أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 2773

الدعم التي تقدمه دول الخليج في الحملة ضد تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية»

لوري بلوتكين بوغارت

متاح أيضاً في English

21 آذار/مارس 2017


في 22 آذار/مارس، سيستضيف وزير الخارجية الأمريكي ريكس تيلرسون وزراء خارجية ومسؤولين آخرين رفيعي المستوى من البلدان التي تشكّل "التحالف الدولي ضد تنظيم «داعش»". ووفقاً لوزارة الخارجية الأمريكية، يهدف اللقاء إلى وضع تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية في العراق والشام» («داعش») "على الطّريق المؤدي بشكلٍ مستدام ونهائي إلى الهزيمة".

سيكون شركاء أمريكا الاستراتيجيين في الخليج العربي من بين ضيوف وزير الخارجية. وكانت هذه الدول جهات فاعلة أساسية في مختلف الجهود المتعددة الأبعاد التي بذلها التحالف - فمن ضمن مساهماتها، أمّنت القواعد وإمكانية الوصول للولايات المتحدة والقوات المحلية، وأطلقت حملات أوسع ضد تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» من ناحية الرسائل والتمويل، وساهمت في تمويل المساعدة الإنسانية. لكن ما زالت تُطرَح بعض الأسئلة حول حدود الدعم الخليجي للتحالف. وفي ما يلي نبذة تتألف من ست نقاط حول الوقائع الحالية التي تولّد فرصاً وتحديات في توسيع ذلك الدعم.

1.                  لدول الخليج مصلحة مكتسبة قوية في هزيمة تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» في سوريا والعراق وغيرهما. بالنسبة إلى عدة بلدان من الخليج، لا يشكّل تنظيم «داعش» تهديداً للمنطقة فحسب، إنما أيضاً تحدّياً أمنيّاً محليّاً. فقد نفّذ تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» في المملكة العربية السعودية عدة عمليات تفجير وإطلاق نار فتاكة استهدفت المدنيين وأفراد الأمن والأجانب منذ أواخر عام 2014. وفي الكويت، كان متآمرو تنظيم «داعش» مسؤولين عن أكبر هجوم إرهابي مميت في تاريخ البلد في حزيران/يونيو 2015. أما في جزيرة البحرين، فقد شكّل ردع هجمات تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» الانتحارية كالتي نُفّذت في السعودية والكويت هاجساً أساسيّاً. فأسهم بلدان الخليج في الحملة ضد تنظيم «داعش» مرتفعة بشكلٍ خاص، لأن إرهابيي تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» داخل حدودها مرتبطون مباشرةً بالشبكات الخارجية لـ تنظيم «داعش».

2.                  ما زال شركاء الخليج قلقين من أن تؤدي الهزيمة الإقليمية لـ تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» إلى تحقيق إيران  وحلفائها مكاسب إقليمية. ترى عدة بلدان خليجية أن إيران هي أخطر ما يهددها على المدى الطويل، حتى أكثر من تنظيم «داعش». لذلك، تعتقد هذه البلدان أن أي حملة ضد المجموعة يجب أن تشمل ترتيبات عسكرية وسياسية لمنع إيران وحلفائها من توسيع نفوذهم. فكما أشار وزير الخارجية السعودي عادل الجبير في 21 شباط/فبراير، يجب أن يتمثّل هدف التحالف في تحرير المنطقة من تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» من دون السماح لـ «حزب الله» أو طهران أو نظام الأسد في سوريا بتعبئة الفراغ. وعلى غرار تهديد تنظيم «داعش»، فللتهديد الذي تشكّله إيران على الخليج عامل محلي واضح – حيث تتخوف كلٌّ من السعودية والبحرين والكويت بشكلٍ خاص من الدعم الإيراني للنشاط النضالي داخل حدودها.

3.                  يبدو أن تأمين المزيد من الدعم العسكري في الحملة ضد تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» يشكل أهمية لبعض بلدان الخليج. في الشهر الماضي، أكّد وزير الخارجية السعودي عادل الجبير مرة أخرى أن بلاده والدول الخليجية الأخرى مستعدة لتأمين قوات خاصة لدعم قوات الولايات المتحدة ضد تنظيم «داعش». كما أشار إلى أن "التحالف الإسلامي العسكري لمحاربة الإرهاب" الذي يتألف من واحدٍ وأربعين عضواً والذي تم تأسيسه في كانون الأول/ديسمبر 2015 بقيادة السعودية – وهو مختلف عن التحالف السعودي الأصغر ضد الثوار الحوثيين في اليمن – مستعد لتأمين قوات برّية. وفي 16 آذار/مارس، نقلت صحيفة "الحياة" العربية التي تملكها السعودية أن التحالف ضد الإرهاب ينظر في مسألة نشر قوات يصل عددها إلى 40.000 لتحقيق هذه الغاية. وكانت كل من الرياض والإمارات العربية المتحدة قد أعربت عن استعدادها لدعم قوات الولايات المتحدة عبر قواتها؛ وفي الواقع، يتواجد عدد غير محدد من الجنود الإماراتيين على الأراضي السورية. وستشكّل زيادة فرق التحالف هناك من عدة بلدان خليجية نقطةً سياسيةً هامة (وإن حساسة) في الحملة.

قد تكون إعادة التعبير مراراً عن الدعم العسكري مرتبطة بتطوّرين هما: قرار الولايات المتحدة بتصعيد القتال من خلال نشر قوات برّية في سوريا، وتصوّر الخليج أن الإدارة الجديدة في واشنطن ستعتمد مقاربة أقسى إزاء سياسات إيران الإقليمية المزعزعة للاستقرار. إلا أن الحرب التي تقودها السعودية في اليمن تبقى أولويةً بالنسبة إلى زعماء الخليج، وخاصةً في الرياض وأبوظبي. ويرى السعوديون أن التهديد المتأتي من الحوثيين الذين تدعمهم إيران على حدودهم الجنوبية هو تهديد وجودي، فيما تتخوف الإمارات بشكلٍ خاص من نمو تهديد المتطرفين الإسلاميين في اليمن. ولا يُرجَّح أن تتغيّر هذه الأولويات في السياسة الخارجية في أي وقتٍ قريب.

4.                  قد تكون دول الخليج مستعدة لتوسيع الدعم في حملة الحكومة العراقية ضد تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» والجهود التي تليها لإرساء الاستقرار. في 25 شباط/فبراير، قام الجبير بزيارة تاريخية إلى العراق – وهي الزيارة الأولى التي يقوم بها مسؤول سعودي رفيع المستوى خلال سبعة وعشرين عاماً. وتلت هذه الخطوة تعيين سفير سعودي في بغداد في عام 2015، عبر إعادة فتح السفارة التي أُغلقت لأكثر من عقدين من الزمن. وربما أن ما أدى إلى هذا التقارب الدبلوماسي هو رغبة الرياض في زرع النفوذ في العراق قبل الهزيمة المتوقَّعة لـ تنظيم «داعش». وتؤدي الكويت أصلاً من جهتها دوراً قيّماً في تسهيل أنشطة بغداد لمكافحة تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية». ومع المضي قدماً، لا بد من أن تدعم واشنطن زيادة مشاركة الخليج لمعلوماته الاستخباراتية مع العراقيين حول بعض المسائل كالمقاتلين الأجانب، بالإضافة إلى عمليات نقل المعدات السعودية من دون قيود إلى الجيش العراقي و"جهاز مكافحة الإرهاب" (ربما بشكلٍ غير مباشر).

5.                  على الرغم من الضغوط المتعلقة بالميزانية، يمكن توقّع أاستمرار دول الخليج في تأمين موارد هامّة لأزمة اللاجئين في البلدان المجاورة، وكذلك للنازحين داخل سوريا والعراق.  لا يبدو أن ميل عدة حكومات خليجية مؤخراً إلى عدم هدر الأموال له أثر ملموس في نفقاتها الأمنية الإقليمية. فالضغوط التي تسيء إلى استقرار الخليج دفعت معظم الأنظمة الملكية إلى معالجة أزمة اللاجئين من خلال تمويل البلدان الأخرى المستضيفة إلى حد كبير بدلاً من استيعاب هذه الأنظمة بنفسها للنازحين السوريين. وشكّلت الإمارات نوعاً ما استثناءً مرحّباً به في هذا الصدد.

6.                  قامت دول الخليج بأنشطة ملحوظة لمكافحة تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» على أراضيها، لكن سجلها يتفاوت إلى حد كبير عندما يتعلق الأمر بالمكافحة الشديدة لإيديولوجيا الإرهاب وتمويله. حاكمت معظم بلدان الخليج أفراداً بسبب الدعم المالي أو الإيديولوجي أو اللوجستي أو أي دعمٍ من نوعٍ آخر لـ تنظيم «داعش». وبرزت أبوظبي كشريكٍ مهم بشكلٍ خاص في الرسائل المضادة لـ تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» وفي أعمالٍ أخرى لمكافحة إيديولوجيتها بسبب تشديدها القوي نسبيّاً على التسامح الديني في الوطن. وحرّكت الرياض عدة مؤسسات حكومية ضد تهديد تنظيم «داعش» وهي شريك مهم في مكافحة تمويل هذا التنظيم. لكن ما زالت عدة حكومات خليجية تتمتع بتحالفات تكتيكية وعلاقات أخرى مع مجموعات محافظة جدّاً داخل بلدانها (وأحياناً خارجها)، مما يعقّد الحملات الأوسع نطاقاً لمكافحة الإرهاب. وبناءً على ذلك، قد تكون المكاسب التكتيكية ضد تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» عابرة -  فالحرب الأوسع ضد الجهاديين ستستمر حتماً لفترة أطول من دون المزيد من الجهود الخليجية العدائية في هذا الصدد.

وباختصار، تشكّل هزيمة تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» في سوريا والعراق وغيرهما، كما يشكّل إرساء الاستقرار والأمن عقب ذلك هدفيْن إقليميين أساسييْن يتفق عليهما كل من الولايات المتحدة وشركائها في الخليج بوضوح. فبوجه تنامي تعقيد البيئة العملانية، على واشنطن انتهاز الفرص البارزة لتوسيع التعاون الخليجي من أجل تحقيق هذين الهدفين. كما من المفيد الآن تقديم الإشادة والمكافآت للشركاء الذين يكافحون بشدة إيديولوجيا الإرهاب وتمويله، أو يقومون بمبادرات حقيقية من أجل المساعدة على منع البروز القادم لـ تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية».

 

لوري بلوتكين بوغارت هي زميلة "باربارا كاي فاميلي" في معهد واشنطن.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 2773

Gulf Support to the Counter-ISIS Campaign

Lori Plotkin Boghardt

Also available in العربية

March 21, 2017


Some Gulf states are showing interest in providing additional support to the counter-ISIS coalition, and Washington should seize these emerging opportunities.

On March 22, Secretary of State Rex Tillerson will host foreign ministers and other senior officials from countries that make up the U.S.-led "Global Coalition to Counter ISIS." The goal of the meeting is to set the Islamic State in Iraq and Syria "on a lasting and irreversible path to defeat," according to the State Department.

America's strategic partners in the Persian Gulf will be among the secretary's guests. These states have been key players in the coalition's multidimensional lines of effort -- among other contributions, they have provided basing and access for U.S. and local forces, implemented broader anti-ISIS campaigns such as counter-messaging and counter-financing, and helped fund humanitarian assistance. Still, questions linger about the limits of Gulf support for the coalition. Following is a six-point brief on the current realities that underlie opportunities and challenges in expanding that support.

1. The Gulf states have a strong vested interest in seeing ISIS defeated in Syria, Iraq, and beyond. For many Gulf countries, ISIS represents not only a threat to the region, but also a major domestic security challenge. Saudi Arabia has been home to multiple deadly ISIS bombings and shootings targeting civilians, security personnel, and foreigners since late 2014. In Kuwait, ISIS plotters were responsible for the most deadly terrorist attack in the country's history in June 2015. On the island state of Bahrain, preventing ISIS suicide attacks like those launched in Saudi Arabia and Kuwait has been a top concern. The stakes in the counter-ISIS campaign are especially high for the Gulf countries because ISIS terrorists inside their borders have been linked directly to external ISIS networks.

2. Gulf partners continue to worry that the territorial defeat of ISIS will result in territorial gains for Iran and its allies. Many Gulf states view Iran as their most dangerous long-term threat, even more so than ISIS. As a result, they believe that any campaign against the group should include military and political provisions for preventing Iran and its allies from expanding their influence. As Saudi foreign minister Adel al-Jubeir indicated on February 21, the coalition's goal should be to liberate the region from ISIS without allowing Hezbollah, Tehran, or Syria's Assad regime to fill the void. Similar to the ISIS threat, the Iranian threat to the Gulf has a clear domestic element -- Saudi Arabia, Bahrain, and Kuwait in particular are concerned about Iranian support for militant activity inside their borders.

3. Some Gulf states seem interested in providing additional military support to the counter-ISIS campaign. Last month, Foreign Minister Jubeir reiterated that Saudi Arabia and other Gulf states were willing to provide special forces to support U.S. forces against ISIS. He also remarked that the Saudi-led, forty-one-member "Islamic Military Alliance to Fight Terrorism" established in December 2015 -- not to be confused with the smaller Saudi coalition against Houthi rebels in Yemen -- was ready to provide ground troops. On March 16, the Saudi-owned pan-Arab newspaper al-Hayat reported that the antiterrorism alliance was considering the deployment of up to 40,000 troops for this purpose. Both Riyadh and the United Arab Emirates had previously expressed their willingness to support U.S. forces with their own; in fact, an unspecified number of UAE personnel are already on the ground in Syria. Augmenting the coalition contingent there with forces from multiple Gulf countries would be an important (albeit delicate) political milestone in the campaign.

The renewed expressions of military support may be linked to two developments: America's own decision to ramp up the fight by deploying ground forces in Syria, and the Gulf's perception that the new administration in Washington will take a tougher approach toward Iran's destabilizing regional policies. To be sure, the Saudi-led war in Yemen continues to be a priority for Gulf leaders, especially in Riyadh and Abu Dhabi. The Saudis view the threat from Iranian-supported Houthis on their southern border as existential, while the UAE is especially concerned about the growth of Yemen's Islamist extremist threat. These foreign policy priorities are unlikely to change anytime soon.

4. The Gulf states may be poised to expand support for the Iraqi government's counter-ISIS campaign and subsequent stabilization efforts. On February 25, Jubeir made an historic visit to Iraq -- the first by a top Saudi official in twenty-seven years. The move followed the appointment of a Saudi ambassador to Baghdad in 2015, reopening an embassy that had been closed for more than two decades. This diplomatic rapprochement may be driven by Riyadh's desire to cultivate influence in Iraq ahead of an expected ISIS defeat. For its part, Kuwait already plays a valuable role in facilitating Baghdad's counter-ISIS activities. Going forward, Washington should support increased Gulf intelligence sharing with the Iraqis on issues such as foreign fighters, as well as no-strings Saudi equipment transfers to the Iraqi army and Counter-Terrorism Service (perhaps indirectly).

5. Despite budgetary pressures, the Gulf states can be expected to continue providing major resources for the refugee crises in neighboring countries as well as for internally displaced persons in Syria and Iraq. Recent fiscal conservation drives by various Gulf governments do not appear to be having a tangible effect on their regional security expenditures. Pressures that cut to the core of Gulf stability are driving most of the monarchies to address the refugee crisis by providing significant funding to other host countries rather than by absorbing displaced Syrians themselves. In some ways, the UAE has been a welcome exception in this regard.

6. The Gulf states have pursued meaningful counter-ISIS activities at home, but their record varies widely when it comes to aggressively countering terrorist ideology and financing in general. Most Gulf countries have prosecuted and sentenced individuals for financial, ideological, logistical, or other support of ISIS. Abu Dhabi stands out as a particularly valued partner for counter-ISIS messaging and other counter-ideology work due to its comparatively strong emphasis on religious tolerance at home. Riyadh has mobilized multiple government institutions against the ISIS threat and is a strong partner in counter-ISIS financing. Still, many Gulf governments have tactical alliances and other relationships with ultraconservative groups inside (and sometimes outside) their countries that complicate broader counterterrorism campaigns. Accordingly, tactical gains against ISIS could be ephemeral -- the larger war against jihadism will certainly drag on without more aggressive Gulf efforts in this area.

In sum, defeating ISIS in Syria, Iraq, and beyond, and providing stability and security in its wake, represent basic regional objectives on which the United States and its Gulf partners clearly agree. In the face of an exceedingly complex operating environment, Washington should seize emerging opportunities to expand Gulf cooperation toward these goals. It is also a useful time to praise and reward specific partners who are aggressively countering terrorist ideology and financing or otherwise pursuing genuine initiatives to help prevent the next ISIS from emerging.

Lori Plotkin Boghardt is the Barbara Kay Family Fellow at The Washington Institute.