أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 2430

المقاتلون الأجانب الشيعة العراقيون يبرزون مجدداً في سوريا

فيليب سميث

متاح أيضاً في English

29 أيار/مايو 2015


على مدى الأشهر القليلة الماضية، وسّع المقاتلون الشيعة العراقيون مرة أخرى من دورهم في الدفاع عن نظام الأسد في سوريا. فابتداءً من أواخر عام 2012، شكّل هؤلاء المقاتلون - بعضهم من ذوي الخبرة والبعض الآخر تم تجنيده حديثاً - بعض الوحدات الأجنبية الأكثر ديناميكية في هذه الحرب. وبحلول ربيع 2014، كان قد تم سحب العديد منهم من الجبهة السورية للتعامل مع الضغوط المتزايدة التي يطرحها ما يسمى بـ تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» («داعش»). لكن في الوقت الراهن، وعلى الرغم من استمرار القتال في المناطق الساخنة في العراق مثل تكريت والرمادي، يتولى هؤلاء المقاتلون الشيعة بشكل متزايد مسؤوليات جديدة ويعيدون تولي مسؤوليات سابقة على جبهات متعددة في سوريا.

وفي الوقت نفسه، وسّعت بعض الجماعات الأكثر حداثة - العميلة لإيران والتي تتخذ من العراق مقراً لها - من عمليات التجنيد التي تقوم بها من أجل إرسال المقاتلين إلى سوريا. ويشكل ذلك تحولاً مستمراً آخر، إذ يتم تسليم مسؤولية تجنيد ونشر المقاتلين الشيعة العراقيين إلى طلائع عراقية تم إنشاؤها مؤخراً ضمن الشبكة المتوسعة لمنظمات «المقاومة الإسلامية» التي تسيطر عليها إيران. وتشير هذه الجهود، التي تجري منذ عدة أشهر، إلى قيام تطورات إيجابية وسلبية متعلقة بالمقاتلين الشيعة العراقيين في إطار تجنيد ونشر المقاتلين.

قوات «لواء أبو الفضل العباس» المنتشرة بأعداد ضئيلة

كانت الجماعات التي انبثقت عن «لواء أبو الفضل العباس» - أول ميليشيا شيعية مكونة من مقاتلين أجانب تقيم معسكراً في سوريا، مؤلفاً أساساً من العراقيين - نشطة جداً ضمن مساحات متزايدة من الأراضي السورية. وفي الغالب، يشير نشرهم على نطاق أوسع إلى المزيد من التوتر في صفوف مؤيدي الأسد.

وفي الفترة بين شباط/فبراير وأوائل آذار/مارس 2015، تم نشر إحدى أكثر ميليشيات شبكة «لواء أبو الفضل العباس» نشاطاً، ألا وهي «لواء ذو الفقار»، في منطقة اللاذقية في شمال سوريا. وكانت الجماعة قد خاضت معارك بالدرجة الأولى في منطقة دمشق وجنوبها منذ عام 2013، لذا يشير التحوّل نحو الشمال إلى استنزاف المقاتلين في صفوف النظام وحاجة هذا الأخير إلى نشر مقاتلين من ذوي الخبرة للوقوف ضد تجدد هجمات الثوار والجهاديين السنة.

وفي منتصف نيسان/إبريل، تم نقل بعض قوات «لواء ذو الفقار» جنوباً إلى منطقة جبلية قرب الحدود اللبنانية السورية، على الرغم من أن «حزب الله» اللبناني كان قد انتشر بالفعل بكثافة في تلك المنطقة. ومن خلال تنفيذ عمليات في قرية يابوس وبعد ذلك في الزبداني، ادّعى «لواء ذو الفقار» أنه قتل المئات من قوات الثوار. وهذه ليست هي المرة الأولى التي ساعد فيها «لواء ذو الفقار»، «حزب الله» في إحدى مناطق عمليات «الحزب» الرئيسية، فخلال الهجوم المشترك الأول الذي ضم عناصر «حزب الله» وقوات من نظام الأسد في القلمون في كانون الأول/ ديسمبر 2013، شارك «لواء ذو الفقار» في معارك قرب مدينة نبق.

وفي الآونة الأخيرة - في 24 أيار/مايو، ادّعى مقاتلو «لواء ذو الفقار» أن الميليشيا قد انتقلت شمالاً إلى إدلب من أجل المساعدة على تحرير قوات النظام المحاصرة في مستشفى جسر الشغور. وقد ظهر زعيم الجماعة، أبو شهد الجبوري، وهو يأمر بشن هجمات صاروخية وإطلاق عمليات المشاة في تلك المنطقة. وعلى الرغم من تلك الجهود، فرّت بقايا قوات الأسد من المنطقة بحلول 27 أيار/مايو بعد أن تم اجتياح المستشفى.

إلى جانب ذلك، كانت المنظمة الشقيقة لـ «لواء ذو الفقار» - المعروفة بـ «لواء أسد الله الغالب» - نشطة أيضاً في معقل العلويين. ففي كانون الثاني/يناير، نُشرت صور على مواقع التواصل الاجتماعي تم الإدعاء من خلالها أن أقسام من الجماعة وقائدها، أبو فاطمة الموسوي، متواجدون في منطقة بانياس. ومع انتهاء ذلك الهجوم شمالاً، أفادت التقارير أن «لواء أسد الله الغالب» عاد إلى مناطق أكثر ريفية في ريف دمشق. وبين 21 و 25 نيسان/إبريل، ادّعت الجماعة علناً أنها فقدت ستة أعضاء خلال المعارك الداخلية في المنطقة.

وفي الفترة نفسها تقريباً، زعم «لواء الإمام الحسين» - جماعة أخرى تابعة لـ «لواء أبو الفضل العباس» - أنه أرسل خمسين مقاتلاً لدعم العمليات في ريف اللاذقية. وتزامن ذلك مع زيارة قام بها زعيم الميليشيا الشيخ أبو كرار أمجد البهادلي، إلى (مدينة) القرداحة مسقط عائلة الأسد. وانضم إلى البهادلي في زيارته للمدينة، قائد ما يسمى بـ «قوات التدخل السريع» (أو «أفواج الكفيل») أحمد الحجي الساعدي، الذي كان يقوم سابقاً بإعداد وقيادة فروع الميليشيات التابعة له في العراق.

إعادة الانتشار في الصفوف الأمامية

طرأ تطور آخر داخل شبكة «لواء أبو الفضل العباس»، تجلّى في حركة تنقل متزايدة - داخل سوريا - للمقاتلين والقادة الذين ينتمون إلى «قاعدة قوة أبو فضل العباس» التي تتخذ من العراق مقراً لها. وقد تم تشكيل «قاعدة قوة أبو فضل العباس» في العراق - بقيادة الشيخ أوس الخفاجي (شخصية منشقة عن التيار الصدري) والشيخ أبو كميل اللامي (التابع لجماعة «عصائب أهل الحق») - بعد تقدم تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» في حزيران/ يونيو 2014. كما وتشمل هذه الميليشيا - التي هي جزء مما يسمى في العراق بـ وحدات/لجان «التعبئة الشعبية» أو «الحشد الشعبي» - أبرز المقاتلين والقادة الذين ينتمون إلى «لواء ذو الفقار»، و«قوة الرد السريع»، و «لواء الإمام الحسين». هذا وحتى أن عناصر قيادية من «لواء ذو الفقار» ارتدَت زي الجماعة في العراق وسوريا، مما يدل على الروابط الوثيقة القائمة بينهما. وفي مقابلة أجرتها صحيفة "النهار" اللبنانية اليومية مع الشيخ أوس الخفاجي في كانون الأول/ ديسمبر 2014، ادّعى الخفاجي أن «قاعدة قوة أبو فضل العباس» كانت "امتداداً طبيعياً" لـ «لواء أبو الفضل العباس»، وأنه يحافظ على صلات مع الزعماء الرئيسيين في الشبكة.

ووفقاً لأخبار نُشرت على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي التابعة للميليشيا الشيعية، كان الخفاجي يزور المقاتلين الشيعة الأجانب في سوريا منذ منتصف عام 2013، وهي فترة زمنية شهدت ترويجاً متزايداً للميليشيات الشيعية العراقية في تلك البلاد. وقد ارتفعت وتيرة زياراته في عام 2014، كما قام بهذه الرحلة هذا العام أيضاً. وعندما سؤل من قبل صحيفة "النهار" حول سبب استمرار توافد المقاتلين الشيعة العراقيين إلى سوريا، أعلن أن "فشل" انخراطها في القتال في سوريا "كان السبب وراء دخول [تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية»] إلى العراق".

وفي وقت سابق من هذا الشهر، وخلال المرحلة التي سبقت فترة الحداد التي أمدها ثلاث ليالٍ في ذكرى استشهاد السيدة زينب، ظهر مقاتلو «قاعدة قوة أبو فضل العباس» وهم يرتدون الزي الرسمي وينزلون من طائرة في دمشق. وكانوا ظاهرياً في سوريا للمشاركة في الاحتفالات، ولكن نظراً إلى حاجة النظام للمقاتلين والروابط التي يتم إقامتها علناً بين جماعات «لواء أبو الفضل العباس» التي تتخذ من سوريا مقراً لها و«قاعدة قوة أبو فضل العباس»، فمن المحتمل جداً أن يبقى بعض هؤلاء المقاتلين على الأقل لفترة أطول للمشاركة في جولات القتال.

ويبدو أيضاً أن «قاعدة قوة أبو فضل العباس» تتمتع بصلات عميقة مع «كتائب الإمام علي»، وهي ميليشيا أخرى جديدة ومتنامية القوة انشقت عن الكتلة الصدرية التي تسيطر عليها إيران. وربما تكشف هذه الروابط عن وسيلة أكثر رسمية للاستفادة من مصادر منشقة عن الكتلة الصدرية لتجنيد القوات. وعلى الرغم من أن عمليات التجنيد التي قامت بها «قاعدة قوة أبو فضل العباس» في الآونة الأخيرة لم تقتصر على سوريا فقط، فقد تتطور الجماعة إلى [ميليشيا] رائدة جديدة في مجال التجنيد نظراً إلى القيادة التي تمتعت بها في وقت سابق، وإلى صِلاتها المباشرة بـ «لواء أبو الفضل العباس» وتاريخها في تجنيد مقاتلين لسوريا. ومع التجارب على أرض المعركة التي اكتسبها المقاتلون الشيعة في العراق، فمن الممكن أن يشكلوا عنصراً قتالياً أكثر قوة إلى جانب نظام الأسد في المرحلة القادمة.

جماعات خاصة جديدة وتجديد التركيز على سوريا

في الوقت الذي تواصلت فيه الاشتباكات المسلحة التي شملت منظمات شبكة «لواء أبو الفضل العباس»، يبدو أن عملاء إيران الآخرين الذين اتخذوا من العراق مقراً لهم قد تولوا دوراً محدوداً في الصراع السوري. إذ ادّعت جماعات «عصائب أهل الحق»، ومنظمة بدر، و «كتائب حزب الله» أنها أعادت مقاتليها إلى العراق وانهت العديد من برامج التجنيد التي تركز على سوريا في أيار/مايو 2014. ومع ذلك، يبدو أن جماعتين أخرتين من الشيعة العراقيين، هما «كتائب سيد الشهداء» و «حركة حزب الله النجباء»، تتوليان مهاماً قيادية في سوريا وتواصلان إرسال المقاتلين إليها.

يُشار إلى أنه تم الإعلان عن إنشاء «كتائب سيد الشهداء» لأول مرة في ربيع عام 2013، بينما كانت جنازات المقاتلين الشيعة العراقيين الذين لاقوا حتفهم في سوريا تلقى المزيد من الترويج. وفي البداية، تم تشكيل الجماعة العميلة لإيران كواجهة تربطها علاقات بـ «كتائب حزب الله» ومنظمة بدر، وتقوم منذ ذلك الحين بإرسال مقاتلين إلى سوريا. كما أن «حركة حزب الله النجباء» - جماعة بقيادة أحد مؤسسي «عصائب أهل الحق» أكرم الكعبي - كانت جزءاً من سلسلة إعلانات ربيع 2013 التي كشفت عن ميليشيات شيعية عراقية جديدة عاملة في سوريا. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، كانت «حركة حزب الله النجباء» أولى هذه الميليشيات التي تعلن عن قيامها بعمليات في منطقة حلب.

وبعد مرور أقل من شهر على سيطرة تنظيم «داعش» على الموصل، بدأت «كتائب سيد الشهداء» برامج تجنيد مخطط لها على الإنترنت وعلى أرض المعركة، وكل ذلك بالتزامن مع العمليات الهجومية التي تندرج الجماعة في سوريا في إطارها، وقد استمر ذلك حتى كانون الأول/ديسمبر 2014. وكان العديد من هذه البرامج قد استهدف الذكور في المناطق ذات الغالبية الشيعية في بغداد وخاصة مدينة البصرة في جنوب العراق.

وفي الآونة الأخيرة أصدرت «حركة حزب الله النجباء» دعواتها الخاصة للتجنيد [من أجل القتال في] سوريا، وذلك ابتداءً من أواخر آذار/مارس ومنتصف نيسان/أبريل 2015. وتركزت هذه الجهود على محافظة ميسان العراقية، حيث يكثر التعاطف تجاه الميليشيات الشيعية التي وفرت للجماعة العديد من مجنديها الأوائل [للقتال في] سوريا. وقد كانت المحافظة موطن العديد من الميليشيات الشيعية المدعومة من إيران منذ الاحتلال الأمريكي للعراق، كما يعتبرها العديد من المقاتلين مركزاً عسكرياً، لا سيما مدينة العمارة عاصمة المحافظة.

بدءاً من أيلول/سبتمبر 2014، تم إدخال مقاتلي «كتائب سيد الشهداء» إلى الجبهة الجنوبية المتغيّرة في سوريا، وهم منخرطون [في القتال] منذ ذلك الحين. وقد شمل الجزء من الجبهة الموكّل إلى الجماعة مناطق شمال درعا، مع التركيز على البلدات الريفية ذات الأهمية الاستراتيجية على الطريق السريع من درعا إلى دمشق. ومع تقدم قوات الثوار نحو دمشق ابتداءاً من تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر، واجهتهم «كتائب سيد الشهداء» قرب بلدة الشيخ مسكين الاستراتيجية للغاية وبلدة نامر المجاورة. وحتى مع هذه الجهود، فبحلول كانون الثاني/يناير 2015 استولى الثوار على مساحات كبيرة من الأراضي التي كانت تخضع لسيطرة «كتائب سيد الشهداء». ووفق ما ورد عن الجماعة، فإن العمليات المتعلقة بدرعا قد استمرت منذ ذلك الحين. وعلى الرغم من أن «كتائب سيد الشهداء» لم تذكر شيئاً عن القرى المحددة التي تعمل منها، إلا أنها روّجت بشدة لأنشطتها السورية في آذار/مارس ونيسان/إبريل من خلال نشر الصور وأشرطة الفيديو على شبكة الإنترنت.

أما بالنسبة إلى «حركة حزب الله النجباء»، فقد كانت الجماعة تلعب دوراً قتالياً في المناطق التي تعمل فيها تقليدياً في منطقة حلب. وفي 19 شباط/ فبراير، ادعت سلسلة من الأخبار المنشورة على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي التابعة للميليشا الشيعية بأن ثمانية عشر فرداً من مقاتلي الحركة لاقوا حتفهم وهم يدافعون عن مدينتي نبل والزهراء في محافظة حلب. وفي أوائل أيار/مايو، أعلنت الجماعة أنها كانت تقاتل في شرق الغوطة.

ويمثّل حسنين أبو كفيل الساعدي، أحد المقاتلين الذين لاقوا حتفهم في شباط/ فبراير، التغييرات في نشر القوات بين العراق وسوريا. ووفقاً للمسلحين الشيعة الذين خدموا معه، بدأ الساعدي عمله مع الجماعة في سوريا عام 2013، من خلال الانضمام إلى «حركة حزب الله النجباء» والقتال إلى جانب منظمات شبكة «لواء أبو الفضل العباس» و «حزب الله» اللبناني. وفي وقت ما في 2014، عاد إلى العراق وقاتل في سامراء وبيجي وتكريت، إلا أنه عاد إلى الجبهة السورية هذا العام.

التداعيات

إن المقاتلين الشيعة العراقيين لم يتركوا سوريا فعلياً، وسيستمرون في لعب دور كبير هناك. فقدرتهم على أن يكونوا جنود هجوم، وعناصر دعم مشاة، وعناصر احتياط قد ساعدت على إعطائهم أهمية - وفي غضون عامين فقط، تحوّل هؤلاء المقاتلين الأجانب من عوامل مساعدة إلى عناصر جوهرية في ساحة المعركة.

إن مناطق الانتشار الواسعة لشبكة «أبو فضل العباس»، لا سيما في معقل الأسد الجغرافي، توضح المشاكل التي تواجه قوات النظام مع المقاتلين ومع توقعات حجم القوة [على أرض المعركة]. وبالمثل، أبرز انتشار [الميليشيات] العراقية الشيعية في القلمون الصعوبات التي يواجهها «حزب الله» اللبناني، كما أظهر الكيفية التي تعمل بموجبها الميليشيات الشيعية متعددة الجنسيات في تناسق في كثير من الأحيان. ومع ذلك، ففي الوقت نفسه، يشير هذا الانتشار إلى حصول تحول هام في النهج الإيراني في تعزيز قوة الأسد، وعلى وجه التحديد إيكال مهام محددة لبعض المنظمات الشيعية العراقية في العثور على مجندين لسوريا، وهو ما يمثل استمرار الالتزام بدعم نظام الأسد (ولو بتغيير طفيف).

ويتم بشكل متواصل إنشاء العديد من الميليشيات الشيعية العراقية المدعومة من إيران، وقد نشأت معظم هذه الجماعات في وقت قريب من إعلان «حزب الله» اللبناني رسمياً عن وجوده في سوريا في أيار/مايو 2013، وثانية في أعقاب سقوط الموصل بيد تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» في حزيران/ يونيو 2014. ورغم أن هذه المنظمات الجديدة تسلط الضوء على "السير على خطى «حزب الله»" على نطاق أوسع في المجال الأمني في العراق وسوريا، إلا أنها تظهر أيضاً كيف يمكن لإيران الانتقاء والاختيار من مختلف الفئات للقيام بمهام محددة. وفي الوقت الذي تعمل فيه عناصر من شبكة «لواء أبو الفضل العباس» على تطوير العلاقات مع المنظمات العراقية التي أنشئت وتضفي عليها الطابع الرسمي، وحيث تواصل «كتائب سيد الشهداء»  و«حركة حزب الله النجباء» جهود التجنيد التي تقومان بها، قد يصبح تدفق المقاتلين الشيعة إلى سوريا أكثر تنظيماً، كما أن أدوارهم القتالية في الدفاع عن الأسد يمكن أن تصبح أكثر محورية، مع مرور الوقت.

 

فيليب سميث، باحث في جامعة ميريلاند، ويحرر المدونة "موكب «حزب الله»" "Hizballah Cavalcade"  من على موقع Jihadology.net، ومؤلف الدراسة الأخيرة التي أصدرها المعهد بعنوان "حركة الجهاد الشيعي في سوريا وآثارها الإقليمية".

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 2430

Iraqi Shiite Foreign Fighters on the Rise Again in Syria

Phillip Smyth

Also available in العربية

May 29, 2015


As regime and Hezbollah forces experience manpower and projection problems in Syria, Iran-backed Iraqi Shiite militias may be reassuming a greater combat role.

Over the past few months, Iraqi Shiite fighters have once again expanded their role in defending the Assad regime in Syria. Beginning in late 2012, these fighters -- some of them experienced, others newly recruited -- formed some of the most dynamic foreign units in the war. By spring 2014, many of them had been pulled from the Syrian front to handle increasing pressure from the so-called Islamic State (IS) in Iraq. Today, however, despite continued fighting in Iraqi hotspots such as Tikrit and Ramadi, these Shiite militias are increasingly adopting new responsibilities and reassuming older ones on many fronts in Syria.

Meanwhile, certain newer Iraq-based Iranian proxy groups have expanded their recruitment activities to bring fighters to Syria. This represents another ongoing shift: recruitment and deployment for Iraqi Shiite fighters is being handed over to more recently created Iraqi fronts within the expanding Iranian-controlled network of "Islamic Resistance" organizations. These efforts, which have been in process for months, demonstrate both positive and negative developments for Iraqi Shiite fighters in the recruitment and deployment arenas.

LAFA'S THINLY SPREAD FORCES

Groups that emerged from Liwa Abu Fadl al-Abbas (LAFA) -- the first foreign-fighter-manned Shiite militia to set up camp in Syria, composed primarily of Iraqis -- have been very active over increasingly larger stretches of Syrian territory. For the most part, their wider employment indicates further stress within the pro-Assad ranks.

From February to early March 2015, one of the LAFA network's most active militias, Liwa Dhulfiqar, was deployed to the Latakia area in northern Syria. The group had primarily fought battles in and south of the Damascus area since 2013, so the northern shift indicated the regime's stretched manpower and its need to use experienced fighters against renewed rebel and Sunni jihadist offensives.

In mid-April, some Liwa Dhulfiqar forces were moved south into a mountainous zone near the Lebanon-Syria border, despite the fact that Lebanese Hezbollah was already heavily deployed in the area. Conducting operations in Yabous and then Zabadani, Liwa Dhulfiqar claimed to have killed hundreds of rebel forces. This was not the first time the group had helped Hezbollah in one of the latter's primary areas of operation -- in December 2013, during the first combined Hezbollah/Assad regime offensive in Qalamoun, it was involved in battles near al-Nabak.

More recently, Liwa Dhulfiqar fighters claimed on May 24 that the militia had moved north to Idlib in order to help free regime troops besieged at the Jisr al-Shughour hospital. The group's leader, Abu Shahid al-Jabbouri, was shown ordering rocket salvos and infantry operations in the field. Despite these efforts, the remnants of Assad's forces had fled the area by May 27 as the hospital was overrun.

Liwa Dhulfiqar's sister organization, Liwa Assad Allah al-Ghalib (LAAG), has also been active in the Alawite heartland. In January, photos were posted on social media claiming that sections of the group and its commander, Abu Fatima al-Musawi, were present in the Banias area. As this foray to the north ended, LAAG reportedly returned to more rural sections of Rif Damascus. Between April 21 and 25, the group publicly claimed to have lost six members during internecine battles in the area.

Around the same period, Liwa al-Imam al-Hussein, another LAFA-affiliated group, claimed to have sent fifty fighters to support operations in rural Latakia. This coincided with a visit by the militia's leader, Sheikh Abu Karrar al-Bahladi, to the Assad family hometown of Qardaha. Joining Bahladi on the trip was Ahmed Hajji Sadi, commander of the so-called Rapid Reaction Forces (RRF or Afwaj al-Kafil), who had previously been setting up and commanding branches of his militia in Iraq.

CROSSPOLLINATION BETWEEN THE FRONT GROUPS

Another development within the LAFA network has been the increasing traffic inside Syria of fighters and commanders belonging to the Iraq-based Qaeda Quwet Abu Fadl al-Abbas (QQAFA). Led by Sheikh Auws al-Khafaji (a Sadrist splinter figure) and Sheikh Abu Kamil al-Lami (affiliated with the group Asaib Ahl al-Haq), QQAFA was formed in Iraq following the June 2014 IS advance. The militia, which is part of Iraq's so-called Popular Mobilization Units/Committees (PMUs/PMCs), also includes leading fighters and commanders belonging to Liwa Dhulfiqar, the RRF, and Liwa al-Imam al-Hussein. Leadership elements from Liwa Dhulfiqar have even donned the group's uniforms in Iraq and Syria, demonstrating their close links. In a December 2014 interview with the Lebanese daily an-Nahar, Khafaji claimed that QQAFA was a "natural extension" of LAFA, and he maintains links with major leaders of the network today.

According to Shiite militia social media feeds, Khafaji has been visiting Shiite foreign fighters in Syria since mid-2013, a period of time that witnessed growing publicity for Iraqi Shiite militias in that country. His visits increased in 2014, and he has made the trip this year as well. When an-Nahar asked him why Iraqi Shiite fighters were continuing to arrive in Syria, he declared that the "failure" to fight in Syria "was the cause of [the Islamic State's] entry into Iraq."

Earlier this month, during the lead-up to the three-night mourning period commemorating the Shiite martyr Zainab, uniformed QQAFA fighters were shown disembarking aircraft in Damascus. They were ostensibly in Syria to take part in the commemorations, but considering the regime's need for manpower and the publicly developing links between Syria-based LAFA- groups and QQAFA, at least some of these fighters are highly likely to stay longer for combat tours.

QQAFA also appears to have deep links to Kataib al-Imam Ali, another newer and increasingly powerful Iranian-controlled Sadrist splinter militia. These links potentially reveal a more formalized means of tapping Sadrist splinter sources for manpower. Although recent QQAFA recruitment has not been exclusively aimed at Syria, the group may develop into a new recruitment leader given its leadership's early, direct LAFA links and its history of enlisting fighters for Syria. And with the battlefield experience Shiite fighters have gained in Iraq, they could present a stronger combat element on the Assad regime's side going forward.

NEW SPECIAL GROUPS AND RENEWED SYRIA FOCUS

While armed engagements involving LAFA network organizations have continued, other Iraq-based Iranian proxies appear to have taken a lesser role in the Syrian conflict. Asaib Ahl al-Haq, the Badr Organization, and Kataib Hezbollah all claimed to have sent their fighters back to Iraq and ended many Syria-focused recruitment programs by May 2014. Yet two other Iraqi Shiite groups -- Kataib Sayyid al-Shuhada (KSS) and Harakat Hezbollah al-Nujaba (HHN) -- appear to be taking on leading functions in Syria and continue to funnel fighters there.

The creation of KSS was first announced in spring 2013, as funerals for Iraqi Shiite fighters killed in Syria were receiving increased publicity. Initially, the Iranian proxy group was crafted as a front with links to Kataib Hezbollah and the Badr Organization, and it has been sending fighters to Syria ever since. HHN, a group led by Asaib Ahl al-Haq cofounder Akram Kaabi, was also part of the spring 2013 series of announcements revealing new Iraqi Shiite militias operating in Syria. In addition, HHN was the first such militia to announce operations in the Aleppo area.

Beginning less than a month after the IS takeover of Mosul and lasting until December 2014, KSS initiated timed recruitment programs online and on the ground, all coinciding with offensive actions involving the group in Syria. Many of these programs targeted males in Shiite-majority sections of Baghdad and especially the southern city of Basra.

HHN issued its own recruitment calls for Syria more recently, beginning in late March and mid-April 2015. These efforts centered on Iraq's Maysan province, a hotbed of Shiite militia sentiment that provided the group with many of its initial recruits for Syria. The province has been home to numerous Iranian-backed Shiite militias since the U.S. occupation of Iraq, and many fighters consider it to be a martial hub, particularly the provincial capital of Amara.

Beginning in September 2014, KSS fighters were introduced into Syria's developing southern front and have been involved there ever since. The section of the front tasked to the group included areas north of Deraa, with a focus on strategically relevant rural towns on the highway from Deraa to Damascus. As rebel forces advanced toward Damascus beginning in November, KSS countered them near the highly strategic town of Sheikh Maskin and the neighboring town of Namer. Even with these efforts, by January 2015 the rebels had seized large swaths of territory where KSS was operating. According to the group, Deraa-related operations have continued ever since. Although KSS has remained mum on the exact villages in which it is operating, it heavily promoted its Syrian activities in March-April through online posting of photos and videos.

As for HHN, the group has been playing a combat role in its traditional operational zones in the Aleppo area. On February 19, a flurry of Shiite militia social media posts claimed that eighteen HHN fighters had been killed while defending the Shiite towns of Nubl and Zahra in Aleppo province. And in early May, the group announced that it was fighting in East Ghouta.

One of the fighters killed in February, Hasnain Abu Kafil al-Sadi, exemplified the back-and-forth deployment shuffle between Iraq and Syria. According to Shiite militants who served with him, Sadi began operating in Syria in 2013, joining HHN and fighting alongside LAFA network organizations and Lebanese Hezbollah. Sometime in 2014 he went back to Iraq and fought in Samarra, Bayji, and Tikrit, only to return to the Syrian front this year.

IMPLICATIONS

Iraqi Shiite fighters never really left Syria, and they will continue to play a major role there. Their ability to be used as shock soldiers, infantry support elements, and reservists has helped establish their importance -- in the span of just two years, these foreign fighters have moved from being auxiliaries to quintessential elements on the battlefield.

The LAFA network's widening deployment area, particularly within Assad's geographic powerbase, demonstrates the problems that regime forces are experiencing with manpower and armed projection. Similarly, Iraqi Shiite deployments in Qalamoun have highlighted the difficulties faced by Lebanese Hezbollah, while also showcasing how multinational Shiite militias often work in concert. At the same time, however, these deployments signal an important shift in Iran's approach to reinforcing Assad: namely, the specific tasking of certain Iraqi Shiite organizations with finding recruits for Syria, representing a continued (if slightly modified) commitment to the Assad regime.

The creation of a multitude of Iranian-backed Iraqi Shiite militias has been ongoing, with most emerging around the time that Lebanese Hezbollah formally announced its presence in Syria in May 2013, then again following the IS conquest of Mosul in June 2014. While these newer organizations highlight a broader "Hezbollahzation" of the security field in Iraq and Syria, they also show how Iran can pick and choose from various groups to carry out specific missions. As elements of the LAFA network develop and formalize ties with established Iraqi organizations, and as KSS and HHN continue their recruitment efforts, the flow of Shiite fighters into Syria may become even more streamlined, and their combat roles in defense of Assad could become more pivotal over time.

Phillip Smyth, a researcher at the University of Maryland, writes the "Hizballah Cavalcade" blog on Jihadology.net and is the author of the recent Washington Institute study The Shiite Jihad in Syria and Its Regional Effects.