أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 2807

نتنياهو مصممٌ على تكليل زيارة ترامب بالنجاح

ديفيد ماكوفسكي

متاح أيضاً في English

19 أيار/مايو 2017


من المقرر أن يصل الرئيس الأمريكي دونالد ترامب إلى إسرائيل في 22 أيار/مايو في زيارةٍ تمثّل المحطة الثانية من رحلته إلى الخارج، بعد زيارته للمملكة العربية السعودية. وستشمل رحلته إلى إسرائيل زيارةً في صباح اليوم التالي إلى بيت لحم حيث سيجتمع مع رئيس "السلطة الفلسطينية" محمود عباس. وخلال تواجده في السعودية، سيعقد ترامب قمةً مع القادة العرب والمسلمين يهدف إلى تعزيز تحالف شامل ضد تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» والجماعات المتطرفة الأخرى وإيران. أما في إسرائيل، فسيسعى إلى التشديد على الروابط التي تجمعه بمضيفيه والبحث بشكلٍ مبدئي في احتمالات إجراء محادثات سلام إسرائيلية- فلسطينية.  

لماذا الزيارة مهمة كثيراً لنتنياهو

في معرض تأكيده على التزام الولايات المتحدة تجاه إسرائيل، سيحرص ترامب وفريقه على إظهار التناقض مع الزيارة الأولى إلى الشرق الأوسط التي قام بها سلفه باراك أوباما، الذي ألقى خطاباً رئيسياً في القاهرة في عام 2009 ولكنه لم يزر إسرائيل، فأثار بذلك غضب حليف الولايات المتحدة المقرب. وبدوره، [يبدو] أن رئيس الوزراء الإسرائيلي بنيامين نتنياهو مصمماً على تكليل زيارة ترامب بالنجاح - ومن شأن هذا الموقف بلا شك أن يضع ترامب في موقع القوة. وتتعدد الأسباب وراء هذا الموقف الإسرائيلي. أولاً، مثلها مثل الدول العربية، ترغب إسرائيل في ضمان استمرار انخراط ترامب في قضايا الشرق الأوسط، وسط تعليق آمال خاصة بأن يقدم على اتخاذ إجراءات لردع إيران. وفي سياقٍ ذي صلة، يخشى بعض [المسؤولين] في إسرائيل ودول أخرى في المنطقة من تحوّل مقاربة تقوم على مبدأ "أمريكا أولاً" إلى "أمريكا فقط" بعد نجاح التحالف الذي تقوده الولايات المتحدة في هزيمة تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» ، كما هو متوقّع، خلال الأشهر المقبلة.

ثانياً، خلُص مساعدو نتنياهو إلى أن التقارب مع واشنطن يحمل تأثيرات متسلسلة إيجابية على السياسة الخارجية الإسرائيلية في ميادين أخرى. فبعد عودة نتنياهو مباشرة من اجتماعه المبكر في البيت الأبيض في شباط/فبراير، على سبيل المثال، تلقى دعوةً لزيارة بكين بعدما كان قد انتظر مثل هذه الدعوة لبعض الوقت. وبالفعل، يساور المسؤولون الإسرائيليون القلق من عدم إمكان التنبؤ بتصرفات ترامب، ولذلك يأملون بالتالي أن تساهم زيارة ناجحة في حماية العلاقة الثنائية نوعاً ما من أي انتكاسة محتملة في المستقبل. وحرصاً على إظهار الترحاب الكافي للرئيس الأمريكي وتعزيز العنصر الشخصي، سيقيم نتنياهو بعد اجتماع العمل مأدبة عشاءٍ خاصة تجمعه بترامب وعقيلته. وتقليدياً، يستخدم نتنياهو حفلات عشاء من هذا القبيل لبناء علاقة مع القادة الأمريكيين وإيصال رؤية إسرائيل عن المنطقة.

ثالثاً، يسعى نتنياهو لإثبات أنه يجب تحميل اللوم على الرئيس الأمريكي السابق باراك أوباما، وليس عليه، عن التوترات التي شهدتها علاقات الدولتين مؤخراً. وإذا لم يتمكن رئيس الوزراء الإسرائيلي من تطوير علاقة جيدة مع رئيس جمهوري - وهو الحزب الذي يُعتقد على نطاق واسع أنه يفضله - فعندئذ قد يعتبر الشعب الإسرائيلي نتنياهو مسؤولاً عن ذلك. ولا يمكن تجاهل هذا التوقيت على المستوى المحلي، إذ يخضع نتنياهو في الوقت الحالي إلى تحقيق جنائي في قضية فساد، وهو لا يعتزم أن يثبت للشعب الإسرائيلي أن الحكومة الإسرائيلية فاعلة فحسب، بل أنه مسؤول مقرب من الرئيس الأمريكي لا يمكن الاستغناء عنه.

وكل ذلك يبرر الجهود الإسرائيلية للتقليل من شأن مختلف الحوادث التي حصلت خلال الأسبوع الماضي، وكان من الممكن أن تفسد الزيارة لو كانت قد ضُخمت من قبل المسؤولين الإسرائيليين. وتمثلت بداية الأمور بالعاصفة النارية التي هبّت بسبب الاجتماع الذي عُقد في المكتب البيضاوي في البيت الأبيض بين ترامب ووزير الخارجية الروسي سيرغاي لافروف، حيث يُزعم أن الرئيس الأمريكي شارك الوزير الروسي بمعلومات استخبارية إسرائيلية حساسة حول تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية»، وهو اجتماع لم تتفوّه إسرائيل بأي كلمة سلبية بشأنه. وبصرف النظر عن تفاصيل هذه القضية، ليس لدى إسرائيل بديل عن الولايات المتحدة عندما يتعلق الأمر بعلاقات استخباراتية وثيقة. وفي إطار متصل، كانت إسرائيل تحاول سراً تشجيع إقامة روابط أوثق بين واشنطن وموسكو حول سوريا، على أمل أن يتمكن التحالف بين الولايات المتحدة وروسيا من إحداث شرخ بين الكرملين وإيران، وأن يؤدي بالتالي إلى تهميش طهران.

وتخفف إسرائيل أيضاً من أهمية ما إذا كان أحد الإسرائيليين سيرافق ترامب إلى الحائط الغربي، وسط التوترات الحتمية ذات الصلة التي تبرر السبب الكامن وراء عدم قيام الرؤساء الأمريكيين السابقين بزيارة هذا الحائط. وبالفعل، فقد عارضت الولايات المتحدة وجود مرافقة إسرائيلية باعتبارها إشارة ضمنية إلى اعتراف الأمريكيين بسيادة إسرائيل على القدس الشرقية، وهو أمر يتناقض مع السياسة التي تعتمدها الولايات المتحدة منذ زمن طويل. وخلال الإدارات المتعاقبة من كلا الحزبين الجمهوري والديمقراطي، بقي موقف واشنطن على ما هو عليه حول ضرورة التوصّل إلى حلّ بشأن الوضع القانوني للقدس الشرقية من خلال إجراء مفاوضات مع الفلسطينيين. أمّا إسرائيل، فقد أصدرت من جانبها قانوناً يقضي بضم القدس الشرقية إليها وتعتبر المدينة بأكملها تحت سيادتها، بينما توافق في الوقت نفسه على التفاوض بشأن وضعها مع الفلسطينيين.

وأخيراً، أوضح المسؤولون الأمريكيون للمراسلين الصحفيين قبيْل هذه الرحلة أن ترامب لن يعلن نقل مقر السفارة الأمريكية من تل أبيب إلى القدس، رغم تعهده خلال حملته الانتخابية بالقيام بذلك. ونتيجة لذلك، سيضطر ترامب في الأول من حزيران/يونيو إلى التوقيع على نفس وثيقة التنازل للأمن القومي كما فعل أسلافه  كل ستة أشهر منذ عام 1995. وفي خطاب علني - كان من المزمع في البداية أن يُلقى في مسعدة (متسادا)، الموقع الذي فضل فيه اليهود الانتحار الجماعي على الخضوع لروما القديمة وسيدلي به الآن في "متحف إسرائيل" - قد يشير ترامب إلى نيته في بدء التحرك حول هذه القضية خلال ولايته الحالية، موضحاً أنها لن تحدث هذه المرة. ولا يبدي نتنياهو أي خيبة أمل تجاه هذا التغيير، على الرغم من أن زيارة ترامب تصادف عشية الذكرى الخمسين لحرب عام 1967، وفقاً للتقويم العبري، وهي حرب أعادت فيها إسرائيل "توحيد" القدس.

هل يُحرَز تقدم في تحقيق السلام؟

لفت ترامب إلى أنه يريد "إبرام الاتفاق النهائي" للسلام بين إسرائيل والفلسطينيين. ويمكن استنتاج وجود بارقة أمل لتحقيق مثل هذه النتيجة من الاجتماع الناجح على ما يبدو الذي عقده الرئيس الأمريكي في واشنطن في وقت سابق من هذا الشهر مع رئيس "السلطة الفلسطينية" محمود عباس. وعلى الرغم من أن الرئيسين سيجتمعان مجدداً في 23 أيار/مايو في بيت لحم، لم يتم رسم أي خطط لعقد اجتماع قمة ثلاثي يجمعهما بنتنياهو. غير أن الرئيس عباس أعرب عن استعداده للتخلي عن شروطه المسبقة التي تمسك بها طويلاً بغية عقد اجتماع مماثل برعاية ترامب، مما قد يشكّل اللقاء الأول بين نتنياهو وعباس منذ سبع سنوات، حتى لو لم يحصل ذلك على الفور. واستباقاً لزيارة ترامب، سمح نتنياهو لوزير المالية موشي كحلون بلقاء نظيره الفلسطيني شكري بشارة لمناقشة تقديم حوافز اقتصادية للفلسطينيين، مثل إبقاء جسر الملك حسين أو جسر اللنبي مفتوحاً على مدار الساعة، وفتح المناطق الصناعية قرب جنين وترقوميا بشكل أكبر، فضلاً عن نقل الضرائب التي يتم جمعها من الصادرات الفلسطينية إلى "السلطة الفلسطينية" بفعالية أكبر.

قياس النجاح

من المؤكد أنّ ترامب ونتنياهو سيتمكنان من إعلان إنجازٍ مبني على تجاوز التوترات السياسية الثنائية التي سادت خلال عهد أوباما. وفيما عدا ذلك، قد يسعى ترامب إلى استغلال الزيارة لإعلان استئناف المحادثات الإسرائيلية-الفلسطينية، لكن الأساس والتوجه الموضوعييْن لاستئناف المفاوضات لا يزالان غير واضحا المعالم إلى حد بعيد. وبعد مرور أول مائة يوم على توليه الرئاسة، ففي وقت ما قريباً - لن يعُد ترامب يستفيد من التوقعات المنخفضة فيما يخص شؤون السياسة الخارجية، بما فيها محادثات السلام. وسيرتفع سقف التوقعات، ومن ثم سيصبح من الضروري تحديد التفاصيل والخطوات المستقبلية الواضحة.

ومن بين أكثر القضايا المحيرة، هي مسألة ما إذا كان ترامب سينتزع من دول الخليج التزاماً بإقامة علاقات أقرب وأكثر انفتاحاً مع إسرائيل - عوضاً عن الروابط القائمة حالياً من تحت الطاولة في إطار مكافحة الإرهاب - مقابل خطوات إيجابية من إسرائيل تجاه الفلسطينيين. وفي هذا الإطار، يشير تقرير صدر عن صحيفة "وول ستريت جورنال" إلى أن دول الخليج ستوافق على إقامة روابط في مجال الاتصالات وتحليق الطائرات المدنية ومنح رجال الأعمال تأشيرات دخول إذا وافقت إسرائيل على وقف النشاط الاستيطاني خارج الحاجز (الجدار) الأمني. ورغم أن هذه الآمال قد تكون سابقة لأوانها على الأرجح في هذه الجولة الافتتاحية، قد يقرر المسؤولون الأمريكيون السعي وراء انتهاز الفرص ذات الصلة فور انتهاء المحادثات. وفيما يتعلق بالمستوطنات، واحتراماً لترامب، اكتفى نتنياهو بالحديث عن إبطاء أقل تحديداً بشكلٍ عام، حيث لم يتم على سبيل المثال نقل مستوطني بؤرة عمونا الاستيطانية بعد أن كانت المحكمة قد أمرت بإخلائهم إلى مكان آخر. لكنه لم يقدم التزاماً جاداً بتجميد الاستيطان خارج كتل الضفة الغربية والحاجز الأمني (أراضي تشكل [حوالي] 92 في المائة من الضفة الغربية) خوفاً من أن تؤدي مثل هذه الخطوة إلى اندلاع أزمة مع الحلفاء من معسكر اليمين ضمن ائتلافه المحلي.

أما حول مسألة غزة، التي لحقت بها أضرار جسيمة نتيجة الحرب مع إسرائيل في صيف عام 2014، فقد التقى المسؤولون الأمريكيون مع نظرائهم الخليجيين قبل الزيارة الرئاسية لتحديد إمكانية زيادة المساعدة في مجالَي الكهرباء والبنية التحتية الاقتصادية. وتصب مثل هذه المساعدة في مصلحة إسرائيل، لأن عدم الاستقرار في غزة قد يؤدي إلى صراعات عسكرية في المستقبل.

وحول موضوعٍ منفصل، سيتوق المسؤولون الإسرائيليون لسماع ما إذا كان ترامب قد تمكّن من انتزاع تعهدات أكبر من السعوديين لمواجهة إيران ومحاربة تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية». وسيمارسون الضغط حتماً على الرئيس الأمريكي في هاتين المسألتين.

المحصلة

خلال زيارة الرئيس ترامب الأولى إلى إسرائيل والأراضي الفلسطينية، تتمتع الولايات المتحدة بنفوذ كبير. فحتى الآن، يسعى الجانبان إلى تجنب الظهور بصورةٍ "معارضة" للرئيس الأمريكي الجديد. وعلى افتراض التمسك بهذا الموقف، ستتمحور الأسئلة المتبقية حول كيفية استغلال واشنطن للزيارة كنقطة انطلاق لوضع سياسات أكثر واقعية وفعالية من أجل تحقيق أولوياتها، وهي: تسهيل المكاسب بين الإسرائيليين والفلسطينيين والتصدي لإيران وتنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» وقوى متطرفة أخرى.

 

ديفيد ماكوفسكي هو زميل "زيغلر" المميز ومدير مشروع عملية السلام في الشرق الأوسط في معهد واشنطن. وتشمل منشوراته المذكرة السياسية لعام 2017 "نحو صيغةٍ جديدة لمعالجة الصراع الإسرائيلي الفلسطيني" (التي شارك في تأليفها دينيس روس).

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 2807

Netanyahu Determined to Make Trump's Visit a Success

David Makovsky

Also available in العربية

May 19, 2017


The Israeli prime minister has taken pains to accommodate the U.S. president, overlooking some potentially troublesome developments, but many questions remain on how the parties will convert a graceful reception into tangible progress.

On May 22, President Donald Trump will arrive in Israel for the second leg of his overseas trip, following his stay in Saudi Arabia. The Israel stop will include a visit the next morning in Bethlehem, where Trump will meet with Palestinian Authority (PA) president Mahmoud Abbas. Whereas in Saudi Arabia the U.S. president will hold a summit with Arab and Muslim leaders aimed at upholding a broad coalition against the Islamic State, other extremists, and Iran, he will, in Israel, be seeking to emphasize his connection with his hosts while tentatively exploring prospects for Israeli-Palestinian peace talks.

Why the Visit Matters So Much to Netanyahu

In affirming the U.S. commitment to Israel, Trump and his team will be eager to establish a contrast with the maiden Middle East visit by his predecessor, Barack Obama, who in 2009 delivered a major speech in Cairo but did not make it to Israel, riling the close U.S. ally. In turn, Israeli prime minister Binyamin Netanyahu is determined to make the Trump visit a success -- and such an attitude undoubtedly gives Trump leverage. The reasons for this Israeli position are manifold. First, like the Arab states, Israel wants to make sure Trump remains engaged in the Middle East, with a particular hope that he will act to deter Iran. Relatedly, some in Israel and elsewhere in the region fear an America First approach could morph into "America Only" after the U.S.-led coalition defeats the Islamic State, as expected, in the coming months.

Second, Netanyahu aides have concluded that closeness with Washington has positive ripple effects for Israeli foreign policy in other arenas. Immediately after Netanyahu returned from his early White House meeting in February, for instance, he was invited to Beijing, after having awaited such an invitation for some time. Indeed, Israeli officials are wary that Trump is unpredictable, and therefore are hoping a successful visit will somehow insulate the bilateral relationship against a potential future downturn. To ensure the president feels welcome, and to reinforce the personal component, Netanyahu will follow the working meeting with an intimate dinner with the Trumps. Traditionally, Netanyahu has used such dinners to build rapport with American leaders and to impart Israel's narrative about the region.

Third, Netanyahu wants to demonstrate that recent bilateral tensions should be blamed on former president Obama, not on him. If the Israeli prime minister cannot develop a strong relationship with a Republican -- the U.S. party he is widely believed to favor -- then the Israeli public could perceive Netanyahu as the culprit. Nor can his domestic timing be ignored. Netanyahu is under criminal investigation for graft, and he is set on showing his public not only that Israel's government is functioning but that he is an indispensable figure who is close to the U.S. president. 

All this explains Israeli efforts to play down the various incidents that have emerged over the past week and could have marred the visit if magnified by Israeli officials. This begins with the firestorm over the Oval Office meeting between Trump and Russian foreign minister Sergei Lavrov, during which the president is alleged to have shared sensitive Israeli intelligence about the Islamic State, and on which Israel has not uttered a negative word. Whatever the details of this case, Israel has no substitute for the United States when it comes to close intelligence ties. Relatedly, Israel has quietly been trying to encourage tighter links between Washington and Moscow on Syria, in the hope that a U.S.-Russia alliance can drive a wedge between the Kremlin and Iran, thus marginalizing Tehran.

Israel is also downplaying the question of whether an Israeli will accompany Trump to the Western Wall, with the inevitable related tensions explaining why past U.S. presidents have not visited the wall. Indeed, the United States has opposed the presence of an Israeli escort as implying American recognition of Israeli sovereignty over East Jerusalem, at odds with longstanding U.S. policy. Across administrations from both parties, the U.S. position holds that the legal status of East Jerusalem must be resolved in negotiations with the Palestinians. Israel, for its part, has passed a law annexing East Jerusalem and considers the entire city to be under its sovereignty, while at the same time agreeing to negotiate its status with the Palestinians.

Finally, U.S. officials have made clear to reporters just before this trip that Trump will not be announcing the U.S. embassy's relocation from Tel Aviv to Jerusalem, despite his campaign pledge to do so. As a result, Trump will need on June 1 to sign the same national security waiver as his predecessors have done every six months since 1995. In a public speech -- first scheduled for Masada, where Jews chose mass suicide over surrender to ancient Rome, and now to be held at the Israel Museum -- Trump may indicate his intention to effect the move during his current term, while clarifying that it will not happen this time. Netanyahu is evincing no disappointment over this shift, even though Trump's visit comes on the eve of the fiftieth anniversary of the 1967 war, as marked on the Hebrew calendar, during which Israel "reunified" Jerusalem.

Progress on Peace?

Trump has indicated that he wants to make "the ultimate deal" for peace between Israel and the Palestinians. One might detect hope for such an outcome in the apparently successful Washington meeting he had earlier this month with PA president Mahmoud Abbas. Although the two will meet again on May 23 in Bethlehem, no plans have been made for a three-way summit to include Netanyahu. Abbas has said, however, that he is willing to drop his longstanding preconditions for such a meeting under Trump's auspices, possibly enabling the first Netanyahu-Abbas encounter in seven years, even if not immediately. Anticipating the Trump visit, Netanyahu authorized his finance minister, Moshe Kahlon, to meet with his PA counterpart, Shukri Bishara, to discuss economic incentives for Palestinians, such as keeping the Allenby Bridge open twenty-four hours a day, further opening industrial zones near Jenin and Tarqumiyah, and providing for more efficient transfer of taxes collected on Palestinian exports back to the PA.

Measuring Success 

To be sure, Trump and Netanyahu will be able to declare an achievement based on overcoming the bilateral policy tensions that prevailed during the Obama years. Beyond this, Trump may seek to use the visit to announce the resumption of Israeli-Palestinian talks, but the substantive basis and direction for those renewed negotiations are far from clear. Having moved beyond his first hundred days, Trump will -- sometime soon -- no longer benefit from low expectations regarding foreign policy matters, including peace talks. The bar will rise and, in turn, details and clear steps forward will be necessary.

Most tantalizingly, the question remains whether Trump will bring from the Gulf a commitment to closer overt ties with Israel -- rather than the current under-the-table liaisons on counterterrorism -- in exchange for positive steps from Israel toward the Palestinians. A Wall Street Journal report suggests that the Gulf states would agree to establish telecommunication links, civil aviation overflights, and visas for business travelers if Israel agreed to halt settlement activity outside the security barrier. Although such hopes are likely premature for this inaugural trip, U.S. officials may decide to pursue related opportunities once the talks are over. On settlements, in deference to Trump, Netanyahu has been content to speak of a less precisely defined overall slowdown, having not, for example, relocated settlers evicted by courts from the Amona outpost. But he has averted a hard commitment to a freeze outside the West Bank blocs and the security barrier (territory comprising 92 percent of the West Bank) for fear such a move would spark a crisis with right-wing allies in his domestic coalition.

On Gaza, which was badly damaged as a result of its summer 2014 war with Israel, U.S. officials have met with their Gulf counterparts in advance of the presidential visit to determine prospects for increased electricity and economic infrastructure assistance. Such assistance is in the Israeli interest, given that an unstable Gaza could lead to future military conflicts. 

And on a separate subject, Israeli officials will be eager to hear whether Trump has wrested increased Saudi commitments in countering Iran and fighting the Islamic State. They will certainly press the president on these matters.

Conclusion

In President Trump's first visit to Israel and the Palestinian territories, the United States holds considerable leverage. Thus far, both sides want to avoid the appearance of saying "no" to the new U.S. leader. Assuming this stance holds, the remaining questions will involve how Washington can use the visit as a springboard to devise more concrete, effective policies to meet its priorities: facilitating gains between the Israelis and Palestinians, and countering Iran, the Islamic State, and other forces of extremism.

David Makovsky is the Ziegler Distinguished Fellow and director of the Project on the Middle East Peace Process at The Washington Institute. His publications include the Transition 2017 paper "Toward a New Paradigm for Addressing the Israeli-Palestinian Conflict" (coauthored with Dennis Ross).