أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

تنبيه سياسي

مضيق هرمز وإيران: تحدي للسياسة الأمريكية

سايمون هندرسون

متاح أيضاً في English

معهد واشنطن -- تنبيه سياسي --

29 كانون الأول/ديسمبر 2011


 

"ربما تكون تهديدات طهران بإغلاق مضيق هرمز الاستراتيجي مجرد غطرسة، لكنها تمثل أيضاً تحدياً سياسياً أكبر للولايات المتحدة."

خطاب إيران الذي يعتبر تهديداً لناقلات النفط التي تمر عبر مضيق هرمز الاستراتيجي قابلته تصريحات قوية من البحرية الأمريكية التي قالت إنها لن تتسامح مع أي عرقلة للشحن البحري. لكن المشاحنات اللفظية هي بمثابة تذكير بمدى سوء استعداد دول الخليج العربي المصدرة للنفط لأي شيء يتجاوز فرض حصار محدود، فضلاً عن الآثار المحتملة لسياسة إدارة أوباما بالتدخل في المدفوعات التي اكتسبتها إيران من صادراتها النفطية.

في عام 2006، قال المرشد الأعلى الإيراني علي خامنئي: "إذا قام الأمريكيون بخطوة خاطئة تجاه إيران، فإن شحنات الطاقة سوف تواجه خطراً حتمياً". وفي ذلك الوقت، رُؤيت كلماته على أنها محاولة لردع قيام هجوم "عسكري" أمريكي على إيران فيما يتعلق ببرنامجها المشتبه به لصنع الأسلحة النووية. وخلال الأشهر الأخيرة، وصف المسؤولون الإيرانيون التدابير الاقتصادية مثل العقوبات المفروضة على "البنك المركزي الإيراني" ومقاطعة النفط الإيراني على أنها أعمال حرب اقتصادية. ويجري الآن اختبار الافتراض القائل بأن أي تحرك إيراني عنيف لن يأتي إلا رداً على هجوم للجيش الأمريكي وليس إجراءات اقتصادية.

هناك أكثر من عشر ناقلات نفط ضخمة تخرج من الخليج الفارسي يومياً عبر مضيق هرمز، الذي تحده إيران في الشمال وعمان في الجنوب. كما يدخل عبره عدد مماثل من ناقلات النفط الفارغة. وتحمل الناقلات الخارجة ما يقل قليلاً عن 20 بالمائة من الطلب اليومي العالمي على النفط، وتزداد أهمية ذلك عندما نعرف أن هذه الشحنات تمثل نحو 40 بالمائة من تجارة النفط العالمية. وأي إعاقة للشحن سيكون لها تأثير مباشر على أسعار النفط العالمية. (وهناك عدد قليل لكنه متزايد من الناقلات ينقل الغاز الطبيعي المسال، حيث يزداد الطلب على هذا الغاز لا سيما في آسيا. وتعد دولة قطر الخليجية أكبر مُصدّر للغاز الطبيعي المسال في العالم).

وكانت المرة الأخيرة التي ظهرت فيها توترات بشأن صادرات نفط الخليج الفارسي أثناء حرب إيران والعراق في الفترة من 1980 إلى 1988، عندما استهدف كلا الجانبين صادرات الطرف الآخر. وقد استجابت المملكة العربية السعودية، التي كانت حليفاً للعراق في ذلك الوقت، ببناء خط أنابيب صادرات لبغداد عبر أراضي المملكة إلى البحر الأحمر – وهو خط أنابيب لم يعد مستخدماً. وفي حالة إغلاق مضيق هرمز أمام حركة الشحن، ستكون المسارات البديلة غير كافية. فستكون المملكة العربية السعودية قادرة على تصدير بعض إنتاجها من خلال خطها العابر لشبه الجزيرة العربية، كما يمكن للإمارات العربية المتحدة استخدام خط تم استكماله حديثاً يصل إلى خليج عمان لتصدير معظم إنتاجها. لكن جميع الصادرات من الكويت والحقول الجنوبية في العراق وقطر ويفترض إيران نفسها لن تتمكن من الوصول إلى أسواقها.

والحقيقة العسكرية هي أن المضيق لن يبقى مغلقاً لفترة طويلة، فقد أصرت البحرية الأمريكية على أنه سيتم إغلاق المضيق لأيام على أكبر تقدير. إن البحرية الأمريكية، ممثلة في الأسطول الخامس المتمركز في البحرين، والمدعوم بالقوات الجوية الأمريكية، التي تمتلك أسطولاً جوياً ضخماً في قاعدة العديد الجوية في قطر، تتفوق على القوات العسكرية الإيرانية. لكن من المحتمل أن تستمر أي مواجهة لعدة أيام مربكة، كما أن استخدام إيران للحرب غير المتماثلة سيكون له نتائج غير متوقعة؛ كما يمكن لإيران مضايقة الشحنات التي تمر عبر المضيق لفترة طويلة. وفضلاً عن ذلك فإن التصادم قد يفاقم التوترات داخل البحرين، حيث يواجه الشيعة الموالون لشيعة إيران قوات الأمن بصفة يومية في الدولة الخاضعة لحكم السنة. وفي الثامن والعشرين من كانون الأول/ديسمبر الحالي فقط أعلنت السفارة الأمريكية في العاصمة البحرينية، المنامة، أن أفراد السفارة الذين تتطلب حركتهم اليومية المرور عبر طريق تأثر بصفة خاصة بأعمال الشغب سوف ينتقلون إلى أحياء مختلفة.

كما صرح متحدث باسم البيت الأبيض من هاواي حيث يقضي الرئيس الأمريكي أوباما عطلته بأن الإدارة الأمريكية لن تعلق على التهديد الإيراني بإغلاق المضيق. لكن سواء عبّرت واشنطن عن هذه السياسة علانية أم لا، ينبغي على الولايات المتحدة أن تنظر إلى التطور السريع للمسارات البديلة لصادرات النفط من الخليج الفارسي باعتباره سياسة تكميلية لـ "احتياطها النفطي الاستراتيجي"، الذي يهدف إلى توفير حائط حماية أثناء الفترة المحدودة التي قد تعيق فيها إيران بشكل كبير عمليات الشحن عبر مضيق هرمز. وبصرف النظر عن القيام بدور رادع للسلوك الإيراني المتهور، فإن ذلك المنهج يعد مفيداً للتعامل مع الأزمات الإقليمية الأخرى.

ومع التوقعات بأن تبقى أسعار النفط فوق مستوى 100 دولار للبرميل الواحد خلال عام 2012، يتعين على واشنطن أن تسعى إلى تشجيع زيادة إنتاج النفط في أجزاء أخرى من العالم -- على المدى القصير على الأقل. وسوف يستهدف هذا المسعى إلى خفض الأسعار وسيتم العمل تجاهه حتى وإن كان يتعارض مع الخطاب السياسي المرتبط بالأهداف طويلة الأجل لاستقلال قطاع الطاقة والتحول إلى أنواع وقود أكثر صداقة للبيئة. يشار إلى أن الولايات المتحدة تستورد كميات محدودة جداً من حاجاتها النفطية من الشرق الأوسط، لكنها تظل معرضة لأسعار النفط العالمية. فهذه الأسعار تظل بدورها حساسة للتهديدات السياسية رغم الاستراتيجيات المقابلة الراهنة، بما في ذلك الإفراج عن الاحتياطيات الاستراتيجية وطرق زيادة قدرات خطوط الأنابيب باستخدام مضافات كيمياوية. إن الحالة الاقتصادية الهشة حالياً للعديد من الديمقراطيات العالمية تعني أن السياسيين سوف يعاملون القضايا ذات الصلة بالطاقة بحذر بالغ. لكن المفارقة هي أن تصريحات إيران قد تجعل دولاً مثل الصين، التي تعتمد بشكل متزايد على واردات النفط، لا سيما من الخليج الفارسي، شريكاً دبلوماسياً أكثر تجانساً في مواجهة طهران بشأن برنامجها النووي.

 

سايمون هندرسون، زميل بيكر ومدير برنامج الخليج وسياسات الطاقة في معهد واشنطن، هو مؤلف دراسة المعهد لعام 2008 بعنوان الطاقة معرضة للخطر: إيران والنفط والغرب.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

Policy Alert

Iran's Strait of Hormuz: A Challenge to U.S. Policy

Simon Henderson

Also available in العربية

December 29, 2011


Threats by Tehran to close the strategic Strait of Hormuz may be bluster, but they also represent a bigger policy challenge to the United States.

Rhetoric from Iran perceived as a threat to oil tankers passing through the strategic Strait of Hormuz has been countered by firm words from the U.S. Navy, which says it would not tolerate any disruption to maritime shipping. But the verbal clash serves as a reminder of how poorly prepared Arab Gulf exporters are for anything more than a limited blockage as well as of the possible effects of the Obama administration's policy of interfering with payments earned by Iran from its own oil exports.

Iran's Supreme Leader Ali Khamenei said in 2006: "If the Americans make a wrong move toward Iran, the shipment of energy will definitely face danger." At that time, the words were seen as an attempt to deter any U.S. military attack on Iran in relation to its suspected nuclear weapons program. In recent months, Iranian officials have described economic measures such as sanctions on the Central Bank of Iran and boycotts of Iranian oil as economic acts of war. The proposition that drastic Iranian action would only come in response to U.S. military rather than economic action is now being tested.

A dozen or so huge tankers exit the Persian Gulf daily through the Strait of Hormuz, the narrows between Iran in the north and Oman in the south. A similar number of empty tankers enter. The outgoing tankers carry slightly less than 20 percent of the world's daily demand for oil, the significance of which grows when we consider that this haul amounts to about 40 percent of the world's internationally traded oil. Any disruption of shipping would therefore have an immediate impact on world oil prices. (Increasingly, a few of the tankers carry liquefied natural gas [LNG], the demand for which is rising, particularly in Asia. The Gulf state of Qatar is the world's largest exporter of LNG.)

The last time tensions rose over Persian Gulf oil exports was during the 1980-1988 Iran-Iraq War, when each side targeted the other's exports. Saudi Arabia, an ally of Iraq at the time, responded by building an export pipeline for Baghdad across Saudi territory to the Red Sea -- a pipeline that, incidentally, is no longer in use. If the Strait of Hormuz were closed to shipping, the alternative routes would be insufficient. Saudi Arabia would be able to export some of its production through its own trans-Arabian-peninsula line, and the United Arab Emirates could use a newly completed line to the Gulf of Oman for most of its production. But all exports from Kuwait, Iraq's southern fields, Qatar, and presumably Iran itself would be unable to reach their markets.

The military reality is that the Strait would not remain closed for long; the U.S. Navy has insisted it would be closed for days at most. The U.S. Navy, in the form of the Fifth Fleet headquartered in Bahrain, supported by the U.S. Air Force, which maintains a large air fleet at the al-Udeid Air Base in Qatar, is more than a match for Iran's military forces. But any confrontation would likely last several confusing days, and Iran's use of asymmetric warfare could have unpredictable results; Iran could well harass shipping through the Strait for a sustained period. A clash could also exacerbate tensions within Bahrain, where Shiite coreligionists of Iran's Shiites are confronting daily the security forces of the Sunni-ruled island state. Just yesterday, the U.S. embassy in the Bahraini capital, Manama, announced that embassy personnel whose daily commutes take them on a route especially afflicted by rioting would be moving to different neighborhoods.

A White House spokesman, speaking from President Obama's vacation spot in Hawaii, has said the administration would make no comment on Iran's threat to close the strait. But, whether it voices this view publicly or not, the United States should regard the speedy development of alternative routes for Persian Gulf oil exports as a supplementary policy to its Strategic Petroleum Reserve, which is designed to provide a cushion during the limited period when Iran may substantially impede shipping through the Strait of Hormuz. Apart from acting as a deterrent to rash Iranian behavior, such an approach makes good sense for dealing with other regional crises.

With oil prices forecast to remain at more than $100 per barrel during 2012, Washington must seek to encourage, at least in the short term, increased oil production in other parts of the world. Such an endeavor would be aimed at easing prices and would be pursued even though it contradicts the political rhetoric associated with the longer-term aims of energy independence and switching to more environmentally friendly fuels. The United States imports very little of its oil from the Middle East but remains vulnerable to the world oil price. That price, in turn, remains sensitive to political threats despite existing counterstrategies, including the release of strategic reserves and methods to increase pipeline capacities using chemical additives. The current fragile economic state of many of the world's democracies means that politicians treat energy-related issues very cautiously. But, ironically, Iran's words may make China, which increasingly depends on oil imports, particularly from the Persian Gulf, a more congenial diplomatic partner in confronting Tehran on its nuclear program.

Simon Henderson, the Baker fellow and director of the Gulf and Energy Policy program at The Washington Institute, is author of the 2008 Institute study Energy in Danger: Iran, Oil, and the West.