أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 2376

إعادة تأهيل وإعادة دمج المقاتلين الإرهابيين الأجانب العائدين إلى بلدانهم

جيل دي كيرشوف, جيكوب بندسغارد, دوغ ستون, و ماثيو ليفيت

متاح أيضاً في English

23 شباط/فبراير 2015


"في 20 شباط/فبراير، خاطب جيل دي كيرشوف، جيكوب بندسغارد، دوغ ستون، وماثيو ليفيت منتدى سياسي في معهد واشنطن. وكيرشوف هو "منسق الاتحاد الأوروبي لمكافحة الإرهاب". وبندسغارد هو عمدة آرهوس، الدنمارك، وناشط بارز في برنامج "إعادة تأهيل الجهاديين" المعروف على نطاق واسع في آرهوس. وستون هو لواء متقاعد في البحرية الأمريكية، أشرف على جميع عمليات الاستجواب والاحتجاز في العراق خلال فترة التصعيد بعد عام 2006؛ ويعمل الآن في الأمم المتحدة وساعد في صياغة "مذكرة روما" وهي الخلاصة الوافية المؤثرة لأفضل الممارسات لإعادة تأهيل وإعادة دمج الجناة المجرمين العنيفين. وليفيت هو زميل فرومر- ويكسلر ومدير برنامج ستاين للاستخبارات ومكافحة الإرهاب في المعهد. وفيما يلي ملخص المقررة لملاحظاتهم."

مشاهدة البث باللغة الإنكليزية لهذه الفعالية من على محطة "سي سبان".

جيل دي كيرشوف

ظاهرة المقاتلين الأجانب ليست جديدة - إلا أن التحدي اليوم ناشئ عن نطاقها الواسع الذي اكتسبته في أوروبا. فقد سافر ما يقرب من أربعة آلاف مقاتل من أوروبا إلى سوريا والعراق، وعاد ما بين 20-30 في المائة منهم إلى ديارهم. وقد خضعوا لعملية غسل دماغ: إذ تعلموا كيف يستخدمون بنادق الكلاشنيكوف والقنابل، وتنامى تساهلهم مع العنف بشكل ملحوظ، كما وبلوروا شبكات ضخمة.

ومع ذلك، فمن الصعب جداً جمع الأدلة التي تثبت أن المقاتلين حاربوا إلى جانب التنظيمات الإرهابية المحظورة. وحتى الآونة الأخيرة، نشر الكثير من المقاتلين بفخر صوراً لأنفسهم من على شبكة الإنترنت. ولكن بما أن الاتحاد الأوروبي ليس متواجداً في سوريا ولا يتعاون مع نظام الأسد، يصعب إثبات ضلوع أيٍّ من العائدين في ارتكاب جريمة. من هنا يتعين على وزراء العدل والداخلية في الدول الأوروبية أن يجدوا حلولاً بديلة، وعليهم بالتحديد أن يبذلوا ما بوسعهم لتفادي إحالة العائدين إلى المحاكم الجنائية. فالسجون تشكل بيئة حاضنة رئيسية للتطرف، ناهيك عن أن إقناع المقاتلين بالعودة إلى ديارهم سيصبح أكثر صعوبة إذا كانوا يخشون من إرسالهم إلى السجن. وإذا توفرت الأسباب التي تشير إلى ارتكابهم جريمة فبالطبع يجب إحالتهم إلى المحاكم. لكن غالباً ما تكون الأدلة غير كافية في هذه الحالات، بينما تتخطى الموارد اللازمة لمراقبة هؤلاء الأشخاص في أكثر الأحيان مستوى التكلفة التي تستطيع عدة دول أوروبية تحمّلها.

وإذا ما عاد المقاتلون، يجب تقييم أي خطر قد يشكلوه على أساس كل حالة على حدة. فبينما يحتمل أن ينفذ قلة منهم هجوماً إرهابياً، إلا أن الكثيرين قد يكونون مخذولين ويعانون من الاضطراب ما بعد الصدمة. ولربما يشعر بعضهم أنهم قد أدّوا واجبهم كمسلمين من خلال دعم "الربيع العربي" ويحتاجون ببساطة إلى إعادة الاندماج في المجتمع. لكن بشكل عام، يجب معالجة عنصرين رئيسين عند بلورة أي حل للمشكلة، وهما: لم الشمل بين العائدين المعزولين وعائلاتهم وأصدقائهم ومجتمعهم، وإبطال الأفكار العقائدية المتطرفة التي غرست في عقولهم. فضلاً عن ذلك، تحتاج أوروبا إلى وضع سياسة مشتركة بشأن العائدين، فالسياسات الحالية تتفاوت ما بين سياسة دانماركية تركز على إعادة الاندماج وسياسة بريطانية تركز على منع عودة المقاتلين.

كذلك ثمة مخاوف أخرى تشمل دور الإيديولوجية، وتبادل المعلومات الاستخباراتية، وطاقم عمل السجون. أولاً، كثيرٌ من الأئمة في أوروبا لا يتقنون لغة البلد المضيف ولعلهم أيضاً يتبنون تفسيراً شديد المحافظة للدين الإسلامي. ثانياً، لا يسري عادة تراث تبادل المعلومات والبيانات في المجتمع الاستخباراتي الأوروبي، ولكن مثل هذه المعلومات مفيدة للغايةً للمرشدين الاجتماعيين الذي يبحثون عن آليات تجاوب فعالة مع قضية العائدين. وأخيراً، يجب تدريب طاقم عمل السجون على التعرف في أقرب وقت ممكن على بوادر التطرف، لا سيما وأن الجيل الجديد من السلفيين المتطرفين أصبح أكثر قدرة على التخفي.

جيكوب بندسغارد

في الوقت الذي اتخذت فيه مدينة آرهوس الدنماركية التدابير اللازمة لضمان ضبط المقاتلين الأجانب العائدين والتحقيق في قضاياهم ومحاكمتهم عند الحاجة، تبقى الوقاية محور تركيزها. وتمتلك آرهوس منظمة فعلية قائمة منذ سبعينات القرن الماضي تعرف باسم "أس أس بي" (تختص بالتعاون بين قطاعات الخدمات الاجتماعية والمدارس والشرطة). ويستند برنامج إعادة التأهيل الذي تنفذه حالياً على الهيكليات القائمة في قطاعات الخدمات الاجتماعية والمدارس والشرطة. ويشار إلى أنه تم تأسيس هذه المنظمة في أعقاب التفجيرات التي وقعت في لندن ومدريد، عندما كان هناك قلق من عدم تركيز المدينة بصورة كافية على الشباب الذي يسيرون على الطريق المؤدي إلى التطرف، أو على الوسائل التي قد تجذبهم في اتجاه آخر.

ويرتكز نموذج آرهوس على وحدةٍ في قسم شرطة شرق جوتلاند تعرف باسم "إنفوهاوس" (أو بيت المعلومات) وترتبط ارتباطاً وثيقاً بالبلدية. وتشكل هذه الوحدة صلة اتصال متكررة للآباء والأمهات الذي يتخوفون من وقوع أولادهم في التطرف أو من سفرهم إلى الخارج للقتال. فهناك يتولى موظفون مدربون الإجابة على الاتصالات الواردة عبر الخط الساخن حيث ينصحون هؤلاء الآباء والأمهات بالمشاركة في شبكات مع غيرهم من الأهالي. ويتم تعليمهم أيضاً كيفية التواصل مع أولادهم، والتأثير على المقاتلين للعودة إلى ديارهم عندما يكون ذلك ممكناً. وهنا تلعب الأمهات دوراً حيوياً - فالأم تبقى إحدى [المصادر] القليلة القادرة على كسب عطف شابٍ مغسول الدماغ ومتغرب. وفي الواقع تريد آرهوس فعلاً عودة هؤلاء الشباب، فكلما طال غيابهم كلما ازداد الضرر الذي سيلحقونه عند عودتهم. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك تستضيف "إنفوهاوس" ورش عمل محلية لتعليم الأهل والمهنيين الذي يعملون مع جيل الشباب كيفية رصد مظاهر التطرف.

ويشكل الإرشاد عنصراً جوهرياً آخر من نموذج آرهوس. فالمرشدون في البرنامج الحالي هم مهنيون ذوي مهارات عالية، يعملون مع شباب ليست لديهم ثقة كبيرة بالسلطة، لذلك يتعين عليهم أن يكونوا ملمّين جيداً بعلم نفس الشباب وعوامل خطر التطرف. والأهم من ذلك أنه يجب أن يتحلوا بالمهارات الشخصية اللازمة للتواصل مع هؤلاء الشباب. ويتولى المرشدون الاجتماعيون وعلماء النفس والأطباء النفسيين إجراء عمليات تقييم المخاطر.

وعلى نطاق أوسع، من الضروري للغاية إجراء حوار مفتوح وصادق مع العائدين. فإذا كان هناك سبب يدعو للاعتقاد بأن شخصاً ارتكب جريمة، يجب أن تكون السلطات واضحة في عزمها على القيام بكل ما في وسعها لمحاكمته. أما إذا لم يرتكب أحدهم جريمة أو تعذر إثبات ذلك، يجب على هذه السلطات أن تبذل ما بوسعها لإعادة دمج هذا الشخص. وكلتا هاتين الخطوتين جوهريتين. لكن الخلاصة هي أن جميع الشباب يريدون حياةً سعيدة - يريدون بلوغ الأهداف التي وضعوها نصب أعينهم، كتأسيس عائلة مثلاً. وبالتالي فإن المسؤولية الأكثر أهمية التي تقع على عاتق رئيس البلدية هي إيجاد إطار للعمل والظروف اللازمة التي تجعل هذه الفرص ممكنة لجميع المواطنين.

دوغ ستون

كثيرةٌ هي الدول التي تطلب مساعدة الأمم المتحدة للتعامل مع قضايا التطرف، ولكن تحديد المشكلة الأساسية في كل حالة هي أمر بالغ الأهمية. على سبيل المثال، من بين العشرين ألف مقاتل تقريباً الذين اعتُقلوا في العراق في منتصف العقد الماضي، كانت لنحو 4 في المائة منهم فقط دوافع إيديولوجية قوية. ومن هذا المنطلق، اقتضى أحد الاقتراحات التركيز على العمل مع الأشخاص الذين ربما لم يكونوا بنفس القدر من التطرف - على الرغم من أن التواصل مع نسبة الأربعة في المائة المتشددة قد يكون مستحيلاً، ويمكن تحقيق الكثير مع الغالبية الكبرى من المعتقلين، علماً أن دوافع العديد منهم كانت ماديةً وليست إيديولوجية.

وفي ذلك الوقت، كانت هناك خمسة برامج فقط في جميع أنحاء العالم تعالج مسألة التطرف. ومع ذلك، أدى التواصل مع هذه البرامج إلى الحصول على قدر كبير من المعلومات المفيدة. وإحدى أبرز الدروس المستقاة منها هي أن الأفراد لا يقومون بالضرورة بالإلتزام [بالتطرف] مدى الحياة - بل قد يكون وضعهم مؤقتاً. وإذا كانوا ملتزمين، سيقضون على الأرجح بقية حياتهم وراء القضبان، ولكن إذا لم يبقوا في السجن فأين يذهبون؟

وباستثناء بعض الحالات النادرة، يعودون كلهم إلى ديارهم. وهذا الأمر يستدعي العمل معهم - سواء بشكل فردي أو جماعي - من أجل فهمهم بشكل أفضل. كما يجب إشراك المجتمع المحلي الذي يستقبلهم، وعلى هذا الأخير أن يناقش كيفية استقبال العائدين (أو عدم استقبالهم) حين يعودون إلى ديارهم. وفي الواقع إن هذا الموضوع يلقى اليوم اهتماماً أكبر بكثير مما كان عليه الوضع قبل ثماني سنوات؛ ولو كانت قد تمت مناقشته في ذلك الحين، لكانت معظم الدول بالكاد قد فهمت فحوى المناقشة. لكن كان هناك إدراكاً في العراق بأن العائدين سيسببون مشكلة وأنه يجب التعامل معهم على مستوى عالمي. لذلك التقت عدة دول في سلسلة من الاجتماعات عقدت بين عامي 2011 و2012 وانبثقت عنها "مذكرة روما" الخاصة بـ "الممارسات الجيدة لإعادة تأهيل وإعادة دمج المجرمين المتطرفين العنيفين".

وتحوي "مذكرة روما" خمسةً وعشرين ممارسة فضلى، إنما تخلو من حلٍّ واحد ينطبق على جميع الحالات. لكن ما تبينه المذكرة هو وجود بصيص من الأمل ومنهجية قد تجدي نفعاً. وعلى وجه التحديد، ينبغي على كافة الدول أن تعالج بعض الأسئلة الرئيسية. أولاً، ما هي الأهداف والغايات المرجوة من برنامج محلي معيّن لإعادة التأهيل؟ إذ يجب تحديدها بوضوح. ثانياً، كيف يمكن للمجتمع [المحلي] أن يحول دون التجنيد؟ ثالثاً، ما هي الأدوار المختلفة لمختلف الفاعلين؟ فبعض أفضل البرامج إدارةً وأكثرها دواماً نشأت بمبادرة من مواطنين عاديين قرروا الأخذ بزمام المبادرة. وأخيراً، ما هي مسؤولية الحكومة تجاه العائدين والشباب الذين يعانون من ضعف محتمل؟

إن عقد المؤتمرات التي تجمع الخبراء المختصين بهذا الموضوع هو خطوة أساسية في هذا الإطار. وتشمل العناصر الجوهرية الأخرى كلاً من مجتمع الاستخبارات وإنفاذ القانون، فضلاً عن القادة الدينيين والمناقشات حول المعتقدات. وقد ساهمت 84 دولة في الجهود المبذولة في سوريا، وكلها قلقة من المقاتلين الأجانب العائدين إلى أراضيها، وسيتعين على كل واحدة منها أن تبلور برنامجها الخاص.

 ماثيو ليفيت                                                                          

لا يمكن إعادة دمج كل مقاتل أجنبي عائد أو عنصر منشق عن تنظيم إرهابي في المجتمع، ولكن هذا الأمر ممكن مع البعض. وحتى في صفوف أولئك الذين يمكن محاكمتهم وإدانتهم، سيتم في النهاية إطلاق سراح الغالبية الكبرى منهم. لذلك فإن التحدث عن كيفية إعادة تأهيلهم - وخاصة في سياق السجون، كما في أي مكان آخر أيضاً - لا يعتبر "ليونة" أو "ضعف". وكما قال أحد المسؤولين في القمة التي عقدها البيت الأبيض تحت عنوان "مكافحة التطرف العنيف"، لا تزال السجون أحياناً تشكل "جامعات للإرهاب".

وبالمثل، على الرغم من بعض النداءات الداعية إلى مجرد منع المقاتلين الأجانب من العودة إلى ديارهم، تواجه معظم الدول الغربية عراقيل قانونية فيما يخص منع مواطنيها من دخولها من جديد. كما أن العديد من المقاتلين لن يتم اكتشافهم من قبل السلطات إلا بعد عودتهم، ويعزى ذلك جزئياً إلى القيود التي تحد من تبادل البيانات. وعلى وجه الخصوص تشعر أوروبا بالقلق حول مسائل الخصوصية المرتبطة بمثل هذا التبادل للمعلومات. لكن على الرغم من التقدم الكبير المحرز في هذا المجال، إلا أن الحقيقة هي أن بعض المقاتلين سيعودون إلى وطنهم إن كان مرغوب بهم هناك أم لا.

 والدرس الرئيسي الذي يمكن استخلاصه هو أنه يجب إرساء نوع من الرابط بين برامج إعادة التأهيل وإعادة الدمج وبين خدمات إنفاذ القانون والاستخبارات من أجل تقليص الخطر الناشئ عن محاولة إعادة دمج أشخاصٍ متعنتين ومصممين على إلحاق الأذى. ويشكل مثل هذا التقييم للمخاطر أمراً ضرورياً، ليس في مرحلة استقبال الأشخاص فحسب بل في المراحل اللاحقة أيضاً، وذلك من أجل أن يؤخذ في الاعتبار إمكانية عودة الشخص ذات الصلة إلى درب التطرف أو قد يصبح أكثر تطرفاً، كما حدث على ما يبدو مع الأخوين كواشي في فرنسا.

ولا بد أيضاً من السؤال عن الدور الذي يجب أن يلعبه الدين في هذه البرامج. وقد قال الرئيس الأمريكي باراك أوباما بوضوح خلال قمة "مكافحة التطرف العنيف"، إن الغرب لا يخوض مطلقاً حرباً على الإسلام. لكنه شدد مع غيره من المسؤولين الأمريكيين الحاضرين على الحاجة إلى الوقوف بوجه الأفكار المتطرفة. من هنا تبرز أهمية التعامل مع قضايا كمسألة الهوية ونزوات البحث عن المغامرة وهالة "العصرية" المحيطة بالجهاد، في سياق وضع حدّ لتقبل الناس للإيديولوجيات الخطيرة. إلا أن الإيديولوجية هي العامل الذي يدفع في النهاية شخصاً ما إلى تخطي حدود الخطابات والانخراط في أعمال عنيفة. ولا يتعلق الأمر بالدين بشكلٍ مباشر ولا بالأغلبية الساحقة من المسلمين، بل بالأفراد الذين ينخرطون في أعمال عنيفة مقلقة باسم نسخة محرفة عن الإسلام. وفي الواقع أن أصوات غير المسلمين لا تجدي نفعاً في هذا النقاش، الأمر الذي يفسّر سبب دعوة الرئيس الأمريكي للجالية الإسلامية والزعماء الدينيين خلال خطابه الختامي في قمة "مكافحة التطرف العنيف" إلى الاضطلاع بدور أكبر.

ولا يتطلب الوقوف بوجه التطرف العنيف بشكل فعال محاربة الإيديولوجيات العنيفة المعلنة فحسب، بل الأفكار الراديكالية بشكل عام. وليست هذه دعوةً إلى قيام "شرطة على الأفكار"، بل إلى محاربة الإيديولوجيات الخطيرة من أجل إحداث فرق ملحوظ في مرحلة مبكرة وإبقاء الناس بعيداً عن مسار التطرف.

 إن قمة البيت الأبيض قد سلطت الضوء بشكل كبير على مسألة "مكافحة التطرف العنيف"، وبذلك أتاحت الفرصة لبذل جهود جدية لتقديم التمويل الملائم لهذه البرامج التي تعاني من نقصٍ حاد في التمويل وذلك من خلال الأموال العامة والخاصة. لقد كان الهدف من هذه الفعاليات هو إطلاق النقاش والحوار، وفي هذا الإطار نجحت القمة في جمع حشدٍ ملفت من المهنيين في مجال "مكافحة التطرف العنيف" الذين تعلموا الكثير من بعضهم البعض. ولكن إذا كانت حصيلتها الوحيدة عبارة عن دعوات لإجراء المزيد من الأبحاث والاجتماعات، فستكون قد خيبت الآمال. وفي نهاية المطاف، سيُقاس النجاح وفقاً للإنجازات.

  

أعدت هذا الملخص كيلسي سيغاوا.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 2376

Rehabilitation and Reintegration of Returning Foreign Terrorist Fighters

Gilles de Kerchove , Jacob Bundsgaard , Maj. Gen. Doug Stone, USMC (ret.), and Matthew Levitt

Also available in العربية

February 23, 2015


On the margins of the White House Summit on Countering Violent Extremism (CVE), global leaders in efforts to rehabilitate radicalized fighters gathered at the Institute to share their insights into what works -- and what doesn't.

On February 20, Gilles de Kerchove, Jacob Bundsgaard, Doug Stone, and Matthew Levitt addressed a Policy Forum at The Washington Institute. Kerchove is the European Union Counterterrorism Coordinator. Bundsgaard is Lord Mayor of Aarhus, Denmark, and a prominent player in the city's widely known jihadist rehabilitation program. Stone, a retired Marine major general, oversaw all theatre interrogation and detention in Iraq during the post-2006 surge; he now works for the UN and helped develop the Rome Memorandum, the seminal best-practices compendium for rehabilitation and reintegration of violent extremist offenders. Levitt is the Fromer-Wexler Fellow and director of the Stein Program on Counterterrorism and Intelligence at the Institute. The following is a rapporteur's summary of their remarks.

Watch C-SPAN's broadcast of this event.

GILLES DE KERCHOVE

The phenomenon of foreign fighters is not new -- the challenge today comes from the sheer scale it has taken on in Europe. Roughly four thousand fighters have traveled from Europe to Syria and Iraq, and about 20-30 percent have already returned home. They have been brainwashed: they have learned how to use Kalashnikovs and bombs, their tolerance for violence has grown significantly, and they have developed huge networks.

Yet it is extremely difficult to collect evidence showing that militants have fought alongside banned terrorist groups. Until recently, many fighters proudly posted pictures of themselves online. But because the European Union is not present in Syria or cooperating with the Assad regime, it is hard to prove that any returnee has committed a crime. European justice and interior ministers should therefore develop alternative solutions. In particular, they should do as much as possible to avoid sending returnees to criminal court. Prisons are major incubators of radicalization, and it is more difficult to convince fighters to return home when they fear being sent to jail. If there is reason to believe they have committed a crime, then obviously they should be sent to court. Yet the evidence in such cases is often insufficient, and the required resources for monitoring these individuals is frequently beyond what many European nations can afford.

Once fighters do return, whatever threat they might pose should be assessed on a case-by-case basis. While very few are likely to commit a terrorist attack, many may be disillusioned and affected by post-traumatic stress disorder. Some may feel that they have fulfilled their duty as Muslims in supporting the Arab Spring and may simply need to be reintegrated into society. In general, any solution to the problem must address two main elements: reconnecting isolated returnees to family, friends, and society, and deprogramming their radical ideology. Additionally, Europe needs to define a common policy toward returnees. Current policies range from the Danish emphasis on reintegration to the British emphasis on preventing fighters from returning.

Other concerns include the role of ideology, intelligence sharing, and prison staff. First, many imams in Europe do not speak the language of their host country, and they may be fostering a very conservative interpretation of Islam. Second, the European intelligence community does not have a tradition of sharing data, yet such information could be extremely useful to social workers seeking effective responses to the returnee issue. Finally, prison staff must be trained to identify radicalization as early as possible, since the new generation of radical Salafists is becoming better at hiding.

JACOB BUNDSGAARD

While the city of Aarhus has taken steps to ensure that it can police, investigate, and prosecute returning foreign fighters as needed, its primary focus is prevention. Since the 1970s, Aarhus has had a concrete organization known as SSP (social services, schools, and police), and its current rehabilitation program is based on existing SSP structures. It was built in the aftermath of the London and Madrid bombings, when there was concern that the city did not focus enough on young people who were on the path to radicalization, or on the instruments that could pull them in another direction.

The Aarhus model is centered on a unit in the East Jutland Police known as the Infohouse, which is very closely connected to the municipality. It is a frequent point of entry for parents who are concerned about their children becoming radicalized or fighting abroad. Trained employees answer a hotline where they advise these parents to participate in networks with other parents. They are also taught how to communicate with their children and, when applicable, influence fighters to return home. Mothers play a vital role -- they are one of the few things that can still melt the heart of a brainwashed, alienated young person. And Aarhus does want these young people to come back; the longer they are away, the more damaged they are when they return. Infohouse also hosts local workshops to educate parents and professionals who work with young people on recognizing signs of radicalization.

Mentoring is another crucial component of the Aarhus model. Mentors in the current program are highly skilled professionals; the youths with whom they work do not have much trust in authority, so mentors must have a keen understanding of youth psychology and risk factors for radicalization. Most important, they must have the personal skills to connect with these youths. Risk assessments are also conducted by social workers, psychologists, and psychiatrists.

More broadly, it is very important to have open and honest dialogue with returnees. If there is reason to believe a person has committed a crime, authorities must be clear that they will do everything in their power to prosecute. Yet if an individual has not committed a crime or it cannot be proven, they should do everything possible to reintegrate the person. Both of these legs are critical. The bottom line, however, is that all young people want a happy life -- they want to reach the goals they set, such as building a family. For a mayor, the most important task is to create the framework and conditions that make these opportunities possible for all citizens.

DOUG STONE

Many countries ask the UN for assistance in dealing with radicalization issues, but identifying the core problem in each case is crucial. For example, while some 20,000 militants were detained in Iraq in the mid-2000s, only about 4 percent of them held strong ideological motivations. Accordingly, one suggestion was to focus on working with those who were perhaps not as extreme -- although the hardcore 4 percent might be unreachable, much could be done with the vast majority of detainees, many of whom were financially rather than ideologically motivated.

At the time, there were only five programs around the world addressing radicalization. Still, reaching out to these programs resulted in a great deal of useful information. One of the main lessons learned was that individuals are not necessarily committed for life -- it may be a temporary situation. If they are committed, they will likely be in prison for the rest of their lives, but if they do not stay in prison, where do they go?

With very rare exceptions, all of them will go home. That necessitates working with them -- whether one-on-one or in groups -- to better understand them. The receiving community also needs to be involved, and needs to discuss how returnees will be welcomed (or not) once they are back home. There is far more interest in this topic now than there was eight years ago; if it had been brought up then, most countries would hardly have understood what was being discussed. But there was recognition in Iraq that returnees would be a problem and would have to be dealt with on a global basis. Therefore, numerous countries were brought together for a series of meetings over the course of 2011-2012, resulting in the Rome Memorandum on Good Practices for Rehabilitation and Reintegration of Violent Extremist Offenders.

The Rome Memorandum lays out twenty-five best practices, but there is no one-size-fits-all solution. What the memorandum does show is that there is hope, and a methodology that can work. In particular, all countries need to address a few main questions. First, what are the goals and objectives of a given local rehabilitation program? These need to be defined clearly. Second, how does a community prevent recruiting? Third, what are the different roles for different actors? Some of the best-run and longest-lasting programs were initiated by private citizens who stepped forward. And finally, what is the government's responsibility to returnees and potentially vulnerable youths?

Bringing subject-matter experts together via conferences is vital. Other critical components include the intelligence community and law enforcement, as well as religious leaders and discussions about beliefs. Eighty-four nations have contributed to the effort in Syria; all are worried about returning foreign fighters, and each will have to develop its own program.

MATTHEW LEVITT

Not every returning foreign fighter or terrorist dropout can be reintegrated into society, but some can. Even among those who can be prosecuted and convicted, the vast majority will eventually be released. It is therefore neither "soft" nor "weak" to be talking about how to rehabilitate them, especially in the prison context but elsewhere as well. As one official at the White House's CVE summit said, prisons still sometimes serve as "universities for terrorism."

Similarly, despite some calls for simply preventing foreign fighters from returning home, most Western countries have legal impediments to barring the reentry of citizens. And many fighters will not be discovered by authorities until after they have returned, partially due to restrictions on data sharing. Europe in particular is concerned about privacy issues with such sharing, so while there has been much progress in this area, the fact is that some fighters will return home whether they are wanted there or not.

One key lesson is that rehabilitation and reintegration programs must have some type of connectivity to law enforcement and intelligence to decrease the risk of trying to reintegrate uncompromising individuals who are intent on doing harm. Such risk assessments are necessary not only at the intake stage, but later as well to account for the possibility that a person could re-radicalize or become further radicalized, such as appears to have occurred with the Kouachi brothers in France.

One must also ask what role religion should play in such programs. As President Obama stated clearly at the CVE summit, the West is emphatically not at war with Islam. Yet he and other U.S. officials in attendance also emphasized the need to contest radical ideologies. Addressing factors such as identity issues, adventure-seeking impulses, and the aura of "jihadi cool" is important for stemming people's receptivity to dangerous ideologies, but ideology is what ultimately spurs a person to move beyond rhetoric and engage in violent activity. This is not about religion per se or the vast majority of Muslims; it is about people who engage in disturbing, violent actions in the name of a distortion of Islam. Non-Muslims are ineffective voices in that discussion, which explains why the president invited Muslim community and religious leaders to get more involved during his closing remarks at the summit.

Effectively challenging violent extremism requires one to contest not only expressly violent ideologies, but radical ones more generally. This is not a call for "thought police," but for contesting dangerous ideologies so as to move the needle earlier in the process and keep people off the path to radicalization.

The White House summit has put a bright spotlight on CVE, creating an opportunity for serious efforts to appropriately finance these drastically underfunded programs with public and private money. The purpose of such events is to initiate discussion and debate, and in that regard the summit brought together an impressive gathering of CVE practitioners who learned much from each other. But if the only outcome is calls for more research and meetings, it will have been a disappointment. Success will ultimately be judged by the deliverables.

This summary was prepared by Kelsey Segawa.