أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 2525

بوتين يزور إيران

بريندا شيفر

متاح أيضاً في English

20 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر 2015


في 23 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر، يبدأ الرئيس الروسي فلاديمير بوتين زيارة إلى إيران تستغرق ثلاثة أيام، هي الأولى التي يقوم بها منذ عام 2007. وستشمل الزيارة مكونات ثنائية ومتعددة الأطراف. فعلى الجبهة المتعددة الأطراف، سيشارك بوتين في قمة "منتدى الدول المصدرة للغاز" ويعقد عدة اجتماعات مع رؤساء الدول المجتمعين هناك، بالإضافة إلى لقاءات ثنائية منفصلة مع القادة الإيرانيين. وقد تهئ هذه الاجتماعات والقضايا الروسية الإيرانية المختلفة التي تتمحور حولها فرصاً ومخاطر جديدة لسياسة الولايات المتحدة في الشرق الأوسط وأوكرانيا.

احتكاك ثنائي الطرف

تجري زيارة بوتين في خضمّ جوّ من العلاقات المعقدة على نحو متزايد بين إيران وروسيا. فالاتفاق النووي مع دول «مجموعة الخمسة زائد واحد» قد أنهى عزلة إيران السياسية، الأمر الذي فتح لطهران فرص للتعاون الدبلوماسي والاقتصادي مع أوروبا، وإلى حد ما مع الولايات المتحدة أيضاً. وتشكّل هذه الخيارات الجديدة تحدياً للتحالف السياسي بين روسيا وطهران.

وفي الوقت نفسه، تتوسع الخيارات السياسية والاقتصادية الخاصة بروسيا أيضاً. وقد تتمكّن موسكو من الاستفادة من ثلاثة عوامل مترابطة - أي دورها في سوريا، ومساهمتها المحتملة في محاربة تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية في العراق والشام» («داعش»)/«الدولة الإسلامية»، وقدرتها على إبطاء تدفق اللاجئين إلى أوروبا - لتقيم علاقة جديدة مع دول الاتحاد الأوروبي والولايات المتحدة، وربما ستستطيع أيضاً إزالة القيود التي فرضتها هذه البلدان بعد أزمة أوكرانيا. ونتيجةً لذلك، قد تتطوّر في المستقبل قضايا خلافية أخرى بين طهران وموسكو.

أولاً، في حين أن بوتين وإيران ما زالا يظهران جبهة موحّدة حليفة لنظام الأسد، إلا أن الانتشار الروسي في سوريا قد تسبب بتوترات على الرغم من ذلك. فطهران غير راضية من استيلاء موسكو على دورها المهيمن في دمشق والدور المحتمل الذي كان يمكن لإيران أن تلعبه مع الغرب للتوصل إلى تسوية سلمية. وعلاوةً على ذلك، من المؤكد أنّ إطلاق موسكو لصواريخ كروز على سوريا من بحر قزوين مؤخراً قد أقلق القادة الإيرانيين.

وقد اختلف البلدان أيضاً حول الوضع المتعلق بمبيعات الأسلحة الثنائية. فخلال المفاوضات النووية، جمّدت موسكو تنفيذ عدد من صفقات الأسلحة الموقعة مع إيران. والآن بعد الانتهاء من الاتفاق النووي، تريد طهران أن تفي روسيا بهذه العقود على الفور. وفي الواقع، قد ترغب موسكو في إرسال أسلحة متطورة لتُظهر لطهران فائدة المحافظة على صلات مع روسيا بدلاً من التقرّب من القوى المنافسة. وتحرص إيران بشكل خاص على الحصول على منظومة الدفاع الجوي المتطورة "أس-300". وكانت موسكو قد هددت [الغرب] أكثر من مرة على مدى العقد الماضي بنقل هذا النظام، ولكنها امتنعت عن تسليمه فعلياً بعد الحصول على تنازلات من إسرائيل، وفي بعض الأحيان من الولايات المتحدة أيضاً. وسيشكّل تسليمه الآن مشكلةً لروسيا، فبالإضافة إلى أنه سيخلق توترات إضافية مع واشنطن وإسرائيل، فإنّ تزويد النظام سيتسبب ببعض الصعوبات التقنية وفقاً لبعض التقارير.

وتشكّل عودة إيران للمشاركة الكاملة في تجارة الطاقة العالمية نقطة نزاع أخرى لأنها تهدد مصالح روسيا. فالنيّة التي تحملها طهران وهي زيادة صادرات النفط ستزيد من الضغط الهبوطي على أسعار النفط، مما سيضاعف التحديات الاقتصادية الخطيرة التي تواجهها موسكو. وفيما يتعلق بالغاز الطبيعي، تشعر موسكو بالقلق من أنّ احتياطيات إيران الهائلة قد تهدد هيمنتها كمورّد طويل الأمد في العديد من الأسواق.

وفي الوقت نفسه، تقوم روسيا بتوسيع علاقاتها مع عدد من البلدان المتنافسة مع إيران في الشرق الأوسط، وخاصة المملكة العربية السعودية، مما يثير استياء طهران. كما ينعم بوتين بتعاون أمني ​​ممتاز مع إسرائيل - وفي الواقع، كان رئيس الوزراء نتنياهو أول زعيم أجنبي يزور موسكو بعد ظهور خبر الانتشار الروسي في سوريا إلى العلن.

قمة "منتدى الدول المصدرة للغاز": التمحور حول الدبلوماسية أكثر من الطاقة

بالإضافة إلى الاجتماعات الوزارية المنتظمة، عقد "منتدى الدول المصدرة للغاز" ["المنتدى"] قمتين سابقتين للغاز شارك فيهما رؤساء دول ومسؤولون آخرون من الدول الأعضاء، التي تشمل الجزائر ومصر وإيران وليبيا وقطر وروسيا والإمارات العربية المتحدة وفنزويلا، من بين دول أخرى. وعُقدت القمة لعام 2013 في موسكو، وشارك فيها الرئيس الإيراني السابق محمود أحمدي نجاد. ونظراً لحضور العديد من قادة الدول الرئيسية في الشرق الأوسط ومنطقة بحر قزوين -  بمن فيهم رئيسَيْ أذربيجان وتركمانستان اللذيْن سيحضران كضيفين للمرة الأولى في تاريخ "المنتدى"، فإن القمة التي ستعقد يوم الأثنين ستمنح بوتين منصةً مناسبة للدبلوماسية العامة، الأمر الذي يمكن أن يزيد من نفوذه في المنطقة في هذا الظرف الحاسم.

تأسس "منتدى الدول المصدرة للغاز" في الأصل لتنسيق السياسات بين الدول المصدرة للغاز، وكانت إيران وفنزويلا القوة الدافعة وراء إنشائه رسمياً في عام 2007. وفي ذلك الوقت، روّج المرشد الأعلى علي خامنئي لفكرة أنّه ينبغي على طهران وموسكو إنشاء "منظمة للتعاون في مجال الغاز شبيهة بـ «منظمة الدول المصدرة للنفط» («أوبك»)." ولكنّ "منتدى الدول المصدرة للغاز" فشل في تنفيذ تنسيق أيّ اتحاد احتكاري في أسواق الغاز لعدد من الأسباب.

أولاً، إن الطبيعة الثنائية لتجارة الغاز ضمن عقود محددة على المدى الطويل لا تتيح التنسيق بين المنتجين. ثانياً، إن البلديْن المؤسسيْن لـ "منتدى الدول المصدرة للغاز" ليسا في الواقع مصدّران للغاز - حيث تركّز فنزويلا بالطبع على قطاع النفط، في حين أنّ إيران هي مستوردة صافية للغاز، حيث تستورد هذه المادة من أذربيجان وتركمانستان أكثر بقليل مما تصدّره منها إلى تركيا وأرمينيا. وعلاوةً على ذلك، ليس للمنتجين الرئيسيين مثل الولايات المتحدة، وكندا، وأستراليا أي صلة بـ "المنتدى"، في حين أن معظم الدول الأعضاء تحاول باستمرار توسيع صادراتها الفردية من الغاز وجذب الاستثمارات بغض النظر عن سياسة "المنتدى" الأوسع. وخلاصة القول هي أنه في عصر لم يعد فيه لـ «أوبك» تأثير كبير على سوق النفط العالمي، أصبح من الصعب تصوّر أنّ "منظمة للغاز شبيهة بـ «أوبك»" ستتمكّن من التأثير على أسواق الغاز الطبيعي.

المحصلة

يزور بوتين إيران في الوقت الذي سيؤثّر فيه عدد من السياسات المتبدلة والتطورات الإقليمية على العلاقة بين الجانبين. وفي السابق، عندما كانت إيران تخضع لعقوبات صارمة تتعلق بأسلحتها النووية، تضامن البلدان على الصعد المختلفة، وكان يعود ذلك جزئياً إلى تجمّد عدة ميادين من التنافس الاستراتيجي بينهما. ومع ذلك، يتمتع الطرفان حالياً بخيارات جديدة للتعاون الاقتصادي والسياسي مع شركاء آخرين. كما تتمتع روسيا بحافز قوي يدفعها للاستفادة من احتياجات أوروبا وواشنطن للتعاون في المجال الاستخباراتي والأمني، سواء لمواجهة تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» والجماعات الإرهابية الأخرى في الشرق الأوسط أو لتحقيق الاستقرار في سوريا من أجل وقف تدفق اللاجئين. وفي الواقع، يبدو أنّ الدول الأوروبية تميل إلى إزالة العقوبات المتعلقة بأوكرانيا المفروضة على روسيا أو تقليصها من أجل تسهيل هذا التعاون.

وإذا مدّت موسكو بالفعل يد العون إلى أوروبا بشأن القضايا المتعلقة بسوريا، فقد تجد نفسها وسط خلافات إضافية مع طهران. وبدلاً من ذلك - أو ربما في الوقت نفسه - قد تقرر روسيا أخيراً تسليم أسلحة متطورة إلى إيران لتذكير قادتها أنّ الشراكة معها تحمل فوائد غير قابلة للتحقيق حالياً مع أوروبا أو الولايات المتحدة.

ولجني فوائد هذه التطورات وتجنب مخاطرها، تحتاج واشنطن إلى اعتماد مقاربة شمولية مع روسيا. فالسياسات الأمريكية بشأن سوريا وإيران وأوكرانيا مترابطة ولا يمكن تجزئتها: وتؤثر تصرفات الولايات المتحدة في ساحة واحدة على التحركات الروسية في ساحة أخرى. وتحتاج الولايات المتحدة وأوروبا إلى استراتيجية من شأنها أن تتيح لهما التعاون مع روسيا في سوريا ومناطق أخرى من الشرق الأوسط دون تخليهما عن الأهداف الرئيسية في أوكرانيا والمناطق السوفيتية السابقة. وعلاوةً على ذلك، يجب على واشنطن الاستفادة من تعاونها الأمني المتجدد بشكل واضح مع موسكو لمنع تسليم أسلحة متطورة إلى إيران.

 

بريندا شيفر هي أستاذة مساعدة في "مركز جامعة جورج تاون للدراسات الأوروبية  - الآسيوية والروسية وشرق أوروبا" ("سيريس") وزميلة غير مقيمة في "مركز الطاقة العالمي" في "المجلس الأطلسي".

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 2525

Putin Visits Iran

Brenda Shaffer

Also available in العربية

November 20, 2015

To reap the benefits and avert the dangers of Moscow's latest developments with Iran, Washington and Europe should adopt a strategy that allows them to cooperate on Syria and antiterrorism efforts, while continuing pressure on issues such as the Ukraine conflict and S-300 deliveries to Tehran.

On November 23, Russian president Vladimir Putin opens a three-day trip to Iran, his first since 2007. The visit will encompass multilateral and bilateral components. On the multilateral front, he will participate in the summit of the Gas Exporting Countries Forum (GECF) and hold multiple meetings with the heads of state convening there. He will also hold separate bilateral meetings with Iranian leaders. These meetings and the sundry Russian-Iranian issues that underlie them could create new opportunities and dangers for U.S. policy on the Middle East and Ukraine.


Putin's visit takes place amid increasingly complicated relations between Iran and Russia. The P5+1 nuclear deal has ended Iran's political isolation, opening up opportunities for Tehran to cooperate diplomatically and economically with Europe and, to a certain extent, the United States. These new options pose a challenge to Russia's political alliance with Tehran.

At the same time, Russia's own political and economic options are expanding as well. Moscow may be able to leverage three related factors -- its role in Syria, its potential contribution to the anti-ISIS fight, and its ability to slow the refugee flow into Europe -- to forge a new relationship with the EU and the United States, perhaps removing the limitations they put in place after the Ukraine crisis. Consequently, additional issues of contention may develop between Tehran and Moscow going forward.

First, while Putin and Iran are still projecting a united front as allies of the Assad regime, Russia's Syria deployment has nevertheless created tension. Tehran is unhappy about Moscow usurping its dominant role in Damascus and the potential part it could have played with the West in delivering a peace settlement. Furthermore, Moscow's recent firing of cruise missiles into Syria from the Caspian Sea was surely unsettling to Iranian leaders.

The two countries have also disagreed on the status of bilateral arms sales. During the nuclear negotiations, Moscow froze implementation of a number of signed arms deals with Iran; now that the nuclear agreement has been finalized, Tehran wants Russia to fulfill these contracts immediately. Moscow may indeed be tempted to deliver sophisticated weapons to show Tehran the advantage of staying connected to Russia instead of warming up to rival powers. Iran is especially eager to receive the sophisticated S-300 air-defense system. Moscow has threatened to transfer this system more than once over the past decade, refraining from actual delivery after eliciting concessions from Israel and, at times, the United States. Delivering it now would be problematic for Russia -- in addition to creating additional tension with Washington and Israel, supplying the system would reportedly carry some technical difficulties.

Another point of conflict is Iran's return to full global energy trade, which threatens Russia's interests. Tehran's intention to ramp up oil exports will increase the downward pressure on oil prices, adding to Moscow's serious economic challenges. On the natural gas front, Moscow is worried that Iran's tremendous reserves may threaten its long-term supplier dominance in several markets.

Meanwhile, much to Tehran's chagrin, Russia has been expanding ties with a number of Iranian rivals in the Middle East, especially Saudi Arabia. Putin also enjoys excellent security cooperation with Israel -- in fact, Prime Minister Binyamin Netanyahu was the first foreign leader to visit Moscow after Russia's Syria deployment was made public.


In addition to regular ministerial meetings, the GECF has held two previous Gas Summits involving heads of state and other officials from member countries, which include Algeria, Egypt, Iran, Libya, Qatar, Russia, the United Arab Emirates, and Venezuela, among others. The 2013 summit was held in Moscow, with former Iranian president Mahmoud Ahmadinejad in attendance. Given the presence of numerous leaders from key Middle Eastern and Caspian states -- including the presidents of Azerbaijan and Turkmenistan, who will attend as guests for the first time in GECF history -- Monday's summit will give Putin a good platform for public diplomacy, potentially increasing his influence in the region at this crucial juncture.

The GECF was originally established to coordinate policy between gas-exporting countries, with Iran and Venezuela as the driving forces behind its formal creation in 2007. At the time, Supreme Leader Ali Khamenei promoted the idea that Tehran and Moscow should establish "an organization of gas cooperation like OPEC." Yet the GECF has failed to implement any cartel coordination in gas markets for a number of reasons.

First, the bilateral nature of gas trade within specific long-term contracts does not lend itself to coordination between producers. Second, the GECF's two founding countries are not actually gas exporters -- Venezuela is focused on the oil business, obviously, while Iran is a net gas importer, taking in a bit more from Azerbaijan and Turkmenistan than it exports to Turkey and Armenia. Furthermore, major gas producers such as the United States, Canada, and Australia are not associated with the organization, while most of its member states are constantly attempting to expand their individual gas exports and attract investments regardless of wider GECF policy. Bottom line: in an era when OPEC no longer has much influence over the global oil market, there is little basis for imagining that a "Gas OPEC" will gain sway over natural gas markets.


Putin is visiting Iran at a time when a number of moving policy pieces and regional developments will affect their relationship. Previously, when Iran was under heavy nuclear-related sanctions, the two countries fell back on a solidarity of sorts, in part because several arenas of strategic competition between them were frozen. Today, however, both parties have new options for economic and political cooperation with other partners. Russia also has strong incentive to leverage Europe and Washington's need for intelligence and security cooperation, whether in countering ISIS and other Middle Eastern terrorist groups or stabilizing Syria in order to stop the flow of refugees. Indeed, European states seem tempted to remove or reduce Ukraine-related sanctions on Russia in order to facilitate this cooperation.

If Moscow does help Europe on Syria-related issues, it may find itself at further odds with Tehran. Alternatively -- or perhaps simultaneously -- Russia may decide to finally deliver sophisticated weapons to Iran in order to remind its leaders that the partnership carries benefits currently unattainable from Europe or the United States.

To reap the benefits and avert the dangers of these developments, Washington needs to adopt a holistic approach toward Russia. American policies on Syria, Iran, and Ukraine are interconnected and cannot be compartmentalized: U.S. actions in one arena will affect Russia's actions in another. The United States and Europe need a strategy that will allow them to cooperate with Russia in Syria and other parts of the Middle East without abandoning key goals in Ukraine and the former Soviet region. Moreover, Washington should leverage its evidently renewed security cooperation with Moscow to prevent delivery of sophisticated arms to Iran.

Brenda Shaffer is an adjunct professor at the Center for Eurasian, Russian, and East European Studies at Georgetown University and a nonresident senior fellow at the Atlantic Council's Global Energy Center.