أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 2096

فيلق إيران الأجنبي: دور الميليشيات الشيعية العراقية في سوريا

مايكل نايتس

متاح أيضاً في English

27 حزيران/يونيو 2013


مع استمرار رحى الحرب الدائرة في سوريا تستطيع الجهات الفاعلة الخارجية أن تلعب دوراً بالغ الأهمية في تغيير ميزان القوى من خلال الدعم المادي ورعاية الوحدات المسلحة الفردية. ومن بين الألوية الدولية الأكثر أهمية التي تقاتل حالياً إلى جانب نظام الأسد هي "لواء أبو فضل العباس"، وهو عبارة عن مجموعة من المقاتلين الشيعة العراقيين في الغالب الذين يخضعون لتنظيم ودعم "قوة القدس"، فرع نخبوي تابع لـ "الحرس الثوري الإسلامي" الإيراني. ورغم صغر حجم ذلك اللواء، إلا أنه يستطيع إحداث تأثير استراتيجي على مسار الحرب. وبشكل أوسع نطاقاً، فإن توسيع حجمه ربما يمثل تحولاً خطيراً للمنطقة، مما يمنح طهران فيلقاً عسكرياً شيعياً عبر الحدود تستطيع استخدامه لدعم حلفائها خارج سوريا.

مدرَّبون من قبل إيران ويحاربون إلى جانب الأسد

 وفقاً للخبير المستقل المعني بعمليات "لواء أبو فضل العباس" فيليب سميث، يتراوح عدد المقاتلين الشيعة العراقيين في سوريا بين 800 و2000 مقاتل. وينتمي هؤلاء المقاتلون بشكل يكاد يكون حصرياً إلى ثلاث مجموعات عراقية. والمساهم الرئيسي في اللواء هي مجموعة "عصائب أهل الحق" التي يتراوح قوامها بين 2000 و3000 مقاتل كانت قد انشقت عن حركة مقتدى الصدر في عام 2006 بدعم من "قوة القدس" التابعة لـ "الحرس الثوري الإيراني" و «حزب الله» اللبناني. والمساهم الثاني هو "كتائب «حزب الله»"، وهم نخبة قوامها 400 رجل من المقاتلين الشيعة العراقيين المتمرسين يقدمون تقاريرهم مباشرة إلى قيادة "قوة القدس" التابعة لـ "الحرس الثوري". أما المساهم الثالث فهو "كتائب سيد الشهداء"، وهي قوة قوامها 200 رجل يقودها أبو مصطفى الشيباني (المعروف أيضاً باسم حميد شيباني)، وهو شيعي عراقي عمل تحت قيادة "قوة القدس" منذ أواخر الثمانينيات. وتشير التقارير أيضاً إلى وجود شيعة عراقيين من "منظمة بدر" و"لواء اليوم الموعود" التابع لمقتدى الصدر. وبغض النظر عن تكوينه الدقيق، يبدو أن "لواء أبو فضل العباس" قد استوعب نسبة كبيرة من الكوادر القتالية المتشددة المدعومة من إيران والتي ضايقت الجيش الأمريكي في العراق.

وفي الواقع، لعبت إيران لعبت دوراً رئيسياً في تشكيل ودعم الجماعات التطوعية العراقية العاملة في سوريا. فمنذ خريف 2011 -- وهو الوقت الذي بدأ فيه المتمردون الشيعة في العراق يقللون هجماتهم على الأعداد المتضائلة للقوات الأمريكية في تلك البلاد -- يبدو أن "عصائب أهل الحق" و"كتائب «حزب الله»" يرسلون مقاتلين إلى إيران ولبنان من أجل إعادة تدريبهم للتدخل في سوريا. وعلى وجه التحديد، جرى تعليم هؤلاء المقاتلين كيفية الانتقال من تكتيكات المتمردين المستخدمة في العراق (على سبيل المثال، زرع قنابل على جوانب الطرق، والقيام بهجمات الصاروخية باستعمال استراتيجية الكر الفر، وعمليات الاغتيال) إلى قتال الشوارع في المدن، والتدريب على المهارات العسكرية التقليدية المطلوبة لعمليات الأمن التي يقوم بها النظام في سوريا -- وهي مهارات يمكن استخدامها أيضاً في لبنان أو حتى إيران إذا لزم الأمر.

ووفقاً لفيليب سميث، بدأ المتطوعون الشيعة العراقيون الوصول إلى سوريا بدءً من ربيع 2012 فصاعداً، وأصبح وجودهم أكثر وضوحاً بشكل تدريجي. وقد دخل بعضهم البلاد عن طريق مطار دمشق الدولي على متن طائرات الرحلات الجوية الإيرانية. ودخل آخرون براً من العراق، أو استقلوا حافلات الحجاج أو الشاحنات التجارية؛ وقد تعرضت بعض تلك القوافل للهجوم من قبل العناصر الجهادية السورية والعراقية داخل العراق قبل أن تتمكن من عبور الحدود. ويتناوب الآن معظم هؤلاء المتطوعين داخل سوريا وخارجها، ويقال أن بعضهم يقوم بتأدية عدة مهمات.  وبالنسبة لمن يلقون حتفهم أثناء القتال، تعمل إيران بسرعة على نقل جثثهم إلى العراق لدفنها على الفور-- ولعل ذلك هو المؤشر الأكثر وضوحاً عن مسؤولية طهران عن المتطوعين العراقيين الشيعة.

وتميل إعلانات الشهادة لهؤلاء المقاتلين إلى ترسيخ الادعاء الاسطوري بأن الدور الوحيد لـ "لواء أبو فضل العباس" في سوريا هو الدفاع عن مزار السيدة زينب الشيعي في جنوب دمشق. وفي الواقع، ينشط المتطوعون العراقيون عبر قطاع دمشق الجنوبي ذو الأهمية الاستراتيجية، حيث يعملون كلواء نيران موثوق به ويمكن نشره لإخماد الاضطرابات في ضواحي المدن بدون شفقة أو رحمة، والدفاع عن المطار، وحماية الأحياء السكنية المستخدمة من قبل نخب النظام. وقد تم تجهيز قوات "لواء أبو فضل العباس" تجهيزاً جيداً وهي متماسكة أيضاً، ويبدو أنها تستفيد من التدريب الذي وفره «حزب الله» في لبنان. وتشير إعلانات الشهادة أيضاً أن معظم هؤلاء المقاتلين هم في أواخر العشرينات من عمرهم أو أكبر سناً -- وبعبارة أخرى، مقاتلون ذوي خبرة، وكثيراً ما افتخروا عما قاموا به عبر سنوات من القتال ضد القوات الأمريكية في العراق. وعلاوة على ذلك، تشير برقيات الوفاة والجنازات إلى أن ما بين 12 إلى 24 شخصاً من الشيعة العراقيين يلقون حتفهم الآن في سوريا شهرياً، مما يوضح التدخل المتقطع لـ "لواء أبو فضل العباس" في أعمال قتال طاحنة.

تأثير المتطوعين العراقيين

يمكن أن يكون للقوات صغيرة الحجم والتي تمتلك حوافز قوية، تأثير لا يتناسب مع حجمها في الحروب الأهلية، حيث غالباً ما يتركز القتال على مناطق محددة، وحيث يمكن أن تؤثر المعارك الصغيرة والرمزية على المعنويات بشكل كبير. ويعتبر التدخل المباشر لـ «حزب الله» اللبناني في "القصير" مثال واحد لهذه الظاهرة، كما أن الدور الذي تلعبه قوات "لواء أبو فضل العباس" المكونة من العراقيين في الغالب في عملياتها حول دمشق يمكن أن يصبح مثالاً آخر -- لا سيما إذا قامت "قوة القدس" التابعة لـ "فيلق الحرس الثوري الإيراني" بتوسيع كوادر اللواء في سوريا بصورة أكثر من خلال مجموعة "عصائب أهل الحق"، التي تشهد بعض التطورات وفي طريقها لكي تصبح حركة سياسية جماهيرية. وسواء في سوريا أو في غيرها من البلدان، قد يصبح المتطوعون العراقيون سمة شائعة في الحروب بالوكالة المدعومة من إيران إذا لم يتم كبح جماحهم.

كما أن زيادة التدريب وتعزيز الخبرة القتالية لهذه القوات، إلى جانب استمرار المشاركة الإيرانية، قد يكون له تداعيات خطيرة على استقرار العراق في المستقبل. وليس هناك شك بأن إيران ستواصل في السنوات المقبلة الضغط على بغداد من أجل الحد من آثار العقوبات الدولية (على سبيل المثال، من خلال المطالبة بالوصول إلى القطاع المصرفي في العراق، وإلى احتياطيات العملات الأجنبية، والأسواق)، وتقييد القدرات العسكرية العراقية، والحد من نفوذ الولايات المتحدة. وسوف يكون لإيران حاجة مستمرة لتجنيد وكلاء عراقيين مسلحين. ويعمل نشر الشيعة العراقيين إلى سوريا على دمج هؤلاء المقاتلين بشكل أكثر قوة في "محور المقاومة" إلى جانب «حزب الله»، فضلاً عن تعليمهم مهارات قتالية تقليدية في وقت أصاب فيه الضعف والضمور الجيش العراقي في أعقاب انسحاب القوات الأمريكية. ولهذا قد تواجه بغداد تهديداً أمنياً على مستوى أكبر بعد عودة هؤلاء المقاتلون الشيعة من سوريا بصورة دائمية، وأيديهم ملطخة بالدماء لكنهم أكثر ثقة بالنفس.

التداعيات على السياسة الأمريكية

في 25 حزيران/يونيو، أعلنت الحكومة العراقية أنها سوف تزيد من إجراءات المراقبة الحدودية وتوقف جميع الرحلات بين بغداد ودمشق لمنع المقاتلين العراقيين من دخول سوريا. لكن مع الأسف، فقد ثبت أن جميع العروض العراقية السابقة لوقف الدعم الإيراني لنظام الأسد كانت مجرد تصريحات جوفاء، وأن أحدث التقييدات المفروضة لن تمنع قيام رحلات مباشرة من إيران إلى دمشق. ورغم أنه ينبغي على الولايات المتحدة أن تضغط على السلطات العراقية لكي تقوم بعمليات تفتيش دورية على متن الطائرات الإيرانية المتجهة إلى سوريا، إلا أن السبيل الوحيد الفعال لاعتراض طريق تلك الرحلات هو من خلال جعل مطار دمشق -- أو الأفضل من ذلك، المجال الجوي السوري -- غير صالح لاستخدام النظام. كما تستطيع واشنطن أن تربط مساعداتها للعراق في مجال مكافحة الإرهاب (والتي تحتاج إليها بغداد بشدة) بالإغلاق المؤكد للمجال الجوي للبلاد وحدودها البرية -- بصورة يمكن التحقق منها -- أمام الرحلات والقوافل الداعمة للأسد.

وكثيراً ما يقال أن ضوء الشمس هو أفضل مطهر، لذا ينبغي على واشنطن أيضاً أن تبذل المزيد من الجهود لفضح دور الشيعة العراقيين في سوريا. على سبيل المثال، يمكنها استخدام أدوات العمليات المعلوماتية -- مثل اجتماعات إحاطة من قبل كبار المسؤولين في واشنطن أو السفارة في بغداد -- للتأكيد على أن الولايات المتحدة سوف تزيد باستمرار من إمدادات الأسلحة إلى المعارضة وذلك يرجع تحديداً إلى أن إيران و «حزب الله»، بتحريض من العراق، توفر الدعم المباشر لنظام الأسد. وإذا كانت الأسلحة تنتقل من ثوار سوريا إلى المتمردين في العراق، بحسب ما تزعمه بغداد، فإن هذا يرجع في جزء منه إلى دعم حكومة المالكي المتعنت لدمشق.

ينبغي على واشنطن كذلك أن تنتهز أية فرصة للحصول على أدلة ونشرها، والتي تثبت وقوع مجازر على يد عناصر شيعة عراقيين في سوريا، وهو أسلوب يقال أنه أصبح شائعاً في ضواحي دمشق. ومن شأن هذه الأدلة أن تدفع المؤسسة الدينية العراقية في النجف إلى ثني الشباب الشيعة عن التطوع للقتال في سوريا. إن تأمين هذا النوع من المساعدة غير المباشرة من النجف ورجل الدين البارز فيها، آية الله علي السيستاني، هو صعب للغاية نظراً لأن "عصائب أهل الحق" و"كتائب حزب الله" يسعيان بقوة إلى تبني نظام ولاية الفقيه الإيراني في العراق، مع الإطاحة بالمؤسسة الدينية القديمة لصالح هيكل ترتكز قيادته في مدينة قم الإيرانية. ومن أجل تسهيل مشاركة [رجال الدين] في النجف، ينبغي على واشنطن أن تعلن باستمرار أنها تسلح المعارضة السورية ليس من أجل التحيز ضد الشيعة في حرب أهلية طائفية، وإنما للإطاحة بنظام إجرامي -- أو على أقل تقدير، لفرض حالة من الجمود وحل وسط يتم التوصل إليه عن طريق التفاوض من أجل حماية جميع الأطراف، بما في ذلك العلويين الشيعة في سوريا.

 

مايكل نايتس هو زميل ليفر في معهد واشنطن مقره في بوسطن. وهو يود أن يشكر بامتنان المساعدة التي قدمها الباحث في المعهد أحمد البريج والخبير المستقل فيليب سميث، الذي يمكن الاطلاع على بحوثه عن المقاتلين الشيعة العراقيين في سوريا من على موقع http://jihadology.net/hizballah-cavalcade

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 2096

Iran's Foreign Legion: The Role of Iraqi Shiite Militias in Syria

Michael Knights

Also available in العربية

June 27, 2013


With Iran's help and Baghdad's continued inaction, Iraqi Shiite militants have moved from fighting U.S. forces in their own country to fighting on Assad's side in Syria.

As the war in Syria drags on, external actors may play an increasingly important role in tipping the balance through material support and sponsorship of individual armed units. One of the most significant international brigades currently fighting on the Assad regime's side is the Damascus-based Liwa Abu Fadl al-Abbas (LAFA), a collection of predominantly Iraqi Shiite fighters organized and supported by the Qods Force, an elite branch of Iran's Islamic Revolutionary Guard Corps (IRGC). Though relatively small in size, LAFA could have a strategic impact on the war's course. More broadly, its expansion marks a potentially dangerous turn for the region, giving Tehran a transnational Shiite militant legion that it could use to bolster its allies outside Syria.

TRAINED BY IRAN, FIGHTING FOR ASSAD

According to Phillip Smyth, an independent expert on LAFA's operations, the number of Iraqi Shiite militants in Syria fluctuates between 800 and 2,000. These fighters are drawn almost exclusively from three Iraqi groups. The main contributor is Asaib Ahl al-Haqq (AAH), a 2,000-3,000-strong militant group that splintered from Muqtada al-Sadr's movement in 2006 with support from the IRGC Qods Force and Lebanese Hezbollah. The second is Kataib Hezbollah (KH), an elite 400-man cadre of experienced Iraqi Shiite fighters reporting directly to the IRGC Qods Force leadership. The third is Kataib Sayyid al-Shuhada (KSS), a 200-man force led by Abu Mustafa al-Sheibani (a.k.a. Hamid al-Sheibani), an Iraqi Shiite who has worked under the Qods Force since the late 1980s. Reports also indicate the presence of Iraqi Shiites from the Badr Organization and Muqtada al-Sadr's Liwa al-Youm al-Mawud (Promised Day Brigades). Regardless of its exact composition, LAFA appears to have soaked up a large proportion of the hardened, Iranian-supported militant cadres that harassed the U.S. military in Iraq.

Indeed, Iran has played a key role in the formation and sustainment of Iraqi volunteer groups active in Syria. Since fall 2011 -- about the time that Shiite insurgents in Iraq began to scale down their attacks on the dwindling numbers of U.S. forces in that country -- AAH and KH have apparently been streaming fighters to Iran and Lebanon to be retrained for intervention in Syria. Specifically, they have been taught how to move from the insurgent tactics used in Iraq (e.g., roadside bombs, hit-and-run rocket attacks, assassinations) to the urban street-fighting and conventional military skills required for regime security operations in Syria -- skills that could also be used in Lebanon or even Iran if needed.

According to Phillip Smyth, Iraqi Shiite volunteers quietly began arriving in Syria from spring 2012 onward, with their presence gradually becoming more overt. Some entered the country via Damascus International Airport on Iranian flights. Others have entered by road from Iraq, riding in pilgrim buses or commercial trucks; some of these convoys have been attacked by Iraqi and Syrian jihadist elements inside Iraq before they could cross the border. Most of these volunteers now rotate in and out of Syria, with some purportedly undertaking multiple missions. For those killed in action, Iran speedily expatriates their bodies back to Iraq for prompt burial -- perhaps the most graphic indicator of Tehran's responsibility for Iraqi Shiite volunteers.

Martyrdom statements for these fighters tend to maintain the fiction that LAFA's only role in Syria is to defend the Shiite shrine of Sayyeda Zainab in southern Damascus. In reality, Iraqi volunteers are active across the strategically vital southern Damascus sector, serving as a reliable fire brigade that can be deployed to ruthlessly quell unrest in the suburbs, defend the airport, and protect residential neighborhoods used by regime elites. LAFA forces are well equipped and cohesive, apparently benefiting from Hezbollah training in Lebanon. Martyrdom statements also suggest that most of these fighters are in their late twenties or older -- in other words, experienced militants who often boast years of combat against U.S. forces in Iraq. Moreover, death notices and funerals indicate that one to two dozen Iraqi Shiites are now dying in Syria each month, pointing to periodic LAFA involvement in heavy fighting.

IMPACT OF IRAQI VOLUNTEERS

Small but highly motivated forces can have a disproportionate impact in civil wars, where the fighting is often focused on specific locales, and where small, iconic battles can significantly affect morale. Lebanese Hezbollah's direct intervention at al-Qusayr is one example of this phenomenon, and the role of the predominantly Iraqi LAFA forces around Damascus could become another -- particularly if the IRGC Qods Force further expands the brigade's cadres in Syria through AAH, which is developing into a mass political movement. Whether in Syria or elsewhere, Iraqi volunteers could become a common feature of Iranian-backed proxy wars if left checked.

The increased training and combat experience of these forces, coupled with continued Iranian involvement, could also have significant implications for the future stability of Iraq. In the coming years, Tehran will no doubt continue pressuring Baghdad in order to reduce the effects of international sanctions (i.e., by demanding access to Iraq's banking sector, foreign currency reserves, and markets), constrain Iraq's military capabilities, and limit U.S. influence. To achieve these and other strategic goals, Iran will have an ongoing need for armed Iraqi proxies. The deployment of Iraqi Shiites to Syria is threading these fighters ever more tightly into the "axis of resistance" alongside Hezbollah, as well as teaching them new conventional combat skills at a time when Iraq's military is atrophying in the aftermath of U.S. withdrawal. Baghdad may therefore face a greatly elevated security threat once these Shiite militants return from Syria for good, bloodied but confident.

IMPLICATIONS FOR U.S. POLICY

On June 25, the Iraqi government announced that it would increase border surveillance and halt all flights between Baghdad and Damascus in an effort to prevent Iraqi fighters from entering Syria. Unfortunately, all prior Iraqi offers to stem Iranian support for the Assad regime have proven hollow, and the latest restrictions would not prevent direct flights from Iran to Damascus. Although the United States should pressure Iraqi authorities to periodically board Iranian flights bound for Syria, the only truly effective way to interdict such flights is to render Damascus Airport -- or, better yet, Syrian airspace -- unusable to the regime. Washington could also link its counterterrorism assistance to Iraq (which Baghdad badly needs) to verifiable closure of the country's airspace and land borders to pro-Assad flights and convoys.

It is often said that sunlight is the best disinfectant, so Washington should also do more to publicize the Iraqi Shiite role in Syria. For example, it could use information operations tools -- such as senior briefings by Washington-based officials or the embassy in Baghdad -- to emphasize that the United States will continually increase its provision of arms to the Syrian opposition precisely because Iran and Hezbollah, abetted by Iraq, are directly supporting the Assad regime. If, as Baghdad claims, arms are passing from Syria's rebels to insurgents in Iraq, this is partly because of the Maliki government's own stubborn backing of Damascus.

Washington should also seize any opportunity to acquire and publicize evidence of massacres undertaken by Iraqi Shiite elements in Syria, a tactic that has reportedly become common in the Damascus suburbs. Such evidence could spur the Iraqi religious establishment in Najaf to discourage young Shiites from volunteering in Syria. Securing this type of indirect assistance from Najaf and its preeminent cleric, Ayatollah Ali al-Sistani, is more than feasible given that AAH and KH actively seek to adopt the Iranian system of clerical rule (velayat-e faqih) in Iraq, sweeping away the old religious establishment in favor of a hierarchy led from Qom, Iran. To facilitate Najaf's involvement, Washington should repeatedly enunciate that it is arming the Syrian opposition not to take sides against the Shiites in a sectarian civil war, but rather to topple a criminal regime -- or, at the very least, to force a stalemate and a negotiated compromise in order to protect all parties, including the Shiite Alawites in Syria.

Michael Knights is a Boston-based Lafer fellow with The Washington Institute. He gratefully acknowledges the assistance of Institute researcher Ahmed Al Brich and independent expert Phillip Smyth, whose work on Iraqi Shiite fighters in Syria can be found at http://jihadology.net/hizballah-cavalcade.