أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

صفحات رأي ومقالات

رجال الدين في مواجهة الديمقراطية في إيران

مهدي خلجي

متاح أيضاً في English

"المعهد الدولي للدراسات الإيرانية"

29 آذار/مارس 2018


لا تنكر السلطات الحكومية الإيرانية توق الشعب الإيراني إلى التغيير الجوهري. إلّا أن الطبقة الدينية المتشددة في الجمهورية الإسلامية مصممة في الوقت نفسه على إحباط أي جهد جاد لإصلاح النظام، لأنها غير مستعدة لتلبية احتياجات الشعب السياسية والاقتصادية والثقافية على النحو الملائم. والسؤال هو، ما هو دور الدين في التفاعل القائم بين رغبة الشعب في التغيير وتصميم النظام على منعه؟

يعمل النظام شبه الاستبدادي في الجمهورية الإسلامية وبصورة منهجية على إبقاء الشعب في الظلام، وإضعاف المؤسسات المدنية، والسيطرة والضغط على كل جماعة أو مجموعة من المجتمع تنظّم نفسها ذاتياً (حتى المجتمعات السلمية وغير السياسية مثل الصوفيين والبهائيين)، والهيمنة على النقابات والجمعيات المهنية والقضاء على إمكانية إقامة شبكات اجتماعية مستقلة وفعالة.

وبما أن الحكومة جعلت من المذهب الإسلامي الشيعي أداةً راسخة في إداراتها، ونظراً إلى المزايا السياسية والاقتصادية التمييزية الفريدة التي يتمتع بها رجال الدين، فقد أخذت الأشكال التقليدية للتدين تضمحلّ تدريجياً مع فشل الأجندة الأيديولوجية للحكومة فشلاً ذريعاً في فرض الامتثالية الدينية، مما أتى بنتائج عكسية إلى حد كبير. وبالمقارنة مع حقبة ما قبل الثورة، يتمتع رجال الدين حالياً بثروة ونفوذ سياسي أكبر بكثير، ويدفعون ثمنهما باعتمادهم على الدولة وعدم شعبيتهم في المجتمع.

[وفي الواقع] لا تشكل إيران مهداً لحضارة محورية فحسب، بل موطناً أيضاً للعديد من الأديان العالمية، بدءاً من الزرادشتية ووصولاً إلى البهائية. وبفعل هذا الطابع الديني المتأصل، تفاعلت الروح الإيرانية مع التقاليد غير الفعالة والتطبيق الابتزازي للعقيدة الدينية من خلال ابتكار أشكال جديدة من التدين، وتصميمها عبر اختيار نهج انتقائي للتفويضات الدينية التقليدية وترك عناصرها غير المناسبة إلى الحياة العصرية، أو عرض تفسيرات وروايات مهرطقة تعترف باحتياجات الإنسان العصري وتطلعاته. ومن المفارقات أن تجديد الديانات من قبل الأفراد لا يمكن أن يتم خارج الإطار الديني التقليدي وبمعزل عن رجال الدين، وخير الأمثلة على ذلك هو النمو المطرد والهائل في عدد الحجاج الإيرانيين الوافدين إلى المواقع الشيعية أو الإسلامية [المقدسة]، مثل مشهد في إيران، ومكة المكرمة في الخارج، أو توسيع المساجد، أو تطوّر طقوس جديدة أو قديمة معدّلة، أو انتشار مظاهر الفخامة في الممارسات والعروض الدينية.

ويمكن القول أنّ الإرهاق الروحي للمذهب الشيعي في إيران، الذي يُعزى أساساً إلى استخدامه الاستبدادي من قبل الحكومة، قد أضرّ بمكانة رجال الدين وكثف عدم ثقة الناس في مطالبة القيادة الشيعية بالسلطة المطلقة. ومع ذلك، فإن ما أدّى دوراً أساسياً في تمكين الشيعية وتجسيداتها الاجتماعية ليس دعم الحكومة فحسب، بل الاضطرابات الدينية المتواصلة بين أبناء الشعب والتحديث الذي لا مفر منه للدين أيضاً. وبالتالي، من الآمن القول بإنّ إيران اليوم، كما كان عليه الحال مع الدين بالأمس، وخصوصاً الشيعة الاثني عشرية، تستفيد من الموارد المالية والبشرية، والشبكة الاجتماعية الواسعة والهيئات الشرعية التاريخية التي لا مثيل لها، وتتفوق على أي منافس. لنتصوّر مثلاً لو قررت الحكومة الإيرانية يوماً ما عرقلة التواصل بين المواطنين عبر قطع خطوط الهاتف والإنترنت، عندئذ ستكون شبكات التواصل الاجتماعي الحقيقية على الأرض - لا في العالم الافتراضي - الأمل الوحيد لإعادة التواصل بين الناس. وهذه الشبكات المادية مملوكة ومُدارة من قبل السلطات الدينية. وثمة أكثر من سبعين ألف مسجد يخضع لسلطة الأئمة وحراسة رجال الدين، ويأوي ميليشيا عادية على مقربة منه، وتشكل هذه المساجد صلة الوصل بين سكان الطبقة العليا في شمالي طهران والقرويين المحرومين في المناطق الحدودية النائية. وبفعل الهيمنة المكانية للمذهب الشيعي فإنه يكتسب ديناميةً فريدة وقدرة لا تضاهى على تنظيم الجماهير وحشدهم. فمنذ أوائل القرن العشرين، كانت جميع التحركات الجماعية في إيران - سواء الثورة الدستورية عام 1906 أو حركة تأميم النفط بين عامَي 1951 و1953 أو ثورة 1979 - في حاجة ماسة إلى هذه القاعدة الاجتماعية القيّمة الغير قابلة للاستبدال. فلولا المشاركة الجزئية على الأقل لرجال الدين والشخصيات والقوى الدينية، لم يكن بوسع أيٌّ من هذه التحركات الشعبية أن ينجح. وفي حين أن النخب العلمانية لا تشاطر الذهنية ولا الممارسات الدينية نفسها، فقد وجدت تلك النخب أنه من الضروري أن ترافقها السلطات الشيعية في مسيرتها وتمنحها موافقتها.

واليوم قد يجد رجال الدين الشيعة داخل إيران وخارجها أن الأوضاع السياسية والاجتماعية والاقتصادية غير مواتية بقدر ما يجدها عامة الشعب أو النخب العلمانية، ولو لأسباب مختلفة. ولكن حتى رجال الدين الذين ينتقدون الجمهورية الإسلامية - وبعضهم يرفض شرعية ولاية الفقيه بينما يعترض البعض الآخر على المؤهلات القيادية لخامنئي - يشعرون بقلق عميق حيال حدوث تغيير جذري في النظام السياسي بغض النظر إذا كان ذلك باسم الإصلاح أو الثورة. وفي كافة التحركات الجماهيرية الإيرانية الناجحة، كان رجال الدين وأفراد النخب الدينية يعتبرون أنفسهم المستفيدين المميزين الذين يحظون بمنافع وامتيازات حصرية مميزة. وهذه هي المرة الأولى في تاريخ إيران الحديث التي لا يجدون فيها مكانةً آمنة لأنفسهم في أعقاب التغيير السياسي الجذري لأن أي إصلاح حقيقي ذو مغزى، وبخلاف نقاط التحول الماضية، يستدعي مراجعةً معمّقة للدستور الحالي أو تغييرات ناتجة عن ثورة أو انقلاب، وسوف يجرّدهم على الأرجح من مزاياهم التفضيلية التقليدية والحديثة. إنّ إيران الديمقراطية المنبثقة عن إصلاحات حقيقية أو عن تطورات انقلابية، سوف تلغي الحقوق والصلاحيات الحصرية، وتعيد تحديد دور الحكومة على أساس المفاهيم والقيم الديمقراطية التحررية. فحين سئل آية الله العظمى علي السيستاني في لقاء خاص مع ضيفٍ إيراني عن سبب رفضه دعم "الحركة الخضراء" عام 2009 نزولاً عند توقعات أتباعه الذين شاركوا فيها، أجاب هذا الزعيم الشيعي المعروف عالمياً بأنه مرتاب من الهدف النهائي الذي يطمح إليه المتظاهرون، حيث قال "هل أنت واثق من أنه إذا نجح هؤلاء المتظاهرون في الإطاحة بالنظام، فإنهم سيديرون ظهورهم لقادة الحركة الخضراء المتعصبين دينياً ويسعون إلى إقامة حكومة علمانية؟"

فضلاً عن ذلك، ثمة احتمال معقول بقيام نظام عسكري بقيادة «الحرس الثوري الإسلامي» الإيراني بدلاً من خامنئي. فحبّ السيطرة لدى «الحرس الثوري» جعله خصماً اجتماعياً سياسياً ضخماً أمام رجال الدين، وهو يدعي أنه يمثّل المثل العليا للإسلام والجمهورية الإسلامية، ليس على الصعيد السياسي فحسب، بل على الصعيد الديني أيضاً. كما يدّعي أنه ضحّى لحمايتهما أكثر من أي فئة سياسية أخرى. وفي هذا السيناريو يبدو أن رجال الدين سيُمنون بخسارة كبيرة.

وهنا الوضع الجديد لرجال الدين: على الرغم من القاعدة الاجتماعية الفريدة، والموارد المادية والشبكات التي يتمتعون بها، إلّا أنهم خجلين بعض الشيء من عجزهم عن استخدامها لتعبئة حركة جماهيرية جديدة تطمح إلى إنشاء شكل مختلف من الحكومة الدينية. ولكن في الوقت نفسه، قد يكون بوسعهم عرقلة القوى الاجتماعية الاقتصادية الأخرى التي تسعى إلى استبدال الجمهورية الإسلامية، إما بنظام عسكري مستبد أو بديمقراطية ليبرالية. فالدينامية المادية والرمزية للسلطة الشيعية القاهرة توقف بشكل مدمّر تحوّل البلاد نحو ذلك المسار أو تبطئها. فعلى سبيل المثال، شكّل دستور الجمهورية الإسلامية فضلاً عن دستور عام 1960 استثناءً بين دساتير الدول الإسلامية كونه جعل من المذهب الشيعي الاثني عشري، وليس من الإسلام، الدين الرسمي للدولة. وهذا يُرسي بوضوح قاعدة قانونية يستطيع بموجبها رجال الدين الإشراف على العملية التشريعية وإجراءات إنفاذ القانون. وحفاظاً على الطبيعية الشيعية للنظام السياسي، فحتى آيات الله الموالين للحكومة قد حذّروا رئيسي الدولة (خاتمي وروحاني) من تعيين مواطنين سنّة في المناصب الرئيسية. وفي حين ليس هناك أساساً قانونياً يمنع السنّة من تولّي مناصب حكومية رفيعة المستوى، باستثناء منصبي المرشد الأعلى ورئيس الجمهورية، إلّا أن هناك عدد قليل جداً من السنّة في مثل هذه المناصب.

ونظراً إلى ضعف المجتمع المدني ورفض رجال الدين دعم المبادرات التخريبية، فقد تستمر الاحتجاجات ولكنها ربما ستبقى مشتتة ومفتقرة إلى القيادة وإلى خطة أو رؤية واضحة ودقيقة. فالمزيج المتنوّع من الحوافز يولّد اضطرابات عفوية تؤدي إلى فقدان النظام لحظوته بوتيرة متزايدة ولكنه لا ينجح في إسقاطه.

وفي حين من المستبعد نجاح أي إصلاحات أو ثورة في الجمهورية الإسلامية في المستقبل القريب، فقد تصبح عيوبها الجوهرية سبباً في زوالها. فالطبقة الدينية الشيعية تناضل من أجل الحفاظ على امتيازاتها ومكانتها التمييزية المناهضة للليبرالية والديمقراطية. ومهما كان نظام طهران بعيداً عن "المدينة الفاضلة" الشيعية، تبقى الجمهورية الإسلامية الأمل الأخير لرجال الدين في العالم العصري.

 

مهدي خلجي، هو زميل "ليبيتزكي فاميلي" في معهد واشنطن، وخبير شيعي بعلم اللاهوت حصل على تدريبه في قم.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

Articles & Op-Eds

Iranian Clergy Versus Democracy

Mehdi Khalaji

Also available in العربية

Rasanah

March 29, 2018


With neither reform nor revolution likely to succeed in the near future, the Islamic Republic's essential flaws may become fatal.

Even the Iranian government authorities do not deny people's eagerness for substantial change. At the same time, the Islamic Republic's hardcore is determined to curtail any serious effort to reform the system as it is unwilling to properly address people's political, economic and cultural needs. What role does religion play in the interaction between the popular desire for change and the regime's determination to prevent it?

The Islamic Republic, as a semi-authoritarian regime, systematically turns off the public sphere's lights, weakens the civil institutions, controls and pressures every single self-organized group or community (even apolitical and peaceful communities like Sufis and Bahais), dominates professional syndicates and associations and kills the possibility of forming independent effective social networks.

Because of the government's instrumentalization of Shiite Islam in its own service, and the clergy's unique discriminatory political and economic advantages, traditional forms of religiosity gradually disappear as the government's ideological agenda for imposing religious conformism hopelessly fails, backfiring dramatically. Compared to the pre-revolution era, clerics enjoy much greater political power and wealth, which cost them dependence on the state and unpopularity in society.

Iran is the cradle of not only a pivotal civilization but also many world religions, from Zoroastrianism to the Bahai faith. Having such a deep-rooted religious character, Iranian spirit reacted to inefficient traditions and extortionist enforcement of religious ideology by inventing new forms of religiosity, customizing it by choosing an eclectic approach to the traditional religious mandates and leaving its unfitting elements to the modern life, or creating heretic interpretations and narratives that recognize modern man's needs and aspirations. Ironically, re-fashioning religion by individuals cannot take place outside the traditional religious framework and isolated from clergy. The steady and colossal growth in number of Iranian pilgrims to Shiite or Islamic sites in Iran, like Mashhad, and abroad, like Mecca, expansion of mosques, rise of new or modified old rituals, emergence of spreading luxurious style of religious practices and performances are revealing evidences.

The spiritual exhaustion of Shiism in Iran, which is mainly caused by its tyrannical use by the government, has arguably damaged the clergy's prestige and intensified people's mistrust toward Shiite leadership's claim for absolute authority. Notwithstanding, not only government's support but also people's constant religious ferments and inevitable modernization of religion played a substantial role in empowering Shiism and its social incarnations. Consequently, it is safe to claim that in today's Iran, as in yesterday's religion, particularly Twelver Shiism, benefit from financial/human resources, a broad social network and traditionally legitimate entities which are unparalleled and far outdistance any competitor. Imagine if one day the Iranian government decides to encumber combinations between citizens by disconnecting phone and internet, the real on the ground—not virtual—social network remains the only hope for reconnecting people. Such physical network is owned and run by religious authorities. More than seventy thousands mosque, controlled by clerics-imams and custodians, accommodating a basic militia next door, bridges upper class residents of north of Tehran to deprived villagers in remote border areas. Shiism's spatial hegemony offer it a unique dynamism and unmatched capability for organizing and mobilizing the mass. Since the early 20th century, all mass movements in Iran—be it the1906 constitution movement, the 1951-53 oil nationalization, and 1979 revolution—were inescapably in need of this precious irreplaceable social capital. Without at least partial involvement of clerical and religious figures and forces, none of those popular movements could have succeeded. While secular elites do not share the religious mindset and practice, those elites found it necessary to make Shiite authorities approvingly accompany them.

Today's Shiite clergy, inside and outside Iran, might find the current political, social and economic situations unfavorable as much as ordinary people or secular elites do—though for different reasons. Nevertheless, even clerical critics of Islamic Republic—some of whom reject the legitimacy of guardianship of jurist and some disapprove Khamenei's leadership qualifications—are deeply concerned about a drastic change in the political system no matter under the name of reform or revolution. In all successful Iranian mass movements, clergy and religious elites envisioned themselves as special beneficiaries who benefit from distinct exclusive advantages and privileges. For the first time in the modern history of Iran, they cannot imagine a safe place for themselves in the aftermath of radical political change, because unlike past turning-points, any meaningful reform, which requires through revision of the current constitution, or changes caused by revolution or coup, would most probably deprive them from their traditional and modern discriminatory benefits. A democratic Iran, produced by genuine reform or subversive developments, would abolish exclusive rights and authorities, and reinvent the government based on liberal democratic notions and values. In a private meeting, responding to his Iranian guest's question on why did he refused to support 2009 green movement to address expectation of thousands of his followers who participated in it, Ayatollah Ali Sistani the world known Shiite authority said he is doubtful about the ultimate goal of protesters: "are you sure that if these street protesters succeed to overthrow the regime, they turn their back against religiously commented green leaders and look for establishment of a secular government?"

Besides, a militarist regime led by IRGC replacing Khamenei is a plausible possibility. IRGC's dominate desire has already made it a gigantic socio-political rival for clergy. IRGC claim is that not only politically but also religiously, it represents the ideals of Islam and Islamic Republic and sacrificed for its protection more than any other political spectrum. The clergy's great loss in this scenario seems obvious.

Here is clergy's new situation: despite its unique social capital, material resources and networks, it is quite self-conscious about its incapability to use them for initiating a new mass movement aspiring to form a different model of religious government. But at the same time, it may be able to block other socio-economic forces who seek to replace Islamic republic either by an authoritarian militarism or liberal democracy. The material and symbolic dynamism of Almighty Shiism devastatingly stop or slow down country's shift toward that direction. For instance, not only Islamic Republic's constitution but also 1906's constitution was both an exception among Muslim countries' constitutions in making not Islam but rather Twelver Shiism as the country's official religion. This clearly create a legal basis for clergy's supervision on legislation process and law enforcement procedures. To maintain the Shiite nature of the political system, even pro government Ayatollahs warned presidents (Khatami and Rouhani) about appointing Sunnis in key positions. While it is legally groundless to prevent Sunnis from taking high-ranking government jobs, except for supreme leader and president, there are very few Sunnis in such posts.

Considering the weakness of civil society and clergy's refusal to support subversive initiatives, protests may continue but probably remain scattered, leaderless, without a precise plan or vision. A colorful blending of motivations generates spontaneously unrest which increasingly discredit the regime but does not subvert it.

With neither reform nor revolution likely to succeed in the Islamic Republic in the near future, its essential flaws may become fatal. The Shiite religious class is struggling to maintain its discriminatory anti-liberal and anti-democratic privileges and positions. No matter how far Tehran's regime is from a Shiite utopia, Islamic Republic is clergy's last hope in modern world.

Mehdi Khalaji, a Qom-trained Shiite theologian, is the Libitzky Family Fellow at The Washington Institute.