أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

صفحات رأي ومقالات

في سوريا، بوتين يخاطر تكرار خطأ الاتحاد السوفيتي في أفغانستان

آنا بورشفسكايا

متاح أيضاً في English

"فوربس"

15 أيلول/سبتمبر 2015


على الرغم من الحملة الدعائية الضخمة والمتواصلة التي يقوم بها الكرملين، لا تزال الأصوات المناهضة للنظام تجد طريقها في روسيا. فهي تُعبّر عن رفضها لتدخل البلاد في سوريا، بسبب القلق من إمكان أن تصبح هذه الأخيرة أفغانستان جديدة لروسيا - تلك الحرب التي ساهمت بشكل كبير في سقوط الاتحاد السوفياتي، وفقاً لعدة تقارير.

في 7 أيلول/سبتمبر، أرسل عضو المعارضة الوحيد في البرلمان الروسي (الدوما) [غينادي غودكوف] المناهض لفلاديمير بوتين، طلباً رسمياً إلى وزير الدفاع الروسي سيرجي شويجو. هناك "شيئان يهماني"، كتب غودكوف على صفحته على الفيسبوك، "أولاً، هل يقاتل جنودنا حقاً لصالح الأسد، وثانياً، إذا كان الجواب نعم، لماذا يتم ذلك سراً، دون موافقة البرلمان؟ نحن ننتقد أمريكا بشدة حول العراق، كما ننتقد حلف شمال الأطلسي حول يوغوسلافيا، هذا من ناحية - ومن ناحية أخرى يبدو أننا نرسل قوات لدعم نظام لا يمكن أن يُعتبر مقبولاً".

في أيار/مايو، عدّل بوتين مرسوماً قائماً حول أسرار الدولة. ومن بين التغييرات التي تضمنها، وضع الخسائر العسكرية الروسية على قائمة أسرار الدولة حتى في وقت السلم، "خلال العمليات الخاصة" - كما جاء في التعديل. وبإشارته إلى هذا الموضوع، كتب غودكوف، "كنا نظن أن هذا [التعديل هو] حول دونباس [في أوكرانيا] - ولكن اتضح فيما بعد أنه بشأن سوريا أيضاً".

وفي محاولته شرح دوافع بوتين لزيادة الانخراط في سوريا، كتب الصحافي إيفجيني كيسيليف في «إيكو موسكفي» ذات التوجهات الليبرالية، "نظام [بوتين] السلطوي، الذي يواجه مشاكل داخلية، يسعى للتعويض عنها [من خلال اتخاذ خطوات] في اتجاه السياسة الخارجية". وأضاف، أنه طوال تاريخ روسيا، تحولت حروب مماثلة إلى كوارث في السياسة الخارجية، بدءً من الحرب الروسية-اليابانية في 1904-1905، وإلى حرب القرم في الفترة 1853-1856.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك، كتب كيسيليف: "تورطنا في مستنقع أفغانستان قبل 36 عاماً. وتورطنا في دونباس في العام الماضي - هل سنتورط الآن في سوريا؟ ... شخصياً ليس لديّ أدنى شك في أن التدخل العسكري في سوريا هومغامرة - ومميتاً بالنسبة لروسيا".

وقال المحلل اوليغ بونومار، "هل لا يذكّرنا هذا الوضع بالتاريخ الأفغاني؟ فكما كان الأمر في ذلك الحين، اتخذت [القيادة] العليا في اتحاد الجمهوريات الاشتراكية السوفياتية، دون أي مناقشة عامة، قرار بإدخال 'فرقة محدودة' من القوات السوفيتية في أفغانستان". وأضاف، "خلال ذلك الوقت، انهار الاقتصاد السوفييتي العاجز بالفعل تحت وطأة الإنفاق العسكري والسخط الاجتماعي، وسَحبَ النظام السوفياتي كله إلى الجحيم."

وحتى بعض المؤيدين لسياسة الكرملين الموالية للأسد يعتقدون بأنه لا ينبغي على روسيا التدخل عسكرياً في سوريا. وقد كتب ميخائيل روتوفسكيي، الذي قضى بعض الوقت في سوريا قبل 15 عاماً كضيف على السفارة الروسية، "ليس لدى روسيا الحق في الدخول في مغامرة سيكون من المستحيل الخروج منها. نحن لا نحتاج إلى أفغانستان ثانية - وخاصة على خلفية الأزمة الأوكرانية التي تمتص الحياة من بلادنا بالفعل".

قد يختلف التدخل العسكري الروسي في سوريا في بعض النواحي عن تورط الاتحاد السوفيتي في أفغانستان. لكن بالنسبة لبعض الروس، هناك بعض من أوجه الشبه اللافتة للنظر. فروسيا تواجه أزمة اقتصادية عميقة، ونفقاتها العسكرية الحالية غير قابلة للاستمرار، كما تواجه البلاد انخفاضاً ديموغرافياً حاداً. ولا يمكن لروسيا أن تخوض حرباً في كل من أوكرانيا وسوريا، في الوقت الذي تحتفظ فيه أيضاً بقوات في أماكن عديدة من أراضي الاتحاد السوفياتي سابقاً كما هو الحال حالياً. ولكن يبدو أن بوتين يحاول القيام بذلك.

 

آنا بورشفسكايا هي زميلة "آيرا وينر" في معهد واشنطن.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

Articles & Op-Eds

In Syria, Putin Risks Repeating the Soviet Union's Afghanistan Mistake

Anna Borshchevskaya

Also available in العربية

Forbes

September 15, 2015


Russia can't fight a war in both Ukraine and Syria while also maintaining troops throughout the post-Soviet space, but Putin appears set on trying.

Despite the Kremlin's massive and sustained propaganda campaign, anti-regime voices still find their way in Russia. They express disapproval of the country's involvement in Syria, concerned it could become Russia's new Afghanistan -- a war that, by many accounts, contributed significantly to the fall of the Soviet Union.

On September 7, the only anti-Vladimir Putin opposition member in the Russian parliament (Duma), Dmitry Gudkov, sent an official request to Russian Defense Minister Sergei Shoigu. "Two things interest me, " Gudkov wrote on his Facebook page, "First, are our soldiers really fighting for Assad, and second, if yes, why is this done in secret, without the parliament's approval? On the one hand, we strongly criticize America over Iraq, NATO over Yugoslavia -- and on the other, it seems we send troops to support a far from pleasant regime."

In May, Putin amended an existing decree on state secrets. Among other changes, he put Russia's military losses on the list of state secrets even in peace time, "during special operations." Recalling this incident, Gudkov wrote, "We thought this is about Donbass [in Ukraine] -- but it turned out about Syria too."

In trying to explain Putin's motivations for increased involvement in Syria, journalist Evgeniy Kiselev wrote in the liberal-oriented Echo Moskvy, "[Putin's] authoritarian regime, faced with internal problems, seeks to compensate for them in the direction of foreign policy." He added that throughout Russia's history, similar wars turned out to be foreign policy disasters, from the Russo-Japanese war in 1904-05, to the Crimean war of 1853-56.

Kiselev further wrote, "36 years ago we got bogged down in Afghanistan. Last year, we got bogged down in Donbass -- and now we will get bogged down in Syria?...That the military intervention in Syria is adventurism -- and a deadly one at that for Russia -- I personally have no doubt."

"Does this situation not remind us of Afghan history? As back then, the top [leadership] of the USSR, without any public discussion, made a decision to introduce a 'limited contingent' of Soviet troops in Afghanistan," said analyst Oleg Ponomar. "During this time, the already decrepit Soviet economy collapsed under the weight of military spending and social discontent, dragging to hell the whole Soviet regime."

Even some supporters of the Kremlin's pro-Assad policy believe Russia should not get involved in Syria militarily. "Russia has no right to get into an adventure from which it will be impossible to get out. We do not need a second Afghanistan -- especially against the background of the already-sucking-all-juices-from-our-country Ukrainian crisis," wrote Mikhail Rostovkiy, who spent time in Syria 15 years ago as a guest of the Russian embassy.

Russia's military involvement in Syria may differ in some respects from the Soviet Union's involvement in Afghanistan. But for some Russians, certain parallels are striking. Russia is facing a deep economic crisis. Its current military expenditures are unsustainable, and the country is facing a severe demographic decline. Russia can't fight a war both in Ukraine and in Syria, while also maintaining troops throughout the post-Soviet space as it currently does. But Putin appears set on trying.

Anna Borshchevskaya is the Ira Weiner Fellow at The Washington Institute.