أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 2886

إعادة العلاقات الأمريكية مع «إقليم كردستان» إلى سابق عهدها

مايكل نايتس و بلال وهاب

متاح أيضاً في English

2 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر 2017


في 1 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر، أعلنت "قيادة العمليات المشتركة" العراقية انهيار المفاوضات بشأن إدخال قوات الأمن الاتحادية على طول طريق خط الأنابيب بين العراق وتركيا والمعابر الحدودية التابعة لـ «حكومة إقليم كردستان» مع تركيا وسوريا. ويُعتبر تجديد بغداد لتهديدها العسكري بالدخول إلى تلك المناطق في 3 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر وتحدي جهوزية الأكراد للدفاع عنها، الاختبار الأول لعلاقة أمريكا مع رئيس «حكومة إقليم كردستان» نيجيرفان بارزاني، الرئيس التنفيذي للإقليم في أعقاب استقالة عمه مسعود بارزاني من رئاسة الوزراء في وقت سابق من الأسبوع الأخير. إن طريقة إدارة واشنطن لتلك الأزمة يمكن أن تدعم جيل جديد من القادة في كردستان أو تقوّضه.

ما الذي يعنيه تغيير القيادة حقا؟

في 1 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر، تنحّى مسعود بارزاني عن منصبه وأشار إلى أنه لن يترشح للرئاسة مجدداً عندما تنظم «حكومة إقليم كردستان» انتخابات جديدة، الأمر الذي قد لا يحصل قبل حزيران/يونيو 2018. وقد أقدم على هذه الخطوة جزئياً، لإزالة عائق أمام استئناف المفاوضات مع بغداد وتركيا وإيران وواشنطن، التي رفض بعضها إجراء محادثات طالما بقي رئيساً للإقليم. وفي 29 تشرين الأول/أكتوبر، أقر برلمان «إقليم كردستان» تشريعات جديدة (القانون رقم 2 لعام 2017) يعيد بموجبها بصورة مؤقتة توزيع صلاحيات الرئاسة التنفيذية القوية بين رئيس الوزراء، ومجلس الوزراء، والقيادة البرلمانية، والقضاء. وعلى وجه التحديد، ينص القانون على ما يلي:

·         سيشغل رئيس الوزراء بارزاني منصب الرئيس التنفيذي والممثل الخارجي لـ «حكومة إقليم كردستان»، مع صلاحیة الدعوة إلى إجراء انتخابات والموافقة على نشر قوات الأمن الاتحادية العراقية داخل «حكومة إقليم كردستان»، بشرط الحصول على موافقة البرلمان.

·         ستتولى «حكومة إقليم كردستان» صلاحية حل البرلمان في ظل ظروف خاصة، وإعلان حالة الطوارئ، وإصدار أوامر تنفيذية ذات صلاحيات تشريعية خلال أوقات الطوارئ (إما عبر استشارة البرلمان أو المضي قدماً بمفردها إذا تعذر اجتماع الهيئة التشريعية).

·         يمكن لمجلس رئاسة البرلمان المؤلف من ثلاثة أشخاص أن يأذن الآن بإقرار التشريعات بالكامل وتعيين القضاة المرشحين من قبل المجلس القضائي، من دون توقيع رئاسي.

·         يمكن للمجلس القضائي أن يقبل استقالات الوزراء أو يطلب من الوزراء الاستمرار في تأدية واجباتهم إلى أن يتم تشكيل حكومة جديدة. كما يتمتع المجلس بصلاحية التوقيع على التعيينات البيروقراطية العليا.

وسيتم تعليق أي صلاحيات لم يتم تفويضها على وجه التحديد إلى حين انتخاب رئيس جديد.

إلا أن القانون الجديد لا يُعتبر دائماً ولا شاملاً، إذ ستنتهي صلاحيته بعد الانتخابات الرئاسية المقبلة، وحتى على المدى القصير، لم يقم بتفويض صلاحيتين رئاسيتين أساسيتين، هما: منصب القائد العام لقوات البيشمركة والسلطة على "مجلس الأمن الوطني". ويمكن لرئيس الوزراء ظاهرياً ترقية القادة العسكريين وتعيينهم وفصلهم، ولكن هذا لا يرقى إلى إعطاء نيجيرفان بارزاني الصلاحيات المناطة برئيس دولة فعلي. فخلال أزمة عسكرية على غرار الأزمة الحالية، لا يؤدي غياب السيطرة الواضحة على قوات الأمن سوى إلى تقويض قيادة «حكومة إقليم كردستان» في سعيها للتفاوض على وقف دائم لإطلاق النار مع بغداد.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك، من المقرر أن يبقى مسعود بارزاني على رأس "المجلس السياسي الكردي الأعلى"، الذي كان يُطلق عليه اسم "مجلس الاستفتاء الأعلى" قبل التصويت على الاستقلال المثير للجدل الذي نظمته «حكومة إقليم كردستان» في أيلول/سبتمبر. وفي غياب جهود حثيثة لدعم مؤسسات الدولة المنتخبة والرسمية، يمكن لهذه المؤسسة غير التابعة للدولة أن تهيمن على السياسات والإدارة الكردية، كما فعلت عندما كانت تدفع باتجاه الاستفتاء. ولا تُعتبر المخاوف إزاء ما إذا كان قد حصل انتقال فعلي للسلطة من المسائل النظرية بالنسبة إلى بغداد وأنقرة واللاعبين الدوليين الآخرين، الذين باشروا قمعهم الحالي لـ «حكومة إقليم كردستان» رداً على نتائج الاستفتاء. ومن المرجح أن يؤدي تأسيس واجهة جديدة موثوق بها لـ «إقليم كردستان» وتعيين قائد أعلى جديد لقواتها المسلحة إلى تحديد ما إذا كان الأكراد سيواجهون هجوماً عسكرياً أوسع نطاقاً من قبل بغداد أو وقف دائم لإطلاق النار تم التفاوض عليه بنجاح.

المصالح الأمريكية والقيادة الكردية

في 30 تشرين الأول/أكتوبر، أشادت وزارة الخارجية الأمريكية بقرار بارزاني بعدم تجديد ولايته كرئيس، وأشارت إلى أن الولايات المتحدة تتطلع "إلى الانخراط بنشاط مع رئيس وزراء «حكومة إقليم كردستان» نيجيرفان بارزاني ونائب رئيس الوزراء قباد طالباني". ولم يكن هذا التصريح الأخير مجرد إعادة تأكيد على التغييرات القانونية الجديدة في «حكومة إقليم كردستان»، بل كانت السبيل الذي أوضحت بموجبه واشنطن مع من ستتعامل بشكل مباشر في المستقبل القريب، ومع من لن تتعامل.

لقد تعرضت الدبلوماسية الأمريكية في كردستان لانتقادات في الماضي على خلفية دعمها لقادة فصائل في خضم الأزمات. ومن بين هؤلاء مسعود بارزاني، الذي تم تمديد فترة رئاسته في ظل شكوك حول شرعية هذه الخطوة بعد عام 2015، والذي منع حزبه السياسي فعلياً رئيس البرلمان من حضور الجلسات التشريعية لأكثر من عامين. وقد اعتمدت وزارة الخارجية الأمريكية الآن مقاربة جديدة مفادها أن المؤسسات الرسمية لـ «حكومة إقليم كردستان» ستُمنح وزناً أكبر وأن المسؤولين الأمريكيين لن يقوموا بعد الآن باستشارة قادة الأحزاب والشخصيات النافذة في الحكومة بشكل بارز.

وتُعدّ المواجهة الحالية على معبر فيشخابور الحدودي مع سوريا الاختبار الفعلي الأول لهذه التجربة الجديرة بالخوض. فواشنطن لديها مصلحة كبرى في تجنب الاشتباكات بين حلفاء الولايات المتحدة المزودين بشكل أساسي بأسلحة أمريكية ثقيلة. وكانت المحادثات تحرز تقدماً بين القائدين العسكريين، رئيس أركان القوات المسلحة العراقية الفريق الركن عثمان الغانمي ووزير البيشمركة بالوكالة كريم سنجاري، قبل توقفها فجأة في الأول من تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر.

وكانت المفاوضات سبيلاً واعداً للتوصل إلى "آلية أمنية مشتركة" محدودة النطاق فيما يخص معبر فيشخابور والحدود، إلا أن بعض الرموز الكردية سعت إلى إعادة تركيز المحادثات حول آلية ذات نطاق أوسع تشمل كافة المناطق المتنازع عليها، بالإضافة إلى مناقشة مسائل شاملة إدارية وقانونية ومتعلقة بالميزانية والطاقة بين «حكومة إقليم كردستان» وبغداد. وكل هذه الأفكار جديرة بالثناء، كما أشارت وزارة الخارجية الأمريكية في 20 تشرين الأول/أكتوبر، غير أن الأولوية اليوم تكمن في تجنب صراع وشيك في فيشخابور. ولتحقيق هذا الهدف وإرساء الأساس للمفاوضات على المستوى السياسي في مرحلة معينة من المستقبل، يجب على الولايات المتحدة اعتماد مقاربة قائمة على ثلاث خطوات:

·         تفادي النزاع الفوري. يجب على مسؤول رفيع المستوى في إدارة ترامب أن يشجع «حكومة إقليم كردستان» على العودة إلى التركيز الضيق الأساسي على فيشخابور، مع إرسال رسائل خاصة لا لبس فيها إلى قادة أكراد غير منتخبين تدعوهم إلى عدم التدخل في تلك القضية. فضلاً عن ذلك، لا بد من توسيع الحوار بين العسكريين ليشمل ممثلين سياسيين عن رئيس الوزراء العراقي ورئيس وزراء «حكومة إقليم كردستان». ينبغي على واشنطن أيضاً توجيه التحذيرات التالية إلى بغداد: أولاً، لن يُسمح بأي عمليات تقدم جديدة من قبل القوات الاتحادية، ولا بأي اشتباكات مسلحة أخرى، سواء أكانت بغداد هي من وجهت الطلقة الأولى أم لا؛ وثانياً، ستؤدي أي خطوات مماثلة إلى تخفيض هادئ بل مؤلم في المساعدات الاقتصادية الاستثنائية، والحماية القانونية (لعائدات النفط)، ودعم "صندوق النقد الدولي" الذي تقدمه الحكومة الأمريكية للعراق، بل وربما تعرض للخطر حتى المساعدات الأمنية المستقبلية.

·         "آلية أمنية مشتركة" ذات نطاق أوسع. بعد حل قضية فيشخابور، يجب على الولايات المتحدة أن تواصل العمل باتجاه "آلية أمنية مشتركة" جديدة لكافة المناطق الأخرى المتنازع عليها - من الناحية المثالية قبل أن يكتسب تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» أو الميليشيات المدعومة من إيران موطئ قدم في الثغرات التي تشكلت بين القوات الكردية والقوات الاتحادية. يتعين على المسؤولين في الإدارة الأمريكية تبني مقاربة مرتكزة على الدستور العراقي، مذكرين بغداد بأن واشنطن قد وبّخت الأكراد بصرامة على خلفية التجاوزات الملموسة للصلاحيات الدستورية المتعلقة بالمناطق المتنازع عليها وسياسة الطاقة. وفي حين تعترف الولايات المتحدة اعترافاً كاملاً بمطالب بغداد الأساسية المتمثلة بالإِشراف على المهام الجمركية ومهام الطاقة الخاصة بـ «حكومة إقليم كردستان»، يجب عليها أيضاً أن تعيد تأكيد الضرورة الدستورية للتوصل إلى تسوية عادلة للمناطق المتنازع عليها، مناشدةً تركيا بتوجيه رسائل مماثلة للتعبير عن قلقها. وقد ترد أنقرة بشكل إيجابي حالما يتم تذكيرها بأن الميليشات المدعومة من إيران تكتسب نفوذاً متعاظماً في المناطق التي تحظى باهتمام تركي، مثل كركوك وطوز خورماتو ونينوى.

·         الحوكمة الجيدة. لدى الولايات المتحدة مصلحة كبرى في أن تكون «حكومة إقليم كردستان» مستقرة وديمقراطية، وإلا فسيتضرر مقام واشنطن في الشرق الأوسط لأنه يُنظر إلى المنطقة الكردية على أنها نتاج أمريكي وحليف للولايات المتحدة. ويعني الحفاظ على هذه المصلحة دعماً قوياً لاستمرار وجود «حكومة إقليم كردستان» موحدة مع برلمانها الخاص ووزاراتها وميزانيتها وقوات الحرس الإقليمي الخاصة بها. وفي المقابل، يجب على قيادة «حكومة إقليم كردستان» اتخاذ عدة تدابير داخلية، مثل: التوقف عن تأخير الانتخابات البرلمانية والرئاسية؛ ملء منصبيْ وزير البيشمركة ووزير المالية بسرعة (نظراً لأن الوزراء بالوكالة لا يتمتعون بالسلطة الكافية للتفاوض مع بغداد بشأن تقاسم الإيرادات والمناطق المتنازع عليها)؛ وتعديل قانون الانتقال الرئاسي المؤقت من أجل منح مكتب رئيس الوزراء سلطة القائد الأعلى المسؤول على جميع الأجهزة الأمنية التابعة لـ «حكومة إقليم كردستان».

 

مايكل نايتس هو زميل "ليفر" في معهد واشنطن، وقد عمل في جميع محافظات العراق وأمضى بعض الوقت ملحقاً بقوات الأمن في البلاد. بلال وهاب هو زميل "سوريف" في المعهد.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 2886

Resetting U.S. Relations with the Kurdistan Region

Michael Knights and Bilal Wahab

Also available in العربية

November 2, 2017


Washington's post-referendum reengagement should focus on getting U.S.-Kurdish relations and Kurdish democracy back on the right track.

On November 1, the Iraqi Joint Operations Command announced the breakdown of negotiations over the insertion of federal security forces along the Iraq-Turkey Pipeline route and the Kurdistan Regional Government's border crossings with Turkey and Syria. Baghdad's renewed military threat to enter these areas on November 3 -- and challenge the Kurds' willingness to defend them -- is the first test of America's relationship with KRG prime minister Nechirvan Barzani, who became the region's chief executive after his uncle Masoud resigned the presidency earlier this week. The manner in which Washington handles the crisis could either underpin or undermine a new generation of leaders in Kurdistan.

WHAT DO THE LEADERSHIP CHANGES REALLY MEAN?

Masoud Barzani stepped down on November 1 and has signaled that he will not run for the presidency again when the KRG holds new elections, which may not occur until June 2018. He took this step in part to remove an obstacle to resuming negotiations with Baghdad, Turkey, Iran, and Washington, some of whom refused to hold talks so long as he remained head of state. On October 29, the KRG parliament passed new legislation (Law Number 2 of 2017) temporarily redistributing the powers of the strong executive presidency among the prime minister, cabinet, parliamentary leadership, and judiciary. Specifically, the law states the following:

  • Prime Minister Barzani will act as chief executive authority and external representative of the KRG, with the power to call elections and approve the deployment of Iraqi federal security forces inside the KRG, conditional on parliamentary approval.
  • The KRG cabinet will assume the power of dismantling the parliament under special circumstances, declaring a state of emergency, and issuing executive orders with legislative powers during emergency times (either consulting with parliament or proceeding on its own if the legislature cannot meet).
  • The parliament's three-person Presidency Council can now fully authorize legislation and appoint judges nominated by the judicial council, both without a presidential signature.
  • The judicial council can now accept cabinet resignations or ask members to continue their duties until a new cabinet is formed. The council also assumes the authority to sign off on senior bureaucratic appointments.

Any powers not specifically delegated will be suspended until a new president is elected.

The new law is neither permanent nor all-encompassing, however. It will expire after the next presidential election, and even in the short term it leaves two key presidential powers undelegated: the title of commander-in-chief of Peshmerga forces and authority over the National Security Council. The prime minister can nominally promote, appoint, and fire military commanders, but this falls far short of giving Nechirvan Barzani the powers enjoyed by a true head of state. At a moment of military crisis like the current one, lack of clear control over the security forces will only undermine the KRG leadership as it seeks to negotiate a permanent ceasefire with Baghdad.

Moreover, Masoud Barzani is slated to remain at the helm of the Supreme Kurdistan Political Council, which was dubbed the Higher Referendum Council before September's controversial KRG independence vote. Absent a serious effort to reinforce elected and formal state institutions, this nonstate institution could dominate Kurdish politics and governance as it did when pushing for the referendum. Concerns about whether a true transfer of power has occurred are not academic for Baghdad, Ankara, and other international players, who launched their current crackdown on the KRG in response to the referendum's results. Establishing a credible new face for the Kurdish region and a new commander-in-chief for its armed forces will likely determine whether the Kurds face a wider military assault by Baghdad or a successfully negotiated permanent ceasefire.

U.S. INTERESTS AND THE KURDISH LEADERSHIP

On October 30, the State Department commended Barzani's decision not to seek another term as president, noting that the United States looks forward "to actively engaging with the Prime Minister of the Kurdistan Regional Government, Nechirvan Barzani, and the Deputy Prime Minister, Qubad Talabani." The latter comment was not a simple restatement of the KRG's new legal changes. Rather, it was Washington's way of clarifying who it would -- and would not -- be directly dealing with in the immediate future.

U.S. diplomacy in Kurdistan has come under criticism in the past for validating factional leaders in the midst of crises. This includes Masoud Barzani, whose presidency was extended under dubious legality after 2015 and whose political party physically prevented the parliamentary speaker from attending legislative sessions for over two years. The State Department has now set out a new approach, suggesting that the KRG's formal institutions will be given more weight and that party leaders and securocrats will no longer be consulted as prominently by U.S. officials.

The current faceoff at the Faysh Khabur border crossing with Syria is the first real test of this worthy experiment. Washington has a strong interest in preventing clashes between U.S. allies armed primarily with U.S. heavy weapons. Talks were progressing fruitfully between military leaders -- Iraqi chief of staff Gen. Othman al-Ghanimi and acting minister of Peshmerga Karim Sinjari -- before abruptly stopping on November 1.

The negotiations were a promising avenue toward a narrow-scope Joint Security Mechanism for Faysh Khabur and the border, but some Kurdish figures sought to refocus the talks on a broader mechanism for all disputed areas, as well as discuss overarching administrative, legal, budgetary, and energy issues between the KRG and Baghdad. These are all commendable ideas, as the State Department noted on October 20, but the priority right now is to avoid imminent conflict in Faysh Khabur. To meet that goal and lay the foundation for political-level negotiations at some point down the road, the United States should adopt a three-step approach:

  • Immediate conflict avoidance. A senior Trump administration official should encourage the KRG to return to the initial narrow focus on Faysh Khabur, while also sending unambiguous private messages to unelected Kurdish leaders asking them to stay out of that issue. In addition, the military-to-military dialogue should be broadened to include political representatives of the Iraqi and KRG prime ministers. Washington should also send warnings to Baghdad: first, that no new advances by federal forces will be tolerated, nor will any further armed clashes, whether Baghdad fires first or not; and second, that any such moves will trigger a quiet but painful reduction in the exceptional economic assistance, legal protections (for oil revenues), and IMF support the U.S. government provides to Iraq, and perhaps even jeopardize future security assistance.
  • Broader Joint Security Mechanism. After the Faysh Khabur issue is resolved, the United States should continue working toward a new Joint Security Mechanism for all the other disputed areas -- ideally before the Islamic State or Iranian-backed militias gain a foothold in the gaps that have formed between Kurdish and federal forces. Administration officials should adopt an approach based on the Iraqi constitution, reminding Baghdad that Washington has scrupulously chastised the Kurds for perceived infractions of constitutional mandates regarding disputed areas and energy policy. While fully recognizing Baghdad's substantive claims to oversee KRG customs and energy functions, the United States should also reiterate the constitutional necessity for fair resolution of disputed areas, asking Turkey to send similar messages of concern. Ankara may react positively once reminded that Iranian-backed militias are gaining too much influence in areas of Turkish interest such as Kirkuk, Tuz Khormatu, and Ninawa.
  • Good governance. The United States has a strong interest in a stable and democratic KRG, the failure of which would harm Washington's standing in the Middle East given that the Kurdish region is seen as a U.S. creation and ally. Safeguarding this interest means strongly supporting the continued existence of a unitary KRG with its own parliament, ministries, budget, and regional guard forces. In return, the KRG leadership needs to adopt several internal measures: stop delaying the parliamentary and presidential elections; quickly fill the Peshmerga and finance minister positions (since acting ministers are not empowered enough to negotiate with Baghdad on revenue sharing and disputed areas); and amend the temporary presidency transition law to provide the prime minister's office with commander-in-chief authority over all KRG security services.

Michael Knights, a Lafer Fellow with The Washington Institute, has worked in all of Iraq's provinces and spent time embedded with the country's security forces. Bilal Wahab is a Soref Fellow at the Institute.