أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 1668

محمود عباس يزور واشنطن: اقتباسات رئيسية من تصريحاته

ديفيد ماكوفسكي

متاح أيضاً في English

15 يونيو 2010


خلال زيارته إلى واشنطن الأسبوع الماضي، شارك رئيس السلطة الفلسطينية محمود عباس في ثلاث مناسبات عامة متتالية لم يسبق لها مثيل، [أدلى خلالها بتصريحات علنية] وضح فيها مواقفه تجاه مجموعة من القضايا. وتضمنت تلك المناسبات حفل عشاء مفتوح للصحافة استضافه المحسن دانيال أبراهام، وظهوره في برنامج تلفزيوني من على قناة "پي. بي. إس" مع تشارلي روز، وإلقائه كلمة في معهد بروكينغز.

وخلال تلك المناسبات، نقل عباس إلى مستمعيه -- عدة مرات -- معتقداته بأن الإسرائيليين والفلسطينيين على حد سواء هم بحاجة ماسة إلى السلام لكي يتجنبوا وقوع المزيد من التطرف. وعرف السلام بصورة واضحة بأنه "نهاية المطالبات" و "نهاية الصراع"، وهي مصطلحات كان الإسرائيليون وغيرهم قد انتظروا طويلاً لكي يسمعوا منه قولها.

وفي الوقت نفسه، كان عباس واضحاً بصورة جلية حول شروط السلام. وأكد من جديد أن خط الأساس لمبادلة الأراضي -- فكرة التعويض عن أراضي داخل إسرائيل مقابل ضم كتل استيطانية -- يجب أن يكون حدود ما قبل عام 1967. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، أوضح بأنه سيوافق على أي ترتيبات أمنية طويلة الأمد داخل الأراضي الفلسطينية [بمشاركة] طرف ثالث، طالما لا تشمل الإسرائيليين. وادعى أن الولايات المتحدة وإسرائيل والسلطة الفلسطينية كانوا قد توصلوا إلى اتفاق حول هذا الموضوع خلال الفترة 2007-2008، عندما كان جيمس جونز المبعوث الأمني السابق في الشرق الأوسط (وهو يشغل حالياً منصب مستشار الرئيس أوباما لشؤون الأمن القومي). بيد، لا تشاطر واشنطن وإسرائيل هذا الرأي. وفي موضوع رئيسي آخر، قال عباس بأن القدس الشرقية يجب أن تكون عاصمة فلسطين، والقدس الغربية عاصمة إسرائيل. وفيما يتعلق باللاجئين، أشار إلى الحاجة إلى التوصل إلى حل "يُتفق عليه" مع إسرائيل.

لقد كانت الفكرة الرئيسية والشاملة التي تناولتها زيارة عباس إلى واشنطن هي تصريحاته المتكررة حول المفاوضات غير المكتملة التي أجراها مع رئيس الوزراء الإسرائيلي السابق إيهود اولمرت كمعيار لشروط سلام مماثلة مع حكومة نتنياهو. كما أنه أعطى [تصريحاً مثّل] أيضاً اعترافاً نادراً حول الوجود اليهودي التاريخي في المنطقة. وأخيراً، دعا عباس إلى إجراء تحقيق دولي حول الغارة على "أسطول غزة"، ورفع الحصار.

وفيما يلي اقتباسات جديرة بالذكر من تصريحات عباس خلال المناسبات التي شارك فيها في واشنطن.

"أسطول غزة" والحصار

"لا ينبغي أن يُترك التحقيق في يد إسرائيل. إسرائيل لا تستطيع أن تحقق نفسها، يجب أن يكون التحقيق دولياً على النحو الذي اقترحه الأمين العام للامم المتحدة.... مطلبنا الرئيسي هو كيف يمكن إنهاء الحصار المفروض على غزة، وأعتقد ان العالم كله الآن، العالم كله يقف معنا".

"لقد شارك أكثر من إثنين وثلاثين بلداً في هذا الأسطول، ويتعاطف العديد من دول العالم مع ما حدث، وخاصة أن إسرائيل قامت قبل كل شئ بمهاجمة قافلة في المياه الدولية، وهو [عمل] غير قانوني وغير مقبول دولياً".

التعاون الأمني مع الولايات المتحدة وإسرائيل

"أستطيع أن أقول لكم بأن هناك تعاون مطلق وكامل بين أجهزتنا [الحكومية] والوكالات الإسرائيلية في المجال الأمني وكذلك مع الأطراف [المعنية] في الولايات المتحدة ومع الجنرالات الذين يساعدوننا في هذا المسعى".

"و [فيما يخص] السلطة الفلسطينية، لم يقع خلال أكثر من ثلاث سنوات حتى لو حادث واحد ضد إسرائيل في الضفة الغربية. إنني حريص على تمتع إسرائيل بالأمن، وأقول ذلك بصراحة، لا أريد أن يكون الإسرائيليون قلقون بسبب انعدام الأمن، وبصورة مماثلة لا أريد أن يعاني شعبي من الإجتياحات والإنتهاكات التي يقوم بها الإسرائيليون كل يوم تقريباً".

الترتيبات الأمنية للدولة الفلسطينية

قال [الرئيس محمود] عباس أنه سيكون على استعداد لقبول نشر [قوات عسكرية] من قبل طرف ثالث، مثل "منظمة حلف شمال الأطلسي"، لكي تقوم بتنفيذ ترتيبات أمنية مقبولة بصورة متبادلة [بين الطرفين] لأي فترة زمنية ترغبها إسرائيل. وقال أنه لا يمانع إذا كان ذلك "عشرون" عاماً: "سوف نوافق على فترة وجودها، وموقعها، وأين سيتم نشرها، فضلاً عن مهامها، مع الإتفاق بأن ذلك سيكون تحت قيادة الولايات المتحدة".

"لن أقبل أن يبقى إسرائيلي واحد على الأراضي الفلسطينية. إذا يوافقون على ذلك، أنني مستعد [أيضاً]. وهذا من الإنصاف. هذا من الإنصاف. أولمرت كان قد وافق على ذلك".

محادثات القرب والمباحثات المباشرة

"نحن الآن في [مرحلة] المحادثات غير المباشرة. نتحدث عن أي إنجاز، تقدم، تقوم به [الـ] حكومة الإسرائيلية حول العناصر الأساسية: الأمن والحدود. [إذا كانت هناك] أي لافتة إيجابية، سنذهب إلى... المحادثات المباشرة".

"نريد هذه الدولة، [التي هي] 22 في المائة من [أرض] فلسطين بكاملها. نحن نقبلها. [لن يكون هناك] المزيد من المطالب. ليس أكثر. نهاية المطالبات... نهاية الصراع."

حساب الحدود ومقايضات الأراضي

"على الإسرائيليين قبول موضوع الحدود، وعندما نتحدث عن الحدود، نطلب تنفيذ الشرعية الدولية وهذا يعني حدود عام 1967. لقد وافقنا على ذلك مع حكومة أولمرت، وهذا هو الأساس للمفاوضات التي يجب ان تكون حول حدود عام 1967. وهناك إمكانية للقيام ببعض المبادلات أو عمل بعض التغييرات ذات الصلة من قبل كلا الجانبين.... وقد ناقشنا ذلك أيضاً مع حكومة أولمرت، ونحن نطلب من حكومة نتنياهو أن تستمر في التقدم بناءاً على ذلك".

القدس

"نحن نقول أن القدس الغربية هي عاصمة إسرائيل. القدس الشرقية هي أرض محتلة منذ عام 1967.... حقنا هو القدس الشرقية. لقد كرر رئيس الوزراء [الإسرائيلي] إيهود أولمرت مرات عديدة -- الأحياء الفلسطينية ستكون جزءاً من العاصمة الفلسطينية، والأحياء اليهودية ستكون عاصمة إسرائيل".

اللاجئون الفلسطينيون

"نريد حل عادل ومتفق عليه وفقاً لـ [قرار الأمم المتحدة] رقم 194، وهذا يعني أنه سيتم طرح هذا الموضوع على الطاولة [و] سيتم الإتفاق عليه. لا أتمكن أن أفرض أي شيء على إسرائيل... أن تقبله أو ترفضه، ولكن يتعين علينا أن نناقش [ذلك]. إنه أحد البنود المنصوص عليها من قبلنا في أوسلو. إنها إحدى القضايا الرئيسية. كيف يمكننا ايجاد حل لذلك؟ لا أحد يستطيع أن يتجاهل بأن هناك خمسة ملايين لاجئ تم ترحيلهم من منازلهم. علينا أن نجد حلاً لهم. ما هو الحل، حل متفق عليه؟"

[قرار] فلسطيني أو تفويض من قبل الجامعة العربية؟

"لا يوجد تناقض بين [قيام] تفويض [من قبل] الجامعة العربية وبين القرار الفلسطيني المستقل. لماذا؟ لأنني أذهب إلى العرب لأطلب منهم، للتحدث معهم، وآخذ بركتهم، ليس بركة فحسب، بل تفويض [أيضاً]. ثم أذهب إلى "منظمة التحرير الفلسطينية"... واللجنة المركزية لحركة «فتح»، لكي تقررا ما إذا كنت مخطئاً أو مصيباً، وللموافقة على ما عملته/[توصلت إليه] مع الجامعة العربية. لذلك، يشارك كلا الجانبين في الشئ نفسه .... وهو أمر جيد بالنسبة لنا لأن جميع العرب ملتزمون الآن [تجاه هذا الموضوع] ".

عملية السلام والمصلحة الوطنية الأمريكية

"هذه هي المرة الأولى التي نسمع من إدارة أميركية بأن... الحل القائم على دولتين هو في/[يخدم] المصلحة الحيوية للولايات المتحدة".

تفضيل خطة سلام أمريكية

"أنا لا أطلبها، ولكن كنت أتمنى لو تكون قد حصلْتُ عليها. أأمل وأتمنى أن الوقت سيأتي عندما ستكون [خطة سلام أمريكية]، على الأقل جزءاً من الحل، [تقول فيه واشنطن للإسرائيليين والفلسطينيين] '[إن الأمر] هنا متروك لكم لتختاروا [ما تريدون]. إما أن يستمر هذا النزاع إلى الأبد أو تقوموا بحله بهذه الطريقة".

الحل القائم على دولتين وآفاق الفشل

"أود أن أعرب عن بعض القلق من أن الوضع صعب للغاية وأن الأمل هو [أن يتم التوصل] إلى حل الدولتين -- دولة فلسطين، مستقلة [في وحدة جغرافية] متلامسة وقابلة للحياة تعيش جنباً إلى جنب في سلام واستقرار وأمن مع دولة إسرائيل. وأخشى بأن هذا السياق، هذا المفهوم، قد بدأ يتآكل، وبدأ العالم لا يصدق، ولا يثق بأننا نتمكن من التوصل إلى هذا الحل".

"إذا فشلنا في تحقيق هدفنا، لا أعلم ماذا سيكون المستقبل. لقد بدأ الناس [يشعرون] بخيبة أمل ويأس، وبعضهم لا يؤمن بحل الدولتين. إذا تذهب الآن إلى رام الله، [ترى بأن] بعض المنظمات غير الحكومية [قد قامت بنشر] إعلانات -- 'حل الدولة الواحدة'. نحن لا نحب/[نرغب بـ] ذلك. نريد حل الدولتين، ولكن عندما يفقد الناس الأمل في الحصول على دولة مستقلة، سيفكرون في حل الدولة الواحدة، والإحتلال -- أياً كان، ستكون النتائج سيئة للجميع في المنطقة".

هل رفض أولمرت العرض [الذي قُدم إليه]؟

"قال [أولمرت] تفاوضنا [حول] كل شئ. أنا قدمت لهم [عرض] لتبادل [الأراضي]. قدموا لي [عرض] لتبادل [الأراضي]. أرسلت لهم [خريطة]، و [فعلوا] الشئ نفسه.... لم يقبلوا، وهذا يعني أننا لم نرفض أي عرض قادم منهم. وفي الوقت نفسه، كنا نتباحث، وتنحّى عن منصبه".

التحريض الفلسطيني

"لقد تم تشكيل لجنة خلال فترة [إتفاقات] "واي ريفر"، لجنة ثلاثية لمعالجة التحريض.... وفي أي وقت ... يريدون إحياء هذه اللجنة، نحن مستعدون للجلوس حول الطاولة والتحدث عن التحريض من كلا الجانبين. نحن على استعداد، إذا قال الأمريكيون أن هذا التحريض هو من جانب الفلسطينيين، نحن مستعدون للقضاء على أي نوع من التحريض".

"فعلى سبيل المثال، سمعت بأن خطب الجمعة [التي أُلقيت] من بعض المساجد هي/[كانت] ضد إسرائيل. تعرفت على جميع الخطب في الضفة الغربية -- وهذه هي المرة الأولى، إنه هو أول بلد في مختلف أنحاء العالم العربي، في مختلف أنحاء العالم الإسلامي، تم فيه توحيد هذه الخطب، فقط في الضفة الغربية، لأنني لا أريد التحريض ضد أي شخص".

اليهود في تاريخ الشرق الأوسط

"لا أحد ينكر التاريخ اليهودي في الشرق الأوسط. إن ثلث القرآن الكريم يتحدث عن اليهود في الشرق الأوسط، في هذه المنطقة. ليس هناك شخص من قبلنا، على الأقل، ينفي بأن اليهود كانوا في فلسطين، كانوا في الشرق الأوسط".

الإعتراف بالمحرقة

"كنت قد أرسلت سفير [بلادنا] في وارشو -- ربما قبل أربعة أو خمسة أشهر -- للمشاركة في إحياء ذكرى المحرقة، كما أرسلت سفيرنا في موسكو للمشاركة في المناسبة ذاتها، لماذا؟ لأنني أريد أن أقول للجميع بأن هؤلاء الناس عانوا ونحن نعاني [أيضاً]. والآن نريد [أن يحل] السلام بين بعضنا البعض. ونحن لا ننكر، كما يقول البعض، بأننا ننكر المحرقة".

إسرائيل كدولة قومية للشعب اليهودي؟

"يمكن لإسرائيل أن تسمي نفسها ما تشاء. إن الأمر متروك للإسرائيليين ليسمون أنفسهم ما يشاؤون، وقلت يمكنهم أن يسمون أنفسهم امبراطورية الشعب اليهودي والصهيوني في جميع أنحاء العالم. إن الأمر متروك لهم لتسمية أنفسهم، إن [هذا] العمل لا يخصني [فيما يتعلق بـ] قبوله أو رفضه".

العلاقة مع فياض، التوتر داخل حركة «فتح»

"فياض هو رئيس وزرائنا، وهناك بعض الناس المعارضين، [خارج وداخل] حركة «فتح» [على حد سواء]. والآن، إذا تَذْكر أسمه [بين ناشطي] حركة «حماس»، سيتعصبون، ويغضبون. إني أؤمن [بكفاءة] سلام فياض. أؤمن بأن سلام فياض هو رجل قدير ومؤهل، هو رجل جيد لـ/[كفوء في] منصبه، وأنا أثق به. هو رئيس وزرائنا، بغض النظر إذا كان هناك البعض من المعجبين [به] أم المستائين [منه داخل] حركة «فتح»، [هذا] لا يهم".

حركة «حماس» والإنتخابات

"يجب أن يأتوا إلى الإنتخابات.... الإنتخابات هي عملية. [بإمكانك أن] تفوز اليوم وتخسر غداً، كما لديكم هنا، ديمقراطيون وجمهوريون، ولكن ليس.... فوز إلى الأبد. يعتقدون أنهم [فازوا] إلى الأبد: 'فزنا، هذا كل شيء' ".

نظرة إيران إلى المصالحة الفلسطينية

"ترغب إيران استخدام حركة «حماس» لأهدافها الخاصة. ولهذا السبب تقوم بربط [ناشطي «حماس»] أو دفعهم إلى عدم التوقيع [على اتفاقية المصالحة]".

خالد مشعل كزعيم حركة «حماس»

"خالد مشعل هو الذي يمثل حركة «حماس»، فهو... رئيس المكتب السياسي لحركة «حماس»، وبالتالي [إذا] لا توجد أي مصالحة، هذا يعني أنه يوقفها".

المساعدة المالية لميزانية غزة

"نحن كسلطة فلسطينية، ندفع 58 في المائة [من] الميزانية العامة للسلطة إلى غزة، في غزة. [كما] ندفع 58 في المائة من رواتب موظفي الكهرباء والماء والوقود، والتعليم، والصحة.... لا نريد معاقبة الشعب الفلسطيني بسبب ما فعلته «حماس» عندما قامت بانقلابها".

'ثقافة السلام' في الضفة الغربية

"يعيش الشعب الفلسطيني الآن في ثقافة جديدة في الضفة الغربية.... إذهب الآن، إذهب إلى الضفة الغربية وقل للناس: 'لنذهب ونفعل/[نشعل] انتفاضة ثانية'. سوف لن تجد شخصاً واحداً، لماذا؟ لأن ثقافة السلام قد انتشرت بينهم، ولكن استمرار الإحتلال يجعل الناس يبتعدون عن تفكيرهم العقلاني، وهو الذي ما يفكرون فيه الآن، من الناحية العقلانية.... إننا نؤمن بالسلام. حكومتنا تؤمن بالسلام. نحن نفرض الأمن في كل مكان، لذلك شعر الناس بالأمن والأمان، ومن ثم بدأت تأتي التنمية الاقتصادية، تأخذ محلها. ثم بدأنا بعد ذلك بإقناع الناس في المدارس، في المساجد بأن السلام ضروري [للمنطقة]. لذلك تحولت الثقافة من ثقافة العنف إلى ثقافة السلام".

ديفيد ماكوفسكي هو زميل زيغلر المميز ومدير مشروع عملية السلام في الشرق الأوسط في معهد واشنطن.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 1668

Mahmoud Abbas Visits Washington: Key Quotes

David Makovsky

Also available in العربية

Policy #1668

June 15, 2010


Palestinian Authority (PA) president Mahmoud Abbas conducted an unprecedented sequence of three public events during his visit to Washington last week, during which he articulated his positions on a range of issues. The events included an on-the-record dinner hosted by philanthropist Daniel Abraham, a television appearance with PBS host Charlie Rose, and a speech at the Brookings Institution.

Throughout, Abbas repeatedly conveyed his belief that both Israelis and Palestinians urgently need peace to avert further radicalization. He explicitly defined peace as "an end of claims" and "end of conflict," terms Israelis and others have long waited to hear him use.

At the same time, Abbas was equally explicit about the conditions for peace. He reaffirmed that the baseline for land swaps -- the idea of offsetting land within Israel in return for annexing settlement blocs -- must be the pre-1967 borders. Additionally, he made clear that he would agree to any long-term third-party security arrangements within Palestinian territory as long as they did not include Israelis. He claimed that the United States, Israel, and the PA reached agreement on this issue during the 2007-2008 tenure of former Middle East security envoy James Jones (currently President Obama's national security advisor). Washington and Israel do not share this view, however. On another key issue, Abbas stated that east Jerusalem should be the capital of Palestine, and west Jerusalem the capital of Israel. Regarding refugees, he indicated the need to reach an "agreed upon" solution with Israel.

An overarching theme of Abbas's visit was his repeated invocation of the incomplete negotiations he conducted with former Israeli prime minister Ehud Olmert as a baseline for comparable peace terms with the Netanyahu government. He also issued a rare acknowledgement of the historic Jewish presence in the region. Finally, regarding the Gaza flotilla raid, Abbas called for an international inquiry into the incident and a lifting of the blockade.

Below are noteworthy quotes from Abbas's Washington speaking engagements.

Gaza Flotilla and Blockade

"The investigation should not be left in the hands of Israel. Israel cannot investigate itself. The investigation should be international as proposed by the UN secretary-general.... Our main demand is how to end the blockade on Gaza, and I believe that the whole world now, the entire world stands with us."

"More than thirty-two countries took part in this flotilla, and many world countries sympathized with what happened, particularly since Israel first of all attacked [a] convoy in international waters which is unlawful, unacceptable internationally."

Security Cooperation with the United States and Israel

"I can tell you there is absolute and total cooperation between our agencies and the Israeli ones on the security area as well as parties from the United States and the generals that have been helping us in this endeavor."

"As the Palestinian Authority, for more than three years, there was not one single incident against Israel in the West Bank. I am keen on having the security of Israel, and I say it frankly. I do not want the Israelis to worry because of insecurity in the same way I don't want my people to suffer from invasions and the violations that are taking place almost daily on the part of the Israelis."

Security Arrangements for a Palestinian State

Abbas said he would be willing to accept the deployment of a third party, such as NATO, to implement mutually acceptable security arrangements for as long as Israel desires. He said he does not mind if this is for "twenty" years: "[W]e would agree on the period for their presence, their location, where they would be deployed, as well as their missions, with the agreement that this would be under the leadership of the United States."

"I will not accept one Israeli to remain on Palestinian territory. If they agree to this, I'm ready. And it's fair. It is fair. Olmert had agreed to it."

Proximity and Direct Talks

"Now we are in the proximity talks. We are talking about any achievement, progress, from [the] Israeli government concerning the two core elements: security and borders. Any positive sign, we will go to...direct talks."

"We want this state, 22 percent out of the whole Palestine. We accept it. No more demands. No more. End of claims...end of conflict."

Calculating Border and Land Swaps

"Israelis have to accept the issue of the border. When we speak about the border, we are asking to have the international legitimacy be implemented and that says the border of 1967. We had agreed upon that with the government of Olmert, and that is the basis of the negotiations, which should be on the borders of 1967. And there is a possibility to do some swapping or some changes that would be respective on both sides....That also we discussed with the government of Olmert, and we are asking the government of Netanyahu to continue proceeding based on that."

Jerusalem

"We say that west Jerusalem is the capital of Israel. East Jerusalem is an occupied territory since 1967.... Our right is east Jerusalem. Prime Minister Olmert reiterated many times -- the Palestinian neighborhoods will be part of the Palestinian capital, and the Jewish neighborhoods will be the Israeli capital."

Palestinian Refugees

"We want [a] just and agreed-upon solution according to [UN Resolution] 194, which means that this issue will be put on the table [and] agreed upon. I cannot impose anything on Israel to accept or to reject, but we have to discuss. It is one of the items we stipulated in Oslo. It is one of the major issues. How can we find a solution for it? Nobody can ignore that there are five million refugees deported from their houses. We should find a solution for them. What is the solution, agreed-upon solution?"

Palestinian or Arab League Mandate?

"There is no contradiction between [a] mandate [from] the Arab League and the Palestinian independent decision. Why? Because I go to the Arabs to ask them, to talk to them, and take their blessings, not only blessings but [a] mandate. Then I go to the...PLO and to the central committee of al-Fatah, to decide whether I am wrong or right, and to approve what I did with the Arab League. So, both sides are participating in the same...which is good for us because all the Arabs now are committed."

Peace Process and the U.S. National Interest

"This is the first time we hear from a U.S. administration that...the two-state solution is in the vital interest of the United States."

Favoring a U.S. Peace Plan

"I don't ask for it, but I wish it happened. I hope and wish that the time would come that it is at least part of the solution, [with Washington saying to Israelis and Palestinians] 'Here it is up to you to choose. Either this conflict would continue forever or you would solve it this way.'"

Two-State Solution and Prospects of Failure

"I'd like to express some concern that the situation is extremely difficult and that the hope is a two-state solution -- a state of Palestine, independent, contiguous, viable Palestine living side by side in peace and stability and security with the state of Israel. This context, this concept, I fear is beginning to erode. And the world is starting not to believe, to distrust that we're able to reach this solution."

"If we fail to achieve our goal, I don't know what the future will be. The people are becoming disappointed and desperate. Some of them don't believe in a two-state solution. If you go to Ramallah now, some of the NGOs made advertisements -- 'one-state solution.' We don't like it. We want a two-state solution, but when people lose hope to have an independent state, they will think about a one-state solution, occupation -- whatever it is, the results will be bad for everybody in the region."

Olmert Offer Rejection?

"[Olmert] said we negotiated everything. I offered them [a land] swap. They offered me [a] swap. I sent to them [a] map, and [they did] the same....They didn't accept, which means that we didn't reject any offer coming from them. In the meantime, we were discussing. He stepped down."

Palestinian Incitement

"There was a committee established during the era of Wye River, [a] trilateral committee to deal with the incitement. Anytime...they want to revive this committee, we are ready to sit around the table and to talk about the incitement from both sides. We are ready, if the Americans will say that this is incitement from the Palestinians, we are ready to eliminate any kind of incitement."

"For instance, I heard that some of the mosques on Friday, their sermons are against Israel. I identified all the sermons in the West Bank -- it is the first time, it is the first country around the Arab world, around the Islamic world, that these sermons are unified, only in the West Bank, because I don't want incitement against anybody."

Jews in Middle East History

"Nobody denies the Jewish history in the Middle East. A third of holy Quran talks about the Jews in the Middle East, in this area. Nobody from our side, at least, denies that the Jews were in Palestine, were in the Middle East."

Recognition of the Holocaust

"Maybe four or five months ago I sent my ambassador in Warsaw to participate in the Holocaust commemoration, and I sent my ambassador in Moscow to participate in the same occasion. Why? Because I want to tell everyone that these people suffered and we are suffering. Now we want peace between each other. And we do not deny, as some say we deny, the Holocaust."

Israel as a Nation-State of the Jewish People?

"Israel can name itself whatever it wants. It's up to the Israelis to call themselves what they want, and I said they can call themselves the empire of the Jewish and Zionist people around the world. It's up to them to name themselves. It's none of my business to accept or refuse."

Relationship with Fayad, Tension within Fatah

"Fayad is my prime minister. There are some people who are against, [both outside and within] Fatah. Now, if you mention his name with Hamas, they will become mad, furious. I believe Salam Fayad. I believe Salam Fayad is a capable man, is a good man for his post, and I trust him. He is my prime minister, whether some of Fatah likes or dislikes, doesn't matter."

Hamas and Elections

"They should come to the elections.... The election is a process. You win today, tomorrow you lose, as you have here, Democrats and Republicans. But it's not...wins forever. They believe that [they win] forever: 'We won, that's it.'"

Iran's View of Palestinian Reconciliation

"Iran would like to use Hamas for its own objectives. And for that reason it is tying them or pushing them not to sign [reconciliation]."

Khaled Mashal as Hamas Leader

"Khaled Mashal is the one who represents Hamas. He's the...head of the political bureau of Hamas, and therefore [if] there is no reconciliation, it means he's stopping it."

Budgetary Assistance to Gaza

"We as a Palestinian Authority, we pay 58 percent the general budget of the authority to Gaza, in Gaza. The salaries of the employees of electricity, water, fuel, education, health, we pay 58 percent of that.... We don't want to punish the Palestinian people for what Hamas did when it did its coup."

'Culture of Peace' in West Bank

"The Palestinian people now are living in a new culture in the West Bank.... Go now, go to the West Bank and tell people, 'Let us go and do another intifada.' You will not find one person. Why? Because the culture of peace spread among them. But the continuation of the occupation makes people step away from their rational thinking, which is right now what they're thinking, rationally.... We believe in peace. Our government believes in peace. We impose security everywhere. So people felt secure and with security, and then economic development started coming, taking place. And then we started convincing people in schools, in the mosques that peace was necessary. So the culture moved from a culture of violence to a culture of peace."

David Makovsky is the Ziegler distinguished fellow and director of the Project on the Middle East Peace Process at The Washington Institute.