أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

صفحات رأي ومقالات

إلى الرئيس ترامب: عليك إدانة هذه الانتخابات المصرية المزيفة

هيثم حسنين

متاح أيضاً في English

"نيويورك ديلي نيوز"

5 شباط/فبراير 2018


بعد مرور أربع سنوات على الانقلاب الدموي الذي أنهى انتقال مصر الصعب إلى الديمقراطية، تتجه الدولة العربية الأكثر اكتظاظاً بالسكان إلى الانتخابات الرئاسية الرابعة. على إدارة ترامب تسمية هذه الممارسة بما هي عليه حقاً: انتخابات مزيفة ومشينة، نتيجة محاولة قذرة لترهيب وإثباط عزيمة كل معارض محتمل لكي يا يتحدّى الرئيس الحالي عبد الفتاح السيسي.

وقد بدأت الحملة الانتخابية في تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر الماضي عندما عقد المحامي خالد علي مؤتمراً صحفياً أعلن فيه ترشحه. وأعقبه أحمد شفيق، أحد كبار القادة السابقين في سلاح الجو، ثم الفريق سامي عنان الذي أعلن ترشحه في أواخر الشهر الماضي. ولكن بحلول نهاية عملية التسجيل، تمّ إقصاء كافة أولئك المرشحين الجادين. بيد، برز مرشح صوري واحد فجأة: موسى مصطفى موسى، مهندس معماري ورئيس حزب "الغد". ومن غير المستغرب أن تكون في صفحته على موقع "فيسبوك" تعليقات وصور تدعم السيسي إلى أن سجل إسمه كمرشح قبل 15 دقيقة من الموعد النهائي.

ومعنى ذلك: إنه خصم وهمي، وليس حقيقي. إذاً كيف تمّ إخراج المرشحين الآخرين من السباق الرئاسي؟

أولاً، قام السيسي بإسكات شفيق. فبعد فترة وجيزة من إعلان نيته الترشح للانتخابات، جرى احتجازه قسراً في فندق من فئة الخمس نجوم لمدة أسبوعين إلى أن عدل عن قراره - وأصدر بياناً يمدح فيه العمل الرائع الذي قام به الديكتاتور المصري لبلاده. وبعد ذلك، حان دور عنان، حيث تم اعتقاله في سجن عسكري بتهم مشبوهة وملفقة فور إعلانه عن اعتزامه الترشح للانتخابات. وبعد ذلك، امتدت قبضة السيسي الصارمة إلى ابن شقيق الرئيس المصري السابق أنور السادات، وقد خضع لضغوط لعدم الترشح ولم يتمكن حتى من حجز قاعة في الفنادق لعقد مؤتمر صحفي يعلن فيه عن نيته في الترشح.

وأخيراً، اضطر الناشط اليساري منذ فترة طويلة والمحامي علي إلى الانسحاب بعد تعرضه لمضايقات مستمرة من قوات الأمن وأتباعها من المدنيين. وواجه دعوى قانونية سخيفة كادت أن تزج به في السجن بسبب حركة يد غير لائقة، فقرر في نهاية المطاف التخلي عن محاولته والانسحاب بعد أن قرأ الكتابة على الحائط، حيث رأى ما فعله النظام بالجنرالات العسكريين السابقين.

وينبع انعدام ثقة السيسي في إجراء انتخابات حرة ونزيهة من مخاوفه من سعي الشعب المصري إلى فصل جديد مع مرشح مختلف بعد أن تحمل وزر القرارات الاقتصادية الصعبة وضيق مساحة الحرية السياسية. ومن شأن إجراء انتخابات تنافسية حقيقية ضد جنرالات سابقين أو مرشح مدني جدير بالثقة أن يكشف هشاشة نظام السيسي وافتقاره إلى المهارات السياسية السليمة. فقلقه الأكبر واضح، ألا وهو التفاف المعارضة السياسية حول برنامج ومرشح قادرين على الاستمرار. وبالتالي، اعتقل خصومه الأقوياء سعياً منه لتحقيق فوز ساحق من شأنه أن يُمكّنه من تعديل الدستور للترشح لولاية ثالثة والبقاء في السلطة مدى الحياة.

وتثبت الأحداث التي شهدها الأسبوعان الأخيران أن الديكتاتور المصري لم يؤمن أبداً بالانتقال السلمي للسلطة ولا يعتزم التخلي عن الحكم فور انتهاء ولايته الثانية في عام 2022. وتهدد هذه التطورات مستقبل البلاد، وتثبت أن السيسي يسير نحو نقطة اللاعودة. وبالفعل، أن هذا النهج الديكتاتوري سيدفع بمصر إلى وضع كارثي سيجعل الفوضى التي أعقبت انتفاضة عام 2011 تبدو جيدة بالمقارنة مع المقاربة الحالية.

وقد أكّد السيسي مراراً وتكراراً استعداده لقمع أي معارضة لحكمه ولقبضة الجيش على السلطة بغض النظر عن أهدافها أو سلميتها. وقد يكون سيناريو أشبه بما يحصل في سوريا بانتظار مصر إذا خرجت الأحداث عن السيطرة بسبب غياب الحريات السياسية والقمع الشديد الذي يخضع له الشعب المصري في عهد السيسي.

ومن جانبه، أقام الرئيس ترامب علاقةً شخصية مع نظيره المصري. فقد أشاد بالرئيس المصري لأنه يقوم بـ "عمل مذهل في ظل ظروف صعبة". ولربما بإمكانه الاستفادة من هذه العلاقة لنقل المخاوف الأمريكية الأكبر إلى السيسي بالنسبة لمستقبل الاستقرار في مصر. ففشل دولة تضم 100 مليون نسمة يُعتبر كارثةً بإمكان المنطقة تجنبها - ولكن فقط إذا بدأت الولايات المتحدة بتسجيل اعتراضات قوية على سياسات السيسي الديكتاتورية. وفي غضون ذلك، لا يجدر بأي شخص في البيت الأبيض أو الكونغرس الأمريكي أخذ هذه الانتخابات على محمل الجدّ.

 

هيثم حسنين هو زميل "غليزر" في معهد واشنطن.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

Articles & Op-Eds

President Trump, Condemn This Sham Egyptian Election

Haisam Hassanein

Also available in العربية

New York Daily News

February 5, 2018


In banishing any credible opponents, Sisi has shown his true intentions—and imperiled the future stability of his country.

Four years after a bloody coup ended Egypt's difficult transition to democracy, the most populous country in the Arab world is heading toward its fourth presidential vote. The Trump administration should call this exercise what it is: a sham and disgraceful election, the result of a dirty attempt to intimidate and discourage each and every would-be opponent from challenging incumbent President Abdel-Fattah el-Sisi.

The campaign began last November when Khaled Ali, a lawyer, held a press conference announcing his candidacy. He was followed by Ahmed Shafik, former senior commander in the air force. Lieutenant General Sami Anan followed by announcing his candidacy late last month. But by the end of the registration process, all those serious candidates had been purged. Only one pseudo candidate came out of the blue: Moussa Mustafa Moussa, an architect and head of the al-Ghad Party. Unsurprisingly, his Facebook profile had statements and pictures endorsing Sisi until he registered his name 15 minutes before the deadline.

Translation: he is a fake opponent, not a real one. So how did the other candidates get forced out of the race?

Sisi first silenced Shafik. Not long after he announced his intention to run for election, he was held against his will at a five-star hotel for two weeks until he reversed his decision to run—and issued a statement praising the Egyptian dictator's magnificent work for the country. Next up: Anan. He was thrown in a military prison under suspicious and trumped-up charges once he announced his intention to run for election. After that, Sisi's brutal grip extended to the nephew of former Egyptian President Anwar Sadat. He was pressured not to run and could not even book a ballroom at hotels to hold a press conference to announce his intention to run.

Finally, longtime leftist activist and lawyer Ali had to withdraw after enduring continuous harassment from the security forces and their civilian lackeys. He faced an idiotic lawsuit that could have put him in prison for an indecent hand gesture, then eventually gave up and withdrew after witnessing the writing on the wall, noting what the regime had done to the ex-military generals.

Sisi's lack of confidence in fair and free elections stems from his worries that the Egyptian people seek a new chapter with a different candidate after enduring harsh economic decisions and a scarcity of political freedom. A real competitive election against ex-military generals or a credible civilian candidate would expose the frailty of Sisi's regime and his lack of sound political skills. His biggest worry is obvious: the coalescence of the political opposition around a viable platform and candidate. Therefore, he arrested his strong opponents, seeking a landslide victory that would enable him to amend the Constitution to run for a third term and stay in power for life.

The events of the last two weeks prove that the Egyptian dictator never believed in the peaceful transition of power and has no intention to give up power once his second term ends in 2022. These developments are ominous for the country's future, proving that Sisi is moving toward a point of no return. Indeed, this dictatorial approach will lead Egypt to a disastrous situation that will make the chaos that followed the 2011 uprising look good by comparison.

Sisi has repeatedly emphasized his willingness to crush any opposition to his rule and the military's grip on power regardless of its goals or peacefulness. A Syria-like scenario could await Egypt if events spiral out of control due to the lack of political freedoms and the severe repression Egyptians are enduring under Sisi.

President Trump, for his part, has developed a personal rapport with his Egyptian counterpart; he has praised him as doing "a tremendous job under trying circumstances." Perhaps he could use this rapport to convey to Sisi the deepest U.S. worries for the future of stability in Egypt. The failure of a country of 100 million is a disaster the region can avoid—but perhaps only if the United States starts registering forceful objections to Sisi's dictatorial policies. In the meantime, nobody in the White House or on the Hill should take this election seriously.

Haisam Hassanein is the Glazer Fellow at The Washington Institute.