أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

صفحات رأي ومقالات

علاقة المنفعة: لماذا يعد التحالف بين الولايات المتحدة وإسرائيل مفيداً لأمريكا؟

مايكل آيزنشتات و ديفيد بولوك

متاح أيضاً في English

فورين آفيرز

7 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر 2012


في المناظرة الرئاسية الأخيرة في موسم الحملات الانتخابية لعام 2012، ورد على لسان الرئيس باراك أوباما والحاكم ميت رومني ذكر إسرائيل نحو 30 مرة، وهو معدل تجاوز ذكر أي دولة أخرى باستثناء إيران. وصرّح كلا المرشحين أن الدولة اليهودية "صديق حقيقي" وتعهدا بالوقوف إلى جانبها في السراء والضراء. وقد انتقد بعض المعلقين السياسيين تصريحات الدعم المسرفة هذه باعتبارها محاولة للاسترضاء، مما يشير إلى أن المرشحَيْن كانا يسعيان ببساطة إلى الفوز بأصوات اليهود وأصوات الموالين لإسرائيل.

لكن إن كان الدعم الإسرائيلي في الواقع من عوامل الفوز السياسي، فيرجع ذلك على الأقل إلى معرفة الناخبين ما الذي هو أفضل [للمصالح الأمريكية]. والتحالف بين الولايت المتحدة وإسرائيل يُسهم الآن أكثر من أي وقت مضى في صالح تعزيز الأمن الأمريكي، حيث ازداد التعاون الثنائي في التعامل مع التحديات العسكرية وغير العسكرية خلال السنوات الأخيرة. ولا يمكن أن تكون العلاقة متماثلة؛ فقد أمدت الولايات المتحدة إسرائيل بدعم دبلوماسي واقتصادي وعسكري لا غنى عنه بلغ أكثر من 115 مليار دولار إجمالاً منذ عام 1949. لكن الشراكة متبادلة وحققت فوائد جمة للولايات المتحدة. أما التكاليف الأخرى الملموسة بشكل أقل والناجمة عن التحالف بين البلدين - والتي تتمثل بصفة أساسية في الضرر الذي لحق بسمعة واشنطن في البلدان العربية والإسلامية، وهي مشكلة نجمت كذلك عن التدخلات الأمريكية وعقود من الدعم الأمريكي للحكام المستبدين في الشرق الأوسط - فإنها تتضاءل عند المقارنة مع المكاسب الاقتصادية والعسكرية والسياسية التي عادت على واشنطن.

ويرجع التعاون الأمني بين الولايات المتحدة وإسرائيل إلى ذروة "الحرب الباردة"، عندما كان يُنظر إلى الدولة اليهودية في واشنطن على أنها حائط صد ضد النفوذ السوفيتي في الشرق الأوسط ومناهض للقومية العربية. وعلى الرغم من أن العالم قد تغير منذ ذلك الحين، إلا أن المنطق الاستراتيجي للتحالف بين إسرائيل والولايات المتحدة لم يتغير. ولا تزال إسرائيل ثقل موازنة ضد القوى الراديكالية في الشرق الأوسط، بما فيها الإسلام السياسي والتطرف العنيف. كما أنها حالت دون الانتشار الإضافي لأسلحة الدمار الشامل في المنطقة عن طريق إحباط البرامج النووية لكل من العراق وسوريا.

ولا تزال إسرائيل تساعد الولايات المتحدة على التعامل مع التهديدات الأمنية التقليدية. فالدولتان تشاركان بعضهما البعض المعلومات الاستخباراتية بشأن الإرهاب والانتشار النووي والسياسة في الشرق الأوسط. كما أن التجارب العسكرية الإسرائيلية جسّدت منهج الولايات المتحدة في مكافحة الإرهاب والأمن الداخلي. وتعمل الحكومتان معاً لتطوير تقنيات عسكرية متطورة، مثل نظم "ديفيدز سلينغ" للصواريخ المضادة ونظم الدفاع الصاروخية "آرو" التي قد تكون جاهزة بعد فترة قصيرة للتصدير إلى حلفاء الولايات المتحدة الآخرين. كما برزت إسرائيل كمورد هام لمعدات الدفاع إلى الجيش الأمريكي، حيث زادت المبيعات من 300 مليون دولار سنوياً قبل أحداث 11 أيلول/سبتمبر إلى 1.1 مليار دولار عام 2006، وذلك بسبب الحروب في أفغانستان والعراق. وقد قاد مجمع الأبحاث والتطوير العسكري الإسرائيلي العديد من التقنيات المتقدمة التي تحوِّل شكل الحرب الحديثة، ويشمل ذلك الأسلحة السيبرانية والمركبات بدون طيار (مثل أجهزة الروبوت الأرضية والطائرات بدون طيار) ونظم المجسات وأنظمة الحرب الإلكترونية والدفاعات المتقدمة للمركبات العسكرية.

إن التحالف بين الولايات المتحدة وإسرائيل قد مهَّد الطريق أمام الدولتين للتعاون في مسائل تتجاوز القضايا الأمنية التقليدية. ويرجع ذلك جزئياً إلى العلاقات الأمنية والسياسية طويلة الأجل بين الولايات المتحدة وإسرائيل، ونظراً لذلك يعرف معظم الإسرائيليين [الكثير عن] الولايات المتحدة ولديهم مشاعر إيجابية تجاهها. فالشركات الإسرائيلية التي تبحث عن أسواق عالمية لمنتجاتها غالباً ما تنظر إلى نظرائها الأمريكيين على أنهم الشركاء المفضلين. ومن ثم فإن الابتكارات التقنية المدنية الإسرائيلية أصبحت اليوم تساعد الولايات المتحدة في الحفاظ على تنافسيتها الاقتصادية وعلى تعزيز التنمية المستدامة والتعامل مع مجموعة من التحديات الأمنية غير العسكرية.

لقد أنشأت عشرات الشركات الأمريكية الرائدة حاضنات تكنولوجية في إسرائيل للاستفادة من ميول البلاد نحو الحصول على أفكار جديدة، وهذا هو السبب الذي جعل بيل غيتس يذكر في عام 2006 بأن "الابتكار الجاري في إسرائيل هو جوهري لمستقبل عالم التكنولوجيا". وبالمثل، غالباً ما تلجأ الشركات الإسرائيلية عالية التقنية إلى الشركات الأمريكية لتشاركها في الإنتاج وفرص التسويق المشتركة في الولايات المتحدة وأماكن أخرى، مما يخلق عشرات الآلاف من فرص العمل للأمريكيين. ورغم أن الإسرائيليين لا يشكلون سوى ثلاثة بالمائة من سكان الشرق الأوسط، إلا أن إسرائيل كانت في عام 2011 وجهة لـ 25 في المائة من جميع الصادرات الأمريكية إلى المنطقة، وتخطت مؤخراً المملكة العربية السعودية في كونها السوق الأكبر للمنتجات الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط.

إن التعاون الهائل من جانب الشركات الأمريكية مع إسرائيل في مجال تكنولوجيا المعلومات يعد جوهرياً لنجاح صناعات "وادي السليكون". وقد صمم المهندسون في مراكز الأبحاث والتطوير لشركة "إنتل" في إسرائيل، العديد من المعالجات الدقيقة الأكثر نجاحاً للشركة، التي شكلت نحو 40 في المائة من إيرادات "إنتل" في العام الماضي. فإذا كُنت قد أجريت معاملة آمنة على الإنترنت أو أرسلت رسالة فورية أو اشتريت شيئاً باستخدام موقع "باي بال"، فعليك أن تشكر باحثي تكنولوجيا المعلومات الإسرائيليين.

كما أن المبتكرين الإسرائيليين قد توصلوا إلى حلول جديدة للتحديات الأمنية المرتبطة بالمياه والغذاء الناجمة عن نمو السكان والتغير المناخي والتطور الاقتصادي. وفي ضوء جغرافيا الشرق الأوسط فإن إسرائيل هي بالضرورة رائد عالمي في الحفاظ على المياه وإدارتها وفي الزراعة عالية التقنية. إذ تقوم إسرائيل بتدوير أكثر من ثمانين في المائة من مياه الصرف الصحي - وهي أعلى نسبة في العالم - كما أنها رائدة في استخدام تقنيات الحفاظ على المياه وتنقيتها، بما في ذلك الري بالتنقيط وتحلية المياه بنظام التناضح العكسي. كما أن عدداً من الشركات الإسرائيلية حقق الريادة في تطوير مصادر الطاقة المستدامة؛ فشركة "برايت سورس إنداستريز" على سبيل المثال تعمل على بناء محطة طاقة شمسية في كاليفورنيا باستخدام تقنية إسرائيلية سوف تضاعف من كمية الكهرباء الحرارية الشمسية المنتجة في الولايات المتحدة. وهذه الابتكارات - التي يعززها الاستثمار الأمريكي الهائل في إسرائيل - تسهم في تعزيز أهداف السياسة الداخلية والخارجية الأمريكية المتعلقة بالتنمية المستدامة.

ولا شك أن التحالف مع إسرائيل لم يكن خالياً من المخاطر أو التكاليف بالنسبة لواشنطن. فحرب 1973 بين إسرائيل وجيرانها جعلت أمريكا على شفا صراع مع الاتحاد السوفيتي وأدت إلى فرض الدول العربية لحظر على صادرات النفط إلى الولايات المتحدة. وعقب الغزو الإسرائيلي للبنان في عام 1982، أرسلت إدارة الرئيس ريغان جنود مشاة البحرية الأمريكية للمساعدة على إرساء الاستقرار في تلك البلاد، مما ترتب عليه في النهاية وقوع هجمات مُكلفة على الدبلوماسيين وأفراد الجيش الأمريكيين هناك. كما أن الدعم الدبلوماسي والعسكري الأمريكي لإسرائيل عزز الاتجاهات السلبية تجاه الولايات المتحدة في العديد من البلدان العربية وتلك ذات الأغلبية المسلمة.

لكن يجب عدم المبالغة في هذه التكاليف. إن دعم واشنطن لإسرائيل لم يكد يضر بالعلاقات الأمريكية مع حلفائها العرب والمسلمين، باستثناء حالات التصويت - الرمزية إلى حد بعيد - ضد مواقف الولايات المتحدة في الأمم المتحدة. إن الوقوف إلى جانب إسرائيل لم يعمل قطعاً على تقييد سياسة واشنطن تجاه المنطقة مثلما فعلت الحرب في العراق أو دعم الولايات المتحدة للأنظمة العربية المستبدة. وفي غضون ذلك، لم يرفض أبداً أي حليف عربي لواشنطن - نظراً لموقفها المؤيد لإسرائيل - التعاون مع الولايات المتحدة في محاربة الإرهاب كما لم يرفض أي من طلبات حقوق الوصول أو بناء القواعد أو الطيران.

وفي الواقع أن التحالف بين الولايات المتحدة وإسرائيل ساعد في بعض الأوقات على تحفيز قيام علاقات أوثق بين واشنطن والعرب استناداً إلى النظرية بأن الولايات المتحدة وحدها هي التي تستطيع إقناع إسرائيل بتقديم تنازلات في المفاوضات؛ وكان ذلك جزءاً من المنطق وراء ابتعاد مصر عن الاتحاد السوفيتي والتقرب من الولايات المتحدة في سبعينات القرن الماضي. وحتى خلال العقد الماضي الذي شهد تعاوناً وثيقاً بين الولايات المتحدة وإسرائيل - وعلى الرغم من الجمود في عملية السلام بين الإسرائيليين والفلسطينيين - ازدهرت العلاقات العربية مع الولايات المتحدة إلى حد بعيد: فالتجارة والاستثمارات الثنائية آخذة في الازدهار، حيث وصلت الصادرات الأمريكية إلى منطقة الشرق الأوسط في عام 2011 إلى أعلى معدلاتها على الإطلاق ووصلت قيمتها إلى 56 مليار دولار. كما أن التعاون في مجال الدفاع وثيق كالعادة، وينعكس في اتفاقات شراء الأسلحة بمليارات الدولارات أبرمتها واشنطن مع حلفائها الخليجيين خلال السنوات الأخيرة. وعلاوة على ذلك، فإن دولاً عديدة من بينها مصر والأردن، إلى جانب السلطة الفلسطينية، تشارك المعلومات الاستخباراتية مع إسرائيل وعملت في أوقات متباينة من وراء الكواليس لتجنيد إسرائيل كوسيط لدى واشنطن. وقد كان ذلك هو الحال حتى في ظل الحكومة المصرية التي أعقبت الثورة. ويؤكد ذلك كله الحقيقة بأن المصلحة الذاتية، وليس الأيديولوجية، هي المحفز الرئيسي لعلاقات الدول العربية مع واشنطن.

وعلى الرغم من الروابط التي لا تزال قائمة بين الولايات المتحدة وبعض الدول العربية، إلا أن الاضطرابات خلال العامين الماضيين قد تسببت في قيام غضب بالغ بين العديد من حلفاء واشنطن التقليديين في المنطقة. ففي أوقات عدم اليقين الحرجة، لا سيما في ظل تزايد التوترات مع إيران، يرجح أن تعتمد الولايات المتحدة بشكل أكبر على حلفائها غير الديمقراطيين الأكثر استقراراً إلى حد ما، مثل المملكة العربية السعودية، إلى جانب حلفائها الديمقراطيين، مثل إسرائيل وتركيا، لتأمين مصالحها في المنطقة. وعلى النقيض من ذلك، عززت الأحداث الأخيرة المنطق الذي يقوم عليه التعاون الاستراتيجي بين الولايات المتحدة وإسرائيل.

إن الفوائد التي تحققها الولايات المتحدة من علاقتها مع إسرائيل تفند الحجة القائلة بأن التحالف قائم فقط على القيم الديمقراطية المشتركة للبلدين، أو على شعبية إسرائيل في السياسة الأمريكية، أو على السعي المراوغ للتقدم في عملية السلام. إنها علاقة تقوم على مصالح ملموسة - وسوف تبقى كذلك في المستقبل المنظور.

ليس من السهل دائماً أن تكون حليفاً لإسرائيل (كما أن الإجراءات الإسرائيلية لا تجعل الأمور أكثر سهولة بصورة دائمة). فالبلاد تواجه تحديات جمّة، منها الصراع المستمر مع الفلسطينيين، والفجوات الاجتماعية والاقتصادية الداخلية، والأصوات في جميع أنحاء العالم التي تنكر حقها في الوجود، والآن برنامج إيران النووي. لقد حققت إسرائيل تقدماً غير مستقيم تجاه معالجة هذه المسائل ويلزم أن تفعل المزيد لكي تظل شريكاً جذاباً للولايات المتحدة. لكن نجاحاتها السابقة في دمج أعداد غفيرة من المهاجرين وجسر الفجوات الاجتماعية العميقة وإظهار مرونة ملحوظة في مواجهة الحرب والإرهاب توفر سبباً للاعتقاد بأن واشنطن تستطيع مواصلة الاعتماد على شريكها الأقرب في الشرق الأوسط، وأنها سوف تواصل الاستفادة من تحالفها مع الدولة اليهودية.

 

مايكل آيزنشتات هو مدير برنامج الدراسات العسكرية والأمنية في معهد واشنطن. ديفيد بولوك هو زميل كوفمان في المعهد. هذه المقالة تم إعدادها من تقريرهما الأخير: اختبار الثروات: كيف تستفيد الولايات المتحدة من تحالفها مع إسرائيل.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

Articles & Op-Eds

Friends with Benefits: Why the U.S.-Israeli Alliance Is Good for America

Michael Eisenstadt and David Pollock

Also available in العربية

Foreign Affairs

November 7, 2012


The bilateral relationship is based on tangible, steadily increasing security and economic interests, not just shared values.

View this article on the Foreign Affairs website.

At the final presidential debate of the 2012 campaign season, President Barack Obama and Governor Mitt Romney mentioned Israel some 30 times, more than any other country except Iran. Both candidates called the Jewish state "a true friend," pledging to stand with it through thick and thin. Some political commentators criticized these effusive declarations of support as pandering, suggesting that the candidates were simply going after Jewish and pro-Israel votes.

But if support for Israel is indeed such a political winner, then it's at least in part because the voters know best. The U.S.-Israeli alliance now contributes more than ever to American security, as bilateral cooperation to deal with both military and nonmilitary challenges has grown in recent years. The relationship may not be symmetrical; the United States has provided Israel with indispensable diplomatic, economic, and military support totaling more than $115 billion since 1949. But it is a two-way partnership whose benefits to the United States have been substantial. The other, less tangible costs of the U.S.-Israeli alliance -- mainly, damage to Washington's reputation in Arab and Muslim countries, a problem also caused by American interventions and decades of U.S. support for autocratic leaders in the Middle East -- pale in comparison with the economic, military, and political gains it affords Washington.

U.S.-Israeli security cooperation dates back to heights of the Cold War, when the Jewish state came to be seen in Washington as a bulwark against Soviet influence in the Middle East and a counter to Arab nationalism. Although the world has changed since then, the strategic logic for the U.S.-Israeli alliance has not. Israel remains a counterweight against radical forces in the Middle East, including political Islam and violent extremism. It has also prevented the further proliferation of weapons of mass destruction in the region by thwarting Iraq and Syria's nuclear programs.

Israel continues to help the United States deal with traditional security threats. The two countries share intelligence on terrorism, nuclear proliferation, and Middle Eastern politics. Israel's military experiences have shaped the United States' approach to counterterrorism and homeland security. The two governments work together to develop sophisticated military technology, such as the David's Sling counter-rocket and Arrow missile defense systems, which may soon be ready for export to other U.S. allies. Israel has also emerged as an important niche defense supplier to the U.S. military, with sales growing from $300 million per year before September 11 to $1.1 billion in 2006, due to the wars in Afghanistan and Iraq. Israel's military research and development complex has pioneered many cutting-edge technologies that are transforming the face of modern war, including cyberweapons, unmanned vehicles (such as land robots and aerial drones), sensors and electronic warfare systems, and advanced defenses for military vehicles.

The U.S.-Israeli alliance has paved the way for the countries to cooperate on far more than just traditional security issues. In part because of the long-standing political and security relationship between the United States and Israel, most Israelis know the United States and harbor positive feelings toward it. Israeli companies looking for a global market for their products have often viewed their American counterparts as partners of choice. So today, Israeli civilian technological innovations are helping the United States maintain its economic competitiveness, promote sustainable development, and address a range of non-military security challenges.

Dozens of leading U.S. companies have set up technology incubators in Israel to take advantage of the country's penchant for new ideas, which is why Bill Gates observed in 2006 that the "innovation going on in Israel is critical to the future of the technology business." Likewise, Israeli high-tech firms often turn to U.S. companies as partners for joint production and marketing opportunities in the United States and elsewhere, creating tens of thousands of American jobs. And although Israelis make up just three percent of the population of the Middle East, in 2011 Israel was the destination of 25 percent of all U.S. exports to the region, having recently eclipsed Saudi Arabia as the top market there for American products.

U.S. companies' substantial cooperation with Israel on information technology has been crucial to Silicon Valley's success. At Intel's research and development centers in Israel, engineers have designed many of the company's most successful microprocessors, accounting for some 40 percent of the firm's revenues last year. If you've made a secure financial transaction on the Internet, sent an instant message, or bought something using PayPal, you can thank Israeli IT researchers.

Israeli innovators have also come up with novel solutions to the water and food security challenges posed by population growth, climate change, and economic development. By necessity, given the geography of the Middle East, Israel is a world leader in water conservation and management and high-tech agriculture. Israel recycles more than eighty percent of its wastewater -- the highest level in the world -- and has pioneered widely used techniques of conserving or purifying water, including drip irrigation and reverse osmosis desalination. And a number of Israeli companies are leaders in the development of renewable energy sources; BrightSource Industries, for example, is building a solar power plant in California using Israeli technology that will double the amount of solar thermal electricity produced in America. These innovations, bolstered by the substantial American investment in Israel, contribute to long-term U.S. domestic and foreign policy objectives relating to sustainable development.

To be sure, the alliance with Israel has not been without risks or costs for Washington. The 1973 War between Israel and its neighbors brought America to the brink of conflict with the Soviet Union and prompted an Arab embargo on oil exports to the United States. Following the 1982 Israeli invasion of Lebanon, the Reagan administration dispatched U.S. marines to help stabilize the country, which ultimately resulted in costly attacks on American diplomats and military personnel there. And U.S. diplomatic and military support for Israel has reinforced negative attitudes toward the United States in many Arab and predominantly Muslim countries.

But these costs should not be overstated. Beyond leading to largely symbolic UN votes against U.S. positions, Washington's support for Israel has hardly damaged the United States' ties with its Arab and Muslim allies. Standing with Israel certainly has not hobbled U.S. policy toward the region as much as the war in Iraq or Washington's backing of autocratic Arab regimes. Meanwhile, no Arab ally of the United States has ever, as a result of its pro-Israel posture, refused to cooperate with Washington on counterterrorism or denied its requests for access, basing, or overflight rights.

In fact, the U.S.-Israeli alliance has at times helped spur closer U.S.-Arab relations, on the theory that only the United States could convince Israel to make concessions in negotiations; this was part of the logic behind Egypt's shift away from the Soviet Union and toward the United States in the 1970s. And even during the past decade of close U.S.-Israeli cooperation, and despite an impasse in the Israeli-Palestinian peace process, Arab ties with the United States have largely flourished: bilateral trade and investment are booming, as U.S. exports to the Middle East in 2011 reached an all-time high of $56 billion. Defense cooperation is as close as ever, indicated by the several multi-billion-dollar arms deals that Washington has struck with Gulf allies in recent years. Moreover, several states, including Egypt and Jordan, along with the Palestinian Authority, share intelligence with Israel and at various times have worked behind the scenes to enlist Israel as an intermediary with Washington. This has been the case even with Egypt's post-revolutionary government. All this underscores the fact that self-interest, not ideology, is the primary driver of the Arab states' relations with Washington.

Despite the ties that continue to bind the United States and some Arab countries, the last two years of upheaval have brought turmoil to many of Washington's traditional allies in the region. At a time of great uncertainty, particularly as tensions with Iran mount, the United States is even more likely to depend on its somewhat stable nondemocratic allies, such as Saudi Arabia, and its stable democratic allies, such as Israel and Turkey, to secure its interests in the region. If anything, recent events have reinforced the logic underpinning U.S.-Israeli strategic cooperation.

The benefits to the United States of its relationship with Israel belie the argument that the alliance is based solely on the two countries' shared democratic values, on the popularity of Israel in American politics, or on the elusive pursuit of progress in the peace process. It is a relationship based on tangible interests -- and will remain so for the foreseeable future.

It isn't always easy being Israel's ally (and Israeli actions don't always make it easier). The country faces many challenges, including the unresolved conflict with the Palestinians, internal socioeconomic gaps, voices around the world that deny its right to exist, and now Iran's nuclear program. Israel has made uneven progress toward addressing these issues and needs to do more to remain an attractive partner for the United States. But its past successes in incorporating huge numbers of immigrants, bridging deep social divides, and showing remarkable resilience in the face of war and terrorism provide reason to believe that Washington can continue to count on its closest partner in the Middle East, and will continue to benefit from its alliance with the Jewish state.

Michael Eisenstadt is director of the Military and Security Studies Program at The Washington Institute. David Pollock is the Institute's Kaufman fellow. This article was adapted from their recent report Asset Test: How the United States Benefits from Its Alliance with Israel.