أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 2593

سياسة بوتين الشرق أوسطية: الأسباب والنتائج

آنا بورشفسكايا و فيليب غوردون

متاح أيضاً في English

23 آذار/مارس 2016


"في 17 آذار/مارس، خاطب فيليب غوردون وآنا بورشفسكايا منتدى سياسي في معهد واشنطن بمناسبة نشر المجهر السياسي الجديد باللغة الانكليزية: "روسيا في الشرق الأوسط: الدوافع، النتائج، التوقعات". والسيد غوردون هو زميل بارز في "مجلس العلاقات الخارجية"، وكان قد شغل منصب المساعد الخاص للرئيس الأمريكي ومنسق البيت الأبيض لشؤون الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا ومنطقة الخليج بين عامي 2013 و 2015. والسيدة بورشفسكايا هي زميلة "آيرا وينر" في معهد واشنطن وزميلة "المؤسسة الأوروبية للديمقراطية". وفيما يلي ملخص المقرر لملاحظاتهما".

 

 آنا بورشفسكايا

لم تعد روسيا "القوة العظمى" التي كانت في السابق، إلا أن منطقة الشرق الأوسط منطقة هشة، ولا تحتاج موسكو إلى بذل الكثير من الجهود لتأكيد نفوذها فيها والحصول على موطئ قدم عسكري هناك، خاصة ضد ما قد يُتصور بأنه تراجع غربي من المنطقة. فالرئيس الروسي فلاديمير بوتين يختبر الغرب باستمرار، الأمر الذي يحوّل الأنظار عن المشاكل الداخلية في روسيا ويسمح له بمواصلة لعب دور الزعيم الضروري في هذا الإطار.

ولا بد من الإشارة إلى أن النفوذ الإقليمي الروسي آخذ في التزايد، وليس فقط في سوريا. ففي الشهر الماضي، زار العراق أكبر وفد روسي منذ سنوات عديدة، وتعهد بتقديم المزيد من الأسلحة والمساعدات لحكومة بغداد. كما ودافعت موسكو عن تجارب الصواريخ البالستية الإيرانية الأخيرة، وحرصت على أن مبيعاتها من الأسلحة الممكنة لإيران، بما فيها الطائرات المقاتلة، لا تخرق حظر الأسلحة الذي تفرضه للأمم المتحدة على أساس أن المقاتلات هي أسلحة دفاعية. وفي الوقت نفسه، تستمر مواجهة الكرملين مع تركيا بعد إسقاط أنقرة لطائرة روسية في تشرين الثاني/ نوفمبر الماضي. وفي هذا الشهر تحديداً، زار العاهل المغربي الملك محمد السادس، روسيا للمرة الأولى منذ عام 2002.

وهناك العديد من أوجه التشابه بين رد فعل روسيا على الانتفاضات التي شهدتها دول الاتحاد السوفيتي السابقة بعد انهيار "الاتحاد"، ورد فعلها على "الربيع العربي". فتاريخياً، لم تهتم روسيا القيصرية ولا الاتحاد السوفيتي بالمنطقة نفسها بقدر اهتمامها باحتمالات تحقيق مكاسب اقتصادية وسياسية منها، فضلاً عن الحد من النفوذ الغربي، وبالتالي خلق صورة لروسيا كـ "قوة عظمى". وفي السنوات الأولى التي تلت انهيار الاتحاد السوفيتي، تراجع الرئيس بوريس يلتسين لفترة وجيزة من المنطقة، ولكن بعد الاضطرابات التي وقعت في التسعينات، تبوأ بوتين السلطة واعداً بالاستقرار والازدهار، واستعادة عظمة روسيا.

من الأوجه الأخرى التي تميزت بها ولاية بوتين، عدم الثقة والعداء تجاه الغرب. فهو يعتبر أن انهيار الاتحاد السوفيتي شكل مأساة ويرى أن الغرب يستهدف الآن وحدة روسيا على نحو مماثل. فكلام الغرب عن الديمقراطية هو ستار لتغيير النظام، ولا يمكن لبوتين إدراك الفكرة بأن الشعب قد يطيح بحكامه من دون تلقي تعليمات من قوى أجنبية.

وتميل السياسات الروسية إلى رد الفعل، وبالتالي تنشأ استجابة للسياسات والإجراءات الغربية. ومن جهته ينظر بوتين إلى الدبلوماسية على أنها لعبة لا رابح فيها ولا خاسر، ويسعى للحد من النفوذ الغربي من خلال استغلال الفجوات التي يتركها الغرب. على سبيل المثال، استغل تراجع العلاقات بين الولايات المتحدة ومصر لتعزيز العلاقات الروسية المصرية. وعلى الرغم من تركيزها الشديد على مكافحة الإرهاب، كانت روسيا في بعض الأحيان على استعداد للعمل مع الإسلاميين مثل حكومة الرئيس المصري السابق محمد مرسي التي لم تدم طويلاً في مصر وحركة «حماس» في غزة. وقد استفادت موسكو إلى حد كبير من العمل في المجالات التي فشلت فيها واشنطن بفرض الخطوط الحمراء الخاصة بها، كما هو الحال في سوريا. وعموماً، سعى بوتين إلى تحسين العلاقات الروسية مع الأصدقاء والأعداء التقليديين على حد سواء في الشرق الأوسط، وذلك في المقام الأول عن طريق التجارة والأسلحة والوسائل المتعلقة بالطاقة.

 

فيليب غوردون

ترتبط مصالح روسيا في الشرق الأوسط بانعدام الثقة والعداء تجاه الغرب. فموسكو تتمتع بطموحات لتصبح "قوة عظمى" وتريد أن يتم التعامل معها على أنها كذلك. من جانبه، يعتبر بوتين خاتمة الحرب الباردة على أنها هدنة كان ينبغي أن تولد ميزان قوى متساوٍ ولكنها أدت بدلاً من ذلك إلى سعي الولايات المتحدة إلى الهيمنة العالمية. وبالمثل، تستاء روسيا من توسيع "حلف شمال الأطلسي" ("الناتو") ونشاط الولايات المتحدة في الشرق الأوسط. وعلى وجه العموم، يحدد بوتين مصلحة روسيا على أنها معارضة للاتجاه العالمي القائم على نشر الديمقراطية، بما يتفق مع وصول موسكو إلى دول أكثر استبدادية ونفورها من مصالح الولايات المتحدة في الترويج للديمقراطية.

وفي هذا السياق، تمثل إيران وسوريا أهم عقدتين في العلاقات بين الولايات المتحدة وروسيا في الشرق الأوسط. وفيما يتعلق بإيران، تتناقض مصالح روسيا التي ترغب في منع طهران من امتلاك أسلحة نووية في حين تعارض أي تطور يُعتبر داعماً لهيمنة الولايات المتحدة. فقد أصرت موسكو على أن يمر أي اتفاق نووي مع إيران عبر مجلس الأمن الدولي حيث لروسيا مقعداً فيه. وخلال المحادثات، كانت إحدى مخاوف الغرب أن تقدم روسيا الحد الأدنى كشريك، وتوافق على منع [تطوير] القنبلة [النووية] الإيرانية ولكن ليس على نهج الولايات المتحدة الأوسع نطاقاً حول هذه المسألة. ومن المخاوف أيضاً أن توجيه ضربة من الغرب ضد إيران قد يساعد روسيا من خلال معالجة القضية النووية مباشرة، ويؤدي الى ارتفاع أسعار النفط، وتشويه سمعة الولايات المتحدة وإسرائيل، فيما يسمح لموسكو في نهاية المطاف بتعزيز علاقاتها في المنطقة. إلا أن الكشف عن منشأة فوردو النووية الإيرانية السرية أثار التوتر في صفوف الروس ودفع بهم إلى دعم قرار مجلس الأمن رقم 1929، وحظر الأسلحة والعقوبات على الصواريخ. وفي النهاية، تبيّن أن روسيا شريكة فيما يتعلق بإيران أفضل مما توقع الكثيرون، على الرغم من الخلافات حول أوكرانيا وقوانين المنظمات غير الحكومية والدفاع الصاروخي وقضايا أخرى. وبمرور الوقت تدهورت العلاقة بين الولايات المتحدة وروسيا، لكن إيران كانت آخر مجال للتعاون. وقد بقي موقف موسكو بشأن إيران متناسقاً في جميع مراحل المحادثات، كما أن الروس دعموا تقييد برنامج إيران النووي طالما أنهم يلعبون دوراً في هذه العملية.

وحول سوريا، كانت نظرة الكثيرين مفرطة في التفاؤل بأن روسيا ستساعد الولايات المتحدة على عزل بشار الأسد. فبوتين دائماً ما سيدعم الأسد، وما كان يجب على المراقبين أن يتفاجؤوا من نشر روسيا قوة عسكرية في سوريا. فروسيا تكره الفكرة بأنه يمكن للشعب أن ينتفض ويؤمّن الدعم من الغرب إذا كان يكره الدكتاتور الذي يحكمه. ويمكن ملاحظة ذلك في رد فعل موسكو على الاضطرابات التي شهدتها جورجيا وأوكرانيا وقرغيزستان وليبيا. فالكرملين يرى نمطاً واحداً في كل هذه الحالات، ويخشى من انتشاره إلى آسيا الوسطى أو روسيا نفسها. وبشكل منفصل، لا يهدف الروس إلى بناء تحالف لسحق السنّة ولكنهم يحاولون بدلاً من ذلك توسيع علاقاتهم مع العالم الإسلامي السني.

ولا يستند الدفاع الروسي عن نظام الأسد على كره روسيا لتغيير النظام فحسب، بل على مخاطر الفوضى في المرحلة التي تلي الأسد في سوريا وعلى رغبتها في البقاء ذات صلة في هذا الشأن أيضاً، بدلاً من نية الكرملين المعلنة القائمة على هزيمة تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية في العراق والشام» («داعش»). وبالتالي يتماشى الانسحاب الروسي مع هذه الأهداف: فالأسد لن يسقط، ولا يتم تحويل سوريا إلى أفغانستان أو الصومال، وموسكو حافظت على مقعدها على هذه الطاولة. فانخراط الروس لم يكن للمشاركة في احتلال سوريا إلى أجل غير مسمى. وإذا تمكنت الولايات المتحدة من تقديم خطة لمرحلة ما بعد الأسد في سوريا تشمل المصالح الروسية، سيوافق الكرملين عليها. فروسيا، كما أُشير، عازمة على تجنب الفوضى في مرحلة ما بعد الأسد في سوريا ولكنها في الوقت نفسه لا تعتقد أنه يتعيّن على المجتمع الدولي أن يلعب دوراً في تشكيل الحكومة السورية.

وبالتالي، ينبغي أن تتضمن الأهداف الأمريكية مواجهة النفوذ الروسي في المنطقة، ولكن لا يمكن أن يكون هذا هو الهدف الرئيسي. وبدلاً من ذلك، لا بد من قياس أهداف الولايات المتحدة بشأن روسيا مقابل المصالح الوطنية الأخرى. فعلى أولئك الذين ينظرون إلى تدخّل موسكو على أنه يقوض مصالح الولايات المتحدة أن يفسروا أيضاً الانسحاب الذي أعلنته روسيا على أنه مفيد لمصالح الولايات المتحدة، إذ لن تشمل سياسة أمريكية ناجحة تجاه سوريا قيام مأزق روسي فيها. وفي المقابل، يجب على الولايات المتحدة الحفاظ على الهدف القائم على التعاون مع روسيا في التوصل إلى حل سياسي. وعلى هذا الصعيد، يتضمن إعلان الكرملين الانسحاب بالتزامن مع محادثات جنيف رسالة للأسد بأن روسيا لا تدعمه في استعادة السيطرة على كامل البلاد.

ولم يشك أحد يوماً بأن الولايات المتحدة يمكن أن تستخدم القوة الجوية إلى حد يترك بعض الأثر في سوريا، ولكن قد لا تكون القوة قد سمحت لواشنطن أن تدرك أهدافها السياسية، والتي تختلف عن أهداف روسيا وهي أكثر صعوبة منها. فقد إستندت المقامرة الكامنة وراء تدخل الولايات المتحدة المحتمل على إقناع النظام ومؤيديه بقبول الانتقال [السياسي]. وطالما يتمتع الأسد بدعم إيران وروسيا و «حزب الله»، فإن أي تدخل أمريكي سيكون مكلفاً وكبيراً. إذ تشير تجربة الولايات المتحدة إلى أن التدخل نيابة عن قوة معارضة لا يؤدي إلى الاستسلام بل إلى تصعيد مضاد. وبالتالي، يصبح تطبيق النهج الروسي لتحقيق الأهداف السياسية عبر استخدام القوة أكثر صعوبة حتى عندما ينظر المرء إلى النهج العشوائي للجيش الروسي وقتله لعدد كبير من المدنيين.

وفي النهاية، لا بد من الإشارة إلى أن ما يمكن أن تقدمه واشنطن للشرق الأوسط يفوق كثيراً عما تستطيع موسكو توفيره. ففي حين يمكن أن تلعب روسيا دوراً إقليمياً، تفضل دول الشرق الأوسط العلاقات الاستراتيجية مع الولايات المتحدة والشروط التي توفرها، بغض النظر عن التوترات الحالية. وتتمتع موسكو أيضاً بالقدرة على أن تكون قوة سلبية في الحالات التي يمكنها بدلاً من ذلك أن تلعب دوراً إيجابياً. ولهذا السبب، لا يمكن تجاهل روسيا.

 

أعد هذا الموجز پاتريك شميت.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 2593

Putin's Middle East Policy: Causes and Consequences

Anna Borshchevskaya and Philip Gordon

Also available in العربية

March 23, 2016


Two experts discuss Russia's increasingly assertive regional policy and what it means for American and allied interests. Read a summary or watch video of the full event.

On March 17, Anna Borshchevskaya and Philip Gordon addressed a Policy Forum at The Washington Institute to mark the publication of the new Policy Focus Russia in the Middle East: Motives, Consequences, Prospects, Borshchevskaya is the Institute's Ira Weiner Fellow and a fellow at the European Foundation for Democracy. Gordon is a senior fellow at the Council on Foreign Relations and served as special assistant to the president and White House coordinator for the Middle East, North Africa, and the Gulf region from 2013 to 2015. The following is a rapporteur's summary of their remarks.

ANNA BORSHCHEVSKAYA

Russia is not the Great Power it once was, but the Middle East is fragile, and Moscow does not need to do much to assert influence and gain a military foothold, particularly against a perceived Western retreat from the region. President Vladimir Putin continually tests the West, diverting attention from Russia's domestic problems and allowing him to further assume the role of a consequential leader.

Russian regional influence is on the rise -- and not only in Syria. Last month, the largest Russian delegation in many years visited Iraq, pledging more weapons and aid to the Baghdad government. Moscow has also defended Iran's recent ballistic missile tests, and further maintains that its own possible arms sales to Iran, including fighter jets, do not violate the United Nations arms embargo on the grounds that fighters are defensive weapons. Meanwhile, the Kremlin's standoff with Turkey continues after Ankara's shootdown of a Russian jet last November. And just this month, King Mohammed VI of Morocco visited Russia for the first time since 2002.

Many similarities exist between Russia's reaction to uprisings in the post-Soviet states and its reaction to the Arab Spring. Historically, both czarist Russia and the Soviet Union cared less about the region itself than about possibilities for economic and political gain, and likewise for reducing Western influence and thereby creating the perception of Russia as a Great Power. In the early post-Soviet years, President Boris Yeltsin briefly retreated from the region, but following the turbulent 1990s, Putin rose to power promising stability, prosperity, and a restoration of Russia's greatness.

Another theme of Putin's tenure is distrust and hostility toward the West. He regards the Soviet Union's breakup as a tragedy and perceives that the West is now similarly targeting Russia's unity. Western talk of democracy is cast as a smokescreen for regime change, and Putin cannot fathom the idea that people would overthrow their rulers without orchestration from foreign powers.

Russia's policies tend to be reactive and therefore emerge in response to Western policies and actions. Putin sees diplomacy as a zero-sum game, and he has sought to reduce Western influence by entering vacuums left by the West. For instance, he used the decline of U.S.-Egypt relations to advance Russia's own ties with Cairo. Despite a heavy emphasis on fighting terrorism, Russia has at times been willing to work with Islamists such as the short-lived Morsi government in Egypt and Hamas in Gaza. Moscow has greatly benefited by acting when Washington failed to enforce its own redlines, such as in Syria. Overall, Putin has sought to improve ties with traditional friends and adversaries alike in the Middle East primarily through trade, arms, and energy-related means.

PHILIP GORDON

Russia's interests in the Middle East relate to its distrust and hostility toward the West. Moscow has Great Power ambitions and wants to be treated as one. For his part, Putin understands the Cold War's conclusion as a truce that should have engendered an even balance of power but instead resulted in U.S. pursuit of global hegemony. Russia likewise resents NATO's enlargement and U.S. activity in the Middle East. Broadly speaking, Putin identifies Russia's interest as opposing the global trend of spreading democracy, consistent with Moscow's outreach to more autocratic states and its aversion to U.S. interests in democracy promotion.

Iran and Syria represent the two most important nodes of U.S.-Russia relations in the Middle East. On Iran, Russia holds the contradictory interests of wanting to prevent Tehran from acquiring nuclear weapons while opposing any development perceived as supporting U.S. hegemony. Moscow insisted that any Iran nuclear deal pass the UN Security Council, where Russia has a seat. During the talks, one feared scenario by the West was that Russia would offer the bare minimum as a partner, agreeing to prevent an Iranian bomb but not to the broader U.S. approach on the matter. Another fear was that a Western strike against Iran could help Russia by directly addressing the nuclear issue, driving up oil prices, and discrediting the United States and Israel, while ultimately allowing Moscow to advance its own relations in the region. The revelation of Iran's secret Fordow nuclear site, however, unnerved the Russians and prompted them to support UN Security Council Resolution 1929, the arms embargo, and missile sanctions. In the end, Russia turned out to be a better partner on Iran than many expected, despite disagreements over Ukraine, NGO laws, missile defense, and other issues. The U.S.-Russia relationship deteriorated over time, but Iran was a last area of cooperation. Moscow's position on Iran remained consistent throughout the talks, and the Russians supported constraining the nuclear program so long as they maintained a role in the process.

On Syria, many were overly optimistic that Russia would help the United States depose Bashar al-Assad. Putin was always going to support Assad, and observers should not have been surprised by Russia's deployment of military force. Russia dislikes the notion that people can rise up and secure support from the West if they dislike their dictator. This can be seen in Moscow's reaction to unrest in Georgia, Ukraine, Kyrgyzstan, and Libya. The Kremlin sees a pattern in all these situations and fears its spread to Central Asia or Russia itself. Separately, the Russians are not aiming to construct an alliance to crush Sunnis but are instead trying to expand ties to the Sunni world.

Russia's defense of the Assad regime is based not only on an aversion to regime change but also on the risks of chaos in a post-Assad Syria and the desire to stay relevant, rather than the Kremlin's stated intention of defeating the Islamic State. Russia's withdrawal is consistent with these objectives: Assad will not fall, Syria is not being transformed into Afghanistan or Somalia, and Moscow has kept its seat at the table. The Russians did not sign up for an indefinite occupation of Syria. If the United States could present a plan for a post-Assad Syria that incorporated Russian interests, the Kremlin would accept it. Russia is, as noted, intent on avoiding anarchy in a post-Assad Syria but at the same time does not believe the international community should have the role of choosing the Syrian government.

U.S. objectives should include countering Russian influence in the region, but this cannot be the predominant objective. Instead, U.S. goals regarding Russia have to be weighed against other national interests. Those who perceive Moscow's intervention as undermining U.S. interests should likewise interpret the announced withdrawal as beneficial for U.S. interests -- a successful U.S. Syria policy would not include a Russian quagmire there. The United States should correspondingly maintain the goal of cooperating with Russia on a political solution. On this front, the Kremlin's announcement of a withdrawal simultaneous with the Geneva talks contains a message to Assad that Russia does not support him in retaking the entire country.

No one ever doubted that the United States could use airpower to some effect in Syria, but force may not have enabled Washington to realize its political goals, which are distinct from and more difficult than Russia's. The gamble behind a prospective U.S. intervention leading to a political transition was predicated on convincing the regime and its supporters to accept a transition. As long as Assad enjoys the backing of Iran, Russia, and Hezbollah, any U.S. intervention would be costly and significant. The U.S. experience is that intervention on behalf of an opposition force leads not to capitulation but to counterescalation. Applying the Russian approach of achieving political goals through force becomes even more difficult when one considers the Russian military's indiscriminate approach and its killing of numerous civilians.

Washington has much more to offer the Middle East than does Moscow. While Russia can play a regional role, Middle Eastern countries prefer strategic relations with the United States and the terms it provides, regardless of current strains. Moscow also has the potential to be a negative force in instances where it could instead play a positive role. For this reason, Russia cannot be ignored.

This summary was prepared by Patrick Schmidt.