أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

تنبيه سياسي

التوترات الماضية تلقي بظلالها على زيارة الملك سلمان إلى موسكو

آنا بورشفسكايا

متاح أيضاً في English

4 تشرين الأول/أكتوبر 2017


في 4 تشرين الأول/أكتوبر، غادر العاهل السعودي الملك سلمان إلى روسيا وبذلك يكون الملك السعودي الأول على الإطلاق الذي يقوم بمثل هذه الزيارة. وفي اعتراف ربما بأهمية الزيارة، علّق الكرملين آمالاً كبيرة على هذا الاجتماع الذي أُرجئ عدة مرات، حيث وصف المتحدث باسم الكرملين ديميتري بيسكوف السعوديين بأنهم زعماء في العالم العربي. وأضاف: "أملنا الرئيسي هو في أن توفر هذه الزيارة زخماً جديداً وقوياً لتنمية العلاقات الثنائية، لأن إمكانيات علاقاتنا أغنى بكثير مما يُظهره الوضع الراهن".

ولطالما اعتبر الروس الرياض طرفاً إقليمياً مهماً، ويسعون بلا شكّ إلى تعزيز الاستثمار والتجارة أيضاً. كما تُعتبر موافقة الملك أخيراً على القيام بالزيارة انجازاً بالنسبة لفلاديمير بوتين، مما يمثّل اعترافاً آخر رفيع المستوى بأهمية موسكو المتزايدة في الشرق الأوسط. 

وفي معظم تاريخها، كانت العلاقات السعودية-الروسية محدودة أو معدومة أو عدائية بشكلٍ واضح، إذ وجد الطرفان نفسيهما يدعمان قوى متعارضة في المنطقة. ولم تشهد العلاقة سوى لحظات قليلة من التعاون المحتمل في بداياتها. ففي عام 1926 على سبيل المثال، كان الاتحاد السوفيتي البلد الأول الذي يعترف رسمياً بابن سعود حاكماً لشبه الدولة السعودية. وفي المقابل، سمح الملك ببقاء البعثة السوفيتية في جدة. وفي عام 1933، زار الأمير السعودي والملك المستقبلي فيصل الاتحاد السوفيتي، حيث عرض عليه الكرملين قرضاً بقيمة مليون جنيه مقابل رفع الحظر التجاري والتوقيع على معاهدات حول التجارة والصداقة. ومع ذلك، ففي حين رفع ابن سعود الحظر في نهاية المطاف، إلّا أنّه لم يوقّع المعاهدات أو يقبل القرض.      

وسرعان ما شهدت العلاقات ركوداً حين رأى السوفيت أن ابن سعود لن يتحدى الغرب بشكل ناشط، فسحبت موسكو بعثتها الدبلوماسية في عام 1938. وبحلول عام 1958، شعر الكرملين أن السعوديين انضموا إلى المعسكر "الإمبريالي"، رغم استمراره في التعبير أحياناً عن التفاؤل حول إعادة إحياء العلاقات الدبلوماسية. وفي عام 1962، بدا أن البلدين على استعداد للقيام بذلك - إلى أن اندلعت ثورة في شمال اليمن في أيلول/سبتمبر من ذلك العام، مما وضع السوفيت والسعوديين على طرفي نقيض في الصراع. وبعدها، تنافست الدولتان على بسط النفوذ في سلطنة عُمان وجنوب اليمن لغاية سبعينيات القرن الماضي. ومع ذلك، استمر الكرملين بالحديث عن إمكانية تحسين العلاقات، لكن الملك فيصل ظل معادياً لهذه الفكرة إلى حين اغتياله في عام 1975، ليحمل خلفه الملك خالد الشعلة ويواصل المنافسة الثنائية على بسط النفوذ في المنطقة.    

وبحلول عام 1979، بدت الرياض منفتحة على مبادرات موسكو المتجددة في سياق تدهور العلاقات السعودية-الأمريكية، ولكن الباب أُغلق مجدداً في كانون الأول/ديسمبر من ذلك العام عندما اجتاح السوفيت أفغانستان. وسرعان ما برزت السعودية كأحد أبرز معارضي "اتحاد الجمهوريات الاشتراكية السوفيتية" في تلك الحرب وساهمت بشكل فعال في هزيمته الفادحة. ولم يوافق البلدان على استعادة العلاقات الدبلوماسية حتى عام 1990.  

وفي تسعينيات القرن الماضي، انسحبت روسيا إلى حد كبير من الشرق الأوسط، لكنّ بوتين سعى لاحقاً إلى عكس هذا الاتجاه. وفي عام 2007، التقى الملك عبدالله في الرياض، ليصبح بذلك الرئيس الروسي الأول الذي يزور المملكة. لكن حين اجتاحت روسيا جورجيا في عام 2008، لم يعترف السعوديون بجمهوريتي أبخازيا وأوسيتيا الجنوبية الانفصاليتين المدعومتين من موسكو. ومجدداً، توترت العلاقات بعد اندلاع الاحتجاجات المناهضة للنظام في سوريا في آذار/مارس 2011، حيث دعم الكرملين والرياض مرةً أخرى طرفين متعارضين لصراع ما في الشرق الأوسط. وفضلاً عن دعم الرئيس السوري بشار الأسد ضد المتمردين المدعومين من السعودية، اتهمت موسكو الرياض مراراً بتمويل الإرهاب السنّي داخل روسيا.  

ونظراً إلى مجموعة الانتكاسات وحدّة الطبع، لماذا وافق الملك سلمان على عقد اجتماع الآن؟ يتمثل أحد الأسباب الرئيسية في أنّ السعودية غيّرت على ما يبدو موقفها تجاه الأسد في الأسابيع الأخيرة، وتقبّلت أنه سيبقى في السلطة، على الأقل في الوقت الراهن. ومن وجهة نظر عمليّة، ينطوي ذلك على التعامل مع موسكو حول الحرب في سوريا وغيرها من القضايا الإقليمية. ومن الأسباب المحتملة الأخرى أن السعوديين قد يرغبون في البحث عن فرص تعاون بشأن أسعار النفط وصفقات مهمة في مجال الطاقة والتجارة والاستثمار.

من الناحية الجغرافية السياسية، قد تعتبر الرياض أيضاً أن إقامة روابط أوثق مع موسكو يمكن أن يساعد على إبعاد روسيا عن إيران، مما يقلّص بالتالي النفوذ المتزايد للجمهورية الإسلامية في المنطقة. غير أن هذا أمر غير محتمل. فقد سبق أن حاول السعوديون فسخ روابط موسكو مع إيران من خلال الالتزام باستثمار 10 مليارات دولار في روسيا في تموز/يوليو 2015، ولكن بوتين لم يغيّر موقفه من طهران في ذلك الحين ومن غير المرجّح أن يفعل ذلك الآن. وفي هذا السياق، قد تؤدي زيارة الملك السعودي إلى تقارب مع روسيا أو قد لا تؤدي إلى ذلك، لكنها إشارة واضحة أخرى على سطوة بوتين المتزايدة في المنطقة.       

 

آنا بورشفسكايا هي زميلة "آيرا وينر" في معهد واشنطن.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

Policy Alert

King Salman's Moscow Visit Overshadowed by Past Tensions

Anna Borshchevskaya

Also available in العربية

October 4, 2017


The two countries have found themselves at odds on several decades' worth of regional issues, but Riyadh may finally be coming around to Moscow's views on Syria, energy, and trade.

When Saudi Arabia's King Salman arrives in Russia on October 5, he will become the first ever Saudi monarch to make the visit. Perhaps recognizing the trip's landmark status, the Kremlin has expressed high hopes for the frequently postponed meeting, with spokesman Dmitry Peskov describing the Saudis as leaders in the Arab world. "Our main hope," he added, "is that this visit will provide a new, powerful impetus to the development of bilateral relations, because the potential of our relations is much richer than the de facto situation."

The Russians have long considered Riyadh an important regional actor, and they are no doubt looking to boost investment and trade as well. That the king finally agreed to visit is a feather in Vladimir Putin's cap, serving as yet another high-profile acknowledgment of Moscow's growing importance in the Middle East.

For much of their history, Saudi-Russian relations have been limited, nonexistent, or openly antagonistic, as both countries often found themselves supporting opposing forces in the region. A few moments of potential cooperation emerged early in the relationship. In 1926, for example, the Soviet Union became the first country to officially recognize Ibn Saud as ruler of the Saudi proto-state. In return, the king allowed the Soviet mission to remain in Jeddah. And in 1933, Saudi prince and future king Faisal paid a visit to the Soviet Union, where the Kremlin offered him a 1 million pound loan in exchange for lifting a trade embargo and signing treaties on commerce and friendship. Yet while Ibn Saud eventually ended the embargo, he did not sign the treaties or accept the loan.

Relations soon stagnated when the Soviets saw that Ibn Saud would not actively challenge the West, and Moscow withdrew its diplomatic mission in 1938. By 1958, the Kremlin felt that the Saudis had joined the "imperialist" camp, though it continued to express occasional optimism about restoring diplomatic relations. In 1962, the two counties appeared ready to do just that -- until a revolution broke out in North Yemen that September, putting the Soviets and Saudis on opposite sides of the conflict. The two countries then competed for influence in Oman and South Yemen well into the 1970s. The Kremlin still talked about the possibility of improving relations, but King Faisal remained hostile toward the idea until his assassination in 1975, and his successor, King Khalid, continued the bilateral competition for regional influence.

By 1979, Riyadh appeared receptive to Moscow's renewed overtures in the context of deteriorating Saudi-American relations, but the door slammed shut again that December when the Soviets invaded Afghanistan. The Saudis quickly emerged as one of the USSR's chief opponents in that war and contributed significantly to its disastrous defeat. The two countries would not agree to restore diplomatic relations until 1990.

Russia largely retreated from the Middle East in the 1990s, but Putin later sought to reverse that trend. In 2007, he met with King Abdullah in Riyadh, becoming the first Russian head of state to visit the country. Yet when Russia invaded Georgia the next year, the Saudis would not recognize the Moscow-backed separatist republics of Abkhazia and South Ossetia. Relations were strained again after anti-regime protests broke out in Syria in March 2011, with the Kremlin and Riyadh once again supporting opposite sides of a Middle Eastern conflict. In addition to defending Syrian president Bashar al-Assad against the Saudi-backed rebels, Moscow repeatedly accused Riyadh of financing Sunni terrorism within Russia.

Given this string of setbacks and acrimony, why did King Salman agree to hold a meeting now? One key reason is that Saudi Arabia has seemingly shifted its position on Assad in recent weeks and accepted that he will remain in power, at least for now. From a pragmatic standpoint, that entails dealing with Moscow on the Syria war and other regional issues. Another likely reason is that the Saudis may want to explore cooperation on oil prices and major energy, trade, and investment deals.

In geopolitical terms, Riyadh may also believe that establishing closer ties could help move Moscow away from Iran, thereby reducing the Islamic Republic's growing influence in the region. This is improbable, however. The Saudis already tried to erode Moscow's ties with Iran by committing to invest $10 billion in Russia in July 2015, but Putin did not change his posture toward Tehran then and is unlikely to do so now. In this context the king's visit may or may not lead to rapprochement with Russia, but it is clearly another sign of Putin's expanding regional sway.

Anna Borshchevskaya is the Ira Weiner Fellow at The Washington Institute.