أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 1823

تخبط سياسة إيران تجاه البحرين

مهدي خلجي

متاح أيضاً في English

27 يونيو 2011


في 23 حزيران/يونيو حُكم على ثمانية نشطاء شيعة بحرينيين بالسجن مدى الحياة -- وكان هذا هو الأحدث في سلسلة من مساعي الحكومة البحرينية لقمع الانتفاضات الشعبية المستمرة. وفي بيان يوم الجمعة دافعت المنامة عن هذه الأحكام مُدعية أن النشطاء كانوا قد أُدينوا بــ "التخطيط للإطاحة بحكومة البحرين باستعمال العنف" و"نقل معلومات حساسة لمنظمة إرهابية في دولة أجنبية." غير أنه حتى في وجه هذا القمع الحاد كانت إيران الشيعية عاجزة أو غير راغبة في مساعدة أهل ملتها في البحرين. ونتيجة لذلك يمكن أن تؤدي الأزمة إلى انخفاض كبير في نفوذ إيران السياسي لدى الشيعة العرب، وفي الوقت نفسه تسبب مشاكل خطيرة في علاقات طهران مع الحكومات العربية.

رؤية طهران لـ "الربيع العربي"

كانت إيران راضية تماماً من الانتفاضات في تونس ومصر -- وفي الواقع، عرضها المرشد الأعلى علي خامنئي وغيره بأنها جزء من الصحوة الإسلامية الإقليمية المستلهمة من ثورة إيران عام 1979. ولم تُقم طهران أية علاقات دبلوماسية مرئية مع القاهرة لفترة دامت ثلاثة عقود قبل اندلاع الثورة المصرية. كما أن علاقتها بتونس لم تكن جيدة هي الأخرى، ويعود ذلك جزئياً إلى خشية تونس من سعي طهران إلى استخدام البلاد كقاعدة لخلق روابط مع إسلاميين أفارقة.

وعندما وصلت هزات التغيير إلى سوريا، سارع قادة إيران إلى مقارنة الاحتجاجات بالأزمة التي تلت الانتخابات الرئاسية الإيرانية عام 2009. وهذا يعني أنهم أنكروا الطبيعة الحقيقية للحركة بينما اتهموا الولايات المتحدة وإسرائيل بالتخطيط ضد ما وصفوه بحكومة شرعية تحضى بشعبية أيضاً.

التباس حول البحرين

أثبتت الاحتجاجات في البحرين أنها أصعب من أن يتم تحملها من قبل إيران، وينبع ذلك من السلوك المتضارب للجمهورية الإسلامية تجاه هذه الجزيرة. فمن ناحية سعت إيران طويلاً إلى تعزيز علاقاتها مع دول "مجلس التعاون الخليجي"، بما في ذلك البحرين. وفي عام 2007 عندما أصبح الرئيس محمود أحمدي نجاد أول رئيس إيراني يحضر قمة دول "مجلس التعاون الخليجي" فإنه عرض توقيع اتفاق أمني مع زعماء دول الخليج العربية. وقد اقترح أيضاً تشكيل منظمة لتحسين التعاون الاقتصادي بين إيران و"مجلس التعاون الخليجي".

ومن جانب آخر، أصدر إيرانيون متنفذون مجموعة متنوعة من البيانات التحريضية التي فاقمت عدم ثقة دول "مجلس التعاون الخليجي" بطهران. ففي 2009 على سبيل المثال، صرح رئيس مكتب المساءلة في مكتب المرشد الأعلى والمتحدث السابق باسم "مجلس الشورى الإيراني" علي أكبر ناطق نوري، أن البحرين كانت "المحافظة الرابعة عشر لإيران حتى عام 1970." وقد رددت هذا التصريح افتتاحية في صحيفة كيهان ذات النفوذ (والخاضعة لتأثير خامنئي) نُشرت في 9 حزيران/يونيو 2007، وصفت فيها "مستندات لا يمكن إنكارها" تشير إلى أن "البحرين كانت جزء من الأراضي الإيرانية حتى أربعين عاماً مضت." وقد واصلت الافتتاحية قولها إن استقلال الجزيرة عن إيران لم يكن شرعياً. ورداً على بيان نوري علقت البحرين مفاوضات الغاز الطبيعي مع إيران وأشارت إلى التصريحات بأنها "انتهاك السيادة."

إن العلاقات العميقة بين ملالي الشيعة الإيرانيين والبحرينيين هي عامل مهم آخر [في الروابط بين البلدين]. فإمام صلاة الجمعة في مسجد الإمام الصادق في مدينة دراز الشيخ عيسى أحمد قاسم له علاقات وثيقة بشكل خاص مع الجمهورية الإسلامية. وباعتباره المرشد الروحي لـ "حزب الوفاق" البحريني فإنه (مع الشيخ حسين نجاتي) الممثل الديني لخامنئي حيث يجمع الضرائب للمرشد الأعلى ويقوم بالدعاية لمرجعيته الدينية ويشجع الناس على اتّباع [آرائه ومواقفه] بدلاً من "مراجع التقليد" الأخرى. كما أن قاسم هو أيضاً ممثل ديني للمرجع الشيعي العراقي الأعلى آية الله علي السيستاني.

وعندما كانت غالبية قادة "الوفاق" في المنفى من أوائل التسعينات من القرن الماضي وحتى عام 2001، كان قاسم في قُم في إيران يتلقى تدريبه الديني من محمود هاشمي شاهرودي (الرئيس السابق للقضاء الإيراني) وكاظم الحائري (وكلاهما كانا في النجف في العراق قبل الثورة الإيرانية كما كانا من تلاميذ محمد باقر الصدر) ومحمد فاضل لنکراني (آية الله مُوال للنظام). وقد وصف خامنئي الشيخ قاسم بأنه "نجم في سماء الشيعة" وقال إنه "فخور" برجل الدين هذا. وبالمثل قال الشيخ أسد قصير -- عضو مكتب خامنئي للإفتاء المسؤول عن الرد على الأسئلة الدينية لأتباع المرشد الأعلى العرب -- إن خامنئي يؤمن أن الشيعة ينبغي أن يتبعوا مواقف وآراء قاسم السياسية.

وفي الواقع، إن قاسم قريب جداً من خامنئي لدرجة أن بعض البحرينيين يعتقدون أن السبب الرئيسي لعدم مقاطعة "حزب الوفاق" للانتخابات البرلمانية في عام 2006 (رغم أنه فعل ذلك في عام 2002) يعود إلى النصيحة التي قدمها له خامنئي بالمشاركة في العملية السياسية. وأما أولئك الذين لم يتبعوا قيادة قاسم فقد أسسوا "حركة الحق من أجل الحرية والديمقراطية". ومنذ ذلك الحين، حكمت المحكمة العسكرية البحرينية بالسجن مدى الحياة على قائد الحركة حسن مشيمة.

وبالطبع، لا يتعاطف جميع رجال الدين الشيعة البحرينيين مع خامنئي وإيران. فهناك 300 رجل دين شيعي تقريباً في الجزيرة وبعضهم ما يزال مقرباً من السيستاني في النجف بينما آخرون قريبون من عائلة الراحل آية الله محمد شيرازي (الذي كان متعصباً ضد الجمهورية الإسلامية). ومع ذلك، تلقى معظم هؤلاء الملالي تدريبهم في قُم وهم يجيدون الفارسية. وفي السنوات الأخيرة ترجم الناشرون البحرينيون مئات الكتب الدينية والعقائدية من الفارسية إلى العربية.

العجز عن مساعدة الشيعة البحرينيين

خلال المظاهرات الدامية الأولى في البحرين انتقدت طهران بشدة [حكومة] المنامة وخاصة بعد أن نشرت دول "مجلس التعاون الخليجي" قواتها لمساعدة حكومة الجزيرة على قمع المحتجين. وقد اتهمت إيران البحرين والسعودية بقتل عشرات الشيعة وطالبت بإنهاء التمييز من جانب الأقلية السنية الحاكمة ودعت ملك البحرين إلى التنحي. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك وصفت طهران تدخل دول "مجلس التعاون الخليجي" بأنه "غير مقبول" وتوقعت أنه سيؤدي إلى تعقيد الأزمة السياسية في المملكة.

وعلى الرغم من هذه الخطابات النارية، كانت الجمهورية الإسلامية حذرة للغاية بشأن اتخاذ أية خطوات ملموسة فيما يتعلق بالأزمة. فقد نظَّمت الجماعات المرتبطة بالحكومة الإيرانية أسطولين أرسلتهما إلى البحرين دعماً للمنشقين الشيعة، لكن من الواضح أنهما عادا بناءً على أوامر من طهران. وفي أعقاب الانتكاسات التي واجهتها المعارضة في الجزيرة ربما تضطر إيران مرة أخرى إلى إعادة العلاقات الطبيعية مع المنامة [إلى ما كانت عليه من قبل]. وفي الواقع، أشارت شائعات متفشية في طهران إلى أن المبعوث الخاص لملك البحرين قد سافر إلى إيران في 23 حزيران/يونيو على الرغم من أن وزارة الخارجية الإيرانية قد نفت ذلك.

وباختصار، عندما يتعلق الأمر باحتجاجات الشيعة في البحرين يبدو أن المصالح الوطنية للجمهورية الإسلامية فاقت تطلعاتها العقائدية. فقد كانت طهران مقيّدة جزئياً بسبب البيانات شديدة اللهجة التي أصدرتها دول "مجلس التعاون الخليجي" التي ألقت اللوم علناً على إيران بحدوث الاضطرابات، متخلية عن حذرها المعتاد في توجيه هذه الاتهامات. وفي بيان مشترك على سبيل المثال، قال وزراء خارجية "مجلس التعاون الخليجي" إنهم كانوا "شديدي القلق تجاه التدخل الإيراني المستمر" في منطقتهم، مؤكدين أن "التدخل الإيراني في الشؤون الداخلية للبحرين تشكل انتهاكاً للأعراف الدولية وقواعد الجيرة الحسنة."

وتحمل مثل هذه البيانات دلالة على تفكك الدعم لإيران على مستوى المنطقة. فعلى سبيل المثال، لاحظت طهران -- دون شك -- التصويت الذي جرى مؤخراً لحجب الثقة البرلماني عن حكومة الكويت حيث نجا رئيس الوزراء ناصر محمد الأحمد الصباح بصعوبة من الإقالة. ومن بين قضايا أخرى اتهم بعض المشرِّعين الصباح بتعزيز العلاقات مع إيران بدلاً من دول "مجلس التعاون الخليجي". كما أن طهران قلقة أيضاً على الأرجح من علاقاتها مع الدول العربية التي هي خارج "مجلس التعاون الخليجي" -- وخاصة مصر حيث تأمل في تطبيع علاقاتها معها بعد الإطاحة بمبارك. وبشكل أعم تريد طهران أن يتم تجنب رؤيتها كعامل يشعل الصراع الطائفي في العالم العربي سواء في البحرين أو في أماكن أخرى.

ومع ذلك، فقد أضرت الأزمة البحرينية حتى الآن بالعلاقات بين الجمهورية الإسلامية والحكومات العربية وعرّضت للخطر صورة إيران بين الشيعة، نظراً لعدم حنكة طهران في تقديم المساعدة للمنشقين الشيعة وحمايتهم من العنف السني. ويتوقع الكثير من الشيعة العرب أن تكون إيران هي الحامية لأبناء ملتها في جميع أنحاء المنطقة. وقد كتبت عدة مجموعات من رجال الدين البحرينيين إلى خامنئي تحثه على مساعدة شيعة الجزيرة. وقد شمل ذلك خطاباً في 16 آذار/مارس وقَّعه "أتباع آية الله العظمى خامنئي في البحرين" وتم نشره على نطاق واسع في الإعلام الإيراني طالبوا فيه المرشد الأعلى بمساعدة "أبنائه وأتباعه في البحرين بأية طريقة ملائمة." وقد سأل الخطاب أيضاً، "من سيكون علينا التحدث معه بشأن معاناتنا؟" غير أنه لا توجد أدلة على أن خامنئي قد رد على هذا النداء.

وعموماً كانت أزمة البحرين اختباراً قوياً للدعاية الإيرانية الموالية للشيعة. فقد أظهرت سياسة الجمهورية الإسلامية تجاه الشيعة في المنطقة بأنها معقدة تماماً ومتخبطة على نحو متزايد. وقد كانت النتيجة هي تصاعد شكوك الشيعة تجاه إيران -- ليس في البحرين فحسب بل أيضاً في أماكن أخرى مثل جنوب غرب السعودية – وذلك فيما يتعلق بمدى إمكانية اعتمادهم على طهران لمساعدتهم في حال دخولهم في مواجهة مع حكوماتهم.

 

مهدي خلجي هو زميل أقدم في معهد واشنطن يركز على سياسات إيران والجماعات الشيعية في الشرق الأوسط.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 1823

Iran's Policy Confusion about Bahrain

Mehdi Khalaji

Also available in العربية

June 27, 2011

Iran's inability to aid Bahraini protestors could reduce its political influence among Shiite Arabs.

On June 23, eight Bahraini Shiite activists were sentenced to life in prison -- the latest in a string of government efforts to suppress ongoing populist uprisings. In a statement Friday, Manama defended the sentences, claiming that the activists had been convicted of "plotting to violently topple Bahrain's government" and "passing sensitive information to a terrorist organization in a foreign country." Yet even in the face of such sharp repression, Shiite Iran has been unable or unwilling to help its coreligionists in Bahrain. As a result, the crisis could lead to a significant decline in Iran's political influence with Shiite Arabs, while at the same time causing serious problems in Tehran's relations with Arab governments.

Tehran's View of the Arab Spring

Iran was quite content with the uprisings in Tunisia and Egypt -- in fact, Supreme Leader Ali Khamenei and others presented them as part of a regional Islamic awakening inspired by Iran's 1979 revolution. For three decades before the Egyptian revolution, Tehran held no visible diplomatic relations with Cairo. Its relationship with Tunisia was not in great shape either, in part because Tunis feared that Tehran sought to use the country as a base for networking with African Islamists.

When the tremors of change reached Syria, Iran's leaders leapt to compare the protests with the crisis that followed the 2009 Iranian presidential election. That is, they denied the genuine nature of the movement while accusing the United States and Israel of plotting against what they described as a legitimate and popular government.

Confusion about Bahrain

The protests in Bahrain proved more difficult for Tehran to digest, stemming from the Islamic Republic's conflicting attitude toward the island. On the one hand, Iran has long sought to advance its relations with the Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC) countries, including Bahrain. In 2007, when President Mahmoud Ahmadinezhad became the first Iranian president to attend a GCC summit, he offered to sign a security pact with Gulf Arab leaders. He also suggested forming an organization to improve economic cooperation between Iran and the GCC.

On the other hand, influential Iranians have issued a variety of inflammatory statements that have exacerbated the GCC's mistrust of Tehran. In 2009, for example, Ali Akbar Nateq Nuri -- head of the accountability bureau in the Supreme Leader's office and former speaker of the Majlis -- declared that Bahrain had been "the fourteenth province of Iran until 1970." This statement echoed a July 9, 2007, editorial in the influential (and Khamenei-influenced) Kayhan newspaper, which described "undeniable documents" indicating that "Bahrain was a part of Iran's territory until forty years ago." The editorial went on to state that the island's independence from Iran was not legitimate. In response to Nuri's statement, Bahrain suspended natural-gas negotiations with Iran and referred to the remarks as an "infringement of sovereignty."

The deep relations between Iranian and Bahraini Shiite clerics are another important factor. Sheikh Isa Ahmad Qassem, the Friday prayer leader at Imam Sadeq Mosque in Diraz City, has particularly close ties with the Islamic Republic. Considered the spiritual leader of Bahrain's Wafaq Party, he (along with Sheikh Hossein Nejati) is a religious representative of Khamenei, collecting taxes for the Supreme Leader, propagating his religious authority, and encouraging people to follow him rather than other "sources of emulation" (marja taqlid). Qassem is also a religious representative of Iraqi cleric Ayatollah Ali al-Sistani.

From the early 1990s to 2001, when the majority of Wafaq leaders were in exile, Qassem was in Qom, Iran, receiving theological training from Mahmoud Hashemi Shahroudi (former head of the Iranian judiciary), Kadhim al-Haeri (both of whom were in Najaf, Iraq, before the Iranian revolution and were disciples of Muhammad Baqr al-Sadr), and Muhammad Fazel Lankarani (a pro-regime ayatollah). Khamenei has described Qassem as "a star in the sky of Shia" and said he is "proud" of the cleric. Similarly, Sheikh Asad Qassir -- a member of Khamenei's fatwa office who is in charge of responding to religious questions from the Supreme Leader's Arab followers -- stated that Khamenei believes Shiites should obey Qassem's political positions and views.

Indeed, Qassem is so close to Khamenei that some Bahrainis believe the main reason why the Wafaq Party did not boycott the 2006 parliamentary elections (despite doing so in 2002) was because Khamenei advised him to participate in the political process. Those who did not follow Qassem's lead founded the Haq Movement for Liberty and Democracy, whose leader, Hassan Mushaima, has since been issued a life sentence by the Bahraini military court.

Not all Bahraini Shiite clerics are sympathetic to Khamenei and Iran, of course. The island has almost 300 Shiite clerics, and some of them remain close to Sistani in Najaf, while others are close to the family of the late Ayatollah Muhammad Shirazi (who was fanatically against the Islamic Republic). Most of these clerics, however, were trained in Qom and speak Farsi. And in recent years, Bahraini publishers have translated hundreds of religious and ideological books from Farsi into Arabic.

Inability to Help Bahraini Shiites

During the initial bloody demonstrations in Bahrain, Tehran verbally blasted Manama, especially after GCC countries deployed troops to help the island's government crack down on protestors. Iran has accused Bahrain and Saudi Arabia of killing scores of Shiites, demanding an end to discrimination by the ruling Sunni minority and calling on the Bahraini king to step down. In addition, Tehran has called the GCC intervention "unacceptable" and predicted it would complicate the kingdom's political crisis.

Despite such fiery rhetoric, the Islamic Republic has been extremely cautious about taking any concrete steps regarding the crisis. Iranian-government-connected groups organized two flotillas to Bahrain in support of Shiite dissidents, but both turned back, evidently under orders from Tehran. And in the wake of opposition setbacks on the island, Iran might once again be forced to restore normal relations with Manama. In fact, widespread rumors in Tehran indicated that the Bahraini king's special envoy traveled to Iran on June 23, though the Iranian Foreign Ministry denied it.

In short, when it comes to Shiite protests in Bahrain, the Islamic Republic's national interests appear to have trumped its ideological ambitions. Tehran was constrained in part by harsh statements from GCC countries openly blaming Iran for the unrest, breaking from their usual caution about such accusations. In one joint statement, for example, GCC foreign ministers said they were "deeply worried about continuing Iranian meddling" in their region, arguing that "Iran's interference in Bahrain's internal affairs is in violation of international conventions and rules of good neighborliness."

Such statements are indicative of the region-wide dissolution of support for Iran. For example, Tehran no doubt took notice of the recent parliamentary no-confidence vote in Kuwait, where Prime Minister Nasser Muhammad al-Ahmad al-Sabah narrowly survived removal from office. Among other issues, some legislators had accused Sabah of boosting ties with Iran rather than with the GCC. Tehran is also likely worried about its relations with Arab countries outside the GCC -- especially Egypt, where it hopes to normalize relations following Mubarak's ouster. And more generally, Tehran wants to avoid being seen as igniting sectarian conflict in the Arab world, whether in Bahrain or elsewhere.

So far, however, the Bahrain crisis has hurt the Islamic Republic's relations with Arab governments and endangered its image among Shiites, given Tehran's ineptitude in providing help for Shiite dissidents and protecting them from Sunni violence. Many Arab Shiites expect Iran to act as the protector of their coreligionists throughout the region. And several groups of Bahraini clerics have written to Khamenei urging him to help the island's Shiites. This included a March 16 letter signed by "followers of Grand Ayatollah Khamenei in Bahrain" and widely published in the Iranian media, asking the Supreme Leader to help his "children and followers in Bahrain in any appropriate way." The letter also asked, "Who do we have to talk with about our suffering?" Yet there is no evidence that Khamenei has responded to this appeal.

Overall, the Bahraini crisis has been an important test of Iran's pro-Shiite propaganda. The Islamic Republic's policy toward Shiite communities in the region has shown itself to be quite complicated and increasingly muddled. The result has been mounting Shiite suspicion toward Iran -- not only in Bahrain, but also in places such as southwestern Saudi Arabia -- regarding the extent to which they can rely on Tehran to assist them in the event of confrontation with their governments.

Mehdi Khalaji is a senior fellow at The Washington Institute, focusing on the politics of Iran and Shiite groups in the Middle East.