أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 1933

السياسة الخارجية الروسية بعد عودة بوتين

نيكولاي كوزهانوف

متاح أيضاً في English

2 أيار/ مايو 2012


"على عكس ما هو متوقع، من غير المرجح أن تزداد مواقف روسيا حدة بشأن إيران وسوريا أثناء الفترة الرئاسية الثالثة لبوتين التي تبدأ الأسبوع المقبل."

 

يؤمن بعض المحللين بأن عودة بوتين إلى الرئاسة في السابع من أيار/ مايو سوف تقود حتماً إلى تقوية موقف موسكو حول قضيتين رئيستين: البرنامج النووي الإيراني والتدخل العسكري المحتمل في سوريا. إن السيناريو الأسوأ المطروح حتى الآن يدل ضمنياً عن وجود تحالف شيطاني مع طهران ووجود دعم معنوي وعسكري وسياسي كامل لنظام بشار الأسد في دمشق. وتعود جذور مثل هذه التكهنات إلى التصور الشائع بأن بوتين هو من المتشددين، والإفتراض بأن علاقاته المتوترة مع الغرب هي نتاج عمله ضابطاً سابقاً في جهاز الاستخبارات السوفيتية "كي جي بي" والذي لا يزال يسعى إلى استعادة مكانة بلاده بعد هزيمة الاتحاد السوفيتي في "الحرب الباردة". بيد، يبدو أن هذه التوقعات السلبية مبالغ فيها. ففي السابع من آذار/ مارس طرح الصحفيون على بوتين أسئلة عما إذا كان وصوله للرئاسة سيغير نهج موسكو تجاه إيران وسوريا. فكانت الإجابة الموجزة والتأكيدية التي قالها بأسلوبه المقتضب المعهود "لا".

هل رحل بالفعل عن السلطة؟

أعلن بوتين عدة مرات - أثناء توليه منصب رئيس الوزراء تحت قيادة ديمتري ميدفيديف - بأن الرئيس هو من يقرر سياسة روسيا الخارجية وليس رئيس الوزراء. والواقع أن ميدفيديف بدا وكأنه يتمتع بحرية التصرف خلال توليه المنصب، حيث اتبع نهجاً ليبرالياً إلى حد ما تميز بإعادة ترتيب العلاقات الأمريكية الروسية وتحقيق درجة من التقارب مع الدول الأوروبية والتوصل إلى تسوية مع الغرب بخصوص ليبيا فضلاً عن الفتور الشديد في العلاقات مع طهران. وقد تناقض ذلك بشكل حاد مع فترات بوتين الرئاسية التي نتذكر منها جيداً زيادة حدة التوترات مع واشنطن والتحسن الكبير في الحوار الروسي الإيراني في الفترة 2007-2008. وعلى الرغم من كل ذلك، كان هناك إحساسُ قويٌ بأن رئيس الوزراء بوتين ظل مسيطراً من وراء الكواليس.

أولاً وقبل كل شيء، كان اللاعبون الرئيسيون المسؤولون عن صياغة وتنفيذ سياسة روسيا الخارجية أثناء فترة ولاية ميدفيديف مُعينين من قبل بوتين. وقد شمل ذلك المساعد الرئاسي الذي يتمتع بنفوذ كبير سيرغي بريخودكو، ووزير الخارجية سيرغي لافروف، ورئيس هيئة الاستخبارات الخارجية ميخائيل فرادكوف، وغيرهم.

ثانياً، حتى في ظل شغل بوتين لمنصب رئيس الوزراء فإنه سعى إلى السيطرة الرسمية على أية قضايا سياسية تقع ضمن نطاقه القانوني. وقد كان ذلك هو الوضع مع محطة بوشهر النووية ووجود عملاق الصناعة النووية الروسي روساتوم في إيران. وكان رئيس الشركة سيرغي كيرينكو يرفع تقارير شخصية إلى بوتين بشأن إنشاء محطة بوشهر، وفي تشرين الثاني/ نوفمبر 2011، تلقى موافقة رئيس الوزراء للاستمرار في التعاون مع إيران في مشاريع نووية أخرى.

ثالثاً، لم يرفض بوتين بشكل كامل مطلقاً فكرة أن العديد من قرارات السياسة الخارجية جاءت في الواقع من خلال مشاركته الصريحة. ففي آذار/ مارس على سبيل المثال، عندما قال إنه لن يغير مسار روسيا بشأن إيران وسوريا، ذكر كذلك أنه رغم أن الرئيس يقرر السياسة الخارجية، إلا أن هناك مسائل رئيسية تخضع للمناقشة داخل مجلس الأمن. وأضاف أنه وميدفيديف يتفقان حول القضايا الرئيسية رغم وجود بعض الاختلافات.

لا يوجد ما هو شخصي، بل العمل فحسب

مما لا شك فيه أن بوتين هو من أشد الأشخاص حذراً وانتقاداً للولايات المتحدة وحلف شمال الأطلسي، حيث نعت الأخير في مناسبات عديدة بأنه يحرض على العودة إلى "الحرب الباردة". كما أنه عقلاني جداً، كما هو الحال مع سياسة روسيا الخارجية. ومن المرجح أن تؤدي هذه العقلانية إلى منع أي مواجهات حقيقية مع الغرب بشأن الشرق الأوسط، فضلاً عن إحباط أي تحالف روسي قوي مع دمشق وطهران في ظل الظروف الراهنة. ولذلك، فإنه في اجتماع عقد مؤخراً مع أعضاء البرلمان الروس، خيّب بوتين ظن النواب الذين توقعوا بيانات قوية مناهضة للغرب بشأن سوريا وإيران. وبدلاً من ذلك، أكد بوتين على أن موسكو لن تكرر أخطاء حقبة الاتحاد السوفيتي بدعم أي نظام أو دولة لأسباب أيديولوجية، بدون حساب التكاليف والأرباح.

ولا توجد حالياً أي مكاسب واضحة تُبرر تحالف روسيا مع طهران أو دمشق. لكن كلاً من ميدفيديف وبوتين يدرك أن البلاد سوف تدفع ثمناً باهظاً يتمثل في الضرر الذي سيلحق بسمعتها الدولية لو أنها حادت عن الإجماع بشأن تلك الأنظمة. لقد أمضت موسكو سنوات في بناء روابط قوية مع الولايات المتحدة والاتحاد الأوروبي والدول العربية (لا سيما "مجلس التعاون الخليجي")، وأي من الزعيمين ليس مستعداً للتضحية بالعلاقات السياسية والاقتصادية المحتملة مع هذه البلدان لأجل آية الله خامنئي أو الأسد.

وفي الواقع أن بعض التحركات الروسية الأخيرة قد أثبتت بالفعل أن روسيا تريد أن تكون لاعباً جماعياً وليس دولة منبوذة. ففي منتصف نيسان/ أبريل، أثناء محادثات الدول الخمس دائمة العضوية في مجلس الأمن + ألمانيا في اسطنبول، أظهر المسؤولون الروس استعدادهم للتعاون لحل المسألة النووية الإيرانية. كما أن الإجراءات الروسية الأخيرة على الجبهة السورية - مثل انتقاد الاستخدام المفرط للقوة من جانب الأسد، وحث المشيخات الخليجية على بدء حوار بشأن الأزمة واستضافة شخصيات من المعارضة السورية في موسكو ودعم مبادرة وقف إطلاق النار التي طرحها كوفي عنان برعاية الأمم المتحدة - كلها أمور تظهر أن موسكو لا تريد التحالف الكامل مع دمشق، وأنها تتوقع تقديراً دولياً لهذا الامتناع.

والأسباب التي تدفع موسكو إلى عدم تقديم الدعم الكامل للتحالف الغربي ضد سوريا وإيران عملية تماماً، ولا تعتمد على التفضيلات الشخصية للرئيس. وبالنظر إلى النتائج في العراق وليبيا، أدركت روسيا أن سقوط الشركاء القدامى سوف يؤدي حتماً إلى خسارة النفوذ الاقتصادي والسياسي في البلدان المذكورة. وسواء ظلت روسيا خارج النزاع (كما هو الحال في العراق) أو ساعدت بشكل مخفي على الإطاحة بحلفائها القدامى (كما هو الحال في ليبيا، حيث كانت موسكو أول حكومة توقف صادرات المعدات العسكرية إلى القذافي)، فإن النتيجة ستظل كما هي: لقد أُرغمت روسيا على مغادرة البلدان التي تم تحريرها من الحكام المستبدين.

ومن ثم، فإنه في ظل عدم وجود ضمانات قوية بشأن تأمين مصالحها، تقاتل روسيا من أجل الاحتفاظ بسوريا (إحدى محطاتها الأخيرة في الشرق الأوسط العربي) مع حماية إيران من احتمال شن هجمات عسكرية. كما تُقدِّر روسيا مساعدة طهران في إرساء السلام والاستقرار على سواحل بحر قزوين وفي آسيا الوسطى، ومحاولة الحد من تدخل بلدان ثالثة في الشؤون الإقليمية، ومكافحة الاتجار بالبشر والمخدرات، وردع انتشار الثورات الداخلية.

التغييرات الطفيفة ممكنة

من المرجح أن يمر موقف روسيا تجاه سوريا وإيران - وإن سطحياً على الأقل -  بتغيرات سلبية معينة. فبوتين من أنصار النظرية الشعبية، وسوف يحاول قطعاً شحذ الدعم الداخلي من خلال التودد إلى القوميين وغيرهم من الغاضبين بشأن المسار الليبرالي لسياسة ميدفيديف الخارجية، وهو ما يشير إلى خطاب روسي أكثر عدوانية بشأن هذه المسائل. إلا أن هذا الخطاب موجه عادة إلى الجمهور المحلي ولا يؤثر على المبدأ الرئيسي للدبلوماسية الروسية، وهو: الجاهزية للمناقشة والتفاوض. ومن ثم سوف يعتمد النطاق الحقيقي لمدى التعاون الروسي في الشرق الأوسط على رغبة الغرب وقدرته على التفاوض حول المسائل الرئيسية. إن الضمانات الملائمة التي تحفظ مصالح روسيا في سوريا وإيران - إلى جانب اتباع منهج غير قائم على المواجهة عند إجراء الحوار - من المرجح أن يُحدث أكبر قدر من التأثير الإيجابي على موسكو.

 

نيكولاي كوزهانوف هو زميل زائر في معهد واشنطن. شغل منصب ملحق في السفارة الروسية في طهران في الفترة بين 2006 و 2009.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 1933

Russian Foreign Policy after Putin's Return

Nikolay Kozhanov

Also available in العربية

May 2, 2012


Contrary to expectations, Russia's positions on Iran and Syria are unlikely to harden during Putin's third presidential term, which starts next week.

Some analysts believe that Vladimir Putin's May 7 return to the presidency will inevitably lead to a toughening of Moscow's position on two key issues: the Iranian nuclear program and potential intervention in Syria. The worst scenario put forth so far implies an unholy alliance with Tehran and complete moral, military, and political support to Bashar al-Assad's regime in Damascus. Such speculations are rooted in the popular perception of Putin as a hardliner whose tense relations with the West are supposedly the product of an ex-KGB officer still seeking revanche for the Soviet defeat in the Cold War. Yet these negative expectations seem exaggerated. On March 7, journalists asked Putin whether his accession will change Moscow's approach to Iran and Syria. The answer, delivered in his typically curt style, was a short, promising "no."

WAS HE EVER ACTUALLY GONE?

As prime minister under Dmitry Medvedev, Putin often declared that it is the president, not the premier, who determines Russia's foreign policy. Indeed, Medvedev seemed to enjoy freedom of action during his tenure, adopting a somewhat liberal approach marked by a reset in U.S.-Russian relations, a degree of rapprochement with EU countries, compromise with the West on Libya, and serious cooling of relations with Tehran. This contrasted sharply with Putin's presidential terms, which are well remembered for active tensions with Washington and substantial improvement in Russo-Iranian dialogue in 2007-2008. Nevertheless, there was a strong feeling that Prime Minister Putin remained omnipresent behind the scenes.

First of all, the main players responsible for the formulation and implementation of Russian foreign policy during Medvedev's term were Putin appointees. These included influential presidential aide Sergei Prikhodko, Foreign Minister Sergei Lavrov, Foreign Intelligence chief Mikhail Fradkov, and others.

Second, even as prime minister, Putin sought formal control over any political issues within his legal reach. Such was the case with the Bushehr nuclear plant and the presence of Russian nuclear industry behemoth Rosatom in Iran. Sergey Kirienko, the company's chief, personally reported to Putin regarding construction of the Bushehr plant and, in November 2011, received the prime minister's blessing to continue cooperation with Iran on other nuclear projects.

Third, Putin never completely rejected the notion that many foreign policy decisions were in fact made with his express involvement. In March, for example, when he said he would not change Russia's course on Iran and Syria, he also noted that even though the president determines foreign policy, key questions are still discussed within the Security Council. He added that he and Medvedev were in agreement on the main issues despite certain differences.

NOTHING PERSONAL, JUST BUSINESS

To be sure, Putin is very cautious and critical about the United States and NATO, calling the latter a Cold War atavism on more than one occasion. He is also quite rational, however, as is Russian foreign policy. This rationality will likely prevent any real confrontation with the West regarding the Middle East, as well as forestall any deep Russian alliance with Damascus and Tehran under the present circumstances. Thus, in a recent meeting with Russian parliamentarians, Putin disappointed those deputies who expected tough anti-Western statements on Syria and Iran. Instead, he asserted that Moscow will not repeat the Soviet-era mistake of supporting any regime or country for ideological reasons, without cost-benefit calculations.

Currently, there are no evident benefits that would justify Russia allying with Tehran or Damascus. Both Medvedev and Putin clearly realize that their country would pay a great price in international opprobrium should it deviate from the consensus regarding those regimes. Moscow has spent years building strong ties with the United States, the EU, and Arab states (particularly the Gulf Cooperation Council), and neither leader is ready to sacrifice prospective political and economic ties with these countries for the sake of Ayatollah Khamenei or Assad.

In fact, some of Russia's most recent moves have already proven that Moscow wants to be a team player rather than a pariah. In mid-April, during the P5+1 talks in Istanbul, Russian officials demonstrated their readiness to cooperate on resolving the Iranian nuclear issue. And recent Russian actions on the Syria front -- such as criticizing Assad's excessive use of force, urging Gulf monarchies to begin a dialogue on the crisis, hosting Syrian opposition figures in Moscow, and supporting Kofi Annan's UN ceasefire initiative -- show that Moscow does not want to completely ally itself with Damascus, and that it expects international appreciation for this reluctance.

The reasons why Moscow does not want to fully support the Western coalition against Syria and Iran are also quite practical, and do not depend on the personal preferences of a president. Given the outcomes in Iraq and Libya, Russia has learned that the fall of longtime partners inevitably leads to the loss of economic and political influence in said countries. Whether Russia stays out of the conflict (as in Iraq) or unobtrusively helps to overthrow its old allies (as in Libya, where Moscow was the first government to stop exports of military equipment to Qadhafi), the result is the same: Russia has been compelled to leave countries liberated from dictators.

Therefore, without solid guarantees regarding the security of its interests, Russia has been fighting hard for Syria (one of its last stands in the Arab Middle East) while protecting Iran from the prospect of military strikes. Russia also values Tehran's help in promoting peace and stability throughout the Caspian littoral and Central Asia, in trying to limit the presence of third countries in regional affairs, in counteracting human and drug trafficking, and in deterring the spread of internal revolutions.

MINOR CHANGES ARE POSSIBLE

On the surface, at least, Russia's stance on Syria and Iran will probably undergo certain negative changes. Putin is a populist, and he will definitely try to shore up his domestic support by catering to nationalists and others who are angry about the liberal course of Medvedev's foreign policy, implying more-aggressive Russian rhetoric on these issues. Yet such rhetoric is typically aimed at the domestic audience and does not influence the main principle of Russian diplomacy: the readiness to discuss and negotiate. The real degree of Russian cooperativeness in the Middle East will therefore depend on the West's willingness and ability to negotiate the key issues. Appropriate guarantees that preserve Russia's interests in Syria and Iran -- coupled with a nonconfrontational approach to dialogue -- would probably have the most positive influence on Moscow.

Nikolay Kozhanov is a visiting fellow at The Washington Institute. From 2006 to 2009, he served as an attache at the Russian embassy in Tehran.