أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 2254

نهج المغرب في مكافحة التطرف العنيف

محمد صلاح التامك

متاح أيضاً في English

16 أيار/مايو 2014


"في 12 أيار/مايو 2014، خاطب محمد صلاح التامك منتدى سياسي في معهد واشنطن. والسيد التامك هو المندوب العام الحالي لـ "إدارة السجون وإعادة الإدماج" في المغرب. وكان قد شغل أيضاً منصب حاكم إقليم وادي الذهب ورئيس ديوان وزير الداخلية ورئيس مشترك لفريق العمل المكلف بالجانب الأمني في "الحوار الاستراتيجي بين الولايات المتحدة والمغرب"، من بين وظائف أخرى. وفيما يلي ملخص المقرر لملاحظاته."

 

في جعبة المغرب سجلٌّ حافلٌ بالنجاحات في مجال مكافحة التطرف العنيف داخل البلاد، بما يتضمنه ذلك من تفكيكٍ لعدة خلايا مرتبطة بنواة تنظيم «القاعدة» أو بفرعها في شمال أفريقيا، تنظيم «القاعدة في بلاد المغرب الإسلامي». وقد تم بالفعل توقيف الآلاف من المشتبه بهم في جرائم الاغتيال والاعتداء والسرقة؛ كما تمت مصادرة مخابئ ضخمة من الأسلحة الثقيلة؛ وأحبطت السلطات عدة محاولات لمهاجمة الأجهزة الأمنية والمرافق السياحية والبعثات الدبلوماسية وأماكن العبادة للمسيحيين واليهود. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، تم تفكيك قناتين لتجنيد الجهاديين في مالي في أواخر عام 2012، فضلاً عن تعاون قوات الأمن المغربية والإسبانية منذ شهرين على تفكيك خلية عابرة للحدود الوطنية تجنّد المقاتلين إلى سوريا ومالي.

وتكمن الصعوبة بمكافحة العنف الإرهابي على امتداد الصحراء الكبرى والساحل الأفريقي في الشبكات الواسعة المتعددة الجنسيات التي انبثقت في تلك المناطق مستفيدةً من الحدود السهلة الاختراق. وتحافظ تلك الشبكات على روابط وثيقة مع المجتمعات المحلية، الأمر الذي يفسح المجال أمام المهربين وتجار المخدرات والمنظمات الإجرامية العابرة للحدود الوطنية للإزدهار فيها. ومثال عن ذلك هو تنظيم «القاعدة في بلاد المغرب الإسلامي»، الذي حافظ على صموده لا بل ضاعف أعمال عصاباته على الرغم من الخسائر الفادحة التي تكبّدها خلال العملية العسكرية الفرنسية في مالي. وتتسع شبكة تحالفاته لتضم "أنصار الشريعة في ليبيا" وجماعة "بوكو حرام" في نيجيريا و"حركة الشباب الإسلامية" في الصومال؛ وتهدد هذه الجماعات المراكز الحكومية والعسكرية في العواصم الأفريقية فضلاً عن البعثات الغربية في سائر أنحاء المنطقة.

تقوية جهود مكافحة الإرهاب الإقليمي

من أجل وضع سياسات فعالة لمكافحة الإرهاب في جميع أنحاء العالم الإسلامي، لا بد من تقوية الحركات الديمقراطية وتفادي ظهور الحركات المناصرة لـ تنظيم «القاعدة» على الصعيدين المحلي والإقليمي، بالإضافةً إلى التشجيع على الاعتدال والتسامح في التعليم. وفي إطار السعي إلى تحقيق هذه الغايات، ينبغي على الشركاء الغربيين أن يقدموا الدعم التقني والمساعدات التنموية الضرورية للحكومات الضعيفة في الصحراء الكبرى والساحل الأفريقي. ولا بد أن تقترن الأعمال الاستخباراتية والدعم اللوجستي وتدريب القوات الخاصة باستثمارات اقتصادية واجتماعية من أجل ضمان تطبيق برامج مكافحة الإرهاب بنجاح.

ومن جهته يعمل المغرب اليوم مع شركائه الإقليميين على مكافحة التطرف العنيف في المستويات السياسية والدينية والاقتصادية والأمنية. وتشمل هذه الجهود الحفاظ على الاستقرار السياسي وسلامة الأراضي في دول الصحراء الكبرى والساحل الأفريقي، وذلك عن طريق تعزيز الديمقراطية وحقوق الإنسان والدبلوماسية فضلاً عن مكافحة قوى التطرف عبر توسيع البرامج التعليمية التي تشجع على الاعتدال والنسبية الثقافية والتفكير الناقد، وكذلك من خلال إعادة النظر في المساعدات المباشرة التي غالباً ما تعمل على إيصال الأموال إلى أيدي الزعماء الفاسدين، وتقوية البلدان المجاورة من خلال الدعم التقني وتنمية قدراتها من أجل مكافحة الإتجار غير المشروع وانتشار الجماعات الإرهابية.

وفي هذا السياق، أثبت الملك محمد السادس التزامه بتعميق التعاون مع البلدان المجاورة عبر القيام بعدة زيارات رسمية إليها والتوقيع على عدد غير مسبوق من اتفاقيات الشراكة الاقتصادية. كما أنه أعرب عن دعمه للجهود المشتركة التي تبذل لمكافحة التطرف، في الوقت الذي أبدى فيه المسؤولون من ساحل العاج والنيجر وتونس وغينيا استعدادهم لتدريب أئمّتهم في المغرب.

تداعيات الحرب في سوريا

على غرار العديد من الدول الأوروبية والعربية، يحاول المغرب كبح تجنيد الجهاديين المتجهين إلى سوريا ومنعهم من الانخراط في أعمال إرهابية لدى عودتهم من الحرب مزودين بقدرات جديدة. وحتى اليوم، غادر ما يقارب الألف مغربي للانضمام إلى القتال؛ وعند وصولهم إلى سوريا، التحق معظمهم بـ "حركة شام الإسلام"، تلك الجماعة المعارضة التي أسسها جهادي من المغرب. وتسعى هذه الحركة إلى تدريب المجندين على صنع المتفجرات واستعمال الأسلحة الثقيلة قبل أن تعيدهم للقتال في المغرب. وقد تمكنت المملكة المغربية حتى الآن من زجّ 199 من هؤلاء الجهاديين في السجن، من ضمنهم 182 شخصاً اعتقلوا خلال محاولتهم مغادرة البلاد إلى سوريا و17 شخصاً ألقي القبض عليهم عند عودتهم من الحرب.

لقد انضمت الولايات المتحدة إلى الدول الأوروبية ودول شمال أفريقيا من أجل معالجة مشكلة المقاتلين الأجانب القادمين من سوريا والمتجهين إليها، وسوف يعقد مؤتمر بهذا الشأن في المغرب خلال شهر حزيران/يونيو. وفي الواقع أن الرباط منخرطة في تعاون وثيق مع الدول الأوروبية التي تواجه الخطر نفسه، أي الجهاديين العائدين إلى الوطن، بما فيها فرنسا وإسبانيا وبلجيكا. إلا أن المغرب لم يُقِم فعلياً أي تعاون أمني مع الجزائر على الرغم من التهديدات المشتركة التي يواجهها كلا البلدين - وهذا واقعٌ من شأنه إضعاف احتمالات تبادل المعلومات الإستخبارية والتعاون الفعال حول مسألة الجهاديين. وعلاوة على ذلك، إن الظروف الراهنة في ليبيا تشكل خطراً بالغاً على دول المغرب العربي بسبب افتقارها إلى مؤسسات قوية أو قوات مسلحة قادرة على التصدي للنفوذ المتنامي الذي يكتسبه المقاتلون المتطرفون فيها.

اجتثاث التطرف ومكافحة التطرف العنيف

تهدف الجهود التي تبذل في العالم أجمع لاجتثاث  التطرف إلى دحر التطرف الديني من خلال معالجة العوامل الكامنة التي تدفع الأفراد للانضمام إلى الجماعات الإرهابية. وقد تبنت بعض الدول بشكلٍ متزايد مسعى إلغاء التطرف كبديلٍ عن القمع، على اعتبار أن هذا الأخير لم ينجح دائماً في معالجة التهديدات. ومن جهتها تبنّت الرباط إلغاء التطرف في مرحلة مبكرة في إطار نهجها المتعدد الأبعاد لمكافحة التطرف الإقليمي. كما صاغت استراتيجيتها ضمن إطار التقاليد الدينية التي تركز على المرونة والاعتدال بدلاً من التطرف.

وفي المغرب، يعتبر الملك أمير المؤمنين، وهو يحتكر السلطة الدينية المحلية بشكلٍ يقمع المناصرين المتطرفين للإسلام السياسي. وهذا يعني أن الدولة المغربية تتحلى بمصداقية روحية أكثر من العديد من الحكومات الإقليمية الأخرى، وحتى أكثر من دول الخليج العربي، مع العلم بأن مؤسساتها الدينية تلقى احترام الدول المجاورة أيضاً. وعلاوة على ذلك، يعتبر المغرب نفسه مجتمعاً ديمقراطياً نموذجياً الذي يجب أن يقوم على الإسلام المتسامح والمنفتح والمعتدل.

ويتمثل أحد العناصر الأساسية من استراتيجية المغرب لمكافحة التطرف في إعادة تنظيم كيانات الدولة الدينية من أجل حماية المواطنين من أشكال الإسلام العدائية والمتطرفة. وقد تضمّن هذا البرنامج تعميم نشرة رسمية عن الأئمة، وتأسيس "مديرية التعليم العتيق" في "وزارة الأوقاف والشؤون الإسلامية" وإلغاء مركزية عمليات الوزارة، إلى جانب مراجعة القوانين التي ترعى أماكن العبادة الإسلامية وتشكيل مجلس ديني في أوروبا للجالية المغربية والاستعانة بالمحطات الإذاعية والتلفزيونية للترويج للتعاليم المعتدلة ومراجعة الكتب والمناهج الدراسية بهدف حذف ما له علاقة بالترغيب المتطرف في العنف. ولهذه الجهود وغيرها أهميةٌ خاصة لا سيما وأن هناك حوالي 50 ألف إمام في المغرب.

وإلى جانب المبادرات الدينية، تتضمن استراتيجية الرباط لمكافحة التطرف مجموعةً من الإصلاحات السياسية التي نصت عليها التعديلات الدستورية الأخيرة ومشروع "الجهوية المتقدمة"، فضلاً عن الخطوات الرامية إلى زيادة احترام حقوق الإنسان وسيادة القانون، ومساعي التنمية الهادفة إلى تفادي تهميش الأفراد والمجتمعات المحلية. وتشكل هذه الجهود وغيرها نموذجاً يمكن للدول الأخرى أن تحتذي به لمكافحة التطرف واجتثاثه، كما برهنه تدريب الأئمة الأجانب في معاهد الاعتدال الديني في المغرب.

أما في السجون المغربية، فقد تم اجتثاث التطرف عبر الإشراف الديني الذي تولته الجهات المسؤولة من "وزارة الأوقاف والشؤون الإسلامية" وكذلك أعضاء من المجالس الدينية المحلية والإقليمية. وفي عام 2013 وحده، زار هؤلاء المسؤولين ما يقرب من 5 آلاف شخص من المجرمين المسجونين. واليوم يشكل المتطرفون المعتقلون واحد في المائة من إجمالي الأسرى في المغرب، أو ما يعادل 600 سجين من أصل 74 ألفاً. وبعد أن باءت محاولة عزلهم بالفشل، بات هؤلاء المُدانين المتطرفين يختلطون بعامة الأسرى في أكثر من نصف سجون البلاد.

وأحد العناصر الجوهرية الأخرى لإلغاء التطرف بين السجناء هو إعادة دمجهم في المجتمع بنجاح. ومن هذا المنطلق، يُمنح الأسرى المغاربة فرصة متابعة تحصيلهم العلمي لكي ينالوا شهادات جامعية. وفضلاً عن ذلك، تقيم الحكومة شراكات مع المؤسسات الخاصة لتوفير فرص العمل والتدريب والتوظيف في النهاية لهؤلاء السجناء بعد الإفراج عنهم. وتجدر الإشارة إلى أن هذه الشراكات بين القطاعين العام والخاص جوهريةٌ لإعادة الدمج، لأن العمالة وتنمية المهارات تحدان من احتمال عودتهم إلى حياة الإجرام ولأن الحكومة عاجزة عن تأمين عمل لكل سجين بمفردها.

وخير مثال عن مساعي إلغاء التطرف هذه هو تصالح الحكومة مع رمز السلفية المتطرفة السابق محمد الفزازي - كجزء من مسعىً أوسع للعفو عن السلفيين المصلَحين في أعقاب الاحتجاجات التي انبثقت عام 2011 بوحي من "الربيع العربي". وفي الواقع أن العديد من هؤلاء السلفيين كانوا على استعداد للانعتاق حقاً من التطرف حينما أفسح لهم المجال للاندماج في الحياة السياسية. أما الفزازي فكان فد قضى في السجن عدة سنوات بسبب تحريضه على العنف ضد الأجانب وضلوعه في تفجيرات الدار البيضاء عام 2003، ومع ذلك كان التحوّل الذي أظهره عند إطلاق سراحه كافياً لأن يُطلب منه أن يكون الخطيب في صلاة الجمعة أمام الملك.

 

أعد هذا الملخص جيرمي برينستر.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 2254

Morocco's Approach to Countering Violent Extremism

Mohamed Salah Tamek

Also available in العربية

May 16, 2014


A Moroccan statesman discusses efforts to counter terrorism and violent extremism in one of the most stable parts of the region.

On May 12, 2014, Mohamed Salah Tamek addressed a Policy Forum at The Washington Institute. The current delegate-general of Morocco's Penitentiary and Reintegration Administration, Tamek has also served as a provincial governor, chief of staff to the interior minister, and head of the security portion of the U.S.-Morocco Strategic Dialogue, among other posts. The following is a rapporteur's summary of his remarks.

Morocco has had a largely successful record of countering violent extremism within its borders, including the dismantling of numerous cells linked to al-Qaeda core or its North African offshoot, al-Qaeda in the Islamic Maghreb (AQIM). Thousands of suspects have been arrested for perpetrating assassinations, assaults, and robberies; huge caches of heavy weapons have been confiscated; and authorities have foiled many attempts to attack security services, tourist attractions, diplomatic delegations, and places of worship for Christians and Jews. In addition, two channels of recruitment for jihadists in Mali were dismantled in late 2012, and two months ago, Moroccan and Spanish security forces jointly dismantled a transnational cell recruiting fighters for Syria and Mali.

The difficulty of countering terrorist violence across the Sahara and Sahel lies in the vast, multinational networks that have arisen there, facilitated by porous borders. These networks have close ties with local communities, allowing smugglers, drug dealers, and transnational criminal organizations to thrive there. For example, AQIM has survived and even increased its guerrilla activities despite huge losses suffered during the French operation in Mali. Its network of alliances extends to Ansar al-Sharia in Libya, Boko Haram in Nigeria, and al-Shabab in Somalia. These groups threaten government and military sites in African capitals as well as Western delegations across the region.

BOLSTERING REGIONAL COUNTERTERROR EFFORTS

Establishing effective counterterror policies across the Muslim world requires strengthening democratic movements, preventing the rise of local and regional al-Qaeda affiliates, and encouraging moderation and tolerance in education. Toward these ends, Western partners should provide technical assistance and substantial development aid to vulnerable governments across the Sahara and Sahel. Intelligence, logistical support, and special forces training must be paired with economic and social investments to ensure that counterterrorism programs can be successfully implemented.

For its part, Morocco is working with regional partners to counter violent extremism at the political, religious, economic, and security levels. These efforts include maintaining political stability and territorial integrity in Sahara and Sahel countries by bolstering democracy, human rights, and diplomacy; combatting the forces of radicalization by expanding educational programs that promote moderation, cultural relativism, and critical thinking; reevaluating direct aid that often funnels money to corrupt leaders; and strengthening neighbors through technical support and capacity building in order to combat illegal trafficking and the spread of terrorist groups.

King Muhammad VI has demonstrated his commitment to deeper cooperation with neighboring countries by embarking on several state visits and signing an unprecedented number of economic partnership conventions. He has also expressed support for joint efforts to combat radicalization, and officials from Cote d'Ivoire, Niger, Tunisia, and Guinea have indicated a willingness to train their imams in Morocco.

REPERCUSSIONS OF THE SYRIA WAR

Like many European and Arab countries, Morocco is attempting to stem the recruitment of Syria-bound jihadists and prevent them from engaging in terrorist activities when they return from the war with newfound capabilities. Roughly a thousand Moroccans have left to fight thus far; once in Syria, most of them have joined Harakat Sham al-Islam, an opposition faction formed by a Moroccan jihadist. This group seeks to train recruits in bombmaking and heavy weapons before sending them back to fight in Morocco. The kingdom has jailed 199 such jihadists thus far, including 182 who were arrested while attempting to leave for Syria and 17 who were captured upon returning from the war.

The United States has joined European and North African countries in addressing the problem of foreign fighters heading to and from Syria, and a conference on the matter will be held in Morocco in June. Indeed, Rabat enjoys very strong cooperation with European countries facing the same threat of jihadist returnees, including France, Spain, and Belgium. Yet Morocco has virtually no security cooperation with Algeria despite the common threats they face -- a situation that undermines prospects for intelligence sharing and efficient coordination on the jihadist issue. Furthermore, current conditions in Libya pose a significant threat to the Maghreb countries, as there are no strong state institutions or armed forces to counter the growing power of extremist militants there.

DERADICALIZATION AND CVE

Deradicalization efforts worldwide seek to roll back religious extremism by tackling the underlying factors that motivate individuals to join terrorist groups. Some states have increasingly embraced deradicalization as an alternative to repression, since the latter has not always been effective in addressing the threat. Rabat adopted deradicalization at an early stage as part of its multidimensional approach to countering regional extremism. Its strategy is framed by religious traditions that emphasize flexibility and moderation as opposed to extremism.

In Morocco, the king is recognized as commander of the faithful and enjoys a monopoly on domestic religious authority that shuts out radical proponents of political Islam. This means that the Moroccan state has more spiritual credibility than many other regional governments, even those in the Persian Gulf, and its religious institutions are respected by its neighbors. Moreover, Morocco sees itself as a model democratic society that must be based on tolerant, open, and moderate Islam.

One essential component of Morocco's counterradicalization strategy is reorganization of the state's religious structures to protect citizens from invasive, extreme forms of Islam. This program has included publishing an official bulletin of imams; creating a Directorate of Religious Education within the Ministry of Islamic Affairs and decentralizing the ministry's operations; reviewing laws governing Muslim places of worship; establishing a religious council in Europe for the Moroccan diaspora; using radio and television to promote moderate teachings; and reviewing textbooks and syllabi to eliminate radical exhortations to violence. These and other efforts are particularly important given that Morocco has around 50,000 imams.

Alongside religious initiatives, Rabat's counterradicalization strategy includes the political reforms embraced by the latest constitutional amendments and the "Advanced Regionalization" program; steps to increase respect for human rights and the rule of law; and development efforts to prevent the marginalization of individuals and communities. These and other efforts can be used as a model for counter- and deradicalization in other countries, as seen in Morocco's training of foreign imams at schools of religious moderation.

In Morocco's prison system, deradicalization is accomplished through religious supervision carried out by authorities from the Ministry of Islamic Affairs and members of regional and local religious councils. In 2013 alone, these officials visited roughly 5,000 incarcerated offenders. Today, detained extremists represent about 1 percent of Morocco's prison population, or 600 out of 74,000 total prisoners. After a failed experiment in isolating these radicalized convicts, they are now intermingled with the general prison population in over half of the country's penitentiaries.

Another crucial element of prisoner deradicalization is successful reintegration into society. Moroccan prisoners are therefore being offered opportunities to study toward university degrees. Additionally, the government is partnering with private companies to provide them with work, training, and eventual employment upon release. These public-private partnerships are critical to reintegration because employment and skill development reduce recidivism, and the government cannot get every prisoner a job on its own.

A powerful example of these deradicalization efforts is the government's rapprochement with former radical Salafist icon Mohamed Fizazi -- part of a wider effort to pardon reformed Salafists in the wake of "Arab Spring"-inspired protests that emerged in 2011. Many such Salafists were willing to genuinely break from radicalism when presented with an opportunity for political integration. For his part, Fizazi was imprisoned years ago for preaching violence against foreigners and for his ties to the 2003 Casablanca bombings, yet he exhibited sufficient transformation upon his release that he was asked to lead Friday prayers in front of the king.

This summary was prepared by Jeremy Brinster.