أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

Protesters prepare improvised firebombs in Bahrain

المرصد السياسي 2255

إيران والبحرين: استغاثة كاذبة أم خطرٌ محدق؟

ماثيو ليفيت

متاح أيضاً في English

16 أيار/مايو 2014


في الخامس من أيار/مايو - في ما أصبح حدثاً نموذجياً على نحو متزايد في البحرين - قام عدة أشخاص بإلقاء قنابل مولوتوف على مركزٍ للشرطة في المنامة، مما أدى إلى إلحاق أضرار بواجهات المحلات إلا أنه لم يُسفر عن وقوع إصابات. وقد اشتدت حدة هذه الأحداث على مدى الأشهر القليلة الماضية في القرى الشيعية المحيطة بالعاصمة، المنامة - ففي آذار/مارس، قُتل ثلاثة من ضباط الشرطة كنتيجة لوقوع تفجير في الديه؛ وفي الشهر الماضي، أصيب ضابط بانفجار آخر في نفس القرية؛ وبعد أيام من ذلك، ألقيت قنبلة حارقة على سيارة تابعة للشرطة في مدينة حمد.

وفي كثير من الحالات، كان أفرادٌ من الأغلبية الشيعية في البحرين متورطين في مثل هذه الهجمات. وقد ألقى النظام الملكي السني في الجزيرة باللائمة على نظام إيران الشيعي لدعمه العنف وتقويضه حكمها. في الوقت نفسه، يشعر المسؤولون الأمريكيون بمخاوفهم الخاصة من دعم طهران للأعمال الإرهابية في البحرين، لا سيما وأن وزارة الخارجية الأمريكية - في تقريرها السنوي الأخير لمكافحة الإرهاب - ألقت الضوء على شحنة حديثة من الأسلحة الإيرانية المتوجهة إلى الجزيرة. إلا أن المنامة تعاني من مشكلة في المصداقية نظراً إلى الاستجابة القاسية التي جابهت بها الاحتجاجات السلمية على مدى السنوات الثلاث الماضية، الأمر الذي يجعل من الصعب للغاية تقييم مدى ضلوع طهران في دعم العنف بصورة نشطة.

ثغرة في المصداقية

منذ شباط/فبراير 2011 تجتاح الاضطرابات المتدنية المستوى المملكة مع نزول المحتجين السلميين إلى الشوارع في سياق "الربيع العربي". وقد قامت حكومة آل خليفة بقمع المظاهرات بالعنف، حتى أنها حكمت على الأطباء والممرضين الذين عالجوا المتظاهرين الجرحى بالسجن لفترات تتراوح بين خمسة أعوام وعشرين عاماً بتهم تتعلق بالإرهاب. ومع أن هذه التهم كانت ملفّقة، سرعان ما بدت بعض التهم الموجهة ضد مشتبهين آخرين شرعيةً حين تحولت الاحتجاجات السلمية إلى فوراتٍ من العنف.

ومن المؤسف أنّ المنامة مسؤولة إلى حدٍ كبير عن تعتيم الخط الفاصل بين الاحتجاج السياسي والعنف. فقد وضعت الحكومة «حزب الله» وعدّة جماعات شيعية عنيفة على لائحة الإرهاب، مصرة على أن إيران تقف وراء العنف. إلا أن إجراءاتها العشوائية الصارمة دفعت البعض إلى اعتبار المزاعم حول رعاية إيران لهذه الأعمال مجرد حرب دعائية هدفها تشويه أي تحدٍّ يعترض النظام الملكي.

ومع ذلك، لا يمكن الإنكار أن الاعتداءات المتدنية المستوى تواصل اكتساح المملكة بوتيرة متصاعدة. وفي حين يتعذر ربط كل حدث مماثل بطهران، برزت تقارير تفيد عن وجود بصمة إيرانية في مسرح هذه الحوادث. وبوجه الخصوص بيّنت حادثة القبض على قارب سريع من العراق كان ينقل أسلحة ومتفجرات إيرانية في كانون الأول/ديسمبر 2013 أنه لا يمكن استبعاد المخاوف من التدخل الإيراني في البحرين بلا تفكير. ونظراً إلى تاريخ طهران في إثارة العنف على الجزيرة، يجدر فعلاً التحقيق بدقة في هذه المخاوف.

السياق التاريخي

لطالما اتهمت المنامة، شأنها شأن حكومات دول الخليج العربي الأخرى، إيران بالتحريض على الفتنة ودعم المسلحين الذين يعارضون النظام الملكي. فالبحرين تحديداً تعتبر حالة دقيقة حيث أن الأسرة الحاكمة سنيةٌ وتحكم شعباً ذو غالبية شيعية في جزيرة صغيرة ترتبط بجسر إلى المملكة العربية السعودية وتقع على بعد 124 كيلومتر فقط عبر الخليج من إيران. وتساهم التركيبة السكانية والجغرافية منذ زمنٍ بعيد في اشتداد حساسية المنامة تجاه التدخل الإيراني المحتمل؛ كما أن عدم الاستقرار في السنوات القليلة الماضية، لم يؤدي سوى إلى تأكيد المخاوف التي يعود تاريخها إلى بداية ثمانينيات القرن الماضي.

وفي أعقاب الثورة الإسلامية عام 1979، بدأت إيران برعاية الأعمال الإرهابية في العديد من البلدان كوسيلة لتصدير ثورتها وتعزيز مصالحها الاستراتيجية. ويشير تقريرٌ صادر عن "وكالة الاستخبارات المركزية" الأمريكية حول الإرهاب المدعوم من طهران إلى أن البحرين كانت "مستهدفة بمؤامرة إرهابية" عام 1987، إلا أن النسخة التي رُفع عنها التصنيف من التقرير لم تشمل تفاصيل عن هذه الحادثة. وفي تقريرٍ صدر في تموز/يوليو 1988، حذّرت "الوكالة" من أن المصالح الأمريكية في البحرين والكويت تشكل "أهدافاً مؤاتية ومناسبة" للهجمات التي ترعاها إيران، نظراً إلى علاقة كل بلد مع واشنطن واتساع قاعدة المغتربين الإيرانيين فيها. وأوضحت "الوكالة" في تقريرٍ آخر لذلك العام:

على الرغم من أن بعض الأعمال الإرهابية التي ارتكبها الشيعة لم تحدث بإذنٍ صريح من طهران، إلا أن طهران تشجع مثل هذه الأعمال من حيث المبدأ ويمكنها أن تدعو هؤلاء المتطرفين إلى شن عمليات إرهابية. وتشمل الفصائل المدعومة من إيران، "المجلس الأعلى للثورة الإسلامية في العراق"، و "منظمة الثورة الإسلامية في شبه الجزيرة العربية"، و "الجبهة الإسلامية لتحرير البحرين"، و "حزب الدعوة الإسلامي"، الذي لديه فروع في البحرين والكويت ولبنان.

وأشارت "الوكالة" أيضاً إلى أنه غالباً ما استعانت إيران بخبرة «حزب الله اللبناني» من أجل تدريب مجندين من السعودية والكويت والبحرين. وبحلول أواخر الثمانينات من القرن الماضي، بات لـ «حزب الله» عدة فروع نشطة تعمل في مختلف دول الخليج - ووفقاً لـ "وكالة المخابرات المركزية"، كانت تلك الفروع "تستلهم أفكارها من عناصر في الحكومة الايرانية وتحصل منها على دعمها وتخضع لتوجيهاتها".

أما في البحرين، فتدعم طهران منذ زمن بعيد فروع التنظيمات الشيعية المقاتلة مثل «حزب الله» و"حزب الدعوة". وفي عام 1986، باشرت المنامة بالقضاء على «حزب الله البحريني»؛ وبعد عامٍ على ذلك قامت بتوقيف ومحاكمة تسعة وخمسين متهماً من أعضائه. لكن هذه الجماعة كانت لا تزال بمنأى عن الهزيمة - ففي آذار/مارس 1997، أوقفت أجهزة الاستخبارات الكويتية ثلاثة عشر بحرينياً وعراقيَيْن اثنيْن في مدينة الكويت، كانوا يعملون في ذلك الوقت تحت اسم «حزب الله الخليج». وكشفت المراسلات التي ضبطت في منازلهم أن لديهم اتصالات مع أشخاص في دمشق - سوريا، وقم - إيران، وأنهم كانوا يجمعون الأموال لإرسالها إلى البحرين. ووفقاً لمسؤولين كويتيين، أظهرت الأدلة أيضاً أن الخلية كانت تعمل تحت إشراف "وزارة الاستخبارات والأمن الإيرانية". وعلى كل حال، من الواضح أن «حزب الله البحريني» كان يعمل مع العناصر الشيعية المسلحة في جميع أنحاء الخليج.

وعلى الرغم من النجاح في تفكيك هذه الجماعة بحلول عام 1997، بقي مسؤولو الاستخبارات في المنامة متخوفين في ذلك الحين من أن يكون "العديد من كبار قادة" «حزب الله البحريني»، بمن فيهم "ثلاثة من أعضاء المجلس العسكري"، قد تجنبوا الاعتقال وربما "يحاولون لمّ الشمل وتنفيذ أعمال ذات صلة بأنشطة «حزب الله»". ووفقاً لـ "وكالة الاستخبارات المركزية"، فإن "أحد كبار قادة الجماعة"، محمد حبيب منصور الصفاف، زُعم أنه يدير ملجأً سرياً في الكويت كان بمثابة "نقطة عبور رئيسية بين البحرين ولبنان"؛ وأشارت "الوكالة" أيضاً إلى أنه "عمل في تهريب الأسلحة وربما لا يزال يشارك في الأنشطة المتعلقة بالإرهاب". بالإضافة إلى ذلك، ذكرت "الوكالة" أن عضو المجلس العسكري لـ «حزب الله البحريني»، عادل الشعلة، الذي فر من الجزيرة، قد يكون مرتبطاً بـ «حزب الله السعودي» المسؤول عن تفجير "أبراج الخبر" عام 1996. ونقلاً عن لسان المسؤولين البحرينيين، يحتمل أن يكون سبعة وثلاثين عضواً معروفاً آخر من الجماعة قد فرّ إلى إيران أو لبنان. إن علاقاتهم المحتملة بإيران، ناهيك عن اسم «حزب الله الخليج» الذي اعتمدته خلية الكويت، قد دفع المحللين في "وكالة الاستخبارات المركزية" إلى الاستنتاج في تقرير في أيار/مايو 1997 بأن "طهران ربما تعمل على تشكيل خلية جديدة لـ «حزب الله» من أجل التصدي للحكومة البحرينية".

الجيل القادم من "المقاومة" في البحرين؟

بعد أن بدأت المنامة بقمع الاحتجاجات الشعبية عام 2011، نظمّت العديد من الجماعات الشيعية المقاتلة نفسها لمجابهة حكومة آل خليفة. وإلى جانب تنظيم «حزب الله البحريني» المعروف، تعدّ ثلاث من هذه الجماعات مثيرة للقلق بشكل خاص، وهي:

·         "سرايا الأشتر"، مدرجة كجماعة ارهابية من قبل المنامة، وكانت قد أصدرت أول بيان لها في نيسان/أبريل 2013؛ ومنذ ذلك الحين تبنّت عشرين تفجيراً ضد أفراد قوات الأمن. ووفقاً للمحلل فيليب سميث، أعلنت مسؤوليتها عن التفجير الذي وقع في 3 آذار/مارس والذي أسفر عن مقتل ثلاثة من رجال الشرطة، من بينهم ضابط إماراتي كان تابعاً للقوات التي نشرتها السعودية والإمارات ابتداءً من عام 2011 لمساعدة السلطات البحرينية في الحفاظ على النظام.

 ·    "سرايا المقاومة الشعبية"، ادعت أيضاً مسؤوليتها عن الهجوم الذي وقع في الثالث من آذار/مارس وأُدرجت فيما بعد كجماعة إرهابية. وتقوم بتنفيذ العمليات منذ آب/أغسطس 2012 كما أنها مرتبطة علنياً بـ "ائتلاف شباب ثورة 14 فبراير" - وهي جماعة احتجاج مناهضة [للحكومة]. ووفقاً لسميث، تدّعي "سرايا المقاومة الشعبية" أنها تمارس "الجهاد ضد آل خليفة الكفار" وتصف مقاتليها على أنهم جهاديين. وقد فجّرت حتى الآن عبوتان ناسفتان في مركز تجاري بحريني (وأصدرت بياناً - مقدماً - للتحذير من الانفجار) ؛ وأفادت التقارير أنها تستخدم أيضاً قنابل لاستهداف "البنك الوطني" في البلاد، ومحطة للكهرباء. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، تدّعي الجماعة أنها استخدمت سيارات ملغومة في العاصمة لاستهداف المطار وقوى الأمن الداخلي، وأنها فجرت عبوة ناسفة بالقرب من القاعدة البحرية الأمريكية في البحرين، التي هي بمثابة مقر الأسطول الخامس.

·         "سرايا المختار"، ظهرت في أيلول/سبتمبر 2013، وتبنت عدداً من الهجمات ضد قوات الأمن البحرينية، بما في ذلك الهجمات بالعبوات الناسفة الخام، على الرغم من أن المنامة لم تدرجها بعد كمنظمة إرهابية. ووفقاً لسميث، تحافظ الجماعة على حضور قوي على شبكة الإنترنت وهي الفصيلة الشيعية الوحيدة في البحرين التي تتبنى علناً أهدافاً إقليمية وتعتبر النزاع القائم في الجزيرة جزءاً من صراعٍ أكبر مع النظام الملكي السعودي - وهذا ادعاء مهم نظراً للاضطرابات الشيعية الجارية في المنطقة الشرقية المجاورة في المملكة العربية السعودية.

إن المدى التي تلقت فيه هذه الجماعات الدعم من إيران يبقى موضوع نقاش، لكن التقارير تشير على الأقل إلى مستوىً معين من الدعم الإيراني للحركات القتالية الشيعية في البحرين. فعلى سبيل المثال، استشهدت إحدى الرويات التي نشرها ديفيد إغناتيوس في صحيفة واشنطن بوست عام 2011 نقلاً عن مسؤول سعودي الذي صرّح أن غلام شكوري - الذي شارك في مؤامرة إيرانية لاغتيال السفير السعودي في واشنطن عام 2011 كما ذكرت التقارير - كان "ضابط بارز في «فيلق القدس» وساهم في تنظيم المحتجين الشيعة المتشددين في البحرين." وعلى وجه التحديد، التقى شكوري وإيرانيين آخرين مع رجل الدين الشيعي البحريني المتطرف حسن مشيمع خلال رحلة توقف فيها في بيروت في شباط/فبراير 2011، "عندما كان مشيمع في طريق عودته إلى بلاده لقيادة الاحتجاجات في البحرين".

شحنة الأسلحة الإيرانية

في 30 كانون الأول/ديسمبر 2013، اعترضت قوات خفر السواحل البحرينية زورقاً سريعاً من العراق محمّلاً بأسلحة ومتفجرات معدة للمتطرفين الشيعة في البحرين. ومن بين المواد المصادرة كانت هناك 50 قنبلة إيرانية الصنع وما يقرب من 300 عبوة ناسفة مكتوب عليها "صُنعت في سوريا". وفي استجوابهم، "اعترف المشتبه بهم أنهم تلقوا تدريباً شبه عسكري في إيران"، وفقاً لـ "تقارير البلدان الخاصة بالإرهاب" الصادرة عن وزارة الخارجية الأمريكية. وفي خبر لاحق نشرته قناة "بي بي سي"، وصف أحد الدبلوماسيين الغربيين الحادثة بأنها "أكبر عملية لمصادرة الأسلحة في سياق مكافحة الإرهاب خلال عامين"، وقال "كان يجري اتخاذها على محمل الجد من قبل الحكومات الغربية". إن مثل هذا التدقيق والتمحيص لن يكون مفاجئاً نظراً لأن السلطات اليمنية كانت قد اعترضت شحنة مماثلة في كانون الثاني/يناير، كان قد شارك فيها أيضاً متهمون اعترفوا بتلقيهم تدريبات عسكرية في إيران.

وبعد فترة وجيزة من الاستيلاء على القارب، داهم مسؤولون بحرينيون مخازن الأسلحة المشتبه بها، وكشفوا "كمية ضخمة من المتفجرات " إلى جانب صواعق تفجير تجارية صُنعت في سوريا، وبنادق، ومواد لصنع القنابل، وأكثر من ذلك. وبدورها أدت المداهمات إلى إلقاء القبض على سبعة عشر شخصاً، بمن فيهم شخص سعودي الجنسية، ويُقال أنها كشفت أدلة عن الدعم الخارجي للمسلحين البحرينيين.

الخاتمة

بما أن الحكومة البحرينية أطلقت استغاثة كاذبة أكثر من مرة - عندما وصفت المتظاهرين والمعالجين الطبيين المتخصصين بـ "الإرهابيين"- وألقت مسؤولية حدوث الاضطرابات الداخلية مراراً وتكراراً على إيران - فقد أحدثت ثغرةً في مصداقيتها لا يمكن التغلب عليها بسهولة. فالطريقة القاسية التي تعاملت بها المنامة مع كل من المحتجين المسالمين والمعتدين العنيفين دفعت المحللين إلى التساؤل عن مدى مصداقية الأدلة المختلفة التي قيل إنها ضُبطت في كانون الأول/ديسمبر. وفي المرحلة القادمة، ستحتاج الحكومة البحرينية إلى إظهار التزامٍ أوضح بسيادة القانون، وإلى التمييز بين المتظاهرين والإرهابيين والتعامل مع كل جهة على هذا الأساس. فعند ذلك فقط سيكون شركاؤها الأجانب قادرين على إجراء تقييم فعال للأدلة الجديدة حول الدعم الإيراني للمتشددين المحليين.

 

ماثيو ليفيت هو زميل "فورمر- ويكسلر" ومدير برنامج ستاين للاستخبارات ومكافحة الإرهاب في معهد واشنطن. وأحدث كتبه هو "«حزب الله»: البصمة العالمية الواضحة لـ «حزب الله» اللبناني".

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

Protesters prepare improvised firebombs in Bahrain

PolicyWatch 2255

Iran and Bahrain: Crying Wolf, or Wolf at the Door?

Matthew Levitt

Also available in العربية

May 16, 2014


The Bahraini government will need to distinguish better between protestors and terrorists if it wants Washington and other foreign partners to believe its claims of Iranian support for local militants.

On May 5, in what has become an increasingly typical event in Bahrain, several individuals threw Molotov cocktails at a police post in a Shiite village, damaging storefronts but causing no casualties. Such incidents have intensified over the past few months in villages surrounding the capital, Manama -- in March, three police officers were killed by a bombing in al-Daih; last month, an explosion wounded another officer in the same village; days later, a police car was firebombed in Hamad Town.

In many cases, members of Bahrain's majority Shiite population have been implicated in such attacks, and the island's Sunni monarchy has blamed Iran's Shiite regime for supporting the violence and undermining its rule. Meanwhile, U.S. officials have their own concerns about Tehran supporting terrorist activity in Bahrain, with the State Department highlighting a recent shipment of Iranian arms to the island in its latest annual counterterrorism report. Yet Manama has a credibility problem given its heavy-handed response to peaceful protests over the past three years, making it very difficult to assess the extent to which Tehran is actively fostering violence.

CREDIBILITY GAP

Low-level unrest has plagued the kingdom since February 2011, when peaceful protestors took to the streets in the context of the Arab Spring. The al-Khalifa government violently suppressed the demonstrations, even sentencing doctors and nurses who treated injured protesters to jail terms of five to twenty years on terrorism charges. Those charges were trumped up, but once peaceful protests gave way to violent outbursts, charges against certain other suspects seemed legitimate.

Unfortunately, Manama is largely responsible for obscuring the line between political protest and violence. The government has blacklisted Hezbollah and various smaller violent Shiite groups as terrorist entities, insisting that Iran is behind the violence. Yet its indiscriminate crackdowns have led some to view the claims of Iranian sponsorship as mere propaganda aimed at tainting any challenge to the monarchy.

Even so, it is undeniable that low-level attacks continue to plague the kingdom with increasing frequency. And while not every such act can be traced back to Tehran, reports pointing to an Iranian fingerprint have emerged. In particular, the December 2013 seizure of a speedboat from Iraq carrying Iranian arms and explosives showed that fears of Iranian interference in Bahrain cannot be discounted out of hand. Indeed, given Tehran's history of fomenting violence on the island, such concerns need to be carefully investigated.

HISTORICAL CONTEXT

Like other Persian Gulf governments, Manama has long accused Iran of inciting unrest and supporting militants who oppose the monarchy. Bahrain is a particularly sensitive case given that the Sunni ruling family governs over a Shiite-majority populace on a small island linked by causeway to Saudi Arabia and just 124 miles across the Gulf from Iran. Demographics and geography have long heightened Manama's sensitivity to possible Iranian meddling, and the instability of the past few years has only underscored concerns that date back to the early 1980s.

Following the 1979 Islamic Revolution, Iran began to sponsor terrorist activity in numerous countries as a means of exporting its revolution and furthering its strategic interests. According to a CIA report on Tehran-sponsored terrorism, Bahrain was the "target of a terrorist plot" in 1987, though the details are redacted from the otherwise declassified report. Writing in July 1988, the CIA warned that U.S. interests in Bahrain and Kuwait were "convenient, suitable targets" for Iranian-sponsored attacks given each country's relationship with Washington and their large Iranian expatriate populations. In another report that year, the agency explained:

Although some acts of terrorism by Shias in the Gulf may have been conducted without Tehran's explicit authorization, Tehran encourages such acts in principle and can call on these extremists to mount terrorist operations. Iranian-backed factions include the Supreme Assembly for the Islamic Revolution in Iraq, the Organization of the Islamic Revolution in the Arabian Peninsula, the Islamic Front for the Liberation of Bahrain, and the Islamic Call (Dawa) Party, which has branches in Bahrain, Kuwait, and Lebanon.

The agency also indicated that Iran often leveraged Lebanese Hezbollah's expertise to train Saudi, Kuwaiti, and Bahraini recruits. By the late 1980s, several Hezbollah branches -- which, according to the CIA, "were inspired, supported, and directed by elements of the Iranian government" -- operated around the Gulf.

In Bahrain, Tehran has long backed branches of militant Shiite organizations such as Hezbollah and the Dawa Party. In 1986, Manama began to crack down on Bahraini Hezbollah; a year later, it arrested and tried fifty-nine accused members. Yet the group was far from beaten -- in March 1997, Kuwaiti intelligence arrested thirteen Bahrainis and two Iraqis in Kuwait City, at the time operating under the name "Hezbollah Gulf." Correspondence seized at their homes revealed that they had connections with individuals in Damascus, Syria, and Qom, Iran, and that they were raising money to send back to Bahrain. According to Kuwaiti officials, evidence also showed that the cell may have been operating under the direction of Iran's Ministry of Intelligence and Security (MOIS). Whatever the case, Bahraini Hezbollah was clearly working with militant Shiite elements across the Gulf.

Despite effectively disabling the group by 1997, intelligence officials in Manama remained concerned at the time that "several key leaders" of Bahraini Hezbollah, including "three military council members," had avoided capture and were perhaps "attempting to regroup and conduct Hezbollah-related activities." According to the CIA, Muhammad Habib Mansur Saffaf, "one of the group's top leaders," reportedly ran a safe house in Kuwait that served as a "key transit point between Bahrain and Lebanon"; the agency also noted that he had "engaged in weapons smuggling and may still be involved in terrorist-related activities." In addition, the agency reported that Bahraini Hezbollah military council member Adil Shuala, who had fled the island, might also have been affiliated with the Saudi Hezbollah group behind the 1996 Khobar Towers bombing. According to Bahraini officials, thirty-seven other known members of the group likely fled to Iran or Lebanon. Their possible ties to Iran, along with the "Hezbollah Gulf" name adopted by the Kuwait cell, led CIA analysts to suggest in a May 1997 report that "Tehran may be working to create a new Hezbollah cell to oppose the Bahraini Government."

BAHRAIN'S NEXT-GENERATION "RESISTANCE"?

After Manama began to crack down on public protests in 2011, several militant Shiite groups organized to challenge the al-Khalifa government. Along with the better known Bahraini Hezbollah, three of these groups are particularly worrisome:

  • Saraya al-Ashtar, listed as a terrorist group by Manama, issued its first public statement in April 2013 and has since claimed credit for twenty bombings against security personnel. According to analyst Phillip Smyth, it claimed the March 3 bombing that killed three policemen, including an Emirati officer who was part of the forces that Saudi Arabia and the UAE deployed beginning in 2011 to help Bahraini authorities maintain order.
  • Saraya al-Muqawama al-Shabiya (the Popular Resistance Brigades, or SMS) also claimed responsibility for the March 3 attack and was subsequently listed as a terrorist group. It has been conducting operations since August 2012 and openly affiliates with the February 14 Youth Coalition, an antigovernment protest group. According to Smyth, SMS claims it is fighting a "jihad against the infidel Khalifas" and describes its fighters as jihadists. Thus far it has detonated two improvised explosive devices in a Bahraini mall (issuing a communique in advance to warn of the explosion); it also used bombs to target the country's National Bank and, reportedly, a power plant. In addition, the group claims that it planted car bombs in the capital targeting the airport and internal security forces, and that it detonated an IED near the U.S. naval base in Bahrain, which serves as headquarters of the Fifth Fleet.
  • Saraya al-Mukhtar emerged in September 2013 and has taken credit for a number of attacks on Bahraini security forces, including crude IED attacks, though Manama has yet to list it as a terrorist organization. According to Smyth, the group maintains a robust online presence and is the only militant Shiite faction in Bahrain to openly espouse regional goals, viewing the island's strife as part of a larger conflict with the Saudi monarchy -- a significant claim given the ongoing Shiite unrest in Saudi Arabia's neighboring Eastern Province.

The extent to which these groups have received support from Iran remains a matter of debate, but reports suggest at least some level of Iranian backing for Shiite militancy in Bahrain. For example, a 2011 Washington Post story by David Ignatius cited a Saudi official who stated that Gholam Shakuri -- who was reportedly involved in the 2011 Iranian plot to assassinate the Saudi ambassador in Washington -- was "an important Qods Force case officer who had helped organize militant Shiite protesters in Bahrain." Specifically, Shakuri and other Iranians met with radical Bahraini Shiite cleric Hassan Mushaima during a February 2011 stopover in Beirut, "when Mushaima was on his way back home to lead protests in Bahrain."

IRANIAN ARMS SHIPMENT

On December 30, 2013, the Bahraini coast guard intercepted a speedboat from Iraq carrying arms and explosives intended for Shiite extremists in Bahrain. Among the seized materials were 50 Iranian-made grenades and nearly 300 explosive devices labeled "Made in Syria." Under interrogation, "the suspects admitted to receiving paramilitary training in Iran," according to the State Department's Country Reports on Terrorism. In a subsequent BBC story, one Western diplomat characterized the incident as "the biggest counterterrorism arms haul in two years" and said "it was being taken extremely seriously by Western governments." Such scrutiny would come as no surprise given that Yemeni authorities had intercepted a similar shipment in January 2013, also involving defendants who admitted to receiving military training in Iran.

Shortly after the boat seizure, Bahraini officials conducted raids on suspected arms warehouses, uncovering "a huge quantity of explosives" along with commercial detonators made in Syria, guns, bombmaking materials, and more. The raids in turn led to the arrest of seventeen people, including a Saudi national, and reportedly uncovered evidence of outside support for Bahraini militants.

CONCLUSION

Because the Bahraini government has cried wolf more than once -- referring to protestors and medical professionals as "terrorists" and repeatedly blaming Iran for domestic unrest -- it has created a credibility gap that will not be easily overcome. Manama's ham-fisted response to peaceful protestors and violent assailants alike has left analysts pondering how much credence to give the various evidence reportedly seized in December. Moving forward, the Bahraini government will need to exhibit a clearer commitment to rule of law, distinguishing between demonstrators and terrorists and dealing with each accordingly. Only then will its foreign partners be able to effectively assess new evidence of Iranian support for local militants.

Matthew Levitt is the Fromer-Wexler Fellow and director of the Stein Program on Counterterrorism and Intelligence at The Washington Institute. His latest book is Hezbollah: The Global Footprint of Lebanon's Party of God.