أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

تنبيه سياسي

الأردنيون يحتجون على إدانة رقيب بتهمة قتل ثلاثة جنود أمريكيين

ديفيد شينكر

متاح أيضاً في English

19 تموز/يوليو 2017


في عمّان يوم 17 تموز/يوليو، أدانت محكمة عسكرية أردنية الرقيب أول معارك أبو تايه بتهمة القتل المتعمد لثلاثة عناصر من القوات الخاصة لسلاح المشاة الأمريكي أو"القلنسوات الخضراء" في تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر الماضي في قاعدة "الأمير فيصل الجوية" في الجفر، جنوب المملكة. وقد حُكم عليه بالسجن المؤبد مع الأشغال الشاقة، مع احتمال تخفيض الحُكم الى السجن عشرين عاماً لحسن السلوك. ومنذ صدور الحكم، لم تكف قبيلة الحويطات التي ينتمي إليها أبو تايه عن الاحتجاج وإدانة النظام الملكي بشدة. وفي حين تستضيف المملكة الهاشمية 1.4 مليون لاجئ سوري وتواجه بالفعل تحديات أمنية متزايدة، فإن مصادفة هذه المظاهرات مع الاضطرابات المحلية الناجمة عن العنف في القدس تأتي في أوقات صعبة للمملكة.

وكانت قبيلة الحويطات من أوائل الداعمين للحكم الهاشمي في المملكة وأهمهم خلال أربعينيات القرن الماضي. بيد أنّ القبيلة الكبيرة المستقرة جنوبي البلاد أثبتت مراراً أنها حليف عنيد [ومتمرد] للبلاط. فقد شكلت الاحتجاجات التي كانت القبيلة تنفذها بين الحين والآخر في معقلها في معان - وأقدمت خلالها في بعض الأحيان على ادعاء دعم أفراد العائلة المالكة السعودية كبديل للحكم الهاشمي - مصدر إزعاج للعائلة الحاكمة الأردنية. ومع ذلك، فعلى مر السنين، كان البلاط الملكي قادراً إلى حد كبير على تبديد السخط في هذه المنطقة المحرومة اقتصادياً [والتي تعتمد] سياسات المحسوبية.

وبعد صدور حكم المحكمة العسكرية، دعت القبيلة عبر صفحتها على موقع الـ "فيسبوك" - التي تضم 41,000  متابع - إلى التظاهر في [منطقة] الجفر. وقد نددت التعليقات التي نشرتها على صفحتها يوم صدور الحكم بالوجود العسكري الأمريكي في المملكة، وانتقدت الجيش الأردني لـ"تخليه عن [أبو تايه] بدلاً من حمايته". وذكرت أن هذا الحكم سيكون "بوابة الجيش لإسقاط [الملك عبدالله الثاني] الذي تجاوز الحدود بعيداً عن إرث البلاد وإرث والده [الملك حسين].

ويصف الآن شعار صفحة القبيلة على موقع الـ "فيسبوك": "تذكروا عدد رصاصات معارك أبو تايه وتناسوا رصاصات عودة أبو تايه"، وهو شيخ القبيلة وقائد "الثورة العربية الكبرى" الذي تحالف مع الهاشميين لطرد الإمبراطورية العثمانية مما يعرف اليوم بجنوب الأردن. كما شملت منشورات هذه الصفحة فيديوهات لرجال القبيلة على الجمال يحملون أعلام السعودية.

وفي 18 تموز/يوليو، احتجت قبيلة الحويطات عبر إحراق سيارات وإطارات في منطقة الجفر على طول الطريق السريع 15، حيث أغلق أفرادها الطريق بين معان ووادي رم، مما دفع بالسفارة الأمريكية في عمان إلى إصدار إعلان يحذر المواطنين الأمريكيين في المملكة من السفر محلياً. وفي مساء 18 تموز/يوليو، أطلق معتدون مجهولو الهوية النار في القاعدة الجوية. وفي وقت مبكر من صباح 19 تموز/يوليو، حاول موكب من رجال قبيلة الحويطات السفر من معان إلى عمّان للاحتجاج أمام السفارة الأمريكية والديوان الملكي. وتحسّباً لاندلاع أعمال عنف، أفادت التقارير أن الحكومة أغلقت الطرق أمام المتظاهرين ونشرت أفراد إضافيين من قوات الأمن وأقامت حاجزاً لتفتيش السيارات التي تدخل العاصمة.

ومن غير الواضح إلى متى ستواصل القبيلة احتجاجاتها، أو ما إذا كان الغضب - على البلاط الملكي والولايات المتحدة - سوف يتجاوز نطاق قبيلة الحويطات وإلى رجال القبائل الأخرى في المملكة أيضاً. وقد أعرب أعضاء من قبائل كبيرة أخرى، مثل بني حسن، عن تضامنهم [مع أبو تايه] من على صفحة الـ "فيسبوك". لكن الواقع الافتراضي لا يهم بقدر ما يحصل على الأرض. فالسلطات الأردنية تتمتع بخبرة كبيرة في احتواء المظاهرات والحد منها، كما أن الشعب الأردني لم يُظهر منذ عام 2011 رغبة في المخاطرة بتنظيم احتجاجات قد تزعزع الاستقرار.

غير أن إغلاق الحرم الشريف/جبل الهيكل بعد إقدام ثلاثة من عرب إسرائيل على إطلاق النار على عنصرين من الشرطة الإسرائيلية في 14 تموز/يوليو أدى إلى قيام المزيد من المظاهرات - وإن كان معظم المشاركين فيها من الأردنيين من أصل فلسطيني وليس من أصل قبلي. وفي 16 تموز/يوليو، غصت شوارع عمّان بمئات الأردنيين احتجاجاً على الإغلاق. وعلى الرغم من إعادة السماح بدخول المسجد الأقصى، إلّا أن أجهزة كشف المعادن التي وضعتها إسرائيل حديثاً [في مداخل الحرم الشريف] - وكذلك التصريحات الملتهبة من قبل رئيس البرلمان الأردني عاطف الطراونة - من المرجح أن تتسبب بتنظيم مسيرات أكبر يوم الجمعة المقبل، 21 تموز/يوليو.

وبالمقارنة مع الدول العربية الأخرى، شهدت المملكة احتجاجات قليلة نسبياً في السنوات الأخيرة. لكن الأمر الاستثنائي في المظاهرات المتعلقة بالحكم الصادر بحق أبو تايه هو أنها تسلط الضوء على التفاوت بين البلاط الذي يميل إلى الغرب ومعظم الشعب الأردني، الذي لا يحب الولايات المتحدة كثيراً، وفقاً للاستطلاعات. كما أن الاهتياج في أوساط القبائل - التي تزوّد الجيش الأردني والأجهزة الأمنية بالجنود والأفراد - يشكل مصدر قلق أكبر بكثير من المسيرات الواجبة المناهضة لإسرائيل في الوقت الراهن. وفي نهاية المطاف، من المرجح أن يتخطى الأردن هذه الأزمة، وسينصب تركيز الشعب مجدداً على المزيد من المخاوف التقليدية والدنيوية مثل تلك المرتبطة بالاقتصاد المتعثر والبطالة المتوطّنة. ولكن في الوقت الحاضر، يمكن إضافة هذه الاحتجاجات إلى قائمة كبيرة ومتنامية من التحديات التي تواجهها المملكة. 

 

ديفيد شينكر هو زميل "أوفزين" ومدير برنامج السياسة العربية في معهد واشنطن.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

Policy Alert

Jordanians Protest Conviction of Sergeant Who Killed U.S. Troops

David Schenker

Also available in العربية

July 19, 2017


The latest demonstrations are unusual in that they highlight the divergence of the Western-oriented palace from much of the Jordanian people, who according to polling do not like the United States very much.

In Amman on July 17, a Jordanian military court convicted 1st Sgt. Maarek Abu Tayeh of the premeditated killing of three U.S. Green Berets last November at Prince Faisal Air Base in al-Jafr, in the kingdom's south. He was sentenced to life in prison with hard labor, with the possibility of release in twenty years for good behavior. Since the ruling, Abu Tayeh's tribe, the Howeitat, has been protesting and angrily denouncing the monarchy. Hosting 1.4 million Syrian refugees and already facing increased security challenges, the coincidence of these demonstrations with local unrest prompted by violence in Jerusalem comes at a difficult time for the kingdom.   

The Howeitat tribe was an early and important supporter of Hashemite rule in the kingdom in the 1940s. But the large southern tribe has frequently proved an unruly ally of the palace. Episodic Howeitat demonstrations in its stronghold of Maan -- during which the tribe has at times feigned support for Saudi royals as an alternative to Hashemite reign -- have long been an irritant to Jordan's ruling family. Over the years, however, the palace has largely been able to mollify discontent in this economically disadvantaged area with patronage politics. 

Following the military court ruling, the tribe's Facebook page -- which has 41,000 followers -- called for demonstrations in al-Jafr. Postings on the page on the day of the ruling disparaged the U.S. military presence in the kingdom and criticized the Jordanian military for "abandon[ing] [Abu Tayeh] instead of protecting him." The ruling, it continued, would "be the gate for the military to get rid of the burden of the son [King Abdullah II] who has pushed the boundaries way too much from the heritage of the country and the heritage of his father [King Hussein]."    

The Facebook page banner now reads "Remember the bullets of Maarek Abu Tayeh; Forget the bullets of Awda Abu Tayeh," the tribal sheikh and leader of the Great Arab Revolt who allied with the Hashemites to expel the Ottoman Empire from what today is southern Jordan. Postings include videos of the tribesmen on camels carrying Saudi flags. 

On July 18, the Howeitat protested by burning cars and tires in al-Jafr and along Highway 15, closing the road between Maan and Wadi Rum and prompting the U.S. embassy in Amman to issue a local travel advisory to American citizens in the kingdom. On the evening of July 18, unknown assailants opened fire at the air base. And early this morning, a convoy of Howeitat tribesmen attempted to travel from Maan to Amman to hold demonstrations at the U.S. embassy and Royal Court. Anticipating violence, the government reportedly closed roads to protestors, deployed additional security personnel, and set up a checkpoint to inspect vehicles entering the capital. 

It is unclear how long the tribe will sustain the demonstrations, or whether the anger -- with the palace and the United States -- will extend beyond the Howeitat to other tribesmen in the kingdom. Members of other large tribes, such as the Bani Hassan, have expressed solidarity on Facebook. But virtual reality matters less than what occurs on the ground. Jordanian authorities have much experience containing and limiting demonstrations, and the Jordanian public, since 2011, has exhibited little appetite for risking instability by protesting.

Yet the closure of al-Haram al-Sharif/Temple Mount, following the shooting of two Israeli policemen by three Israeli Arabs on July 14, has generated additional demonstrations -- albeit composed largely of Jordanians of Palestinian as opposed to tribal origin. On July 16, hundreds of Jordanians marched in Amman, protesting the closure. And although entry to the al-Aqsa Mosque has resumed, newly installed Israeli metal detectors -- as well as incendiary statements from Jordanian speaker of parliament Atef Tarawneh -- will likely propel larger marches this coming Friday, July 21.    

Compared to other Arab states, the kingdom has seen relatively few protests in recent years. What is unusual and important about the Abu Tayeh demonstrations is that they highlight the divergence of the Western-oriented palace from much of the Jordanian people, who according to polling don't like the United States very much. And ferment among the tribes -- which staff the Jordanian military and security apparatus -- is a much bigger concern than the by-now de rigueur anti-Israel marches. Ultimately, Jordan will likely overcome this particular crisis, and the population will revert to more traditional and mundane worries such as those centering on the abysmal economy and endemic unemployment. For the time being, though, these protests can be added to the substantial and growing list of challenges faced by the kingdom.

David Schenker is the Aufzien Fellow and director of the Program on Arab Politics at The Washington Institute.