أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 2811

تنامي خطر اندلاع مواجهة دولية في البادية السورية

فابريس بالونش

متاح أيضاً في English

26 أيار/مايو 2017


ملاحظة: اضغط على الخريطة للحصول على نسخة عالية الدقة.

تشكّل الغارة الجوية الأمريكية التي شنتها الولايات المتحدة على معبر التنف الحدودي جنوبي سوريا في 18 أيار/مايو [مستهدفةً قوات موالية للنظام] نقطة تحوّل في الحرب الدائرة في تلك البلاد. ويهدد الآن الوضع على الحدود بين العراق والأردن وسوريا قيام مواجهة مباشرة بين القوات الأمريكية والسورية، وربما الجهات الفاعلة الأخرى أيضاً.

ومنذ آذار/مارس 2016، تمركزت "القوات الخاصة الأمريكية" والمتمردون المدعومون من قبل الولايات المتحدة في "قاعدة التنف". وفي أعقاب الضربة التي نُفذت في الأسبوع الثالث من أيار/ مايو الحالي، سارع وزير الدفاع الأمريكي جيمس ماتيس إلى التشديد على أن الولايات المتحدة لا تسعى إلى زيادة دورها في الحرب، على الرغم من أنها ستدافع عن قواتها إذا ما تعرضت للتهديد. ومن ناحية أخرى، يرى بشار الأسد وحلفاؤه أن واشنطن تريد زيادة تواجدها بشكل دائم في شرق سوريا بهدف دعم حلفائها المحليين وتقويتهم، والضغط على دمشق، ومنع النظام من العودة إلى وادي الفرات. ويعكس هذا القلق المنافسة الإقليمية الأوسع نطاقاً التي تحوّلت إليها الحرب مع قيام النظام وحلفائه بالتسابق من أجل إنشاء "محور شيعي" من الشرق إلى الغرب يمتد من إيران إلى لبنان، ويبدو أن الولايات المتحدة تتطلع إلى توطيد "محور سني" من الشمال والجنوب، يمتد من دول الخليج والأردن إلى تركيا. وسيضطلع الوضع في المنطقة الصحراوية الوسطى والجنوبية في سوريا (البادية) بدور مهم في رسم معالم هذه الديناميات.

أولوية النظام المنخفضة حتى الآن

منذ عام 2011، تمّ التقليل تدريجياً من سيطرة الجيش السوري على البادية، بحيث أصبحت لا تتخطى عدد قليل من طرق الاتصال الرئيسية والموارد الهيدروكربونية. ويُعتبر حقل غاز الشاعر ذا قيمة خاصة على صعيد توليد الكهرباء، ولذلك وضعه النظام في عهدة ميليشيا "صقور الصحراء" التي أسسها رجل الأعمال العلوي المقرب من الأسد أيمن جابر. وتضم هذه المجموعة 7,000  رجل، معظمهم من العلويين الذين تم تجنيدهم من الساحل.

وبالإضافة إلى حقل الشاعر، طُرِدت قوات النظام من معظم أراضي البادية بعد أن عانت من هزيمة كبيرة في تدمر في أيار/مايو 2015. وسرعان ما بنت خطاً دفاعياً من جهة الشمال والجنوب يمتد من حلب إلى جبل الدروز يبلغ طوله 800 كلم لمنع هجمات تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» ضد حمص، أو حماة، أو دمشق. وعلى الرغم من أن السيطرة على تدمر نفسها قد تحوّلت من جانب إلى آخر أكثر من مرة منذ ذلك الحين، إلّا أن جزءً كبيراً من منطقة الصحراء لا يزال خارج نفوذ الأسد.

أما تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية»، فيتمتع بميّزة كبيرة في الأجزاء من البادية التي لا تزال تحت سيطرته. فمقاتلوه منظمون ضمن مجموعات صغيرة ومتنقلة أثبتت فعاليتها في اقتحام المواقع العسكرية المعزولة.  من الناحية النظرية، بإمكان الجيش السوري استخدام التقنية ذاتها لمواجهتهم. فعلى مر السنوات، أظهرت عموماً القبائل العربية في البادية، وخاصة في الجنوب، عداء تجاه النظام، مما حدّ من التحاق أبنائها في صفوف الجيش وأرغم الأسد على دعوة علويي الساحل بدلاً منهم. لكن الفظائع التي ارتكبها تنظيم «داعش» جعلت القبائل المستاءة تعود تدريجياً إلى أحضان النظام، بما فيها قبيلة الشعيطات من دير الزور التي لقي الآلاف من أفرادها حتفهم على أيدي قوات تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» في آب/أغسطس 2014.

ومع ذلك، لم تحتل استعادة البادية سلّم أولويات النظام قبل الأشهر القليلة الماضية. وحتى عام 2015، كانت مهمة الجيش تتركز بشكل أساسي على حماية المدن الكبرى ومحور دمشق- حمص- حلب الذي شكل قوام نظام الاتصالات. لكن التدخل الروسي في أيلول/سبتمبر من ذلك العام أنقذ مركز النظام وعززه، [مما أدّى] إلى توجيه قوات الأسد اهتمامها بشكل متزايد إلى المناطق المحيطة [الضواحي]. وكانت استعادة السيطرة والتمسك بتدمر الخطوة الأولى في استراتيجية لإعادة دخول البادية، لأن المدينة هي القاعدة الرئيسية لأي عمليات يقوم بها النظام في وسط سوريا.

اقتحام المتمردين للبادية

في آذار/مارس، 2016، عبر مئات من المقاتلين المتمردين الحدود من الأردن بدعم من التحالف الدولي واستولوا على التنف. وأعقب ذلك استعادة السيطرة على معبر الوليد العراقي في آب/أغسطس 2016 (وهو المعبر الذي كان تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» قد اجتاحه في العام السابق)، وإعادة فتح الطريق من بغداد إلى عمّان. ومن التنف، حاول المتمردون الارتباط مع ألوية أحمد العبدو (2500 مقاتل) في الغوطة الشرقية في ريف دمشق. هذا وتخضع مدينتا الضمير وجيرود لسيطرة المتمردين، لكن حلقة شاسعة من قوات النظام تفصلها عن الغوطة الشرقية؛ ويواصل الجانبان الحفاظ على وقف إطلاق النار في الوقت الحالي. وفي غضون ذلك، لا يزال المتمردون المحاصرون في الغوطة الشرقية يتمتعون بإمكانية الوصول إلى العالم الخارجي عبر الأنفاق. على سبيل المثال، استخدم زعيم المتمردين المحليين زهران علوش إحدى هذه الممرات لحضور اجتماع المعارضة السورية في المملكة العربية السعودية في كانون الأول/ديسمبر الماضي.

لقد سعى المتمردون في التنف أيضاً إلى الحصول على موطئ قدم في وادي الفرات إلى الشرق، لأن معظمهم ينحدرون من تلك المنطقة. ويشكل الهاربون من الجيش السوري النواة الداخلية لـ "جيش أسود الشرقية" الذي يضم المتمردين الرئيسيين في جماعة التنف. وقد انضم إليهم مقاتلون طُرِدوا من وادي الفرات خلال هجمات تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» في عام 2014. وفي 29 حزيران/يونيو 2016، أُطلِقت عملية إنزال جوي أمريكية جريئة من التنف بهدف الاستيلاء على أبو كمال وإثارة انتفاضة قبلية ضد تنظيم «داعش» في الوادي، لكنها فشلت و[تمكن] الناجون من التراجع. ومنذ ذلك الحين، اقتصر دورهم إلى حد كبير على السيطرة على الحدود بين التنف وجبل الدروز لمنع تسلل تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» إلى الأردن. وحيث بدأ تنظيم «داعش» يُضفي طابعاً من الضعف، فقد انتهزوا الفرصة من خلال زيادة سيطرتهم على البادية.

تنافس على أراضي تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية»

أصبح متمردو التنف يشكلون تهديداً على دمشق، حيث تقدموا نحو عشرات الكيلومترات من مناطق المتمردين التي استغرق النظام عدة سنوات لتطويقها. كما أنهم مستعدون لعرقلة عودة النظام إلى وادي الفرات. وتتقدم مجموعة "جيش أسود الشرقية" بسرعة نحو الشمال والشرق، وقد تسيطر قريباً على السخنة، وهي واحة مهمة قرب تدمر، وكذلك بكتال، وهي مفترق طرق أنابيب النفط بالقرب من أبو كمال. ويتمثل الهدف الرسمي لهذه الهجمات بالاستحواذ على مناطق تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» ودعم قبائل الفرات للوقوف في وجه التنظيم. وإذا نجح المتمردون في مسعاهم هذا، سيوقفون عملياً هجوم الجيش السوري المتواصل نحو دير الزور.    

ويشعر النظام بالقلق إزاء توسّع المتمردين هذا نحو الجنوب. وقد أسفر الانتصار في حلب، والاستسلامات حول دمشق، ووقف إطلاق النار إلى الغرب الذي تم التوسط فيه في أستانا، عن تحرير الآلاف من جنود النظام وجعلهم متفرغين للعمل على استعادة السيطرة على الجهة الشرقية من البلاد. ومنذ ربيع هذا العام، يشارك "صقور الصحراء"، الذين تمّ دمجهم في "اللواء الخامس"، في هجوم كبير في البادية. وقد انضم إليهم "لواء القدس" (ميليشيا فلسطينية من حلب)، ومختلف الميليشيات الشيعية العراقية و «حزب الله».

وبعد أن أدّت الضربة الجوية الأمريكية الأخيرة إلى إبعاد القوات الموالية للنظام من التنف، أعاد الجيش تركيزه على مهاجمة المتمردين من ثلاث قواعد مختلفة: دمشق، تدمر، وجبل الدروز. وفي الحالة الأخيرة، تتقدّم وحدات الجيش بسرعة على طول الحدود الأردنية لتطويق أحد جيوب المتمردين، في محاولة لعزلهم على مقربة من جبل سيس. وطوال هذا الهجوم، استعاد النظام بشكل منهجي شبكة القلاع الواقعة على الطريق الحدودي الإستراتيجي. ومن شأن رحيل تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» أن يقلّل خطورة إقدام الأسد على إعادة نشر بعض الحاميات الصغيرة في أماكنها هناك، نظراً لأن المتمردين لا يتمتعون بنفس القدرة الهجومية لـ تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية». بإمكان إيران أن توفر بضعة آلاف من مقاتلي الهزارة الأفغانيين الشيعة لهذه المهمة. ونظراً لضعف حوافزهم في المشاركة في قتال عنيف، فهم مؤهلين لتحصين القلاع.      

ومن ناحية أخرى، حاصر الجيش منطقة القلمون الشرقية الواقعة بين تدمر ودمشق من أجل إرغام تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» والمتمردين على الفرار.  وكان البصيري، مفترق لطريقين رئيسيين - تدمر إلى دمشق والقريتين إلى التنف - الهدف الرئيسي لهذه الحملة، وقد سقط في يد النظام في 25 أيار/مايو. وبوجه عام، تعكس جهود الجيش لإعادة احتلال مفترق الطرق ونقاط المياه الأساسية (على سبيل المثال، الخزان في بئر الزلف) والحدود الأردنية رغبةً في ترسيخ وجوده في البادية وتحييد القدرة الهجومية للمتمردين في التنف.

خطر قيام مواجهة أمريكية - روسية مباشرة

أصبحت الحدود الجنوبية لسوريا بؤرة توتر كبيرة - من التنف إلى سنجار في العراق، حيث أصبح عدة شركاء في الحرب يتنافسون عليها بالنيابة عن رعاتهم الإقليميين. ويتمّ الإعداد لساحة معركة ما بعد تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» وأصبح الجزء الشرقي "غير المفيد" سابقاً لسوريا يستحوذ على أهمية إستراتيجية أكبر بكثير في المنافسة بين "المحور الشيعي" الشرقي-الغربي و"المحور السنّي" الشمالي-الجنوبي. ولا بدّ من النظر إلى الهجوم الأخير الذي شنه النظام بين تدمر والحدود الأردنية من هذا المنطلق.

وخلال الفترة اللاحقة، يُعدّ اتفاق دولي حول كيفية الاستحواذ على مناطق سيطرة تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» المسألة الأكثر إلحاحاً يوماً بعد يوم. فبدون قيام مثل هذه التفاهمات، تواجه الأطراف خطر المواجهة المباشرة بين القوات الروسية والأمريكية. على سبيل المثال، كيف سترد واشنطن إذا ما قصفت الطائرات الروسية المتمردين المدعومين من قبل الولايات المتحدة؟ وكيف سيكون ردّ فعل موسكو ودمشق إذا تعرّض الجيش السوري أو الميليشيات الحليفة له لضربة جديدة في البادية؟ وفي الوقت الذي يزداد فيه الوجود العسكري البري الروسي في سوريا وفقاً لبعض التقارير، وتتسارع الفصائل المتعددة للاستيلاء على الأراضي السابقة لـ تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» في الصحراء، فإن هناك احتمالاً كبيراً بوقوع أخطاء، وقد تكون التداعيات الدبلوماسية والعسكرية الناتجة خطيرة.

 

فابريس بالونش، هو أستاذ مشارك ومدير الأبحاث في "جامعة ليون 2"، وزميل زائر في معهد واشنطن.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 2811

Growing Risk of International Confrontation in the Syrian Desert

Fabrice Balanche

Also available in العربية

May 26, 2017


Various players have been rushing to secure their spot in former Islamic State strongholds that will be strategically important to the next phase of the war.

Note: Click on map for high-resolution version.

The May 18 U.S. airstrike on pro-regime forces heading for Syria's southern al-Tanf border crossing marks a turning point in the war. The situation on the Iraq-Jordan-Syria frontier now poses the threat of direct confrontation between American and Syrian forces, and perhaps other actors as well.

Al-Tanf has been occupied by U.S. Special Forces and American-backed rebels since March 2016. Following last week's strike, Defense Secretary Jim Mattis quickly noted that the United States does not seek to increase its role in the war, though it would defend its troops if they are threatened. Meanwhile, Bashar al-Assad and his allies believe that Washington wants to establish a more permanent presence in eastern Syria in order to strengthen its local allies, put pressure on Damascus, and prevent the regime from returning to the Euphrates Valley. This concern reflects the broader regional contest that the war has become, with the regime and its allies racing to establish an east-west "Shiite axis" from Iran to Lebanon and the United States seemingly looking to cement a north-south "Sunni axis" from the Gulf states and Jordan to Turkey. The situation in Syria's central and southern desert region (the Badia) will play an important role in shaping these dynamics.

A LOW REGIME PRIORITY UNTIL NOW

Since 2011, Syrian army control over the Badia has gradually been whittled down to a few key communication routes and hydrocarbon resources. The Shaer gas field is particularly valuable for electricity production, so the regime entrusted it to the Desert Hawks (Suqur al-Sahara) militia founded by Ayman Jaber, an Alawite businessman close to Assad. This group has 7,000 men, mainly Alawites recruited from the coast.

Apart from Shaer, regime forces were expelled from most of the Badia after suffering a major defeat in Palmyra in May 2015. They hastily built an 800-kilometer north-south line of protection from Aleppo to Jabal al-Druze to prevent Islamic State (IS) offensives against Homs, Hama, or Damascus. Although Palmyra itself has switched hands more than once since then, much of the desert region remains out of Assad's hands.

IS has a considerable advantage in the portions of the Badia it still controls. Its fighters are organized in small, mobile groups that are effective at storming isolated garrisons. In theory, the Syrian army could use the same technique to counter them. For years, the Arab tribes of the Badia, especially in the south, were mostly hostile to the regime, which limited local recruitment and forced Assad to call on coastal Alawites instead. But IS atrocities have gradually brought dissatisfied tribes back into the regime's fold, including the Sheitat of Deir al-Zour, a thousand of whom were massacred by IS forces in August 2014.

Even so, retaking the Badia was not a priority for the regime prior to the past few months. Up until 2015, the army was necessarily focused on protecting the large cities and the Damascus-Homs-Aleppo axis that formed the backbone of its communication system. Yet the Russian intervention in September of that year saved and strengthened the regime's center, and Assad's forces have increasingly turned their attention back to peripheral areas. Retaking and holding Palmyra was the first step in the strategy to reenter the Badia, since the city is the main base for any regime operations in central Syria.

REBELS BREAK INTO THE BADIA

In March 2016, hundreds of rebel fighters crossed the border from Jordan with the support of the international coalition and seized al-Tanf. This was followed by the reconquest of Iraq's al-Walid crossing in August 2016 (which had been overrun by IS the previous year) and the reopening of the road from Baghdad to Amman. From al-Tanf, the rebels have sought to link up with the group Aliwya Ahmed al-Abdou (2,500 fighters) in the East Ghouta countryside of Damascus. The nearby towns of al-Dumayr and Jayrud are under rebel control but separated from East Ghouta by a wide ring of regime forces; the two sides continue to maintain a ceasefire for now. In the meantime, the rebels trapped in East Ghouta still have some access to the outside world via tunnels. For instance, local rebel leader Zahran Alloush used one of these passages to attend the Syrian opposition meeting in Saudi Arabia last December.

Rebels in al-Tanf have also sought to gain a foothold in the Euphrates Valley to the east, since most of them hail from that area. Syrian army deserters compose the inner core of the main al-Tanf rebel group, the Lions of the East Army (Jaish Usud al-Sharqiya); they have been joined by fighters expelled from the Euphrates Valley during IS offensives in 2014. On June 29, 2016, an audacious U.S. airborne operation was launched from al-Tanf with the goal of seizing Abu Kamal and provoking an anti-IS tribal uprising in the valley, but it failed and the survivors fell back. Since then, their role has largely been limited to controlling the border between al-Tanf and Jabal al-Druze to prevent IS infiltration of Jordan. As IS weakens, however, they have taken advantage by extending their control further into the Badia.

COMPETING FOR ISLAMIC STATE TERRITORY

Al-Tanf rebels have become a threat to Damascus, advancing a few tens of kilometers from rebel areas that the regime took several years to encircle. They are also poised to hinder the regime's return to the Euphrates Valley. The Lions of the East Army is rapidly advancing north and east and may soon take Sukhna, an important oasis near Palmyra, as well as Baktal, the oil pipeline crossroads near Abu Kamal. Officially, the goal of these offensives is to seize IS territory and support the Euphrates tribes against the group. If successful, however, the rebels would essentially block the ongoing Syrian army offensive toward Deir al-Zour.

The regime is worried about this southern rebel expansion. The victory in Aleppo, the surrenders around Damascus, and the western ceasefire brokered in Astana freed thousands of regime troops to work on regaining control of the east. Since this spring, the Desert Hawks, integrated into the 5th Corps, have been participating in a large offensive in the Badia. They are joined by the al-Quds Brigade (a Palestinian militia from Aleppo), various Iraqi Shiite militias, and Hezbollah.

After pro-regime forces were turned away from al-Tanf by the recent U.S. strike, the army refocused on attacking the rebels from three different bases: Damascus, Palmyra, and Jabal al-Druze. In the latter case, army units are advancing rapidly along the Jordanian border to encircle one pocket of rebels, attempting to cut them off around Jabal Seis. Throughout this offensive, the regime has systematically reoccupied the network of forts located on the strategic border road. The departure of IS makes it less dangerous for Assad to put small garrisons back in place there, since the rebels do not have the same offensive capacity as IS. Iran can provide a few thousand Afghan Shiite Hazara fighters for this task; given their low motivation for heavy combat, they are well-suited to manning the forts.

Meanwhile, the army has encircled the eastern Qalamoun area between Palmyra and Damascus in order to force both IS and rebel fighters to flee. Al-Busairi, the crossroads for two major routes -- Palmyra to Damascus and al-Qaryatain to al-Tanf -- was the main target of this campaign, falling to the regime on May 25. Overall, the army's effort to reoccupy the crossroads, key water points (e.g., the reservoir at al-Zalaf), and the Jordanian border reflects a desire to cement its presence in the Badia and neutralize the offensive capacity of rebels at al-Tanf.

A RISK OF DIRECT U.S.-RUSSIAN CONFRONTATION

Syria's southern border has become a major flashpoint -- from al-Tanf to Sinjar, Iraq, the area is now being contested by various belligerents on behalf of their regional sponsors. The post-IS battlefield is being prepared, and the formerly "useless" eastern part of Syria is taking on much greater strategic importance in the competition between the east-west "Shiite axis" and north-south "Sunni axis." It is through this lens that one should view the regime's recent offensive between Palmyra and the Jordanian border.

Going forward, an international agreement on how to occupy former IS territory is growing more urgent by the day. Without such understandings, the parties run the risk of direct confrontation between Russian and American forces. For instance, how would Washington respond if U.S.-backed rebels were bombed by Russian aviation? And how might Moscow and Damascus react if Syrian army forces or their militia allies are struck in the Badia again? At a time when the Russian ground presence in Syria is reportedly growing and multiple factions are rushing to seize former IS territory in the desert, the potential for missteps is high, and the resultant diplomatic and military fallout could be dangerous.

Fabrice Balanche, an associate professor and research director at the University of Lyon 2, is a visiting fellow at The Washington Institute.