أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 2847

الاستقرار المحلي في قطر وأزمة الخليج

ديفيد ب روبرتس

متاح أيضاً في English

18 آب/أغسطس، 2017


في أيار/مايو الماضي، قادت المملكة العربية السعودية والإمارات العربية المتحدة حصاراً دبلوماسياً وتجارياً وجوياً غير مسبوق ضد جارتهما قطر. وفي أعقاب ما بدا على أنها علاقات ودية قبل أيام [من فرض الحصار]، كان من المفترض أن تؤدي تلك الإجراءات إلى إثارة صدمة ورعب تفرضان إجراء تغييرات فورية من قبل الدوحة - ظاهرياً رداً على تعليقات الأمير القطري، التي تَبيَّن أنها مزيفة. ومع ذلك، إذا كان مهندسو الحصار في الرياض وأبوظبي والقاهرة والمنامة يأملون في أن تقوم العائلة المالكة القطرية أو القطريون عموماً بالضغط على الحكومة للإذعان، فإن الأحداث حتى الآن أظهرت خلاف ذلك.

فيما يلي لمحة تاريخية موجزة عن التغييرات في قيادات آل ثاني، تساعد في تحديد الخلفية:

·         الأربعينيات: حمد بن عبدالله يشغل منصب حاكم قطر الفعلي؛ توفي عام 1948

·         1949:       علي شقيق حمد يستلم السلطة من والده، الأمير عبدالله، الذي تنازل عنها

·         1960:       أحمد بن علي، نجل علي بن عبدالله، يتولى السلطة

·         1972:       خليفة بن حمد آل ثاني يستولي على العرش، بخلعه ابن أخيه أحمد

·         1995:       حمد نجل خليفة يستولي على السلطة بينما كان والده في الخارج

·         2013:       حمد يتنازل عن العرش لنجله تميم

فتنة بين عائلة آل- ثاني

من الناحية النظرية على الأقل، كانت لدى السعوديين والإماراتيين والبحرينيين، إلى جانب المصريين أسباب تدعو إلى الأمل في أن تؤدي ضغوطهم إلى بروز قيادة أكثر إذعاناً في أوساط آل ثاني. وتشكل عائلة آل ثاني أكبر عائلة ملكية في العالم بالنسبة لعدد سكان البلاد، وقد تميزت فترة ولايتها بالقسوة. وفي الأعوام 1960 و 1972 و1995، وبدرجات متفاوتة، أرغمت النزاعات السياسية داخل العائلة المالكة حصول عمليات انتقال [للسلطة في صفوف] القيادة. ولم يؤدِ بروز ثروة قطر النفطية، التي يرجع تاريخها إلى الخمسينيات، سوى إلى تشديد حدة تلك المناورات. ومن بين عمليات الانتقال الثلاث التي أُشير إليها هنا، بشّر انتقال القيادة إلى الشيخ خليفة بن حمد آل ثاني، عام 1972، درجة معينة من التغيير، حيث أن الأخير قلل اعتماده على عائلة آل ثاني للحصول على الدعم وسعى بنشاط إلى تنويع قاعدة دعمه لتشمل جميع القطريين، مؤسساً بذلك دولة الرفاه المطلية بالذهب التي يعهدها القطريون اليوم.

وقد حصل أحدث انتقال للقيادة في قطر في عام 2013، عندما تخلّى الأمير حمد بن خليفة آل ثاني طوعاً عن السلطة لصالح نجله الذي كان يبلغ من العمر ثلاث وثلاثين عاماً، وهو ولي العهد، تميم بن حمد آل ثاني. وقد أثارت خطوة "الأمير الوالد" حمد الكثير من التكهنات. ويشير البعض إلى أن أسباب صحية لعبت دوراً في قراره، في حين يرى آخرون أن حمد أراد أن يُظهِر بأن التنازل الطوعي في العالم العربي أمراً ممكناً.

وفي غضون ذلك، أكد آخرون أنه تم الضغط على حمد ليتنحى جانباً بعد أن كشفت العديد من التسجيلات المزعومة أنه كان قد ناقش عام 2003 مخططاً ضد ولي العهد السعودي عبدالله مع العقيد الليبي معمر القذافي. إلا أن هذه الحجة غير مقنعة. أولاً، إن التوقيت واستخدام المراجع السعودية وسط مناخ خليجي محموم يضعفان مصداقية هذه الحجة. ثانياً، على الرغم من أن حمد قد يكون قد سئم من التعامل مع سياسات الرياض، إلا أنه أمضى ربع قرن وهو يتمرس على مقاومة الضغط الممارَس من قبل السعودية، والذي شمل العديد من المناوشات الحدودية بين السعودية وقطر في أوائل التسعينات، وشهد على الأقل انقلاباً مضاداً مزعوماً واحداً برعاية السعودية في عام 1996، فضلاً عن قيام الرياض بسحب سفيرها من الدوحة لفترة دامت ثمانية أعوام في العقد الأول من القرن الحالي.

وفي المقابل، إن تنحي حمد يثبت للكثيرين أنه ما زال يدير الدولة من وراء الكواليس. ووفقاً لهذه النظرية المستمرة وإن غير المقنعة، يتشارك حمد السلطة الوهمية بطبيعة الحال مع حمد بن جاسم آل ثاني، وزير الخارجية السابق (1992-2013)، ورئيس الوزراء (2007-2013) الذي يتمتع بثقته. بيد، هناك بعض التطورات التي أدت إلى إثارة هذه الشكوك، مثل ظهور حمد بن جاسم في واشنطن ولندن في الأشهر الأخيرة. وليس هناك شك في أن حمد بن جاسم، يشارك في بعض الاجتماعات. كما ظهر على برنامج "شارلي روز" في الولايات المتحدة في حزبران/يونيو 2017، وتحدث نيابة عن دولته. وينطبق الشيء نفسه على الأمير السابق حمد، الذي يكاد يكون من المؤكد أنه يعمل كأحد المقربين من نجله.

ولكن بالنظر إلى أن الدولة القطرية تواجه حالياً أكبر أزمة في تاريخها، فما الذي يمكن أن نتوقعه؟ إذا كانت الولايات المتحدة تواجه حالة طارئة مماثلة وكان لدى الدبلوماسيين السابقين أصدقاء نافذون تثقفوا على مر عقود من الدبلوماسية، فهم أيضاً قد يُجبرون على الخدمة. وبالنسبة لقطر، وهي بلد يقل عدد سكانه عن مدينة بلانو بولاية تكساس، لا يُعتبر هذا النشاط الدبلوماسي مفاجئاً على الإطلاق. إلا أن المفهوم القائل بأن حمد، أو والدة تميم، الشيخة موزة، ما زالا يخططان بشكل بذئ سياسات قطر، يفتقر لنقص حاد في الأدلة. وإذا أراد الأمير حمد أن يكون مسؤولاً وأن يؤثر على سياسات حكومته، فلم يكن قد تخلى طواعية عن هذه الصلاحيات في ظل عدم وجود ضغط واضح للقيام بذلك.

الشكاوى والمُتَحَدّون

لطالما كانت الشعبية المحلية التي تحظى بها مناورات السياسة الخارجية القطرية غير مؤكدة. وقد بدا القطريون مسرورين، على سبيل المثال، عندما انهمر عليهم المديح عام 2008، بما في ذلك من خلال قرن البوظة المعد من قبل شركة "هاجن داز" لتجسيد "اتفاق الدوحة" كـ "مناسبة خاصة"، على خلفية دور الوساطة الذي لعبته قطر للتوصل إلى حل سلمي للنزاع السياسي اللبناني المرير. وكان هناك أيضاً صدى كبير من دعم الأمير حمد للثوريين في ليبيا في عام 2011، عندما رفرفت الأعلام القطرية حول بنغازي ومدحت الملصقات الأمير [القطري]. وعلى الرغم من هذه الحالات، فإن الأسلوب المستفرد الذي تنتهجه الدوحة في السياسة الخارجية قد أثار النزاع الحالي الذي لم يسبق له مثيل، ولا شك في أن بعض القطريين يتوقون لمرتسمات وطنية أكثر سهولة وأقل إثارة للجدل. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، أصبح العديد من المواطنين منقطعين الآن عن أفراد أسرهم، وعن الشركات والممتلكات في دولة الإمارات والبحرين والسعودية.

ولا يضم مجلس الوزراء حالياً سوى ثلاثة من أفراد الأسرة المالكة - وإن كانت مناصب رئيس الوزراء/ وزير الداخلية، ووزير الخارجية، ووزير التجارة مهمة - مما يشير إلى عدم وجود حاجة ملحة لاسترضاء المنافسين من داخل عائلة آل ثاني. وفي الواقع، فإن مثل هذا التمثيل المنخفض لـ آل ثاني كان أمراً مستحيلاً في الخمسينيات والستينيات، عندما استنهض الكثير من أفراد العائلة للحصول على أدوار [في الدولة]، مما دفع إلى قيام سياسة توزيع وظائف محترمة لإسكات المعارضة داخل العائلة الحاكمة.

وقد طرحت مصادر خارجية بعض الأسماء كمعارضين نظريين للأمير تميم، ولكن هذه التصريحات لا تحمل قيمة كبيرة. ففي 1 حزيران/يونيو 2017، أفادت صحيفة "الحياة" المحترمة نسبياً التي تدعمها السعودية ومقرها في لندن، بأن سعود بن ناصر آل ثاني قد دُعي لزيارة الدوحة للعمل كوسيط لقطر في الأزمة. وكرّرت صحيفة "ذي ناشيونال"، التي تصدر باللغة الإنجليزية ومقرها في أبو ظبي، القصة [نفسها] في 3 حزيران/يونيو، في مقالة خالية من الخطوط العريضة، ورفعت مكانة سعود بن ناصر ووصفته  بأنه "أبرز الشخصيات المعارضة في قطر". وفي 3 حزيران/يونيو تراجعت صحيفة "الحياة" عن عدد من النقاط التي ذكرتها في مقالتها الأصلية. وقد وصف عنوان هذه المقالة الثانية، سعود بن ناصر بأنه "رجل غامض"، ولخصت الموضوع بقولها: إنه غير معروف تماماً تقريباً. [ويمكن] الافتراض بأنه سعود بن ناصر بن أحمد آل ثاني، وبالتالي ابن الأمير أحمد بن علي آل ثاني، الذي خُلِع في عام 1972 من قبل خليفة، جد الأمير تميم. وإذا كان إثبات الشخصية هذا صحيحاً، فقد يكون سعود أيضاً شقيق إحدى زوجات أبناء "الأمير الوالد" حمد.

ومع ذلك، لم يتولَ فرع بن علي من العائلة المالكة السلطة لعدة أجيال، مما قلّل من مطالباته بتولي القيادة. وفي حين أن أعضاءه يحملون مظالم من قيام خليفة باغتصاب السلطة من أحمد عام 1972، فإن فرع بن حمد (الذي يضم تميم، وحمد، وخليفة) يرد بأن أفراد بن علي هم في الواقع من قاموا بقلب النظام المعتمد في قطر، نظراً لأن والد الأمير خليفة، حمد، كان الحاكم الفعلي في الأربعينيات. وعلى هذا النحو، ومن الناحية المنطقية، لطالما كان خليفة العاهل المفترض الذي يخلفه. ولم يتم منع عملية انتقال السلطة الطبيعية تلك إلّا بفعل وفاة حمد عندما كان خليفة شاباً، مما مهد الطريق لتولي أميرين من بن علي زمام السلطة بشكل متتالٍ.

وفي نهاية المطاف، وفي ضوء مجموعة من القصص الخيالية الأخرى في الصحافة الإقليمية، تُعتبر التغطية الإعلامية لـ "رموز المعارضة" القطرية مؤشراً على الطبيعة الحزبية المحبطة للتغطية الإعلامية في العالم العربي أكثر منها تعليقاً على السياسة الحاكمة في قطر. وربما يكون الاجتماع الذي عُقد في جدة في 16 آب/أغسطس بين ولي العهد السعودي محمد بن سلمان والشيخ عبدالله بن علي بن عبدالله آل ثاني، نجل الأمير الراحل علي بن عبدالله آل ثاني، أحدث تطور في التناحرات السياسية. وقد رحب المسؤولون القطريون بهذه المبادرة، على ما يبدو، التي تهدف ظاهرياً إلى إعطاء الضوء الأخضر للعبور المباشر للحجاج القطريين إلى السعودية، ولكنهم قالوا إن هذه الخطوة يجب أن تترافق مع رفع كامل للحصار. وفي تقريرها، لم تذكر قناة "الجزيرة" دور الشيخ عبدالله بن علي في التوصل إلى هذه الخطوة.

القطريون يوحدون صفوفهم

بالرغم من حملات الهمس والشكوك الداخلية المختلفة، أتى الرد القطري الساحق على أزمة الخليج الحالية موحداً. فقد انتشرت رسائل الدعم العفوية على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي بينما زيّن القطريون - والمغتربون - سياراتهم بصورة لتميم من إعداد فنان قطري. ولا توجد أدلة تشير إلى وجود منافس محلي جدي للأمير. وعلى ما يبدو، لا يوجد سكان، بمن فيهم القطريون، يحبذون الخضوع لضغوط خارجية. وسواء وافق القطريون على السياسات الخارجية لبلادهم أم لا، فإنهم يؤيدون على الأرجح الحق السيادي لقيادتهم في تنفيذ سياساتها الخاصة.

ونظراً لعدم تأثر البلاد من صادرات الطاقة، واحتمال توسعها في إنتاج الغاز الطبيعي المسال، [وامتلاكها] لما يقدر بنحو 350 مليار دولار من صندوق الثروة السيادية، واستضافتها لإحدى أهم القواعد الجوية الأمريكية في العالم على بعد بضعة كيلومترات من قصر الأمير، تبقى الدولة القطرية سليمة من الناحية المالية والدفاعية. وعلى الرغم من أن أسعار الواردات سترتفع على نحو سريع نتيجة الحصار، نظراً لأن الطرق البديلة هي أكثر تكلفة على الأرجح، تقوم الدولة بتغطية تلك التكاليف وغيرها التي تتكبدها الشركات. وعموماً، فباستثناء الاجتماع الذي عُقد في جدة في 16 آب/أغسطس، لا توجد إشارة مباشرة على أن أفراد العائلة المالكة أو أشخاص فرديين أو جماعات يعملون بشكل متضافر ضد القيادة الحالية أو لديهم أسباب تدفعهم للقيام بذلك.

 

ديفيد ب روبرتس أستاذ مساعد في كلية كينغز لندن ومؤلف الدراسة، "قطر: تأمين الطموحات العالمية لدولة - مدينة".

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 2847

Qatar's Domestic Stability and the Gulf Crisis

David B. Roberts

Also available in العربية

August 18, 2017


The Saudi- and UAE-led coalition could be overestimating the prospects for change in Doha.

This past May, Saudi Arabia and the United Arab Emirates led an unprecedented diplomatic, commercial, and air-space blockade against their neighbor Qatar. Following what appeared to be amicable relations days before, these actions were supposed to deliver the shock and awe that would force immediate changes from Doha -- ostensibly in response to comments by the Qatari emir, which turned out to be fake. Yet if the architects of the blockade in Riyadh, Abu Dhabi, as well as Cairo and Manama hoped that either the Qatari royal family or Qataris at large would pressure the government to capitulate, events thus far have shown otherwise.

A brief history of al-Thani leadership changes helps set the backdrop:

  • 1940s: Hamad bin Abdullah serves as de facto ruler of Qatar; dies in 1948
  • 1949: Hamad's brother Ali takes over from their father, Emir Abdullah, who abdicated
  • 1960: Ahmad bin Ali, the son of Ali bin Abdullah, takes power
  • 1972: Khalifa bin Hamad al-Thani usurps the throne, supplanting Ahmad, his nephew
  • 1995: Khalifa's son Hamad seizes power while his father is abroad
  • 2013: Hamad abdicates in favor of his son Tamim

Tumult among the al-Thani

At least in theory, the Saudis, Emiratis, and Bahrainis, along with the Egyptians, had reasons to be hopeful that their pressure might prompt the emergence of a more compliant al-Thani leadership. The al-Thani constitutes the largest royal family in the world in proportion to the country's population, and its tenure has been marked by acrimony. In 1960, 1972, and 1995, to varying degrees, leadership transitions were forced by intrafamily political disputes. The advent of Qatar's oil-based wealth, dating to the 1950s, only further embittered such maneuvering. Of the three transitions just noted, Khalifa bin Hamad al-Thani's, in 1972, heralded some degree of change in that he relied less on the al-Thani family for support and actively sought to diversify his base to encompass all Qataris, essentially creating the gold-plated welfare state Qataris know today.

Qatar's most recent leadership transition occurred in 2013, when Emir Hamad bin Khalifa al-Thani voluntarily abdicated in favor of his then thirty-three-year-old son, Crown Prince Tamim bin Hamad al-Thani. The reasons for now "father-emir" Hamad's move have drawn much speculation. Some suggest health reasons played a part, while others argue that Hamad wanted to show that a voluntary abdication in the Arab world was possible.

Others have contended, meanwhile, that Hamad was pressured to step aside when various alleged recordings revealed that he had discussed in 2003 a plot against then Saudi crown prince Abdullah with Libya's Col. Muammar Qadhafi. But this argument is unpersuasive. First, the timing and Saudi sourcing amid a fevered Gulf climate weaken its credibility. Second, although Hamad may have grown tired of dealing with Riyadh's politics, he had a quarter-century's practice withstanding pressure from Saudi Arabia, including several Saudi-Qatar border skirmishes in the early 1990s, at least one alleged Saudi-sponsored countercoup in 1996, and Riyadh's eight-year withdrawal of its ambassador to Doha in the 2000s.

Conversely, Hamad's abdication proves for many that he is still running the state from behind the scenes. According to this persistent though unconvincing theory, Hamad is naturally joined in pseudopower by Hamad bin Jassim al-Thani, his trusty former foreign minister (1992-2013) and prime minister (2007-13). Yet certain developments have fueled these suspicions, such as the visibility of Hamad bin Jassim in Washington DC and London in recent months. Doubtless, HBJ, as he is known, is taking part in meetings. He also appeared on the Charlie Rose show in June 2017, speaking up on behalf of his state. The same applies to former emir Hamad, who is almost certainly acting as a close confidant to his son.

But given that the Qatari state is facing the single largest crisis in its history, what else can one expect? If the United States were confronting a similar emergency and former diplomats had influential friends cultivated through decades of diplomacy, they too might be pressed into service. For Qatar, a country with a citizen population smaller than Plano, Texas, such diplomatic activity is not at all surprising. But the notion that either Hamad -- or Tamim's mother, Sheikha Moza -- is still scurrilously masterminding Qatar's policies suffers from a chronic lack of evidence. If Emir Hamad wanted to be in charge and to influence his state's policies, he would not have voluntarily given up these powers when under no evident pressure to do so.

Grievances and Challengers

The domestic popularity of Qatar's foreign policy gambits has long been uncertain. Qataris did appear pleased, for example, when in 2008 accolades flowed -- including through a Häagen-Dazs "special occasion" Doha Agreement Cone -- for Qatar's role in mediating a peaceful end to a bitter Lebanese political dispute. Also resonating well was Emir Hamad's support for Libya's revolutionaries in 2011, when Qatari flags fluttered around Benghazi and posters eulogized the emir. These instances notwithstanding, Doha's maverick style of foreign policy has stirred today's unprecedented dispute, and some Qataris undoubtedly long for an easier, less controversial national profile. Furthermore, many nationals are now cut off from family members, businesses, and properties in the UAE, Bahrain, and Saudi Arabia.

Today's cabinet has only three royal family members -- albeit the crucial prime/interior minister, foreign affairs minister, and commerce minister -- suggesting little need to placate challengers from within the al-Thani. Indeed, such low al-Thani representation would have been impossible in the 1950s and 1960s, when so many family members agitated for roles, prompting a policy of distributing plum positions to silence intrafamilial dissent.

Outside sources have floated a few names as theoretical opponents to Emir Tamim, but these claims carry little weight. Al-Hayat, a Saudi-backed but relatively respected Arabic newspaper based in London, reported on June 1, 2017, that Saud bin Nasser al-Thani had been invited to Doha to act as an intermediary for Qatar in the crisis. The National, an English-language paper based in Abu Dhabi, repeated the story on June 3, in a byline-free article, bumping up Saud bin Nasser to "Qatar's leading opposition figure." Also on June 3, al-Hayat printed a retraction of a number of points from its original article. The title of this second article, describing Saud bin Nasser as a "mystery man," sums it up: he is almost entirely unknown. The assumption is that he is Saud bin Nasser bin Ahmad al-Thani and thus the son of Emir Ahmad bin Ali al-Thani, deposed in 1972 by Emir Tamim's grandfather, Khalifa. If this identification is correct, Saud would also be the brother of one of Father-Emir Hamad's daughters-in-law.

The bin Ali branch of the family, however, has not held power for generations, diminishing its claims to the leadership. While its members maintain a grievance over the 1972 usurpation whereby Khalifa took power from Ahmad, the bin Hamad branch (which includes Tamim, Hamad, and Khalifa) retorts that the bin Alis, in fact, were the ones to overturn the norm in Qatar, given that Emir Khalifa's father, Hamad, was de facto ruler in the 1940s. As such, the logic goes, Khalifa was always the putative monarch to succeed him. Such a natural transition was only prevented by Hamad's death while Khalifa was young, paving the way for two bin Ali emirs to serve in succession.

Ultimately, in light of a range of other fanciful stories in the regional press, reporting on Qatari "opposition figures" is more a sign of the depressingly partisan nature of coverage in the Arab world than a comment on Qatar's ruling politics. The August 16 meeting in Jeddah between Saudi crown prince Muhammad bin Salman and Sheikh Abdullah bin Ali bin Abdullah al-Thani, a son of the late Emir Ali bin Abdullah al-Thani, is probably the latest twist in the political rivalry. Ostensibly meant to agree on the direct passage of Qatari pilgrims to Saudi Arabia, Qatari officials welcomed the gesture but said the move should be accompanied by a full lifting of the blockade. The Al Jazeera report of the move made no mention of the role of Sheikh Abdullah bin Ali.

Qataris Close Ranks

Despite the whispering campaigns and various domestic doubts, the overwhelming Qatari response to the current Gulf crisis has been one of unity. On social media, spontaneous messages of support have proliferated as Qataris -- and expatriates -- adorned their cars with an image of Tamim created by a Qatari artist. And no evidence exists of a serious domestic challenger to the emir. Apparently, no population, including the Qataris, enjoys being pressured from the outside. Whether Qataris agree with their country's foreign policies or not, they likely back the sovereign right of their leadership to undertake its own policies.

With energy exports untouched, liquefied natural gas expansion on the horizon, an estimated $350 billion sovereign wealth fund, and one of the most important U.S. air bases in the world a few kilometers from the emir's palace, the Qatari state remains fiscally and defensively sound. Although import prices will shoot up as a consequence of the blockade, given that alternative routes are likely more expensive, the state is defraying these and other costs being sustained by businesses. Overall, other than the August 16 Jeddah meeting, there is no immediate sign of royals, individuals, or groups acting in concert against the current leadership or having reason to do so.

David B Roberts is an assistant professor at King's College London and author of Qatar: Securing the Global Ambitions of a City State.