أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 2779

الرئيس ترامب يناقش مع الرئيس المصري السيسي موضوع الإرهاب

ديفيد شينكر

متاح أيضاً في English

30 آذار/مارس 2017


مرّت سبع سنوات على آخر زيارة قام بها رئيس مصري للبيت الأبيض، إلا أن اللقاء المرتقب في المكتب البيضاوي في البيت الأبيض للرئيسين ترامب وعبد الفتاح السيسي في 3 نيسان/أبريل يبشّر باستقبال حارّ في ربوع الوطن الأمريكي. وعلى الرغم من أن هذين الرئيسين اجتمعا سابقاً مرة واحدة فقط، قبل الانتخابات الأمريكية على هامش اجتماعات الجمعية العامة للامم المتحدة في العام الماضىي، إلا أنهما أقاما علاقات جيدة وفقاً لجميع الروايات. وفي ذلك الوقت، وصف الرئيس الأمريكي دونالد ترامب الرئيس السيسي بأنه "رجل رائع"، في حين لم يتوقف الرئيس المصري عبد الفتاح السيسي منذ ذلك الحين عن الإشادة "بمدى عمق تفهّم" نظيره للتطورات الجارية في الشرق الأوسط ومصر. ويبدو أن علاقتهما، تقوم إلى حد كبير، على مكافحة الإرهاب، وهي أولوية سياسية كان قد وضّحها كلا الزعيمين بشكل متكرر ومن المرجح أن تكون محور اجتماعهما يوم الاثنين. ونظراً إلى قضايا الإرهاب المستمرة في مصر، هناك الكثير الذي يجدر بالطرفين مناقشته في هذا الصدد.

مأزق سيناء

في عام 2016، أشاد ترامب بالسياسة التي ينتهجها السيسي لمكافحة الإرهاب، وأشار إلى أن "نهجه المتشدد" قد أخرج الإرهابيين [من مصر]. وقد دمّرت القاهرة بشكل منهجي البنية التحتية الاجتماعية والسياسية لجماعة «الإخوان المسلمين»، التي لا تزال صلاتها المزعومة بالإرهاب غير مؤكدة. إلا أن مصر لا زالت تواجه تحدياً إرهابياً فتاكاً، لاسيما في شبه جزيرة سيناء، حيث يشن ما يقدر بنحو 600 مقاتل من تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» حرباً على الدولة.

وبالفعل، لا يبدو أن الحملة التي تشنّها القاهرة ضد تنظيم «داعش » تسير على ما يرام. ففي وقت سابق من هذا الأسبوع، فيما أصبح حدثاً معتاداً، قُتل إثنا عشر ضابطاً في هجوم شنّه تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» في "شمال سيناء". ويبلغ معدل الضحايا ما يقرب من أربعة عشرين جندياً ورجل شرطة شهرياً في شبه الجزيرة، وهي خسائر مروّعة استمرت لسنوات. وتحظر مصر على الصحفيين دخول سيناء، ولكن الأخبار القاتمة لا تزال تتسرب منها. فعلى سبيل المثال، تنتشر الشائعات حول وقوع أضرار جانبية واسعة النطاق ناجمة عن الجيش. وفي أواخر شباط/فبراير، ظهرت تقارير مفادها أن المسيحيين الأقباط فروا من العريش، التي تعتبر أكبر مدينة في شمال سيناء، بعد أن ارتكب تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» عدة فظائع ضد أفراد هذا المجتمع. وفي هذا الشهر، بدا أن الصور التي انتشرت على مواقع إلكترونية جهادية تؤكد أن تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» يسيطر على نقاط التفتيش الأمنية في المدينة ويضبط الأمن الأخلاقي في الشوارع. وفي حين ينحصر التمرد أساساً في شمال شرق سيناء، إلّا أن الوضع الأمني هشّ جداً إلى درجة أن إسرائيل حثّت مواطنيها - الذين يسافر الآلاف منهم إلى جنوب سيناء لقضاء عطلة عيد الفصح الطويلة - على مغادرة شبه الجزيرة.

وقد جاءت النجاحات الأخيرة للتنظيم في شبه الجزيرة في أعقاب سلسلة طويلة من الهجمات الملفتة للأنظار. ففي عام 2014، وهي السنة التي تعهد فيها المتمردون في سيناء بالولاء لتنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية»، أسقط التنظيم مروحية نقل مصرية من طراز "مي-17" فوق شبه الجزيرة، بصاروخ أرض-جو وفقاً لبعض التقارير، مما أسفر عن مقتل خمسة أشخاص. وفي عام 2015، دمّر التنظيم دبابة قتالية من نوع "إم 60"، ثم أغرق سفينة حراسة مصرية قبالة ساحل العريش، باستخدامه في كلتا الحالتين صواريخ مضادة للدبابات روسية الصنع من طراز "كورنيت". وفي العام نفسه، تبنّى تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» مسؤولية تفجير طائرة ركاب روسية، الأمر الذي أسفر عن مقتل 224 مدنياً كانوا عائدين من إجازة في شرم الشيخ. وكان لذلك الهجوم تأثيراً عميقاً على السياحة والعمالة في جنوب سيناء، وهي منطقة كانت معزولة في السابق عن الآثار الاقتصادية للإرهاب في الشمال. وقد أظهرت هذه العمليات مجتمعة القدرات الفتاكة المتزايدة للتنظيم، والتي تعززها الأسلحة المتطورة التي يتم إمدادها عن طريق غزة، وفقاً المخابرات المصرية.

وفي عام 2016، أدّى تدهور الوضع الأمني إلى إقناع إدارة أوباما بإجراء بعض التعديلات على مواقع نشر «القوة المتعددة الجنسيات والمراقبين» في سيناء. وتقوم هذه «القوة» بمراقبة تطبيق الأحكام الأمنية لمعاهدة السلام الإسرائيلية -المصرية منذ عام 1982، مع ما يقرب من 1,700  جندي - من بينهم 700 أمريكي - موزعين بين "المعسكر الشمالي" (بالقرب من رفح) و"المعسكر الجنوبي" (خارج شرم الشيخ مباشرة). وبما أن القاهرة لم تكن قادرة على توفير الحماية الكافية للقوة، فقد تم نقل معظم أفراد «القوة المتعددة الجنسيات والمراقبين» إلى "المعسكر الجنوبي"، ويجري الآن تنفيذ أنشطة المراقبة في "شمال سيناء" من خلال المراقبة السلبية والروتينية لطائرات "بلاك هوك" التي تجوب الأجواء بصورة اعتيادية. وتسمح هذه الطائرات المروحية لـ «القوة المتعددة الجنسيات والمراقبين» بتجنب أكثر وسائل تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» فتكاً، والأجهزة المتفجرة المرتجلة التي ظهرت كتهديد رئيسي لقوات مكافحة التمرد المصرية. كما قامت الجماعة باستخدام المزيد من الشظايا المخترقة الذاتية التكوين (العبوات الخارقة للدروع) ضد الدروع المصرية.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك، لا يزال تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» ملتزماً بتوسيع المعركة خارج سيناء. وفي حين تَحسّن الوضع الأمني ​​غرب قناة السويس بشكل كبير على مدى العامين الماضيين، إلا أن التهديد ما زال مستمراً. وفي كانون الأول/ ديسمبر، شن انتحاري هجوماً على كنيسة في القاهرة، مما أسفر عن مقتل أربعة وعشرين شخصاً. وفي وقت سابق من هذا الأسبوع، أدى زرع قنبلة [عبوة ناسفة] في ضاحية المعادي الراقية في القاهرة عن مقتل شخصاً واحداً وإصابة ثلاثة آخرين بجراح. ومما يبعث على القلق أيضاً أن السلطات المصرية اكتشفت صاروخ أرض-جو من طراز "إس أي 7" - قادراً على إسقاط طائرة تجارية بالقرب من مطار القاهرة في كانون الثاني/ يناير.

التعاون مع الولايات المتحدة وإسرائيل

في خضم الدمار، كانت إحدى الأخبار الجيدة القليلة من سيناء هي التعاون الاستراتيجي الإسرائيلي -المصري المعزز الذي يجري هناك. ففي ما يقارب من عشرين مرة منذ عام 2013، وافقت إسرائيل على طلبات القاهرة بنشر معدات وأفراد إضافيين فيما يتجاوز أحكام الملحق الأمني ​​لمعاهدة السلام. وعلاوة على ذلك، يصف مسؤولون من البلدين تبادل المعلومات الإستخباراتية الجارية بينهما حول تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» بأنه قوي وغير مسبوق. وعلى هذا المنوال، تقوم إسرائيل الآن بتحليق طائرات مسلحة بدون طيار وطائرات مقاتلة مأهولة في المجال الجوي المصري بإذن من القاهرة، تستهدف إرهابيي تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» كما تشاء.

إلا أن التوصل إلى تعاون مصري مع واشنطن حول سيناء قد تباطأ كثيراً. فلم تفلح الحكومة الأمريكية لسنوات في إجبار مصر على تبني نهجاً حديثاً لمكافحة التمرد في شبه الجزيرة، بما في ذلك الجوانب الحركية والاقتصادية. ولطالما قاومت القاهرة، حتى فترة قريبة، العروض الأمريكية للمساعدة التقنية والتكتيكية. إلا أن مصر نالت مؤخراً ما طلبته من مساعدة تتمثّل بالكشف عن العبوات الناسفة والتخلص من الذخائر المتفجرة. ومن أجل الحماية بشكل أفضل من العبوات الخارقة للدروع، تقوم واشنطن بتزويد مصر بسبعمائة واثنين وستين مركبة مدرّعة مضادة للكمائن والألغام كوسائل دفاعية إضافية، وذلك كهدية لمصر دون أي تكلفة. ووصلت أولى هذه المركبات إلى مصر في أيار/مايو 2016.

التحدث مع السيسي حول الإرهاب

يعتبر الرئيس السيسي أن لقاء البيت الأبيض يشكّل فرصة لتسليط الضوء على تحسّن العلاقات المصرية مع واشنطن، وربما طلب تمويل عسكري إضافي يتجاوز التمويل العسكري الأجنبي السنوي التي تحصل عليه مصر والذي يبلغ حالياً  ١٬٣ مليار دولار. وعلى أقل تقدير، سوف يَطلب السيسي من الرئيس ترامب أن يصادق مجدداً على قرار تمويل مصر عبر التدفقات النقدية، وهو بند استثنائي يمكّن القاهرة من إبرام صفقات ضخمة لشراء أنظمة أسلحة قديمة، وذلك أساساً باستخدام التزامات المساعدات المالية الأمريكية قبل عقد من استحقاقها، وهي بمثابة سلفة يتعين على مصر تسديدها لاحقاً. وكانت إدارة أوباما قد ألغت هذه الإكرامية في عام 2015 بعد الانقلاب العسكري الذي أدى إلى الإطاحة بالرئيس محمد مرسي من جماعة «الإخوان المسلمين» من منصبه. ومع ذلك، تبدو إدارة ترامب أقل قلقاً بشأن الآثار المترتبة على التنمية الديمقراطية في مصر، لذلك قد تكون متعاطفة مع استئناف تمويل التدفقات النقدية (على الرغم من أن المزيد من التمويل العسكري الأجنبي يبدو مستبعداً نظراً للرغبة المعلنة للإدارة الأمريكية في خفض ميزانية وزارة الخارجية).

وقد يكون هناك طريق أكثر أهمية للنقاش يتمثل في النكسات التي تعرضت لها الحملة المصرية لمكافحة الإرهاب في سيناء. فبعد سنوات من خوض الجيش المصري المعركة الدائرة في مصر، وفي ظل التقدم الضئيل الذي يحققه في ساحة المعركة، لا يزال من غير الواضح ما إذا كان ضعف أدائه ينمّ عن نقص في الإرادة أو المقدرة. وعلى الرغم من التدريب الواسع الذي تقدمه/توفّره الولايات المتحدة والتعاون الثنائي الوثيق على نحو متزايد مع إسرائيل، يمكن القول بأن التمرد هو أكبر [حجماً] وأكثر فتكاً مما كان عليه قبل عامين.

وفي أعقاب محادثة هاتفية جرت بين ترامب والسيسي في كانون الثاني/يناير أعلن المتحدث باسم البيت الأبيض شون سبايسر أن الإدارة الأمريكية ملتزمة بمواصلة المعونة العسكرية وضمان أن المساعدات الأمريكية "تدعم بفعالية الحرب التي يشنها الجيش المصري ضد الإرهاب". ولكن قد لا تكون القاهرة ملتزمة بما فيه الكفاية لاستخدام هذه المساعدة لشراء ما يلزمها لمكافحة الإرهاب. بمعنى، أن الجيش المصري لا يزال يفضّل أن ينفق ما يحصل عليه من التمويل العسكري الأجنبي لشراء الدبابات وقاذفات "إف-16" والصواريخ بدلاً من المعدات الأكثر ملاءمة لعمليات مكافحة التمرد ووضع حد للعمليات الأمنية الحدودية. ولعل الأمر الأكثر مدعاة للقلق هو أن قسماً هائلاً من النفقات العسكرية التقديرية للقاهرة، أي ما تقوم بشرائه من صناديقها الوطنية، قد ركّز على المعدات الأوروبية المخصصة للحرب التقليدية ضد عدو مجهول الهوية. وتشمل هذه المشتريات الرئيسية على نحو غير مفهوم أربع غواصات ألمانية، و 24 طائرة مقاتلة فرنسية من نوع "رافال"، وسفينة هجوم برمائية فرنسية من طراز "ميسترال".

من جانبها، تركز إدارة ترامب على هزيمة تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية»، كما أن جهودها لفتح صفحة جديدة مع القاهرة سوف تتأثر بهذا الهدف. ومع ذلك، ففي الوقت الذي تستطيع فيه واشنطن أن تفعل الكثير لمساعدة مصر على انسحاب تنظيم «داعش» من سيناء، فإن السؤال الحقيقي هو ما الذي ستفعله القاهرة لمحاربة التنظيم. يتعين على الجيش المصري، الذي تبلغ ميزانيته السنوية أكثر من 8 مليارات دولار وما يقرب من 440,000  رجل مسلح، أن يكون قادراً على ممارسة حقوق السيادة على أراضيه، وخاصة إذا ما نفذ استراتيجية حديثة لمكافحة التمرد بدعم من الولايات المتحدة وإسرائيل. ولمساعدة واشنطن في الحرب ضد تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية»، يجب على مصر أن تساعد نفسها أولاً.

 

ديفيد شينكر هو زميل "أوفزين" ومدير برنامج السياسة العربية في معهد واشنطن.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 2779

President Trump Talks Terror with Egypt's Sisi

David Schenker

Also available in العربية

March 30, 2017


To help Washington in the war against the Islamic State, Cairo must first help itself, in part by adopting a modern COIN approach in Sinai and refocusing its military spending toward that end.

Seven years have passed since an Egyptian head of state visited the White House, but the April 3 Oval Office meeting between Presidents Trump and Abdul Fattah al-Sisi promises to be a warm homecoming. Although the two leaders have met only once previously -- prior to the U.S. elections on the sidelines of last year's UN General Assembly -- they have by all accounts established a good rapport. At the time, Trump described Sisi as "a fantastic guy," while Sisi has since praised his counterpart's "deep and great understanding" of developments in the Middle East and Egypt. To a large degree, their bond appears to be based on counterterrorism, a policy priority that both leaders have articulated frequently and that will likely be the focus of Monday's meeting. Given Egypt's ongoing terrorism issues, there is lots to discuss on that front.

SINAI QUAGMIRE

In 2016, Trump commended Sisi's counterterrorism policy, stating that his "tough approach" had "gotten the terrorists out [of Egypt]." Cairo has systematically decimated the social and political infrastructure of the Muslim Brotherhood, whose alleged links to terrorism remain unproven. But Egypt continues to face a pernicious terrorism challenge, especially in the Sinai Peninsula, where an estimated 600 Islamic State fighters are waging war against the state.

Indeed, Cairo's campaign against IS does not appear to be going well. Earlier this week, in what has become a routine occurrence, twelve security officers were reportedly killed in an IS attack in North Sinai. On average, nearly two dozen soldiers and policemen are being killed per month in the peninsula, a gruesome toll that has persisted for years. Egypt prohibits journalists from entering Sinai, but grim news continues to trickle out. Rumors of extensive collateral damage caused by the army, for example, are pervasive. In late February, reports emerged that Coptic Christians had fled al-Arish, the largest city in North Sinai, after IS perpetrated several atrocities against members of the community. This month, photographs published on jihadi websites appeared to confirm that IS was manning security checkpoints in the city and policing morality on the streets. While the insurgency is primarily located in northeast Sinai, the security situation is so tenuous that Israel has urged its citizens -- thousands of whom travel to south Sinai for the long Passover holiday -- to leave the peninsula.

The group's recent successes there follow a long pattern of high-profile attacks. In 2014, the year that Sinai insurgents pledged allegiance to IS, the group downed an Egyptian Mi-17 transport helicopter over the peninsula, reportedly with a surface-to-air missile, killing five. In 2015, it destroyed an M60 battle tank, then sunk an Egyptian patrol boat off the coast of al-Arish, in both cases using Russian-made Kornet antitank missiles. The same year, IS took responsibility for bombing a Russian passenger jet, killing 224 civilians returning from vacation in Sharm al-Sheikh. That attack had a profound impact on tourism and employment in south Sinai, an area that had previously been insulated from the economic consequences of terrorism in the north. Taken together, these operations showcased the group's increasingly lethal capabilities, which have been bolstered by advanced armaments supplied via Gaza, according to Egyptian intelligence.

In 2016, the deterioration in security persuaded the Obama administration to reconfigure the deployment of the Multinational Force & Observers mission in Sinai. The MFO had been monitoring the security provisions of the Israeli-Egyptian peace treaty since 1982, with approximately 1,700 troops -- including 700 Americans -- disbursed between North Camp (located near Rafah) and South Camp (just outside Sharm al-Sheikh). Because Cairo was unable to provide adequate force protection, most of the MFO has been relocated to South Camp, and observation activities in North Sinai are now being carried out via passive monitoring and routine U.S. Black Hawk flyovers. These helicopters allow the MFO to avoid the most lethal IS tool, improvised explosive devices, which have emerged as a leading threat to Egyptian counterinsurgency forces. The group has also been making greater use of explosively formed penetrators (EFPs) against Egyptian armor.

In addition, IS still appears committed to expanding the fight beyond Sinai. While the security situation west of the Suez Canal has improved dramatically over the past two years, the threat persists. In December, a suicide bomber attacked a Cairo church, killing twenty-four. And earlier this week, a bomb in the upscale Cairo suburb of Maadi killed one person and injured three others. Equally troubling, authorities discovered an SA-7 surface-to-air missile -- capable of bringing down a commercial jetliner -- near Cairo airport in January.

COOPERATION WITH THE UNITED STATES AND ISRAEL

Amid the destruction, one of the few good news stories from Sinai has been the enhanced Israeli-Egyptian strategic cooperation taking place there. On nearly two dozen occasions since 2013, Israel has approved Cairo's requests to deploy additional equipment and personnel beyond the provisions of the peace treaty's security annex. Moreover, officials from both countries describe their ongoing intelligence sharing on IS as robust and unprecedented. Along these lines, Israel is now flying armed drones and manned fighter aircraft in Egyptian airspace with Cairo's permission, targeting IS terrorists at will.

Cooperation with Washington on Sinai has been slower in coming. For years, the U.S. government has unsuccessfully pressed Egypt to adopt a modern counterinsurgency approach in the peninsula, including both kinetic and economic aspects. Until recently, Cairo resisted U.S. offers of technical and tactical assistance. Lately, however, Egypt has requested and received assistance with IED detection and explosive ordnance disposal. And to better protect against deadly EFPs in Sinai, Washington has been providing 762 mine-resistant ambush-protected vehicles (MRAPs) as excess defense articles, gifted to Egypt at no cost. The first of these vehicles arrived in May 2016.

TALKING TERROR WITH SISI

For President Sisi, the White House meeting is an opportunity to highlight Egypt's improving relations with Washington, and perhaps to request additional military funding beyond its current $1.3 billion in annual foreign military financing (FMF). At minimum, he will ask President Trump to reinstate cash flow financing, a special provision that enables Cairo to make large-scale purchases of legacy weapons systems, essentially using U.S. financial assistance commitments a decade in advance as credit. The Obama administration canceled this perquisite in 2015 after the military coup that removed Muslim Brother president Mohamed Morsi from office. Yet the Trump administration seems less concerned about the implications for democratic development in Egypt, so it may be sympathetic to resuming cash flow financing (though more FMF appears unlikely given the administration's stated desire to reduce the State Department budget).

A more important avenue of discussion may be the setbacks to Egypt's counterterrorism campaign in Sinai. Years into the fight, and with little progress to show, it remains unclear whether the Egyptian military's underperformance is a problem of will or capability. Despite ample U.S. training/provisioning and increasingly close bilateral cooperation with Israel, the insurgency is arguably larger and more lethal than it was two years ago.

Following a January phone conversation between Trump and Sisi, White House spokesman Sean Spicer announced that the administration was committed to continuing Egypt's military aid and ensuring that U.S. assistance "effectively supports the military fight against terrorism." Yet Cairo may not be sufficiently committed to using this assistance for counterterrorism-related procurements. To wit, the Egyptian military continues to favor purchasing tanks, F-16s, and missiles with its FMF instead of equipment better suited for counterinsurgency and border-security operations. More troubling, the bulk of Cairo's discretionary military expenditures -- i.e., purchases using its own national funds -- have focused on European equipment intended for conventional warfare against an unidentified enemy. These major purchases inexplicably include four German submarines, twenty-four French Rafale fighter jets, and two French Mistral-class amphibious assault ships.

For its part, the Trump administration is focused on defeating IS, and its efforts to turn a new page with Cairo will be influenced by that goal. Yet while there is much Washington can do to help Egypt roll IS back in Sinai, the real question is what Cairo will do to fight the group. With an annual budget of more than $8 billion and nearly 440,000 men under arms, the Egyptian military should be able to establish sovereignty over its territory, especially if it implements a modern counterinsurgency strategy backed by the United States and Israel. To help Washington in the war against IS, Egypt must first help itself.

David Schenker is the Aufzien Fellow and director of the Program on Arab Politics at The Washington Institute.