أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 2911

معضلة روحاني أمام الاحتجاجات

عومير كرمي

متاح أيضاً في English

8 كانون الثاني/يناير 2018


خلال حملة إعادة انتخابه في عام 2017، صوّر حسن روحاني نفسه على أنه الأمل الأمثل لانتعاش إيران من الناحية الاقتصادية، مطلقاً شعارات على غرار "الحرية والأمن والسلام والتقدّم"، مع وعده بتعزيز "العدالة والإصلاحات". وحتى أنه هاجم «الحرس الثوري الإسلامي»، مدعياً أنه لا يمكن إدخال تحسينات إلا إذا امتنعت "الجماعات التي تحظى بدعم أمني وسياسي" عن التدخل في الاقتصاد.

غير أن أفعال الرئيس روحاني منذ ذلك الحين تشير إلى أنه لا يفي بوعوده الانتخابية. فعلى مدى الأشهر القليلة الماضية، خفف من حدّة لهجته تجاه «الحرس الثوري»، ولم ينجح في تعيين نساء في حكومته، واختار الشخصية المثيرة للجدل منصور غلامي، رئيس جامعة سابق تربطه علاقات مع المعسكر المحافظ، وزيراً للعلوم - وهو منصب له قيمة كبيرة في أوساط الإصلاحيين نظراً إلى أنه يشرف على جامعات البلاد. ونتيجةً لذلك، تعرض روحاني لوابل من الانتقادات القاسية من قبل شخصيات إصلاحية بارزة بسبب "انتقاله إلى اليمين" ضمن الخريطة السياسية.

وبالتالي، فإن المظاهرات الحالية تمثل تحدياً خطيراً لروحاني. فقد هتف بعض المتظاهرين شعارات مباشرة ضده، وحتى دعوا إلى موته. وبشكل عام، ركزوا مظاهراتهم على الفساد والفقر، وهما قضيتان وعد روحاني بالتخفيف من وطأتهما خلال حملته الانتخابية.

رد روحاني على الاحتجاجات السابقة

في صيف عام 1999، واجه النظام الإيراني احتجاجات واسعة النطاق بعد إغلاق صحيفة إصلاحية كانت قد انتقدت القيادة الإيرانية بسبب قضايا تتعلق بحقوق الإنسان. وكان المتظاهرون عموماً من طلاب الطبقة الوسطى ذوي التوجه الإصلاحي؛ وقد شملت جهودهم - في نطاق تسليطهم الضوء على غياب الحريات الأساسية في إيران، الهتاف بشعارات مناهضة للمرشد الأعلى علي خامنئي. ورد النظام بقسوة، الأمر الذي أسفر عن مقتل ستة طلاب واحتجاز أكثر من ألف آخرين خلال ستة أيام فقط.

وفي ذلك الوقت، كان روحاني يشغل منصب الأمين العام لـ "المجلس الأعلى للأمن القومي"، التي هي جهة فاعلة رئيسية في المؤسسة الأمنية الإيرانية، لذلك يُفترض أن يكون قد اضطلع بدور في عملية صنع القرار التي أدت إلى شنّ حملة القمع. وفي يوم انتهاء الاحتجاجات، خاطب حشداً موالياً للنظام واتهم المتظاهرين بأنهم يخدمون "مخططاً أجنبياً" يهدف إلى إسقاط النظام. وبعباراته، "أطلق العدو هجوماً على الحجر الأساس للهيكل الأبوي للثورة...واستهدف الحرمة المقدسة لـ «ولاية الفقيه»". وبعد ذلك، ادعى أن الإساءة إلى هذا المبدأ تُعتبر "إساءة للأمة بأسرها"، وحذر من أنه ستتمّ محاكمة المشاغبين المعتقلين باعتبارهم "أعداء الدولة" ومصدر "الفساد على الأرض" - وهما جريمتان عقوبتهما الإعدام. ووفقاً لبعض التقارير، أوضح روحاني لاحقاً أنه لم يكن أمامه أي خيار آخر لأنه كان في الحكومة في ذلك الوقت.

ومن الأمثلة الأخرى على أفعاله خلال السنوات التي قضاها في المجلس، أصدر روحاني أوامر قضائية فرضت قيوداً على الصحف الإصلاحية واتخذ تدابير مختلفة للحدّ من انتقاد الشعب للنظام. ولدى سؤاله عن اعتماد هذه السياسات في عام 2002، قال إن هناك فرق بين "الحرية" و"الفوضى"، وشدّد على ضرورة تقيّد كافة الإيرانيين بالقانون. وكّرر المنطق نفسه بعد سنوات عندما سُئل عن سبب صمته أثناء احتجاجات "الحركة الخضراء"، بقوله إن أولئك المتظاهرين ملزمون بالتصرف ضمن حدود القانون، وفي عام 2011 وصف الحركة بأنها "تحريضية".

التزام الحياد حتى الآن

منذ اندلاع الاحتجاجات الأخيرة، يبدو أن روحاني يتقيّد بنقاط النقاش التي يفرضها النظام. ففي خطاب مسجل أدلى به في 31 كانون الأول/ديسمبر، أشار إلى أن "المواطنين يتمتعون بكامل الحرية للانتقاد والتعبير عن احتجاجاتهم"، لكن فقط بطريقة "تؤدي إلى تحسين الحياة العامة والوضع في البلاد". وكرر طريقة تفكيره الأساسية القائمة على "القانون والنظام" شارحاً أن الانتقاد "يختلف عن العنف"، وأنه يتوجب على الإيرانيين الساخطين إيجاد "وسيلة صحيحة وقانونية ومنطقية" للتعبير عن انتقاداتهم. وإلا سيكون المحتجون "زائفين" و"يرضون الأعداء" على حدّ قوله.

وحذا مستشارو روحاني حذوه من خلال الإشارة إلى احتمال إجراء إصلاحات محذرين في الوقت نفسه من أي محاولة لزعزعة الاستقرار في إيران. و نشر أحد المستشارين وهو حسام‌ الدین آشنا استطلاعاً على موقع "تويتر" سأل فيه العامة إذا كانوا مستعدين لوقف الاحتجاجات مقابل خطة عمل جديدة لتلبية مطالبهم (على الرغم من عدم موثوقية استطلاعات الرأي على الإنترنت، لا بد من الإشارة إلى أن ما يقرب من 60 في المائة من المشاركين في الاستطلاع البالغ عددهم 17,500  قد رفضوا الاقتراح).  وبدوره، ذكر كبير مستشاري روحاني أكبر توركان أنه رغم ضرورة اتخاذ الحكومة خطوات فعلية لمحاربة الفساد، بذلت الولايات المتحدة وإسرائيل قصارى جهودهما "للاستفادة من الاحتجاجات".

ومثل هذه الخطابات قد تجدي نفعاً لروحاني على المدى القصير، خاصةٍ إذا تراجعت وتيرة الاحتجاجات. ولكن إذا استمرت أو زادت حدّتها أو إذا اعتمد النظام رداً أكثر صرامةً، سيجد نفسه مجبراً على مواجهة معضلة. فمن جهة، هو رئيس إيران وبالتالي يحرص على عدم اتخاذ أي خطوات من شأنها زعزعة أسس حكومة البلاد. وفي النهاية، فقد شكل جزءاً لا يتجزأ من الجمهورية الإسلامية منذ أيام آية الله روح الله الخميني حيث شغل منصب قائد القوات الجوية ونائب رئيس البرلمان، إضافةً إلى العديد من المناصب الرئيسية الأخرى. وهو يسعى في الدرجة الأولى إلى الحفاظ على المفاهيم والأهداف الأساسية للجمهورية الإسلامية، رغم أنه يسلك في بعض الأحيان مساراً أكثر واقعية من آخرين في النظام لتحقيق هذه الغاية.

ومن جهة أخرى، انتُخب روحاني استناداً إلى وعوده بالاعتدال والإصلاح والحفاظ على حقوق الإنسان، والأهم من ذلك تحقيق انتعاش اقتصادي. وقد اندلعت المعارضة الحالية في الشوارع إلى حد كبير بسبب عدم قدرته على الوفاء بهذا الوعد الأخير - وفي الواقع، قد يقول البعض إن التوقعات الكبيرة التي أطلقها هو ومستشاروه منذ إبرام الاتفاق النووي قد أصابت الشعب بخيبة أمل كبيرة. وبناءً على ذلك، إذا شنّ النظام حملات قمع بالقوة، وتجاوب معه روحاني، فمن المرجح أن يفقد بعض الدعم حتى في أوساط أبرز ناخبيه.

التشديد على المقايضة التي يواجهها روحاني

على الرغم من أن المرشد الأعلى يبقى صانع القرار النهائي في إيران، إلّا أنّه لا يزال بإمكان روحاني استخدام نفوذه المحدود للتأثير على حسابات خامنئي - لا سيما إذا ردد الشعب الإيراني رسائله، كما حصل على ما يبدو في المسألة النووية. وبغض النظر عن المنحى الذي ستتخذه الاحتجاجات، ستكون بمثابة جرس إنذار للرئيس. وفي المرحلة المقبلة، قد يدرك أخيراً أن الاقتصاد بحاجة إلى إنعاش طارئ، وأن العجز عن تحقيق هذا الهدف سيطلق موجة جديدة من الاحتجاجات، قد تكون على الأرجح أكثر حدّةً من الجولة الحالية. وللمباشرة بعملية الانتعاش هذه، قد يقرر اتخاذ قرارات صارمة بشأن الإصلاحات الاقتصادية التي من شأنها أن تلحق الضرر بأبرز الجهات الفاعلة في النظام الإيراني.

كما قد يسعى روحاني إلى تحريك عجلة الاقتصاد من خلال جذب المزيد من الشركات والاستثمارات الأجنبية إلى إيران. ولكن ذلك قد يتطلب منه إدراك وجود تسوية بين أنشطة إيران المزعزعة للاستقرار في الشرق الأوسط ورغبته في تحسين الاقتصاد. ويمكن للمجتمع الدولي أن يدعم طريقة التفكير هذه من خلال التأكيد له - سواء في المجالس الخاصة أو العامة - على أن العديد من الشركات ستبقى مترددة حيال مزاولة الأعمال في طهران طالما تواصل سلوكها المؤذي في الخارج وتطويرها للصواريخ البالستية. ووسط هتافات المتظاهرين الغاضبين، قد يتردد صدى هذه الرسالة بوضوح أكبر في أرجاء قاعات مقر الرئاسة أكثر من أي وقت مضى.

وبطبيعة الحال، قد يرفض خامنئي مع ذلك أي طلبات من روحاني حول التدخل في شؤون الدول الأخرى ومسألة الصواريخ. فالمرشد الأعلى متشدد شرس يؤمن بمفهوم "تصدير الثورة"، لذلك فحتى لو كان مقتنعاً بالسماح بإجراء إصلاحات اقتصادية (وهي خطوة لن يكون لها تأثير كبير إلا على المدى الطويل وليس على المدى القصير)، إلّا أنّه سوف يتردد في تقليص الدعم لشبكة الوكلاء الإيرانيين في الخارج. وفي هذه الحالة، قد تساعد الضغوط الخارجية على إقناع روحاني بضرورة استخدام أدواته الرئاسية المحدودة لتقويض بعض أنشطة «الحرس الثوري» في المنطقة. وتشمل هذه الأدوات تقليص مخصصات ميزانية الدفاع، باستخدام سلطته على وزارة الدفاع لعرقلة التعاون مع «الحرس الثوري»، إضافةً إلى زيادة وتيرة انتقاده العلني من حين لآخر لهذا «الحرس». وقد لا تغيّر هذه المقاربة بالكامل سلوك إيران في المنطقة، لكنها قد تتصدى لبعض الخطط التي ربما أعدّها قادة  «فيلق القدس» التابع لـ «الحرس الثوري» للشرق الأوسط.

 

عومير كرمي هو زميل عسكري زائر سابق في معهد واشنطن. وعلى مدى السنوات القليلة الماضية، قاد جهوداً تحليلية وبحثية في "جيش الدفاع الإسرائيلي" تتعلق بالتطورات الخاصة بالشرق الأوسط والأمن القومي. الآراء الواردة في هذا المرصد السياسي هي آراء المؤلف ولا تعكس وجهة نظر "جيش الدفاع الإسرائيلي" أو الحكومة الإسرائيلية.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 2911

Rouhani's Protest Paradox

Maj. Omer Carmi, IDF

Also available in العربية

January 8, 2018


If the protests intensify, President Rouhani may be hard pressed to unravel his greatest dilemma: how to honor his economic and reform promises while preserving his decades-long commitment to the regime's core principles.

During his 2017 reelection campaign, Hassan Rouhani portrayed himself as Iran's best hope for economic recovery, sporting slogans such as "Freedom, Security, Peace, and Progress" while promising to promote "justice and reforms." Rouhani even attacked the Islamic Revolutionary Guard Corps (IRGC), claiming that improvements could only be achieved if "groups with security and political backing" refrained from interfering in the economy.

Yet President Rouhani's actions since then suggest that he is not keeping his campaign promises. Over the past few months, he has softened his tone on the IRGC, failed to appoint female ministers to his cabinet, and selected controversial figure Mansour Gholami, a former university president who has relations with the conservative camp, as minister of science—a post highly valued by reformists because it supervises the country's universities. As a result, Rouhani has suffered harsh criticism from prominent reformist figures for "shifting to the right" of the political map.

The current demonstrations therefore represent an acute challenge for Rouhani. Some of the protestors have chanted slogans directly against him, even calling for his death. More generally, they have centered their demonstrations around corruption and poverty—two issues that Rouhani promised to alleviate during his campaign.

ROUHANI'S RESPONSE TO PAST PROTESTS

In summer 1999, the Iranian regime faced widespread protests following the closure of a reformist newspaper that had criticized the leadership on human rights issues. The demonstrators were mostly middle-class students with a reformist orientation, and their efforts to highlight the lack of basic freedoms in Iran included chanting slogans against Supreme Leader Ali Khamenei. The regime responded harshly, killing six students and detaining more than a thousand in only six days.

At the time, Rouhani was secretary of the Supreme National Security Council, a major player in Iran's security establishment, so he presumably took part in the decisionmaking process leading to the crackdown. On the day the protests ended, he addressed a pro-regime gathering and accused the demonstrators of serving a "foreign plot" aimed at toppling the regime. In his words, "The enemy launched an onslaught on the foundation stone of the Revolution's patriarchal structure...and attacked the sacred sanctity of velayat-e faqih [referring to the doctrine granting the Supreme Leader his all-encompassing authority]." He then claimed that offending this principle was equal to "offending the entire nation," and warned that arrested rioters would be tried for being "enemies of the state" and "corrupt on earth"—crimes punishable by death. According to some reports, Rouhani later explained that he could not have done anything else because he was in the government at the time.

In other instances during his years on the council, Rouhani placed gag orders on reformist newspapers and took various measures to limit public criticism of the regime. When asked about such policies in 2002, he argued that there is a difference between "freedom" and "shambles," emphasizing that all Iranians must follow the law. He repeated the same logic years later when asked why he remained silent during the Green Movement, arguing that those demonstrators were obligated to act within the limits of the law and calling the movement "seditious" in 2011.

SITTING ON THE FENCE SO FAR

Since the latest protests broke out, Rouhani seems to be following the regime's talking points. In a recorded speech on December 31, he argued that "the people are completely free to criticize and express their protests," but only in a way that "would lead to the betterment of public life and the country's situation." He went on to reiterate his basic "law and order" mindset by arguing that criticism is "different from violence," and that disaffected Iranians should find a "correct, legal, and logical way" to voice their criticism. Otherwise, he said, the protests will be "false" and "please the enemies."

Rouhani's advisors followed in his footsteps by suggesting the prospect of reforms while warning against any attempt to destabilize Iran. One advisor, Hesamodin Ashna, published a Twitter poll asking the public if they were willing to cease the protests in return for a new plan of action to meet their demands (despite the obvious unreliability of online polls, it bears mentioning that nearly 60 percent of 17,500 voters said no). And senior advisor Akbar Torkan noted that although the government should indeed take steps to combat corruption, the United States and Israel were eager "to take advantage of the protests."

Such rhetoric might work for Rouhani in the short term, particularly if the protests decline. But if they persist or intensify, or if the regime adopts a harsher response, he will be forced to face a dilemma. On the one hand, he is the president of Iran and therefore cautious not to make any moves that might shake the foundations of its government. After all, he has been an integral part of the Islamic Republic since the days of Ayatollah Ruhollah Khomeini, serving as an air force commander, deputy speaker of parliament, and numerous other key roles. Above all, he seeks to preserve the core concepts and goals of the Islamic Republic, even though he sometimes takes a more pragmatic path toward doing so than others in the regime.

On the other hand, Rouhani was elected under the promise of moderation, reform, human rights, and, most important, economic recovery. The current dissent in the streets erupted in large part because of his inability to address the latter promise—in fact, some would argue that the high expectations he and his advisors have encouraged since the nuclear deal contributed to the public's deep disappointment. Accordingly, if the regime cracks down forcefully and he cooperates, he would likely lose some support even among his core constituents.

EMPHASIZING THE TRADE-OFF ROUHANI FACES

Although the Supreme Leader remains Iran's ultimate decisionmaker, Rouhani can still use his limited influence to affect Khamenei's calculus—especially if his messages are echoed by the Iranian public, as seemed to happen with the nuclear issue. No matter how the protests turn out, they will serve as a wakeup call for the president. Going forward, he may finally realize that the economy is in need of urgent recovery, and that failure to achieve that goal will spur a new wave of protests, likely more intense than the current round. To begin this recovery, he may decide to make tough decisions on economic reforms that will hurt major actors in the Iranian system.

Rouhani might also seek to jumpstart the economy by attracting more foreign companies and investments to Iran. Yet this would require him to understand that there is a tradeoff between Iran's destabilizing activities in the Middle East and its desire for economic improvement. The international community could foster this state of mind by emphasizing to him—in public and private—that many businesses will remain gun-shy about engaging with Tehran as long as it continues its malign behavior abroad and its development of ballistic missiles. Amid the chants of angry protestors, such a message might resound more clearly in the halls of Rouhani's presidential residence than ever before.

Of course, Khamenei may still reject any pleas from Rouhani about foreign adventurism and missiles. The Supreme Leader is a fierce hardliner who believes in the concept of "exporting the revolution," so even if he is persuaded to allow economic reforms (a move whose major effects would only be felt in the long run, not in the short term), he will be reluctant to decrease support for Iran's network of proxies abroad. In that case, foreign pressure could help convince Rouhani that he should use his limited presidential tools to impede certain IRGC activities in the region. These tools include decreasing defense budget allocations, using his control over the Defense Ministry to hinder cooperation with the IRGC, and stepping up his occasional public criticism of the IRGC. This approach might not completely change Iran's behavior in the region, but it could challenge some of the plans that leaders of the IRGC-Qods Force likely have for the Middle East.

Omer Carmi, a former visiting military fellow at The Washington Institute, has led analytical and research efforts in the Israel Defense Forces pertaining to Middle East and national security issues. The opinions expressed in this PolicyWatch are his own and do not reflect the views of the IDF or the Israeli government.