أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 2926

التصدي لـ "الفيلق الأجنبي" الإيراني

حنين غدار و فيليب سميث

متاح أيضاً في English

6 شباط/فبراير 2018


"في 2 شباط/فبراير، خاطب فيليب سميث وحنين غدار منتدى سياسي في معهد واشنطن. وسميث هو زميل "سوريف" في المعهد وباحث في جامعة ميريلاند. وغدار هي صحفية وباحثة لبنانية مخضرمة وزميلة زائرة في زمالة "فريدمان" في المعهد. ورافق المنتدى نشر تقرير جديد لغدار بعنوان "«الفيلق الأجنبي» الإيراني: تأثير الميليشيات الشيعية على السياسة الخارجية الأمريكية". وفيما يلي موجز المقرر لملاحظاتهما".

حنين غدار

لم يعد التوازن السياسي موجوداً في لبنان. فالتكتّل المعروف بـ «14 آذار» تلاشى واضمحلّ، ولا يمكنه التنافس مع «حزب الله» لو ظلّ ناشطاً. فنفوذ «حزب الله» اليوم في لبنان أقوى من أي وقتٍ مضى، لاسيما وأنه يؤدي دور الذراع الرئيسي لإيران في سائر أرجاء المنطقة. وما نشهده اليوم في سوريا ليس عبارة عن ميليشيات شيعية متفرقة تقاتل بالنيابة عن نظام الأسد فحسب، بل هي أجزاء من جيش منظّم يخضع لقيادة «فيلق القدس» التابع لـ «الحرس الثوري الإسلامي» الإيراني، مع «حزب الله» يده اليمنى. وكان الحزب مستقلاً نوعاً ما قبل عام 2011، لكنه وُضع تحت السيطرة المباشرة لقائد «فيلق القدس» قاسم سليماني بعد مقتل اثنين من كبار قياديي الحزب هما عماد مغنية ومصطفى بدر الدين. وتشكل أيضاً الميليشيا الأفغانية «لواء فاطميون» والميليشيا الباكستانية «لواء زينبيون» جزءاً من هذا الجيش.

وبعد إحكام إيران قبضتها على «حزب الله»، تمكّنت من زيادة سيطرتها على مؤسسات الدولة اللبنانية. ولم يكن الحزب جزءاً من الدولة سابقاً، أما اليوم فإن الخط الفاصل بينهما قد أصبح ضئيلاً جداً مع تغلغل «حزب الله» ووكلائه بشكل متزايد في الحكومة والمؤسسات الأخرى. وباختصار، يمكن القول إن «حزب الله» كان في الماضي دولةً ضمن الدولة اللبنانية، أما اليوم فقد أصبح لبنان دولةً ضمن دولة «حزب الله».

وقد استخدمت طهران «حزب الله» والميليشيات الأخرى أيضاً لبناء جسرٍ بري يربط أجزاء من العراق وسوريا ولبنان. ويخدم هذا الممر ثلاثة أغراض وهي: أولاً، توفير وسيلة قليلة التكلفة لنقل الأسلحة من إيران إلى حوض البحر المتوسط. ثانياً، فتح خط إمداد بديل في حال قيام إسرائيل بقصف المطارات خلال الحرب المقبلة مع «حزب الله» أو حلفائه. ثالثاً، ترسيخ الهوية الشيعية المقاتلة في المنطقة.

وفيما بتعلق بالنقطة الثالثة، يطلق بعض مقاتلي «حزب الله» تسمية «ولاية الإمام علي» على هذا الممر إجلالاً لهذه الشخصية الشيعية المكرّسة. وسيكون لهذا الجسر البري أهميةً استراتيجيةً أكبر بعد أن تعزز إيران نفوذها على الحكومات التي تسيطر على تلك الأراضي، بضمّها السياسيين الشيعة إلى حظيرتها وترسيخها وجود طائفي موحد.

وفي لبنان، يمكن للمرء أن يجد بالفعل مكاتب لمختلف الميليشيات الشيعية البارزة، ونحو خمسين محطة تلفزيونية وإذاعية مخصصة للجمهور الشيعي، تخضع جميعها لإدارة الميليشيات. وتفتقر المقاومة المحلية ضد «حزب الله» إلى التنظيم ولا تحظى بدعمٍ يُذكر نسبياً. وفي حين كانت معارضة الحزب مقبولةً في السابق طالما لم تلق آذاناً صاغية، إلا أن الاحتمال أصبح أكثر ترجيحاً حالياً بأن يعمل الحزب على جعل أي شخص ينتقده عبرةً للآخرين. وفي الوقت نفسه، من المتوقع أن يفوز «حزب الله» وحلفاؤه على غرار «حركة أمل» بنحو سبعين في المائة من الأصوات خلال الانتخابات العامة في أيار/مايو بفضل قانون الانتخابات الجديد. وعلى الرغم من قوته، لا يزال الحزب بحاجة إلى الفوز في الانتخابات لأنه لا يمكن أن يستمر في إسقاط الحكومة بالقوة.

أما في العراق، فقد منع آية الله العظمى علي السيستاني وشخصيات أخرى من النجف الشريف سيطرة إيران الكاملة على شيعة البلاد، لذلك تسيطر طهران على ما بإمكانها القيام به وتنتظر وفاة السيستاني لتحاول آنذاك دعم خلفه المحتمل. وقد يصبح العراق أكثر شبهاً بلبنان بعد الانتخابات النيابية المرتقبة في أيار/مايو.

إلا أن سوريا قصة أخرى. فهناك يتم نقل المقاتلين الشيعة وعائلاتهم إلى أجزاء من الجسر البري فيما يشبه المساعي الاستعمارية. فتعزيز التغيرات السكانية في بعض المناطق "المفيدة" من سوريا يندرج ضمن الاستراتيجية الإيرانية، على الرغم من أن ردود الفعل السنية على هذا النهج تبدو حتمية على المدى البعيد. ومن المرجح أن تصل الأمور إلى قيام مواجهة بين إيران وروسيا أيضاً، لأن نهج موسكو بالعمل داخل مؤسسات الدولة السورية غالباً ما يتعارض مع جهود طهران في المؤسسات الموازية.

أما من الناحية العسكرية، فلم يعد «حزب الله» كما كان في السابق. فقد كان التجنيد يستغرق سنوات طويلة، واليوم أصبح الحزب يجنّد أيّاً كان تقريباً فيشكّل بذلك قواتٍ أقل انضباطاً وأقل تركيزاً على عقيدة "المقاومة"، وأكثر انقياداً وراء نزعة الطائفية الشيعية. وثمة حالات أخرى ينضم فيها المقاتلون المتحدرون من عائلات فقيرة إلى التنظيم ليس لأسباب أخلاقية أو دينية، بل من أجل الرواتب فقط. بيد أن هذا الفيض من المقاتلين، مقروناً بالتغيرات الأخيرة في الميزانية، يمنع «حزب الله» من تقديم نفس حزمة الخدمات الاجتماعية لجماعته، حيث أصبح حالياً يميل إلى تفضيل مقاتليه وعائلاتهم عند توزيع المساعدات.

وهنا، يمكن للولايات المتحدة أن تتخذ عدة خطوات رداً على هذه التوجهات. فعلى المدى القريب، يمكن أن يؤدي دعم المرشحين المعادين لإيران ولـ «حزب الله» في انتخابات أيار/مايو إلى تحصّن الفاصل بين الدولة و«حزب الله». أما على المدى البعيد فمن الحكمة أن تضع واشنطن خطوطاً حمراء فيما يخص سوريا وتلتزم بها. فالدولة الوحيدة التي تنفذ هذه الخطوة حالياً هي إسرائيل.

فيليب سميث

يتعيّن على الولايات المتحدة إعادة النظر في شبكة الميليشيات التابعة لإيران. فعلى الرغم من اعتراض الكثيرين من العاملين في مجال الشؤون الخارجية، إلّا أنّه لا يمكن إنكار ترابط الميليشيات الشيعية في سوريا والعراق ببعضها البعض. فإلى جانب «حزب الله»، تفضّل طهران فعلياً الجماعات المنشقة على التنظيمات الرسمية الكبيرة. ففي عام 2013، على سبيل المثال، انفصلت الميليشيا العراقية «حركة النجباء» عن تنظيم «عصائب أهل الحق» ولكن التنظيمَين يستمران في نشر مواد مماثلة في مجال العلاقات العامة، ويتّبعان نفس العقيدة الإيرانية، ويشاركان في المعارك ذاتها. وقد يكون لدى الجماعات التي تدعمها إيران تسميات مختلفة، إلّا أنّها تتقاضى أجرها من المصدر ذاته - وطهران نفسها غالباً ما تدعو المقاتلين إلى الانشقاق وتشكيل كتائب جديدة.

وفي الوقت نفسه، تركّز أساليب التجنيد حالياً على النواحي الطائفية أكثر من تلك الدينية. فقد تراجع عدد المؤمنين الحقيقيين في صفوف المقاتلين الشيعة، الأمر الذي له آثار تدريجية على المجتمعات المحلية. وعلى الرغم من أن المقاتلين القدامى لا يزالون يؤمنون بأن عليهم قيادة كل المسلمين، إلّا أن المقاتلين الأفتياء لا يتبعون بالضرورة فلسفة الخميني. وقد أدى غياب التدقيق العقائدي إلى إضعاف فعاليتهم بطريقة مماثلة لتلك التي حصلت بين القوات السوفيتية عندما اجتاحت أفغانستان. وفي نهاية المطاف، سيرد السنّة في المنطقة بأساليب أكثر راديكالية إذا ما اقتنعوا بأن جميع الشيعة هم عملاء لإيران. وتؤمن بعض التنظيمات الشيعية بأنها تقاتل من أجل "ولاية الفقيه"، بينما يكتفي بعضها الآخر بترداد هاتين الكلمتين من دون قناعة.

كما أن ظاهرة الميليشيات الشيعية بدأت تنتشر إلى مجالات غير متوقعة. فقد ظهرت منذ بضع سنوات في غزة جماعة تُعرف بـ «حركة الصابرين» تشكّلت من مقاتلين شيعة فلسطينيين وخططت لشن هجمات ضد إسرائيل. ومن المرجح أن تنفذ ضربات أخرى في المستقبل، لأن إيران تفضّل التنظيمات التي يمكن استخدامها عدة مرات على الخلايا التي يُستغنى عنها بعد استغلالها.

ومن ناحية المعدات والتكتيكات، لا يستخدم الكثير من هذه التنظيمات الآليات والأسلحة التقليدية إنما يستعين بطائرات استطلاع بدون طيار وغيرها من الأساليب المماثلة. ويمكن أن تشكل هذه الأدوات تهديدات جديدة وخطيرة على القوات الأمريكية.

فضلاً عن ذلك، يتعين على صانعي السياسات الأمريكيين أن يدركوا أن شبكة التحالفات الإقليمية الراهنة التابعة لإيران ليست دائمة - فالعلاقات تتغير في كل وقت، ومفهوم الحلفاء الدائمين هو مجرد وهم. إن فهم الأيديولوجية الإيرانية سيسمح لواشنطن بمواجهتها بشكل أكثر فعالية. فالعملاء الإيرانيون يجيدون العمل مع الأفراد والجماعات المنشقة في حين تميل السياسة الأمريكية إلى التفكير بطريقة ثنائية عند تحديد الحلفاء والخصوم. وفي المرحلة القادمة، يتعين على المسؤولين الأمريكيين أن يتعلموا كيفية استخدام الشبكات الدينية في المنطقة بشكل أفضل، كما عليهم الاستفادة من واقع كوْن إيران تبالغ في تقدير نفوذها في بعض المجالات وخاصة داخل الجيش العراقي.

 

أعد هذا الملخص جاكسون دورينغ.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 2926

Rolling Back Iran's Foreign Legion

Hanin Ghaddar and Phillip Smyth

Also available in العربية

February 6, 2018


Two experts diagnose the Shia militia problem in Lebanon, Syria, and Iraq, offering concrete advice for reducing the power of Iran's proxies.

On February 2, Hanin Ghaddar and Phillip Smyth addressed a Policy Forum at The Washington Institute. Ghaddar, the Institute's Friedman Visiting Fellow, is a veteran Lebanese journalist and researcher. Smyth is a Soref Fellow at the Institute and a researcher at the University of Maryland. The event marked the release of Ghaddar's new Institute report "Iran's Foreign Legion: The Impact of Shia Militias on U.S. Foreign Policy." The following is a rapporteur's summary of their remarks.

HANIN GHADDAR

Political balance has ceased to exist in Lebanon. The March 14 coalition has faded away and could not compete with Hezbollah even if it were still in play. Hezbollah has more power than ever in Lebanon and serves as Iran's main arm in the rest of the region as well. What we are seeing in Syria is not separate Shia militias fighting on the Assad regime's behalf, but parts of a structured army commanded by Iran's Islamic Revolutionary Guard Corps-Qods Force, with Hezbollah as its right hand. Hezbollah was somewhat independent prior to 2011, but after senior officials Imad Mughniyah and Mustafa Badreddine were killed, Qods Force chief Qasem Soleimani was left in direct control of the group. The Afghan militia Liwa Fatemiyoun and the Pakistani militia Liwa Zainabiyoun are also part of this structure.

After gaining a greater hold on Hezbollah, Iran was able to increase its control over Lebanon's state institutions. Previously, the group was not part of the state, but the line between the two is very thin today, with Hezbollah and its proxies increasingly infiltrating the government and other institutions. In short, Hezbollah was once a state within the Lebanese state, but now Lebanon is a state within Hezbollah's state.

Tehran has also used Hezbollah and other militias to build a land bridge across portions of Iraq, Syria, and Lebanon. This corridor has three purposes: (1) providing cheap transport of weapons from Iran to the Mediterranean Sea; (2) establishing an alternate supply route in case Israel bombs airfields during the next war with Hezbollah or its allies; and (3) reaffirming militant Shia identity in the region.

On the third point, some Hezbollah fighters refer to the corridor as "Wilayat Imam Ali" (the state of Imam Ali) in honor of the sanctified Shia figure. The land bridge will make more strategic sense once Iran increases its influence over the governments that control these territories, bringing Shia politicians into its fold and establishing a unified sectarian presence.

In Lebanon, one can already find offices for various prominent Shia militias, along with around fifty television and radio channels that cater to Shia communities, all managed by militias. Domestic resistance to Hezbollah is disorganized and has relatively little support. Going against the party line used to be fine as long as no one was listening, but the group is now more likely to make an example out of individuals who criticize it. Meanwhile, Hezbollah and allies such as Amal are expected to win roughly 70 percent of the vote in the May general election with the help of a new electoral law. Despite its strength, the group needs to win at the ballot box because it cannot keep toppling the government by force.

In Iraq, Grand Ayatollah Ali al-Sistani and other figures from the holy city of Najaf have prevented Iran from taking complete hold of the country's Shia community, so Tehran is controlling what it can while waiting for him to die and trying to empower his potential successor. After the next parliamentary elections in May, Iraq may well become more like Lebanon.

Syria is a different mission—there, Shia fighters and their families are being shipped into portions of the land bridge in a kind of colonizing effort. Fostering demographic changes in "useful" areas of Syria is part of Iran's strategy, though Sunni backlash to this practice seems inevitable in the long run. Iran will probably wind up butting heads with Russia as well, since Moscow's practice of working within Syria's state institutions is often at odds with Tehran's efforts in parallel institutions.

In military terms, Hezbollah is not what is used to be. Recruitment used to take years, but the group is now hiring most anyone, producing troops who are less disciplined, less focused on the ideology of "resistance," and more driven by Shia sectarian sentiment. In other cases, fighters from poverty-stricken families are joining not for ethical or religious reasons, but simply for paychecks. Combined with recent budgetary shifts, the glut of fighters is preventing Hezbollah from providing as many social services to the community; the group now tends to favor fighters and their families when disbursing assistance.

The United States can take several steps in response to these trends. In the short term, supporting anti-Iran and anti-Hezbollah candidates in the May elections could harden the line between the state and Hezbollah. In the longer term, Washington would be wise to draw redlines in Syria and stick to them. The only actor currently doing is Israel.

PHILLIP SMYTH

The United States needs to reassess Iran's network of militias. Despite objections from many in the foreign policy community, Shia militias in Syria and Iraq are undeniably connected. Apart from Hezbollah, Tehran actually prefers splinter groups over large, formal organizations. In 2013, for example, the Iraqi militia Harakat al-Nujaba split from Asaib Ahl al-Haq, but the groups still release similar public relations material, follow the same Iranian ideology, and fight the same battles. Iranian-supported groups might have different names, but they are paid from the same funds—Tehran itself often calls on fighters to split off and form new brigades.

Meanwhile, recruiting techniques now focus more on sectarian angles than religious ones. There are fewer true believers among Shia fighters, and this has a trickledown effect on local communities. Although older fighters still believe that they are supposed to lead all Muslims, the younger fighters do not necessarily follow the Khomeinist philosophy. The lack of ideological vetting has diminished their effectiveness in a manner similar to that seen among Soviet forces when they invaded Afghanistan. Eventually, Sunnis in the region will react in increasingly radical ways if they become convinced that all Shia are agents of Iran. Some Shia groups do believe they are fighting for velayat-e faqih (the doctrine granting Iran's Supreme Leader authority over Muslims), but others merely recite the words without conviction.

The Shia militia effect is also spreading to unexpected quarters. In Gaza, a group of Palestinian Shia militants called al-Sabirin emerged a few years ago and planned attacks against Israel. They will likely strike again, since Iran prefers groups that can be used multiple times over disposable cells.

In terms of equipment and tactics, many of these groups do not use traditional vehicles and arms, instead resorting to reconnaissance drones and similar measures. Such tools could present dangerous new threats to U.S. troops.

American policymakers also need to realize that Iran's current network of regional alliances is not permanent—relationships shift all the time, and the notion of constant allies is a fiction. Understanding Iranian ideology will allow Washington to counter it more effectively. Iranian operatives know how to work with individuals and splinter groups, while U.S. policy tends to be more binary in determining allies and adversaries. Going forward, U.S. officials should learn how to better utilize religious networks in the region. They should also take advantage of the fact that Iran overestimates its influence in certain quarters, particularly within the Iraqi army.

This summary was prepared by Jackson Doering.