أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

صفحات رأي ومقالات

قانون الانتخابات الأردني: إصلاح أم إفساد؟

محمد ياغي

متاح أيضاً في English

منتدى فكرة

4 تشرين الأول/أكتوبر 2012


شهدت المملكة الأردنية الهاشمية في مطلع كانون الثاني/يناير 2011 ظهور حركة إصلاحية طالبت بالتغيير السياسي والاجتماعي. وعلى الرغم من عدم مطالبتها بتغيير النظام، إلا أنها تسعى لعمل إصلاحات دستورية عميقة من شأنها تجريد العاهل الأردني من صلاحياته التنفيذية والتشريعية. والأهم من ذلك أنها تسعى لتحصين البرلمان (مجلس الأمة) ضد حله على يد الملك وإقامة رقابة برلمانية على تشكيل الحكومة (بدلاً من أن يعينها الملك) وأن يكون مجلس الأعيان بالانتخاب المباشر (الذي يعين حالياً من قبل الملك). ويمثل النقاش الدائر في الأردن حول الإصلاح الانتخابي لُب الصراع على السلطة بين الحكومة والمعارضة، مما يعمل على إفساد البيئة السياسية في الوقت الذي تقترب فيه الأردن من الانتخابات البرلمانية المقرر إجراؤها في نهاية هذا العام.

من جانبها، تصر الحكومة على إبقاء قانون انتخابات الدائرة الفردية - الذي دخل حيز التنفيذ في عام 1993. وفي أواخر حزيران/يونيو من هذا العام أقر البرلمان تعديلين على قانون الانتخابات القديم، هما: الأول، اعتماد النظام الانتخابي المختلط الذي يسمح للأردنيين للمرة الأولى بالتصويت على قائمة وطنية مغلقة مكونة من 27 مقعداً (18٪ من إجمالي المقاعد)، بالإضافة إلى 108 مقعداً مخصصة لمحافظات الأردن الاثنتي عشرة. الثاني زيادة حصة المرأة من 12 مقعداً إلى 15 مقعداً. وقد تم تخصيص المقاعد الإضافية الثلاثة للنساء القاطنات في المناطق البدوية. فزاد بذلك مجموع مقاعد البرلمان من 120 مقعداً في آخر انتخابات جرت إلى 150 مقعداً.

وفي المقابل، رفضت المعارضة - التي تتمثل بشكل أساسي في جبهة العمل الإسلامي (IAF) والعديد من الجماعات اليسارية والقومية العربية والحركات الشبابية الناشئة حديثاً - قانون الانتخابات الحالي. وبدلاً من ذلك فإن المعارضة تدعم القانون الانتخابي المختلط الذي يخصص 50٪ من المقاعد للقائمة الوطنية و50٪ الباقين للدوائر الانتخابية. بالإضافة إلى رغبتهم في وجود قانون انتخابات يسمح للناخبين في كل دائرة التصويت لجميع المرشحين في الدائرة. وهم يرون أن قانون انتخابات الدوائر الفردية الحالي يعطي مزايا للقبلية على حساب الأحزاب السياسية.

لقد أعاق الصراع الدائر على قانون الانتخابات الانتهاء من تسجيل الناخبين، الذي بدأ في أوائل آب/أغسطس. فاضطرت الحكومة إلى تمديد فترة التسجيل شهراً آخراً للتغلب على دعوات المعارضة بمقاطعة الانتخابات. وذكر عبد الإله الخطيب - رئيس الهيئة المستقلة للانتخابات - أن الهيئة تخطط لتمديد تلك المهلة خمسة عشر يوماً أخرى. وفي سبيل تحدي جبهة العمل الإسلامي لشرعية الحكومة فإنها تخطط للقيام بمظاهرة حاشدة في الخامس من تشرين الأول/أكتوبر.

يكمن السبب وراء إصرار الحكومة الأردنية على الإبقاء على قانون انتخابات الدوائر الفردية في أنه نظرياً يتيح التمثيل الحقيقي للقوى السياسية والاجتماعية المتنافسة في الانتخابات. ففي عام 1989 - على سبيل المثال - فاز الإسلاميون بثلث مقاعد البرلمان على الرغم من أنهم لم يحصلوا إلا على 20٪ من مجموع الأصوات. ومن هنا لا يعد موقف الحكومة صحيحاً إلا إذا كان عدد ممثلي كل محافظة يعكس الثقل النسبي الديموغرافي لسكانها وإذا كان تقسيم كل محافظة إلى دوائر يمثل بشكل عادل عدد المقاعد الخاصة بها في البرلمان.

ولكن قانون الانتخابات الحالي لا يعكس للأسف هذين الشرطين. فعلى سبيل المثال، تُمثل محافظة الكرك التي يبلغ عدد سكانها 200 ألف نسمة بعشرة أعضاء في البرلمان، في الوقت الذي تُمثل فيه محافظة الزرقاء التي يبلغ عدد سكانها مليون نسمة بأحد عشر نائباً فقط. ويعمل هذا التوزيع غير العادل للمقاعد بين المحافظات على منع مئات الآلاف من الأردنيين من المشاركة في الانتخابات. ومن المعروف جيداً أن نسبة مئوية صغيرة فقط من المجتمع الفلسطيني في الأردن هي التي تشارك في الانتخابات.

وعلاوة على ذلك، تُقسَّم محافظة الكرك إلى ستة دوائر انتخابية في الوقت الذي تُقسَّم فيه محافظة الزرقاء إلى أربعة دوائر انتخابية فقط، مما يجعل من الصعب للغاية على أي حزب سياسي البت في عدد المقاعد التي يجب أن يتنافس عليها. وكما ذكرت كريستين كاو في مقالة بتاريخ 5 تموز/يوليو في مجلة صدى الإلكترونية التابعة لمؤسسة كارنيغي، فإنه إذا قرر أي حزب سياسي التنافس على جميع المقاعد في الدائرة الانتخابية، فسوف تعرضه الأصوات الفردية إلى خطر خسارة جميع المقاعد حيث أنه يستحيل حساب الأصوات التي يحتاجها كل مرشح لكي يفوز بالانتخابات. وإذا قرر حزب ما أن يتنافس على مقعد أو مقعدين في دائرة، فسوف يخاطر بخسارة مقاعد كان بإمكانه الفوز بها إذا نافس على عدد أكبر من المقاعد.

وبالإضافة إلى ذلك فإن تخصيص 27 مقعداً للمنافسة في القائمة الوطنية يعد عدداً صغيراً جداً. ففي دولة تُقسَّم على أسس الهوية ولديها أحزاب سياسية ضعيفة مثل الأردن - باستثناء "جبهة العمل الإسلامي" - فإن تخصيص عدد أكبر من المقاعد للقائمة الوطنية يساعد في التغلب على انقسامات الهوية وتمكين الأحزاب السياسية وتشجيع الأحزاب والمجموعات الاجتماعية لتشكيل ائتلافات. ولا تستطيع النسبة المئوية المنخفضة للقائمة الوطنية المقترحة أن تحقق هذه الأهداف.

هناك اقتناع واسع النطاق بأن الحكومة وضعت قانون الانتخابات لمنع التمثيل الزائد لـ "جبهة العمل الإسلامي" في البرلمان الجديد، لكن الحكومة بقيامها بذلك تمنع أيضاً التمثيل العادل للجماعات الشبابية الناشئة الجديدة. فالناشطون الشباب موزعون على جميع المحافظات ومن المتوقع أن يبلوا بلاء حسناً في الانتخابات في حالة زيادة نسبة القائمة الوطنية. بيد أن انخفاض نسبة القائمة الوطنية سوف يفضي إلى التمثيل الضعيف لهؤلاء النشطاء حيث إنهم لا يستطيعون المنافسة على المقاعد الفردية في الدوائر.

لقد ضغط العاهل الأردني من أجل التعجيل بإقرار الحكومة السابقة لقانون الانتخابات والتصديق عليه أمام البرلمان من أجل تعزيز عملية الإصلاح الاقتصادي. وعلى هذا النحو، فإن الاندفاع نحو الانتخابات لن يفيد الأردن في ظل غياب المشاركة المشروعة من جانب المعارضة. يجب على الحكومة وجماعات المعارضة إجراء حوار وطني من أجل الاتفاق على أفضل قانون انتخابي يضمن مشاركة جميع الأحزاب والحركات السياسية في الانتخابات ويوفر تمثيلاً عادلاً لجميع الأردنيين.

 

محمد ياغي مرشح لنيل درجة الدكتوراه في جامعة غويلب، كندا، وهو يركز على هيكل الحشد والتعبئة والتحول الديمقراطي في دول الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا. يستند هذا المقال على بحث أجراه في الأردن خلال الفترة من كانون الثاني/يناير إلى آذار/مارس 2012.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

Articles & Op-Eds

Jordan’s Election Law: Reform or Perish?

Mohammad Yaghi

Also available in العربية

Fikra Forum

October 4, 2012

Since early January 2011, Jordan has witnessed the rise of a reform movement that has demanded political and social change. While the movement has not requested regime change, it seeks profound constitutional reforms that would strip the King of Jordan of his executive and legislative authorities. Above all, the movement seeks to immunize the parliament (the National Council) from being dissolved by the King, in addition to parliamentary control over the formation of the government (instead of being appointed by the King), and a direct election of the upper house (currently, it is appointed by the King). Thus, the ongoing debate in Jordan over electoral reform lies at the heart of the power struggle between the government and the opposition, and contributes to a poisonous political environment as Jordan approaches parliamentary elections, scheduled to take place by the end of this year.

For its part, the government insists on leaving in place the one-man-one-vote electoral law, which has been in effect since 1993. In late June of this year, the parliament passed the old electoral law with two amendments. First, it adopted a mixed electoral system that allows Jordanians to vote for the first time for a closed national list of 27 seats (18% of the total seats), in addition to the 108 seats reserved for Jordan’s 12 governorates. Second, it increased the women’s quota from 12 seats to 15 seats. The three additional seats have been reserved for women from Bedouin areas. In total, the size of Parliament increased from 120 seats in the last election to 150 seats.

By contrast, the opposition -- mainly represented by the Islamic Action Front (IAF), several leftist and pan-Arabist groups, and the newly emerging youth movements -- has refused the current electoral law. Instead, they advocate for a mixed electoral law that allocates 50% of the seats for the national list, and the remaining 50% for electoral districts. In addition, they want the electoral law to allow voters of each district to vote for all of the candidates in the district. In their opinion, the current one-man-one-vote electoral law empowers tribalism at the expense of political parties.

The struggle over the electoral law has hindered the completion of voter registration, which began in early August. Indeed, the government was forced to extend the registration period another month to overcome the calls of the opposition to boycott the election. According to Abdul Elah Al-Khatib, the head of the Independent Election Commision (IEC), it plans to extend it another 15 days. To further challenge the government’s legitimacy, however, the IAF is planning a huge demonstration on October 5th.

The Jordanian government has reason to insist on the one-man-one-vote law as it theoretically allows for true representation of the competing political and social forces in the elections. In 1989, for example, the Islamists won one-third of the parliament seats even though they only received 20% of the total votes. However, the government position is only valid if the number of representatives for each governorate reflects the proportional demographic weight of its population, and if each governorate is divided into districts that are fairly represented by the number of seats in parliament.

Unfortunately, the current electoral law does not reflect those two conditions. For example, Kerak governorate, which has a population of 200 thousand, is represented by 10 members in parliament, while the one million citizens living in Zarqa are represented by only 11 representatives. This unfair distribution of seats between governorates prevents hundreds of thousands of Jordanians from participating in the election. In fact, it is well known that only a small percentage of the Palestinian community in Jordan participates in the elections.

Moreover, the Kerak government is divided into six electoral districts, while Zarqa is divided into only four districts, making it extremely difficult for any political party to decide the number of seats for which it should compete. As Kristen Kao explained in an article on July 5th in the Carnegie Endowment’s Sada, if a political party decides to compete for all the seats in the electoral district, the one-man-one-vote forces it to risk losing all of the seats as it is impossible to calculate how many votes each candidate needs to win. However, if a party decides to compete for only one or two seats in a district, it risks losing possible seats that it could have won if it had run for more seats.

In addition, the 27 seats allocated for competition through the national list is very small. In a country such as Jordan that is divided along identity lines and has weak political parties -- with the exception of the IAF -- allocating a larger number of seats for the national list helps overcome identity cleavages, empowering political parties and encouraging parties and social groups to form coalitions. Yet, the low percentage of the proposed national list cannot achieve these goals.

It is widely understood that the government designed the electoral law to prevent an over representation of the IAF in the new parliament, but by doing so, the government also prohibits the new emerging youth groups from having a fair representation. The youth activists are distributed throughout the governorates and they are expected to perform well in the election if the percentage of the national list is increased. A low national list percentage, however, will leave these activists under represented as they cannot compete for the individual seats in the districts.

The King of Jordan has pushed to accelerate the process of adopting the electoral law of the previous government and to ratify it before parliament in order to advance the process of political reform. As such, the rush for elections will not do Jordan any good in the absence of legitimate opposition participation. The government and the opposition groups should hold a national dialogue in order to agree on the best electoral law that will ensure the participation of all political parties and movements in the election and provide fair representation for all Jordanians.

Mohammad Yaghi is a PhD candidate at the University of Guelph, Canada. He focuses on the structure of mobilization and democratization in MENA countries. This article is based on a research he conducted in Jordan between January and March 2012.

Read the original article in English or Arabic on Fikra Forum.