أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 2262

مقاتلو إيران من الشيعة الأفغان في سوريا

فيليب سميث

متاح أيضاً في English

3 حزيران/يونيو 2014


في 22 أيار/مايو، ذكرت صحيفة "وول ستريت جورنال" أن "فيلق الحرس الثوري الإسلامي" الإيراني يجنّد اللاجئين الأفغان الشيعة للقتال في سوريا ويعدهم برواتب شهرية تبلغ 500 دولار بالإضافة إلى أوراق إقامة إيرانية. ولفت المقال إلى أن التقارير عن جنازات أولئك المقاتلين بدأت تظهر في تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر 2013، مع الإشارة إلى أنه قد تم تجنيدهم في الأساس للتعويض عن الخسائر التي لحقت بصفوف عملاء "فيلق الحرس الثوري" في سوريا. بيد، أن ظاهرة المقاتلين الأفغان الشيعة الذين يحاربون إلى جانب بشار الأسد لا تعتبر تطوراً جديداً، بل إن انخراطهم المتزايد في الحرب يستدعي تمحيصاً أدق نظراً إلى تداعياته المحتملة على سوريا ومستقبل طموحات إيران الإقليمية والطائفية.

الخلفية

بدءً من تشرين الأول/أكتوبر 2012، ادعت عناصر مرتبطة بـ "الجيش السوري الحر" أنها أسرت مقاتلاً شيعياً ذو جنسية أفغانية يدعى مرتضى حسين. وتم استجوابه لاحقاً من قبل الثوار في مقطع فيديو قصير على يوتيوب. وقد أصبح وجود مثل هؤلاء المقاتلين موضوعاً كثير التداول والشعبية بدءً من ربيع 2013، في الوقت الذي أعلنت فيه الجماعة الشيعية الجهادية اللبنانية «حزب الله» بأنها نشرت قواتٍ تابعة لها في سوريا. وبذلك أخذت مواقع التواصل الاجتماعي التابعة للنظام والمعارضة على حد سواء تتداول صوراً غير مؤكدة عن مجموعة من الأفغان يرتدون الزي العسكري ويحملون الأسلحة. وفي حالات عدة كانت وجوههم - التي تميل إلى أن تكون متميزة عرقياً - واضحة، ووُصف المقاتلون بـ "الشهداء". وبقي أولئك القتلى الأفغان مجهولي الهوية.

لكن في تموز/يوليو 2013، ظهر ملصقٌ للشهداء ذُكر فيه اسم سفر محمد كأحد الأفغان الذي لقوا حتفهم. وجاء الملصق في إطار ذهبي مزين بأعلام «حزب الله» والنظام السوري وأفغانستان.

أصول فيالق إيران الأفغانية

ينحدر المقاتلون الشيعة الأفغان في سوريا من ثلاثة أصول رئيسية. أولها هي الوحدة التي كانت موجودة بالفعل في سوريا قبل اندلاع الحرب، والتي يسكن عددٌ من أفرادها بالقرب من مرقد السيدة زينب - مزار شيعي بارز في جنوب دمشق. ووفقاً للباحث أحمد شجاع، انتقل نحو ألفي أفغاني شيعي، معظمهم من قومية الهزارة التي يتكلم أبناؤها اللغة الفارسية، للعيش في سوريا قبل اندلاع الأعمال العدائية. وعلى غرار لاجئي الهزارة في البلدان الأخرى، فرّ الكثيرون منهم من أفغانستان جراء المعاناة المتواصلة التي تعرضوا لها على أيدي حركة طالبان. ولكن مع اندلاع الحرب، يُقال أن العديد منهم باتوا مجدداً مستهدفين بالاعتداءات بسبب هويتهم المذهبية وسرعان ما أصبحوا نازحين داخلياً. وقد انضم بعضهم إلى القتال - على سبيل المثال، علي صالحي، هزارة مقيم في سوريا وفقاً للتقارير، كان قد لقي حتفه خلال القتال في منطقة دمشق.

ويبدو أن المقاتلين الذين ينحدرون من هذه الفئة من السكان اللاجئين قد اتّبعوا في تنظيمهم نموذجاً يشابه تنظيم "لواء أبو الفضل العباس" - أبرز فصيلة شيعية مؤيدة للنظام في سوريا. وقد تألف صلب القوة الأصلية لـ "لواء أبو الفضل العباس" من لاجئين عراقيين شيعة من منطقة السيدة زينب الذين تجمعوا في شكل لجنةٍ شعبية؛ وكان تبريرهم المعلن عن مشاركتهم في القتال هو الدفاع عن المرقد الشيعي المقدس. وجاء في ما بعد المجندون المدعومون من إيران والمقاتلون المدربون من منظمات قائمة كـ "عصائب أهل الحق" و "كتائب «حزب الله»"، و "«حزب الله» اللبناني" ليساهموا في توسيع هذا اللواء وبناء قدراته القتالية.

أما الوحدة الثانية من المقاتلين الشيعة الأفغان فتنحدر من إيران؛ ووفقاً للصحف المدعومة من الحكومة الإيرانية ومصادر شيعية أفغانية، تشكل هذه الوحدة المجموعة الكبرى بين الوحدات الثلاث. يُشار إلى أن الكثيرين من هؤلاء المجندين كانوا في الأصل لاجئين في إيران، التي تُعد موطناً لحوالي نصف مليون من الهزارة؛ وقد أشار تقرير "مركز ستيمسون" عام 2010 إلى أن ثلث هؤلاء اللاجئين "أمضوا أكثر من نصف حياتهم في إيران." ويتبين من المآتم الشعبية التي أقيمت في جمهورية إيران  الإسلامية في تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر- كانون الأول/ديسمبر 2013 أن المقاتلين الشيعة الأفغان يأتون من مدن من جميع أنحاء البلاد، بما في ذلك أصفهان ومشهد وطهران وقُم. حتى أن أحد "الشهداء" الشباب، رضا إسماعيل، كان ملتحقاً بجامعة مشهد في إيران وقد نُشرت له صورة قيل إنها أُخذت في سوريا ويظهر فيها وهو يحمل بندقية "إم-4" من نوع "كاربين". وكان قد قُطع رأسه على ما يبدو، من قبل متمردين جهاديين سنة.

والمصدر الثالث - والأكثر مدعاةً للجدل - للمقاتلين الشيعة الأفغان هو جماعات اللاجئين في بلدان من غير إيران وسوريا. وفي نيسان/أبريل 2013، أعلن مسؤولون أفغان أنهم سيدرسون التقارير التي تفيد عن مواطنين أفغان يقاتلون لصالح الأسد. وفي الشهر الماضي تحديداً طلبت كابول من طهران عدم تجنيد مواطنيها للقتال في سوريا. وإذا ثبت ضلوع إيران في التجنيد المباشر، تهدد أفغانستان بتقديم شكوى لـ "المفوض السامي لشؤون اللاجئين للأمم المتحدة". ومع ذلك لم تظهر حتى اليوم أي أدلة فعلية على عمليات التجنيد المباشر في أفغانستان.

وفي حالة أخرى نُشرت صورة لمقاتل لم يكشف عن أسمه يحمل رشاش من نوع "پي كي إم" زُعم أنه لاجئ شيعي أفغاني مُنح حق اللجوء في أستراليا قبل أن ينضم إلى الحرب في سوريا. ولكن لم يتم حتى الآن إثبات هذا الإدعاء.

الجماعات الأفغانية الشيعية الخاصة

في البداية، كان المقاتلون الشيعة الأفغان متواجدين ضمن شبكة الفصائل المرتبطة بـ "لواء أبو الفضل العباس". وعندما قُتل بعض هؤلاء المحاربين في ساحة المعركة، كانوا يصنَّفون بشكل محدد كعناصر من "لواء أبو الفضل العباس"؛ هذا بالإضافة إلى الصور التي نُشرت لشيعة أفغان يرتدون زيهم العسكري مع شعار اللواء.

وفي حين تعدّ هذه الروابط وغيرها التي تضم أشهر الفصائل الشيعية مجرد واقع مستمر، إلا أن المآتم التي أقيمت في إيران في تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر- كانون الأول/ديسمبر تدل على تغيّر طبيعة انخراط الشيعة الأفغان في الحرب. إذ تم الإعلان أن المقاتلين العشرة الذين شُيّعوا في تلك المآتم هم عناصر من تنظيم قتالي جديد يدعى "لواء الفاطميون". ومع أن هذا اللواء قد ادّعى منذ ذلك الحين أنه لم يكتفِ بتجنيد الشيعة الأفغان فحسب، فإن المواد التي نشرها مؤيدوه تؤكد تحديداً على تجنيد تلك الفئة.

وقد نفى كل من "لواء الفاطميون" وطهران ضلوع الحكومة الإيرانية المباشر في أنشطة التنظيم، لكن هذه المزاعم غير منطقية. فأعمال التجنيد لم تتم في إيران فحسب، بل إن المواكب الجنائزية لتشييع القتلى شملت بانتظام جنوداً من "الحرس الثوري الإيراني" بزيهم العسكري فضلاً عن لافتات تحمل شعار "مؤسسة شؤون الشهداء والمحاربين القدامى" الرسمية الإيرانية.

وبالرغم من تشكيل تنظيمهم الخاص، لا يزال المقاتلون الشيعة الأفغان ينسّقون بانتظام ويقاتلون إلى جانب التنظيمات الشيعية الأخرى المؤيدة للنظام. ومثالٌ عن ذلك هو الصور التي تم نشرها على مواقع التواصل الاجتماعي التابعة لـ "لواء الفاطميون"، والتي تُظهر أحد المقاتلين الأفغان مع اثنين من مقاتلي "عصائب أهل الحق". وبالمثل، ادّعى تقرير نشرته صحيفة إيرانية الشهر الماضي أن المقاتلين الشيعة الأفغانيين كان لهم وجود في "عصائب أهل الحق" وميليشيات شيعية أخرى مثل "لواء ذو الفقار". وقد أتاح هذا الوجود لهؤلاء المقاتلين المشاركة في الاشتباكات الكبرى في جميع أنحاء سوريا، بما في ذلك اشتباكات في نيسان/أبريل في منطقة دمشق، وفقاً للتقارير.

وجدير بالذكر أن تطور التنظيمات الخاصة للمقاتلين الشيعة الأفغان لم يتوقف مع "لواء الفاطميون"، الذي يبدو اليوم منضوياً تحت راية تنظيمٍ آخر غير بارز نسبياً يدعى "حزب الله أفغانستان". إذ تشابهت النشرات التي أصدرها التنظيمان، حيث نسب كلا التنظمين إلى نفسه العناصر والشهداء نفسهم. وفي حين أن أسم "حزب الله أفغانستان" لم يبرز رسمياً بعد، إلا أنه بلور هويته الرمزية الخاصة وبسط وجوده داخل القوى المعزولة لشبكات التواصل الاجتماعي المرتبطة بـ "فيلق الحرس الثوري الإسلامي" على الإنترنت.

تفكير إيران الاستراتيجي

شكّل مجتمع الهزارة الشيعي في أفغانستان هدفاً منطقياً للتجنيد الإيراني للحرب في سوريا. ولدى طهران سجلٌّ حافل باستغلال السكان الشيعة الذين تستطيع التأثير عليهم بشكل مباشر بفعل مركزها الجغرافي - الاستراتيجي والديني والتاريخي. ونظراً إلى الفترة الطويلة التي عاشتها الجماعات الأفغانية في إيران، قد تجد طهران في الحرب فرصةً لبسط نفوذها على العناصر الشيعية المختلفة والمضي قدماً بمخططاتها القيادية. وعلاوة على ذلك، فإن استخدام المقاتلين ذوي الانتماءات العرقية المتنوعة قد يسهم في إظهار الدعم الشيعي الكبير لقوات الأسد الدفاعية المسلحة التي تنظّمها إيران، مع الهدف المفترض المتعلق بإضفاء الشرعبية على نهج طهران.

وكما ذُكر في تقارير أخرى، من الواضح أيضاً أن "الحرس الثوري الإيراني" والتابعين له يتكبدون خسائر في سوريا ويستوجب بالتالي إيجاد بدائل عنهم. وهنا يعتبر الشيعة الأفغان، الذين يملكون بغالبيتهم تجارب تدريبية مع الحروب الطائفية الضروس في أفغانستان، المرشحين الأمثل لمحاربة الثوار السُّنة في سوريا، على الرغم من أن فعاليتهم في ساحة المعركة ما زالت غير مؤكدة. لكن وجودهم المتنامي يتيح على الأقل للقوات الإيرانية وغيرها التابعة لها فترة راحة هي بأمسّ الحاجة إليها.

وأخيراً، قد تحصد إيران منافع متبقية أخرى من تدريب وتجهيز هذه الوحدات وتعزيزها. وفيما تباشر الولايات المتحدة انسحابها من أفغانستان على نطاقٍ أوسع، قد تقرر طهران إعادة توجيه شبكتها الجديدة من العملاء الأفغان نحو الشرق، بهدف التأكيد على نفوذ أوسع بين المجتمعات الشيعية التي غالباً ما تسودها الانقسامات في أفغانستان.

 

فيليب سميث هو باحث متخصص في الجماعات الإسلامية الشيعية يعمل في "مختبر الديناميات الحاسوبية الثقافية" في جامعة مريلاند. ويمكن إيجاد بحوثه عن هذه الجماعات في المدونة  Hizballah Cavalcade ["موكب «حزب الله»].

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 2262

Iran's Afghan Shiite Fighters in Syria

Phillip Smyth

Also available in العربية

June 3, 2014


Afghan Shiite militants have been fighting on the Assad regime's side for some time, and the scope and strategic purpose of Iran's involvement is becoming increasingly clear.

On May 22, the Wall Street Journal reported that Iran's Islamic Revolutionary Guard Corps (IRGC) was recruiting Afghan Shiite refugees to fight in Syria, promising them a salary of $500 per month as well as Iranian residency papers. The article noted that reports of funerals for such fighters began to emerge in November 2013, and that they had originally been recruited to offset losses among IRGC operatives in Syria. Yet the phenomenon of Afghan Shiite combatants fighting on Bashar al-Assad's side is hardly a new development, and their increased involvement in the war merits closer scrutiny given the potential implications for Syria and the future of Iran's regional and sectarian ambitions.

BACKGROUND

As early as October 2012, elements associated with the opposition Free Syrian Army claimed to have captured an Afghan Shiite fighter named Mortada Hussein. He was later interrogated by the rebels on a short YouTube video clip. The presence of other such fighters became a more regular and public subject beginning in spring 2013, around the time that Lebanese Shiite jihadist group Hezbollah announced it had deployed forces to Syria. Subsequently, opposition and regime social media circulated unconfirmed images of uniformed Afghans posing together and holding weapons. In many cases, their faces -- which tended to be ethnically distinct -- were clearly shown, and the fighters were described as "martyrs." Yet these fallen Afghans were never named.

In July 2013, however, a martyrdom poster emerged naming Safer Muhammad as one of the Afghans who had been killed. The gold-framed poster featured the flags of Hezbollah, the Syrian regime, and Afghanistan.

ORIGINS OF IRAN'S AFGHAN LEGIONS

The Afghan Shiites fighting in Syria have come from three main sources. First is the contingent already residing in Syria before the war, a number of whom lived near Sayyeda Zainab, a prominent Shiite shrine located south of Damascus. According to researcher Ahmad Shuja, some 2,000 Afghan Shiites, mainly belonging to the Persian-speaking Hazara ethnic group, took up residence in Syria before hostilities broke out. As with Hazara refugees in other countries, many of them had fled Afghanistan after suffering regularly at the hands of the Taliban. Yet once the war started, many were once again reportedly targeted for attacks based on their sectarian identity, quickly becoming internally displaced persons. Some of them joined the fighting; for example, Ali Salehi, a Hazara reportedly residing in Syria, was killed during hostilities in the Damascus area.

Fighters from this refugee population appear to have followed an organizational model similar to Liwa Abu Fadl al-Abbas (LAFA), the main pro-regime Shiite brigade in Syria. LAFA's original core consisted of Iraqi Shiite refugees from the Sayyeda Zainab area who assembled in a popular-committee format; their avowed justification for fighting was to defend the Shiite shrine. Iranian-backed recruits and trained fighters from established organizations such as Asaib Ahl al-Haqq (AAH), Kataib Hezbollah, and Lebanese Hezbollah later helped expand the brigade and build its combat abilities.

A second contingent of Afghan Shiite fighters hails from Iran; according to Iranian government-backed newspapers and Afghan Shiite sources, they are the largest such contingent. Many of these recruits were originally refugees in Iran, which is home to around half a million Hazaras; a 2010 Stimson Center report noted that a third of these refugees "have spent more than half their life in Iran." Public funerals held in the Islamic Republic in November-December 2013 indicate that Afghan Shiite fighters came from cities throughout the country, including Isfahan, Mashhad, Tehran, and Qom. One young "martyr," Reza Ismail, had attended Iran's University of Mashhad, and a photo reportedly taken in Syria showed him holding an M4-type carbine. Apparently, he was beheaded by Sunni jihadist rebels.

A third and more debatable source of Afghan Shiite fighters is refugee populations in countries other than Iran and Syria. In April 2013, officials in Afghanistan announced that they would look into reports of Afghan nationals fighting for Assad. And just last month, Kabul called on Tehran to not recruit its nationals to fight in Syria. If direct Iranian recruitment were proven, Kabul threatened to file a complaint with the UN High Commissioner for Refugees. Yet real evidence of direct recruitment in Afghanistan has yet to surface.

In another case, an unnamed fighter pictured holding a PKM machine gun was claimed to be an Afghan Shiite refugee who had been granted asylum in Australia before joining the war in Syria. But this claim has not yet been proven.

AFGHAN SHIITE SPECIAL GROUPS

Initially, Afghan Shiite combatants were present in the network of brigades associated with LAFA. When some of these fighters were killed in action, they were specifically named as LAFA members; photos have also shown Afghan Shiites wearing the group's insignia on their combat fatigues.

These and other links to the most well-known Shiite brigades are a continuing reality, but the November-December funerals in Iran indicated that the nature of Afghan Shiite involvement in the war had shifted. The ten fighters who were mourned at those funerals were declared to be members of a new militant organization called Liwa Fatemiyoun. Although this brigade has since claimed to recruit more than just Afghan Shiites, materials released by its supporters emphasize the targeting of that particular constituency.

Both Liwa Fatemiyoun and Tehran have also denied direct Iranian government involvement in the group's activities, but such claims are absurd. Not only have the group's recruitment efforts been executed in Iran, but funeral processions for fallen members have regularly included uniformed IRGC soldiers as well as posters featuring the logo of Iran's official Foundation of Martyrs and Veterans Affairs.

Despite forming their own group, Afghan Shiite militants continue to coordinate and fight side-by-side with other pro-regime Shiite groups on a regular basis. For example, photos released on social media sites belonging to Liwa Fatemiyoun showed one Afghan fighter with two militants from AAH. Similarly, an Iranian newspaper report claimed last month that Afghan Shiite fighters had a presence in AAH and other Shiite militias such as Liwa Dhulfiqar. This presence has allowed such fighters to take part in major engagements throughout Syria, reportedly including April clashes in the Damascus area.

The development of special groups for Afghan Shiite fighters did not end with Liwa Fatemiyoun, which is now apparently incorporated with another relatively low-profile group called Hezbollah Afghanistan. Material put out by the two groups has been similar, with both claiming the same members and martyrs. While Hezbollah Afghanistan has not yet made official headlines, it has developed its own symbolism and expanded its presence in the cloistered ranks of IRGC-associated online social networks.

IRAN'S STRATEGIC THINKING

The Afghan Hazara Shiite community was a logical target for Iranian recruitment in Syria's war. Tehran has a track record of exploiting Shiite populations that it can directly influence due to its geostrategic, religious, and historical position. Given the long-term population of Afghans in Iran, Tehran may view the war as an opportunity to extend its influence over disparate Shiite elements and push its leadership agenda. Furthermore, the use of ethnically diverse fighters can be used to demonstrate wide Shiite support for the Iranian-organized armed defense of Assad, with the presumed goal of legitimizing Tehran's approach.

As noted in other reports, it is also clear that the IRGC and its proxies are taking casualties in Syria and require replacements. Afghan Shiites, many of whom had formative experiences with harsh sectarian wars in Afghanistan, are perfect candidates to fight Sunni rebels in Syria, though their actual battlefield effectiveness remains to be determined. At the very least, their growing presence is likely providing a much-needed respite for Iranian forces and their proxies.

Finally, Iran might reap other residual benefits from training, equipping, and seasoning these units. As the United States begins its broader pullout from Afghanistan, Tehran could decide to reorient its new network of Afghan proxies eastward, with the goal of asserting broader influence among Afghanistan's often fractious Shiite communities.

Phillip Smyth is a researcher specializing in Shiite Islamist groups at the University of Maryland's Laboratory for Computational Cultural Dynamics. His work on these groups can be found on the blog Hizballah Cavalcade.