أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

شهادة أمام الكونغرس

تهديد «حزب الله» المتزايد لمصالح الأمن القومي الأمريكي في الشرق الأوسط

ماثيو ليفيت

متاح أيضاً في English

"اللجنة الفرعية للشؤون الخارجية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا" في مجلس النواب الأمريكي

22 آذار/مارس 2016


فيما يلي مقتطفات من الكلمة التي ألقاها الدكتور ليفيت أمام "اللجنة الفرعية للشؤون الخارجية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا" في مجلس النواب الأمريكي. بإمكانك تحميل ملف الـ "پي.دي.إف" باللغة الانكليزية لقراءة الشهادة بأكملها.

 

على الرغم من الاتفاق النووي الإيراني، أو ربما بسببه، لا يزال «حزب الله» يشكل تهديداً كبيراً للمصالح الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط وفي الدول المجاورة للولايات المتحدة أيضاً، كما تشير الأحداث في أوروبا وأمريكا الجنوبية. فإيران هي الممول الرئيسي لـ «حزب الله»، إذ تقدم للحزب السياسي والجماعة المتشددة في لبنان نحو 200 مليون دولار سنوياً، بالإضافة إلى الأسلحة والتدريب والاستخبارات ومساعدة لوجستية. لكن على مدى ثمانية عشر شهراً قبل التوقيع على الاتفاق النووي، كانت إيران قد خفضت من دعمها المالي لـلحزب، وهي فائدة جانبية لنظام العقوبات الدولية الذي لم يسبق له مثيل ويستهدف البرنامج النووي الإيراني، فضلاً عن انخفاض أسعار النفط.

وقد أدى هذا التخفيض إلى الحد على الأغلب من معظم الأنشطة السياسية والاجتماعية والعسكرية لـ «حزب الله» في الداخل اللبناني. إذ توجب على مؤسساته التي تقدم الخدمات الاجتماعية خفض التكاليف، كما تلقى الموظفون رواتبهم في وقت متأخر أو سُرحوا من عملهم، كما انخفض تمويل المنظمات المدنية، مثل المحطة التلفزيونية الفضائية، "المنار"، التابعة للحزب. وعلى النقيض من ذلك، لم تبرز أي علامات تشير إلى أن قيادة «حزب الله» في سوريا، التي كانت تمثل أولوية بالنسبة إلى طهران نظراً إلى التزامها بالدفاع عن نظام بشار الأسد، تعاني من أي ضائقة مالية.

ومن المرجح أن تستفيد العمليات الإقليمية والدولية لـ «حزب الله» أيضاً من زيادة الإنفاق الإيراني في أعقاب الاتفاق مع إيران. فلم تعد أنشطة الحزب تقتصر على التنافس على السلطة السياسية في لبنان ومحاربة إسرائيل. فمع حصول الحزب على المزيد من المال، من المتوقع أن يكثف من مساعداته للميليشيات الشيعية في العراق واليمن بالتعاون مع إيران، ويرسل أعداد صغيرة من المقاتلين المدربين ذوي المهارات لدعم القوات المحلية، وفي بعض الحالات، المحاربة معهم. ففي العراق، يقوم «حزب الله» بتدريب الميليشيات الشيعية والمشاركة معها في القتال، ومن المرجح أن تتوسع هذه العمليات. وعلى الرغم من أنها تقاتل نيابة عن الحكومة، إلا أن تكتيكاتها تفاقم التوترات الطائفية. أما في اليمن، فبصمة «حزب الله» صغيرة، ولكن يمكن أن تتوسع من خلال موارد إضافية. ويحاول الحزب بالفعل إيجاد دعم طويل الأجل لهذه العمليات، مثل الاستثمارات في مؤسسات الواجهة التجارية في العراق.

وأخيراً، يمكن لزيادة التمويل أن تساعد «حزب الله» على إعادة تشكيل قدراته خارج نطاق الشرق الأوسط أيضاً. فالحزب أكثر انشغالاً من أي وقت مضى، وخاصة في سوريا، حيث يشارك في عمليات مسلحة وأنشطة دعم مكلفة. في الوقت نفسه، وسّع الحزب أنشطته الإقليمية أبعد من ذلك، وأنهك خزينته حيث كان عليه أن يقلّص أنشطته في لبنان. كما أن «حزب الله» المدعّم حديثاً، من المتوقع أن يعمل بقوة أكبر في الداخل والخارج، ويشكل تحدياً للأحزاب الأقل تسلحاً عبر الطيف السياسي اللبناني ويعزز أنشطته المزعزعة للاستقرار خارج لبنان. وفي الوقت الذي قد لا ترغب فيه إيران أن يُشاهدها العالم تنخرط مباشرة في الأنشطة التي يمكن أن تقوض الاتفاق النووي، يزيد احتمال اعتمادها بصورة أكبر على الأنشطة التي يمكن إنكارها بشكل معقول من حزبها الإرهابي الأساسي العميل، أي «حزب الله».

والخبر السار في هذا الإطار هو أن سلطات إنفاذ القانون في الولايات المتحدة تستهدف بشكل استباقي الأنشطة الإجرامية لـ «حزب الله» في جميع أنحاء العالم. فعبر العمل بشكل وثيق مع وكالات إنفاذ القانون، لم تسرّع وزارة الخزانة الأمريكية من وتيرة تسميات «حزب الله» وتصنيفه [كمنظمة إرهابية] فحسب، بل نقلت الصراع المالي إلى بيروت، حيث وضع «حزب الله» أمواله حتى وقت قريب في المصارف مع إفلاته من العقاب. ومع تسلحها الآن بـ "قانون منع التمويل الدولي عن «حزب الله»"، فإن الوكالات الأمريكية مخولة حقاً بـ "إحباط شبكة" الحزب "على كل منعطف" من خلال فرض عقوبات على المؤسسات المالية التي تتعامل مع «حزب الله» أو محطة تلفزيون "المنار" التابعة له.

وفي الوقت نفسه، ومن خلال "صندوق الشراكة لمكافحة الإرهاب"، أطلقت وزارة الخارجية الأمريكية مبادرة دولية لرفع مستوى الوعي حول النطاق الواسع لأنشطة إيران و «حزب الله» الإرهابية والإجرامية في جميع أنحاء العالم، وزيادة التعاون في مجال إنفاذ القانون والتنسيق بين مجموعة واسعة من الدول لمواجهة هذه الأنشطة. فقد شاركت الولايات المتحدة في "القيادة المشتركة لمجموعة تنسيق إنفاذ القانون" مع "وكالة تطبيق القانون الأوربية"، "يوروبول"، حول أنشطة «حزب الله» غير المشروعة، وعُقدت ورشات عمل إقليمية لبناء القدرات في أمريكا الجنوبية وأوروبا الشرقية وغرب أفريقيا وجنوب شرق آسيا، ركزت جميعها على تحسين قدرة الدول المحلية على كشف الأنشطة الإرهابية والإجرامية للحزب في مناطقها وملاحقتها.

وقد أدرك «حزب الله» ذلك. لذا ألقى الأمين العام للحزب، حسن نصر الله، خطابات تلفزيونية مطولة في تموز/ يوليو وكانون الأول/ ديسمبر 2015، لا تركز على خسائر المعركة في سوريا، بل على إنكار أن «حزب الله» يشارك في الأنشطة التجارية والإعلان عن تهم "غير عادلة" بأن له علاقات بالاتجار بالمخدرات وغسل الأموال. وقد أتت هذه الإنكارات الشديدة رداً على تكثيف جهود الولايات المتحدة والحلفاء الرئيسيين لاستهداف أنشطة الحزب الدولية الإجرامية المنظمة الواسعة النطاق.

وقد اشتكى نصر الله من أنه عندما تتهم الولايات المتحدة الأشخاص أو الشركات عن وجود علاقات بينهم وبين «حزب الله»، تتخذ المصارف اللبنانية في الواقع "اجراءات" ضد هؤلاء الأشخاص أو حسابات كياناتهم. وقد تابع المحققون العديد من القضايا المتعلقة بـ «حزب الله» على مدى السنوات الأخيرة لدرجة أن الحزب لم يعد قادراً على التظاهر بتجاهلهم. وقد أدى ذلك إلى الوصول إلى الدائرة المقربة من قيادة «حزب الله»، بمن فيهم عبد الله صفي الدين، ممثل الحزب في إيران وابن عم نصر الله.

وفي الخطاب الذي أدلاه في كانون الثاني/ ديسمبر، تحدى نصر الله متهميه قائلاً: "أحضروا لي دليلاً!". وبالتالي، تقوم الولايات المتحدة وشركاؤها بذلك على وجه التحديد، ومع تأثير كبير.

 

ماثيو ليفيت هو زميل "فرومر- ويكسلر" ومدير برنامج "ستاين" للاستخبارات ومكافحة الإرهاب في معهد واشنطن.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

Congressional Testimony

Hezbollah's Growing Threat Against U.S. National Security Interests in the Middle East

Matthew Levitt

Also available in العربية

House Foreign Affairs Subcommittee on the Middle East and North Africa

March 22, 2016


In-depth testimony on the group's ongoing criminal, terrorist, and military activity in the region and beyond, including the implications of a potential cash influx from Iran as international sanctions are relaxed.

The following is an excerpt from Dr. Levitt's prepared remarks. To read his full testimony, download the PDF.

Despite the Iran deal, or perhaps because of it, Hezbollah continues to present a significant threat to U.S. interests both in the Middle East and, as events in Europe and South America indicate, closer to home. Iran is Hezbollah's primary benefactor, giving the Lebanese political party and militant group some $200 million a year in addition to weapons, training, intelligence, and logistical assistance. For about eighteen months prior to the nuclear deal, however, Iran had cut back its financial support to Hezbollah -- a collateral benefit of the unprecedented international sanctions regime targeting Iran's nuclear program, as well as the fall in oil prices.

The cutback mostly curtailed Hezbollah's political, social, and military activities inside Lebanon. Its social-service institutions had to cut costs, employees received paychecks late or were laid off, and funding for civilian organizations, such as the group's satellite television station, al-Manar, was reduced. By contrast, Hezbollah's Syria command, which has been a priority for Tehran given its commitment to defending Bashar al-Assad's regime, showed no sign of financial hardship even then.

Increased Iranian spending in the wake of the Iran deal is likely to benefit Hezbollah's regional and international operations. The group is no longer limited to jockeying for political power in Lebanon and fighting Israel. With more money, it should be expected to step up its aid to Shiite militias in Iraq and Yemen in cooperation with Iran, sending small numbers of skilled trainers to bolster local forces and, in some cases, fight alongside them. In Iraq, Hezbollah is training and fighting with Shiite militias, and that will likely expand. Though they are fighting on behalf of the government, their tactics exacerbate sectarian tensions. In Yemen, Hezbollah's footprint is small, but it could expand with additional resources. The group is already trying to find long-term support for these operations, such as investments in commercial front organizations in Iraq.

Finally, increased funding could help Hezbollah reconstitute its capabilities beyond the Middle East as well. Hezbollah is busier than ever, especially in Syria, where it is engaged in expensive militant operations and support activities. Meanwhile, the group has expanded its regional activities further afield, straining its coffers even as it has had to cut back its activities in Lebanon. A newly enriched Hezbollah should be expected to act more aggressively at home and abroad, challenging less-militant parties across the Lebanese political spectrum and boosting its destabilizing activities outside Lebanon. And at a time when Iran may not want to be seen engaging directly in activities that could undermine the nuclear deal, the likelihood increases that it will rely still more on the reasonably deniable activities of its primary terrorist proxy organization, Hezbollah.

The good news is that U.S. law enforcement has been proactively targeting Hezbollah criminal activities worldwide. Working closely with law enforcement agencies, the Treasury Department has not only picked up the pace of its Hezbollah designations but also taken the financial fight to Beirut, where Hezbollah has until recently banked with impunity. Now armed with the Hezbollah International Financing Prevention Act, U.S. agencies truly are empowered to "thwart" the group's "network at every turn" by imposing sanctions on financial institutions that deal with Hezbollah or its al-Manar television station.

At the same time, through the Counterterrorism Partnership Fund (CTPF) the State Department has launched an international initiative to raise awareness about Iran and Hezbollah's broad range of terrorist and criminal activities around the world, and to increase law enforcement cooperation and coordination among a wide range of countries to counter these activities. The U.S. co-led the Law Enforcement Coordination Group with Europol focused on Hezbollah's illicit activities, and regional capacity building workshops were held in South America, Eastern Europe, West Africa, and Southeast Asia, all focused on improving local countries' ability to detect and prosecute Hezbollah's terrorist and criminal activities in their regions.

And Hezbollah has taken notice. Leader Hassan Nasrallah gave lengthy televised addresses in July and December 2015, focused not on the group's battlefield losses in Syria, but on denying that Hezbollah engages in commercial activities and declaring "unjust" charges that it has ties to drug trafficking and money laundering. The vehement denials were a response to intensifying efforts by the United States and key allies to target the group's wide-ranging international organized criminal activities.

Nasrallah further lamented that when the United States accuses people or businesses of having ties to Hezbollah, Lebanese banks actually "take measures" against those people or the accounts of their entities. Investigators have pursued so many Hezbollah-related cases in recent years that the group can no longer pretend to ignore them. The trail has led to the inner circle of Hezbollah's leadership, including Abdullah Safieddine, the group's representative to Iran and a cousin of Mr. Nasrallah.

In his December speech, Nasrallah challenged his accusers: "Bring me the evidence!" The United States and partner countries are doing just that, with great effect.

Matthew Levitt is the Fromer-Wexler Fellow and director of the Stein Program on Counterterrorism and Intelligence at The Washington Institute.