أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 2263

«حماس» على خطى «حزب الله»

إهود يعاري

متاح أيضاً في English

3 حزيران/يونيو 2014


في الثاني من حزيران/يونيو توصلت حركتا «فتح» و «حماس» إلى تشكيل حكومة وحدة وطنية في السلطة الفلسطينية بعد أشهرٍ من بدء محادثات المصالحة بينهما، أسفرت عن حلّ «حماس» شكلياً لحكومتها في قطاع غزة. وتأتي هذه الخطوة ثمرة نقاشٍ داخلي طويل بين القيادات العليا للحركة حول مسارها المستقبلي. وعوضاً عن الالتزام باستراتيجية تعود إلى سبع سنوات وتقضي بإعطاء الأولوية لعملية الحكم الحصري "لحصن غزة" دون بذل أي جهد جدي لرأب الصدع مع «فتح» في الضفة الغربية، غيّرت قيادات «حماس» منهجها اليوم متجّهة نحو برنامج مختلف وهو: اقتباس نهج «حزب الله» من لبنان وزرعه في فلسطين.

وهذا يعني بالنسبة لـ «حماس» الاندماج في النظام السياسي العام مع الحفاظ في الوقت نفسه على قواتها المسلحة المستقلة والمتقنة التجهيز والعمل على إبقاء سيطرتها على غزة من خلال القبضة التي تحكمها أصلاً على البيروقراطية المحلية، وكذلك من خلال شبكتها الواسعة من المؤسسات الاجتماعية، وبالطبع كوادرها العسكرية وأفرادها في المجال الأمني الذي يبلغ عدد أفراده 20 ألف شخص مدربين تدريباً جيداً. كما أن الحركة قد وظّفت ما لا يقل عن 50 ألف شخص في القطاع العام منذ استحواذها عسكريّاً على الأراضي في حزيران/يونيو 2007. لكن في الوقت نفسه تبدو «حماس» مصممة على استغلال اتفاق المصالحة كوسيلة لإحياء تنظيمها السياسي ونشاطاتها الإرهابية السرية في الضفة الغربية. وقد صرح رئيس الوزراء المستقيل اسماعيل هنية هذا الأسبوع واصفاً الصيغة الجديدة على أفضل وجه، "إننا نترك الحكومة ولكننا ما زلنا في الحكم… نتخلى عن الكرسي إنما ليس عن الدور الذي نلعبه."

النقاش الداخلي

إنّ هذا التغيير في استراتيجية «حماس» - أي الانتقال من احتكار السلطة في غزة إلى إبرام اتفاقٍ يسمح للسلطة الفلسطينية ببسط بعض النفوذ هناك، ومن توجيه النقد اللاذع للرئيس الفلسطيني محمود عباس إلى التعاون الحذر معه - جاء نتيجة محاسبة ذاتية مؤلمة في صفوف قياديي الحركة. وقد نشأت هذه المساءلة الداخلية في أعقاب وقوع عدة انتكاسات في الآونة الأخيرة: وهي خسارة نظام «الإخوان المسلمين» الحليف في مصر المجاورة، ووقف عمليات تهريب الأسلحة عبر شبه جزيرة سيناء، وتراجع المساعدات المادية من إيران وقطر، واستياء سكان غزة المتزايد بسبب ارتفاع معدلات البطالة والمصاعب الاقتصادية والقمع المستمر.

وفي خضم هذه الظروف الحالكة، عقد قادة «حماس» عدة لقاءات في الأسابيع الأخيرة مع مسؤولين إيرانيين في طهران وقيادات من «حزب الله» في بيروت. وهناك، أُوعز إلى الممثلين عن الحركة باعتماد خطة أكثر طموحاً من مجرد الدفاع عن غزة، وتحديداً تحدي «فتح» ومنافستها في أراضيها في الضفة الغربية. وتم في هذا الإطار طرح النهج الذي يتبعه «حزب الله» في لبنان - والذي يمكن تلخيصه بعبارة واحدة هي "أضف الأصوات الانتخابية إلى سلاحك" - كنموذج يُحتذى به. وفي أعقاب ذلك، أشادت طهران باتفاق المصالحة المبدئي بين حركتي «حماس» و «فتح»؛ وفي 26 نيسان/أبريل، صرّحت المتحدثة باسم وزارة الخارجية الإيرانية أن "جمهورية إيران الاسلامية ترحّب بتضامن الحركات الفلسطينية ضد النظام الصهيوني [في إسرائيل]، وكذلك بأي شكل من أشكال المصالحة الوطنية التي تؤدي إلى تحقيق الوحدة الفلسطينية." وما هذا التصريح سوى واحد من عدة دلائل على موافقة إيران المسبقة على الاتفاق.

استقلال عسكري

على غرار موقف «حزب الله» الراسخ في لبنان، تُوضِح التصريحات الصادرة عن العديد من قادة «حماس» أن الجناح العسكري للجماعة  - «كتائب عز الدين القسام» - لن يتخلى عن سلاحه ولن يخضع لإشراف السلطة الفلسطينية بأي شكل من الأشكال وسوف يستمر في نموه كحركة "مقاومة" قوية. وينطبق الأمر نفسه على المخابرات والأجهزة الأمنية. وتماماً كما يملك «حزب الله» قوات مسلحة تتخطى بأشواط قوة الجيش اللبناني ومختلف المخابرات السرية، كذلك تنوي «حماس» توسيع وحداتها العسكرية المستقلة، التي هي بالفعل أكبر بكثير وأفضل تجهيزاً من "قوات الأمن الوطني" التابعة للسلطة الفلسطينية.

على سبيل المثال، ستواصل ورش التصنيع في غزة إنتاج صواريخ "إم-75" - القادرة على الوصول إلى تل أبيب والقدس -بالرغم من موافقة عباس سابقاً على مبدأ الدولة الفلسطينية المنزوعة السلاح. وليس لدى «حماس» أيضاً أي نية لتفكيك أجهزتها الاستخباراتية، التي ستسمح لها بالحفاظ على السيطرة الفعلية على قطاع غزة بنفس الطريقة التي تسيطر بموجبها قوات «حزب الله» على جنوب بيروت وجنوب لبنان ووادي البقاع. ومع أنه سيتم إدخال بعض الوحدات التابعة للسلطة الفلسطينية إلى غزة، سيقتصر دورها الرئيسي على تزويد المعابر الحدودية مع مصر وإسرائيل بالرجال؛ ومن غير المرجح أن يؤدي ذلك إلى تغيير الموقف بشكل عام على الأرض.

تغلغل سياسي

إذا اختارت «حماس» اتباع نهج «حزب الله»، فستسعى أيضاً إلى الاندماج في مؤسسات السلطة الفلسطينية في أسرع وقت ممكن على أمل السيطرة على البعض منها. وفي حين وافق حالياً قادة «حماس» على عدم تعيين أي وزراء لهم في الحكومة شبه التكنوقراطية التي أعيد تنظيمها برئاسة رئيس وزراء السلطة الفلسطينية رامي الحمد الله، يبقى تركيز الحركة الحقيقي منصبّاً على الانتخابات التي وعد عباس بإجرائها بعد ستة أشهر، وعلى تشكيل "هيئة قيادية" في منظمة التحرير الفلسطينية التي تم الاتفاق عليها حديثاً وتضم شخصيات بارزة من «حماس» و «حركة الجهاد الإسلامي في فلسطين» للمرة الأولى على الإطلاق.

وعلى غرار «حزب الله»، تطمح «حماس» إلى العمل كحزب سياسي. فهي تتوق إلى المشاركة في الانتخابات الرئاسية والبرلمانية والبلدية آملةً أن تضمن الحصول على أغلبية الأصوات، أو على الأقل أغلبيتها النسبية، وتشكل بالتالي الحكومة أو أن تصبح شريك في الائتلاف. لكن قادة «حماس» يشككون حالياً في قدرتهم على الفوز بالأغلبية في انتخابات الرئاسة أو "المجلس التشريعي"، ويعود ذلك بالدرجة الأولى إلى انفراد عباس بتغيير قانون الانتخابات من جانب واحد بما يلائم مرشحي «فتح» وذلك بصورة أفضل من القانون السابق، الذي كان ساري المفعول عندما فازت «حماس» في الانتخابات التشريعية عام 2006. وفي الوقت نفسه أشار قادة الحركة إلى طموحهم باستلام الحقائب الوزارية الهامة - كما فعل «حزب الله» في لبنان - والتأثير على القرارات البرلمانية.

وفي الواقع أن اتفاق المصالحة سبق وأن عاد بمكاسب جمة على الحركة. إذ عملت السلطة الفلسطينية من وراء الكواليس على رفع الحظر عن أنشطة «حماس» السياسية في الضفة الغربية، الأمر الذي أتاح للحركة استئناف تجمعاتها العامة ولقاءات حملتها وتوزيع الكتب والمنشورات التابعة لها. بيد أن إحياء أنشطة «حماس» العلنية يؤثر على الأجهزة الأمنية للسلطة الفلسطينية: فبالرغم من الأوامر القاضية بإحباط الأنشطة الإرهابية، لم يعد الضباط المتوسطو المستوى ومرؤوسوهم يعلمون إذا ومتى يتدخلون في اجتماعات «حماس». على سبيل المثال، إن جلسات تلاوة القرآن الكريم برعاية «حماس» غالباً ما  كانت غطاءً لتجنيد الأفراد في خلايا إرهابية سرية.

هذا ويُلاحظ الظهور المتجدد للحركة في الضفة الغربية، في مخيمات اللاجئين الواقعة خارج المدن الرئيسية بشكل خاص. إذ نادراً ما تخاطر القوات الأمنية التابعة للسلطة الفلسطينية بدخول تلك المخيمات، مما يفسح المجال أمام الشبان المحليين بالانتظام ضمن ميليشيات مسلحة بأسلحة خفيفة وقادرة على تحدي السلطة الفلسطينية. ومن المؤكد أن «حماس» ستميل بصورة أكثر إلى الارتباط بتلك الحركات فتحثها على اعتناق عقيدتها وتمدّها بالتمويل اللازم وبأسلحة أفضل إذا أمكن.

منظمة التحرير الفلسطينية وإسرائيل

يشكل تحقيق الهدف الطموح بالسيطرة على منظمة التحرير الفلسطينية، "الممثل الوحيد للشعب الفلسطيني" والكيان المسؤول عن التفاوض مع إسرائيل أهمية لـ «حماس» لا تقل عن تلك التي ذكرت أنفاً. وإذا أصبح زعيم «حماس» خالد مشعل يوماً ما خلفاً لعباس في رئاسة منظمة التحرير الفلسطينية، سيتوجب عليه أن يقرر من بين أمور أخرى، ما إذا كان سيتراجع عن "اتفاقات أوسلو" أم لا.

وحتى الآن، لم يُشر كبار المسؤولين في «حماس» بصورة علنية إلى هذه المعضلة المحتملة، ويعود ذلك أساساً إلى أنه ما تزال هناك عقبات عديدة تقف أمام الجماعة للانضمام إلى منظمة التحرير الفلسطينية، ناهيك عن السيطرة عليها. وفي الوقت الراهن، يجدر بالذكر أن «حماس» لم تحتج بصوت عال جداً عندما أكّد عباس أن حكومة الوحدة الوطنية الجديدة ستعترف بإسرائيل وتدعم حل الدولتين، على الرغم من إصرار الجماعة على أنه لم يتم الاتفاق على أي برنامج سياسي كجزء من اتفاق الوحدة.

الخاتمة

إن ظهور نهج «حزب الله» في السلطة الفلسطينية يشكل خطراً كبيراً على أي احتمال لاستئناف المفاوضات الجدية مع إسرائيل. فإذا بقي الجدول الزمني الحالي للانتخابات والعملية الانتقالية على ما هو عليه، لن يقتصر الوضع في هذا الوقت من العام القادم على امتلاك «حماس» لقوة عسكرية كاملة وأجندة إرهابية في غزة، بل سيكون لها كذلك نفوذٌ قوي في الضفة الغربية، كما سيكون لها على الأقل رأي في قرارات السلطة الفلسطينية ومنظمة التحرير الفلسطينية - إن لم يكن لها حق الفيتو على تلك القرارات. وفي تلك الحالة قد ينشأ نظامٌ جديد في الأراضي الفلسطينية حيث سيأخذ الحزب السياسي المدجج بالسلاح بالتفوق شيئاً فشيئاً على الحكومة المركزية ويبدأ في السيطرة على العديد من المؤسسات. من هنا يتعين على الدول الغربية التي تسارع إلى تأييد المصالحة بين «فتح» و «حماس» أن تدرك ما يحدث فعلياً على الأرض وهو: إعادة دخول «حماس» في الواقع إلى "المحافظات الشمالية" في الضفة الغربية عوضاً عن استعادة السلطة الفلسطينية "للمحافظات الجنوبية" التابعة لها في غزة.

 

إهود يعاري  هو زميل ليفر الدولي في معهد واشنطن ومعلق لشؤون الشرق الأوسط في القناة الثانية في التلفزيون الإسرائيلي.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 2263

Hamas Opts for the Hezbollah Model

Ehud Yaari

Also available in العربية

June 3, 2014


Hamas seems intent on using Hezbollah's "bullets plus ballots" approach to gain a military and political foothold in the West Bank, the PA, and the PLO.

On June 2, Hamas and Fatah formed a unity government in the Palestinian Authority after many months of reconciliation talks, with Hamas nominally dissolving its government in the Gaza Strip. The move represents the fruit of a long internal debate within the group's higher echelons regarding its future course. Rather than adhering to the seven-year-old strategy of prioritizing exclusive control of "Fortress Gaza" with no serious effort to heal the rift with Fatah in the West Bank, Hamas leaders have now changed tack toward a different program: transplanting the Hezbollah model from Lebanon to Palestine.

For Hamas, this means integrating into the general political system while retaining independent, well-equipped armed forces and striving to maintain control of Gaza through its existing grip on local bureaucracy, its wide network of social institutions, and, of course, its 20,000 well-trained military cadres and security personnel. The group has recruited no less than 50,000 employees to the public sector since its June 2007 military takeover of the territory. At the same time, Hamas seems determined to exploit the reconciliation agreement as a means of resuscitating its political organization and clandestine terrorist activities in the West Bank. Outgoing Hamas prime minister Ismail Haniyeh described the new formula best, declaring this week, "We leave the government but stay in power...We give up the chair but not the role we play."

INTERNAL DEBATE

The shift in Hamas strategy -- from emphasizing a monopoly of power in Gaza to reaching a deal that allows some PA presence there, and from harsh criticism of PA president Mahmoud Abbas to cautious cooperation with him -- has been the result of agonizing soul searching among the group's leaders. This internal questioning was spurred by several recent setbacks: the loss of a friendly Muslim Brotherhood regime in neighboring Egypt, the cessation of weapons smuggling through the Sinai Peninsula, the decline of financial subsidies from Iran and Qatar, and the growing resentment of Gaza inhabitants due to rising unemployment, economic hardship, and constant repression.

Amid these bleak circumstances, Hamas leaders held a number of meetings in recent weeks with Iranian officials in Tehran and Hezbollah leaders in Beirut. There, the group's representatives were advised to adopt a more ambitious plan than merely defending Gaza, namely, by contesting Fatah in its own West Bank territory instead. Hezbollah's modus operandi in Lebanon -- which can be summed up as "add ballots to your bullets" -- was pushed as a model to be emulated. Subsequently, Tehran praised the initial reconciliation pact between Hamas and Fatah; on April 26, an Iranian Foreign Ministry spokeswoman stated, "The Islamic Republic of Iran welcomes solidarity among Palestinian groups against the Zionist regime [of Israel], as well as any kind of national reconciliation that results in Palestinian unity." The statement was one of several signals that Iran had approved the deal in advance.

MILITARY INDEPENDENCE

Similar to Hezbollah's longstanding stance in Lebanon, statements by numerous Hamas leaders over the past few days make clear that the group's military branch -- the Izz al-Din al-Qassam Brigades -- will not be disarmed or come under any PA supervision and will continue to grow as a powerful "resistance." The same applies to its intelligence and security apparatus. Just as Hezbollah maintains armed forces far superior to the Lebanese army and various secret services, so does Hamas intend to expand its independent military units, which are already far larger and better equipped than the PA's National Security Forces.

For example, Gaza workshops will continue production of M-75 missiles -- which are capable of reaching Tel Aviv and Jerusalem -- even though Abbas has previously accepted the principle of a demilitarized Palestinian state. Hamas also has no intention of disbanding its intelligence organs, which will allow it to preserve de facto control of Gaza in much the same manner that Hezbollah forces control southern Beirut, southern Lebanon, and the Beqa Valley. Although some PA units will be introduced into Gaza, their main role will be to man the border terminals with Egypt and Israel; they are unlikely to change the overall situation on the ground.

POLITICAL INFILTRATION

If Hamas opts to fully implement the Hezbollah model, it will also seek to integrate itself as fast as possible into all PA institutions in the hope of taking over some of them. Currently, Hamas leaders have accepted that they will not have any ministers in the reshuffled semi-technocratic cabinet of PA prime minister Rami Hamdallah. Yet the group's real focus is on the elections promised by Abbas six months down the road, and on the establishment of a newly agreed "Leadership Body" in the Palestine Liberation Organization (PLO), which will include top figures from Hamas and Palestinian Islamic Jihad for the first time ever.

Similar to Hezbollah, Hamas aspires to operate as a political party. It is eager to take part in presidential, parliamentary, and municipal elections in the hope of securing a majority or at least a plurality of the vote and thus forming a government or becoming a coalition partner. For now, Hamas leaders are skeptical that they can win the presidency or a Legislative Council majority, mainly because Abbas unilaterally modified the elections law to suit Fatah candidates better than the previous law, which was in force when Hamas won the 2006 elections. At the same time, they have indicated their ambition to take over important ministerial portfolios -- as Hezbollah did in Lebanon -- and influence parliamentary motions.

The reconciliation agreement has already produced important gains for the group. The PA has quietly removed the ban on Hamas political activities in the West Bank, and the movement has resumed public rallies, campaign meetings, and distribution of literature. This revival of open Hamas activities is affecting the PA's security organs: despite their standing orders to foil terrorist activity, many mid-level officers and their subordinates are no longer certain if and when to intervene in Hamas gatherings. For example, Hamas-sponsored Quran reading sessions have often been a cover for recruitment into underground terrorist cells.

The group's resurgence in the West Bank is especially noted in the refugee camps outside the main cities. PA security forces rarely risk entering these camps, leaving room for local youths to organize into lightly armed militias capable of challenging the PA. Hamas will obviously be more tempted to link to these groups, convert them to its doctrine, and supply them with financing and, when possible, better arms.

THE PLO AND ISRAEL

No less important to Hamas is the coveted goal of capturing the PLO, "the sole representative of the Palestinian people" and the entity in charge of negotiating with Israel. If Hamas leader Khaled Mashal were to one day succeed Abbas at the PLO's helm, he would have to decide whether to back away from the Oslo Accords, among other things.

Thus far, senior Hamas officials have not referred to this potential dilemma in public, mainly because there are still numerous obstacles to the group joining the PLO, let alone taking it over. For now, it is noteworthy that Hamas did not protest too loudly when Abbas asserted that the new unity government will recognize Israel and support the two-state solution, despite the group's insistence that no political platform was agreed on as part of the unity deal.

CONCLUSION

The emergence of a Hezbollah model in the Palestinian Authority is a major threat to any prospect of resuming serious negotiations with Israel. If the current electoral and transitional timetable holds, by this time next year Hamas could have not only an intact military force and terrorist agenda in Gaza, but also a solid foothold in the West Bank and at least a say in -- if not veto power over -- PA and PLO decisions. In that case, a new system would take shape in the Palestinian territories in which an armed-to-the-teeth political party gradually overshadows the central government and begins to take over numerous institutions. Western countries quick to endorse the Hamas-Fatah reconciliation should be aware of what is really happening here: instead of the PA regaining its "southern provinces" in Gaza, it is in fact Hamas reentering the "northern provinces" in the West Bank.

Ehud Yaari is a Lafer International Fellow with The Washington Institute and a Middle East commentator for Israel's Channel Two television.