أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 2903

إعادة النظر في عودة تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» بين العامَين 2011 و 2014: دروسٌ للمستقبل

هارون ي. زيلين

متاح أيضاً في English

18 كانون الأول/ديسمبر 2017


عند إخراج تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» من الموصل والرقة، أشار عدد كبير من المحلّلين أنّ ذلك لن يمثّل هزيمة كلّية للتنظيم، وإنما العودة إلى مستوى مختلف من التمرّد. ومثل هذه التصريحات تشير ضمناً أيضاً إلى أنّ تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» قد يستغلّ الانشقاقات والفراغات المستقبلية في العراق وسوريا كما فعل سابقاً بين العامَين 2009  و 2012، أي في الفترة الممتدة بين هزيمته التكتيكية كتنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية في العراق» وإعادة بروزه في نيسان/أبريل 2013. فما الذي أدّى إلى معاودة الظهور تلك، وكيف تُقارن البيئة الحالية بـ"الهزيمة" الأولى للجماعة؟ قد تُضيئ الإجابة على هذه الأسئلة مسار أي عودة مستقبلية لـ تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» والنقاش ذو الصلة حول مستقبل القوّات الأمريكية في العراق وسوريا.

كيف بقي التنظيم وتوسّع؟

هناك خمسة عوامل أساسية ساهمت في معاودة ظهور تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» عام 2013، وهي: انسحاب الولايات المتحدة من العراق في كانون الأوّل/ديسمبر 2011، والضعف المتلازم لقوات الأمن العراقية، ومشاركة التنظيم المتواصلة في أعمال إجرامية محلية وقدرته على استغلال مظالم العراقيين السنّة ضدّ الحكومة المركزية ذات الغالبية الشيعية، وعمليات الهروب الجماعية من السجون من قِبَل رفاق تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية في العراق»، واندلاع الحرب في سوريا، الأمر الذي حثّ على تعبئة غير مسبوقة للمقاتلين الأجانب.

الانسحاب الأمريكي وضعف الأمن العراقي. ليس من المستغرب أن تبرز فرص جديدة أمام تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» نظراً للتفاوت الهائل بين القدرات الأمنية العراقية والأمريكية. فلو كان الجيش وجهاز المخابرات العراقيان قويّيَن بما فيه الكفاية، لما كان رحيل الولايات المتحدة ليؤثّر بهذا القدر. وعوضاً عن ذلك، منح الانسحاب عناصر تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» حرية أكبر في الحركة والعمليات في المناطق التي سبق لهم أن أسسوا فيها وجوداً قوياً أو شبكات دعم واسعة، حرصت القوّات الأمريكية على قمعها عند ظهور حركة «الصحوة» السنّية.

الأعمال الإجرامية. منحَ الفراغ ما بعد عام 2011 المزيد من الفرص لـ تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» للاستغلال أو إنشاء شبكات إجرامية تعمل بالإتجار بالبشر، والاختطاف، والابتزاز، وسرقة المصارف، والتكرير البدائي للنفط، والإتجار بالآثار. كما قام التنظيم باستثمارات خفيّة في شركات محلية مشروعة لمراكمة أصوله المالية.

مظالم السنّة. في أعقاب الانسحاب الأمريكي وحركة «الصحوة»، وعد رئيس الوزراء العراقي نوري المالكي بدمج النظام السياسي والأجهزة الأمنية مع أولئك السنة الذين ساعدوا على محاربة تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» في أقسام من محافظة الأنبار بين العامَين 2006  و 2009. غير أنّه على مرور الوقت، أصبح مرتاباً أكثر فأكثر من إمكانية عودة الأقليّة السنّية إلى السلطة  وتنصيبهم طاغية آخر على غرار صدّام حسين. وقد دفعت هذه المخاوف الحكومة إلى تهميش الأطراف الفاعلة السنية، مما أدى إلى بروز حركة احتجاجية في كانون الأوّل/ديسمبر 2012. وعندما قامت الحكومة بتدمير مخيّم تظاهري في الرمادي بعد عام، ساهمت في إعادة إشعال حركة تمرّد أكبر كان تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» في الموقع المناسب لاستغلالها.

عمليات الهروب من السجون. منذ عام 2011، سمحت عمليات هروب بارزة من سجني "أبو غريب" و"التاجي" وغيرهما لعاملين وقادة رئيسيين في تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية»، كانوا قد اعتقلوا خلال سنوات الزيادة في عدد القوات/و«الصحوة»، بالعودة إلى التنظيم. وكان العديد من هؤلاء الهاربين مقاتلين مؤهّلين، ومضرّسين خدموا كمضاعفين للقوّة ومجنِّدين فاعلين.      

الجهاد السوري. لعلّ الحرب السورية منحت تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية»، أكثر من أي عامل آخر، ولوجاً لمجنّدين وأسلحة وتمويل جديد. وشمل ذلك تدفق أعداد كبيرة من المقاتلين الأجانب المستعدّين لمساعدة التنظيم على الفوز بالمعارك وإدارة المناطق الواقعة تحت سيطرته. وعلى الرغم من أنّ عوامل كثيرة قد حرّكت هذه التعبئة، فإن موقع تركيا الاستراتيجي في المنطقة وحدودها المفتوحة مع سوريا ربما شكّلا العاملَين المساعدَين الأكثر أهميّة، فقد استمر تدفّق المقاتلين عبر هذه الحدود دون عوائق حتّى وقت قريب من ربيع عام 2015 عندما بدأت أنقرة في تناول القضية بجدية أكبر.

أوجه التشابه والاختلاف في الوقت الحالي

لا يزال تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» بشكله الحالي، يستغلّ المنظمات الإجرامية ومظالم السنّة في العراق والحرب السورية، لکن ھناك عوامل أخرى قد برزت ومن الأرجح أن تقلّص من فرصه بالعودة بشكل منتصر كما فعل بين العامَين 2013  و 2014. وإذا ومتى استعاد تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» الأراضي، ستكون هذه على الأرجح شبيهةً بأرخبيل من المعاقل أكثر من شُبهها لمساحات واسعة من الأراضي التي سيطر التنظيم عليها سابقاً بسرعة كبيرة.

ومن بين الأسباب الكامنة وراء هذا التقييد استبعاد أن تشهد المنطقة تكراراً لتعبئة شاملة للمقاتلين الأجانب كما حصل بين العامَين 2012  و 2015. وعلى الرغم من أنّ الجهاديين سيستمرّون في محاولتهم التسلّل إلى العراق وسوريا، إلّا أنّ أعدادهم ستكون قليلة وليست هائلة نظراً للأنظمة القانونية الجديدة التي طبّقتها الحكومات المختلفة لمحاربة مثل هذا التجنيد، والإجراءات الصارمة المتواصلة التي تتّبعها تركيا ضد حركة المقاتلين الأجانب على أراضيها. وبالتالي، سيتمتّع تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» بقوة بشرية محتملة أقلّ حجماً بكثير للمساعدة في إعادة بناء هيكل حوكمته أو عملها كمزودة الذخيرة لمدافعه.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك، إنّ «قوات الحشد الشعبي» في العراق ومجموعة الميليشيات الشيعية المحلية والأجنبية في سوريا، لا سيما تلك المصطفة مع إيران، لن تسمح بجهود شاملة لإعادة بناء تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية». ومنذ تحرير الموصل، عمدت بعض وحدات ميليشيا «قوات الحشد الشعبي» إلى التعويض على هذا الصعيد، ليس من خلال قمع أي نشاط مرتبط بـ تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» فحسب، بل أيضاً من خلال اتخاذ إجراءات ضدّ المجتمعات السنّية التي ليس لها علاقة بها. ومن المفارقات أن مثل هذه الأعمال من المرجح أن تؤسس قاعدة تجنيد مستقبلية لـ تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية»، لا سيّما أنّه لم يبق للمجتمع السنّي سوى القليل من بدائل القيادة المحلّية بعد نصف عقد من حملات تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» ضدّ شخصيّات «الصحوة» السابقة وغيرها من العناصر السياسية والمتمردة السنية. ومع ذلك، فإن النفوذ الإيراني المتزايد والانضباط الأكبر في صفوف «قوات الحشد الشعبي» يعني أنّ أي بروز جديد لـ تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» قد يتضمّن جيوباً أصغر بكثير من الأراضي، ويستدعي ردّاً عسكرياً سريعاً، مما يجعل من الصعب تحقيق أي مكاسب أو توسيعها. وأحد البدائل المحتملة هو إعادة تأسيس شبكة تنظيم «القاعدة في العراق»، ولكن في حين تمّ تناقل هذه الفكرة في الأوساط الجهادية منذ بضع سنوات، إلا أنها لم تأتِ بثمارها بعد.

وأخيراً، فإن الأرض المجاورة في سوريا ليست خصبة لسيطرة الجهاديين كما كانت في السابق. إذ لا يزال نظام الأسد و«قوّات سوريا الديمقراطية» التي يقودها الأكراد تستولي على الأراضي، ولن تقوم الجماعات الإسلامية السنّية التي أفسحت المجال لـ تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» بين نيسان/أبريل 2013 وكانون الثاني/يناير 2014 (من بينها «جبهة النصرة»، التي كانت مرتبطة بـ تنظيم «القاعدة» في ذلك الوقت) بتكرار ذلك. ففي الواقع، كان ردّ الفعل السنّي ضدّ تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» في سوريا أكثر حزماً مما كان عليه في العراق بعد حركة «الصحوة». وباختصار، سيواجه تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» صعوبة أكبر بكثير في تسخير الأطراف الفاعلة السورية السنية لمصلحته اليوم أكثر من قبل عندما احتلّ الرقة وأجزاء أخرى من البلاد عام 2014.

المرحلة القادمة

نظراً إلى هذه العوامل، من غير المرجح أن يتكرّر السيناريو الذي حصل بين كانون الأوّل/ديسمبر 2011 وحزيران/تمّوز 2014، على الأقل ليس بنفس النطاق أو الوتيرة. وعلى الرغم من أنّ بعض الظروف والمشاكل الهيكلية الكامنة التي أدت إلى إعادة بروز التنظيم لا تزال قائمةً، إلّا أنّه يجب الأخذ بعين الاعتبار الاختلافات الأساسية أيضاً. وبطبيعة الحال، سيكون من الغباء اعتبار تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» خارج المعادلة، وذلك لأنّ الجماعة هي أقوى اليوم مما كانت عليه عقب "هزيمتها" الأولى في عام 2009. ومع ذلك، فإن القمع الدولي للمحاربين الأجانب، واليقظة الأكبر بين الأعداء المحلّيين لـ تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية»، والبيئة المتغيرة في العراق وسوريا، تشير كلها إلى أنّ الجماعة قد لا تكون قادرة على فرض نفسها بالامتداد والسرعة نفسهما كما فعلت في عام 2014.

وبالتالي، يتعيّن على الولايات المتحدة وحلفائها التركيز على الفهم الكلّي لهذا السياق المتغيّر تماماً، وليس على إعادة خوض المعركة السابقة. ويُعتبر تعزيز قوّات الأمن العراقية خطوة أولى مفيدة بشكل خاص لتجنب تكرار الأخطاء السابقة والحدّ من الدور الذي تؤدّيه الميليشيات المدعومة من إيران في مستقبل العراق. ومن شأن هذه المقاربة أن تُخفف من العبء على القوّات الأمريكية، مما سيسمح لها بالتالي بالتركيز أكثر على كيفية التأثير على الأحداث على الأرض في سوريا على الرغم من غياب علاقات أمريكية مع نظام الأسد. وعلى المدى الأطول، لا يوجد علاج سريع لتهديد تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» في أي من البلدَين. ومع ذلك، على الولايات المتحدة العمل مع الشركاء المحلّيين والدوليين على المهمّة الأساسية القاضية بحلّ المشاكل السياسية والاقتصادية والاجتماعية والبيئية والدينية الكامنة التي يستغلّها تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» والجماعات الجهادية الأخرى.       

 

هارون زيلين هو زميل "ريتشارد بورو" في معهد واشنطن.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 2903

Revisiting the Islamic State's 2011-2014 Reemergence: Lessons for the Future

Aaron Y. Zelin

Also available in العربية

December 18, 2017


Given the clampdown on foreign fighters and the changed environment in Syria and Iraq, the group may be unable to break out as broadly as it once did, so Washington's approach should shift accordingly.

When the Islamic State was pushed out of Mosul and Raqqa, many analysts noted that it would not represent a complete defeat for the group, but rather a return to a different level of insurgency. Such arguments also implied that IS may take advantage of future cleavages and vacuums in Iraq and Syria just as it previously did in 2009-2012, the interregnum between its tactical defeat as "the Islamic State of Iraq" and its reemergence in April 2013. What led to this reemergence, and how does the current environment compare to that of the group's first "defeat"? Answering these questions can shed light on the trajectory of any future IS comebacks and the related debate about the future of U.S. troops in Iraq and Syria.

HOW DID THE GROUP REMAIN AND EXPAND?

Five main factors allowed IS to reemerge in 2013: the U.S. withdrawal from Iraq in December 2011 and the corollary weakness of the Iraqi security forces; the group's continued participation in local criminal enterprise; the group's ability to exploit Iraqi Sunni grievances against the Shia-majority central government; mass prison breaks by IS comrades in Iraq; and the outbreak of the Syria war, which spurred an unprecedented mobilization of foreign fighters.

U.S. withdrawal, Iraqi security weaknesses. It is no surprise that new opportunities arose for IS due to the massive disparity between Iraqi and American security capabilities. If Iraq's military and intelligence apparatus had been strong enough, the U.S. departure would not have mattered as much. Instead, the withdrawal gave IS members greater freedom of movement and operation in areas where they had previously established a strong presence or extensive support networks, which U.S. forces had been careful to suppress over the course of the surge and Sunni "Awakening" movement.

Criminal enterprise. The post-2011 vacuum gave IS more opportunities to exploit or create criminal networks engaged in human trafficking, kidnapping, extortion, bank looting, rudimentary oil refining, and antiquities trafficking. The group also made undercover investments in legitimate local businesses to build up its monetary assets.

Sunni grievances. In the wake of the U.S. withdrawal and Awakening movement, Iraqi prime minister Nouri al-Maliki promised to integrate the political system and security services with those Sunnis who had helped fight IS in parts of Anbar province between 2006 and 2009. Over time, however, he grew more and more paranoid over the possibility that minority Sunnis might return to power and install another tyrant along the lines of Saddam Hussein. Such fears led the government to marginalize Sunni actors, spurring a protest movement in December 2012. When the government destroyed a protest camp in Ramadi a year later, it helped reignite a broader insurgency that IS was well placed to exploit.

Prison breaks. From 2011 onward, high-profile prison breaks in Abu Ghraib, Taji, and elsewhere allowed key IS operatives and leaders who had been arrested during the surge/Awakening years to return to the group. Many of these escapees were skilled, battle-hardened fighters who served as potent force multipliers and recruiters.

The Syrian jihad. Perhaps more than any other factor, the Syria war gave IS unparalleled access to new recruits, weapons, and funding. This included a large flow of foreign fighters willing to help it win battles and administer areas under its control. Although this mobilization was driven by many factors, Turkey's strategic location in the region and its open border with Syria were perhaps the most important enablers—the flow of fighters over this frontier went unimpeded until sometime around spring 2015, when Ankara began to take the issue more seriously.

SIMILARITIES AND DIFFERENCES TODAY

In its current incarnation, IS continues to exploit criminal enterprises, Sunni grievances in Iraq, and the Syria war, but other factors have emerged that will likely blunt its prospects of rebounding quite as triumphantly as it did in 2013-2014. If and when IS reclaims territory, it will probably be more akin to an archipelago of strongholds than the large swaths of land it once took so rapidly.

One reason behind this limitation is that the region is highly unlikely to see a repeat of the massive foreign fighter mobilization that occurred in 2012-2015. Although jihadists will continue trying to infiltrate Iraq and Syria, their numbers should be more of a trickle than a torrent given the new legal regimes that various governments have implemented against such recruitment and Turkey's continued crackdown on foreign fighter movement through its territory. Therefore, IS will have much less potential manpower to help rebuild its governance architecture or serve as cannon fodder.

Moreover, the Popular Mobilization Forces (PMF) in Iraq and the constellation of local and foreign Shia militias in Syria will not tolerate a massive IS rebuilding effort, especially those aligned with Iran. Since the liberation of Mosul, some PMF militia units have already overcompensated on that front, not only suppressing IS-related activity but also taking action against unassociated Sunni communities. Ironically, such actions will likely create a base for future IS recruitment, especially since the Sunni community has been left with few local leadership alternatives following a half-decade of IS campaigns against former Awakening figures and other Sunni political and insurgent actors. Yet growing Iranian influence and greater discipline among the PMF mean that any new IS breakout would probably involve far smaller pockets of territory and generate a rapid military response, making any gains more difficult to sustain or broaden. One potential wildcard is the re-creation of al-Qaeda's network in Iraq, but while this idea has been rumored within jihadi circles for a couple years, it has yet to come to fruition.

Lastly, the ground next door in Syria is not as fertile for jihadist takeover as it used to be. The Assad regime and the Kurdish-led Syrian Democratic Forces continue to win territory, and the Sunni Islamist groups that gave space to IS between April 2013 and January 2014 (including Jabhat al-Nusra, al-Qaeda's branch at the time) would not do so again. In fact, the Sunni backlash against IS in Syria has been even firmer than that seen in Iraq after the Awakening movement. In short, IS would have far more difficulty harnessing Syrian Sunni actors for its own gain today than it did before it conquered Raqqa and other parts of the country in 2014.

MOVING FORWARD

Given these factors, the scenario that played out between December 2011 and June 2014 is unlikely to be repeated, at least not in the same scope or pace. Although some of the conditions and underlying structural problems that led to the group's reemergence remain intact, crucial differences need to be taken into account as well. Of course, it would be foolish to count IS out—for one thing, the group is stronger now than it was following its first "defeat" in 2009. Yet the international clampdown on foreign fighters, the greater vigilance seen among local enemies of IS, and the changed environment in Iraq and Syria all indicate that the group may be unable to assert itself as broadly or quickly as it did in 2014.

Washington and its allies should therefore focus on fully understanding this changed context, not on refighting the previous battle. Strengthening Iraq's security forces would be a particularly beneficial first step, both to avoid repeating past failures and to limit the role that Iranian-backed militias play in Iraq's future. Such an approach would also alleviate the burden on U.S. forces, which could then focus more on figuring out how to influence events on the ground in Syria despite the lack of U.S. relations with the Assad regime. In the longer term, there is no quick remedy to the IS threat in either country. Even so, the United States should work with local and international partners on the crucial task of resolving the underlying political, economic, social, environmental, and religious problems that IS and other jihadi groups capitalize on.

Aaron Y. Zelin is the Richard Borow Fellow at The Washington Institute.