أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 2795

الانتخابات الرئاسية الإيرانية: توازن ما بين الدبلوماسية والمواجهة

نادر أوسكوي

متاح أيضاً في English

1 أيار/مايو 2017


تخوض إيران حرباً في سوريا والعراق واليمن. ومع ذلك، بالكاد تحدّث المرشحون الذين يخوضون حملات للفوز في الانتخابات الرئاسية المزمع إجراؤها في 19 أيار/مايو عن سياسات بلادهم الإقليمية والعسكرية. وصمتهم هذا خير دليل على النوايا الحقيقية للنظام السياسي الإيراني. فأياً يكن الرئيس المنتخب، لن يتمتع بأي سلطة على الجيش أو الأنشطة الخبيثة التي تنفذها الميليشيات الشيعية التي تقودها إيران. فهل يجب أن تهتم الولايات المتحدة بالانتخابات؟ وكيف يجب أن تتعاطى واشنطن مع الفائز في التصويت الذي سيجري هذا الشهر؟  

الرئاسة والنظام السياسي في إيران

منذ نشوب الثورة الإسلامية قبل أربعة عقود تقريباً، تطوّر نظام سياسي معقّد في إيران. فالحكومة المنتخبة، بما فيها الرئيس والبرلمان، تتولى مهمة الإدارة اليومية لشؤون البلاد، في حين يضطلع المرشد الأعلى والمؤسسات المعيّنة مثل «فيلق الحرس الثوري الإسلامي» بدور "الأوصياء على الثورة"، حيث يضعون سياسات الانخراط الإيراني في الخارج ومعظم الأمور الأخرى. ولا يملك الرئيس أي سلطة على الركيزتين الأساسيتين لإستراتيجية إيران الإقليمية وهما: برنامج الصواريخ الباليستية لـ «الحرس الثوري» وفصيله من الميليشيات الشيعية العاملة في جميع أنحاء الشرق الأوسط. وتؤثر الأنشطة المزعزعة للاستقرار التي ينفذها «الحرس الثوري» ووكلاؤه تأثيراً مباشراً على أمن ومصالح الولايات المتحدة وحلفائها، علماً بأن انتخاب (أو إعادة انتخاب) رئيس معتدل لن يقلّل من مستوى التهديد.   

ومع ذلك، لا تزال الانتخابات تكتسي أهمية إلى حدّ ما. فإيران هي لاعب إقليمي مهم، لذلك تحتاج الولايات المتحدة وغيرها من الدول إلى الحفاظ على علاقات معها. وتمثّل الحكومة المنتخبة عموماً الجمهورية الإسلامية في محادثات إقليمية ودولية، في الوقت الذي يكون فيه الرئيس واجهة هذه الحكومة. على سبيل المثال، أظهرت المفاوضات التي أدت إلى إبرام الاتفاق النووي عام 2015 أهمية الرئيس في توجيه دفة القضايا الدولية الحساسة. ويقيناً، لم تكن المحادثات قد بدأت، كما لم يكن قد تم التوصّل إلى الاتفاق لولا موافقة صريحة من المرشد الأعلى للثورة الإيرانية. إلّا أن فريق الرئيس حسن روحاني آمن في العملية وأظهر نوايا حسنة، كما لعب دوراً بالغ الأهمية في تسهيل المناقشات التي سبقت الاتفاق. وكان يمكن أن يكون رئيس آخر أقل حماساً في التوصل إلى اتفاق مع الغرب، وكان من الممكن أن يثير قضايا تمنع الاتفاق أو تؤخره.

كما تكتسي الانتخابات أهمية من الناحية الاقتصادية، وهي مكون رئيسي لاستقرار إيران، حيث يلعب الرئيس وحكومته دوراً هاماً في السياسات النقدية للبلاد، وسياساتها المالية إلى حدّ ما. على سبيل المثال، ورثت حكومة روحاني اقتصاداً كان يميل نحو التضخم المفرط قرب نهاية ولاية سلفه.

ولكن هنا أيضاً، تمارس المؤسسات الثورية قيوداً كبيرة على السلطة الرئاسية. فنصف أنشطة إيران الاقتصادية تقريباً تديرها نحو 12 هيئة ضخمة تخضع إما لسيطرة "مكتب المرشد الأعلى" أو «فيلق الحرس الثوري الإسلامي». وقد تمّ جزئياً إنشاء هذا "القطاع العام غير الحكومي" كما يسمى، عبر مصادرة الأملاك الخاصة للنظام القديم من خلال المحاكم الثورية، وإلى حدّ أكبر عبر التحويل الكلي للممتلكات الحكومية إلى الهيئات الضخمة تحت ستار الخصخصة. وتضمّ أصول هذه الهيئات مصارف كبرى ومؤسسات مالية أخرى، إلى جانب شركات خدمات النفط والغاز، وشركات تصنيع سيارات، وشركات البناء، وكيانات النقل. إن الهيئات نفسها معفاة من كافة الضرائب. وفي الوقت نفسه، يُترك إلى الحكومة المنتخبة مسألة إدارة الأملاك المتبقية غير الخاضعة للخصخصة، والتي عادة ما تكون مشاريع خاسرة و/أو صناعات قديمة. ويشرف فريق الرئيس عموماً على مبيعات النفط أيضاً، غير أن "القطاع العام غير الحكومي" يُبرم أيضاً اتفاقات نفط خاصة به.      

وعلى الرغم من هذه القيود، لا يزال دور الرئيس في العلاقات الخارجية والأنشطة الاقتصادية الإيرانية مهماً. وبالتالي، يصبّ انتخاب شخصية معتدلة لملء هذا المركز في مصلحة واشنطن وحلفائها.

الجانب الآخر للجمهورية الإسلامية

غالباً ما كان مؤسس الجمهورية الإسلامية آية الله روح الله الخميني يتوجه إلى الجماهير قائلاً إن الثورة لا تتعلق فقط بإيران بل بالمنطقة بأسرها. وتحقيقاً لهذه الغاية، تمّ إنشاء «قوة القدس» التابعة لـ «الحرس الثوري الإسلامي» لتكون المقر الرئيسي للقتالية الشيعية [التشدد الشيعي - Shiite militancy] في الشرق الأوسط. وأصبح الفيلق المنبثق عن الميليشيات التي تقودها إيران "جيش الثورة المخصص للحملات العسكرية التي تعمل خارج إيران"؛ واليوم ينخرط هذا الفيلق في كافة الحروب التي تشهدها المنطقة. وهذه القوات مسؤولة فقط أمام المرشد الأعلى، وتتخطى الإشراف الحكومي. ومن خلال إثبات نفسها في العديد من البلدان، تطورت لتصبح كياناً يمكنه الصمود أكثر من الجمهورية الإسلامية نفسها.

ونظراً إلى أن «قوة القدس» أصبحت تجسّد الطموحات الخارجية للمرشد الأعلى، فقد كُلِّف «الحرس الثوري» الأوسع نطاقاً بمهمة الدفاع عن الثورة ضد جميع الأعداء، الداخليين منهم والخارجيين - سواء كانوا حقيقيين أو خياليين. وفي الوقت الذي نظمت فيه «قوة القدس» فيالقها في الخارج، طوّر «الحرس الثوري» الإيراني ما يمكن القول بأنه أكبر قوة صواريخ بالستية في المنطقة. ومعاً، يُعتبر "جيش الحملات العسكرية التي تعمل خارج إيران" والقوة الصاروخية المدافعين عن الثورة الإسلامية الشيعية والناشرين لها، مما يشكل خطراً فعلياً وقائماً على أفراد المؤسسة العسكرية والمصالح القومية للولايات المتحدة وحلفائها.   

موازنة الدبلوماسية والمواجهة

إن إقامة علاقات عمل مع الحكومة المنتخبة في طهران تصبّ في مصلحة الولايات المتحدة حتى إذا لم يكن هناك سوء فهم حول الجهات الفاعلة التى تمارس سلطة فعلية على القضايا التي تؤثّر بشكل كبير على المصالح الأمنية الأمريكية. فقد سبق أن أظهرت واشنطن قدرتها على التواصل مع الحكومة الإيرانية عبر التفاوض بشأن الاتفاق النووي وتطبيقه. وفي حين يتضح أن هذا الاتفاق جاء على ما يبدو على حساب تخفيف القيود المفروضة على برنامج الصواريخ التابع لـ «الحرس الثوري» الإيراني وتقديم تنازلات أخرى، إلّا أنّه أبطأ وتيرة (على الأقل في الوقت الراهن) برنامج الانعتاق النووي [شبه الجاهزية النووية/اكتساب القدرة النووية] الإيراني.

وفي الوقت نفسه، تمثّل المؤسسات الثورية الإيرانية غير المنتخبة مصدر مخاطر أخرى بالنسبة للمصالح الأمريكية، لا سيما من خلال فيالقها الميليشياوية الأجنبية وترسانة الصواريخ البالستية التي تملكها. ففي 12 كانون الثاني/يناير 2016، أطلع قائد «فيلق الحرس الثوري الإسلامي» اللواء محمد علي جعفري "وكالة أنباء فارس" على أن «قوة القدس» قادت أو دعمت نحو 200 ألف مقاتل شيعي مسلحين ومدربين بشكل جيد في جميع أنحاء المنطقة. وكما ذُكِر أعلاه، إن القيادة الصاروخية لـ «الحرس الثوري» هي الأكبر من نوعها في الشرق الأوسط.   

وبناءً على ذلك، يجب أن يكون النهج الأمريكي تجاه الحكومة المقبلة معقداً ومزدوجاً في طبيعته كالنظام السياسي الإيراني نفسه. وهذا يعني الحفاظ على علاقات عمل مع الرئيس الإيراني وفريقه، لكن دون إهمال الجانب الآخر من السياسة: بشكل خاص مواجهة المرشد الأعلى و«الحرس الثوري الإسلامي» في ظل سعيهما إلى توسيع القتالية الشيعية في المنطقة. ولا يختلف هذا الأمر عن نهج واشنطن السابق إزاء الاتحاد السوفياتي. ففي حين كانت للولايات المتحدة علاقات عمل مع الحكومة السوفياتية، وحافظت على سفارة كبيرة في موسكو، إلا أنها لعبت في الوقت نفسه دوراً رائداً في النضال ضد الحركة الشيوعية في العالم. واليوم، لا ينبغي أن تحول علاقات أمريكا مع الرئيس الإيراني المقبل دون قيادتها الحرب ضد التشدد الشيعي المتزايد في الشرق الأوسط.   

 

نادر أوسكوي هو زميل زائر في معهد واشنطن ومستشار أقدم في مجال السياسات للقيادة المركزية الأمريكية.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 2795

Iran's Presidential Election: Balancing Diplomacy and Confrontation

Nader Uskowi

Also available in العربية

May 1, 2017


Washington's working relations with the next president should not preclude it from leading the fight against the IRGC's missile proliferation and regional militancy.

This PolicyWatch is the first installment in a three-part series on Iran's upcoming election. Read part two (on economic issues) and part three (on the clergy's role).

Iran is a country at war, in Syria, Iraq, and Yemen. Yet the candidates campaigning for the May 19 presidential election have hardly spoken a word about the country's regional and military policies. Their silence speaks volumes about Iran's political system. Whoever is elected president will have no authority over the military or the malign activities of Iranian-led Shiite militias. So should the election matter to the United States? And how should Washington approach the winner of this month's vote?

THE PRESIDENCY AND IRAN'S POLITICAL SYSTEM

A complex political system has evolved in Iran since the Islamic Revolution nearly four decades ago. An elected government, including the president and parliament, is tasked with day-to-day management of the country, while the Supreme Leader and appointed institutions such as the Islamic Revolutionary Guard Corps act as the "guardians of the revolution," setting policies for Iran's involvement abroad and most everything else. The president has no authority over the two main pillars of Iran's regional strategy: the IRGC's ballistic missile program and its legion of Shiite militias operating throughout the Middle East. The destabilizing activities carried out by the IRGC and its proxies directly affect the security and interests of the United States and its allies, and the election (or reelection) of a moderate president will not reduce that threat level.

Yet the election still matters up to a point. Iran is a major regional actor, so the United States and other countries need to maintain relations with it. The elected government generally represents the Islamic Republic in regional and international talks, and the president is the face of the government. For example, the negotiations leading up to the 2015 nuclear deal showed the president's importance in navigating sensitive international issues. To be sure, the talks would not have begun, nor would the deal have been reached, without the Supreme Leader's explicit approval. Yet President Hassan Rouhani's team believed in the process, showed good intentions, and played a critical role in facilitating the discussions preceding the agreement. A different president might have been less enthusiastic in striking a deal with the West and could have raised issues that blocked or delayed it.

The election also matters on the economic front, a key component of Iran's stability. The president and his government play an important role in the country's monetary policies and, to some extent, fiscal policies. For example, Rouhani's government inherited an economy that was trending toward hyperinflation near the end of his predecessor's term.

But here too, the power of the presidency is seriously constrained by revolutionary institutions. Nearly half of Iran's economic activities are managed by a dozen mega-foundations controlled by either the Office of the Supreme Leader or the IRGC. This so-called "nongovernmental public sector" was created partly by expropriating the ancien regime's private property via revolutionary courts, and to a much larger extent by the mass transfer of government-owned properties to mega-foundations under the guise of privatization. Among the holdings of these foundations are major banks and other financial institutions, oil and gas services companies, auto makers, construction companies, and transportation entities. The foundations themselves are exempt from all taxes. Meanwhile, the elected government is left to preside over the remaining non-privatized properties, which are generally money-losing ventures and/or legacy industries. The president's team generally controls oil sales as well, but the "nongovernmental public sector" also carries out its own oil deals.

Despite these limitations, the president's role in Iran's foreign relations and economic activities is still significant. It is therefore to the benefit of Washington and its allies if the election produces a moderate figure in that post.

THE OTHER SIDE OF THE ISLAMIC REPUBLIC

The founder of the Islamic Republic, Ayatollah Ruhollah Khomeini, often told audiences that the revolution was not just about Iran, but the whole region. Toward that end, the IRGC-Qods Force was created to be the headquarters of Shiite militancy in the Middle East. The resultant legion of Iranian-led militias became the revolution's expeditionary army; today, it is involved in all of the region's wars. These forces are answerable only to the Supreme Leader, bypassing government supervision. And by establishing themselves in so many countries, they have evolved into an entity that can outlast the Islamic Republic itself.

As the Qods Force became the embodiment of the Supreme Leader's external ambitions, the wider IRGC was tasked with defending the revolution against all enemies, internal and external -- whether real or imaginary. And as the Qods Force organized its legions abroad, the IRGC developed what is arguably the region's largest ballistic missile force back home. Together, the expeditionary army and missile force are cast as the defenders and propagators of a Shiite Islamic Revolution, posing a clear and present danger to the military personnel and national interests of the United States and its allies.

BALANCING DIPLOMACY AND CONFRONTATION

Establishing working relations with the elected government in Tehran is in America's interest even if there is no misunderstanding about which actors exert real power on the issues that most affect U.S. security interests. Washington has already demonstrated its ability to communicate with the government by negotiating and implementing the nuclear deal. And while that deal apparently came at the price of relaxing limitations on the IRGC's missile program and offering other concessions, it slowed down (at least for now) Iran's nuclear breakout program.

At the same time, Iran's unelected revolutionary institutions present a host of other dangers to U.S. interests, primarily through their foreign militia legions and ballistic missile arsenal. On January 12, 2016, IRGC chief Maj. Gen. Mohammad Ali Jafari told Fars News that the Qods Force commanded or backed around 200,000 well-armed and trained Shiite militants around the region. And as mentioned above, the IRGC's missile command is the largest of its kind in the Middle East.

Accordingly, the U.S. approach to the next government needs to be as complex and dual in nature as the Iranian political system itself. This means maintaining working relations with the president and his team, but without neglecting the other side of the policy coin: namely, countering the Supreme Leader and IRGC as they seek to expand Shiite militancy in the region. This is not unlike Washington's past approach to the Soviet Union. While the United States had working relations with the Soviet government and maintained a large embassy in Moscow, it also played the leading role in the struggle against the communist movement worldwide. Today, America's relations with the next Iranian president should not preclude it from leading the fight against rising Shiite militancy in the Middle East.

Nader Uskowi is a visiting fellow at The Washington Institute and the senior policy advisor to U.S. Central Command.