أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 1524

منزل المرشد: السلطة الحقيقية في إيران

مهدي خلجي

متاح أيضاً في English

1 يونيو 2009


في 3 حزيران/يونيو، سوف تحتفل إيران بالعيد السنوي العشرين لتعيين خامنئي مرشداً [أعلى] لإيران. وبينما ينصب الاهتمام الدولي على الانتخابات الرئاسية المزمع إجراؤها في 12 حزيران/يونيو، إلا أن الفائز في هذا "السباق" سوف يظل تابعاً لخامنئي في السلطة والأهمية، رغم ابتعاد الأخير عن الأضواء. وبسبب افتقاره إلى الجاذبية والمؤهلات الدينية التي كان يتمتع بها سلفه، تمكن خامنئي من الحصول على منصبه القوي من خلال السيطرة على وكالات حكومية رئيسية وبناء بيروقراطية قوية تحت توجيهه. إن فهم دور خامنئي في النظام الحكومي الإيراني المعقد وكيفية إدارته لسلطته المُساء تقديرها سيكون عاملاً رئيسياً للولايات المتحدة في الوقت الذي تضطلع فيه باستراتيجية جديدة للتعامل مع طهران.

نقطة بداية ضعيفة

عندما تولى القيادة في عام 1989، واجه خامنئي ثلاث عقبات خطيرة أمام شرعيته: فقد كان يفتقر إلى المؤهلات الدينية التي تطلبها الدستور الأصلي، ولم يمارس سلطة سياسية كبيرة بصفته رئيساً [للبلاد]، كما أن عملية الاختيار المثيرة للجدل ألقت ظلالاً من الشك على شرعية تعيينه.

ووفقاً للنسخة الأصلية من الدستور، كان لا يفترض أن يكون المرشد [الأعلى] سلطة دينية ("مجتهد") فحسب، بل أن يكون أيضاً مصدراً يُقتدى به ("مرجع" أو "مجتهد" له أتباعه الدينيون). وخامنئي، الذي حتى لم يعترف به قط كـ "مجتهد"، ناهيك عن كونه "مرجعاً"، والذي كانت معرفته الدينية محل شك، لم يبدو أنه ترقى إلى هذا الشرط.

وعند تعيينه من قبل مجلس الخبراء، كان خامنئي يقضي العام الثامن له في رئاسة الجمهورية الإيرانية، وهو منصب رمزي إلى حد كبير منحه القليل من الصلاحيات. كما كانت هناك شخصيات أخرى بارزة في الجمهورية الإسلامية، مثل رئيس «مجلس الشورى» أكبر هاشمي رافسنجاني، ورئيس «السلطة القضائية» عبدالكريم موسوي اردبيلي، ورئيس الوزراء مير حسين موسوي، التي حظت بنفس الدرجة من السلطة، إن لم يكن أكثر. وعلاوة على ذلك، لم يكن خامنئي من المقربين للقائد السابق، روح الله خميني، إلا بعد الثورة. وكان رافسنجاني من بين المعينين بمنصبه الأصلي في المجلس الثوري والذين حظوا بثقة خميني، بينما لم ينضم خامنئي إلى ذلك المجلس إلا بعد أن قرر المجلس إضافة أعضاء جدد.

ومع ذلك، فقبل عدة أشهر من وفاة خميني، قام بفصل خليفته المعين رسمياً، آية الله حسين علي منتظري، وأمر بإجراء مراجعة دستورية. وقد كان الهدف من المراجعة هو إزالة مطلب "المرجع"، الذي من شأنه أن يسمح لـ "المجتهد" أن يصبح مرشداً. ولسوء الحظ بالنسبة لخامنئي، الذي لم يكن "مرجعاً" ولا "مجتهداً"، توفي خميني وعين «مجلس الخبراء» خامنئي خلفاً له قبل التصديق على الدستور المعدل، مما جعل التعيين محل شك.

خلق جيل جديد من السياسيين

أتاحت جاذبية خميني وسلطته ممارسة النفوذ دون بيروقراطية راسخة، لكن خامنئي كان على دراية بالاختلافات الجوهرية بين ظروفه والقيادة. ونظراً لأن الدستور المنقح منح الرئيس قدراً أكبر من السلطة تزيد كثيراً عما منحه الدستور الأصلي، مارس رافسنجاني مزيداً من النفوذ بدرجة أكبر من سلفه، لكن رغم ذلك حاول خامنئي توسيع سلطته على حساب رافسنجاني. ومنذ البداية، خلق بيروقراطية ضخمة لكي يحتفظ من خلالها بالسلطة.

ومن بين الجوانب الهامة للجهود التي اضطلع بها، قيامه بالسيطرة على الوكالات القائمة. وقد تغلب على موقفه الضعيف بين مسؤولي الجمهورية الإسلامية المخضرمين وداخل المؤسسة الدينية من خلال استغلال صلاته في «وزارة الاستخبارات» و«فيلق الحرس الثوري الإسلامي» (IRGC). وأثناء الحرب الإيرانية العراقية التي دامت ثماني سنوات، طور خامنئي - الذي كان يشغل آنذاك منصب الرئيس - علاقات مع هاتين المؤسستين اللتين كانتا توسعان من سلطتهما إلى ما يتجاوز النطاق الأمني، وأصبحتا تشاركان في الأنشطة الاقتصادية أيضاً. وقد أدى انتهاء الحرب وعودة القادة إلى مدنهم إلى إتاحة المجال لخامنئي لإنشاء قاعدة للسلطة خارج المؤسسات السياسية التقليدية.

وقد نجح خامنئي في تجنيد سياسيين شباب موالين له، من خلال جذب القادة العسكريين والوكلاء الاستخباراتيين إلى الساحة السياسية. ومن بين الشخصيات التي برزت من دائرة خامنئي، علي لاريجاني، رئيس «مجلس الشورى»، وسعيد جليلي، سكرتير «المجلس الأعلى للأمن القومي»، ومحمود أحمدي نجاد، الرئيس، وعزت الله ضرغامي، رئيس «هيئة الإذاعة والتليفزيون القومية»، ومحمد فوروزانديه، رئيس «مؤسسة [المعوقين] والمستضعفين». وقد حولت هذه التعيينات بصفة جوهرية مؤسسات مثل «فيلق الحرس الوطني الإسلامي» إلى تكتلات اقتصادية وسياسية وعسكرية واستخباراتية مسؤولة أمام المرشد [الأعلى] فقط.

ومن خلال جلب جيل جديد من السياسيين والتهميش التدريجي لمسؤولي الجمهورية الإسلامية المخضرمين الذين الذين لم يكونوا على استعداد للعمل تحت قيادته، ركز خامنئي النفوذ تحت سلطته. وقد أصبح رئيس جميع الفروع الثلاثة للحكومة فضلاً عن الإعلام الرسمي للدولة، إلى جانب كونه القائد الأعلى لجميع القوات المسلحة، بما في ذلك الشرطة والجيش و«فيلق الحرس الثوري الإسلامي». وفي غضون ذلك، حول المؤسسة الدينية من مركز ديني تقليدي إلى جهازاً عقائدياً ووكيلاً للحكومة. وبصفته مرشداً [أعلى]، يسيطر [القائد] أيضاً على المؤسسات الأكثر ربحية في البلاد، مثل «ضريح الإمام الرضا» و«مؤسسة [المعوقين] والمستضعفين». ويستخدم الأموال التي تجلبها لتدعيم أجندته السياسية داخل إيران وخارجها، حيث شيد عشرات المراكز والمؤسسات والبنوك الإسلامية ذات المهام السياسية والثقافية والاجتماعية والاقتصادية.

منزل المرشد

بالإضافة إلى سيطرته على الوكالات الحالية، بدأ خامنئي أيضاً بناء مكتبه أو "منزله" الشخصي. وقد جرت العادة على أن يكون رئيس مكتب المرجعية الدينية إما نجل [المرشد الأعلى] أو أحد رجال الدين البارزين؛ فعلى سبيل المثال، عمل خميني من منزله، حيث كان يتلقى المعلومات ويصدر القرارات بصفة أساسية عن طريق نجله أحمد. وفي المقابل، أنشأ خامنئي بيروقراطية واسعة وحول "منزل المرشد" إلى مؤسسة شاسعة ومتطورة، تضم آلاف الموظفين الذين يعملون في إدارات مختلفة.

ونظراً لحداثة سن أبنائه وعدم رغبة علماء الدين البارزين في شغل هذا المنصب، اختار خامنئي عالم دين منخفض المستوى، محمد (غلام حسين) محمدي جولبايجاني، لقيادة مكتبه. وليس من الغريب أن لدى جولبايجاني أيضاً خلفية استخباراتية قوية. فقد كان أحد مؤسسي جهاز الاستخبارات الإيراني وشغل، من بين مناصب أخرى، منصب نائب وزير الاستخبارات للشؤون البرلمانية تحت قيادة خميني.

كما أن خامنئي تواصل أيضاً مع الأجهزة الاستخباراتية لتعيين شخصيات هامة أخرى داخل منزل المرشد. فعلى سبيل المثال، اختار أصغر مير حجازي، وهو مؤسس آخر لجهاز الاستخبارات، رئيساً لإدارة الاستخبارات لديه. وقد بدأ مير حجازي حياته المهنية كقائد في لجنة الثورة الإسلامية (مؤسسة عسكرية أقيمت بعد الثورة موازية للشرطة وتم تفكيكها لاحقاً)، وعمل نائباً في مكتب الشؤون الدولية لوزارة الاستخبارات قبل الانتقال إلى مكتب خامنئي. لقد كان تعيين جولبايجاني ومير حجازي ذو مغزى كبير، لأنه رغم كونهما عالمي دين منخفضي المستوى، إلا أن أياً منهما لم يأتي مباشرة من المدرسة الدينية، ويعد ذلك خروجاً عن ممارسات خميني.

لقد حول خامنئي منزل المرشد إلى بؤرة مركزية للسلطة. فهو ليس فقط المقر الفعلي للقوات المسلحة الإيرانية، لكنه أيضاً المقر الفعلي لوزارة الاستخبارات، ومنسق الفروع الثلاثة للحكومة، ومدير الشؤون الاقتصادية، وخصوصاً لمؤسسات المرشد الأعلى. كما أنه يشرف على «جيش القائد» («سيباه ولي أمر»)، وهي وحدة عسكرية خاصة تضم 21,000 جندي تحت قيادة «فيلق الحرس الثوري الإسلامي»، مسؤولة عن تأمين منزل المرشد.

مؤسسات السياسة الخارجية

لقد أنشأ خامنئي لجان وكيانات جديدة خاضعة لسيطرته لكي تقوم بتوجيه السياسة الخارجية الإيرانية، وتم تخفيض مسؤولية وزارة الخارجية بحيث أصبحت تركز على القضايا الإدارية في أغلب الأحيان. وقد اعتمدت هذه "المكاتب" على علاقات خامنئي العسكرية. فعلى سبيل المثال، يتألف «مركز المستشارين العسكريين» من قادة سابقين رفيعي المستوى في «فيلق الحرس الثوري الإسلامي» والجيش، مثل القائد الأعلى الأسبق لـ «فيلق الحرس الثوري الإسلامي» الجنرال رحيم يحيى صفوي، والقائد الأعلى الأسبق للقوات المسلحة الجنرال علي شهبازي، وقائد قوات الشرطة الأسبق هدايات لطفيان. كما أن «المجلس الأعلى للدفاع الوطني» (SCND) يلعب دوراً هاماً. يشار إلى أن سكرتير «المجلس الأعلى للدفاع الوطني» معين رسمياً من قبل الرئيس، لكن يتم اختياره في الواقع من قبل المرشد [الأعلى]. كما أن لخامنئي مستشارين آخرين محل ثقة، مثل علي أكبر ولاياتي، الذي شغل منصب وزير الشؤون الخارجية لمدة ستة عشر عاماً. لقد كان اختيار ولاياتي هو [تفضيل] خامنئي الأول لمنصب رئيس الوزراء عام 1982، لكن ولاياتي فشل في الحصول على موافقة البرلمان وأصبح بدلاً من ذلك وزيراً للخارجية [في الحكومة التي ترأسها] حسين موسوي (مرشح في انتخابات الرئاسة المقبلة).

لا يتمتع بسلطة مطلقة، لكنه الأكثر قوة

في النظام الاستبدادي الملكي التقليدي الذي كان قائماً في إيران [قبل عام 1979]، لم يكن الشاه أو الملك يتمتع بسلطة مطلقة؛ فقد أُرغم على موازنة سلطته مع هيئات اجتماعية أخرى، مثل علماء الدين وأصحاب الأراضي ورؤساء القبائل. وقد لجأ هؤلاء الحكام إلى الديوان الملكي لترسيخ تفوقهم والحفاظ عليه في جميع نواحي الحكم. وعقب ابتعاد ثورة خميني عن هذا التقليد، أعاد خامنئي إنشاء هذا الهيكل البطريركي الذي كان قائماً قبل اندلاع الثورة والمتعلق بالقيادة السياسية.

وخلال فترة العشرين عاماً منذ توليه السلطة، تمكن خامنئي من التغلب على العقبات الأولية التي واجهته وتحويل المنزل التقليدي للسلطة الدينية إلى منزل قوي للبيروقراطية. ونتيجة ذلك، لم تعد عملية صنع القرارات في إيران تعتمد على مشاركة [أجهزة مختلفة داخل الحكومة]، كما كانت في السنوات الأخيرة من حياة خميني، وخاصة فيما يتعلق بالحرب. إن منزل المرشد هو الذي يتخذ اليوم القرارات الرئيسية، سواء كانت سياسية أو عسكرية، أو إذا كانت تتعلق بالسياسة الداخلية أو الخارجية، وخامنئي هو صانع السياسات الرئيسي. وعند اتخاذه قرارات هامة، يعتمد خامنئي على رجاله الذين اختارهم بعناية أكثر من اعتماده على أعضاء الحكومة المنتخبين. ويعترف خامنئي بأن له القول الفصل في قضايا السياسة الخارجية.[ وفي هذا الصدد]، كتب مستشاره علي أكبر ولاياتي في العام الماضي قائلاً، "سألني أوروبي مؤخراً ’من الذي يحكم إيران؟‘ الإجابة واضحة. إذا كان شيء ما يتعلق بقضايا استراتيجية وجوهرية، فوفقاً للدستور الذي تمت الموافقة عليه في استفتاء، يكون للمرشد القول الفصل".

يتعين على الولايات المتحدة أن تضع في اعتبارها سلطة المرشد بينما تبدأ نهجاً جديداً للتعامل مع النظام الإيراني. وفي الوقت الذي يمثل فيه الرئيس محمود أحمدي نجاد الوجه العام لإيران، تكمن السلطة الحقيقية مع خامنئي، وهو مشغل ماهر من خلف الكواليس. إن إيجاد طريقة للتعاطي مباشرة مع خامنئي، مع عدم السماح له بالاختفاء وراء الرئيس الأكثر ظهوراً، سيكون تحدياً كبيراً لواشنطن في الشهور المقبلة.

مهدي خلجي

مهدي خلجي هو زميل أقدم في معهد واشنطن يركز على السياسة الداخلية لإيران إلى جانب سياسات الجماعات الشيعية في الشرق الأوسط.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 1524

House of the Leader: The Real Power in Iran

Mehdi Khalaji

Also available in العربية

Policy #1524

June 1, 2009


On June 4, Iran will mark the twentieth anniversary of Ali Khamenei's appointment as the leader of Iran. While international attention is focused on the June 12 presidential elections, the winner of that contest will remain subordinate to Khamenei in power and importance, despite the latter's low profile. Lacking the charisma and religious credentials of his predecessor, Khamenei has managed to attain his powerful position by taking control of key government agencies and building a robust bureaucracy under his direction. Understanding Khamenei's role in Iran's complicated governmental system and how he wields his understated power will be key for the United States as it undertakes a new strategy for dealing with Tehran.

A Weak Starting Point

When he assumed the leadership in 1989, Khamenei faced three serious obstacles to his legitimacy: he lacked the religious credentials required by the original constitution, he had not exercised significant political authority in his capacity as president, and a questionable selection process cast doubt on the legality of his appointment.

According to the original version of the constitution, the leader was not only supposed to be a religious authority (mujtahid) but also a source of emulation (marja or a mujtahid with religious followers). Khamenei, who had never even been recognized as mujtahid, let alone a marja, and whose religious knowledge was in question, did not appear to measure up to this requirement.

At the time of his appointment by the Assembly of Experts, Khamenei was serving his eighth year as Iran's president, a largely symbolic office that offered him little power. Other prominent figures in the Islamic Republic, such as Majlis speaker Akbar Hashemi Rafsanjani, head of the judiciary Abdulkarim Moussavi Ardebili, and prime minister Mir Hossein Moussavi, were all equally powerful, if not more so. Moreover, Khamenei was not particularly close to the previous leader, Ruhollah Khomeini, until after the revolution. Rafsanjani was among Khomeini's trusted appointments to his original Revolutionary Council; Khamenei joined only after the council decided to add members.

Several months before Khomeini's death, however, he dismissed his officially designated successor, Ayatollah Hossein Ali Montazeri, and ordered a constitutional review. The review aimed to remove the marja requirement, which would allow a mujtahid to become leader. Unfortunately for Khamenei, who was neither a marja nor a mujtahid, Khomeini died and the Assembly of Experts appointed Khamenei as his successor before the revised constitution was ratified, leaving the appointment in question.

Creating a New Generation of Politicians

Khomeini's charisma and authority enabled him to exercise power without an established bureaucracy, but Khamenei was aware of the essential differences of his circumstances and leadership. Since the revised constitution gave much more authority to the president than did the original, Rafsanjani exercised more power than his predecessor, but Khamenei still tried to expand his authority at Rafsanjani's expense. From the outset, he created a colossal bureaucracy through which to maintain power.

One important part of this effort was to take control of existing agencies. He overcame his lowly standing among veteran Islamic Republic officials and within the clerical establishment by making use of his connections in the Ministry of Intelligence and in the Islamic Revolutionary Guard Corps (IRGC). During the eight-year Iran-Iraq war, then president Khamenei developed ties with these institutions, which were expanding their authority beyond the security sphere, becoming involved in economic activities as well. The end of the war and the return of commanders to their cities allowed Khamenei to create a power base outside of conventional political institutions.

Khamenei succeeded in recruiting young, loyal politicians by bringing military commanders and intelligence agents into the political arena. Among the figures who emerged from Khamenei's circle were Ali Larijani, the speaker of the Majlis, Said Jalili, the secretary of the Supreme Council for National Security, Mahmoud Ahmadinezhad, the president, Ezzatollah Zarghami, the head of state radio and television, and Mohammad Forouzandeh, the head of the Oppressed Foundation. These appointments essentially converted organizations like the IRGC into economic-political-military-intelligence conglomerations responsible only to the leader.

By bringing in a new generation of politicians and gradually marginalizing the veteran Islamic Republic officials who were not willing to work for him, Khamenei concentrated power under his authority. He became head of all three branches of the government and the state media, as well as the commander-in-chief of all armed forces, including the police, the army, and the IRGC. In the process, he has transformed the clerical establishment from a traditional religious institution into an ideological apparatus and government proxy. As leader, he also controls the country's most lucrative institutions, such as the Imam Reza Shrine and the Oppressed Foundation. He has used the funds they generate to advance a political agenda both inside Iran and abroad, building dozens of centers, foundations, and Islamic banks with political, cultural, social, and economic missions.

House of the Leader

In addition to taking over existing agencies, Khamenei also began building up his personal office or "house." Traditionally, the head of a religious authority's office was either a son or a prominent cleric; for example, Khomeini worked from his home, receiving information and issuing orders primarily through his son, Ahmad. In contrast, Khamenei created an extensive bureaucracy and transformed the "house of the leader" into a vast and sophisticated institution, with thousands of employees working in different departments.

Since his sons were too young, and prominent clerics were unwilling to take the position, Khamenei chose a low-ranking cleric, Mohammad (Gholam Hossein) Mohammdi Golpayegani, to lead his office. Not surprisingly, Golpayegani also had a strong intelligence background. He was one of the founders of Iran's intelligence service and served, among other positions, as the intelligence ministry's deputy on parliamentary affairs under Khomeini.

Khamenei also reached into the intelligence services for other significant appointments in the house of the leader. For example, he selected Asghar Mir Hejazi, another founder of the intelligence service, as the head of his intelligence department. Mir Hejazi began his career as a commander in the Committee of the Islamic Revolution (a post-revolutionary military organization parallel to the police that was later disbanded), and served as a deputy in the intelligence ministry's international affairs office before moving over to Khamenei's office. The appointments of Golpayegani and Mir Hejazi were also significant because, though low-level clerics, neither came directly from the seminary, a departure from Khomeini's practice.

Khamenei turned the house of the leader into a focal point of power. It is not only the de facto headquarters of Iran's armed forces, but also the actual headquarters of the intelligence ministry, the coordinator of the three branches of government, and the manager of economic matters, especially of the supreme leader's organizations. It also oversees the Leader's Army (Sepah Vali-e Amr), a special military unit of 21,000 soldiers under the supervision of the IRGC, responsible for the security of the leader's house.

Foreign Policy Institutions

To direct Iranian foreign policy, Khamenei created new committees and entities under his control, with the Foreign Ministry relegated to mostly administrative issues. These offices also drew on Khamenei's military connections. For example, the Military Advisors Center consists of former high-ranking IRGC and army commanders, such as former IRGC commander-in-chief General Rahim Yahya Safavi, former army commander-in-chief General Ali Shahbazi, and former head of police Hedayat Lotfian. The Supreme Council for the National Defense (SCND) also plays an important role. The secretary of the SCND is formally appointed by the president but in reality is chosen by the leader. Khamenei also has other trusted advisors, such as Ali Akbar Velayati, who served sixteen years as the minister of foreign affairs. Velayati was Khamenei's first choice for prime minister in 1982 but failed to gain parliamentary approval and instead became foreign minister under Mir Hossein Moussavi (a candidate in the upcoming presidential election).

Not Omnipotent, but Most Powerful

In the traditional monarchic despotism of Iran, the shah or king was not omnipotent; he was forced to balance power with other social authorities such as clerics, landlords, and tribal heads. Such rulers used the royal court to establish and maintain their preeminence in all aspects of governance. Following Khomeini's revolutionary break with this tradition, Khamenei has reproduced this prerevolutionary, patriarchal structure of political leadership.

During his twenty years in power, Khamenei has managed to overcome his initial obstacles and transform the conventional house of religious authority into a bureaucratic powerhouse. As a result, Iranian decisionmaking is no longer shared, as it was in the last years of Khomeini's life, especially with regard to war. The house of the leader makes the main decisions today, whether political or military, domestic or foreign policy related, and Khamenei is the principal decisionmaker. Khamenei relies more on his own hand-picked men when making major decisions than on elected members of government. Khamenei readily admits that he has the final say on foreign policy issues. As his advisor Ali Akbar Velayati wrote last year, "a European asked me recently 'Who rules Iran?' The response is clear. If something is related to strategic and fundamental issues, according to the constitution, which was approved by a referendum, the leader has the final say."

The United States must keep in mind the authority of the leader as it begins a new approach to dealing with the Iranian regime. While President Mahmoud Ahmadinezhad is the public face of Iran, the real power lays with Khamenei, a skilled behind-the-scenes operator. Finding a way to directly engage Khamenei, while not letting him hide behind the more visible president, will be a critical challenge for Washington in the months ahead.

Mehdi Khalaji is a senior fellow at The Washington Institute, focusing on the domestic policy of Iran as well as the politics of Shiite groups in the Middle East.