أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 1905

انتخابات «مجلس الشورى» الإيراني: أيما كان الفائز، فإن الغرب هو الخاسر

نيكولاي كوزهانوف

متاح أيضاً في English

28 فبراير 2012


 

"على الرغم من أن الانتخابات البرلمانية القادمة في إيران ستشهد منافسة قوية، إلا أنها لا توفر أي أمل لتحسين العلاقات الأمريكية الإيرانية."

 

لقد طرح المرشد الأعلى علي خامنئي مؤخراً فكرة تغيير الدستور الإيراني لمنح البرلمان سلطة انتخاب الرئيس. وقد أدت تلك التصريحات إلى زيادة حدة الصراع للسيطرة على الهيئة التشريعية، وسوف تشهد الانتخابات لـ "مجلس الشورى" ["المجلس"] التاسع التي ستُعقد في 2 آذار/مارس منافسة شرسة. إلا أنه بغض النظر عن النتيجة، فسيكون من السذاجة توقع حدوث تغييرات جادة في نهج البرلمان تجاه القضايا الخارجية والمحلية.

الإصلاحيون المكمَّمون

هناك فرصة ضئيلة أمام المرشحين الإصلاحيين للفوز بعدد كبير من المقاعد في "المجلس" القادم - وسوف تقع المعركة الرئيسية بين فصائل محافظة متنافسة. وقد أدت الانتخابات الرئاسية المثيرة للجدل من عام 2009 والمظاهرات الجماعية اللاحقة إلى فرض قيود خطيرة على دور الحركة الإصلاحية في الحياة السياسية الإيرانية. ولم تكن أمام القادة الرسميين للحركة الاحتجاجية وأنصارهم المقربين أية فرصة للحصول على إذن من "مجلس صيانة الدستور" للترشح للمنصب في آذار/مارس. كما بذل النظام قصارى جهده لتقييد حرية التعبير، ولم يترك أية خيارات للمعارضة للتأثير على العملية الانتخابية. ومنذ كانون الأول/ديسمبر الماضي، على سبيل المثال، اعتقلت السلطات الإيرانية العديد من الصحفيين والمدونين الموالين للإصلاحيين إلى جانب "جواسيس" و"عملاء نفوذ" غربيين مزعومين.

المحافظون المتنافسون

عندما فُتح باب التسجيل لأولئك الذين يسعون للتنافس في انتخابات الثاني من آذار/مارس، كان العديد من السياسيين المؤثرين بقيادة آية الله محمد رضا مهدوي كاني قد قاموا بالفعل بدمج أحزابهم في «الجبهة المتحدة للمحافظين» وأعدوا قائمة مشتركة للمرشحين. ويُشكِّل أعضاء هذا التحالف أغلبية "مجلس الشورى" الحالي، بمن فيهم شخصيات بارزة من بينها رئيس البرلمان علي لاريجاني وعمدة طهران محمد باقر قاليباف والنائبان أحمد توكلي ومحمد رضا باهنر. ويميل هذا الفصيل إلى انتقاد الرئيس محمود أحمدي نجاد.

وفي غضون ذلك، قام إصلاحيون آخرون بتشكيل تحالف خاص بهم وهو «جبهة استقرار الثورة الاسلامية» برئاسة آية الله محمد تقي مصباح يزدي. وباستثناء مجموعة قليلة من الوزراء السابقين الذين شغلوا مناصب في مجلس وزراء أحمدي نجاد وأعضاء أحزاب سياسية محافظة وفصائل برلمانية محددة (مثل Jebhe-ye Valeh و قرارگاه عمار)، يتألف التحالف بصفة أساسية من أنصار خامنئي وحلفائه السياسيين الأكثر حماساً بين رجال الدين، بمن فيهم صادق محصولي، ومحمد حسين صفر هرندي ، وحامد رضائي، وعلي عسكر ضرائي، ومهدي كوشك زادة، وإسماعيل كوساري، وحجة الإسلام روح الله حسينيان، وغلام حسين إلهام، ومرتضي آقا تهراني، وآية الله خوشفاغت. كما يتمتع التحالف بدعم من أعضاء محددين في "فيلق الحرس الثوري الإسلامي" و"الباسيج"، الذين يساعدون الحركة على تأسيس مكاتب تمثيلية في المحافظات.

وتهدف «جبهة الاستقرار» إلى موازنة نفوذ «الجبهة المتحدة» الآخذ في الاتساع، لا سيما في ضوء الشائعات بأن علي لاريجاني وقاليباف سوف يسعون إلى الترشح للرئاسة في المستقبل. ولا يَعتبر أعضاء «جبهة الاستقرار» أن أياً من الرجلين مرشحاً مناسباً للرئاسة، مستشهدين بتهور الأول وإذعان الثاني. كما تذكر التقارير أن مصباح يزدي وأنصاره غير راضين عن الثقل السياسي المتنامي لمهدوي كاني. ويرأس مهدوي كاني حالياً "مجلس الخبراء" و«جمعية رجال الدين المناضلين»، وقد أدت محاولاته لصياغة روابط أكثر قوة مع «جماعة المدرسين في الحوزة العلمية في قم» إلى إغضاب مصباح يزدي.

وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، تسعى «جبهة الاستقرار» إلى الحد من النفوذ السياسي لمساعد الرئيس [مدير مكتبه] إسفانديار رحيم مشائي دون الإضرار بأحمدي نجاد نفسه. ويزعم أعضاء الحركة أنهم يحمون الرئيس من مكائد مشائي وطاقم العاملين معه.

حلفاء الرئيس

تعرّض فصيل أحمدي نجاد لانتكاسات سياسية كبيرة في العام الماضي. فقد بدأ خصومه حملة دعاية ناجحة باتهامهم مشائي وأنصاره بأنهم "منحرفون" شوّهوا مبادئ النظام الإسلامي. وبفضل دعم المرشد الأعلى فقد انخرطوا في حملة اضطهاد ضخمة ضد حلفاء الرئيس. وبحلول خريف عام 2011، بدا أن المنحرفين قد فقدوا أية فرصة جدية للفوز بمقاعد في "مجلس الشورى الإسلامي" التاسع.

غير أنه منذ ذلك الحين تغير الوضع نوعاً ما. فأحمدي نجاد لم يدّخر وسعاً في تعزيز مشائي وحلفائه، لا سيما في المحافظات. فعلى مدى الأشهر الخمسة الماضية كانت الإدارة الإيرانية تستبدل ممثلي المحافظات في وزارة الداخلية بمسؤولين أكثر ولاءاً لأحمدي نجاد ومشائي. كما زودت بعض المحافظين بقوائم لمرشحيها المفضلين في "مجلس الشورى". وبالإضافة إلى دعم مرشحي أحمدي نجاد كان من المتوقع من المحافظين تشويه صورة الخصوم الرئيسيين لفصيل الرئيس. ووفقاً لتقارير وسائل الإعلام المحلية طلب المسؤولون الحكوميون من أئمة المساجد الذين يلقون خطبهم أيام الجمعة في المدن الرئيسية في المحافظات - والتي تشمل رشت وأصفهان وقم ويزد وكاشان - حشد أتباعهم لصالح مرشحين معينين.

كما سعى أحمدي نجاد إلى تعزيز صورته بين السكان الفقراء في المحافظات. فعلى مدى السنوات السبع الماضية حقق نجاحاً كبيراً في استغلال مشاعرهم الوطنية وكراهيتهم للطبقات الأكثر ثراءً في طهران؛ ويمكن لهذه الجهود أن تؤتي ثمارها مرة أخرى.

المشهد المتوقع

لا تزال نتيجة المعركة بين المحافظين المتنافسين غير واضحة. فمن ناحية، لا يزال أحمدي نجاد ومشائي ضعفاء نسبياً، بينما لا يفضّل خامنئي أياً من الرجلين. كما أن التفضيلات السياسية لـ "فيلق الحرس الثوري الإيراني" و"الباسيج" غير مؤكدة.

ومن ناحية أخرى، أظهر خامنئي بوضوح أنه لا يرغب في التخلص من أحمدي نجاد كلية. فاختفاء الرئيس عن المشهد السياسي سوف يعزز حتماً فصائل أخرى، وهو سيناريو لا يرحِّب به خامنئي الذي يتمثل مبدؤه السياسي الرئيسي في تحقيق التوازن بين القوى المتنافسة. وفي ظل هذه الظروف، يستفيد أحمدي نجاد فقط من الصراع بين «الجبهة المتحدة» و «جبهة الاستقرار»، والذي يحول دون توحيد المحافظين المعتدلين والمتشددين ضد مشائي وأنصاره.

التداعيات على الغرب: ليست كثيرة

لا ينبغي لأي شخص أن يتوقع أن تُحدث الانتخابات تغييرات ملموسة في الموقف الإيراني بشكل عام. فـ "المجلس" له تأثير محدود على السياسة الخارجية والأمنية، حيث إنها تقع بشكل كبير ضمن سلطة المرشد الأعلى مع دور محدود للرئيس. وعلاوة على ذلك، يربط جميع المحافظين مستقبلهم بمستقبل النظام؛ وليس لكفاحهم السياسي أية صلة بإجراء مراجعة جوهرية للسياسة الخارجية للجمهورية الإسلامية. ويُعتبر البرنامج النووي ودعم «حزب الله» ومساعدة الحركة الفلسطينية جزءاً من الفكرة الوطنية الإيرانية، وأية محاولات للوقوف ضدها يُنظر إليها على أنها انتحار سياسي. وحتى لو حقق أنصار أحمدي نجاد نتائج سيئة في 2 آذار/مارس، كما هو مرجح، فإن "مجلس الشورى الإسلامي" التاسع لن يُفرز بالضرورة قوى أكثر مرونة في طهران. وبعبارة أخرى، فإن الغرب سيكون هو الخاسر بغض النظر عن الفائز.

 

نيكولاي كوزهانوف عمل سابقاً في القسم السياسي والاقتصادي في السفارة الروسية في طهران في الفترة بين 2006 و 2009، وعاد مؤخراً من رحلة طويلة إلى إيران. وسوف ينضم قريباً إلى معهد واشنطن كزميل زائر.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 1905

Iran's Majlis Elections: Whoever Wins, the West Loses

Nikolay Kozhanov

Also available in العربية

February 28, 2012


Iran's upcoming parliamentary elections, while vigorously contested, offer no hope for improving U.S.-Iranian relations.

Recently, Supreme Leader Ali Khamenei has speculated about changing the Iranian constitution to give parliament the power to elect the president. Such statements have seriously intensified the struggle for control over the legislature, and the March 2 elections for the ninth Majlis will be hotly contested. Yet regardless of the outcome, it would be naive to expect any serious changes in the parliament's approach to external and domestic issues.

Muzzled Reformists

Reformist candidates have little chance of winning substantial numbers of seats in the next Majlis -- the main battle will take place between rival conservative factions. The controversial 2009 presidential election and subsequent mass demonstrations led to serious limitations on the reformist movement's role in Iranian political life. The official leaders of the protest movement and their close supporters had no chance of obtaining the Guardian Council's permission to run for office next month. The regime has also done its best to limit freedom of speech, leaving no options for the opposition to influence the electoral process. Since last December, for instance, authorities have arrested numerous proreformist journalists and bloggers as well as purported Western "spies" and "agents of influence."

Rival Conservatives

By the time registration opened for those seeking to contest the upcoming elections, several influential politicians led by Ayatollah Muhammad Reza Mahdavi Kani had already merged their parties into the United Front of Conservatives (Jebhe-ye Motahed-e Osulgerayan) and prepared a joint list of candidates. Members of this coalition constitute the majority in the current Majlis, including prominent figures such as speaker of the parliament Ali Larijani, Tehran mayor Muhammad Baqer Qalibaf, and deputies Ahmad Tavakkoli and Muhammad Reza Bahonar. The faction tends to be critical of President Mahmoud Ahmadinejad.

Meanwhile, other conservatives have formed a coalition of their own: the Front of Stability of the Islamic Revolution (Jebhe-ye Paydari), headed by Ayatollah Muhammad Taqi Mesbah-Yazdi. Apart from a few of Ahmadinejad's former cabinet ministers and members of certain conservative political parties and parliamentary factions (e.g., Jebhe-ye Valeh and Qarargakh-e Amr), the coalition mainly consists of Khamenei's most ardent supporters and political allies among the clergy, including Sadegh Mahsouli, Mohammad-Hossein Saffar-Harandi, Hamid Resai, Ali Askar Zerai, Mehdi Kuchekzadeh, Ismail Kausari, Hojatoleslam Ruhollah Hosseinian, Gholam-Hossein Elham, Morteza Agha-Tehrani and Ayatollah Khoshvaght. It also enjoys support from certain members of the Islamic Revolutionary Guard Corps (IRGC) and Basij, who are helping the movement establish representative offices in the provinces.

The Stability Front aims to counterbalance the United Front's expanding influence, especially in light of rumors that Ali Larijani and Qalibaf will seek the presidency in the future. Stability members do not consider either man an appropriate presidential candidate, citing the former's uncontrollability and the latter's conformity. Mesbah-Yazdi and his supporters are also reportedly dissatisfied with Mahdavi Kani's growing political weight. Currently, Mahdavi Kani heads the Assembly of Experts and the Militant Clergy Association, and his attempts to forge stronger ties with the Assembly of Qom Seminary Scholars and Researchers have angered Mesbah-Yazdi.

In addition, the Stability Front seeks to limit the political influence of presidential aide Esfandiar Rahim Mashai without harming Ahmadinejad himself. Members of the movement claim to be protecting the president from the intrigues of Mashai and his staff.

The President's Allies

Ahmadinejad's faction suffered major political setbacks last year. Its opponents initiated a successful propaganda campaign accusing Mashai and his supporters of being "deviators" (monhatefin) who had distorted the Islamic regime's principles. With the Supreme Leader's support, they engaged in massive persecution of the president's allies. By fall 2011, the deviators seemed to have lost any serious chance of winning seats in the ninth Majlis.

Since then, however, the situation has changed somewhat. Ahmadinejad has spared no effort in strengthening Mashai and his allies, particularly in the provinces. Over the past five months, the administration has been replacing the Interior Ministry's provincial representatives (farmandars) with officials more loyal to Ahmadinejad and Mashai. It also provided some provincial governors with lists of preferred Majlis candidates. In addition to promoting pro-Ahmadinejad candidates, governors were expected to discredit the main opponents of the president's faction. According to local media reports, government officials have asked the Friday imams of mosques in major provincial cities -- including Rasht, Isfahan, Qom, Yazd, and Kashan -- to canvass their congregations for certain candidates.

Ahmadinejad has also sought to bolster his image among the poor population of the provinces. Over the past seven years, he has been quite successful in exploiting both their patriotic feelings and their hatred of the richer classes in Tehran; such efforts could once again bear fruit.

Outlook

The outcome of the battle between rival conservatives remains unclear. On one hand, Ahmadinejad and Mashai are still relatively weak, and Khamenei does not favor either man. The political preferences of the IRGC and Basij are uncertain.

On the other hand, Khamenei has clearly demonstrated that he does not want to get rid of Ahmadinejad completely. The president's disappearance from the political scene would inevitably strengthen other factions -- an unwelcome scenario for Khamenei, whose main political principle is balance between rival forces. Under these conditions, Ahmadinejad only benefits from the struggle between the United Front and Stability Front, which prevents moderate and radical conservatives from unifying against Mashai and his supporters.

Implications for the West: Not Much

No one should expect the elections to produce tangible changes in Iran's overall posture. The Majlis has little say in foreign and security policy, which is largely in the hands of the Supreme Leader, with a limited role for the president. Moreover, all of the conservatives associate their future with that of the regime; their political struggle has nothing to do with fundamentally revising the Islamic Republic's foreign policy. The nuclear program, support for Hizballah, and assistance to the Palestinian movement are considered part of the Iranian national idea, and any attempts to stand against them are seen as political suicide. Even if Ahmadinejad's supporters do badly on March 2, as is likely, the ninth Majlis will not necessarily produce more flexible forces in Tehran. In other words, whoever wins, the West will lose.

Nikolay Kozhanov will soon join The Washington Institute as a visiting fellow. Previously, he worked in the political and economic section of the Russian embassy in Tehran from 2006 to 2009. He recently returned from an extended trip to Iran.