أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

صفحات رأي ومقالات

كيف نوجه رسالة إلى مصر

ديفيد شينكر و اريك تراجر

متاح أيضاً في English

نيويورك ديلي نيوز

12 أيلول/سبتمبر 2012


تعمل حكومة الرئيس المصري محمد مرسي على إذكاء وتأجيج الغضب ضد الولايات المتحدة، ولذا يجب على إدارة الرئيس الأمريكي أوباما أن ترسل الآن رسالة واضحة إزاء هذا الأمر.

إن صورة علم تنظيم «القاعدة» الأسود وهو يحلق فوق السفارة الأمريكية في القاهرة بالتزامن مع أحداث 11 أيلول/سبتمبر قد هزت مشاعر الأمريكيين، وكان ينبغي أن تهز الحكومة المصرية أيضاً. فمصر تحصل سنوياً على 1.5 مليار دولار من الولايات المتحدة كما أن واشنطن على وشك أن تسقط مليار دولار من الديون المترنحة لهذه الدولة.

لكن حكومة مصر ترسم مساراً مختلفاً. فبدلاً من استنكار هذا الانتهاك الفاضح للسيادة الأمريكية، تجاهل الحزب الحاكم في مصر الذي يمثله «الإخوان المسلمون» الأمر. ومن المقرر أن يقوم «الإخوان» بمظاهرة حاشدة يوم الجمعة الرابع عشر من أيلول/سبتمبر، وذلك على مسافة تبعد مرمى حجر من السفارة الأمريكية في القاهرة.

وفي مصر والولايات المتحدة تم عزو الهجوم على نطاق واسع إلى فيلم غامض مسيء للإسلام. لكن الحقيقة هي أن «الجماعة الإسلامية» وهي منظمة وصمتها الولايات المتحدة بالإرهاب قد أعلنت منذ عدة أسابيع أنها سوف تحتج أمام السفارة الأمريكية في 11 أيلول/سبتمبر للمطالبة بالإفراج عن الشيخ الضرير عمر عبد الرحمن الذي كان هو العقل المدبر لأول تفجير لـ "مركز التجارة العالمي" عام 1993.

ولا شك أن ظهور الفيديو قد أدى إلى تزايد دعم «الجماعة الإسلامية» خاصة بين السلفيين ومشجعي كرة القدم سيئي الصيت الذين انجروا إلى الأحداث والمعروفين باسم "الألتراس."

ومع أن «الإخوان» ربما لم يكونوا قد خططوا للهجوم إلا أن التنظيم سرعان ما تقبله مستغلاً الجريمة لاستثارة التوترات الطائفية وزيادة نفوذه الذي يُكسبه شعبية في الشارع بسبب معاداته للأمريكيين. وهذا يعني أنه في أول سرد رسمي لهم للأحداث باللغة العربية ادعى «الإخوان» أن الفيلم المسيء للإسلام قد موله مسيحيون أقباط في أمريكا وامتدحوا المصريين "لانتفاضتهم انتصاراً للنبي."

وبعدها بيوم لم يقدم الرئيس المصري «الإخواني» مرسي اعتذاراً للولايات المتحدة، بل وفقاً لصحيفة الأهرام المصرية اليومية فإنه قد أصدر توجيهاً إلى السفارة المصرية في واشنطن باتخاذ إجراءات قانونية ضد منتجي الفيلم.

غير أن تحفظ مرسي لا يمثل مفاجأة، حيث إن لـ «الإخوان» تاريخاً من البغض للولايات المتحدة وحلفائها. ومرسي نفسه هو من "المشككين في هوية مرتكبي" أحداث 11 أيلول/سبتمبر، وهذا موثق بالصوت والصورة. كما أن مصر تحت قيادته قد قامت بمبادرات دبلوماسية غير مسبوقة تجاه إيران.

لكن الهجوم على السفارة الأمريكية قد خرج عن الحدود فيما كان بالإمكان منعه منذ البداية، ذلك أن دعوات التنظيم الإرهابي للاحتجاجات خارج السفارة كان ينبغي أن تستحث نشر قوات أمن مصرية إضافية. لكن تخلي مرسي عن مسؤوليته ودفاع «الإخوان المسلمين» عن الهجوم ينبغي أن يكون هو القشة الأخيرة.

وينبغي أن تضع واشنطن مرسي أمام خيار واحد وهو إما أن يلتزم بالأعراف الدولية أو أن يجد نفسه رئيساً لدولة مهددة بانهيار اقتصادي على نحو متزايد. فالاقتصاد المصري يتعثر حالياً إذ أن عدم الاستقرار والعنف آخذ في الازدياد مما يُخيف السياح والمستثمرين على حد سواء.

ولتدارك الأزمة تلتزم واشنطن بإسقاط مليار دولار من الديون كما أنها قد دعمت بقوة قرض "صندوق النقد الدولي" المعلق والبالغ 4.8 مليار دولار. وفي هذا الأسبوع تحديداً رعت السفارة الأمريكية في القاهرة وفداً من رجال الأعمال الأمريكيين لتشجيع الاستثمار الأمريكي في مصر التي كانت "مفتوحة للأعمال."

غير أن كل هذا ينبغي تعليقه مؤقتاً حيث تستطيع واشنطن التسامح بكثرة لكنها لا يمكن أن تستثمر في مصر في وقت ترفض فيه القاهرة تحقيق الحد الأدنى من تأمين الدبلوماسيين الأمريكيين. وما دام «الإخوان المسلمون» وإدارة مرسي يصرون على تشجيع السلفيين وبلطجية مشجعي الكرة على استهداف المصالح الأمريكية فإن الولايات المتحدة تستطيع بل وينبغي أن تفرض تكاليف باهظة على هذا الخيار.

وبالإضافة إلى التداعيات الاقتصادية ينبغي أن تكون هناك تداعيات دبلوماسية لسلوك مرسي. وفي ظل غياب التعبيرات الواضحة التي تعبر علناً عن الندم باللغة العربية ينبغي أن يرفض المسؤولون الأمريكيون مقابلة مرسي عندما يزور نيويورك في أواخر أيلول/سبتمبر لحضور اجتماع الجمعية العامة للأمم المتحدة.

فمرسي و «الإخوان» لم يخجلوا من التعبير عن مشاعرهم تجاه الولايات المتحدة سواء كان ذلك من خلال تبنيهم نظرية المؤامرة تجاه أحداث 11 أيلول/سبتمبر أو بالدعوة إلى إطلاق سراح الإرهابي المُدان عمر عبد الرحمن. وتُعتبر زيارة مرسي إلى الولايات المتحدة فرصة لواشنطن لتوصيل رسالة بنفس درجة الوضوح، وهي أن التحريض على احتجاجات عنيفة محتملة ضد الولايات المتحدة هو سلوك دولة مارقة وليست حليفة.

 

ديفيد شينكر هو مدير برنامج السياسة العربية في معهد واشنطن. أريك تراغر هو زميل الجيل التالي في المعهد.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

Articles & Op-Eds

How to Send Egypt a Message

David Schenker and Eric Trager

Also available in العربية

New York Daily News

September 12, 2012


The Morsi government is encouraging anti-American unrest; the Obama administration must now send a clear signal back.

The image of a black Al Qaeda flag flying above the United States Embassy in Cairo on Sept. 11 shocked Americans. It should have shaken the Egyptian Government as well. Egypt receives $1.5 billion annually from the U.S., and Washington is about to forgive $1 billion in the ailing state's debt.

But Egypt's government is charting a different course. Rather than denouncing the egregious violation of U.S. sovereignty, Egypt's ruling party, the Muslim Brotherhood, is doubling down. This Friday, the Brotherhood is slated to hold a mass demonstration just two blocks from the U.S. compound in Cairo.

In Egypt and the U.S., the attack is widely being attributed to an obscure anti-Islamic movie. But in fact, Al Gamaa Al Islamiyya, a U.S.-designated terrorist organization, announced weeks ago that it would protest in front of the U.S. Embassy on 9/11 to demand the release of Sheikh Omar Abdel Rahman, the blind cleric mastermind of the first World Trade Center Bombing in 1993.

No doubt, the appearance of the video led to a spike in support for the Gamaa demonstration, notably among Salafists and Egypt's infamously drugged-up soccer fans known as "Ultras."

So while the Brotherhood may not have planned the attack, the organization quickly embraced it, exploiting the crime to foment sectarian tensions and burnish its anti-American populist credentials. To wit, in its first official account of events in Arabic, the Brotherhood claimed that the anti-Islamic movie had been funded by Coptic Christians in America and praised Egyptians for "rising up for the victory of the Prophet."

A day later, the Muslim Brotherhood's Egyptian president Mohammed Morsi had not offered an apology to the U.S. Instead, according to the Egyptian daily Al Ahram, Morsi directed the Egyptian Embassy in Washington to take legal action against the film's producers.

Morsi's reticence comes as little surprise. The Muslim Brotherhood has a history of antipathy toward the U.S. and its allies. Morsi himself is a well-documented 9/11 "truther" and, under his leadership, Egypt has made unprecedented diplomatic overtures to Iran.

But the attack on the Embassy went beyond the pale. For starters, it was preventable. A terrorist organization's calls for protests outside the Embassy should have prompted the deployment of additional Egyptian security forces. Morsi's abdication of responsibility and the Muslim Brotherhood's defense of the assault should be the last straw.

Washington should present President Morsi with a choice: Either abide by international norms or preside over an Egypt increasingly threatened by economic collapse. At present, Egypt's economy is tanking as instability and violence continue to scare away both tourists and investors.

To forestall a crisis, Washington committed to forgive that $1 billion in debt, and it has ardently supported a pending $4.8 billion International Monetary Fund loan. And just this week, the Embassy in Cairo sponsored a delegation of American businessmen in Cairo to encourage U.S. investment in an Egypt that was "open for business."

All of this should be put on hold. Washington can tolerate a lot, but it cannot invest in an Egypt that refuses at a minimum to secure American diplomats. So long as the Muslim Brotherhood and the Morsi Administration insist on encouraging Salafists and soccer hooligans to target U.S. interests, the U.S. can and should impose costs for this choice.

In addition to economic repercussions, there should be diplomatic consequences for Morsi's behavior. Absent unequivocal expressions of public remorse in Arabic, U.S. officials should refuse to meet with Morsi when he visits New York in late September for the United Nations General Assembly.

Morsi and the Muslim Brotherhood have never been shy about expressing their feelings to the United States, whether about 9/11 conspiracy theories, or in advocating for the release of convicted terrorist Omar Abdel Rahman. Morsi's visit to the U.S. is an opportunity for Washington to deliver a similarly unvarnished message: Inciting potentially violent protests against the United States is the act of a rogue, not an ally.

David Schenker is director of the Program on Arab Politics at The Washington Institute. Eric Trager is the Institute's Next Generation fellow.