أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 2947

تعزيز التعددية السياسية في الشرق الأوسط

أبو بكر جماعي, لبنى جريبي, أسامة الصغير, و بلال وهاب

متاح أيضاً في English

26 آذار/مارس 2018


"في 14 آذار/مارس، أقام معهد واشنطن "منتدى سياسي" شاركت فيه ثلاث شخصيات من منظمات المجتمع المدني في الشرق الأوسط تقوم حالياً بزيارة الولايات المتحدة تحت رعاية "مركز هولينغز للحوار الدولي"، وهم: أبو بكر جماعي، صحفي مغربي وعميد "كلية الاعمال والعلاقات الدولية" في "جامعة IAU"، ولبنى جريبي، مؤسسة مركز البحوث "سوليدار تونس"، وأسامة الصغير، عضو في "حزب النهضة" التونسي. وقد انضم إليهم بلال وهاب، زميل "ناثان واستير ك. واغنر" في معهد واشنطن. وفيما يلي ملخص المقرر لملاحظاتهم".

أبوبكر جماعي

لا بدّ من دراسة الظروف الحالية في المغرب من منظار أحداث عام 2011. وتتمثل النظرة السائدة في أن حكومة البلاد تمكنت من الاستفادة من موجة "الربيع العربي". وبالتالي، فإن مقارنة المغرب بدول على غرار ليبيا ليست صحيحة نظراً لأنها ليست دولة فاشلة. فضلاً عن ذلك، يمكن للدول المستقرة أن تتحوّل بسرعة إلى دول غير مستقرة، كما حصل في تونس.

وتكمن الطريقة الأفضل للتمييز بين الاستقرار والركود في النظر إلى مؤشرات مثل توظيف الشباب والفقر والإنصاف. فقد تفاقم مؤشر بطالة الشباب في المغرب منذ عام 2011، حيث أظهرت أحدث الإحصاءات الحكومية بأنه يصل إلى حوالي 45 في المائة. وقد تضاءلت قدرة الدولة على توفير فرص العمل طوال عقود من الزمن، لذا أصبح توفير الوظائف أحد أدوار القطاع الخاص وذلك من خلال دعم فرص ريادة الأعمال.   

أما المؤشر الآخر الذي يحمل دلالات كثيرة فهو المشاركة السياسية. فعلى سبيل المثال، لم تتجاوز نسبة المشاركة في الانتخابات المحلية في الدار البيضاء الـ 28 في المائة.

ومن أجل تحسين هذه المؤشرات، يتعين على المغرب تطوير المؤسسات التي تحفز ريادة الأعمال، والتي يمكن أن تؤدي بدورها إلى خلق فرص عمل وتعزيز الاستقرار. وتحتاج البلاد أيضاً إلى اتخاذ قرار بشأن ما إذا كانت ستسعى إلى إبرام تفاهم دستوري بين العلمانيين والإسلاميين كبديل لحكومتها الحالية.   

وهناك بعض الأخبار الجيدة في المغرب. أولاً، كانت الاحتجاجات التي اندلعت في البلاد بعد عام 2011 غير متوقعة وسلمية على السواء. ثانياً، اتفقت أبرز حركتان إسلاميتان في البلاد، هما "حركة العدل والإحسان" و"حزب العدالة والتنمية"، على بند حرية المعتقد المنصوص عليه في الدستور.

لبنى الجريبي

خطت تونس خطوات هائلة في مسار بناء الديمقراطية. فهي تتمتع بدستور تقدمي يسلّط الضوء على حرية المعتقد وحقوق المرأة وحقوق الإنسان - وهو إنجاز كبير حققه جميع أعضاء المجتمع المدني في البلاد.   

لقد بُنيت الثورة على مبدأين أساسيين هما الكرامة والحرية. وفي حين نجحت تونس بشكل واضح في تحقيق حرية [التعبير] والحرية السياسية، إلّا أن التنمية الاجتماعية والاقتصادية لا تزال غير متوفرة. وقد استنزف بناء المؤسسات السياسية جميع الموارد اللازمة لإجراء الإصلاحات الاجتماعية والاقتصادية. وفي حين نجح التوافق من الناحية السياسية، فقد فشل في قطاعات أخرى. وبالتالي، تُعتبر الآليات الجديدة ضرورية لإصلاح الاقتصاد. ويكمن الخطر في ربط التونسيين للديمقراطية بالفقر، مما يجعلهم أقل ميلاً إلى دعم المزيد من التدابير الثورية بفعالية.  

وفي الوقت نفسه، أدّت عملية اللامركزية إلى فسح المجال أمام فرص حقيقة. فعلى سبيل المثال، يشكل الشباب نسبة 52 في المائة من المرشحين في الانتخابات المحلية المقبلة، مما يمنحهم فرصة تعلم دروس هامة حول العملية السياسية.

أسامة الصغير

تقوم تونس بعمل جيد، لكنها تواجه التحديات نفسها التي تعترض الديمقراطيات الطبيعية. فالديمقراطية ليست سهلة بالنسبة للتونسيين، فهم غير معتادين على نظام سياسي مماثل. ومع ذلك، تُعتبر تونس مثالاً أفضل على الديمقراطية في المنطقة من دول أخرى لأن الأحزاب والجماعات ذات الأغلبية البسيطة لم تهيمن على الفترة الانتقالية التي شهدتها البلاد.

ويتمثل التحدي الرئيسي الذي تواجهه تونس في تعزيز الحرية والكرامة. فالحرية تعني الحريات السياسية والمؤسسات السياسية المتطورة بشكل كبير. أما الكرامة فتنطوي على إجراء إصلاحات اجتماعية واقتصادية للشعب المهمش الذي طالب بظروف معيشية أفضل عام 2011.

وليس من السهل إجراء إصلاحات اقتصادية في ديمقراطية حديثة العهد، لأن مثل هذه التغييرات تؤثر على العديد من أصحاب المصالح. فعلى سبيل المثال، سبق أن رفضت النقابات العمالية العديد من التدابير المقترحة. وقد يستغرق تطبيق الإصلاحات أيضاً عدة سنوات بعد موافقة البرلمان عليها، مما يشكك في قدرة المؤسسات الديمقراطية الحديثة.

ومع ذلك، تُحقق بعض المؤشرات الاقتصادية في تونس تقدماً ملحوظاً بالمقارنة مع عام 2011. وتؤدي الولايات المتحدة دوراً هاماً في دعم هذا التقدم، فضلاً عن مساعدتها المستمرة في مسألة مكافحة الإرهاب.

أما على الصعيد السياسي، فقد نأى "حزب النهضة" بنفسه عن الجماعات الإسلامية السياسية الأخرى. وفي الواقع، تؤمن "حركة النهضة" بالديمقراطية التي تميّزها عن باقي الجماعات الإسلامية، إذ أن أعضاء الحزب يَعتبرون أنفسهم ديمقراطيين مسلمين.

بلال وهاب

يبدو أن الموقف الأمريكي تجاه تعزيز التعددية في الشرق الأوسط يتمثل إما بالمشاركة الكاملة أو بالانسحاب التام. وقد حققت أمريكا نجاحاً باهراً من ناحية بناء الأمم في آسيا (على سبيل المثال، اليابان وكوريا الجنوبية) وأوروبا (كخطة مارشال). واليوم، يبدو أن واشنطن على قناعة متزايدة بأن بناء الأمة لا ينجح في الشرق الأوسط، لكن كردستان العراق تشهد على أن الحجة المضادة ناجحة.

لقد دعمت الولايات المتحدة الأكراد عندما انتفضوا ضد صدام حسين في أوائل التسعينيات، فأقامت ملاذاً آمناً لحمايتهم من الجيش العراقي. وبعد ذلك، أجرى الأكراد انتخابات لتشكيل حكومة لا تزال قائمة حتى اليوم، بإدخالهم سياسة تنافسية في شمال العراق.

وعندما اندلعت الحرب الأهلية في «كردستان العراق»، لم تتخلّ أمريكا عن الزعماء المحليين. وعوضاً عن ذلك، أتت بهم إلى واشنطن للحرص على بقاء هذا النموذج من بناء الدولة قائماً. علاوةً على ذلك، عندما هاجمت الحكومة العراقية الملاذ الآمن الذي فرضته الأمم المتحدة عام 1996، ردّت إدارة كلينتون عبر إطلاق صواريخ موجهة على بغداد. ومرةً أخرى ساعدت الولايات المتحدة الأكراد العراقيين عندما تعرضوا لهجوم تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» في عام 2014.

ويُعتبر ذلك مثالاً على أن استثماراً صغيراً بل ثابتاً في المنطقة قد يولد شريكاً موثوقاً للولايات المتحدة، وفي الوقت نفسه يعود بالفائدة على السكان المحليين. وقد تقبّل أكراد العراق التعددية السياسية بفضل التزام الولايات المتحدة، ولا يزالون يأملون بأن يؤدي هذا النموذج إلى منطقة أكثر تطوراً.

إن العقد الاجتماعي في الشرق الأوسط غالباً ما يجبر المواطنين على قبول مقايضات كبرى. فأحياناً يُطلب منهم الاختيار بين الحرية من جهة، والاستقرار والأمن والتنمية الاقتصادية من جهة أخرى. وفي أحيان أخرى، يَختبرون مشهداً سياسياً تهيمن عليه أحزاب دينية حصرية. لكن خلال الانتخابات العراقية المقبلة في أيار/مايو، غيّرت الأحزاب مسارها إلى حدّ كبير، لأن الشعارات الدينية لم تعد مناسبة لشعب يركّز على المطالبة بالتنمية والإصلاحات الاقتصادية.

 

أعد هذا الملخص ياسر زيدان.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 2947

Promoting Political Pluralism in the Middle East

Aboubakr Jamai, Lobna Jeribi, Oussama Sghaier, and Bilal Wahab

Also available in العربية

March 26, 2018


Civil society figures and experts discuss how reform efforts have fared in Morocco, Tunisia, and Iraq, focusing on socioeconomic metrics that are still lagging behind political progress.

On March 14, The Washington Institute held a Policy Forum with three regional civil society figures visiting the country under the auspices of the Hollings Center for International Dialogue: Aboubakr Jamai, a Moroccan journalist and dean at IAU College; Lobna Jeribi, founder of the think tank Solidar Tunisia; and Oussama Sghaier, a member of Tunisia's Ennahda Party. They were joined by Bilal Wahab, the Institute's Wagner Fellow. The following is a rapporteur's summary of their remarks.

ABOUBAKR JAMAI

Morocco's current circumstances should be studied through the lens of 2011. The prevailing view is that the country's government has been able to ride the wave of the Arab Spring. Comparing Morocco to states like Libya is not valid because it is not a failed state; moreover, stable states can change to unstable states very quickly, as seen in Tunisia.

The best way to differentiate between stability and stagnation is to look at metrics such as youth employment, poverty, and equity. Morocco's youth unemployment index has worsened since 2011, with the most recent government statistics putting it around 45 percent. For decades, the state's ability to provide employment has been diminished, so it is the private sector's role to provide jobs by supporting entrepreneurship and business opportunities.

Another telling metric is political participation. For example, the participation rate in Casablanca's local elections was only 28 percent.

To improve these metrics, Morocco should develop institutions that incentivize entrepreneurship, which could in turn create jobs and foster stability. The country also needs to decide whether it will seek a constitutional understanding between secularists and Islamists as an alternative to its current government.

There is some good news in Morocco. First, the protests held there after 2011 were both unexpected and peaceful. Second, the country's two most important Islamic movements, al-Adl wal-Ihsan and the Justice and Development Party, both agreed on the constitution's freedom of conscience clause.

LOBNA JERIBI

Tunisia has made huge steps in building democracy. It has a progressive constitution that highlights freedom of conscience, women's rights, and human rights—a major accomplishment achieved by all of the country's civil society members.

The revolution was built on two main principles: dignity and freedom. While Tunisia was evidently successful in achieving freedom and political liberty, socioeconomic development is still lacking. Building political institutions has consumed all the resources needed for socioeconomic reforms; while consensus has worked on the political side, it has failed in other sectors. Therefore, new mechanisms are needed to reform the economy. The danger is that Tunisians will associate democracy with poverty, making them less inclined to actively support further revolutionary measures.

At the same time, the decentralization process has opened up real opportunities. For instance, 52 percent of the candidates in the next local elections are young people, giving them a chance to learn important lessons about the political process.

OUSSAMA SGHAIER

Tunisia is doing a good job, but it faces the same challenges that normal democracies face. Democracy is not easy for Tunisians; they are not used to such a political system. Yet Tunisia is a better example of regional democracy than other states because its transition period was not dominated by simple majority parties and groups.

The country's main challenge is to foster freedom and dignity. Freedom implies political liberties and well-developed political institutions. Dignity implies socioeconomic reforms for the marginalized people who demanded better living conditions in 2011.

It is not easy to make economic reforms in a newborn democracy because such changes affect many stakeholders; for instance, labor unions have already rejected several proposed measures. Reforms might also take years to be implemented after parliamentary approval, putting the capacity of new democratic institutions under question.

Even so, some of Tunisia's economic metrics are making good progress compared to 2011. The United States has an important role to play in supporting this progress, in addition to its ongoing counterterrorism assistance.

On the political front, the Ennahda Party has dissociated itself from other political Islamic groups. In fact, Ennahda believes in democracy that makes it stand apart from other Islamist groups; party members consider themselves Muslim democrats.

BILAL WAHAB

The U.S. attitude toward promoting pluralism in the Middle East seems to be either full engagement or full disengagement. America has been very good at nation-building in Asia (e.g., Japan and South Korea) and Europe (e.g., the Marshall Plan). Today, Washington seems increasingly convinced that nation-building does not work in the Middle East, but Iraqi Kurdistan stands as a successful counterargument.

The United States supported the Kurds when they rose up against Saddam Hussein in the early 1990s, creating a safe haven to protect them from the Iraqi army. The Kurds then held elections to form a government that still exists today, introducing competitive politics in northern Iraq.

When civil war broke out in Iraqi Kurdistan, America did not abandon local leaders, but instead brought them to Washington to make sure that this model of nation-building would survive. Moreover, when the Iraqi government attacked the UN-imposed safe haven in 1996, the Clinton administration retaliated by firing cruise missiles at Baghdad. The United States once again helped Iraqi Kurds when they were attacked by the Islamic State in 2014.

This is an example of how a small but steadfast investment in the region can yield a reliable U.S. partner, while at the same time benefiting the local population. Iraqi Kurds have embraced political pluralism because of the U.S. commitment, and they still hope that this model will result in a more developed region.

Too often in the Middle East, the social contract forces citizens to accept major tradeoffs. Sometimes they are asked to choose between liberty on the one hand, or stability, security, and economic development on the other. At other times they see a political landscape dominated by exclusive religious parties. For Iraq's upcoming elections in May, however, parties have largely changed their discourse, since religious banners are no longer relevant to a population focused on demanding economic development and reforms.

This summary was prepared by Yasir Zaidan.