أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 2146

المحادثات النووية مع إيران: الدبلوماسية وضغط العامل الزمني

أولي هاينونن و سايمون هندرسون

متاح أيضاً في English

23 أيلول/سبتمبر 2013


يبدو أن الجهود الرامية لحل الأزمة الدولية طويلة الأجل الناجمة عن إخفاق إيران في تفسير جوانب من برنامجها النووي تكتسب زخماً يوماً بعد يوم. فالرئيس الإيراني حسن روحاني في نيويورك هذا الأسبوع لحضور اجتماع الجمعية العامة للأمم المتحدة، وهناك توقعات شائعة بأنه قد يجتمع هناك مع الرئيس أوباما. وقد أشار المرشد الأعلى علي خامنئي عن دعمه لروحاني في إبرام اتفاق، مقابل تخفيف العقوبات الاقتصادية والمالية، مشيراً في الأسبوع الماضي بأن الآن هو الوقت المناسب لـ "الليونة البطولية".

إن المفاهيم الدولية حول هدف البرنامج النووي تخالف تماماً ادعاء خامنئي في 17 أيلول/سبتمبر: "نحن بالتأكيد لا نسعى لامتلاك [أسلحة نووية]". وحتى إنكار روحاني في مقابلة أجراها مع شبكة "إن بي سي" في 19 أيلول/سبتمبر كان أكثر وضوحاً: "[إيران] لم تسع يوماً لحيازة قنبلة نووية ونحن لن نفعل ذلك". ولا تتفق هذه التعليقات مع تلك الصادرة عن رئيس «الوكالة الدولية للطاقة الذرية» يوكيا أمانو، الذي قال لمجلس محافظي «الوكالة الدولية» في 9 أيلول/سبتمبر إن "إيران لا تقدم التعاون اللازم لتمكيننا من تقديم ضمانات موثوقة حول عدم وجود مواد وأنشطة نووية غير معلنة... ونظراً إلى طابع ومدى مصداقية معلومات موثوقة متاحة للوكالة حول أبعاد عسكرية محتملة للبرنامج النووي الإيراني، يبقى ضرورياً وملحاً بالنسبة إلى إيران الانخراط معنا حول مضمون مخاوفنا".

لقد أثارت التقارير المنتظمة الصادرة عن «الوكالة الدولية للطاقة الذرية» بشأن أنشطة طهران أربعة مخاوف رئيسية:

1.      تواصل إيران تخصيب اليورانيوم بكميات تتجاوز كثيراً متطلباتها الحالية والمستقبلية لبرنامج نووي سلمي.

2.    قدرة إيران على تجاوز التزاماتها الدولية بإنتاج كميات كافية من اليورانيوم المستخدم لصنع أسلحة نووية يمكن أن تقاس الآن ببضعة أسابيع - وربما وقتاً أقل مما يحتاجه المجتمع الدولي للاتفاق على رد دبلوماسي أو عسكري مناسب.

3.      تُحقق إيران كذلك تقدماً نحو الحصول على البلوتونيوم، وهو مادة انفجارية نووية أخرى.

4.      عملت إيران على ما يبدو على جوانب من تصميمات الأسلحة النووية.

مخاوف محددة

إذا دخلت واشنطن في حوار مع إيران عبر المسار الدبلوماسي أو المفاوضات الإضافية، فينبغي أن تضع في اعتبارها عدة مخاوف محددة بشأن البرنامج النووي:

زيادة أعداد أجهزة الطرد المركزي من النوع أي آر-1. يبلغ إجمالي عدد أجهزة الطرد المركبة الآن 19000 جهاز. 2000   منها في محطة مدفونة على عمق كبير تحت جبل في فوردو، والباقي في ناتانز، حيث يتم تغطية المحطة الرئيسية بالخرسانة والتراب. ويجري تركيب المزيد من أجهزة أي آر-1 بمعدل 600 جهاز شهرياً تقريباً. وتعمل هذه الأجهزة على تخصيب اليورانيوم في شكل غاز سادس فلوريد اليورانيوم. وهي مُرتبة في شكل وحدات تضم ثمانية عشر شلالاً، وكل وحدة تضم نحو 3000 جهاز طرد مركزي؛ وسوف يكون لمحطة نطنز ستة وحدات كهذه في غضون الأشهر القليلة القادمة.

وتعمل إيران في الوقت الحالي على تخصيب اليورانيوم إلى نسبة 20 في المائة من النظائر الانشطارية يو-235، التي تشكل عادة 0.7 في المائة فقط من اليورانيوم الطبيعي. والمخطط المعتاد لتخصيب اليورانيوم هو رفع نسبة التركيز من 0.7 في المائة إلى 3.5 في المائة، ومن ثم من 3.5 في المائة إلى 20 في المائة. وللحصول على يورانيوم يُستخدم في الأسلحة النووية - والذي يحتوي على 90 في المائة يو-235 - يقوم المخطط المعتاد على تخصيب بنسب تتراوح من 20 في المائة إلى 60 في المائة، ومن ثم من 60 في المائة إلى 90 في المائة. ومع ذلك فإن العدد الضخم من أجهزة الطرد المركزي التي تملكها إيران تُمكنها من التخصيب مباشرة من 20 في المائة إلى نسبة 90 في المائة باستخدام "الشلالات الترادفية"، حيث يقوم شلال ثانٍ بمعالجة "الذيول" أو النفايات ويعيد إدخالها إلى الشلال الأول، مما يزيد من فعالية عملية التخصيب.

ومن خلال استخدام الشلالات الترادفية في أربع وحدات فقط في محطة نطنز، تستطيع إيران إنتاج 45 كيلوغرام من سادس فلوريد اليورانيوم المخصب إلى نسبة 90 في المائة في غضون أسبوعين. إن تحويل سادس فلوريد اليورانيوم إلى يورانيوم معدني يخفض من وزنه إلى نحو 30 كيلوغرام، أو بما يزيد بكيلوغرامين عن مقدار الـ 28 كيلوغرام التي تعتبرها «الوكالة الدولية للطاقة الذرية» "كمية كبيرة"، وهي الكمية اللازمة لتصنيع جهاز انفجاري نووي. وعند أخذ كل شئ في الإعتبار، سوف تحتاج إيران إلى شهر أو شهرين لإكمال العملية المباشرة المعروفة لتحويل غاز سادس فلوريد اليورانيوم إلى معدن، وتصنيع مكونات جهاز انفجاري، وتجميع سلاح. وسوف تحدث الخطوات الأخيرة على الأرجح خارج نطنز وفوردو في مواقع غير معروفة لـ «الوكالة الدولية للطاقة الذرية». ورغم أن الوكالة تفتش على منشآت إيران كل أسبوع إلى أسبوعين، إلا أنها ستحتاج إلى وقت إضافي لتأكيد وتقديم تقرير إلى المجتمع الدولي فيما إذا كانت إيران تنتهك اتفاقيات الضمانات التي أبرمتها. وكما أظهر الاستخدام الأخير للأسلحة الكيميائية في سوريا، سيتطلب المزيد من الوقت لكي يتم مناقشة الرد والاتفاق عليه.

المخزون المتزايد لدى إيران من سادس فلوريد اليورانيوم المخصب إلى نسبة 20 في المائة. يشير أحدث تقرير صادر عن «الوكالة الدولية للطاقة الذرية» إلى أن مخزون إيران من سادس فلوريد اليورانيوم المخصب إلى 20 في المائة يبلغ نحو 180 كيلوغرام. فمنذ عام 2007 أنتج النظام نحو 350 كيلوغرام من هذه المادة - وقد جرى تحويل 40 كيلوغرام منها إلى ألواح وقود لمفاعل نووي، بينما ظل الباقي في شكل سادس فلوريد اليورانيوم أو شكل أكسيد أو شكل نفايات. ورغم ورود تقارير تفيد عكس ذلك، إلا أنه يمكن إعادة معالجة اليورانيوم المؤكسد وإرجاعه إلى شكل صالح للاستخدام خلال أسبوعين.

وخلال خطاب ألقاه في الأمم المتحدة في أيلول/سبتمبر 2012، صرح رئيس وزراء إسرائيل بنيامين نتنياهو بأنه بمجرد أن تمتلك إيران 250 كيلوغرام من سادس فلوريد اليورانيوم المخصب إلى 20 في المائة، فسوف تستطيع بسرعة إنتاج مواد صالحة للاستخدام في الأسلحة بما يكفي لصنع قنبلة نووية. ومبدئياً، أمام إيران طريقان لإنتاج تلك الكمية: إعادة تحويل الأكسيد إلى سادس فلوريد اليورانيوم، أو استخدام وحدتَيْ شلالات لإنتاج المزيد من اليورانيوم المخصب إلى 20 في المائة من سادس فلوريد اليورانيوم المخصب إلى 3.5 في المائة، وهو ما يمكنها إنتاجه بمعدل 90 كغم شهرياً.

محطة أجهزة الطرد المركزي التي ربما تكون منيعة في فوردو. تُستخدم هذه المنشأة الجبلية لتخصيب اليورانيوم إلى 20 في المائة. ومع الشلالات الترادفية لأجهزة الطرد المركزي أي آر-1، تستطيع فوردو إنتاج 20 كغم من سادس فلوريد اليورانيوم المخصب إلى 90 في المائة في الشهر، أو ما هو أكبر من "كمية كبيرة" كل شهرين.

استخدام أجهزة الطرد المركزي آي آر-2م الأكثر تقدماً. تم تركيب أكثر من 1000 من هذه الأجهزة في محطة نطنز، حيث من المخطط إنشاء وحدة أجهزة طرد مركزي تضم 3000 جهاز. وأجهزة الطرد المركزي هذه أفضل من أجهزة الطرد المركزي أي آر-1س، حيث إنها أكثر فعالية منها بست مرات من الناحية النظرية، أما من الناحية الفعلية فهي أكثر فعالية بأربع مرات فقط بسبب مشاكل في الحصول على أفضل المواد. وعلى أي حال، فإن النجاح في استكمال وحدة تضم 3000 جهاز طرد مركزي من طراز آي آر-2م سوف تفتح سلسلة جديدة من سيناريوهات تجاوز العتبة النووية.

احتمال بأن لدى إيران محطات طرد مركزي غير مفصح عنها. كان مصنع فوردو سرياً إلى أن كشفت إيران أنه كان قيد الإنشاء لعدة سنوات. وتأخذ طهران وجهة نظر مختلفة عن تلك التي يتبعها الكثيرون في المجتمع الدولي حول متى تتطلب التزاماتها التعاهدية إعلانها عن وجود منشآت نووية.

مفاعل المياه الثقيلة في أراك. إذا دخل هذا المفاعل حيز التشغيل، فبإمكانه أن يمنح إيران مصدراً للبلوتونيوم، وهي مادة انفجارية نووية أقوى من اليورانيوم نظراً لصغر الكتلة الحرجة المطلوبة. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، فإن العمل العسكري ضد مفاعل جاهز للعمل بالمياه الثقيلة يخاطر حدوث عواقب بيئية كارثية، وهذا ليس هو الحال بالنسبة لتفجير محطة لتخصيب اليورانيوم.

العمل على تصنيع الأسلحة. أخفقت إيران في التعاون مع «الوكالة الدولية للطاقة الذرية» لحل المسائل المتعلقة بقيامها بتصميم قنبلة ذرية ذات انفجار داخلي. وهذا عامل مؤثر للحكم على صدق مزاعم طهران بأنها لم تهدف أبداً إلى امتلاك أسلحة نووية.

مخزون اليورانيوم. لدى إيران كميات هائلة من المواد الأولية تفوق بكثير ما قد تحتاجه لتزويد الوقود لأنشطتها النووية السلمية. وقد أنتجت محطتها لتحويل اليورانيوم في أصفهان ما يقرب من 550 طن من سادس فلوريد اليورانيوم المخصب بنسبة 0.7 في المائة، وقد تم تحويل 120 طن فقط منها إلى نطنز للتخصيب. وعلاوة على ذلك، لا يتعين على إيران أن تعلن عن مقدار المعدن الخام شبه المعالج، والمعروف باسم الكعكة الصفراء، الذي تمتلكه، لأن ضمانات «الوكالة الدولية للطاقة الذرية» لا تنطبق على المواد المستخرجة في إيران. وسوف تنتج المناجم في ساغاند Saghand وغشين Gchine أكثر من 50 طن سنوياً عندما تعمل بكامل طاقتها. ورغم أن ذلك لن يكون كافياً لإنتاج الوقود اللازم لمفاعل الطاقة النووية الوحيد في إيران الكائن في بوشهر، والذي تسلمت إيران عمليات تشغيله، إلا أن روسيا التزمت بتزويد جميع وقود تلك المنشأة بموجب عقد [أبرمته مع إيران].

الدبلوماسية وتجاوز العتبة النووية

من بين التحديات في التفاوض مع إيران هو تحقيق قبول واسع لأي اتفاق. وفي مقابلة أجراها الرئيس الأمريكي مع "تيلموندو" في 17 أيلول/سبتمبر، صرح باراك أوباما بأنه لكي تحقق المحادثات النجاح المرجو منها، على إيران "أن تظهر للمجتمع الدولي أنها لا تحاول تحويل القوة النووية إلى أسلحة". لكن مصطلح "التحويل إلى أسلحة" يشوبه الغموض، حيث تتراوح التعريفات ما بين تصنيع جهاز أولي إلى رأس حربي متقدم. كما يناقش المراقبون مقدار الوقت الذي ستحتاجه إيران لاختبار أي جهاز انفجاري نووي عقب الحصول على كمية كبيرة من اليورانيوم المستخدم في تصنيع الأسلحة، ومقدار الوقت المطلوب بعد ذلك لجعل هذا الجهاز قابل للتوصيل عن طريق صاروخ، مثل "شهاب 3" الموجود حالياً في مخزونها. وهذا الصاروخ هو شكل مختلف من النوع الذي تستخدمه باكستان في قوتها النووية الاستراتيجية - وكانت إيران قد حصلت أصلاً من باكستان على تقنية الطرد المركزي [التي تستخدمها].

وبالإضافة إلى المخاوف بشأن مدى سرعة إنتاج إيران لكمية كبيرة من المواد المتفجرة النووية، فإن الوقت يمر وعقارب الساعة لا تتوقف: إذ يتناقض الفاصل الزمني الذي ترى إسرائيل أنها تستطيع أن تتخذ عنده إجراءاً عسكرياً فعالاً ضد المنشآت النووية الإيرانية وتأخير البرنامج. ومثلها مثل بلدان أخرى، تشعر إسرائيل بتهديد مباشر من احتمال نشر إيران لصواريخ تحمل رؤوساً نووية والميزات التي ستحصل عليها إذا نُظر إليها على أنها دولة تمتلك أسلحة نووية. وفي 17 أيلول/سبتمبر، وقبل قيامه برحلته الخاصة لحضور اجتماع الجمعية العامة للأمم المتحدة، صرح رئيس الوزراء نتنياهو بأن هناك أربع خطوات يتطلب من طهران القيام بها: "وقف جميع عمليات تخصيب اليورانيوم، إزالة جميع اليورانيوم المخصب، غلق [محطة تخصيب فوردو قرب] قم، ووقف مسار البلوتونيوم".

وباختصار، أصبح المشهد مهيئاً للدبلوماسية، ولكن الوقت المتاح للتوصل إلى اتفاق آخذ في النفاد بسرعة. وفي ضوء المخاوف المتنامية بشأن قدرة واشنطن على العمل بفاعلية في الشرق الأوسط - سواء دبلوماسياً أم عسكرياً - فسوف يراقب حلفاء الولايات المتحدة عن كثب أي اتصالات تجري في نيويورك.

 

أولي هاينونن هو زميل أقدم في مركز بيلفر في كلية كندي في جامعة هارفارد ونائب المدير العام السابق للضمانات في «الوكالة الدولية للطاقة الذرية». سايمون هندرسون هو زميل بيكر ومدير برنامج الخليج وسياسة الطاقة في معهد واشنطن .

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 2146

Nuclear Talks with Iran: Diplomacy and Diminishing Time

Olli Heinonen and Simon Henderson

Also available in العربية

September 23, 2013


Stopping Iran's increasingly rapid progress toward becoming a de facto nuclear weapons state requires significant diplomatic progress, and quickly.

Efforts to resolve the long-running international crisis caused by Iran's failure to explain aspects of its nuclear program appear to be gaining momentum. President Hassan Rouhani will be in New York this week for a UN General Assembly meeting, and speculation is rife that he may meet with President Obama there. Supreme Leader Ali Khamenei has signaled support for Rouhani to make a deal in return for relief from economic and financial sanctions, stating last week that now is the time for "heroic leniency."

International perceptions of the nuclear program's purpose are completely at odds with Khamenei's claim on September 17: "We ourselves are definitely not trying to possess [nuclear weapons]." Rouhani's denial in a September 19 interview with NBC was even clearer: "[Iran has] never pursued or sought a nuclear bomb, and we are not going to do so." These comments are incompatible with those of International Atomic Energy Agency head Yukiya Amano, who told the IAEA board of governors on September 9 that "Iran is not providing the necessary cooperation to enable us to provide credible assurance about the absence of undeclared nuclear material and activities...Given the nature and extent of credible information available to the agency about possible military dimensions to Iran's nuclear program, it remains essential and urgent for Iran to engage with us on the substance of our concerns."

The IAEA's regular reports on Tehran's activities have raised four main concerns:

  1. Iran continues to enrich uranium in quantities far in excess of its present and future requirements for a peaceful nuclear program.
  2. Iran's ability to break out from its international commitments by producing sufficient amounts of weapons-grade uranium can now be measured in a few weeks -- perhaps less time than the international community would need to agree on an appropriate diplomatic or military response.
  3. Iran is also making advances toward obtaining plutonium, another nuclear explosive.
  4. Iran has apparently worked on aspects of nuclear weapon designs.

SPECIFIC CONCERNS

If Washington engages Iran via diplomatic contact or further negotiations, it should be mindful of several specific concerns about the nuclear program:

Iran's increasing number of IR-1 type centrifuges. The total figure is now close to 19,000 installed: 2,000 at the plant buried deep under a mountain at Fordow, and the rest at Natanz, where the main plant is covered with concrete and earth. More IR-1s are being installed at a rate of about 600 per month. These centrifuges enrich uranium in the form of uranium hexafluoride (UF6) gas. They are arranged in units of eighteen cascades, with each unit having around 3,000 centrifuges; Natanz will have six such units within the next couple months.

Currently, Iran is enriching uranium to 20 percent concentration of the fissile isotope U-235, which normally makes up just 0.7% of natural uranium. The usual scheme for enriching uranium is to raise the concentration from 0.7% to 3.5%, and then from 3.5% to 20%. To obtain weapons-grade uranium -- which contains 90% U-235 -- the usual scheme is to enrich from 20% to 60%, and then from 60% to 90%. Yet Iran's huge number of centrifuges enables it to enrich directly from 20% to 90% using "tandem cascades," where a second cascade processes the "tails" or waste product and reintroduces it into the first cascade, making for a more efficient enrichment process.

Using tandem cascades in just four of the units at Natanz, Iran could produce 45 kilograms of 90% enriched UF6 within two weeks. Converting the UF6 to metal uranium would reduce its weight to around 30 kg, or a couple kilograms more than the 28 kg that the IAEA regards as a "significant quantity," the amount needed for a nuclear explosive device. All told, Iran would need a month or two to complete the straightforward, well-known process of converting the UF6 gas to metal, manufacturing the components of an explosive device, and assembling a weapon. The last steps would likely take place outside of Natanz and Fordow in locations unknown to the IAEA. Although the agency inspects Iran's facilities every one to two weeks, it would need additional time to confirm and report to the international community if Tehran was breaking its safeguard agreements. And as the recent use of chemical weapons in Syria has shown, it takes yet more time for a response to be debated and agreed.

Iran's growing stockpile of 20% UF6. The latest IAEA report put Iran's stocks of 20% UF6 at about 180 kg. Since 2007, the regime has produced about 350 kg of this material -- around 40 kg has been made into fuel plates for a research reactor, while the rest is in UF6 form, oxide form, or waste form. Despite reports to the contrary, the oxide uranium could be reprocessed back into usable form within a couple weeks.

During his September 2012 speech at the UN, Israeli prime minister Binyamin Netanyahu stated that once Iran had 250 kg of 20% UF6, it would be able to swiftly produce enough weapons-grade material for a nuclear bomb. In principle, Iran has two ways of producing that amount: reconverting oxide to UF6, or using two cascade units to produce more 20% enriched uranium from 3.5% UF6, which it could do at a rate of 90 kg per month.

The perhaps-impregnable centrifuge plant at Fordow. This mountain facility is being used to enrich uranium to 20 percent. With tandem cascades of IR-1 centrifuges, Fordow could produce 20 kg of 90% UF6 per month, or more than a "significant quantity" every two months.

The use of more-advanced IR-2m centrifuges. More than 1,000 of these devices have been installed at Natanz, where a 3,000-centrifuge unit is planned. These centrifuges are better than IR-1s -- in theory around six times more efficient, though in reality less than four times so due to problems in obtaining the best materials. In any case, the successful completion of a 3,000-centrifuge IR-2m unit would open up a new range of breakout scenarios.

The possibility that Iran has unreported centrifuge plants. The Fordow plant was secret until Iran revealed it had been under construction for several years. Tehran takes a different view from many in the international community about when its treaty obligations require it to announce the existence of nuclear facilities.

The Arak heavy-water reactor. If this reactor becomes operational, it could give Iran a source of plutonium, which is a superior nuclear explosive to uranium because less is required as a critical mass. Additionally, military action against an operational heavy-water reactor would risk catastrophic environmental consequences, which is not the case for bombing a uranium enrichment plant.

Weaponization work. Iran has failed to cooperate with the IAEA in resolving questions about whether it has performed design work on an implosion-type atomic bomb. This is key to judging the honesty of Tehran's claims that it has never intended to pursue nuclear weapons.

Stocks of uranium. Iran has massive amounts of feedstock, far in excess of what it might need to fuel its peaceful nuclear activities. Its uranium conversion plant at Isfahan has produced nearly 550 tonnes of 0.7% UF6, only 120 tonnes of which has been transferred to Natanz for enrichment. Moreover, Iran does not have to declare how much semiprocessed ore, known as yellowcake, it has, since IAEA safeguards do not apply to material mined in Iran. The mines at Saghand and Gchine will produce more than 50 tonnes annually when fully operational. Although this would not be enough to make the fuel needed for Iran's sole nuclear power reactor at Bushehr, which is coming onstream, Russia is already under contract to supply all of that facility's fuel.

DIPLOMACY AND BREAKOUT

One of the challenges in negotiating with Iran is achieving wide acceptance of a deal. In a September 17 interview with Telemundo, President Obama stated that for talks to succeed, Iran needs to "show the international community that it's not trying to weaponize nuclear power." But the term "weaponization" is ambiguous, with definitions ranging from a crude device to a sophisticated warhead. Observers are also debating how much time Iran would need to test a nuclear explosive device after obtaining a significant quantity of weapons-grade uranium, and how much longer after that it would take to make the device deliverable by missile, such as the Shahab-3 type currently in its inventory. This missile is a variant of the type that Pakistan -- from which Iran originally obtained centrifuge technology -- uses in its strategic nuclear force.

In addition to concerns about how quickly Iran can produce a significant quantity of nuclear explosive material, another clock is ticking: the diminishing interval in which Israel believes it could take effective military action against Iranian nuclear installations and delay the program. Like other countries, Israel feels directly threatened by the possibility of Iran fielding nuclear-tipped missiles and the advantages it would gain by being perceived as a nuclear weapons state. On September 17, in advance of his own trip to the UN meeting, Prime Minister Netanyahu stated that four steps are required of Tehran: "Halting all uranium enrichment, removing all enriched uranium, closing [the Fordow enrichment plant near] Qom, and stopping the plutonium track."

In short, the scene is set for diplomacy, but the time for agreement is quickly running out. Given their growing concerns about Washington's ability to operate effectively in the Middle East -- whether diplomatically or militarily -- U.S. allies will closely watch any contacts made in New York.

Olli Heinonen is a senior fellow at the Harvard Kennedy School's Belfer Center and a former deputy director-general for safeguards at the IAEA. Simon Henderson is the Baker Fellow and director of the Gulf and Energy Policy Program at The Washington Institute. Previously, they coauthored Nuclear Iran: A Glossary of Terms, a joint publication of The Washington Institute and the Belfer Center.