أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 2837

إسرائيل والأردن يسعيان لتخفيف أزمة القدس

ديفيد ماكوفسكي

متاح أيضاً في English

25 تموز/يوليو 2017


في 24 تموز/يوليو، اتخذت إسرائيل والأردن خطوات لنزع فتيل أزمة متفجرة بشأن جبل الهيكل/الحرم القدسي الشريف في مدينة القدس، وتعد هذه المرة الثالثة منذ عام 2014 التي تتعاون فيها هاتان الدولتان لإعادة الهدوء إلى جبل الهيكل/الحرم القدسي الشريف، أحد أكثر مناطق الخلاف في المنطقة.

وما سهّل معالجة الموقف هو إطلاق سراح حارس أمن إسرائيلي من [طاقم] السفارة الإسرائيلية في عمان بعد أن كان قد أقدم في 23 تموز/يوليو على قتل مهاجماً أردنياً وأحد المارة. ومن جهتها، وافقت السفارة الإسرائيلية في وقت متأخر من يوم 24 تموز/يوليو على إزالة أجهزة كشف المعادن المثيرة للجدل التي وُضعت عند أطراف جبل الهيكل/الحرم القدسي الشريف. وكان مسؤولون أردنيون قد أشاروا إلى أجهزة الكشف كثمن لإطلاق سراح الحارس، في اتصال هاتفي مع رئيس الوزراء الاسرائيلي بنيامين نتنياهو.

وقد تم تركيب أجهزة كشف المعادن عندما أقدم عرب إسرائيليون مناصرون للقوات المتطرفة على قتل اثنين من رجال شرطة الحدود الإسرائيلية في 14 تموز/يوليو، باستخدامهم أسلحة كانوا قد هرّبوها إلى داخل المنطقة. وقيل إن القرار الإسرائيلي بوضع أجهزة كشف المعادن دون تنسيق السلطات العربية - الأردنية والفلسطينية على حد سواء - كان الأساس المنطقي للاحتجاجات. وتصاعدت هذه الاحتجاجات في النهاية لتتحول إلى اشتباكاتٍ مع سلطات الأمن الإسرائيلية، الأمر الذي أدى إلى مقتل ثلاثة فلسطينيين يوم الجمعة 21 تموز/يوليو. وفي وقت لاحق من نفس الليلة، قَتَل مهاجم فلسطيني وحيد ثلاثة مستوطنين إسرائيليين في منزلهم في الضفة الغربية، زاعماً أنه يدافع عن جبل الهيكل/الحرم القدسي الشريف.

تهدئة الموقف

في مساء 23 تموز/يوليو، ازدادت حدة التوتر عندما وقع اعتداءٌ داخل السفارة الإسرائيلية. وفي ذلك الحادث، استخدم نجار أردني كان يقوم بأعمال الصيانة مفك براغي في محاولة لطعن إسرائيلي. وهنا تدخل حارس الأمن فأطلق النار على المعتدي وأرداه قتيلاً، كما قَتل عن غير قصد على ما يبدو صاحب المُلك الأردني البرئ إلى جانبه. واحتُجز نحو عشرين دبلوماسياً وحارساً إسرائيلياً داخل السفارة لأكثر من أربع وعشرين ساعة وسط تهديدات أمنية. وكان المسؤولون الإسرائيليون قلقون من وقوع مظاهرات أردنية عامة أمام السفارة مباشرة، مما يؤجج التوترات. وعندما لم يتمكن نتنياهو من التواصل مع العاهل الأردني الملك عبد الله، أصدر تعليماته إلى السفير الإسرائيلي في واشنطن رون ديرمر بالاتصال مع كبير مستشاري ترامب (وزوج ابنته) جاريد كوشنر في البيت الأبيض. وتحدث كوشنر مع الملك عبد الله وطلب إطلاق سراح الإسرائيلي.

وفي اليوم التالي، سارع رئيس "جهاز الأمن الإسرائيلي"، أو "الشين بيت" - الوكالة المسؤولة عن حماية الدبلوماسيين الإسرائيليين في الخارج - نداف أرغمان إلى السفر إلى عمان للاجتماع بنظرائه الأردنيين. وبينما رفضت إسرائيل السماح باستجواب الحارس، أجاز أرجمان للشرطة الأردنية بدخول مبنى السفارة في 24 تموز/يوليو للاستماع إلى رواية الحارس عن الحادثة بحضور دبلوماسيين إسرائيليين. وبعد ذلك، خرج موظفو السفارة بأكملهم في موكب وعادوا إلى إسرائيل. ووفقاً لمكتب رئيس الوزراء اجتاز جميع هؤلاء الموظفين برئاسة السفيرة عينات شلاين، ومن بينهم حارس الأمن الجريح، معبر ألنبي فى الساعة الحادية عشرة مساء. وفي الأردن، أدى الإفراج عن الحارس إلى انسحاب احتجاجي من البرلمان.

ولم تمضِ دقائق على الإفراج عن الإسرائيليين حتى صوّت مجلس الوزراء الأمني ​​الإسرائيلي على قرار بإزالة أجهزة كشف المعادن. وقال مسؤول أردني لوسائل الإعلام الإسرائيلية بعد ذلك أنه تم التوصل إلى "صفقة"، على الرغم من الجدل حول ما إذا كان ذلك مقايضة واضحة أو شيء أكثر رسمية.

دور الأردن

اضطر الأردن إلى التعامل مع هذه الأزمة بحذر. فمن جهة، تربط الأردن بإسرائيل علاقات أمنية وثيقة جداً، وقد تعمّقت بسبب المخاوف المشتركة بشأن تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» والجماعات الجهادية الأخرى وإيران. ومن جهة أخرى، يكتسي جبل الهيكل/الحرم القدسي الشريف أهميةً كبرى لدى المسلمين، وأن الأردن حريص جداً على تثبيت دوره كخادم هذا الحرم الشريف وحارسه، وهو دور منصوص عليه في معاهدة السلام بين إسرائيل والأردن من عام 1994. وينظر الهاشميون في الأردن إلى هذا الدور بمثابة دعامة لشرعيتهم الدينية.

وتفسّر هذه الخلفية الدافع إلى عدم ظهور الأردن بصورة الطرف المنحاز إلى الجانب الإسرائيلي في مسألة أجهزة كشف المعادن. وأدى هذا الموقف العلني أيضاً إلى تقييد الإجراءات التي اتخذها الأردن في السنوات الأخيرة عندما كانت مشكلة جبل الهيكل/الحرم القدسي الشريف تخرج إلى الواجهة. وفي تلك الحالات، كان الأردن يعمل مع إسرائيل بهدوء على وضع ترتيبات تشمل نشر كاميرات أمنية لجمع الأدلة حول التهديدات المحدقة بالنظام العام في الحرم القدسي. وفي تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر 2015، سافر وزير الخارجية الأمريكي آنذاك جون كيري إلى عمان لكي يرأس [التوقيع على] الاتفاق الذي تضمن للمرة الأولى تصريحاً علنياً من قبل نتنياهو جاء فيه أن بإمكان الإسرائيليين زيارة الموقع ولكن عدم الصلاة فيه. ومع ذلك، فعندما اعترضت سلطات الوقف الإسلامي التي مقرها في الأردن وتدير جبل الهيكل/الحرم القدسي الشريف على الكاميرات، لم تدافع الأردن عن الاتفاق الذي وقعته مع إسرائيل.

دور إسرائيل

ذكرت تقارير إعلامية إسرائيلية متعددة أنه بعد مقتل شرطييْ الحدود الإسرائيليين في 14 تموز/يوليو، انقسمت آراء المؤسسة الأمنية فى البلاد حول ما إذا كان سيتم استخدام أجهزة الكشف عن المعادن، مع تخوف بعض المسؤولين العسكريين و"جهاز الأمن الإسرائيلي" من رد فعل فلسطينى. وفي المقابل، نشرت الشرطة الإسرائيلية برئاسة [وزير الأمن الداخلي] وصديق نتنياهو المقرب جلعاد أردان، رأي مفاده أن أجهزة كشف المعادن ستساعد على استعادة الأمن، مشيرةً إلى أن هذه الكواشف تُستخدم في المواقع الدينية في جميع أنحاء العالم، من بينها الفاتيكان ومكة المكرمة، والجدار الغربي القريب أيضاً. ولكن ما اعتبره الإسرائيليون أداةً أمنية، رأى فيه الفلسطينيون أداةً لفرض السيطرة على مكانٍ مقدس متنازع عليه. وفي اجتماع مجلس الوزراء الأمني الإسرائيلي عُقد في 24 تموز/يوليو الماضي واتُخذ فيه القرار بإزالة الكاشفات، أوضح نتنياهو أنه يقوم بذلك بناء على طلب المؤسسة الأمنية. وفي الوقت نفسه، نفى وجود مقايضة واضحة مع الأردن، على الرغم من عدم نفيه بالمثل وجود تفاهم مع المملكة.

وإذ قدّم نتنياهو الشكر للعاهل الأردني الملك عبدالله على تعاونه، فقد أخبره أيضاً أن إسرائيل تملك تدابير أخرى أقل تدخلاً لضمان الأمن في جبل الهيكل/الحرم القدسي الشريف، وتشمل على ما يبدو تكنولوجيا بيومترية للتعرف على الوجوه بوسعها الكشف عن المشتبه بهم وسيتم تركيبها في الأشهر المقبلة. وحيث وجد منافسو نتنياهو اليمينيين الثلاثة في مجلس الوزراء الأمني ​​- برئاسة وزير التربية نفتالي بينيت - فرصة سانحة يمكنهم استغلالها، هاجموه في كلماتهم لخضوعه للضغوط الفلسطينية، وأصروا على أن البادرة تمثل انسحاباً من السلطة الإسرائيلية على جبل الهيكل، والتي لن تؤدي بدورها سوى إلى المزيد من المطالب الفلسطينية. وقد دعم وزير الدفاع أفيغدور ليبرمان نتنياهو في هذا الجهد.

ويكره نتنياهو، بشكل عام، أن يُعتبر ضعيفاً على الإطلاق، وغالباً ما يقول إنه يتصرف بناءً على توصيات المؤسسة الأمنية عندما تعرّضه قرارات مماثلة لمثل هذه الاتهام. وهنا أصبح الشعب يدرك أن المؤسسة الأمنية منقسمة، مما يجعل الوضع أكثر تعقيداً من المعتاد. وعلى صعيد آخر، فإن نتنياهو الذي يتجنب المخاطرة يدرك جيداً أهمية جبل الهيكل/الحرم القدسي الشريف بالنسبة للفلسطينيين والعالم العربي الأوسع. ففي عام 1996، وخلال فترة ولايته الأولى في منصبه، أدرك مباشرة الإمكانية المدمرة لتلك المنطقة، عندما انتشرت إشاعات غير صحيحة عن مرور نفق إسرائيلي تحت المسجد الأقصى، الأمر الذي أدّى إلى وقوع اشتباكات أودت بحياة سبعين فلسطينياً وسبعة عشر جندياً إسرائيلياً. وفي الآونة الأخيرة، أشاد بالتعاملات الإسرائيلية الهادئة مع عدد من الدول العربية حول التهديدات الإقليمية، وربما لا يريد أن تؤدي هذه القضية إلى إحباط هذه الجهود المشتركة. وقد تشعر إسرائيل، مثلها مثل الدول السنية المشاركة في مثل هذه العلاقات، أن لديها الكثير لتخسره أكثر مما كان عليه الأمر في الماضي.

ويجدر بالذكر أن قرار إسرائيل بإزالة أجهزة الكشف عن المعادن، جاء أيضاً قبل يوم واحد من عقد اجتماع مزمع لمجلس الأمن الدولي حول أزمة القدس، الأمر الذي يحتمل أن يكون قد دفع بها إلى اتخاذ هذه الخطوة. وملاحظة أخيرة ذات صلة بالعملية: كان نتنياهو قد وافق على "تركيب" أجهزة الكشف عشية رحلته إلى الخارج، قبل أن يتمكن من إجراء مشاورات واسعة النطاق بشأن هذه المسألة.

السلطة الفلسطينية خارج الساحة

کانت السلطة الفلسطینیة راضية بالسماح للأردن باتخاذ زمام المبادرة في السعي للتوصل إلی حل، کما حدث في الأزمات السابقة. ومن جانبه، كرر رئيس السلطة الفلسطينية محمود عباس، غضب الجمهور في تصريحاته، على الرغم من أنه وافق على التحدث مع نتنياهو عن طريق الهاتف. وفي الوقت الذي أعلن فيه علناً ​​عن تعليق التعاون الأمني ​​مع إسرائيل، تشير الدلائل إلى استمرار هذا التعاون عبر الهاتف وغيره من الوسائل. وفي هذا الصدد، قال عكرمة صبري رئيس "المجلس الإسلامي الأعلى في القدس" أن المجلس سيراجع قريباً دور إسرائيل في الأزمة.

المبعوثون الأمريكيون

في إطار سعي إدارة الرئيس ترامب إلى معالجة الموقف، استنبطت الإدارة الأمريكية بياناً لـ "اللجنة الرباعية الدولية" (الإتحاد الأوروبى، والأمين العام للأمم المتحدة، والولايات المتحدة، وروسيا) تشجع فيه الأردن على القيام بدور بارز. وكما ذُكر أعلاه، تدَخّل كوشنر في مرحلة حاسمة من خلال طلبه بأن يساعد الملك عبد الله شخصياً على تخفيف حدة أزمة السفارة. كما أن مبعوث ترامب جيسون جرينبلات زار المنطقة لتخفيف حدة التوترات. وحتى الآن، كان وزير الخارجية الأمريكي ريكس تيلرسون متغيباً عن الساحة [السياسية]، ويبدو أنه [يفضل] ترك الموضوع إلى البيت الأبيض بسبب عدم وجود علاقات شخصية بينه وبين القادة المعنيين.

الخاتمة

أثبتت الأزمة المتبلورة حول جبل الهيكل/الحرم القدسي الشريف، وفي عمان، مرة أخرى الخطر الكامن في الأماكن المقدسة في القدس، كما أظهرت أن الأطراف المعنية - أي الإسرائيليون والأردنيون - سوف تعمل مع بعضها البعض لتفادي نتيجة مأساوية واسعة النطاق إذا رأت أن مثل هذه الحصيلة تلوح في الأفق. ولكن التوترات لم تنخفض تماماً، وأن فتيل الأزمة يمكن أن يشتعل بسهولة من جديد.

 

ديفيد ماكوفسكي هو زميل "زيغلر" المميز ومدير مشروع عملية السلام في الشرق الأوسط في معهد واشنطن. وتشمل منشوراته المذكرة السياسية لعام 2017 "نحو صيغةٍ جديدة لمعالجة الصراع الإسرائيلي الفلسطيني" (شارك في تأليفها مع دينيس روس).

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 2837

Israel and Jordan Act to Ease Jerusalem Crisis

David Makovsky

Also available in العربية

July 25, 2017


The recent events again proved the dangerous potential of the city's holy sites.

On July 24, Israel and Jordan took steps to defuse an explosive crisis surrounding Jerusalem's Temple Mount/al-Haram al-Sharif (TM/HAS). This marks the third time since 2014 that the two countries have worked together to restore calm in one of the region's most contentions areas.

The resolution was facilitated by the release of an Israeli security guard from the country's embassy in Amman who, on July 23, killed a Jordanian attacker and a bystander. For its part, the Israeli security cabinet agreed late on July 24 to remove controversial metal detectors set up at the edge of the TM/HAS compound. Jordanian officials cited the detectors as the price for the guard's release in a phone conversation with Israeli prime minister Binyamin Netanyahu.

The metal detectors were installed when Arab Israeli supporters of radical forces killed two Israeli border policemen on July 14, using guns they had smuggled into the area. Israel's decision to deploy the metal detectors without the coordination of Arab authorities -- both Jordanian and Palestinian -- was cited as the rationale for protests. These protests eventually escalated into clashes with Israeli security authorities, leading to the death of three Palestinians on Friday July 21. Later that same night, a lone Palestinian assailant killed three Israeli settlers in their West Bank home, alleging that he was defending TM/HAS.

De-Escalation

Tensions inched higher on the evening of July 23, when the attack played out at the Israeli embassy. In the incident, a Jordanian carpenter doing maintenance work used a screwdriver in an attempt to stab an Israeli. This was when the security guard opened fire, killing the attacker and also apparently inadvertently struck down the innocent Jordanian landlord alongside him. For more than twenty-four hours, some twenty Israeli diplomats and guards were locked in the embassy compound amid security threats. Israeli officials had been nervous that public Jordanian demonstrations would occur right outside the compound, fueling tensions. When Netanyahu could not reach Jordan's King Abdullah, he instructed Israel's ambassador to Washington, Ron Dermer, to contact Trump's senior advisor (and son-in-law) Jared Kushner at the White House. Kushner spoke to Abdullah and asked that the Israeli be freed.

The next day, Nadav Argaman, who heads the Israel Security Agency (ISA), or Shin Bet -- the agency responsible for protecting Israeli diplomats abroad -- rushed to Amman to meet with his Jordanian counterparts. While Israel refused to allow the guard to be interrogated, Argaman let Jordanian police visit the embassy compound on July 24 to hear the guard's description of the incident in the presence of Israeli diplomats. Subsequently, the entire embassy staff boarded a convoy and headed back to Israel. According to the prime minister's office, all such staff, headed by Ambassador Einat Shlain and including the wounded security guard, traversed the Allenby Crossing at 11 p.m. In Jordan, meanwhile, the guard's release prompted a walkout in parliament.

Minutes after the Israelis were released, the Israeli security cabinet voted to dismantle the metal detectors. A Jordanian official told the Israeli media afterward that a "deal" had been struck, despite the debate over whether an explicit quid pro quo or something more informal had transpired.

Jordan's Role

Jordan has had to navigate this crisis carefully. On one hand, Jordan and Israel have very close security ties that have deepened owing to common concerns over the Islamic State, other jihadist groups, and Iran. On the other, TM/HAS resonates loudly with its Muslim public, and Jordan is very sensitive about affirming its role as the custodian of the site, a role enshrined in the 1994 Israel-Jordan peace treaty. The Hashemites view this role as a pillar of their religious legitimacy.

Such a background explains why the Jordanians could not be seen as taking Israel's side in the metal detector affair. This public position has also constrained Jordan's actions in recent years when the TM/HAS issue has surged. In those instances, Jordan and Israel have quietly worked out arrangements including deploying security cameras to collect evidence involving threats to public order at the holy site. In November 2015, then U.S. secretary of state John Kerry flew to Amman to preside over the deal, which for the first time included a public statement by Netanyahu that Israelis could visit but not pray at the site. Yet when the Jordan-based Jerusalem Islamic Waqf authorities who administer TM/HAS objected to the cameras, Jordan did not defend the agreement it had struck with Israel.

Israel's Role

After the July 14 killing of the two Israeli border policemen, the country's security establishment was split on whether to use the metal detectors, with some military and Shin Bet officials fearing a Palestinian backlash, according to multiple Israeli media reports. In contrast, the Israel Police, led by Netanyahu confidant Gilad Erdan, propagated the view that the detectors would help restore security, noting that metal detectors are used at religious sites around the world, including the Vatican and Mecca, as well as the nearby Western Wall. What these Israelis saw as security, however, Palestinians regarded as an instrument to exert control over a contested holy site. At the July 24 security cabinet meeting at which the decision was taken to remove the detectors, Netanyahu made clear he was doing so at the request of the security establishment. Meanwhile, he denied an explicit quid pro quo with Jordan, although without similarly denying an understanding with the kingdom.

Thanking Abdullah for his cooperation, Netanyahu told the Jordanian king that Israel has other, less-intrusive measures to ensure security at TM/HAS, apparently including biometric facial-recognition technology that can identify suspects and will be installed in the coming months. Sensing an opportunity, Netanyahu's three right-wing rivals in the security cabinet -- led by Education Minister Naftali Bennett -- attacked him for yielding to Palestinian pressure, insisting the gesture represented a pullback from Israeli authority at the Temple Mount that, in turn, would only lead to further Palestinian demands. Defense Minister Avigdor Liberman supported Netanyahu in the effort.

Netanyahu, in general, hates to ever be perceived as weak and often says he is acting on the recommendations of the security establishment when decisions, such as this one, could open him up to such a charge. Here, the public had learned the security establishment was divided, making the situation more complex than usual. Separately, a risk-averse Netanyahu is very much aware of the resonance of TM/HAS for Palestinians and the broader Arab world. In 1996, during his first term in office, he learned firsthand of the destructive potential of the area, when incorrect rumors that an Israeli tunnel ran beneath the al-Aqsa Mosque led to fighting that killed seventy Palestinians and seventeen Israeli soldiers. More recently, he has touted Israel's quiet dealings with a variety of Arab states on regional threats, and likely did not want this issue to torpedo these common efforts. Like the Sunni states involved in such relations, Israel may feel it has more to lose than in the past.

The Israeli decision to remove the metal detectors, it should also be noted, came one day before a planned UN Security Council meeting on the Jerusalem crisis, potentially nudging along the move. A final process-related note: Netanyahu had agreed to install the detectors on the eve of a trip abroad, before he could engage in wide-ranging consultations on the matter.

Palestinian Authority on the Sidelines

As in earlier such crises, the Palestinian Authority (PA) was content to let Jordan take the lead in seeking a resolution. PA president Mahmoud Abbas, for his part, echoed public anger in his remarks, although he did agree to talk by phone with Netanyahu. While publicly announcing the suspension of security cooperation with Israel, indications suggest such cooperation continued by phone and other means. Ekrima Sabri, the head of Jerusalem's Supreme Islamic Council, said the council would soon review Israel's role in the crisis.

U.S. Envoys

In seeking to resolve the situation, the Trump administration brought together a statement from the Quartet (EU, UN secretary-general, United States, and Russia) encouraging a lead Jordanian role. As noted above, Kushner did intervene at a key juncture with his request that King Abdullah personally help de-escalate the embassy crisis. Trump envoy Jason Greenblatt also visited the region to ease tensions. So far, Secretary of State Rex Tillerson has been publicly absent from the scene, appearing to defer to the White House amid a lack of personal relationships with the pertinent leaders.

Conclusion

The unfolding crisis around TM/HAS, and in Amman, again proved the dangerous potential of the Jerusalem holy sites. It also showed that relevant players -- namely, the Israelis and Jordanians -- will work together to avert a wide-scale tragic outcome if they perceive one looming. But the tensions have not died down altogether, and this crisis could easily reignite.

David Makovsky is the Ziegler Distinguished Fellow and director of the Project on the Middle East Peace Process at The Washington Institute. His publications include the Transition 2017 paper Toward a New Paradigm for Addressing the Israeli-Palestinian Conflict (coauthored with Dennis Ross).