أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

تنبيه سياسي

تلميحات نووية دقيقة في اجتماع سعودي باكستاني

سايمون هندرسون

متاح أيضاً في English

3 شباط/فبراير 2015


من المرجح أن تؤدي الزيارة التي قام بها رئيس هيئة الأركان المشتركة الباكستانية إلى المملكة العربية السعودية، إلى تنامي القلق في واشنطن وعواصم رئيسية أخرى بأن السعودية وباكستان قد أعادتا التأكيد على الترتيب القائم بينهما وبموجبه تقوم باكستان، إذا طُلب منها ذلك، بتزويد السعودية برؤوس نووية. وكان الاجتماع الرئيسي في قائمة زيارة الجنرال رشيد محمود سلمان مع العاهل السعودي الملك سلمان - وحول المواضيع التي تمت مناقشتها أفادت التقارير بأنه جرى خلال الاستقبال التأكيد "على عمق العلاقات القائمة بين البلدين...  إضافة إلى استعراض عدد من الموضوعات ذات الاهتمام المشترك." وبشكل منفصل، التقى الجنرال رشيد أيضاً مع وزير الدفاع الأمير محمد بن سلمان - الذي قدم له ميدالية الملك عبد العزيز من الدرجة الممتازة - وكذلك مع ولي ولي العهد وزير الداخلية الأمير محمد بن نايف ووزير الحرس الوطني الأمير متعب بن عبد الله. ويبدو أن المسؤول السعودي البارز الوحيد الذي كان غائباً من الاجتماعات هو ولي العهد الأمير مقرن.

على مدى عقود، كان يُنظر إلى الرياض كمؤيدة للبرنامج الباكستاني للأسلحة النووية، بتوفيرها التمويل في مقابل ما يفترض على نطاق واسع بأنه تفاهم يتمثل بقيام إسلام اباد، إذا لزم الأمر، بنقل التكنولوجيا أو حتى الرؤوس الحربية. وكان يُلاحظ أن التغييرات في القيادة في أي من البلدين سرعان ما كان يتبعها عقد اجتماعات على مستوى عال، كما لو كانت اللقاءات تأتي من أجل التأكيد على هذه الترتيبات النووية. وعلى الرغم من أن التكنولوجيا النووية الباكستانية قد ساعدت أيضاً البرنامج الإيراني، إلا أن العلاقة بين إسلام أباد والرياض كانت أكثر وضوحاً بكثير.

في عام 1999، وبعد عام من قيام باكستان باختبار اثنين من أسلحتها النووية، زار وزير الدفاع السعودي آنذاك الأمير سلطان بن عبدالعزيز الموقع الباكستاني الذي جرت فيه عملية التخصيب بالطرد المركزي الغير خاضع للضمانات في كاهوتا خارج إسلام أباد - مما أدى إلى احتجاج دبلوماسي أمريكي. وفي العام الماضي، وبينما ازداد قلق الرياض من احتمال [فرض] هيمنة نووية إيرانية في الخليج، كان رئيس أركان الجيش الباكستاني الجنرال رحيل شريف ضيف شرف عندما استعرضت المملكة العربية السعودية علناً صواريخها الصينية من طراز CSS-2  ، وذلك للمرة الأولى منذ تسليمها في ثمانينيات القرن الماضي. وعلى الرغم من أن الزمن قد عفا تقريباً على هذه  الصواريخ في الوقت الحالي، إلا أن صاروخ CSS-2 شكل ذات مرة العنصر الرئيسي لقوة الصين النووية. وقد استندت أجهزة باكستان النووية الأولى على تصميم صيني.

وفي 23 كانون الثاني/يناير، زار رئيس الوزراء الباكستاني نواز شريف، السعودية للمشاركة في جنازة الملك عبد الله وكان قد زار البلاد أيضاً قبل ذلك بأسبوعين لتقديم احترامه إلى العاهل السعودي المريض. وكانت تربط الزعيم المدني وقادته العسكريين علاقة شاقة - فعندما كان نواز شريف في منصبه في وقت سابق، أطيح به في انقلاب عسكري وأُرسِل إلى المنفى في المملكة العربية السعودية - إلا أن البرنامج النووي الباكستاني هو على ما يبدو فوق أي تحزب مدني وعسكري.

وتأتي الزيارة التي قام بها الجنرال رشيد بعد يوم من إعلان باكستان عن إجراء اختبار ناجح على صاروخ كروز يُطلق من الجو باسم "رعد" ومداه 220 ميلاً، يُقال أنه قادر على حمل رؤوس حربية نووية وتقليدية بدقة بالغة.

وبينما ترأس العاهل السعودي أول اجتماع لمجلس وزرائه كرئيس للحكومة في الثاني من شباط/فبراير، أعلن الملك سلمان بأنه لن يكون هناك أي تغيير في السياسة الخارجية السعودية. وبطريقتها الخاصة، يبدو أن الاجتماعات رفيعة المستوى التي عُقدت مع الوفد العسكري الباكستاني في الثالث من شباط/فبراير جاءت لكي تؤكد هذا الإعلان، وربما لتضيف المزيد من المضاعفات المربكة لجهود إدارة أوباما لتأمين التوصل إلى اتفاق دبلوماسي مع طهران حول البرنامج النووي الإيراني.

 

سايمون هندرسون هو زميل بيكر ومدير برنامج الخليج وسياسة الطاقة في معهد واشنطن.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

Policy Alert

Nuclear Nuances of Saudi-Pakistan Meeting

Simon Henderson

Also available in العربية

February 3, 2015


Tuesday's meeting in Riyadh between King Salman and Pakistan's top military commander will revive speculation of a secret nuclear agreement to counter any Iranian nuclear threat.

The visit by the chairman of Pakistan's Joint Chiefs of Staff Committee will likely prompt concern in Washington and other major capitals that Saudi Arabia and Pakistan have reconfirmed an arrangement whereby Pakistan, if asked, will supply Saudi Arabia with nuclear warheads. The main meeting on Gen. Rashid Mahmoud's itinerary was with King Salman -- the topics discussed were reported as "deep relations between the two countries and...a number of issues of common interest." General Rashid also saw separately Defense Minister Prince Muhammad bin Salman -- who presented him with the King Abdulaziz medal of excellence -- as well as Deputy Crown Prince and Interior Minister Muhammad bin Nayef and Minister of the National Guard Prince Mitab bin Abdullah. The only senior Saudi absent from the meetings appears to have been Crown Prince Muqrin.

For decades, Riyadh has been judged a supporter of Pakistan's nuclear weapons program, providing financing in return for a widely assumed understanding that, if needed, Islamabad will transfer technology or even warheads. It has been noticeable that changes in leadership in either country have quickly been followed by top-level meetings, as if to reconfirm such nuclear arrangements. Although Pakistani nuclear technology also helped Iran's program, the relationship between Islamabad and Riyadh has been much more obvious.

In 1999, a year after Pakistan tested two nuclear weapons, then Saudi defense minister Prince Sultan visited the unsafeguarded uranium enrichment plant at Kahuta outside Islamabad -- prompting a U.S. diplomatic protest. Last year, as Riyadh's concern at the prospect of Iranian nuclear hegemony in the Gulf grew, Pakistan's chief of army staff, Gen. Raheel Sharif, was a guest of honor when Saudi Arabia publicly paraded its Chinese CSS-2 missiles for the first time since they were delivered in the 1980s. Although now nearly obsolete, the CSS-2 missile once formed the core of China's nuclear force. Pakistan's first nuclear devices were based on a Chinese design.

Pakistan's prime minister, Nawaz Sharif, visited the kingdom January 23 for the funeral of King Abdullah and had also been there a couple of weeks earlier to pay his respects to the ailing monarch. The civilian leader and his military commanders have an awkward relationship -- in an earlier term of office, Nawaz Sharif was overthrown in a military coup and sent into exile in Saudi Arabia -- but Pakistan's nuclear program seems above any civil-military partisanship.

The visit by General Rashid comes a day after Pakistan announced the successful flight-testing of its Raad air-launched 220-mile-range cruise missile, which reportedly is able to deliver nuclear and conventional warheads with pinpoint accuracy.

While chairing his first cabinet meeting as prime minister yesterday, King Salman announced there would be no change in Saudi foreign policy. In its own way, today's top-level meetings with the Pakistani military delegation seem to confirm this statement, adding perhaps an extra awkward complication to the Obama administration's effort to secure a diplomatic agreement with Tehran over Iran's nuclear program.

Simon Henderson is the Baker Fellow and director of the Gulf and Energy Policy Program at The Washington Institute.