أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 2086

إسرائيل في عين العاصفة: حكومة جديدة تواجه بيئة أمنية متغيرة

دان شيفتان و شاي فيلدمان

متاح أيضاً في English

7 حزيران/يونيو 2013


"في 3 حزيران/يونيو 2013، خاطب شاي فيلدمان ودان شيفتان منتدى سياسي في معهد واشنطن. والدكتور شيفتان هو مدير "مركز دراسات الأمن القومي" في جامعة حيفا وأستاذ زائر للشؤون الحكومية في زمالة غولدمان في جامعة جورج تاون. والدكتور فيلدمان هو مدير في زمالة جوديث وسيدني شوارتز في "مركز كراون لدراسات الشرق الأوسط" في جامعة برانديز. وفيما يلي ملخص المقرر لملاحظاتهما."

 

شاي فيلدمان

تُبرز حالة الاضطراب والتقلب الأخيرة التي تجتاح الشرق الأوسط تحديات خطيرة وتكشف عن فرص هامة للحكومة الإسرائيلية الجديدة. لقد تجنبت إسرائيل حتى الآن ارتكاب أي خطأ فادح في العامين الماضيين منذ بدء الصحوة العربية. وفي الواقع أنها تعاملت مع آثار الانتفاضات في المنطقة بقرارات واعية ووضوح يكاد يكون منقطع النظير. وينطبق ذلك خصوصاً على سوريا، حيث رفضت إسرائيل التحيز إلى جانب على حساب آخر في الحرب الأهلية، وركزت بدلاً من ذلك على منع نقل الأسلحة إلى «حزب الله». ومن شأن هذه النجاحات أن تُسهل للحكومة الجديدة التعامل مع القرارات الأكثر صعوبة المطلوبة لضمان مستقبل إسرائيل كدولة يهودية ديمقراطية.

ومن بين تلك القرارات ما يتعلق بالبرنامج النووي الإيراني. إذ لا يزال الجدل محتدماً في إسرائيل حول هذه المسألة، حيث إن جميع الخيارات تفضي على ما يبدو إلى تبعات خطيرة.

وتكمن المسألة الجوهرية الأخرى في علاقة إسرائيل مع تركيا. فقد اتخذ كلا البلدين بالفعل خطوات لرأب الصدع، لكن لم يتضح بعد إلى أي مدى ستصل هذه الجهود، وإلى متى ستستمر. وعلى كل حال، ستبقى هذه المسألة جوهرية في ضوء طموح تركيا وعلو شأنها في المنطقة وقوة اقتصادها ومهارتها في استخدام قوتها الناعمة.

كما أن الصحوة العربية سوف تؤثر على عملية صنع القرارات في إسرائيل. فرغم أنها لا تزال صحوة عربية داخلية، إلا أن صعود الإسلام السياسي ونمو حالة عدم الاستقرار الإقليمي يؤثران بشكل مباشر على إسرائيل. وعلى وجه الخصوص، فإن الدور المحتمل للجهاديين في سوريا والوضع غير الواضح بالنسبة لاستقرار الأردن سوف يشكلان المشهد الأمني المستقبلي لإسرائيل.

وعلى الرغم من هذه التحديات، طورت إسرائيل العديد من الأصول الاستراتيجية الهامة خلال السنوات الأخيرة. أولاً، وصلت العلاقات الأمريكية الإسرائيلية إلى مرحلة فريدة من التقارب، لا سيما في مجال الدفاع.

ثانياً، لا تواجه إسرائيل حالياً أي تهديد عسكري تقليدي. كما أن سوريا والعراق منهمكتان في صراعاتهما الداخلية؛ وبشكل أوسع نطاقاً، أصبحت المنطقة منقسمة بشكل متزايد بين الشيعة في إيران والعراق و«حزب الله» من جهة، والسنة في الأردن ومصر والمملكة العربية السعودية ودول الخليج الأصغر حجماً من جهة أخرى. ويحظى الإسرائيليون بميزة استراتيجية فريدة في ظل تلك البيئة، لا سيما نظراً لأن بعض دول الخليج ربما تكون في الواقع أكثر ميلاً للتحالف معهم ضد إيران.

أما الأصل الثالث فهو إعادة التأكيد مؤخراً على "مبادرة السلام العربية"، وهي عبارة عن مقترح سعودي لإرساء السلام بين الإسرائيليين والفلسطينيين طُرح للمرة الأولى في عام 2002. ويشير ظهور هذا المقترح مجدداً إلى أن الدول العربية هي أكثر ميلاً لإجراء مناقشات مثمرة عما كان عليه الوضع في السنوات السابقة.

والأصل الرابع هو قوة الردع الكبيرة لإسرائيل ضد الفاعلين من غير الدول مثل «حزب الله» و«حماس». فلم تُطلق أي صواريخ من لبنان منذ صيف 2006، كما أن «حزب الله» أصبح منهمكا حالياً في الحرب الأهلية السورية، مما زاد تشتيته بعيداً عن الصراع مع إسرائيل.

خامساً، تشهد إسرائيل طفرة في النمو الاقتصادي نتيجة الإدارة المسؤولة لنظمها المالية والمصرفية، حيث يقارب مستوى الفرد من إجمالي الدخل المحلي في الوقت الحالي المستويات الأوروبية. وفضلاً عن ذلك، تتجه الدولة نحو الاستقلال في مجال الطاقة ويرجع ذلك جزئياً إلى اكتشافات الهيدروكربونات الجديدة.

ومع ذلك، فعلى الرغم من الفائدة الواضحة لهذه المزايا الاستراتيجية، إلا أنها تجعل الحكومة الإسرائيلية غير راغبة في المخاطرة إلى جانب إرجائها اتخاذ القرارات الصعبة بشأن إنهاء احتلال الأراضي الفلسطينية. وإذا واصلت الحكومة الإسرائيلية حالة اللافعل، فإنها بحكم الأمر الواقع تخاطر بالانزلاق إلى دولة ثنائية القومية بدلاً من أن تكون هناك دولتين لشعبين. وأية محاولة لحل المسألة بشكل أحادي الجانب سوف تبوء بالفشل؛ لذا يجب على رئيس الوزراء نتنياهو أن يعمل مع السلطة الفلسطينية لتحقيق نجاح حقيقي استراتيجي ونزع فتيل التهديد الوجودي الكامن في استمرار غياب السلام في المنطقة. وفي الوقت الذي تعمل فيه واشنطن مرة أخرى على مساندة إجراء مفاوضات مثمرة مع الفلسطينيين، يجب على إسرائيل أن تُظهر رغبتها في اتخاذ خطوات قوية ومؤثرة تؤدي إلى إحداث تقدم ملموس.

وفي الواقع أن مستقبل مشاركة الولايات المتحدة في المنطقة هو في حد ذاته عامل هام وحاسم في المعادلة الأمنية لإسرائيل. فدون وجود اهتمام أمريكي نشط ومشاركة أمريكية فعالة في المنطقة، سوف تكون إسرائيل معزولة ومن ثم ستواجه تهديدات عميقة. ورغم أن الانتفاضات العربية شتتت انتباه بعض الدول بعيداً عن صراعاتها مع إسرائيل، إلا أنها زادت أيضاً من دور الرأي العام في هذه البلدان. وقد تسبب ذلك في بعض الأحيان في تصدر المتطرفين للمشهد، مما أدى إلى تحديد قدرة إسرائيل على التعامل الظاهري مع العديد من الدول العربية. ومن شأن هذه الديناميكيات أن تضر بوضع إسرائيل الاستراتيجي، لا سيما إذا انفصلت واشنطن عن المنطقة وأرجأ قادة إسرائيل القضايا الهامة لفترة طويلة جداً.

 

دان شيفتان

لقد شهد المجتمع الإسرائيلي على مدار العقد الماضي تغيراً جذرياً سيؤثر على عملية صنع القرارات الحكومية لسنوات قادمة. وبداية من الانتفاضة الفلسطينية الثانية في عام 2000، فإن مفهوم الدولة بشأن السلام قد تحول بشكل جذري، حيث أصبح العديد من الإسرائيليين يؤمنون بأن الجزء العملي من طموحاتهم نحو السلام ينبغي إهماله، إن لم يكن التخلي عنه كلية. وبخلاف منع الحرب وردع الأعداء المباشرين، بدا أن إسرائيل لا تعطي أولوية لأي جهود نشطة للتوصل إلى سلام مع العرب. وفي الماضي، افترض العديدون أن هذا الجدار الرادع وحده سوف يقنع العرب في النهاية بالتوقف عن تقويض [أمن] إسرائيل. ولكن على الرغم من العمليات المتكررة لإظهار قوتها الاجتماعية والعسكرية والسياسية، فإن إسرائيل تواجه الآن صراعاً لم تخبت جذوته، لكنه أخذ شكلاً جديداً.

ولا شك أن إسرائيل لا تزال تحظى بالتفوق العسكري التقليدي في المنطقة. لكن معظم أعدائها قد ابتعدوا عن ميدان القتال، وتحولوا إلى أساليب تثير حقد الشعوب ضد الشعوب بشكل فعال (على سبيل المثال، إطلاق الصواريخ العشوائية ضد القرى الإسرائيلية). وعلى نحو مماثل، فإن بعض جوانب عملية صنع القرار في الدول العربية ابتعدت عن القادة الحكوميين لتصل إلى الشارع، حيث يغلب أن ينظر المواطنون المتطرفون إلى إسرائيل على أنها عدو. ورغم أن العديد من الدول العربية تتشارك في مصالحها الاستراتيجية مع إسرائيل، إلا أن النفوذ المتنامي لآراء الجمهور المتطرفة حالت إلى حد بعيد دون التعاون بينهم.

وتشير هذه العوامل مجتمعة إلى أن إسرائيل دخلت عهد "ما بعد عملية السلام" مع الفلسطينيين. وعلى الرغم من أن الحكومة الإسرائيلية الجديدة أكثر ميلاً إلى الوسط، إلا أن الإسرائيليين لا يجدون أي شريك فلسطيني للسلام. كما أنهم يرون أن الظروف الإقليمية غير المستقرة لا تسمح لهم بتقديم تنازلات كبيرة أو الدخول في مفاوضات مكثفة. وعلى وجه الخصوص، فإن شكوكهم حول الكيفية التي ستؤثر فيها الانتفاضات العربية على الأردن يعني أنه لا يمكن التوصل إلى أي اتفاق نهائي مع الفلسطينيين حول قضايا الحدود والقضايا ذات الصلة. ومن جانبهم، لن يقبل الفلسطينيون أي اتفاق سلام لا يشمل غزة، حيث تسيطر «حماس» على القطاع بينما لا يزال موقفها المناهض بشدة لإسرائيل هو السياسة المتحكمة التي تتبعها الحركة.

ورغم هذا المشهد البائس حول احتمالات التوصل إلى سلام دائم، إلا أنه لا يزال يتعين على إسرائيل أن تنفصل عن الضفة الغربية -- ليس لأن تلك الخطوة سوف تؤدي إلى التوصل إلى اتفاق، لكن لأنها ضرورية للحفاظ على الهوية اليهودية للدولة. وفي ظل الظروف الراهنة، لا تستطيع إسرائيل إنجاز ذلك الهدف بأية طريقة بخلاف النهج الأحادي. وعلاوة على ذلك، فمن خلال النقل الثابت للسيطرة إلى السلطة الفلسطينية -- وتحويل أراضي من المنطقة (ج) إلى المنطقة (ب)، ومن المنطقة (ب) إلى المنطقة (أ) -- تستطيع إسرائيل أن تظهر للمجتمع الدولي أنها ملتزمة بالانسحاب من المناطق الفلسطينية. وفي سبيل تعزيز تلك الخطوات، تستطيع الولايات المتحدة أن تساعد إسرائيل على تطوير حاجزها لمقاومة الإرهاب حول الضفة الغربية. إن موافقة الولايات المتحدة على تصرفات إسرائيل في الضفة الغربية من شأنها أن تحمي البلاد أيضاً من ضغط الأمم المتحدة والاتحاد الأوروبي. وبدون ذلك القبول الدولي، فإن إسرائيل تخاطر بإرغامها على أن تكون دولة ثنائية القومية.

 

أعد هذا الملخص المقرر غابرييل تودين.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 2086

Israel in the Whirlwind: A New Government Meets a Changing Security Environment

Dan Schueftan and Shai Feldman

Also available in العربية

June 7, 2013


 

On June 3, 2013, Shai Feldman and Dan Schueftan addressed a Policy Forum at The Washington Institute. Dr. Schueftan is director of the National Security Studies Center at the University of Haifa and the Goldman visiting professor of government at Georgetown University. Dr. Feldman is the Judith and Sidney Swartz director of the Crown Center for Middle East Studies at Brandeis University. The following is a rapporteur's summary of their remarks.

SHAI FELDMAN

The recent volatility in the Middle East raises both serious challenges and important opportunities for the new Israeli government. Thus far, Israel has avoided making a major mistake in the two years since the Arab awakening began. In fact, it has handled the fallout from the regional uprisings with careful decisionmaking and an almost unparalleled clarity. This is particularly true in Syria, where Israel has refused to take sides in the civil war, focusing instead on preventing weapons transfers to Hezbollah. Such successes will make it easier for the new government to handle the more difficult decisions needed to ensure Israel's future as a democratic Jewish state.

One of those decisions is what to do about the Iranian nuclear program. Israelis continue to debate this issue thoroughly, with all options seemingly resulting in serious consequences.

Another central issue is Israel's relationship with Turkey. The two countries have already taken steps to mend the breach, but it remains unclear how far such efforts will stretch, and for how long. Whatever the case, the issue will remain significant given Turkey's ambitions and rising status in the region, its robust economy, and its skill at using soft power.

The Arab awakening will influence Israeli decisionmaking as well. Although it remains an internal Arab movement, the combination of rising political Islam and growing regional instability directly affects Israel. In particular, the potential role of jihadists in Syria and the uncertain status of Jordan's stability will shape Israel's future security landscape.

Despite these challenges, Israel has also developed several important strategic assets in recent years. First, U.S.-Israeli relations have reached a unique intimacy, particularly in the defense realm.

Second, Israel faces no conventional military threat at the moment. Syria and Iraq are consumed with their own domestic conflicts; more broadly, the region is increasingly divided between the Shiites of Iran, Iraq, and Hezbollah on the one hand, and the Sunnis of Jordan, Egypt, Saudi Arabia, and the smaller Gulf states on the other. Israelis have a distinct strategic advantage in such an environment, particularly since some Gulf states may in fact be inclined to unite with them against Iran.

A third asset is the recent reaffirmation of the Arab Peace Initiative, a Saudi-led proposal for Israel-Palestinian peace first proffered in 2002. Its reappearance indicates that Arab states are more amenable to productive discussion than they were in previous years.

A fourth asset is Israel's strong deterrence against nonstate actors such as Hezbollah and Hamas. No rockets have been launched from Lebanon since summer 2006, and Hezbollah is now being sucked into Syria's civil war, further distracting it from conflict with Israel.

Fifth, Israel is experiencing a spurt in economic growth resulting from responsible management of its fiscal and banking systems, with per capita gross domestic product now reaching European levels. In addition, the country is moving toward energy independence thanks in part to new hydrocarbon discoveries.

Despite the clear benefit of these strategic advantages, however, they also make it easier for the Israeli government to remain risk-averse and postpone tough decisions about ending the occupation of Palestinian territories. If Israel continues to do nothing, it risks sliding toward a de facto binational state instead of two states for two peoples. Any attempt to resolve the issue unilaterally will fail; Prime Minister Netanyahu must work with the Palestinian Authority to achieve a real, strategic success and defuse the existential threat inherent in the continued absence of regional peace. At a time when Washington is once again working to foster productive negotiations with the Palestinians, Israel should demonstrate its willingness to make impactful moves that lead to visible progress.

Indeed, the future of U.S. involvement in the region is itself a crucial factor in Israel's security calculus. Without active American interest and participation in the region, Israel would be isolated and therefore deeply threatened. Although the Arab uprisings have distracted certain states from their conflicts with Israel, they have also heightened the role of public opinion in these countries. In some cases this has brought radicalization to the fore, limiting Israel's ability to outwardly cooperate with many Arab states. Such dynamics could harm Israel's strategic standing, especially if Washington disengages from the region and Israeli leaders postpone important issues for too long.

DAN SCHUEFTAN

Over the past decade, Israeli society has undergone a fundamental change that will affect government decisionmaking for years to come. Beginning with the second Palestinian intifada in 2000, the country's concept of peace morphed drastically, with many Israelis coming to believe that the operative part of their aspirations toward peace should be shelved, if not discarded altogether. Beyond preventing war and deterring immediate enemies, Israel seemed to place any active push for peace with the Arabs on the back burner. In the past, many assumed that this wall of deterrence alone would eventually convince Arabs to stop undermining Israel. Yet despite repeatedly showing its societal, military, and political strength, Israel now faces a conflict that has not faded, but rather taken on a new form.

To be sure, Israel retains conventional military superiority in the region. But most of its enemies have moved away from the battlefield, switching to tactics that effectively pit population against population (e.g., indiscriminate rocket fire against Israeli villages). Similarly, some aspects of political decisionmaking in Arab countries have shifted from government leaders to the street, where radicalized citizens tend to view Israel as an enemy. Although many Arab states share strategic interests with Israel, the growing influence of radical public opinion has largely prevented significant cooperation between them.

Together, these factors indicate that Israel has entered a "post-peace process" era with the Palestinians. Although their new government is mostly center-leaning, Israelis see no Palestinian partner for peace. They also believe that the unstable regional circumstances do not allow for serious concessions or intensive negotiations. In particular, their uncertainty about how the Arab uprisings will affect Jordan means that no final deal can be made with the Palestinians on borders and related issues. For their part, the Palestinians will not accept a peace agreement without the inclusion of Gaza, where Hamas and its vehement anti-Israel stance continue to hold sway.

Despite this forlorn outlook on the prospects for lasting peace, Israel should still disengage from the West Bank -- not because such a move would bring about an agreement, but because it is necessary to maintaining the state's Jewish identity. Under the current circumstances, Israel cannot achieve that goal in any manner beyond unilateralism. Further, by steadily transferring control to the Palestinian Authority -- shifting territory from Area C to Area B, and from Area B to Area A -- Israel can show the international community that it is committed to withdrawing from Palestinian areas. To bolster such moves, the United States could help Israel further develop its counterterrorism barrier around the West Bank. U.S. approval of Israel's actions in the West Bank could also help shelter the country from UN and European pressure. Without such international acceptance, Israel risks being forced into a binational state.

This rapporteur's summary was prepared by Gabrielle Tudin.