the best. For now, we are waiting."

Approval for Putin is also often confused with lack of alternatives to him. In private conversations I had with Russians in my travels to the country in recent years, I heard such expressions. I also felt distrust towards the government. It is subtle and hard to capture in a poll, but it is there. Deep down, many Russians feel their government is lying to them, even as they are confused by the incessant propaganda.

At the World Congress of Russian Compatriots living abroad on November 5-6 in Moscow, Kyrgyzstan representative Stanislav Epifantsev said that after the missile strikes from the ships of the Caspian Flotilla on "terrorist" positions in Syria, even the "insolent Saudis" felt Russia's might. Prior to these events, he said, "Only the lazy did not spit into a weakened Russia." Meanwhile, Putin promised little of substance at the meeting as the organization's new coordinating council chairman Mikhail Drozdov proclaimed that "compatriots experienced a sense of extraordinary elation" after Crimea and Syria. Even if Putin finds another, post-Syria drug, such euphoria does not last. Instead, it comes crashing down.

Anna Borshchevskaya is the Ira Weiner Fellow at The Washington Institute.