أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 1445

خيارات إسرائيل السياسية في معركة غزة

ديفيد ماكوفسكي

متاح أيضاً في English

31 ديسمبر 2008


تخيّم اليوم على عمليات إسرائيل العسكرية في غزة ظلال حرب الأربع وثلاثين يوماً غير الحاسمة بين إسرائيل وحزب الله في عام 2006، التي اعتقدت إسرائيل أنها فقدت فيها ما كانت تملك من ردع، وينبغي اعتبار حملة إسرائيل الراهنة على «حماس» محاولة منها لاستعادة ذلك الردع المفقود. ويعتقد مسؤولون عسكريون إسرائيليون أنّ «حماس» سوف لن تطلق الصواريخ على البلدات الإسرائيلية إن كانت تخشى إسرائيل، بل ستجدد وقف إطلاق النار لمدة ستة أشهر أخرى.

ومع ذلك يقترب الصراع الراهن من النقطة التي يتعين فيها على صناع السياسة الإسرائيليين اتخاذ قرار حول ما إذا كان تصعيد الصراع سيعزز قدرته على الردع أم سيضعفها. ومن الدروس المستخلصة من حرب عام 2006 هو أنّ الحكم على الصراع يكون بما ينتهي إليه لا بكيفية خوضه. وعلى هذا النحو، لا ينبغي النظر إلى الخيارات السياسية الإسرائيلية الراهنة في ظل فراغ [سياسي]. وتحديداً، تفيد تقارير عديدة صادرة من إسرائيل أنّ وزير الدفاع إيهود باراك سعى لوضع نهاية مبكرة لهذا الصراع في 30 كانون الأول/ديسمبر، اعتقاداً منه بأن الهجوم المباغت يوم السبت الـ 27 من كانون الأول/ديسمبر كان كافياً لإظهار القوة. ومع ذلك، يمكن تمديد العملية المحدودة لأن إسرائيل لا تريد لـ«حماس» أن تحصل على نقاط كثيرة في النهاية. هذا، وقد أطلقت «حماس» اليوم صاروخاً على بئر السبع، التي تبعد حوالي أربعة وعشرين ميلاً عن غزة، وهو أعمق هجوم قامت به «حماس» داخل إسرائيل منذ بدء الحرب.

وباختصار، سيحاول صناع السياسة الإسرائيليون تعريف نهاية مثلى للصراع جنباً إلى جنب مع تعزيز الردع. لكنّ ما يزيد الوضع تعقيداً هو الاحتمال الوارد بأن تفسّر «حماس» أن مجرد قابليتها على الصمود والبقاء [كحركة مقاتلة] يعتبر نجاحاً، كما فعل ذلك حزب الله في عام 2006. وعليه، فقد تود حركة المقاومة الإسلامية جرّ إسرائيل إلى شرك صراع متطاول ينظر إليه كنزاع غير محسوم. وفي هذه الحالة، ستسعى «حماس» لمواصلة إطلاق الصواريخ بطريقة عشوائية، دون أن تقيّدها الحاجة إلى إيجاد أهداف عسكرية، قائلة إنها تقاتل من أجل المواجهة [رداً على العدوان].

أوجه الشبه بين 2006 و 2008

تجدر الإشارة، أولاً، إلى بعض الخصائص المشتركة المهمة بين الحربين. ففي حرب عام 2006 والحرب الحالية على حد سواء، أنحى المسؤولون العرب باللائمة على حدوث الصراع على لاعبين ليسوا دولاً يتصرفون بناءاً على أمر من إيران. وفي مستهل صراع 2006، حمّلت دول كمصر والعربية السعودية حزب الله مسؤولية اندلاع الأعمال العدائية ولم تعتبر حزب الله الطرف المظلوم، كما كانت تأمل الجماعة.

كذلك، دعم الجمهور الإسرائيلي من جميع ألوان الطيف السياسي كلا الحربين منذ البداية؛ وكان الاعتقاد السائد في كل حالة أنّ لإسرائيل الحق في ضرب الأطراف الفاعلة من غير الدول - كحزب الله و«حماس» - دفاعاً عن النفس، لأنّ هاتين الجماعتين تعملان عبر الحدود الدولية وتطلقان النار من وسط تجمعات سكانية كثيفة، وخاصة منذ انسحاب إسرائيل من لبنان عام 2000 ومن قطاع غزة عام 2005. ولا يرى الرأي العام الإسرائيلي لأي من الجماعتين مظالم مشروعة في ضوء هذين الانسحابين.

كما أن الخلافات الأساسية بين الصراعين هي أيضاً واضحة. إذا تظهر الدلائل الأولية أنّ إسرائيل استفادت من دروس عام 2006 التي خلصت إليها لجنة ڤينوغراد، التي درست أخطاء الحرب. فلم تقم إسرائيل بالرد هذه المرة بشكل انعكاسي كما فعلت عام 2006، بل خططت ردها بعناية حتى أنها حققت عنصر المفاجأة. وإذا كان رئيس الحكومة الإسرائيلية إيهود أولمرت قد رفع سقف التوقعات عام 2006 عندما أخبر الكنيست أن إسرائيل ستسحق حزب الله، يحاول المسؤولون الإسرائيليون اليوم خفض سقف التوقعات بالقول إنّ إسرائيل تسعى لإعادة الهدوء في البلدات والمدن الإسرائيلية القريبة من غزة.

إذا كانت حرب عام 2006 هي الدليل لما ينبغي القيام به وما يتعين تجنبه، فإنّ إسرائيل اليوم تقترب بسرعة من مفترق طرق بشأن توسيع نطاق العملية – وهي نقطة ظهرت حولها مدرستان فكريتان متباينتان في إسرائيل في عام 2006. رأت المدرسة المتطرفة أنّ فشل إسرائيل في تلك الحرب مردّه نقص الكفاءة العملانية لجيش الدفاع الإسرائيلي، الذي ترأسه آنذاك وزير الدفاع الطري العود عمير بيريتس، ولو كانت هناك تكتيكات أفضل لكان بالإمكان تدمير حزب الله. أما المدرسة المعتدلة فرأت أنّ إسرائيل وصلت إلى نقطة المردود المتناقص في الحرب وأنّ مواصلة العمل العسكري من شأنها تقويض الردع الإسرائيلي، حيث لم تكن لدى إسرائيل وسائل تستطيع بها تحقيق نصر حاسم عندما تكون هناك جماعة مقيمة بين ظهراني سكان مدنيين.

لقد كان كل من وزيرة الخارجية تسيپي ليڤني ووزير الدفاع إيهود باراك، الذي لم يكن عضواً في الحكومة الإسرائيلية في عام 2006، من أتباع المدرسة المعتدلة في ذلك الوقت. فقد رأى كلاهما أنّ عدم وجود استراتيجية للخروج من الصراع مكّن حزب الله من أن يعلن نفسه المنتصر بعد أكثر من شهر من القتال. فقد شعرا أنهما كانا على حق عندما أدى اندفاع حزب الله وتغير المشاعر في الدول العربية إلى إجبار إسرائيل على القبول بقوة حفظ سلام دولية تحت مظلة قرار مجلس الأمن الدولي رقم 1701. وبالرغم من أن هذا القرار منع حدوث موجة جديدة من أعمال العنف، فقد مكّن حزب الله من إعادة تسليح نفسه إلى مستويات أرفع بكثير مما كان عليه قبل الحرب.

خيارات إسرائيل السياسية

من الواضح يجب أن تكون إجراءات إسرائيل العسكرية تابعة لأهدافها السياسية. لكن ما هي هذه الأهداف اليوم وما مدى صلة الإجراءات العسكرية بها؟ يبدو أن الخيارات اليوم [31/12] هي التالية:

"مواصلة القصف الجوي". تم أختيار هذا النهج لإجبار «حماس» على قبول تجديد [اتفاق] وقف إطلاق النار حسب شروط الأشهر الستة الماضية.

"قبول اقتراح دولي لوقف إطلاق النار". تشير تقارير متعددة في إسرائيل إلى أن إيهود باراك فضل قبول الاقتراح الفرنسي القاضي بوقف إطلاق النار لمدة 48 ساعة لأسباب إنسانية. لكن، بعد قصف بئر السبع، رفضت الحكومة الإسرائيلية هذا الاقتراح. لقد كان في وسع الخطة الفرنسية المحافظة على عداء النظام العربي لحركة «حماس» وتجنب إطالة أمد الصراع الذي قد يخدم أهداف الحركة.

"فتح معبر رفح بين قطاع غزة ومصر وإغلاق المعابر الأخرى المؤدية إلى إسرائيل". من شأن هذا الرأي أن يعزز موقف الذين يقولون بأن لإسرائيل مصلحة استراتيجية في الربط بين غزة ومصر، مما يتيح لإسرائيل نفض يدها من غزة. الجانب السلبي لهذا الاتجاه هي النتيجة التي سيؤول إليها والمتمثل في توتر العلاقات الإسرائيلية-المصرية، لأن مصر ستفعل قصارى جهدها لتجنب تحمل المسؤولية عن غزة وستصوّر هذا الرأي على أنه خطوة لتقسيم الشعب الفلسطيني. وعلاوة عل ذلك، سيؤكد منتقدي إسرائيل في الأمم المتحدة وغيرها من المحافل الدولية بوجوب بقاء إسرائيل مسؤولة عن قطاع غزة لأنها ستواصل السيطرة على مجاله الجوي وخطه الساحلي. أخيراً، ستخشى المؤسسة العسكرية الإسرائيلية أن يؤدي فتح معبر رفح إلى زيادة فرص تدفق الأسلحة إلى داخل غزة.

"شن هجوم بري في جنوب قطاع غزة" لتدمير الأنفاق التي تستخدم كممرات لتهريب الصواريخ الأكثر تطوراً كقذائف الكاتيوشا أو صواريخ غراد الأبعد مدى، و/أو شن هجوم بري شمالي القطاع على منصات إطلاق الصواريخ الفلسطينية. وفي حين أنّ هدف الهجوم البري في جنوبي القطاع سيكون وقف تدفق الأسلحة، فإن هذا التكتيك يحمل في طياته أيضاً خطر تحول الجنود الإسرائيليين إلى أهداف في حرب مدن تتسم بالفوضى. وعلاوة على ذلك، سيسمح لـ«حماس» استغلال نتائج إصابة المدنيين بصورة عرضية – مما يجلب لها التعاطف على شاشات المحطات الفضائية العربية – وذلك للتأثير على الحكومات العربية لكتم معارضتها لـ«حماس». وإذا كانت إسرائيل تريد فعلاً السيطرة على المنطقة الحدودية بين مصر وغزة، فعليها أن تفكر ملياً - من هي [القوة] التي تراها مسؤولة عن ضبط المنطقة بعد انتهاء القتال. هل ستكون إسرائيل؟ أم السلطة الفلسطينية برئاسة محمود عباس؟ أم قوة مسلمة يقودها جيش مجرّب له علاقات مع إسرائيل كتركيا؟

"شن هجوم بري واسع النطاق على غزة لطرد «حماس» منها". يقول مسؤولون أمنيون إسرائيليون إنّ إعادة احتلال قطاع غزة قد تستغرق فترة تصل إلى عام كامل. ويرى كثيرون أنه إذا اتبعت إسرائيل هذا المسار فستفقد العديد من جنودها في حرب المدن، وربما تواجه معارضة دولية لا قبل لها بها، وتهدي طهران نصراً محتملاً بتوحيد العرب ضد إسرائيل. ويقول آخرون إنّ الهدف يستحق المخاطرة أياً كان الثمن.

غزة وإدارة أوباما

إنّ عدد المتغيرات [في المعادلة] أكبر من أن يسمح بالتنبؤ الدقيق بكيفية تأثير الصراع على الإدارة الأمريكية الجديدة. ومن المعقول الاعتقاد بأنّ إسرائيل سترى بأنّ هناك الكثير من المزالق لهذا العملية إذا تم الإستمرار بها حتى موعد تنصيب الرئيس الأمريكي المنتخب باراك أوباما؛ فقد يكون المشهد مختلفاً جداً في 20 كانون ثاني/يناير عما هو الآن. وإذا وضعت تفصيلات العملية جانباً، لا بد لواشنطن من أن تفكر جدياً في كيفية التعامل مع الطبيعة المتغيرة للحرب ومدى تأثير هذه الحرب على حل النزاع. لقد حل محل الحروب [التقليدية] بين الدول التي سادت الصراع العربي-الإسرائيلي منذ عام 1948 حتى عام 1973، لاعبين ليسوا دولاً يقومون بإطلاق النار بصورة عشوائية - من مناطق انسحبت منها إسرائيل – في الوقت الذي يقيمون فيه بين ظهراني سكان مدنيين، ثم توقعهم الحصانة من الانتقام.

لا بد من معالجة هذه الطبيعة المتغيرة للحرب ضد المدنيين بصورة مباشرة، إذا كان ذلك يتعلق بالانتفاضة الفلسطينية بين عامي 2000 و2004 أم حرب حزب الله في عام 2006 أم معركة غزة في عام 2008. إن عدم القيام بذلك سيضمن عملياً استمرار إسرائيل في نهجها السياسي - حول موضوع التخلي عن أراضي في الضفة الغربية - بصورة اكثر تشدداً، مما يدحض أية آمال لتحقيق تسوية قائمة على حل الدولتين.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 1445

Israel's Policy Options in the Gaza Conflict

David Makovsky

Also available in العربية

Policy #1445

December 31, 2008

The legacy of Israel's inconclusive thirty-four-day war with Hizballah in 2006 hovers over Israel's current military operations in Gaza. Israel believes its deterrence was lost in that war, and Israel's current campaign against Hamas should be seen as an effort to regain that deterrence. Israeli military officials believe that if Hamas feared Israel, they would not be firing rockets at Israeli towns but would have instead renewed the six-month ceasefire.

Yet the current conflict is coming to the point where Israeli policymakers have to decide whether escalating the conflict enhances its deterrence or erodes it. A key lesson of the 2006 war is that the conflict will be judged more by how it ends than by how it is fought. As such, current Israeli policy options should not be seen in a vacuum. Specifically, there are multiple reports emerging from Israel that Defense Minister Ehud Barak sought an early end to this conflict on December 30, believing the surprise attack last Saturday was a sufficient show of force. However, the limited operation could be extended because Israel does not want the conflict to end on a high note for Hamas -- which today fired a rocket into Beersheva, about twenty-four miles from Gaza, the deepest strike into Israel to date.

In short, Israeli decisionmakers will try to define an optimal end of conflict while enhancing deterrence. However, this is complicated by the likelihood that Hamas defines success for itself in the narrow terms of survival, just as Hizballah did in 2006. As such, Hamas may want to lure Israel into a protracted conflict that will be seen as inconclusive. In that case, Hamas -- unconstrained by the need to find military targets -- will seek to continue firing rockets indiscriminately, saying it is fighting to a standoff.

Similarities between 2006 and 2008

First, it is worth noting some important commonalities between the two confrontations. Both in 2006 and now, Arab officials blamed the conflict on nonstate players acting at the behest of Iran. At the outset of the 2006 conflict, states like Egypt and Saudi Arabia held Hizballah responsible for the outbreak of hostilities and did not view Hizballah as an aggrieved party, as the group had hoped.

Also, at the outset of both conflicts, the Israeli public across the political spectrum rallied in support; the general view in each case was that Israel has the right to strike nonstate actors like Hizballah and Hamas in self-defense, since these groups have been operating from across international borders and firing from within dense civilian populations, especially since Israel withdrew from Lebanon in 2000 and Gaza in 2005. The Israeli public does not see either group as having legitimate grievances, given those withdrawals.

Key differences between the conflicts are also apparent. Preliminary signs show that Israel has learned the lessons of 2006 put forward by the Winograd Commission, which studied the mistakes of the war. Israel did not retaliate reflexively as it did in 2006, but rather planned its retaliation carefully and even achieved an element of surprise. And if Israeli prime minister Ehud Olmert raised expectations by telling the Knesset that Israel will smash Hizballah, Israeli officials are largely trying to lower expectations by saying it seeks to restore quiet to Israeli towns and cities near Gaza.

If the 2006 conflict is a guide for what to do and what to avoid, Israel is now fast approaching the fork in the road regarding whether to expand the operation -- a point where in 2006 two contrasting schools of thought emerged in Israel. The maximalist school believed that Israel's failure in that war was due to lack of operational competence of the IDF, then headed by neophyte defense minister Amir Peretz, and that better tactics would have led to the destruction of Hizballah. The minimalist school believed that Israel had reached a point of diminishing returns in the war and further action would undermine Israel's deterrence, since it had no means to score a knockout victory when a group is embedded in a civilian population.

Both Foreign Minister Tzipi Livni and Ehud Barak, who was not in the cabinet in 2006, were associated with the minimalist school at that time. Those two believed the lack of exit strategy enabled Hizballah to declare itself the victor after more than a month of fighting. They felt vindicated when Hizballah's momentum and the change in sentiment within Arab states forced Israel to accept an international peacekeeping force under UN Security Council Resolution 1701. Although it prevented a new outbreak of hostilities, this resolution enabled Hizballah to rearm far above its prewar levels.

Israel's Policy Options

Obviously Israel's military steps should be a function of its policy objectives. But what are the objectives today and how do the military steps relate to them? The options today seem to be:

• Continue the aerial assault. This approach is designed to compel Hamas to accept renewal of the ceasefire on the terms of the last six months.

• Accept an international proposal for ceasefire. Multiple reports in Israel indicate that Barak favored accepting the French proposal for a 48-hour humanitarian ceasefire. However, once Beersheva was struck, Israeli cabinet officials rejected the proposal. The French plan could maintain Arab regime enmity toward Hamas and avoid protracted conflict that may serve Hamas's aims.

• Open the southern Rafah crossing point between Gaza and Egypt while closing all other crossing points leading into Israel. This would bolster those who say that Israel has a strategic interest in linking Gaza to Egypt, thus enabling Israel to wash its hands of Gaza. The downside would be that it would lead to Israeli-Egyptian tension, as Egypt would do everything possible to avoid responsibility for Gaza and will portray the move as dividing the Palestinian people. Moreover, Israel's detractors at the UN and elsewhere will assert that Israel should still be held accountable for Gaza, since Israel will continue to control the airspace and shoreline. Finally the Israeli defense establishment will fear that opening the crossing point could enhance flow of weaponry into Gaza.

• Initiate a ground assault in southern Gaza to destroy tunnels that have been used as conduits for more sophisticated rockets such as Katyushas or Grads that have longer range, and/or commence a ground assault in northern Gaza against Palestinian launchers. While the advantage of a southern ground assault is designed to halt the flow of weaponry, this tactic would also carry the risk of Israeli soldiers becoming targets in messy urban warfare. Moreover, it would allow Hamas to exploit accidental misfires against civilians -- garnering sympathy on Arab satellite television -- in order to sway Arab governments to mute their opposition to Hamas. If Israel does want control of the Egyptian-Gaza border area, it needs to think through who it views as controlling the area after the conflict is over. Will it be Israel? Mahmoud Abbas's Palestinian Authority? A Muslim force led by an established army that has relations with Israel like Turkey?

• Launch a full-scale ground assault in Gaza to expel Hamas. Israeli security officials say it could take up to a year to fully reoccupy Gaza. If it pursued this course, many say Israel would lose numerous soldiers in urban conflict, face possibly insurmountable international opposition, and give Tehran a possible victory in uniting Arabs against Israel. Others say the objective is worth pursuing regardless of the cost.

Gaza and the Obama Administration

Too many variables are involved to predict with certainty how this conflict will affect the new U.S. administration. It is reasonable to believe that Israel will see too many pitfalls to this operation for it to continue until President-elect Barak Obama's inauguration: the landscape by January 20 could look very different. Beyond the specifics of the operation, serious thought needs to be given in Washington about how to deal with both the changing nature of warfare and the impact of such warfare on conflict resolution. Wars between states that dominated the Arab-Israel conflict from 1948 through 1973 are being replaced by nonstate actors firing indiscriminately from civilian populations in areas from which Israel has withdrawn and then expecting immunity from retaliation.

Whether the Palestinian intifada between 2000 and 2004, the Hizballah war in 2006, or the Gaza conflict in 2008, this changing nature of warfare against civilians needs to be squarely addressed. Failure to do so virtually guarantees that Israel's approach to yielding territory in the West Bank will only harden, thereby scotching prospects for a two-state solution.

David Makovsky is a senior fellow and director of the Washington Institute's Project on the Middle East Peace Process.