أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

صفحات رأي ومقالات

التداعيات الوطنية للانتخابات الكردية

متاح أيضاً في English

مؤسسة كارنيغي للسلام الدولي

10 أيلول/سبتمبر، 2009


انعقدت حكومة إقليم كردستان التي انتُخِبت في يوليو/تموز الماضي لأول مرة في 20 أغسطس/آب، مما أطلق حقبة سياسية جديدة في كردستان العراقي. في حين تملك الكتلة التي تضم الحزب الديمقراطي الكردستاني المسيطر منذ وقت طويل والاتحاد الوطني الكردستاني، حالياً غالبية 59 من أصل 111 مقعداً، يشغل حزب "غوران" (التغيير) الجديد 26 مقعداً، وكتلة الخدمات والإصلاح (التي تضم إسلاميين واشتراكيين) 13 مقعداً، إلى جانب مقاعد قليلة فازت بها أحزاب أصغر و11 مقعداً خُصِّصت للأقليات التركمانية والمسيحية. فضلاً عن ذلك، وبما أن حزب التغيير هو بزعامة مؤسس الاتحاد الوطني الكردستاني، مصطفى نوشيروان، واستمدّ أصواته في شكل أساسي من مناطق كان يسيطر عليها الاتحاد الوطني الكردستاني، على الأرجح أن الوضع الجديد سيؤدي إلى إطلاق دعوات للإصلاح وتغيير القيادة داخل الاتحاد. من شأن ذلك أن يجعله شريكاً أقل موثوقية للحزب الديمقراطي الكردستاني، ويزيد احتمال احتدام الجدل والمقايضات بين الأحزاب في البرلمان.

يتزامن هذا التغيير السياسي في حكومة إقليم كردستان مع مرحلة مهمة في العلاقات مع الحكومة الاتحادية في بغداد، بينما يستعد العراق لإجراء انتخابات وطنية في 16 يناير/كانون الثاني 2010. ليس واضحاً بعد حجم الدور الذي سيؤدّيه الأكراد في الحملات الانتخابية. فمن الممكن أن تركّز الحملات السياسية العراقية على المواضيع القومية العربية على حساب الأكراد، كما يمكن أن تتودّد المجموعات المختلفة إلى الأكراد لإدراكها بأنها ستحتاج إلى أصواتهم في البرلمان الجديد.

إن السيناريو الأكثر ترجيحاً في الوقت الراهن، هو تودّد المجموعات الأخرى إلى الأكراد. سوف يخوض الحزب الديمقراطي الكردستاني والاتحاد الوطني الكردستاني الانتخابات في قائمة واحدة بينما يخوضها حزب التغيير في قائمة أخرى، لكن الكتلتين الكرديتين وافقتا على توحيد أصواتهما في البرلمان الوطني. وهذا يعني أن الأكراد سيفوزون على الأرجح بنحو 50 مقعدا من أصل 275، أي أنهم سيشكلون في الغالب الكتلة الأكبر في البرلمان. وإذا أُقرّ القانون الانتخابي بحسب نصه الحالي، فعلى الأرجح أن الأكراد سيحصلون أيضاً على مقعد في مجلس الرئاسة المؤلف من ثلاثة أعضاء إلى جانب ممثل عن العرب الشيعة وآخر عن العرب السنّة، مما يتيح لهم نقض التشريعات ومنع إقرارها إلا في حالة اجتياز البرلمان المهمة الصعبة وحصوله على غالبية الثلثين. من شأن هذه العوامل أن تجعل الأكراد حليفاً ضروريا لتشكيل الحكومة العراقية المقبلة، ولا سيما إذا ظلت المجموعات العربية منقسمة حول خطوط حزبية ومذهبية.

صحيح أن خطر ظهور مناهضة للأكراد في الانتخابات المقبلة قد تراجع، إلى جانب تعزز الاحتمال بالتوصل إلى تسوية بعد الانتخابات حول مشاطرة العائدات بين الحكومة الاتحادية وحكومة إقليم كردستان، إلا أن الاتفاق على الإدارة المشتركة للأراضي المتنازع عليها سيكون أكثر تعقيداً. المشكلة الأولى التي يجب إيجاد حل لها هي الانتخابات المحلية في كركوك، وهي المحافظة الوحيدة خارج سلطة حكومة إقليم كردستان التي لم تشملها انتخابات المحافظات في 31 يناير/كانون الثاني 2009. لم تتمكّن المجموعات الكردية من الاتفاق على إجراء إحصاء سكاني وطني في 24 أكتوبر/تشرين الأول 2009، فقد ألغي بسبب الحساسية السياسية للمسألة. يريد الحزب الديمقراطي الكردستاني والاتحاد الوطني الكردستاني الآن إجراء انتخابات محلية في كركوك بالتزامن مع الانتخابات الوطنية في 16 يناير/كانون الثاني 2010. وتريد المجموعات التركمانية والعربية في كركوك أن يتم إقرار قانون انتخابي خاص يمنح العدد الأقصى من المقاعد في مجلس المحافظة لكل مجموعة إتنية. يبدو أن الطرفَين يقرّان الآن أن الأكراد يتفوقون إلى حد كبير في العدد على المجموعات الإتنية الأخرى في كركوك، على الرغم من أنه من شأن الخلافات حول من يملك الأهلية للتسجيل بأنه مقيم في المحافظة، أن تقوّض عملية الاقتراع أو التصويت في كركوك.

الدور الدولي

على الرغم من أن بعثة المساعدة التابعة للأمم المتحدة في العراق شكّلت فريقاً خاصاً من القادة الاتحاديين والأكراد الرفيعي المستوى، إلا أن الولايات المتحدة لا تزال تمارس التأثير الخارجي الأساسي في المسائل المتعلقة بالعلاقة بين الحكومة الاتحادية وحكومة إقليم كردستان. من المرتقب أن يتراجع الوجود العسكري الأمريكي في العراق خلال سنة 2010، وأن ينتهي إلى حد كبير في مطلع سنة 2011 (إذا أفضى الاستفتاء في 16 يناير/كانون الثاني 2010 إلى رفض الاتفاق الأمني الأمريكي-العراقي) أو بحلول نهاية سنة 2011 على أبعد تقدير. يضع هذا الولايات المتحدة تحت تأثير ضغوط لدفع العملية السياسية نحو الأمام، وفي الانتظار منع الصدامات المحلية بين العرب والأكراد.

عندما زار رئيس الوزراء نوري المالكي واشنطن في يوليو/تموز 2009، نصحه المسؤولين الأمركيين ببذل مزيد من الجهود السياسية للتوصّل إلى تسوية مع الأكراد. وعندما زارت مجموعة من القادة العسكريين الأمريكيين حكومة إقليم كردستان في أواخر الصيف، حضوا أيضاً القيادة الكردية بقوة على اتخاذ خطوات للحد من التشنّجات. وقد دفعت هذه الضغوط المزدوجة – الأهمية السياسية للأكراد داخل العراق إلى جانب اللوبي الأمريكي – المالكي إلى القيام بزيارته الأولى إلى حكومة إقليم كردستان في الثاني من أغسطس/آب 2009، حيث هنّأ علناً الرئيس مسعود البارزاني على إعادة انتخابه وألقى خطاباً رمزياً لقي استحساناً في حلبجة التي شهدت هجمات بالأسلحة الكيميائية عام 1988 أسفرت عن مقتل أكثر من 5000 مواطن كردي.

في 18 أغسطس/آب 2009، اقترح قائد القوات المتعددة الجنسيات، الجنرال راي أودييرنو، زيادة موقتة في عديد القوات الأمريكية على طول الحدود الداخلية المتنازع عليها بين الحكومة الاتحادية وحكومة إقليم كردستان. من شأن هذه القوة أن تنشئ مقراً أمنياً ثلاثياً بين الولايات المتحدة والحكومة الاتحادية والأكراد على طول الحدود المتنازع عليها لتنسيق الأمن والحد من خطر الصدامات بين القوى الأمنية العربية والكردية. على الرغم من أن الفكرة أصغر في الحجم، إلا أنها تشبه زيادة عدد القوات الأمريكية للحد من العنف المذهبي في وسط العراق عام 2008.

التطلع إلى الأمام

سيشكّل العام المقبل محطة أساسية في العلاقات الاتحادية-الكردية. يعتبر بعض الأنصار المتشدّدين لقيام دولة كردية مستقلة في شمال العراق أن حكومة إقليم كردستان ستكون أفضل حالاً من دون العراق، وتبني بدلاً من ذلك روابط عسكرية واقتصادية مع تركيا، مما يوفّر لأنقرة حدوداً جنوبية مستقلة ومحاوراً في نزاعها مع القومية الكردية. غير أن قادة أكراد آخرين مثل رئيس وزراء حكومة إقليم كردستان، برهام صالح، يرون على الدوام في بغداد شريكة لحكومة إقليم كردستان في المدى الطويل. وعلى الأرجح أن التوازن البرلماني الجديد في حكومة إقليم كردستان يمنح قوة أكبر للأكراد الذين يؤيّدون التوصل إلى تسوية مع بغداد. وتمارس الولايات المتحدة ضغوطاً قوية من أجل التوصل إلى اتفاق بين الحكومة الاتحادية وحكومة إقليم كردستان. غالب الظن أن المجموعات العربية الأساسية سوف تحتاج إلى حليف سياسي كردي لتشكيل حكومة وطنية. تشير هذه العوامل مجتمعة إلى أنه قد يكون هناك أمل بانطلاقة تسوية عربية-كردية سنة 2010.

مايكل نايتس

مايكل نايتس هو باحث لايفر الدولي في معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى.

نشرة الإصلاح العربي: المجلد 7، العدد 7، التاريخ (سبتمبر2009). مؤسسة كارنيغي للسلام الدولي. جميع الحقوق محفوظة. www.carnegieendowment.org/Arabic

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

Articles & Op-Eds

National Implications of the Kurdish Elections

Also available in العربية

Arab Reform Bulletin

September 2009


The Kurdistan Regional Government (KRG) parliament elected in July convened for the first time on August 20, ushering in a new political era in Iraqi Kurdistan. While the bloc including the long-dominant Kurdistan Democratic Party (KDP) and Patriotic Union of Kurdistan (PUK) currently controls a majority of 59 out of 111 seats, the new Gorran ("Change") Party has 26, and the Services and Reform bloc (including Islamists and socialists) has 13, in addition to a few seats won by smaller parties and 11 set aside for Turkoman and Christian minorities. Moreover, because Gorran is led by PUK founder Nawshirwan Mustafa and drew its votes mainly from PUK areas, the new situation is likely to spur calls for reform and leadership change within the PUK. That would make it a less reliable partner for the KDP, and will increase the likelihood of heated debate and multi-party bargaining in the parliament.

This political change in the KRG coincides with an important period in relations with the federal government in Baghdad, as Iraq prepares for national elections on January 16, 2010. It is not yet clear how large a role Kurds will play in the campaign. It is possible that Iraqi political campaigns will stress Arab nationalist themes at the expense of the Kurds, or alternatively that various factions will court Kurds, knowing they will need their votes in the new parliament.

At present, the scenario of other factions courting Kurds seems more likely. The KDP and PUK will contest the national elections as one list and Gorran will compete as another, but the two Kurdish blocs have agreed to pool their votes in the national parliament. This means that Kurds are likely to win some 50 out of 275 seats, which will likely be the largest single bloc in parliament. If electoral legislation is passed as it currently stands, the Kurds will also probably receive a seat on the three-member presidency council alongside a Shi'i Arab and a Sunni Arab representative, allowing them to veto legislation and prevent its passage unless parliament achieves the difficult task of mustering a two-thirds majority. These factors could make the Kurds an indispensable ally in forming the next Iraqi government, particularly if Arab factions remain divided along factional and sectarian lines.

While there is now less risk of an anti-Kurdish theme emerging in the coming elections, as well as strong potential for a post-electoral compromise on federal-KRG revenue sharing, agreeing on the joint administration of disputed territories will be more complex. The first problem to resolve is provincial elections in Kirkuk, the only governorate outside the KRG not included in the January 31, 2009 provincial elections. Kurdish groups were unable to obtain the holding a national census on October 24, 2009--the scheduled census has been cancelled due to the political sensitivity of the issue. The KDP and PUK now want to hold provincial elections in Kirkuk to coincide with the January 16, 2010 national elections. Turkoman and Arab groups in Kirkuk want a special elections law to be passed that allocates more seats on the provincial council to each ethnic group. Both sides appear to recognize that Kurds now significantly outnumber other ethnic groups in Kirkuk, though polling or voting in Kirkuk would be undermined by disagreements over who is eligible to register as a resident of the province.

International Role

Although the United Nations Assistance Mission in Iraq has convened a task force of senior federal and Kurdish leaders, the key external influence on federal-KRG issues remains the United States. The U.S. military presence in Iraq is due to decline during 2010 and largely disappear either at the beginning of 2011 (if the January 16, 2010 referendum rejects the U.S.-Iraq security agreement) or by the end of 2011 at the latest. This puts the United States under pressure to move the political process forward, and to prevent local clashes between Arabs and Kurds in the meantime.

When Prime Minister Nouri al-Maliki came to Washington DC in July 2009, every U.S. official he met advised him to boost his political efforts to reach an accommodation with the Kurds. When a string of senior U.S. military leaders visited the KRG in late summer, they also strongly urged the Kurdish leadership to take steps to reduce tensions. These twin pressures -- the political importance of the Kurds within Iraq as well as U.S. lobbying -- induced Maliki to make his first visit to the KRG on August 2, where he publicly congratulated President Masoud Barzani on his re-election and made a well-received symbolic speech at Halabja, the site of 1988 chemical weapons attacks that killed more than 5,000 Kurdish civilians.

On August 18, Multinational Forces commander General Ray Odierno proposed a temporary increase in the presence of U.S. forces along the federal-KRG disputed internal border. This force would form tripartite U.S.-federal-Kurdish security headquarters along the disputed areas to coordinate security and reduce the risk of clashes between Arab and Kurdish security forces. Though smaller in scale, the idea resembles the U.S. surge of forces deployed to reduce sectarian violence in central Iraq in 2008.

Looking Ahead

The next year will be a critical moment in Iraqi federal-Kurdish relations. Some hard line advocates of an independent Kurdish state in northern Iraq believe that the KRG will eventually be better off without Iraq and will instead form military and economic ties with Turkey, providing Ankara with a stable southern border and an interlocutor in its struggle with Kurdish nationalism. Other Kurdish leaders such as KRG Prime Minister Barham Saleh have consistently looked to Baghdad as the KRG's long-term partner. The new parliamentary balance in the KRG has potentially given more strength to Kurdish advocates of a compromise with Baghdad. Strong U.S. pressure is pushing towards a federal-KRG deal. The major Arab factions will probably need a Kurdish political ally to form a national government. These factors, combined, suggest that there may be hope for the beginning of an Arab-Kurdish compromise in 2010.

Michael Knights is the Lafer International Fellow at the Washington Institute for Near East Policy.