أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 2435

إيران بعينَي بكين

كيفن ليم

متاح أيضاً في English

11 حزيران/يونيو 2015


على الرغم من أن الصين هي المستورد الأكبر للنفط الإيراني منذ زمن بعيد، أدّتت العقوبات الدولية مؤخراً إلى تراجع الجمهورية الإسلامية من المرتبة الثالثة إلى المرتبة السادسة في لائحة موردي النفط إلى بكين، التي تتبوأ فيها المملكة العربية السعودية - منافسة إيران - المرتبة الأولى باستمرار. وبالمثل، فعلى الرغم مما أفادته التقارير عن ازدياد قيمة التجارة الثنائية بين الصين وإيران إلى حوالي 50 مليار دولار أمريكي بحلول أواخر عام 2014، تبقى تلك التجارة محدودة جداً مقارنة بالتجارة الثنائية بين الولايات المتحدة والصين، التي تفوق قيمتها المبلغ المذكور بـ 11 ضعفاً.

واستناداً إلى هذه الأرقام، فالسؤال هو لماذا تلعب إيران دوراً يبدو أنه أكبر من حجمها في حسابات بكين في المنطقة، علماً أن ذلك غالباً ما يسبب حيرة بالنسبة إلى شركاء الصين الأكبر بكثير من إيران في مجالي الطاقة والتجارة في الرياض وواشنطن؟ إذا وضعنا سياسة حافة الهاوية الدبلوماسية جانباً، يكمن الجزء الأكبر من الإجابة في قيمة إيران الجيوستراتيجية كمحور رئيسي في التقدم الصيني البري باتجاه الغرب، الذي تعتبره الصين ضرورياً لمواجهة كل من استدارة واشنطن نحو الشرق والتفوق البحري للولايات المتحدة.

الخلفية

تعود العلاقات المتينة بين الصين وإيران إلى حقبة إمبراطورية الهان والإمبراطورية البارثية، حين كانت الحضارتان شريكتان تجاريتان على «طريق الحرير» القديم. ومع الفتح العربي للإمبراطورية الفارسية الساسانية في القرن السابع الميلادي، طلب بيروز الثالث، نجل الملك الساساني الراحل يزدجرد الثالث، اللجوء إلى الصين، التي كانت حينئذٍ تحت حكم سلالة تانغ بزعامة الإمبراطور غازونغ، وقد منحه هذا الأخير الإقامة في البلاد. وفي العصر الحديث، بالرغم من الاختلافات الإيديولوجية الكبيرة بينهما، ترك كل من المرشد الأعلى للثورة الإسلامية روح الله الخميني وزعيم الحزب الشيوعي الصيني ماوتسي تونغ لبلديهما إرثاً ثورياً مناهضاً للهيمنة الإمبريالية والاستغلال الأجنبي، الأمر الذي وضعهما في الخندق نفسه في مواجهة الوضع الراهن الذي تقوده الولايات المتحدة.

ومع مرور الوقت، أصبحت الصين أقل حلفاء إيران من القوى الكبرى الغير جديرة بالثقة - ناهيك عن القول أكثرها جدارة بالثقة - وشكلت محوراً أساسياً لحفظ التوازن أمام الولايات المتحدة. وخلال حرب إيران المنهكة مع العراق التي دامت ثماني سنوات، كانت الصين هي القوة الكبرى الوحيدة التي زودت إيران بالأسلحة (على الرغم من أنها فعلت الشيء نفسه مع بغداد). وفي عام 1985، وقعت حكومتا البلدين اتفاقاً سرياً للتعاون النووي خلال زيارة رئيس مجلس النواب الإيراني آنذاك أكبر هاشمي رفسنجاني إلى الصين. وازداد التعاون بين البلدين بشكل متواصل حتى عام 1997، عندما أدت الضغوط الأمريكية حول أزمة مضيق تايوان في العام الذي سبق إلى دفع الصين إلى تعليق مساعداتها في المجالين النووي و[تطوير] الصواريخ إلى طهران. ومع هذا، فبحلول ذلك الوقت، كانت السنوات المتتالية من الدعم التقني من الصين وكوريا الشمالية قد ساعدت إيران على إنشاء صناعة محلية لإنتاج الصواريخ، تشكل اليوم ركيزة أساسية في استراتيجيتها الدفاعية.

أما في الميدان الاقتصادي، فقد خفضت الصين وارداتها النفطية من إيران في السنوات الأخيرة بهدف الحفاظ على موقعها بين الدول المعفاة من العقوبات الأمريكية المفروضة على الصادرات النفطية الإيرانية. ومع ذلك، فتبعاً للتخفيضات التي سببتها العقوبات على الجمهورية الإسلامية، استمرت الصين في شراء نصف صادرات النفط الخام الإيراني. هذا، وبالإضافة إلى الأسعار المنخفضة التي تعرضها طهران بسبب العقوبات، تشكل الإمدادات الإيرانية جزءاً هاماً جداً بالنسبة إلى بكين، لأن منتجي الطاقة الرئيسيين الآخرين في الخليج هم شركاء للولايات المتحدة.

التأكيد على المعاقل الأوراسية

في الآونة الأخيرة، تسعى الصين إلى الالتفات نحو الغرب في إطار مشروع «حزام طريق الحرير الاقتصادي» ("سيشوزيلو جينغجداي") الذي أطلقه الرئيس الصيني شي جين بينغ في أيلول/سبتمبر 2013. وقد سبق أن دفع وانغ جي سي - أحد ألمع الأدمغة الاستراتيجية في الصين - بفكرة "الالتفات نحو الغرب" في عام 2011، بهدف ملاقاة استدارة الرئيس الأمريكي باراك أوباما نحو الشرق ومواجهتها. وتحت إدارة شي جين بينغ، يبدو أن أولويات بكين المباشرة فيما يخص «طريق الحرير» هي ثلاثية الأبعاد:

1.      تأمين التدفق البري للطاقة من آسيا الوسطى المجاورة (وروسيا)، بهدف مواجهة خطر الاعتراض البحري، وخصوصاً عبر ممرين مائيين حساسين، هما مضيق ملقة (الذي يعبر من خلاله 80 في المائة من النفط الصيني) ومضيق هرمز (الذي يمر من خلاله نحو خمس واردات الصين من النفط).

2.      استغلال المشاريع التنموية بهدف تهدئة مقاطعة سنجان الغربية المضطربة والغنية بموارد الطاقة، حيث حمل الانفصاليون الأويغور، الذين يسعون إلى تأسيس دولة تركستان الشرقية، السلاح مراراً ضد الصينيين الذين ينحدرون من قومية الهان.

3.      تحفيز قدر أكبر من الاستقرار والتكامل الإقليميين عبر تطويق جيران الصين الغربيين في منطقة مزدهرة تمتد حتى أوروبا، وتكون بكين مركزها الاقتصادي والسياسي.

تُعد الصين المستورد الصافي الأكبر للنفط في العالم. ونظراً إلى مخاطر الاعتراض البحري، أصبحت الحاجة إلى قنوات طاقة برية بالغة الأهمية. ووفقاً لذلك، تم بناء أنبوبين جديدين لنقل النفط والغاز وتشغيلهما في عام 2006 وأواخر عام 2009. ويضخ أولهما النفط من منطقة أتيراو الكازاخستانية الشمالية المشرفة على بحر قزوين بشكل أساسي، ويمر عبر مقاطعة شينجيانغ الصينية ونحو الساحل، ليشكل حوالي 4 في المائة من استيرادات الصين من النفط، التي بلغت 6.2 مليون برميل يومياً في عام 2014. والأنبوب الثاني يضخ الغاز الطبيعي بشكل أساسي من حقل سامان ديبي في تركمانستان، التي كانت أكبر مورد للصين من الغاز الطبيعي منذ عام 2012. ووفقاً لأرقام عام 2013، شكلت واردات الغاز التركمانستاني حوالي نصف واردات الصين السنوية من الغاز الطبيعي، التي تبلغ 53 مليار متر مكعب وحوالي السدس من استهلاكها الشامل من الغاز. وتنوي حكومة عشق آباد زيادة هذه الصادرات إلى أكثر من الضعف بحلول عام 2020.

وتطبيقاً للمقولة الصينية «إذا أردت أن تزدهر فإبنِ الطرقات أولاً» ("ياو شيانغ فو، زيان شيوى لو")، تسعى الصين كذلك إلى تحديث شبكة الطرقات والسكك الحديدية الواسعة الممتدة عبر آسيا الوسطى، وتموّل تلك الجهود عبر «بنك الاستثمار للبنية التحتية الآسيوية» و «صندوق طريق الحرير». وفي عام 2012، أنجزت الصين بناء سكة حديد تمتد من قورغاس الصينية إلى زيتيجين في كازاخستان، ومنها إلى غرب روسيا وأوروبا، في موازاة السكة الحديدية التي تمتد من أورومتشي، عاصمة مقاطعة شينجيانغ، وتمر عبر بوابة جونغاريا الصينية (ألاشانكو) وإلى ألماتي، أكبر مدينة في كازاخستان. وقد يشق هذا الممر طريقه بين الشرق والغرب عبر إيران ليصل إلى الخليج في النهاية. ووفقاً للمفكر الاستراتيجي غاو باي، سعت الصين إلى إيجاد ثقل مضاد للتفوق البحري الأمريكي عبر بناء خط سكة حديد فائق السرعة قادراً على بسط  السلطة من ساحل الصين الشرقي إلى قلب أوراسيا - ويشكل ذلك نوعاً من جدار قاري في حال وقوع اضطرابات بحرية. وعلى الرغم من التحديات التي قد يمثلها نظام أوراسي - الخاضع لسيطرة الصين - بالنسبة إلى روسيا، أفادت التقارير أن الرئيس الروسي فلاديمير بوتين أعطى الرئيس الصيني تشي جين بينغ مباركته في تشرين الأول/أكتوبر 2014 بعد أن وافق الأخير على أن تُشمل سكة الحديد العابرة لسيبيريا وسكة «بايكال آمور ماجيسترال» في مشروع «حزام طريق الحرير الاقتصادي».

القيمة الجيواستراتيجية لإيران

إن السؤال الذي يطرح نفسه هو أين دور إيران في ظل جميع هذه التطورات؟ فطهران ليست فاعلاً مؤثراً في آسيا الوسطى، ويعود ذلك جزئياً إلى رضوخها أمام موسكو، وإلى حذر بلدان آسيا الوسطى من التغلغل الإيراني في المنطقة عبر سياسة القوة الناعمة التي تمارسها. حتى إن تجارة الجمهورية الإسلامية مع جمهوريات آسيا الوسطى متواضعة بشكل واضح. إلا أن إيران تلعب دوراً جيوستراتيجياً كونها طريق الوصول غير الروسي إلى المياه المفتوحة الأكثر ملاءمة بالنسبة إلى تلك البلدان، وحيث تشكل التقاطع الوحيد لخط التجارة في آسيا الوسطى الذي يمتد بين الشرق والغرب والشمال والجنوب. وفي أيار/مايو 1996، استبدلت إيران وتركمنستان هذه الحلقة المفقودة عبر افتتاح سكة حديد بين مشهد وتيجين طولها 300 كيلومتر. وفي كانون الأول/ديسمبر 2014، افتتحت كازاخستان وتركمانستان وإيران سكة حديد تمتد من أوجين (جانازون)، مروراً بجرجان، ووصولاً إلى موانئ إيران في الخليج.

وفي الوقت نفسه، أكملت تركمانستان وإيران بناء أنبوب غاز في عام 1997 يربط كوربيجي التركمانستانية بكردكور الإيرانية، وأعقبه أنبوب غاز «دولة آباد- سرخس- خانكيران» في عام 2010. وتؤمّن تركمانستان حوالى 14 مليار متر مكعب من الغاز الطبيعي سنوياً إلى إيران، فضلاً عن نسبة كبيرة من كميات الكهرباء التي تستوردها الجمهورية  الإسلامية. كذلك، يغذي الغاز الكازاخستاني المرسل في ناقلات نفط عبر بحر قزوين مقاطعات إيران الشمالية المحرومة من مصادر النفط والغاز، بموجب اتفاق تبادل يضمن بيع طهران لكمية مماثلة من الغاز نيابة عن أستانا عبر الخليج العربي. وبالإضافة إلى طرق التصدير الأقصر التي توفرها إيران، فإن العلاقات القائمة معها في مجال الطاقة مغرية نظراً إلى تاريخ روسيا الطويل في الضغط لتخفيض أسعار تصدير الطاقة من دول آسيا الوسطى الخاضعة لسيطرتها. ومع ذلك، لم تكن هذه العلاقات سلسلة تماماً - فقد نشبت خلافات بيروقراطية مع طهران حول رسوم العبور، وأسعار الوقود، وطرق الدفع، وما شابه ذلك.

وبالنسبة لبكين، فإن ما يزيد من قيمة إيران الجيوستراتيجية هو موقعها الممتد على أحد جسري العبور البريين في الصين نحو الغرب. أما الجسر الآخر فيمر بمحاذاة الشاطئ الشمالي لبحر قزوين عبر كازاخستان وجنوب غرب روسيا بالقرب من منطقة القوقاز، ولكن يمكن القول أن إيران تمثل الطريق الأكثر أهمية لأنها صلة الوصل مع كل من أوروبا والخليج. ونظراً لهذه الركيزة من الربط القاري، اتخذت الجمهورية الإسلامية موقعاً مهماً بالنسبة إلى بكين، يتخطى حجم سوقها المحلي أو دورها كمزود للطاقة.

الخطوات المقبلة

إذا أدى الاتفاق النووي مع الولايات المتحدة إلى رفع العقوبات عن طهران، فليس هناك شك في أن الصين ستعزز حضورها في الاقتصاد الإيراني. وبالمثل، سوف تواجه الصين قدراً أقل من العقبات في توسيع شبكات الطرق، والسكك الحديدية، والأنابيب التابعة لها عبر الجسر البري الذي يمثله المنبسط الإيراني المرتفع. كذلك، من الممكن أن يمهد الاتفاق النووي الطريق أمام انضمام إيران بشكل كامل إلى «منظمة شانغهاي للتعاون»، علماً أن طلب عضوية إيران رُفض منذ عام 2008  على أساس أن طهران تخضع لعقوبات الأمم المتحدة. ويُنظر عموماً إلى «منظمة شانغهاي للتعاون»، التي تضم الصين وروسيا، وجميع جمهوريات آسيا الوسطى باستثناء تركمانستان كأعضاء كاملي العضوية، كثقل مضاد لـ «حلف شمال الأطلسي» ("الناتو") والولايات المتحدة، ولذلك يكاد يكون من المؤكد أن إيران تعتبر المنظمة ضمانة إضافية في حال نشوب أي نزاعات مع الغرب في المستقبل.

وعلى خلفية ذلك، يجب الاعتراف بأن خيارات واشنطن ضيقة. فاحتواء كل من الصين وإيران هو وصفة مؤكدة لدفع البلدين إلى التقارب. كما أن مواجهة إيران بالتوازي مع استيعاب الصين - أو العكس بالعكس، وهو سيناريو غير محتمل أكثر من الأول - سيترك ثغرات يمكن لأي من الطرفين استغلالها. وكلما انشغل البيت الأبيض بالألغاز الفارسية، ضعفت عملية "إعادة ترتيب" الموارد باتجاه آسيا، وهذا أمر يناسب بكين للغاية. ويمثل الشرق الأوسط وإيران على وجه الخصوص الأولوية الأكثر إلحاحاً بالنسبة إلى واشنطن، ولكن الصين تمثل التحدي الأبرز للسياسة الخارجية البعيدة المدى للولايات المتحدة. لذا، فإن طريقة تفاعل بكين وطهران في الوقت الراهن ستكون لها نتائج هامة على الاستراتيجية الأمريكية الكبرى.

 

كيفن ليم هو باحث مستقل يركز على السياسة الخارجية والأمن في منطقة الشرق الأوسط، التي كان يقيم فيها ما يقرب من عقد من الزمن.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 2435

Iran Seen from Beijing

Kevjn Lim

Also available in العربية

June 11, 2015

China views Iran as a central element in its much-touted Silk Road Economic Belt, which aims to extend Beijing's influence overland through Central Asia to the Persian Gulf and Europe.

Although China has long been Iran's largest oil customer, international sanctions recently relegated the Islamic Republic from third to sixth place among Beijing's suppliers -- a list consistently topped by Iranian rival Saudi Arabia. Similarly, while China's bilateral trade with Iran reportedly expanded to around $50 billion by late 2014, it remains dwarfed nearly elevenfold by its trade with the United States.

Given these figures, why does Iran play a seemingly disproportionate role in Beijing's regional calculus, often to the puzzlement of its much larger energy and trade partners in Riyadh and Washington? Diplomatic brinksmanship aside, much of the answer lies in Iran's geostrategic value as a key hub in China's westward overland thrust, which Beijing views as essential to countering both Washington's eastward pivot and U.S. naval superiority.


China and Iran's durable ties stretch back as far as the Han and Parthian empires, when the two civilizations were trade partners on the ancient Silk Road. When the Arabs invaded Iranshahr in the seventh century, Peroz III, scion of the swansong Sassanian monarch Yazdgird III, sought and was offered refuge in Tang China by the Emperor Gaozong. In modern times, despite substantive ideological differences, Ruhollah Khomeini and Mao Zedong instilled both countries with revolutionary legacies that rejected imperial hegemony and foreign exploitation, putting them on the same side against the U.S.-led status quo.

Over time, China has become Iran's least unreliable -- not to say most reliable -- major power ally and a key pivot for counterbalancing the United States. During Iran's withering eight-year war with Iraq, Beijing was the only major power to supply Tehran with arms (though it did the same for Baghdad). And in 1985, the two governments signed a stealth nuclear cooperation deal during a visit by then parliamentary speaker Akbar Hashemi Rafsanjani. Cooperation went from strength to strength until 1997, when U.S. pressure over the previous year's Taiwan Strait crisis spurred China to suspend nuclear and missile assistance to Tehran. By then, however, years of Chinese and North Korean technical assistance had already helped Iran establish a homegrown missile production industry, a key pillar of its defense posture.

On the economic front, Beijing has reduced its oil imports from Iran in recent years to preserve the U.S. sanctions waivers it enjoys. Owing to Iran's sanctions-induced reductions, however, it continues to buy half of Iran's crude exports. In addition to the lower prices Tehran is offering because of sanctions, Iranian supplies matter greatly to Beijing because the Gulf's other major energy producers are U.S. partners.


China has been pushing west in the context of the Silk Road Economic Belt (Sichouzilu jingjidai) introduced by President Xi Jinping in September 2013. This "westward march" had already been advocated in 2011 by Wang Jisi, one of the country's most lucid strategic minds, with the aim of meeting and counterbalancing President Obama's eastward pivot. Under the Xi administration, Beijing's immediate Silk Road priorities appear to be threefold:

  1. Securing the overland flow of energy from neighboring Central Asia (and Russia) to offset the risk of maritime interdiction, especially at two sensitive waterways: the Strait of Malacca (through which 80 percent of Chinese oil transits) and the Strait of Hormuz (through which about two-fifths of its oil imports pass).
  2. Leveraging development projects to pacify the restive but energy-rich western province of Xinjiang, where Uyghur separatists advocating the establishment of an East Turkestan state have repeatedly taken up arms against the Han Chinese.
  3. Encouraging greater regional stability and integration by locking China's western neighbors into a zone of prosperity extending to Europe, with Beijing at its political and economic nexus.

China is the world's largest net importer of oil. Given the risks of maritime interdiction, the need for overland energy conduits is particularly important. Accordingly, two new pipelines came onstream in 2006 and late 2009. The first pumps oil mostly from Kazakhstan's northern Caspian region of Atyrau through China's Xinjiang province and toward the coast, amounting to roughly 4 percent of the 6.2 million barrels per day that China imported in 2014. The other pipeline brings natural gas mainly from the Saman-Depe field in Turkmenistan, which has been China's largest supplier since 2012. In 2013 terms, Turkmen gas accounted for about half of China's 53 billion cubic meters in annual gas imports and about a sixth of its overall gas consumption. Ashgabat plans to more than double these exports by 2020.

In accordance with the Chinese saying "if you want to prosper, first build roads" (yao xiang fu, xian xiu lu), Beijing has also been modernizing the vast network of roads and railways crisscrossing Central Asia, financing its efforts through the Asian Infrastructure Investment Bank and the Silk Road Fund. In 2012, it completed a rail line extending from Khorgos to Zhetygen, Kazakhstan, and onward to Western Russia and Europe, paralleling an existing line from Xinjiang's provincial capital of Urumqi through China's Dzungarian Gate (Alashankou) and into Kazakhstan's largest city, Almaty. This east-west corridor may eventually cleave through Iran to the Gulf. According to strategist Gao Bai, Beijing has sought to offset U.S. naval superiority by building a high-speed railway capable of projecting power from China's eastern seaboard into the Eurasian interior -- a continental hedge of sorts in the event of maritime trouble. And despite the challenges that a China-bound Eurasian order could pose to Russia, President Vladimir Putin reportedly gave Xi Jinping his blessing in October 2014 after the latter agreed to include the Trans-Siberian and BAM railways in the Silk Road Economic Belt.


So where does Iran fit into all this? Tehran is not a dominant actor in Central Asia, partly because of its deference to Moscow, and also because the countries in question remain wary of Iranian soft-power penetration. Even its trade with the Central Asian republics is conspicuously modest. Rather, Iran fills a geostrategic role as their most convenient non-Russian access route to open waters, and the only east-west/north-south intersection for Central Asian trade. In May 1996, Iran and Turkmenistan forged this missing link by inaugurating a 300-kilometer railway between Mashhad and Tejen. And in December 2014, Kazakhstan, Turkmenistan, and Iran inaugurated a railway from Uzen (Zhanaozen) to Gorgan and onward to Iran's Gulf ports.

Meanwhile, Turkmenistan and Iran completed a gas pipeline in 1997 linking Korpeje to Kordkuy, followed in 2010 by the Dauletabad-Serakhs-Khangiran pipeline. Turkmenistan supplies about 14 billion cubic meters of gas annually to Iran, as well as a large proportion of the country's imported electricity. Similarly, Kazakh oil sent via Caspian Sea tankers has powered Iran's hydrocarbon-deprived northern provinces, in a swap arrangement that sees Tehran selling equivalent amounts on Astana's behalf via the Persian Gulf. In addition to the shorter export pathways it offers, energy relations with Iran are tempting given Russia's long history of price extortion with its Central Asian vassals. Nevertheless, such relations have not been entirely smooth -- bureaucratic disagreements have emerged with Tehran over transit fees, fuel prices, payment methods, and the like.

For Beijing, Iran's geostrategic value is enhanced by its position astride one of China's two overland bridges to the west. The other bridge skirts the northern coast of the Caspian through Kazakhstan and southwestern Russia near the Caucasus region, but Iran arguably presents the more important route because it connects with both Europe and the Gulf. Given this continental anchor, the Islamic Republic has taken on an importance in Beijing that exceeds the size of its domestic market or its role as energy purveyor.


If a nuclear agreement with the United States brings sanctions relief to Tehran, China will no doubt intensify its presence in Iran's economy. Likewise, it will encounter fewer obstacles in extending its road, rail, and pipeline networks through the land bridge that is the Iranian plateau. A nuclear deal could also pave the way for Iran's full membership in the Shanghai Cooperation Organization, a request that has been rejected since 2008 on the grounds that Tehran is under UN sanctions. The SCO, whose full members include China, Russia, and all of the Central Asian republics except Turkmenistan, is widely perceived as a counterbalance to NATO and the United States, so Iran almost certainly regards it as an additional layer of insurance in the event of future hostilities with the West.

Against this backdrop, Washington has admittedly precious little room for maneuver. Containing both China and Iran is a surefire way to drive them together. And counteracting Iran while accommodating China -- or, more improbably, vice versa -- would leave loopholes that either could exploit. The more the White House is distracted by Persian imponderables, the less robust its "rebalancing" of resources toward Asia will be, which eminently suits Beijing. The Middle East and Iran in particular are Washington's more immediate priorities, but China represents its most important long-term foreign policy challenge. How Beijing and Tehran interact in the meantime will have significant consequences for America's grand strategy.

Kevjn Lim is an independent researcher focusing on foreign and security policy in the Middle East, where he has been based for nearly a decade.