أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

صفحات رأي ومقالات

إيران لن تتخلى عن ثورتها

سونر چاغاپتاي, جيمس جيفري, و مهدي خلجي

متاح أيضاً في English فارسی

"نيويورك تايمز"

26 نيسان/أبريل 2015


أدّى الإعلان في الشهر الماضي عن التوصل إلى اتفاق مبدئي بين الولايات المتحدة وإيران إلى إعتقاد البعض أن طهران سوف تساهم الآن في النظام الدولي كجهة فاعلة مسؤولة. إلا أن هذا التفاؤل يتجاهل حقيقة أن الحكومة الإيرانية الحالية لا تزال تحمل البصمة من تاريخ امبراطوري طويل وطموحات إقليمية فارسية طويلة الأجل.

إن إيران قوّة ثورية لها طموحات للهيمنة [خارج حدودها]. وبعبارة أخرى، هي دولة تسعى إلى فرض سيطرتها على المنطقة، ولن تلعب وفقاً للقواعد. ومع ذلك، تأمل إدارة أوباما بأن يكون للاتفاق النووي "تأثير متسام" على إيران ويقنعها بالتخلي عن طموحاتها الإمبراطورية مقابل توفير شعور بالحياة الطبيعية.

لقد عاش العالم مع قوى مهيمنة في الماضي. فقد كانت تراود روسيا وفرنسا وألمانيا واليابان وبريطانيا تطلعات مماثلة قبل الحرب العالمية الأولى. ومثل هذه القوى هي التي دفعت العالم إلى الحرب في عام 1914 ومرة ​​أخرى في عام 1939. وقد سعت ألمانيا النازية إلى السيطرة على أوروبا من المحيط الأطلسي إلى نهر الفولغا، وتحويل بلدان أخرى لدول تابعة لها وبسط سيطرتها العسكرية والاقتصادية والدبلوماسية الكاملة.

وفي أعقاب ذلك الخراب والفوضى، عمل النظام الذي قام بعد الحرب العالمية الثانية بقيادة الولايات المتحدة، على إنشاء قواعد للمجتمع الدولي سعت إلى تقييد مثل هذه القوى. وحتى في الوقت الحاضر، تعترف البلدان ذات النزعات التوسعية، مثل الصين، بشرعية هذا النظام الدولي.

ومع ذلك، فقد تحدّت إيران هذا النظام الدولي وتواصل توسيع نطاق نفوذها. وتستخدم طهران مجموعة متنوعة من الأعمال الإرهابية، والانتشار النووي، ووكلاء عسكريين، وتعتمد أحياناً على دبلوماسية من الطراز القديم لمواصلة هيمنتها.

ورغم أنه غالباً ما يشار إالى الثورة الإسلامية التي اندلعت عام 1979 بقيادة آية الله روح الله الخميني باعتبارها بداية هذه النظرة الامبريالية إلى العالم، إلا أن طموحات الهيمنة الإيرانية تعود في الواقع إلى عهد الأسرة الصفوية من القرن السادس عشر. فقد سعى الصفويون إلى النأي بأنفسهم عن الإمبراطورية العثمانية السنية القوية وأعادوا ترتيب إيران لكي تصبح قوة شيعية بارزة (أصبحت إيران دولة شيعية رسمياً عام 1502). وفي القرون التي تلت ذلك، وسّعت إيران سيطرتها على أفغانستان، والخليج "الفارسي" [العربي]، والعراق وجنوب القوقاز.

وأوقفت إيران [سياستها] التوسعية في القرن الثامن عشر حيث تقلّصت [قوتها] بعد الحروب المنهكة التي خاضتها ضد العثمانيين والروس. وخلال الحرب الباردة، استغل الشاه الدعم الأمريكي لكي يعزز مرة أخرى من القوة الإيرانية البالغة الضخامة. وقام بتقديم الدعم المالي والعسكري للمجتمعات والوكلاء الشيعيين في جميع أنحاء الشرق الأوسط. وفي أوائل السبعينات، على سبيل المثال، دعمت إيران أكراد العراق لإقامة نفوذ لها في العراق في عهد صدام حسين.

وبالمثل، في عام 1975، أصدر رجل الدين الإيراني المدعوم من قبل الشاه السيد موسى الصدر، فتوى أعلن فيها أن العلويين السوريين، الذين ينتمون إلى فرع ابتداعي من الإسلام، هم شيعة. وقد أدت تلك الخطوة إلى جلب العلويين السوريين إلى أحضان إيران بصورة دائمية، مع تداعيات خطيرة على الحرب الأهلية الدائرة اليوم في سوريا.

وفي عام 1979، قام قادة الثورة المناهضون للولايات المتحدة بدمج مطالبهم القومية حول الأمجاد الفارسية الماضية مع عقيدة ألفية النظرة لإقامة دولة إسلامية واحدة [ذات تيار ديني] متشدد. ومع ذلك، وبعد الحرب الدامية الطويلة بين إيران والعراق في ثمانينات القرن الماضي، أدركت الجمهورية الإسلامية أن العقيدة العسكرية التقليدية لم تعد تكفي [لتحقيق المهمة التي وضعتها لنفسها]. لذا، فبالتزامن مع عقيدة طهران بـ "تصدير الثورة" إلى الدول الإسلامية المجاورة، وضع آية الله علي خامنئي و«فيلق الحرس الثوري الإسلامي» تكتيكات حرب غير متوازنة تهدف إلى بناء نفوذ إيراني من خلال إقامة تحالفات طائفية وسياسية.

ومن خلال قيامها بذلك، غالباً ما تصرّفت إيران كوصي على الطائفة الشيعية الأوسع في أماكن مثل البحرين واليمن. وأنشأت الدولة الإسلامية شبكة من الميليشيات الشيعية تمت صياغتها بعناية وتضم هذه: «حزب الله» في لبنان، والحوثيون في اليمن و«فيلق بدر» في العراق، من بين جماعات أخرى. وعلاوة على ذلك، تسيطر إيران على المؤسسة الدينية الشيعية والشبكات المالية في جميع أنحاء الشرق الأوسط.

وإيران ليست ملزمة حصراً بالسياسة الطائفية. فقد كوّنت أيضاً صداقات مع جهات سنّية تقاتل في منطقة الشرق الأوسط لتعزيز مكانتها الإقليمية. وتحقيقاً لهذه الغاية، أقامت طهران علاقات قوية مع «حماس» و «الجهاد الإسلامي» في غزة. وحتى أن الجمهورية الإسلامية حققت بعض النجاحات داخل السودان - الدولة السنّية التي استخدمتها لنقل الأسلحة إلى غزة.

وفي بعض الأحيان، لا تهتم إيران بالمسلمين، أو حتى بالشيعة - ففي جنوب القوقاز، تحالفت إيران مع أرمينيا المسيحية ضد أذربيجان ذات الغالبية الشيعية، التي تؤيد الولايات المتحدة. إن الطموحات الإمبراطورية وليس الدين، هي التي تحرّك السياسة الخارجية الإيرانية في نهاية المطاف.

ويقدّم التاريخ أمثلة قليلة عن جذب مثل هذه القوى إلى النظام الدولي. فقوى الهيمنة الثورية تجمع بين التلهف الفخم لـ "المجال الحيوي" الذي رأيناه في ألمانيا أثناء فترة حكم ويلهيلماين [الثاني 1890-1914] وبين النظرة الدينية أو الألفية التي ترفض مبادئ النظام الدولي التقليدي.

وفي شباط/فبراير 2013، وصف المرشد الايراني الأعلى وصانع القرار النهائي في مجالات السياسة الخارجية والعسكرية آية الله خامنئي، المفاوضات مع الغرب بأنها بمثابة خدعة مضللة، وأضاف بفخر: "أنا لست دبلوماسياً أنا ثوري". وإذا فشلت المفاوضات أو تحركت في الاتجاه الذي لا يحبّذه، سوف يُلقي خامنئي اللوم على الرئيس روحاني. وتنبع شرعية المرشد الأعلى من المشروع الثوري الإيراني، وسيكون أي حل وسط بمثابة اعتراف بأنه لا يؤمن بتلك الرواية من التاريخ العالمي.

إن طموحات إيران الإمبراطورية ليست جديدة. ففي ظل حكم الصفويين والشاه والملالي على حد سواء، تنافست طهران على الهيمنة الإقليمية. وليس من المتوقع أن تتنازل الجمهورية الإسلامية عن مبادئها في أي وقت قريب.

 

سونر چاغاپتاي هو زميل "باير فاميلي" ومدير برنامج الأبحاث التركية في معهد واشنطن. جيمس إف. جيفريهو زميل زائر مميز في زمالة "فيليب سولوندز" في المعهد وسفير الولايات المتحدة السابق في العراق وتركيا. مهدي خلجي هو رجل دين شيعي في دراسته، وزميل بارز في المعهد.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

Articles & Op-Eds

Iran Won't Give Up on Its Revolution

Soner Cagaptay, James F. Jeffrey, and Mehdi Khalaji

Also available in العربية

New York Times

April 26, 2015


Given Iran's hegemonic history under the Safavids, the Shah, and the mullahs alike, Washington should not expect the regime to compromise its principles any time soon.

The announcement last month of a preliminary agreement between the United States and Iran has led some to believe that Tehran will now enter the international system as a responsible actor. But such optimism ignores the fact that Iran's current government still bears the imprint of a long imperial history and longstanding Persian regional ambitions.

Iran is a revolutionary power with hegemonic aspirations. In other words, it is a country seeking to assert its dominance in the region and it will not play by the rules. Yet, the Obama administration hopes a nuclear agreement will have a "transcendental effect" on Iran and convince it to abandon its imperial aspirations in return for a sense of normalcy.

The world has lived with hegemonic powers in the past. Russia, France, Germany, Japan, and Britain all had similar aspirations before World War I. It was such powers that pushed the world into war in 1914 and again in 1939. Nazi Germany sought to dominate Europe from the Atlantic Ocean to the Volga River, reducing other countries to vassal states and establishing complete military, economic and diplomatic control.

In the wake of this ruin and chaos, the post-World War II order led by the United States established rules for the international community that sought to keep such powers in check. Even today, countries with hegemonic tendencies, like China, acknowledge the legitimacy of this international order.

Iran, however, has brazenly defied this international order and continues to expand its reach. It uses an assortment of terrorism, proliferation, military proxies, and occasionally old-fashioned diplomacy to further its dominance.

Although the 1979 Islamic revolution led by Ayatollah Ruhollah Khomeini is often cited as the beginning of this imperial worldview, Iran's hegemonic aspirations actually date back to the Safavid Dynasty of the 16th century. The Safavids sought to distance themselves from the powerful Sunni Ottoman Empire and refashioned Iran into the preeminent Shiite power (Iran became an officially Shiite country in 1502). In the ensuing centuries, Iran extended its control over Afghanistan, the "Persian" Gulf, Iraq and the southern Caucasus.

Iran halted its expansionism in the 18th century as it went into a decline after debilitating wars against the Ottomans and Russians. During the Cold War, the Shah took advantage of American backing to promote Iranian imperial power once again. He extended financial and military support to Shiite communities and proxies around the Middle East. In the early 1970s, for example, Iran backed the Iraqi Kurds to establish influence in Saddam Hussein's Iraq.

Similarly, in 1975, Musa al-Sadr, an Iranian cleric backed by the Shah, issued a fatwa declaring the Syrian Alawites, who belong to a heterodox branch of Islam, as Shiites. This act brought the Syrian Alawites into Iran's permanent fold, with grave repercussions for today's civil war in Syria.

In 1979, the anti-American leaders of the revolution fused their nationalist claims of past Persian glories with a millennial ideology to create a single Islamic state militancy. However, after the bloody and protracted Iran-Iraq War in the 1980s, the Islamic Republic realized that conventional military doctrine would no longer suffice. In conjunction with Tehran's doctrine of "exporting the revolution" to nearby Muslim countries, Ayatollah Ali Khamenei and the Islamic Revolutionary Guard Corps developed asymmetric warfare tactics aimed at building Iranian influence through sectarian and political alliances.

In doing so, Iran often acted as the guardian of the broader Shiite community in places such as Bahrain and Yemen. Iran has established a carefully crafted network of Shiite militias: Lebanon's Hezbollah, Yemen's Houthis and Iraq's Badr Corps, among others. Moreover, Iran controls the Shiite clerical establishment and financial networks throughout the Middle East.

Iran is not bound exclusively by sectarian politics. It has also befriended belligerent Sunni actors across the Middle East to bolster its regional status. To this end, Tehran has developed strong ties with Hamas and Islamic Jihad in Gaza. Iran has even made inroads into Sunni Sudan, which it has used to transport weapons to Gaza.

At times, Iran does not care for Muslims, or even Shiites -- in the southern Caucasus, Iran has allied itself with Christian Armenia against the Shiite-majority Azerbaijan, which is pro-American. Ultimately, it is not religion but imperial ambition that drives Iranian foreign policy.

History offers few examples of bringing such powers into the international system. Revolutionary hegemonic powers combine the imperialist lust for "lebensraum" seen in Wilhelmine Germany with a religious or millennial worldview that rejects the principles of the classic international order.

In February 2013, Ayatollah Khamenei, Iran's supreme leader and the ultimate decision maker in areas of foreign and military policy, called the negotiations with the West a deceptive trick, proudly adding: "I am not a diplomat. I am a revolutionary." Khamenei will blame President Rouhani if the negotiations fail or move in a direction that he does not like. His legitimacy stems from the Iranian revolutionary project, and any compromise would be an admission that he does not believe in that narrative of world history.

Iran's imperial ambitions are not new. Under the Safavids, the Shah and the mullahs alike, Tehran has vied for regional domination. Do not expect Iran to compromise its principles any time soon.

Soner Cagaptay is the Beyer Family Fellow and director of the Turkish Research Program at The Washington Institute. James F. Jeffrey is the Institute's Philip Solondz Distinguished Visiting Fellow and former U.S. ambassador to Iraq and Turkey. Mehdi Khalaji, a Shiite theologian by training, is a senior fellow at the Institute.