أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 2857

كيف يمكن فك العقدة التي تربط الأكراد السوريين بتركيا

سونر چاغاپتاي

متاح أيضاً في English

7 أيلول/سبتمبر 2017


يبدو أن دعم واشنطن المستمر للقوات الكردية في سوريا محفوف بالمخاطر التي تهدد العلاقة الأمريكية-التركية. فمنذ عام 2015، كانت الولايات المتحدة تتعاون مع «حزب الاتحاد الديمقراطي» وجناحه العسكري - «وحدات حماية الشعب» - من أجل محاربة تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية»، وشمل ذلك توفير الأسلحة والمساعدة التقنية إلى «قوات سوريا الديمقراطية»، وهي منظمة جامعة كردية/عربية تهيمن عليها «وحدات حماية الشعب». غير أن «حزب الاتحاد الديمقراطي» - «وحدات حماية الشعب» يتفرع عن «حزب العمال الكردستاني» [«الحزب»]، وهي جماعة تركية صنفتها وزارة الخارجية الأمريكية منظمة إرهابية أجنبية، وتحاربها أنقرة منذ عقود.

وكما سيتمّ توضيحه أدناه، يسيطر الأكراد الأتراك على القيادة الجماعية لكل من «حزب العمال الكردستاني» و «حزب الاتحاد الديمقراطي» - «وحدات حماية الشعب» ويتخذون من جبال قنديل شمال العراق مقراً لهم. ومنذ عام 2015، عندما تعثرت محادثات السلام بين «حزب العمال الكردستاني» وأنقرة، استأنف «الحزب» حربه الدموية ضد قوات الأمن التركية والتي شملت قتل مدنيين. وإذا استحوذ «الحزب» على أسلحة أمريكية من «وحدات حماية الشعب» واستخدمها ضد تركيا، سيُحدث ذلك حتماً شرخاً في العلاقات بين واشنطن وأنقرة التي تعتبر أقدم حليف ذي أغلبية مسلمة للولايات المتحدة والعضو الوحيد من دول الشرق الأوسط في حلف "الناتو".

وللتخفيف من الخطر الذي ينطوي عليه مثل هذا التصدع، على الولايات المتحدة أن تدرس احتمال اتخاذ تدابير [مناسبة] لتقويض قيادة «حزب العمال الكردستاني» الكردية التركية بدرجة كبيرة في جبال قنديل. وسيسمح ذلك للأكراد السوريين بالسيطرة على «حزب الاتحاد الديمقراطي» - «وحدات حماية الشعب» وتحويل انتباههم عن تركيا بصوة كاملة. وعندها، يمكن لواشنطن أن تفصل سياستها حيال الأكرد في سوريا عن علاقاتها الهشة مع تركيا.

الجذور السورية لـ «حزب العمال الكردستاني»

عندما تمّ تأسيس «حزب العمال الكردستاني» في عام 1978، دعمه السوفييت باعتباره وسيلة لتقويض تركيا، حليفة الولايات المتحدة. وقد تأسس «الحزب» أولاً في سهل البقاع في لبنان الذي كان آنذاك خاضعاً للاحتلال السوري. ووفر حافظ الأسد، والد الديكتاتور السوري الحالي، ملاذاً آمناً لأعضاء الجماعة طيلة عقود، كما عاش زعيم «حزب العمال الكردستاني» عبدالله أوجلان في دمشق خلال ثمانينيات وتسعينيات القرن الماضي. 

وبعد انتهاء الحرب الباردة، واصلت الحكومة السورية استخدام «حزب العمال الكردستاني» كورقة مساومة خلال مفاوضاتها مع تركيا حول حقوق المياه في نهر الفرات. وفي الوقت نفسه، وبينما هناك أغلبية من الأكراد السوريين المهمشين وعديمي الجنسية في ظل حكم "حزب البعث"، اعتبرت دمشق «حزب العمال الكردستاني» وسيلة لإبعاد الغضب الكردي القومي عنها وتوجيهه نحو "عدو خارجي".

وإذ أدركت أنقرة احتمال أن يتسبّب أي تمرد لـ «حزب العمال الكردستاني» ومقره في سوريا بزعزعة استقرارها، اتخذت خطوات ضد دمشق في أيلول/سبتمبر 1998، وهددت باجتياح سوريا ما لم يتوقف النظام عن إيواء «الحزب». ورداً على ذلك، طرد الأسد أوجلان ووقّع "بروتوكول أضنة" مع تركيا، منهياً بذلك رسمياً الدعم السوري لـ «حزب العمال الكردستاني».

لكن بما أنه كان قد سُمح لـ «الحزب» بتجنيد أعضاء بشكل علني ونشر حملة دعائية في سوريا لما يقارب عقدين من الزمن، تمكّن «حزب العمال الكردستاني» من تشكيل قاعدة دعم محلية استمرت لفترة طويلة بعد قطع العلاقات بشكل رسمي. ففي عام 2002، قرر «الحزب» إطلاق فروع له في سوريا وإيران والعراق، غير أن «حزب الاتحاد الديمقراطي» كان الوحيد من بين هذه الفروع الذي انطلق بزخم.

وبحلول عام 2012، عندما كانت الحرب الأهلية في سوريا في أوجها، وحيث قام نظام الأسد بإخلاء مناطق الأكراد لتخصيص المزيد من الموارد لجبهات أخرى، تمكن «حزب الاتحاد الديمقراطي» من ملء الفراغ بسرعة. وقد أسس «الحزب» 3 كانتونات أعلنت نفسها ذاتياً في شمال سوريا، هي: عفرين وكوباني والقامشلي، التي تعرف جماعياً بروج آفا. ومنذ عام 2014، استحوذت «وحدات حماية الشعب»/«قوات سوريا الديمقراطية» على نحو 20 في المائة من الأراضي السورية بفضل مساعدة عسكرية أمريكية كبيرة. كما تربط الميليشيا علاقات بروسيا التي نشرت قواتها مؤخراً في منطقة تمركز «وحدات حماية الشعب» في عفرين المتاخمة لتركيا.

خوض معركة الأكراد الأتراك

على الرغم من أن صفوف «وحدات حماية الشعب» وقيادتها تتألف بمعظمها من أكراد سوريين، إلّا أنّ القيادة الكردية التركية عموماً لـ «حزب العمال الكردستاني» في شمال العراق هي التي تتولى إدارتها. وكما أوضح تقرير صدر في أيار/مايو 2017 عن "مجموعة الأزمات الدولية"، توجه "الكوادر المدربة لـ «حزب العمال الكردستاني»" معظم العمليات الرئيسية لـ «وحدات حماية الشعب»: "فهم يتخذون القرارات بشأن الميزانية الإدارية وتعيين قادة الخطوط الأمامية والمناطق وتوزيع العتاد العسكري والتنسيق مع الجيش الأمريكي. أما التكنوقراطيون، ومعظمهم من المتعاطفين مع أوجلان والذين لا يتمتعون بأي خلفية عسكرية في «حزب العمال الكردستاني»، فيقودون اسمياً المؤسسات الرسمية في منطقة الحكم الذاتي".

 

وعلاوةً على ذلك، تمنع هيكلية قيادة «وحدات حماية الشعب» الأفراد الذين لا يتمتعون برصيد داخل «حزب العمال الكردستاني» من تولي مناصب رفيعة: "هناك فرصة ضئيلة لتقدم قادة الوحدات والفصائل، الذين انضم معظمهم إلى «وحدات حماية الشعب» بعد تأسيسها عام 2012... حيث أن الأكاديميات الإيديولوجية التي تنطوي على فرص للترقية تتطلب التزاماً طويل الأمد بنضال «حزب العمال الكردستاني»، تحت قيادة «الحزب» المباشرة في جبال قنديل". ونتيجةً لذلك، تتمتع قيادة «حزب العمال الكردستاني» في قنديل - المؤلفة من مراد كارايلان وجميل بايق ودوران كالكان ورضا ألتون، وجميعهم من الأكراد الأتراك - بتأثير كبير على «وحدات حماية الشعب». 

وببساطة، إن الأكراد السوريين ضمن أسرة «حزب العمال الكردستاني» الأوسع نطاقاً مرغمون على الاضطلاع بدور ثانوي مقارنةً بالأكراد الأتراك الذين يركزون على معركتهم ضد أنقرة ويعتبرون سوريا مسرحاً ثانوياً للعمليات يُستخدم كعامل دعم ضد تركيا. وسيؤدي هذا الموقف لا محالة إلى أزمة في العلاقات الأمريكية-التركية، خاصة إذا قرر «حزب العمال الكردستاني» السماح للأسلحة التي وفرتها الولايات المتحدة لـ «وحدات حماية الشعب» بالوصول إلى كوادره في تركيا. وعلى الرغم من أن قيادة هذه الوحدات قد وعدت واشنطن بأن ذلك لن يحصل، قد يسعى قادة «حزب العمال الكردستاني» إلى تحقيق هذا الأمر لأن الصدع في العلاقات الأمريكية-التركية يصب في مصلحته في نهاية المطاف. وبالتالي فالسؤال الذي يطرح نفسه هنا ليس ما إذا كانت الأسلحة الأمريكية المزودة لـ «وحدات حماية الشعب» ستنتهي في أيدي «حزب العمال الكردستاني»، بل متى.

تركيز «حزب الاتحاد الديمقراطي» على سوريا

لحسن الحظ، بإمكان الولايات المتحدة منع حدوث مثل هذا الاحتمال وسط مواصلة التعاون مع الأكراد السوريين. فالسياسة الرسمية لواشنطن تتمثل بأن «حزب الاتحاد الديمقراطي» - «وحدات حماية الشعب» هو منظمة سورية لكن عليه تحويل هذا المبدأ إلى واقع إذا كان يأمل في تجنب حصول صدع في العلاقة مع تركيا. وهذا يعني إقناع تركيا بإطلاق عمليات عسكرية لها ثلاثة أهداف رئيسية هي: ضرب شبكات مخابئ «حزب العمال الكردستاني» تحت الأرض في جبال قنديل في العراق، وحشر قوات «الحزب» في المنطقة، وربما حتى القبض على بعض كبار قادته الأكراد الأتراك. وأي حملة من هذا القبيل ستتطلب من واشنطن الحصول على موافقة بغداد على شن عمليات في أراضيها، فضلاً عن تقديم المساعدة الاستخباراتية للقوات التركية والذخيرة الخاصة الضرورية لاستهداف المخابئ المحصنة.

وبدورها ستؤدي هذه السياسة إلى تمكين الأكراد السوريين في روج آفا، الأمر الذي يفتح الطريق أمامهم لتولّي القيادة الكاملة لـ «حزب الاتحاد الديمقراطي»- «وحدات حماية الشعب». ومن المفترض أن تركز الجماعة بعد ذلك على خوض معركة الأكراد السوريين على روج آفا، وليس على حرب «حزب العمال الكردستاني» ضد تركيا في سوريا وخارجها. وسيتعين على واشنطن أيضاً طمأنة الأكراد السوريين بأنها ستحافظ على مصالحهم إذا نفذوا ذلك. ومن ناحية أخرى، إن اتخاذ خطوات ملموسة بحق «حزب العمال الكردستاني» يمكن أن يحسّن إلى حدّ كبير العلاقات الأمريكية-التركية التي شهدت توترات كبيرة خلال السنوات الأخيرة.

ويدرك الأكراد السوريون على الأرجح أنهم سيحتاجون إلى دعم واشنطن فيما يتخطى معركتهم القصيرة الأمد ضد تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية». فمن دون دعم الولايات المتحدة، سوف تقع روج آفا تحت السيطرة الروسية الكاملة وتتحول إلى النسخة الشرق أوسطية من ترانسنيستريا ، وهي جزء منفصل عن مولدوفا تهيمن عليه موسكو ويفتقر إلى أي نوع من الشرعية الدولية. وكبديل، ومع تموضع واشنطن في زاويتها الدبلوماسية، قد تتصدى روج آفا للضغوط التي تمارسها روسيا ونظام الأسد، مما تتيح لنفسها المجال لالتقاط أنفاسها وربما التوجه نحو تحقيق الحكم الذاتي في نهاية المطاف داخل سوريا. لكن أياً من هذا لن يكون ممكناً طالما أن قيادة «حزب العمال الكردستاني» في جبال قنديل تسيطر على الحركة الكردية السورية، على نحو يضر بها.

 

سونر چاغاپتاي هو زميل "باير فاميلي" ومدير برنامج الأبحاث التركية في معهد واشنطن، ومؤلف الكتاب الجديد: "السلطان الجديد: أردوغان وأزمة تركيا الحديثة".

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 2857

How to Untie the Syrian Kurdish Knot with Turkey

Soner Cagaptay

Also available in العربية

September 7, 2017


To preserve its relations with both Ankara and Rojava, Washington may need to push for military action against the PKK leadership in northern Iraq.

Washington's ongoing support for Kurdish forces in Syria is fraught with risks for the U.S.-Turkish relationship. Since 2015, the United States has been cooperating with the Democratic Union Party (PYD) and its military wing, the People's Defense Units (YPG), to combat the Islamic State, including through the provision of weapons and technical assistance to the Syrian Democratic Forces (SDF), the Kurdish/Arab umbrella organization dominated by the YPG. Yet the PYD-YPG is an offshoot of the Kurdistan Workers Party (PKK), a Turkish group that the State Department has designated as a Foreign Terrorist Organization and which Ankara has been fighting for decades.

As will be explained below, the collective leadership of the PKK and the PYD-YPG is dominated by Turkish Kurds based in the Qandil Mountains of northern Iraq. Since 2015, when peace talks between the PKK and Ankara broke down, the group has resumed its bloody war against Turkish security forces, which has included killing civilians. If the PKK acquires U.S. arms from the YPG and uses them against Turkey, it would no doubt rupture Washington's ties with Ankara, America's oldest Muslim-majority ally and the only NATO member in the Middle East.

To mitigate the threat of such a rift, the United States should consider taking steps to significantly degrade the PKK's Turkish Kurdish leadership in Qandil. This would allow Syrian Kurds to take control of the PYD-YPG and turn their attention fully away from Turkey. Washington could then untangle its Kurdish policy in Syria from its fragile relations with Turkey.

THE PKK'S SYRIAN ROOTS

When the PKK was established in 1978, the Soviets supported it as a means of undermining U.S.-aligned Turkey. The organization first formed in Lebanon's Beqa Valley, at the time occupied by Syria. Hafiz al-Assad, father of Syria's current dictator, provided safe haven to the group's members for decades, and PKK leader Abdullah Ocalan lived in Damascus in the 1980s and the 1990s.

Following the end of the Cold War, the Syrian government continued to use the PKK as a bargaining chip in its negotiations with Turkey over water rights on the Euphrates River. At the same time, with a majority of Syrian Kurds disenfranchised and stateless under the Baath regime, Damascus saw the PKK as a way to redirect Kurdish nationalist anger away from itself and toward an "outside enemy."

Recognizing the potentially destabilizing impact of a Syria-based PKK insurgency, Ankara took steps against Damascus in September 1998, threatening invasion unless the regime stopped harboring the group. In response, Assad kicked Ocalan out and signed the Adana Protocol with Turkey, officially ending Syrian support for the PKK.

Yet because the group had been permitted to openly recruit members and disseminate propaganda in Syria for nearly two decades, it was able to form a local support base that persisted well beyond the formal severing of ties. In 2002, the PKK decided to launch franchises in Syria, Iran, and Iraq, but the PYD was the only one of these offshoots that took off.

By 2012, when Syria's civil war was in full swing and the Assad regime had vacated Kurdish areas to devote more resources to other fronts, the PYD was able to fill the void quickly. The group established three self-declared cantons in northern Syria: Afrin, Kobane, and Qamishli, collectively known as Rojava. Since 2014, the YPG/SDF have captured about 20 percent of Syrian territory with formidable U.S. military assistance. The militia also has ties with Russia, which recently deployed troops to the YPG's Afrin enclave abutting Turkey.

FIGHTING THE TURKISH KURDS' BATTLE

Although the YPG's rank and file is mostly composed of Syrian Kurds, the group is run by the PKK's largely Turkish Kurdish leadership in northern Iraq. As a May 2017 report by the International Crisis Group explained, "PKK-trained cadres" direct most of the YPG's core activities: "They decide the administration budget, appointment of front-line and regional commanders, distribution of military supplies and coordination with the U.S. military. Technocrats, mostly Ocalan sympathisers without PKK militant background, nominally run the self-rule area's formal institutions."

Furthermore, the YPG leadership structure prevents individuals without PKK credentials from gaining top positions: "Squadron and platoon commanders, who mostly joined the YPG after its 2012 creation...have little chance to advance, as the ideological academies that offer promotion prospects require long-term commitment to the PKK's struggle, directly under PKK control in Qandil." As a result, the Qandil-based PKK command -- led by Murat Karayilan, Cemil Bayik, Duran Kalkan, and Riza Altun, all Turkish Kurds -- maintains deep influence over the YPG.

Put simply, Syrian Kurds in the wider PKK family are forced to play second fiddle to Turkish Kurds, who are focused on the fight against Ankara and regard Syria as a secondary theater of operations, to be used as a lever against Turkey. This position will inevitably lead to a crisis in U.S.-Turkish ties, particularly if the PKK decides to allow the YPG's U.S.-supplied weapons to flow to its cadres in Turkey. Although the YPG leadership has promised Washington that this will not happen, PKK leaders may well push for it because a U.S.-Turkey rupture is ultimately in their interests. The question, then, is not if the YPG's American weapons will end up in the PKK's hands, but when.

FOCUSING THE PYD ON SYRIA

Fortunately, the United States can prevent such an eventuality while continuing to work with the Syrian Kurds. Washington's official policy is that the PYD-YPG is a Syrian organization, but it needs to make this axiom a reality if it hopes to avoid a rift with Turkey. That would mean convincing Turkey to launch military operations with three key objectives: hitting the PKK's underground bunker complexes in Iraq's Qandil Mountains, pressuring the group's forces in the area, and perhaps even capturing some of its senior Turkish Kurdish commanders. Any such campaign would require Washington to secure Baghdad's consent for operations in its territory, as well as to provide Turkish forces with intelligence assistance and the special munitions necessary for targeting hardened bunkers.

This policy would in turn empower the Syrian Kurds in Rojava, opening the path for them to assume full leadership over the PYD-YPG. Presumably, the group would then be fully focused on fighting the Syrian Kurdish battle for Rojava, and not the PKK's war against Turkey in Syria and beyond. Washington would also need to reassure the Syrian Kurds that it will guard their interests if they make this pivot. Meanwhile, taking concrete steps against the PKK could greatly improve U.S.-Turkish ties, which have suffered significantly in recent years.

The Syrian Kurds likely realize that they will need Washington's support well beyond the short-term fight against the Islamic State. Without U.S. backing, Rojava will fall under complete Russian control and turn into the Middle Eastern version of Transnistria, a breakaway part of Moldova that is dominated by Moscow and lacks any sort of international legitimacy. Alternatively, with Washington in its diplomatic corner, Rojava could counter the pressure emanating from Russia and the Assad regime, giving itself room to breathe and perhaps a route toward eventual autonomy inside Syria. But none of this will be possible so long as the PKK's Qandil leadership dominates the Syrian Kurdish movement, to its detriment.

Soner Cagaptay, the Beyer Family Fellow and director of the Turkish Research Program at The Washington Institute, is the author of The New Sultan: Erdogan and the Crisis of Modern Turkey.