أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 2787

روحاني قد يسلم من الزلزال الانتخابي

مهدي خلجي

متاح أيضاً في English

17 نيسان/أبريل 2017


في 12 نيسان/أبريل، فاجأ محمود أحمدي نجاد المراقبين عندما أعلن ترشيحه للانتخابات الرئاسية المقبلة، على الرغم من تصريحه عكس ذلك سابقاً ومعارضة المرشد الأعلى السيد علي خامنئي لمثل هذه الخطوة. وبعد أن خسر دعم المتشددين بشكلٍ تدريجي، يقدّم الرئيس الإيراني السابق نفسه اليوم كشخصٍ مستعد لتحدّي خامنئي لدرجةٍ أكبر من الإصلاحيين.

وفي عام 2013، حاول أحمدي نجاد أن يحافظ على نفوذه من خلال دعم ترشيح مدير مكتبه السابق اسفنديار رحيم مشائي للانتخابات الرئاسية، إلّا أنّ خطّته أتت بنتائج عكسية عندما استبعد "مجلس صیانة الدستور" مشائي. وبعد مرور بضعة أشهر، أعلن أحمدي نجاد تأييده لترشيح نائبه السابق حميد رضا بقائي. ومن خلال ترشيح نفسه يسعى أحمدي نجاد على الأرجح إلى الاستفادة من ترشّح بقائي في حال تقرير عدم أهلية أحمدي نجاد. وفي عام 2013، اتخذ الرئيس الراحل أكبر هاشمي رفسنجاني خطوةٍ مماثلة بهدف تأمين ترشّح الرئيس الحالي حسن روحاني.

وإذا انتهى الأمر بطرح إسم أحمدي نجاد أو بقائي في بطاقات الاقتراع في نهاية المطاف، فقد يرتفع الإقبال على التصويت إلى حد كبير لصالحهما وضدّهما في آن واحد. وقد تكون الأصوات سلبيةً من جهة الناخبين، ومن بينهم بعض المتشددين، الذين لديهم ذكرياتٍ سيئة من رئاسة أحمدي نجاد، وإيجابيةً من قبل الإيرانيين من الطبقة العاملة الذين يتذكّرون بحماس شعبوية أحمدي نجاد على الرغم من سجله السابق من الفساد.

توقعات غير مؤكدة بشأن رئيسي

يواجه خصوم روحاني المتشددون والمحافظون حظوظاً صعبة بشكلٍ عام، ومن بينها الانقسامات في صفوف القيادة العليا وقلة التنظيم على مستوى القاعدة الشعبية. ومن المرجّح أن يكون قد تم استنتاج هذا السيناريو من قبل عضو "مجلس خبراء القيادة"، السيد ابراهيم رئيسي، عندما أعلن هو أيضاً في 9 نيسان/أبريل عن خوضه المعركة الرئاسية كمرشحٍ مستقل. وفي آذار/مارس المنصرم، تم تعيين رئيسي خادماً لحرم الإمام الرضا، وهو الوقف الإسلامي الأكبر في العالم، ويقال أنه المؤسسة الأكثر نفوذاً في إيران. بيد أنّه لم يخلف خادم الحرم السابق الراحل عباس واعظ طبسي في منصبيه الآخرين كممثل المرشد الأعلى في محافظة خراسان ومدير الحوزة العلمية في خراسان.

وُلد رئيسي في مشهد عام 1960، ودرس في الحوزات العلمية في مشهد وقُم قبل انضمامه إلى القضاء مباشرة بعد ثورة 1979 عندما كان لا يزال مراهقاً. وبعد أن تولّى مناصب مختلفة في الحوزة العلمية على مر السنين، ما زال يشغل منصب النائب العام في "المحكمة الخاصة برجال الدين" بتعيينٍ من خامنئي. وإلى جانب ضعف قدراته الإدارية، قد يواجه رئيسي تمحيصاً دقيقاً في دوره السابق في إعدام المعارضين السياسيين، لاسيما خلال القتل الجماعي للسجناء السياسيين عام 1988 عندما كان أحد الأعضاء الثلاثة في "لجنة الموت" التي شكّلها آية الله روح الله الخميني.

وبالإضافة إلى العقبات التي يواجهها رئيسي، فإن خلفيته القضائية والاستخبارية لم تخدم مصلحة المرشحين الرئاسيين من الناحية التاريخية. ومن الأمثلة على ذلك محمد محمدى رى شهرى الذي حصل على أقل عدد من الأصوات بين جميع المرشحين عام 1997 بعد أن شغل منصب وزير الاستخبارات ونائباً عاماً سابقاً في المحكمة الخاصة برجال الدين. كما أن مصير وزير الاستخبارات السابق علي فلاحيان كان مماثلاً في محاولته [الرئاسية] عام 2001. وفي عام 2013، انسحب مصطفى بور محمدي، وهو عضو آخر في "لجنة الموت" ونائب وزير الاستخبارات فلاحيان، من السباق الرئاسي بعد أن أظهرت الاستطلاعات احتمالات ضئيلة لفوزه.

ومنذ إعلان رئيسي ترشحه للانتخابات الرئاسية، نال ردوداً عنيفة من وسائل الإعلام الفارسية خارج إيران وعلى مواقع التواصل الاجتماعي الفارسية حول سجلّه في حقوق الإنسان. وقد يترتّب عن هذه الحملة الإعلامية أصوات إضافية لروحاني، حتى من منتقديه، باعتباره أهون الشرين بين المرشحَين. وستكون النتيجة المريرة على رئيسي هي تراجع فرصه في المساعدة على تقرير خلف خامنئي. ومما لا شك فيه أنّ خسارته في الانتخابات سوف تلغي حظوظ رئيسي في تولي منصب المرشد الأعلى المقبل. وسيشير انسحاب رئيسي من السباق الرئاسي إلى تردده في الإقدام على هذه المخاطرة.

الرئيس لا يزال المرشح الأوفر حظاً

من المرجح أن يحافظ روحاني على منصبه، إلّا أنّ طريقه لا يخلو من الصعوبات. فعلى الرغم من دبلوماسيته الناجحة في المجال النووي، كان روحاني قد فاز في الانتخابات السابقة بنسبة 50.88 في المائة فقط من الأصوات. وقد يؤدّي فشله في الوفاء بتعهداته الاقتصادية والسياسية إلى تردّد بعض مؤيديه المحتملين. وبالفعل، كان يوم 15 نيسان/أبريل الموعد النهائي لتسجيل المرشحين الجدد. وفي اللحظة الأخيرة، وفي محاولةٍ واضحة من روحاني للتحوط من [عدم ترشيحه] في حال قيام "مجلس صيانة الدستور" باستبعاده، دخل نائب الرئيس إسحاق جهانغيري المنافسة الرئاسية. ومع ذلك، توفر الحالات السابقة حظوظاً جيدة لروحاني للفوز في الانتخابات. فمنذ تأسيس الجمهوية الإسلامية، فاز جميع الرؤساء الإيرانيين بالانتخابات لفترة ولاية ثانية باستثناء رئيسين فقط.

وللمرشد الأعلى أسبابه الخاصة لدعم فترة ولاية ثانية لروحاني بشكلٍ ضمني. ويتمثّل الدافع الأول بأنّ الرؤساء الإيرانيين يميلون إلى أن يصبحوا أكثر ضعفاً بكثير في فترة ولايتهم الثانية، ويعود السبب الرئيسي لذلك إلى زيادة سيطرة المرشد الأعلى ومؤسساته عليهم. ويساعد ذلك على تفسير احتمال امتناع خامنئي عن دعم المرشحين المتشددين بشكلٍ فعال. ومن جهةٍ أخرى، ساعد خامنئي في حملة روحاني الانتخابية عام 2013، بما في ذلك من خلال دعوته غير العادية لمعارضي النظام للتصويت "من أجل بلادهم". ومن الواضح أنّ مثل هذه المواقف مبنيةٌ على القلق من أن يؤدّي الاستقطاب إلى حشد المواطنين بطريقة تؤدي في نهاية المطاف إلى حدوث اضطرابات، كما حصل في انتخابات عام 2009. ومن خلال معارضة خامنئي لترشح أحمدي نجاد هذه المرة، اعتبر المرشد الأعلى أنّ ذلك قد "يؤدّي إلى استقطاب البلاد ويلحق الضرر بها".

ويلقى روحاني أيضاً الدعم من عددٍ كبير من الإصلاحيين، ومنهم الرئيس السابق محمد خاتمي والكثيرين غيره، الذين منحوه دعمهم الكامل قبل البدء الرسمي للحملة الانتخابية، المعدة لفترة عشرين يوماً قبل موعد التصويت في 19 أيار/مايو.

عامل ترامب

من أجل المساعدة على تسهيل فوز روحاني، من المرجح أن يأخذ خامنئي في عين الاعتبار الديناميات الدولية والمحلية على حدٍ سواء. وعلى وجه الخصوص، في ظلّ الغموض الذي يلفّ سياسات الرئيس الأمريكي دونالد ترامب تجاه إيران وسوريا والمنطقة الأوسع، قد يرى خامنئي في فترة رئاسة ثانية لروحاني وسيلةً لمنع تصاعد [التوترات] بين طهران وواشنطن. وفي الآونة الأخيرة، تمّ تأجيل [مناقشة] وثيقة أمريكية في مجلس الشيوخ تقضي بفرض عقوباتٍ جديدة على إيران، بدعوى أن ذلك حدث لأسبابٍ متعلقة بالانتخابات. ومن ثم، فإن تخفيف العقبات أمام الانتعاش الاقتصاي في إيران يمكن أن يقدّم سبباً آخر لكي يسهّل المرشد الأعلى الطريق أمام إعادة انتخاب روحاني.

عواقب أكبر

مهما كانت أهمية الانتخابات الرئاسية الإيرانية، إلا أن خلافة منصب المرشد الأعلى التي تلوح في الأفق هي أكثر أهميةً لكل من إيران والروابط بين إيران والولايات المتحدة. بيد، يمكن للواحدة أن تؤثّر على الأخرى. فإذا توفّي آية الله خامنئي، الذي يبلغ من العمر ثمانية وسبعين عاماً، في السنوات القليلة القادمة، فسوف يسعى "مجلس خبراء القيادة"، الذي يضمّ روحاني عضواً فيه، إلى تسمية المرشد الأعلى الجديد. إلا أنه في حال فشل "المجلس" في اتخاذ هذا القرار سريعاً، سيتم تشكيل مجلس قيادة مؤقت يتألف من رئيس الجمهورية ورئيس السلطة القضائية وعضو في "مجلس صيانة الدستور" (يختاره "مجلس تشخيص مصلحة النظام") إلى حين تسمية مرشد أعلى جديد. وهنا، يُعتبر خامنئي نفسه بمثابة دليلٍ على أنّ الرئيس يمكن أن يصبح نفسه المرشد الأعلى. فقد كان ثالث رئيس للجمهورية الإسلامية قبل ان يقرر "مجلس خبراء القيادة" تعيينه خلفاً للخميني عام 1989. ويفسّر ذلك سبب إمكانية قيام الفائز في الانتخابات القادمة بلعب دور أكبر من أسلافه الثلاثة.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك، تركّزت الحملة الرئاسية الإيرانية حتى الآن على القضايا الاقتصادية، وليس على السياسة الخارجية. وليس هناك دليلٍ يدعم الادعاءات الغربية المتكررة بأنّ موقفاً أمريكياً أكثر صلابةً يضر روحاني ويساعد المتشددين. وسوف تحدد أفعال روحاني أكثر من باقي [القضايا المثارة في] الحملة الانتخابية ما إذا كان هذا الافتراض صحيحاً.

وعلى الرغم من أنّ النظام الانتخابي للجمهورية الإسلامية يعمل في ظل نظامٍ استبدادي، إلّا أنّه يصعب التنبّؤ بالنتائج الانتخابية. وبغض النظر عن الفائز، لا يتمتّع الرئيس بالسلطة التي يتوقّعها الكثيرون، بما في ذلك في المجال التنفيذي. ولن يملك الرئيس المقبل السلطة التي تخوّله تغيير عمليات صنع القرار في البلاد. والأهمّ من ذلك أنه سيكون له تأثير ضئيل نسبياً على سياسات الحكومة الخارجية والنووية والعسكرية - وهي السياسات الأهم بالنسبة للعالم الخارجي.

 

مهدي خلجي هو زميل "ليبيتزكي فاميلي" في معهد واشنطن، ومؤلف دراسته الأخيرة "مستقبل القيادة في الطائفة الشيعية".

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 2787

Rouhani Likely to Survive Election Shake-Up

Mehdi Khalaji

Also available in العربية

April 17, 2017


Although the entry of two high-profile hardliners could make the race more interesting, the current president remains the favorite in Iran's May 19 election, which could also help determine the next Supreme Leader.

On April 12, Mahmoud Ahmadinejad surprised observers by announcing he would run in the upcoming presidential election, despite his own former statement to the contrary and Supreme Leader Ali Khamenei's opposition to such a move. Having gradually lost the support of hardliners, the former Iranian president is now portraying himself as someone willing to defy Khamenei to an even greater degree than are the reformists.

In 2013, Ahmadinejad's plan to maintain influence through supporting the presidential run by his former chief of staff, Esfandiar Rahim Mashai, backfired when the Guardian Council disqualified Mashai. Then, some months ago, Ahmadinejad announced his backing for the candidacy of Hamid Reza Baghaei, who served as his vice president. In running himself, Ahmadinejad likely is seeking leverage for Baghaei's bid in the event Ahmadinejad is disqualified. The late Akbar Hashemi Rafsanjani took a similar step in 2013 with the aim of securing now president Hassan Rouhani's run.

Should Ahmadinejad or Baghaei end up on the ballot, turnout could surge in ways both detrimental and favorable to them -- on the negative side, from voters, including some hardliners, who have bad memories of Ahmadinejad's leadership; on the positive, from working-class Iranians who fondly remember Ahmadinejad's populism, despite his track record of corruption.

Uncertain Prospects for Raisi

Rouhani’s hardline and conservative opponents face generally difficult odds, including divisions among the top echelons as well as lack of organization at the grassroots. Sayyed Ebrahim Raisi, an Assembly of Experts member, likely recognized this scenario when, on April 9, he too announced he would compete for the presidency, running as an independent. Just last March, Raisi was appointed custodian of the Imam Reza Shrine, the largest Muslim endowment worldwide and arguably the most powerful institution in Iran. He did not, however, succeed the late former custodian, Abbas Vaez Tabasi, in his other two posts -- as the Supreme Leader's representative in Khorasan province and as head of the Khorasan seminary.

Born in 1960 in Mashhad, Raisi studied in the seminaries of Mashhad and Qom before joining the judiciary just after the 1979 revolution, when he was still a teenager. Having served in various seminary posts over the years, he still holds the position of general prosecutor, by Khamenei's appointment, at the Special Court for Clerics. Alongside his lack of management credentials, Raisi could face scrutiny over his past role in the execution of political opponents, especially in the mass killing of political prisoners in 1988, when he was one of three members of a "death committee" assembled by Ayatollah Ruhollah Khomeini.

Adding to Raisi's obstacles is his judiciary and intelligence background, which historically has not boded well for presidential candidates. One such example is Mohammad Mohammadi Reyshahri, who in 1997, serving as intelligence minister and having previously been general prosecutor at the Special Court for Clerics, earned the fewest votes of those running. Ali Fallahian, a past intelligence minister, fared the same in his 2001 bid. And, in 2013, Mostafa Pour Mohammadi, another member of the "death committee" as well as a former deputy at the Ministry of Intelligence under Fallahian, backed out of a run after surveys showed his low odds.

Since announcing his candidacy, Raisi has been savaged by Persian media outside Iran as well as Persian social media over his human rights record. Among the effects of this media campaign could be additional votes for Rouhani, even from his critics, based on an assessment of him as the lesser evil of the two. The graver consequence for Raisi would be a reduced chance at helping decide who succeeds Khamenei. And, unquestionably, losing the election would kill Raisi's chance at actually becoming the next Supreme Leader. A withdrawal by Raisi from the race would thus indicate a reluctance to take this risk.

President Still the Front-Runner

Rouhani is favored to keep his position, but his path is not without difficulties. Despite his successful nuclear diplomacy, Rouhani won last time with just 50.88 percent of the vote, and his failure to deliver on economic and political pledges could give some potential supporters pause. Indeed, April 15 marked the deadline for new candidates to register. At the last minute, in an apparent attempt by Rouhani to hedge should the Guardian Council disqualify him, his vice president, Eshaq Jahangiri, entered the contest. Yet precedent offers promise for Rouhani. Since the founding of the Islamic Republic, all but two Iranian presidents have won reelection. 

The Supreme Leader has his own reasons to implicitly back a second term for Rouhani. One is that Iranian presidents tend to become much weaker in their second terms, with a key cause being their greater susceptibility to control by the Supreme Leader and his institutions. This helps explain Khamenei's possible abstention from active support for the hardline candidates. Separately, Khamenei assisted in Rouhani's 2013 campaign, including through his unusual call for regime opponents to vote "for the sake of their country." Evidently underlying such stances is anxiety that polarization could mobilize citizens in a way that ultimately causes turmoil, as occurred following the 2009 vote. In opposing Ahmadinejad's run this time, Khamenei thus claimed it could "polarize the country and it is harmful to the country."

Also buoying Rouhani is support from the broad spectrum of reformists, including former president Mohammad Khatami and several others, who have granted their full backing before the official start of the campaign, set for twenty days before the May 19 vote.

The Trump Factor

In helping facilitate a Rouhani victory, Khamenei is likely considering international as well as domestic dynamics. In particular, lacking clarity on U.S. president Donald Trump's policies toward Iran, Syria, and the broader region, Khamenei may view another term for Rouhani as a means of preventing escalation between Tehran and Washington. Lately, a U.S. bill to impose new sanctions on Iran has been delayed in the Senate, purportedly for election-related reasons. Alleviating obstacles to economic recovery in Iran could therefore offer yet another reason for the Supreme Leader to ease the way for Rouhani's reelection.

Larger Consequences

However important the Iranian presidential vote, even more significant for both Iran and Iran-U.S. ties is the looming succession to the Supreme Leader position. Yet one could well affect the other. If Ayatollah Khamenei, who is seventy-eight, dies in the next few years, the Assembly of Experts, of which Rouhani is a member, will seek to name a successor. But if it fails to do so immediately, a provisional leadership council consisting of the president, judiciary chief, and a Guardian Council member (chosen by the Expediency Council) will be formed until a new Supreme Leader is named. Here, Khamenei himself serves as evidence that the president can himself become Supreme Leader. He was the Islamic Republic's third president before the Assembly of Experts decided in 1989 to appoint him as Khomeini's successor. This explains why the winner of the upcoming vote could play a greater role than his three predecessors.

Further, Iran's presidential campaign has thus far centered on economic issues, not foreign policy, and no evidence supports the frequently heard Western claim that a tougher U.S. stance hurts Rouhani and helps the hardliners. Khamenei's actions over the rest of the campaign will determine whether this assumption holds true.

Even though the Islamic Republic's electoral system operates under an authoritarian regime, election results are hardly predictable. And, regardless of the winner, the president holds less power than many might expect, including in the executive branch, and whoever wins will not be empowered to alter the country's decisionmaking processes. More important, he will have comparatively little influence over the government's foreign, nuclear, and military policies -- the very policies that matter most for the outside world.

Mehdi Khalaji is the Libitzky Family Fellow at The Washington Institute and author of its recent study The Future of Leadership in the Shiite Community.